You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The four protesters speak to the media following their release. Cllr. John Lyons/Twitter

Four 'Dublin Says No' anti-water charges protesters released from prison

The President of the High Court ordered their release due to problems with the committal warrant ordering their detention.

Updated at 3.53pm

THE FOUR ANTI-WATER charge protesters jailed last month for breach of a court injunction have been freed this afternoon.

It follows a ruling from the President of the High Court Nicholas Kearns.

Photos of the four newly-freed protesters - Bernie Hughes, Damien O’Neill, Paul Moore and Derek Byrne – were posted on social media today, after their immediate release was ordered.

The group – some of whom have been engaged in campaigns of direct action against metering contractors since early last year – were jailed on 19 February, having previously been given a number of warnings by Justice Paul Gilligan.

At the heart of the case was an order made by Gilligan on 2 October last.

It ordered that they must stay at least 20 metres from employees of GMC Sierra while the contractors were carrying out their meter installation work.

Videos presented to the court at last month’s hearing showed protesters moving safety barriers, standing inside the work perimeters or, in one case, filling a hole dug by installers.

They were freed today due problems to with a committal warrant ordering their detention. A spokesperson for the Courts Service said a full written judgement would be released on Thursday.

Speaking to 4FM’s Niall Boylan following his release, protester Derek Byrne said he believed the committal warrant had been “full of mistakes”.

“The detention was unlawful,” he said.

Asked whether he and his supporters would continue with their campaign of direct action against the meter installations he said “we’ve begun something, why would we give up now”.

We went to prison because we wouldn’t take an undertaking so why would we stop now.

Byrne – along with fellow protester Paul Moore – was on hunger strike for a time, following his transfer to Wheatfield from Mountjoy.

Asked about conditions, he said they had been treated well by prison guards and prisoners alike.

Anti Water Charges Campaigns Freed protester Derek Byrne (file). Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

The Donaghmede resident – who released a series of statements via Facebook while in prison – declined to give any more details about the hunger strike, or why it was called off.

Never having been in prison before, it was “a very hard thing to take when you’re thrown into a small room and the door slammed shut behind you,” he said.

He said he had always been willing to go to prison for his convictions.

Sentence suspended

A fifth protester, Michael Batty, who was also sentenced to 28 days in prison, has had his jail term suspended for six months this afternoon.

The 64-year-old was not in court for sentencing last month as he spends part of the year in Lanzarote because of health problems.

In court today, he undertook not to interfere with meter installation, and Justice Gilligan said he would suspend the sentence.

People Before Profit councillor John Lyons, who was in court for Justice Kearns’ ruling, said the four freed protesters were keen to get home and see their families – and that no demonstrations were being planned for this evening.

Groups supporting the jailed activists have been holding regular Saturday vigils outside Mountjoy in recent weeks.

“In light of what happened today, next week could be something of a celebration,” Lyons said.

water protest. Pictured Anti Austerity Last Saturday's protest outside Mountjoy. Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

First posted at 2.45pm.

Read: “We have no intention of leaving” – Anti-water charge protesters occupying Cork City Hall

Read: Row between Irish Water and meter installers could be settled in court, says Tánaiste

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

188 Comments
    Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:49 PM

Good, they can get back to their full time jobs now.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:51 PM

Full time dossers

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:53 PM

What has their employment status got to do with the protests?

See 38 more replies ▾
    Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:58 PM

So only the employed are allowed to protest? What about those who are retired or students.Do you make distinctions?

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:00 PM

I never said who or who shouldn’t protest. You are trying to put words in my mouth.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:02 PM

The 3 men work but don’t let that get in the way of u talking shite.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:03 PM

Journal I’m not putting words in your mouth.I asked a question you’re unable to answer it.
    Just seems a pathetic attempt to demonise anyone who protests by making reference to their employment status.Maybe you’ll or someone else will try and explain what difference it makes wether someone is in employment or not?

