This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2019

The Half Past Fix: 6.30pm

At half past six, it’s your half past fix.

EVERY HOUR – on the half hour – brings you your fix of election tallies, predictions and results. Here’s how the winners and losers of GE11 are playing out so far.

The Winners:

  • Michael Lowry – there were jubilant scenes in Tipperary North, as Michael Lowry was returned with 2,000 votes over the quota.
  • Seamus Healy – the Workers and Unemployed Action Group candidate has been elected in Tipperary South with 11,2,65.
  • Joanna Tuffy – has been elected for Labour in Dublin Mid West.
  • Emmet Stagg - who was elected for Labour in Kildare North on the third count.
  • Lucinda Creighton – the FG TD is just 300 votes short of the quota in Dublin South East after the first count.
  • Roisin Shortall – who has been elected in Dublin North West after the first count.
  • Richard Bruton – who’s marginally slightly short of the quota in Dublin North Central, at 9,685 votes when he needed 9,694.

The Losers:

  • Independents in Dublin SE – a handful of Independents have been eliminated, including Hugh Sheehy, James Coyle, John Dominic Keigher, Peadar Ó Ceallaigh, Noel Watson. Annette Mooney of People Before Profit has also been eliminated.
  • Knocked out – Dermot Connolly of Sinn Fein has been eliminated on the second count in Galway East, while Daithí Ó Donnabháin is out in Cork North West and Sinn Féin’s Martin Kelly is excluded in Kildare North. Patrick Brassil, the Independent, has been eliminated in Clare.
  • John Curran – the outgoing chief whip was eliminated in Dublin Mid West.
  • Conor Lenihan – the brother of the finance minister was excluded in Dublin South West.
  • Mary O’Rourke – Lenihan’s aunt has admitted she’s not going to hold onto her seat in Longford-Westmeath.
  • Mary Hanafin – who’s less than optimistic about hanging onto her Dun Laoghaire seat, saying “to be honest, I don’t see myself getting” the last seat in the constituency, which is likely to go to either Ivana Bacik of the Labour Party, or Richard Boyd Barrett of People Before Profit. “The numbers ones just weren’t there,” she said.
  • Voters in Sligo-Leitrim – 280 of whom spoiled their votes, delaying the count there. Now why would they do that?

Keep track of who’s in and who’s out with our map of the election results, county by county >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jennifer O'Connell

Read next: