TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

10 years of Enda: the biggest moments of his career as FG leader

When Enda Kenny took over as leader of Fine Gael ten years ago this week, the role was seen as a poisoned chalice. Here’s what’s happened since then.

TEN YEARS AGO on Tuesday, Enda Kenny became the 10th leader of Fine Gael.

The party he took over was in a bad place. Previous leader Michael Noonan had resigned after little over a year as leader following the disastrous 2002 general election which had seen the party’s seats drop from 52 to just 32, as rivals Fianna Fáil came within touching distance of an overall majority.

When Kenny beat off competition from Phil Hogan, Gay Mitchell and Richard Bruton in the ensuing leadership contest, the role was seen as something of a poisoned chalice. The party was demoralised, broke and leaking members.

Fast forward ten years later and things have changed for both Enda and Fine Gael.

Here we take a look at the key moments of his career over the past decade.

10 years of Enda: the biggest moments of his career as FG leader
1 / 13
  • Elected leader of Fine Gael on 5 June 2002

Enda beat off competition from Phil Hogan, Gay Mitchell and Richard Bruton when ran for Fine Gael leader for the second time in 2002, 27 years after he had first entered the Dáil. Not fully convinced by Gay Mitchell's attempt to be a gracious loser in this pic...
  • Losing the 2007 general election

It could have been FG's moment: Fianna Fáil's popularity was waning and FG had the momentum. Instead, Brian Cowen and Bertie Ahern switched the focus onto the economy and told Irish people to stick with what they knew. In the end FG gained a respectable 19 seats and were left on the opposition benches for another four years. (Photo: Julien Behal/PA Wire)
  • Record results in 2009 local elections

The 2009 elections were much better for Enda - FG got 556 councillors elected, easily making them the largest party by far on the country's local authorities for the first time ever. George Lee was also elected TD on that day in the Dublin South by-election. The celebrations in this picture were fairly short-lived on that one.
  • The Fine Gael leadership contest

The single biggest threat to Enda's leadership came in a half-hearted but almost successful heave by long-time party stalwart Richard Bruton in June 2010. The two obviously made up afterwards - Bruton was made Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation in the FG government - but Enda wasn't quite so quick to forgive those who had backed Bruton in the heave. (Photo: Julien Behal/PA Wire)
  • 2011 General Election

The 2011 general election was big for Fine Gael for several reasons: the party became the largest party in the Dáil for the first time in its history, won more seats than it ever had before, and came close to winning an overall majority. Enda became Taoiseach a full 37 years after he had first entered the Dáil. (Pic Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland)
  • The 2011 general election

This wasn't exactly a key moment in Enda's career but it's such an amazing photo that we couldn't leave it out. (Photo: Julien Behal/PA Wire)
  • The Queen's visit to Ireland

Less than two months after being elected, Enda played host to the Queen during her first State visit to Ireland. The visit was seen as a huge success, even managing to dwarf Barack Obama's visit later that same week. (Photo: Maxwells/PA Wire)
  • President Obama visit to Ireland

Tens of thousands of people attended Barack Obama's speech on College Green in Dublin, less than one week after the visit by the Queen (Photo: Niall Carson/PA Wire)
  • Speech on the Cloyne report

In July last year, Enda Kenny stood up in an almost-empty Dáil and launched the strongest attack by any Taoiseach ever against the Vatican for its attempts to frustrate the Clonye inquiry. Describing the "dysfunction, disconnection and elitism" of the Vatican, the speech set a marker for Church-State relations. (Photo: AP Photo/Peter Morrison)
  • Getting a pat on the head from Sarkozy

Coming at a time when some critics were dismissive of Enda and his government's deference to other European leaders, this photo of him being nuggied by then-president Nicolas Sarkozy seemed spectacularly ill-timed and badly thought out. (AP Photo/Geert Vanden Wijngaert)
  • Sharing a platform with Denis O'Brien

Enda Kenny maintains that he did not know that billionaire businessman Denis O'Brien would be on the platform when he rang the opening bell at the New York Stock Exchange in March, almost one year to the day after the report of the Moriarty Tribunal. He was roundly criticised by opposition parties, Labour Party TDs, and even FG party members over the move.
  • Wen Jiabao and Enda Kenny in China