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other

The woman does as well as far as I’m aware

20m exclusion zone from water meter installations… You could theoretically be in your sitting room and breaking that injunction!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:07 PM

Ah now AN other, it wasn’t just down to that. The 20m distance was put in place when they wouldn’t behave themselves to start with and were warned by the court. But don’t let the truth……

Mute Bryan Holmes
    Favourite Bryan Holmes
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:08 PM

“Je Suis banker living of the hard work and taxes of middle class snobs who think the poor are robbing them”

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:11 PM

… or, AN other, you could actually not be in your sitting room and deliberately brake said injunction – as in the case of these freeloaders.

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:14 PM

Norman..you asked a question and I answered it, anyone can protest. I never said anything about anyone being allowed or not allowed to protest, you brought that up. Where did I demonise anyone?

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th

I am so ecstatic on hearing this wonderful news :) I am now looking forward to great quality videos being uploaded onto the YouTube :) #jesuisestatic

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:15 PM

Talking don’t be so sensitive :) It’s a great news story:)

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:16 PM

Journal so in your first comment why mention their jobs?

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Favourite Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:24 PM

So, let me get this right:

We have now spent over 600 million ‘setting’ up Irish Water and are about to pay out over 500 million installing meters. That’s over 1100 million (over a billion), and not one leak repaired, the network replaced or the quality made good.

That’s absolutely scandalous!

And yet there’s people on her knocking these guys who were jailed trying to highlight this scandal.

Jaysus.. It’s so very depressing. I actually feel sorry for you.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Journal….most pro charge commentators have claimed these protesters are unemployed thugs it’s nice to see a honest comment like yours.
    ( I can do sarcasm also)

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:25 PM

Dealgan don’t forget the meter installation companies now want more money for unforseen works as reported this weekend.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:26 PM

Well Journal Stasi, they all have jobs but like others who have been told this before on this site you will conveniently forget that the next time there is an article about them and you’ll say “Je Suis unemployed peaceful protestor living off the hard work and taxes of others” again, just because it suits you to believe it is so.

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:28 PM

Norm…who is pro charge? Not me…but I am anti thug, anti harrasment, anti bullying, anti verbal abuse.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:31 PM

There was someone fixing a leak on our road a few weeks ago Deaglán, does that count?

Mute Verge harry
    Favourite Verge harry
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:32 PM

“That’s over 1100 million (over a billion)”

It’s a sharp one we have here boys.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:34 PM

Journal…did I say you were pro charge? Please highlight where I said it.

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:48 PM

Ah Normo..I never said that you said I was pro charge. I posed the question “Who is Pro Charge?”. I even put a question mark at the end so people (including you) would see it was a question and not a statement. Now, if you can’t grasp even these fundamentals of language, questions and statements, then I shall desist, because it is impossible to argue with a fool.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne

I am delighted that these people have been freed, They are not all unemployed either . I’d like to thank them and all unemployed people who have spent their time in this political fight against our Bank government, A big thank you from all the people that are working crazy hours for practically no gain who can’t get out there and let their voices be heard as often as they would wish to. Of course this won’t include the small amount of vested interest workers that rely on public cash cows like IW and other branches of this now banking controlled state for their income. Shame anyone who condemns these people who ONLY want to destroy this IW quango that will cost the Irish taxpayers hundreds of millions in the coming years in a time of austerity. We can’t afford this ridiculous company were broke.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:50 PM

we are broke rather !!

Mute Charles McDonald
    Favourite Charles McDonald
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:59 PM

Great they can get back to claiming the dole.bet the girls in the welfare office missed Derek.

He lost so much weight. Must have been on a mad diet in prison

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:00 PM

Yeah because every protestor is unemployed eh? I’m a protestor and I’m on bloody good money. Sick the way numpty trolls on this site always associate protestors as being unemployed scroungers.

Mute Charles McDonald
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:03 PM

Oh wow they work?? Wow

Mute Con ODomhnaill
    Favourite Con ODomhnaill
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:05 PM

Denis “tax evader” O’Brien’s GMC Sierra company now have a water leaks division for fixing the leaks that Denis “tax evader” O’Brien’s GMC Sierra watermeter installers have caused. Nice work if you can get it.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:05 PM

Journal so you don’t see the contradiction in your own comments?

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:07 PM

I did that for you Verge. Reading some of your comments I figured the numbers might confuse you. I was right. Glad it helped.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:12 PM

@Fran spot on …….its an pathetic attempt to paint the population that are protesting against the giveaway of hundreds millions of taxpayers money to IW as unemployed layabouts. If these people were layabouts they would be down the pub or stuck in front of the TV at home. not up at 5am to protest at the theft of our money !!

But then again I understand the reaction of the FG/IW supporters because as always the tiny Irish right wing have no choice but to deal in stereo types else it would hurt their poor little empty heads.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:14 PM

Another headcase who is not even in this country seeking to comment on and influence matters in this country by way of a brand new account. (Marylou(ny)McDonald). You are not funny, you are not relevant, and I’d wager most people would prefer if you would eff off. You add nothing to any public debate.

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:15 PM

The trolling on here is almost as bad as YouTube. This is a news forum right? Debate? Right? Insults and names (dole heads, scroungers etc..) is not debating.

Besides, come another hour two when you’ve all finished your trolling shifts we’ll be able to get on with proper debate. Thankfully.

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:12 PM

Hope you are not suggesting that the woman does not work

Mute Jon Culy
    Favourite Jon Culy
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:23 PM

Reg, did you check it was a leak they were fixing?

Mute Charles McDonald
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:30 PM

But they don’t work. And you fund their protests their house and you fund their holidays even though YOU the normal joe soap can’t afford.

Time to start coming down hard on lifestyle welfare toerags.

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:32 PM

Norman, you don’t have to be ” pro-charges” to view these as unemployed thugs, most people view them as this whether you agree with charges or not.

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:06 PM

That’s right McDonald..

We fund their lifestyle, their houses, their holidays.

I’m so glad you brought this up:

We do this to the tune of 84 billion (and the rest, we’re not talking millions here, we’re in the billions). On top of this we also pay their salaries, their expenses, their bailouts, their advisory personnel.. Their gross pension payments (after they ‘retire’). We pay their secured, unsecured and junior bond holders. We pay for the quangos, their tribunals, the ‘failing’ hospital system, we pay for this with ‘our’ Pension Reserve Fund (RIP). We pay to install their water meters. We pay for their travel expenses. We pay by selling off our public assets, for peanuts. We pay with our natural resources. We pay for their botched up management, of everything, of the guards, delayed reports, the whistle blowers. We pay for this with emigration., with house repossession. We pay for this with social welfare cuts, medical card cuts, cutting home help, sick benefit, cancer treatment. We pay for this with media control, print and TV. We pay for this by sending people to jail for protesting. We pay for their arrogance, their disregarding attitude and their disrespect.

We pay for this having to listen to idiots like you, on here, day in, day out!

And this is who you support? This is what you come on here to represent? It’s laughable. It really is.

Wake up lad, smell the coffee beans! It’s still not too late.

..but then again? You know better.

[clown]

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Mar 10th 2015, 1:43 AM

It’s like being unemployed you cannot protest ? What relevance is ones job status to the cause they are fighting for?

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:55 PM

The judges comments were very confusing, the judges says they are lawfully convicted and properly sentenced but then releases them?

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:57 PM

If you read the article on a proper news site it would tell you there is a problem (warrant) with the paperwork, so the Judge freed them.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:59 PM

On a technicality. The commital order wasn’t properly completed. Somebody screwed up the paperwork!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:16 PM

Journal, proper news site??? The Indo and Irish Times piece on the release are exactly word for word. It shows exactly what people are up against with a biased media. Thank God for social media sites. Otherwise we would never know the truth. Free press and democracy.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:17 PM

I read the article right here on this website and found it quite clear and understandable.