After soon-to-be Chinese premier Xi Jinping visited Ireland in February, Enda returned the favour by visiting China in March in what was seen as a landmark trip to cement business relations between Ireland and one of the world's biggest trading powers (AP Photo/Ng Han Guan)
  • Winning the Fiscal Compact referendum

Enda Kenny refused to take part in televised debates during the Fiscal Compact referendum, saying that he didn't want to legitimise Sinn Féin as the leaders of the opposition. Despite opting out of the debates, the referendum passed last Friday by 60% to 40% (Photo: Niall Carson/PA Wire)

7. 2011 general election

8. seanads and children’s referendum?

perestroka

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (140 Comments)

• I don’t understand why my comment was deleted. Sphincter and Vaseline are not four letter words

• WS 04/06/12 #

Kenny is in power by default. He has reneged on most of his election promises. Why he made them is beyond me because his party was a shoe in after the mess Fianna Fail left behind them. Unemployment, emigration, hospital closures, political reform, salary caps, mortgage solutions, 5 point plan (What was that about again!) No second bail out!!! The list goes on and on. A number Fine Gael party members don’t rate the man either, but hey they are all ministers now. The way I see it is absolutely nothing has changed. Kenny had the chance and the backing to really change politics in this country after all that happened with the last bunch of wasters. But he hasn’t. Sadly its the same tripe all over again. Well done Enda Kenny and Fine Gael.

• On BBG terminal: Kotthaus German gov spox *KOTTHAUS SAYS SEES NO NEED TO CHANGE TERMS OF IRISH PROGRAM
    That’s what’s wrong with kenny the gimp….

• Well Done Enda, on the week you sold our constitution to the Bundestag for access to a loan application form, you can sit back and relax now, cause the Germans are running the place. Their finance minister this morning ruled out a retrospective deal so not alone are they speaking for Ireland and her citizens now, but they also seem to be speaking for the EU on a whole. Good job selling the treaty lads!

• Paul 04/06/12 #

The only reason he is in the position he is in is because he is not very bright and easily manipulated.

• Spot on Paul, people you need to know that the leaders often do NOT make the decisions but are guided by advisers who make their decisions solely calculated on risk and consequences, either for the country or the party.
      They absolutely cannot measure gamble, they don’t understand the equation of risk, they cannot factor in “going against the grain” because they can’t calculate the end result for them, the party or the country.
      They will NEVER stand up because the result could be total Calamity, or worse. They understand income, pension, expenses, they understand loosing that and they can keep it if they play ball.
      Patriotism has long gone, where men put themselves willingly at risk because of a cause and not because of wealth.
      Wealth is the new king, patriotism is dead and gone, we won’t admit it or like it, we are no longer looking at ourselves as Irish but as Europeans. We associate patriotism to some sort of evil terrorist organisation, to some the very word leaves a bad taste, they associate it with SF, rebels and turn their backs in a flash.
      I say this because I don’t think most of you realise that the only way back from this road won’t be politically, those channels have been secured but the wealthy and are the parties are now puppets to a much much bigger and smarter organisation beyond the grasp of simple, easily manipulated Irish politicians who have no concept of the bigger agenda or if they do, know they can’t stop the train now.
      The ONLY people, party, leader who can make any change now is a PATRIOT, a man who measures his wealth by his actions and deeds and not by his bank balance. We live at a time where such acts don’t exist anymore, this would be acceptable where a system was not corrupt, financially corrupt….money is the root of all evil, it’s true and it has hold of most of our political elite.
      All these referendums and changes erode who we are, eroded our financial independence, erodes our sovereignty and will erode our neutrality when our betters decide that is if it will even be their choice.
      God help Ireland, her people couldn’t as she fades away in the distance haze…

• David: You lecture others on patriotism and then you criticize the Irish people for not helping Ireland in the exercise of their democratic choice.