Mute Verge harry
    Favourite Verge harry
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:31 PM

Right Neal but it didn’t have any of the usual information about the actual issue. So while I’m sure you were able read it, it didn’t actually tell you a whole lot.

Mute Mad Mike
    Favourite Mad Mike
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:42 PM

The article is clear and understandable?

“They were freed today due problems to with a committal warrant ordering their detention.”

Clear as mud.

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi

Article was updated, did you read that part? When the article was originally posted it just stated they had been freed with no reason given as to why they were freed.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:51 PM

I am glad they have been released. Should never have been jailed in the first place.

But does this mean we have to listen to Derek drawing attention to himself again?

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:28 PM

Expensive legal teams find these loop holes why do you think no wealthy person goes to prison. The 4 lads that killed that guy outside the night club springs to mind

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:39 PM

So long as they dont shout abuse at anyone i have no issue with their way of protesting.

Wonder was it a silent protest from who ever drew up the arrest order. Accidentally unconsciously.

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:02 PM

So did I .

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:06 PM

We need to know WHO and WHY.

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:26 PM

I am sure every mass murderer is requesting a copy of their committal papers this evening.. Anyway, good to see them out..

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins

Yeah, they really look like they were on Hunger strike……

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:04 PM

A week on only bread and water might do you the world of good .

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:55 PM

Robert, they were only on hunger strike between meals.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:07 PM

I heard Derek gave up his elevenses – that’s a big deal for little hobbitses ;(

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:50 PM

About time too, should not have been there in the first place. Hopefully they substitute the vacant spaces with some real wan…bankers

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:12 PM

Todd

They were in contempt of court. Thats why they went to jail. Yes the bankers should be held accountable but thats got nothing to do with these guys. More pointless comments.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd

Contempt of court is completely subjective though. So therefore, in my opinio, the should not have been locked up

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:21 PM

That injunction should never have been granted in the first place. It placed the vested interest above the right of people to protest.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:22 PM

There nothing subjective about it. There was a detailed legal ruling setting out the exact legal basis for them being in contact.

Mute Verge harry
    Favourite Verge harry
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:30 PM

Contempt of court is subjective?

Explain that one to me?

Judge says turn over documents, you don’t. Then you go to jail. Judge says stay away from workers, you don’t. Then you go to jail.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:37 PM

The Todd, the judgment today confirmed they were still guilty as charged and that the conviction and their guilt is beyond doubt. Nothing subjective about this contempt a specific court order was breached and video, photographic and witness statements evidenced the contempt

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:39 PM

And what about the right of people to work free from intimidation and harassment Dave?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:54 PM

My sincerest of apologies

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:25 PM

Reg, on the balance of things, the protesters have a bigger case for intimidation against them, than the workers do.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:40 PM

I agree the workers have the right to do a days work without being intimidated. In the same way these people had the right to protest.

Mute mrbojangles
    Favourite mrbojangles
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:51 PM

@Neal Ireland
    So legal that they have now been released due to a dodgy rushed warrant similar I’d imagine to the court order
    Only in Ireland would it happen.
    And only in Ireland would people support their imprisonment and begrudge their efforts

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:18 PM

The difference Todd is that they believe their right to protest is the same as their right to prevent when their protest doesn’t work.
    They were actually perfectly entitled to stand out of the way waving their signs.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:57 PM

Granted. But if they happened to be already standing in an area where workers wanted to go, they were forcefully removed by the workers. There’s plenty of evidence to support this. Do double standards apply here and is one right being given precedent over another?

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan

Roll on march 21st

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:19 PM

With ketchup?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:29 PM

Neal, anyone actually find you funny?serious question.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz

I think Neal is great. He has a great way of delivering a punch line right on que with absolute wit and comedy value.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:04 PM

I concur Baz, he does write some witty comments, he’s nearly as good as Shinnerbot!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:16 PM

Bobby, I’ll be there, and will bring several elderly buddies!! Keep the faith lads, WE CAN WIN.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:19 PM

That would be 2 so who find Neal funny.Didn’t think there would be that many. Who knew.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:46 PM

Does anyone actually find Norman anything other than a pain in de hole?serious question.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:53 PM

Gagsy bad place to have a pain, go and see a doctor.Maybe he can extract your head from it.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:58 PM

I withdraw my comment and apologise unreservedly.
    the pain in me hoop is more general now that I’ve read to the end of the comments.

Mute Jack Byrne
    Favourite Jack Byrne
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:22 PM

Some court clerk made a right horlicks of this.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:44 PM

The Irish regime have overstretched this time.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:20 PM

I hope their employers kept their jobs open while they were incarcerated.

This sort of publicity could have a negative impact on their career prospects after they have worked so hard to get to where they are today

Surely some sort of compensation should be available from the taxpayer for earnings lost.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:34 PM

I wonder will they be backpaid their three weeks wages that they lost out on while incarcerated?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:02 PM

Brilliant news! I look forward to joining in the applause for them when we march on the 21st….

Mute Joseph MacEochaidh
    Favourite Joseph MacEochaidh
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:05 PM

Why applause? I thought they did what a judge asked them not to do?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:57 PM

They particularly like to applaud and welcome killers leaving prison.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:21 PM

Disagree. I’ll be marching – but I’ll tell Byrne to Eff off if I come across him. He very nearly damaged our legitimate protest.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:11 PM

I hope you both have a grant time.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti

OK lads (lickspittle, party hack, snob etc.,) , take your best shots. It is obvious that the four people featured may not be the crème de la crème. That in no way delegitimizes their protest, nor mine, nor the protests of any citizen of this country. The fight goes on, and WE ARE WINNING. I have no child, or grandchild, this fight is for the future of other people’s children. Keep on keeping on, people.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:01 PM

Je suis Derek has put on weight by the looks of it

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:09 PM

I hadn’t seen a photo of him standing next to other people before – he’s pretty short, isn’t he?

For someone who throws the word ‘midget’ around that is.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:18 PM

Exactly, Denito; either he’s a hypocrite or else the people beside him are very, very, very, very, VERY tall.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans

You would think a hunger strike would have the opposite effect!

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz

Is Derek an actual midget?

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu

No he’s not Baz, don’t be silly, he’s just really far away :)

Mute Evan Healy
    Favourite Evan Healy

That’s Water retention .. adds weight

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:05 PM

I didn’t register with IWi will NEVER be a so called CUSTOMER. I will NEVER pay. But that je suis Derek was pathetic, self promotion that did absolutely nothing to further the anti charges campaign.

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:15 PM

I agree the Je Suis Derek thing grates me. We don’t need moronic thugs who can barely speak and can’t articulate their points without profanity and abuse.

The “ye big thick ye” crowd. No thanks they’ve some of the most limited lexicons you’ll ever encounter and they actually damage the protest by putting off decent people who don’t want to be associated with verbal and physical abusive protesters.

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:26 PM

Ah the rattle of the elitist snob. What would the masses know? We the ruling classes are the only hope, we so deserve what we shall get!

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser

If that was referred to myself, i can tell you I’m not elitist or snobbish but I’m just anti-$cumbag.FYI working class people can be educated and can use good rhetoric and are better served by articulating the valid points in a protest than resorting to abuse,how do i know because i fall into that bracket myself!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:56 PM

I’m delighted that they have been released because it’s another nail in the coffin of this “government”!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:17 PM

Nothing to Do with government.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle

It had to do with a DOB owned business. The owner of which is a big backer of the FG/blueshirt government. That in itself speaks volumes about the supposed impartiality of the justice system.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Favourite talkingsense(troll)
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:44 PM

Part owner. At least get some of the facts right

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:08 PM

Tax exile, to avoid paying paying tax. There’s another fact.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:19 PM