• @Paul Carr: democratic choice? You mean scared into a corner. Democracy flies out the window when you “scare” the electorate Paul.
      Remember only 50% of the electorate voted, that’s equivalent to 30% of the eligible electorate voted yes.
      You can imagine that the majority of those who did vote yes has something to loose. Those who didn’t bother turning up were those who are disillusioned or just totally unimpressed (or maybe even not interested)!?, their stance against the gov. lost in their silence. I believe that most yes’ers came out and voted, I DO also believe if everyone came out and voted (70-80% of eligible voters) the NO side would have won, only my opinion.
      I criticise no one.
      A lot of what is going on is plain to see, it’s written on the wall, I do not believe Ireland voted for cronyism, pocket filling politicians, hoodwinkers, liars or more taxes and cuts, not willingly.
      I believe they voted in large against their will, maybe I’m wrong.

• Drink girls arse etc

• He’s not a natural leader, constantly contradicting himself as the words he speaks are rarely his own.

• A good leader looks after the People who elected him, Kenny is nothing close to a leader, in fact, he is nothing more than a puppet, controlled by the mob!

• jrbmc 04/06/12 #

He’s not qualified David to run a country ! Period !!! Can you not see that?????

• jrbmc 04/06/12 #

@David Higgins nothing wrong with being a teacher but stick to it, if your a teacher then teach ! Don’t try and run a country cause it doesn’t work , would you get a postman to fit your bathroom suite or ask the traffic warden to fly the plane!!!!

• Enda the ornament kenny

• And I am very fussy about my ornaments I would never appreciate a Kenny ornament. Can you imagine the nightmares… Kenny is a bully and we need to get him out. Thought almost 2 years ago that Denis Naughtan and Bruton was going to do it but unfortunately did not

• B7584 04/06/12 #

There’ll be another heave before long against inda. Same in labour too, eamon is finished.

• @David, could’nt agree more, but any man who shows any sign of being a Real Patriot in Ireland will be dealt with very quickly by the foreigners who now run our country.
      This is how Stalin dealt with many millions of his people, he ruled by fear, so will this crowd.

• Grow up dave! He is supposed to be defending the interests of the irish people, not banks and international bankers. Maybe you missed his Davos interview.

• shame on anyone who voted for this piece of grit. shocking thing is next time round he ll be partnered with michael martin.

people in this country need to wake up.

• Kenny is not a leader, leaders look after their Peoples interests, Kenny is nothing but a puppet !

• Is there a new push on ? The party will have to oust him before the next gen., elect., if they hope to retain their seats…. not that I will ever vote for any of them ever again (or Labour).But it is the way their small brains would be working . Do they not realise how disliked they are? Decent honest hadrworking people will not support them .

• Why would there be a push on Susie? Have a look at the most recent polls. FG’s support is very close to what it was at the last election. Enda has generally been the most popular leader over the past year, apart from a recent poll which put Gerry ahead and which was taken immediately after SF’s Ard Fheis. A push against Gilmore would be far more likely than one against Enda.

• His best has yet to come. When he leaves.

• Short memories. The present Government was handed a mountain of sh*t and now gets blamed for the smell. He’ll leave and the next one in the door will be cop just as much abuse and so on for at least another decade.

• Daxe you are dillusional the political system is rotten with corruption ,a banking system that collapsed and their debts shoved over on to the backs of people who pay tax and the people who were responsible for this not brought before the courts only a cover up that is truly frightening ,a judiciary which is out of control and now that we are on endas watch the people went mad borrowing .

• Yes and all this has occurred as a result of decisions (or lack thereof) made as long as 15 years ago. The bile and vitriol directed at the man is an awful indictment of a society and media that seems to want to be angry and miserable. Not debating his skills as a leader as I could care less. The Government could have taken x away from schools and left y in social welfare and so on but it’s absolutely negligible in the scheme of things. The best leaders in history could do very little for Ireland at the moment, standard of living will drop for everyone for a long time. As a society we need to get away from such a poisonous mentality and move on. Look how happy everyone was for a week when the sun was shining and thoughts were directed away from austerity etc. If you want to spend your life angry about issues you’d need a time machine to affect then you’re free to do so, it’s your life to waste.

• Isn’t it funny how most of the pictures show someone propping up Yellow Kenny. What a plank to have talking on our behalf in europe. The old saying comes to mind. Better to be thought a fool than open your mouth and remove all doubt…..Yellow man Yellow gov Yellow country

• A man with his agenda and he does not care who he tramples on to achieve it, unfortunately it does not include the very hard pressed citizen, well most if us at least, hope I see his downfall, hate someone who lies.