@Dave – are you not doing the same thing in effect? Trying to avoid contribute more money to the State?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:40 PM

justanother, you would need to be a little more specific for me to answer.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:25 PM

Mr Dave Doyle: haven’t you mentioned on numerous threads in the recent past, that you earn very good money but you don’t declare it to revenue? In fact, you seemed quite smug about it; so, justanothertaxpayer was reminding you of your double standards, and hypocrisy.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:24 PM

Lao Tzu, be very careful of how you personalize things on here, a public forum. What i earn and what i declare is my business. I have never put it out for public consumpsion. Unlike you and your friend justanother, i have no problem posting under my real name, and hide my comments behind an alias like most of the government cheerleaders do.There is a world of difference between a tax exile and a PAYE payer. There is also a world of difference between an ordinary worker and someone who is well healed, a government confidant and who gets preferential treatment from the same government. Who deems it necessary to declare himself as a tax exile to avoid paying tax. Do not ever call me out again on any comment i may make here on the Journal. In fact if you have any cause to question any of my comments again, use your real name. Otherwise f(uk off.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:25 PM

*dont hide*

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 9th 2015, 11:59 PM

Mea maxima culpa Mr Doyle, I must have been thinking of someone else…

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:50 PM

So which part of the elite establishment and political policing is resposible for this cock up!

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:52 PM

The part that realises political prisoners don’t go down well in the run-up to an election.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:54 PM

More like some court clerk who can’t complete a committal order properly. But if the great conspricay fits your agenda Paul then fire ahead!

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:58 PM

Prisoners?! They defied a court order simply asking them to keep back from workers trying to do their jobs. That was it. They refused and the judge was left with no alternative. Or should contempt of court not apply to water protesters or anybody protesting against the government? Sure you should be allowed clock a Garda and simply say you’re protesting against the government and it will be OK. The loony left loves putting out myths, trying desperately to make out these innocents were jailed for simply protesting…..

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson

Their Luvvieships were told by the FG/Lab Junta that these victims of political policing/courts were a great boost to the left. Quick think of an out
    “This warrant “is the only justification” for the detention of the four… While some may see errors in a committal warrant as technical in nature, they are critical in the context of applications under Article 40 of the Constitution, the procedure under which the four challenged the lawfulness of their detention”

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz

People don’t want to hear the Truth here Rob. Keep facts and intelligent debate to one side when facing shinners & socialists

Mute mrbojangles
    Favourite mrbojangles
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:53 PM

Baz, are you not due to clock out yet or do you get overtime between now and the election?

Mute Enda Elvery
    Favourite Enda Elvery

Nice convenient stroke FG.
    How did you manage that
    Found a “deliberate” error in the case

Mute Neal Ireland Hello

Are you alleging that Fine Gael interfered in the legal process in some way? Please elaborate.

Mute Ruth
    Favourite Ruth
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:38 PM

Ah, the classie swing loose stained gray track suit bottoms.

Mute Chris D
    Favourite Chris D

Call Gok Wan then why don’t ya.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:01 PM

@Ruth …Ah, the classic stereotyping weak minded right winger !

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:04 PM

I’d say it’s pretty common attire in many of the country’s courts!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:15 PM

More of the same.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:16 PM

No doubt you would know about that Reg !!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Pleased to say that I don’t own a pair of those grey trackie bottoms Martin!

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:34 PM

Why not …..afraid people like Ruth would stereo type you…..as an ISIS member or worse? This type of thought process only lets down the individual partaking in it in the eyes of others. It shows the use of mental shortcuts in order to form opinions ….very common with people of low intellect.

Mute Eoin Cepeda
    Favourite Eoin Cepeda
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:53 PM

When they were jailed:
    “The Government played a in their imprisonment!”

When they were released:
    “The Government played a part in their release!”

Lads, make up your mind please.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh

The pro-government militia are out in force on the Journal today with their usual anti-working class rhetoric.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:47 PM

The “pro-government militia”. That’s a new one. I like it!

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:57 PM

Reg, I prefer his misuse of ‘rhetoric’, particularly in the context of his own comment.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:00 PM

Yes the use of the work rhetoic in the same sentence was kind of ironic Lao!

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:41 PM

They clock out at 5pm..

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:44 PM

Don’t know anything about these people but will not pay this disgusting immoral second tax that was designed only to pay fir bailing out private banking losses and to prime Irish water for sale to the corrupt corporations who are readying themselves in anticipation. Irish Water is an abomination that must be stopped. We pay for our water and we are being hoodwinked into paying again, the dogs in the street know this and no amount of media propaganda will persuade people otherwise.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:54 PM

You should have finished after word 3.

Mute Tiffany Mary O'Brien
    Favourite Tiffany Mary O'Brien
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:03 PM

And you after word 4

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:08 PM

you had me at “And”.

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:20 PM

Gagsy bend over your master is behind ya

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:43 PM

No time for those back door shennanigans, too much of the old media propaganda to be getting hoodwinked by.

Mute Verge harry
    Favourite Verge harry
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:21 PM

The response to the order shows the fundamental difference between the anti-water nutcases and law abiding citizens.

The law is the law and if you explicitly break the law you will go to jail. If there is an issue with the technicalities of the paperwork then they get out of jail.

None of which has anything to do with politics, politicians or “political policing”

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:27 PM

Then why aren’t those who caused the economic crash of this country, through illegal banking deals before the courts? The law is the law only when applied with impartiality. Otherwise it is a tool of oppression.

Mute Verge harry
    Favourite Verge harry
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:36 PM

Illegal banking deals. Pray do tell so we can put them in jail.

I accept the legitimacy of the state and the result of a jury trial by my peers. Unfortunately incompetence isn’t a crime.

A jury of our peers found them not guilty. We have to live with that.

You either accept the legitimacy of the court system and the judgement of a jury or you don’t.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:42 PM

Actually Harry some were found guilty but received suspended sentences or community service. Other court cases have yet to be heard.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:45 PM

Hey Verge,
    Dud I ever tell you that I might be divorced from somebody who doesn’t exist according to an order made by a Court that did not have jurisdiction?
    How am I supposed to accept an order made by an in-camera court that ignored the reality of what was before it?
    Courts get it wrong, that’s why we have appeals.

Mute Verge harry
    Favourite Verge harry
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:55 PM

Reg you are of course correct. I was merely referring to the most common case brought up by people. There are many people who may yet come before the courts from actions before the crisis. But it’s hard to prove things are criminal.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Verge since human life cannot exist without water, I doubt any one is anti Water.Against the charges yes.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:51 PM

If you explicitly break the law you go to jail ha,ha,ha,ha,ha,ha,ha,ha seannie fitz ha,ha,ha,ha,ha,michael lowry ha,ha,ha,ha,ha, bankers ha,ha,ha,ha,Nothing to do with politics, politicians or political policing.

Mute Chris Boyd
    Favourite Chris Boyd
    Mar 9th 2015, 3:56 PM

They’re free. Happy days. Never should have been there in the first place. The Denis O’Brien owned courts are a joke

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:08 PM

I had heard that there was going to be some kind of public/private partnership to build new court facilities around the country. Didn’t know that it had started already!

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th

I am now going out for a celebratory meal of fish and chips :) #jesuissosohappy

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:28 PM

Let the street parties begin ….The heroes are coming home !… NOT !

Mute Paul Mooney
    Favourite Paul Mooney

It doesn’t look like the hunger strike went too well!

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:19 PM

Any sensible person would know that these four protesters are NOT representative of the huge” Anti Water Charge” protest movement.

They are a very very small number of people, misguided in their methods of protest, but sincere for all that. The biggest support they could give the rest of us committed protesters would be to PLEASE cool it down.
    PLEASE, It’s counter- productive.

Mute tractor1000
    Favourite tractor1000
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:30 PM

Should have left them in there! These idiots contribute as much to society as an amoeba!

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:17 PM

The amoeba’s are in the majority. And they want CHANGE!

Current status quo isn’t good enough for them.

Mute Anthony Ross
    Favourite Anthony Ross
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:54 PM

These people broke the law they should e still in prison Joan we explain to our children is it OK to brake the law

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

They didn’t break the law, they were in contempt of a court order which is a civil matter.

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:14 PM

Anthony , it’s not OK at all .

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:42 PM

Well at least they can collect their dole in person and buy a new tracksuit to celebrate.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Mar 9th 2015, 4:03 PM

More shocked that R.T.E News Now had it funning along the bottom of the screen for upto an hr.. As im writing its just dissapeared. Nearly home time for the 9 to 5ers… ah well..

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:13 PM

Fifth protestor had an address in Edenmore but winters in Lanzarote.

Can pay. Just doesn’t want to. Like most of them.

Pay your way and stop begging off others.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:07 PM

Alan no one is begging, we already pay through our taxes.Amazed you didn’t know.

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:30 PM

Of course you pay your taxes….there’s loads of tax on the Dutch Gold and cigs you spend all your labour on.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:00 PM

John I quit smoking years ago, any chance you could quit being a bellend?

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Mar 9th 2015, 11:24 PM

Norman, cheer up…it’s nearly Wednesday….you can collect your state handout tomorrow.

Mute Enda Elvery
    Favourite Enda Elvery
    Mar 9th 2015, 2:59 PM

Censored

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Mar 9th 2015, 6:21 PM

You’d think they’re in front of a firing squad in that picture!

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:27 PM

Why were these shams supporters the scribbling graffiti saying “free the five” around the place when there was only four in prison? I’ve seen it a good few times over the last 2 weeks.
    I know there’s a fifth scrounger who’s living it up in Spain at the moment, but I can only presume he’s at leisure over there.
    Can they not count? Might also explain why they over inflate the turnout at their little protests.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:24 PM

Yes 10′s of thousands are little protests.

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Mar 9th 2015, 11:17 PM

There was only 300 scroungers at RTE last week, 10s and 20s turning out at various council meetings, like in Cork today….a long way off the tens of thousands you’re talking about…but that’s typical exaggeration that’s par for the course. The majority of right-minded people made their point pre Christmas and have now deserted this campaign given the concessions that were made. All thats left now is a small splintered anarchist minority. The public that was with you before Christmas has now turned against the farce your campaign has now begun.

Mute Seán O Reilly
    Favourite Seán O Reilly
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:09 PM

Why did the water protesters go up the central criminal courts the case was heard in the four courts ,must have been no press around

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Mar 9th 2015, 7:42 PM

I’d say they’ll be delighted to get back to work!

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:52 PM

They deserved to be inside. Mob rule cannot be allowed to prevail. Unfortunately they will be held up as martyrs to the cause. Depressing.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 9th 2015, 10:02 PM

Mob rule? Did you have an extra bowl of stupid this morning?

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:15 PM

Some day they’ll make a movie about this.

It’s a pity Bob Hoskins is no longer with us.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:37 PM

Bob Hoskins could never play the role of Derek convincingly, he was taller.

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:11 PM

Jesus for hunger strickers they look well

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 9th 2015, 8:16 PM

It was a sky sports diet. They haven’t seen a premiership match in days. Have some compassion.

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Mar 10th 2015, 3:49 PM

This lot are nothing more than glory hunters. You breach a court order, prepare to face the consequences. This lot and their ilk can shout profanities and stamp their feet as much as they like. With any luck, they’ll throw themselves into a water meter hole in a “peaceful protest” type fashion and it will be deep enough to keep them quiet for years to come.

Mute AnDruidDearg
    Favourite AnDruidDearg
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:52 AM

This is one small victory in the battle of being unrepentant to these unjust charges, we will not comply, Ireland sometimes listens to her history, and she says resist! So we will.

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Mar 9th 2015, 5:16 PM

Correction: four water charge protestors.