• The sooner we vote this primary school teacher out the better for the people of the country once know as the republic of Ireland.

• It was ff who screwed us with the bank guarantee, they have been screwing us since 1921.. Never again

• A career of lies and deceit. Collect your pension Edna never a second term for FG! Enjoy it while it lasts.

• mel 04/06/12 #

And what about his teachers pension? Oh that’s right it’s on hold , nice work if u can get it!

• 1. Who really decides what is success or failure when using opinions in law?

2. Should we allow some people to be successful when using opinions in law?

Will history expose these people as being successful traitors, asset striping Ireland, falsifying the rule books and a court systems that does not use reading, writing and arithmetic to protect people by law.

• Let’s see how long that last, this will be the nail in the coffin for that traitors party.

• If you have ever voted or even considered voting for FG you should have a large kick me sign pinned to your back

• Ireland’s George Bush Jr.

• This is about Enda as leader of Fine Gael and by any measure he is a success in that regard.

The party has gone from 31 seats to 76 seats in the space of two general elections, that’s unheard of in Irish politics.

Loath him as Taoiseach if you must, but as the leader of a party he may prove to be the most successful of any leader of any party in Ireland to date.

• Most successful leader of any party in Ireland to date? pull the other one, its got bells on it. The only way those man became Taoiseach was down to the fact the other side made a complete and utter hames of things. To think for one second that the glorious Enda overcame f.f. in glorious fashion is a joke. All he was, was a f.g. leader in the right place at the right time. If Bosco was f.g. leader at the time he would have won the election.

• Enda gained 20 seats in the 2007 general election at the height of the boom.

And in 2011 when FG gained another 25 seats people had ample choice between Labour, Sinn Féin and other parties.

You can’t accredit the seat rise to the recession. Sure it got people looking elsewhere for a new party, but with so much choice its significant that people chose FG over all the others.

• F.g. didn’t get into power because of anything they did, more because the mess that f.f. made of this country. Kenny was just lucky he was f.g. leader at the time.

• @David
      Any luck finding out why fine gael were deleting mine and other people’s comments and opinions from their facebook page? You seem flat out on the social media side of their BS so I’m sure it wouldn’t be too hard for you to find out, thanks

• The only reason Fine Gael got into power is because they lied to everyone, I wouldn’t call lying to everyone an achievement.

• Remember this?

FINE GAEL – LET’S GET IRELAND WORKING
      Bad decisions, poor judgement and a Government out of touch with the people have led Ireland to an historic low point
      The time has come to remove from office the people who created these problems. The time has come for a new start.
      Fine Gael election promises 2011

• So if Enda isn’t the most successful Irish party leader to date then who is?

• @David
      Any luck finding out why fine gael were deleting mine and other people’s comments and opinions from their facebook page? You seem flat out on the social media side of their BS so I’m sure it wouldn’t be too hard for you to find out, thanks

• @David, the list of party leaders better than Inda, the list is endless.

• David, define success in terms of all the people of this country and have another crack at it. It won’t take long.

• What happened to these promises David

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LTCT7QIeP8

• I think that he has done a good job as leader of FG, he brought them on massively over last 10 years. As a Taoiseach he certainly is one of the better ones we have had over the last 20 years, a lot of that though is that the bar is set so low by the others. Look at men like Bertie “the liar” Ahern, Brian “the Booze hound” Cowen and Albert “Beef” Reynolds. Would you trust anyone of them to even mind a penny sweet for you. Course not.

Enda needs to realize that being an honest version of FF is not good enough, outside of the corruption and criminality that defines that party, it was also the cowardice and the obsession with protecting their friends and donors.

Put the country first, not just the few that have risen to the top and i’ll name my first born after you Enda, irregardless of gender.

• Toirealach Mag Fhionnghaile
      You are lucky , your comments were only deleted …. I can not make comments any more on FG / Enda sites . I have never once used abusive language , only asked questions or made factual statements about the austerity treaty and household charges. Hmmm !
      So he leads through fear . enda story !

• @Susie
      I can’t write on their page anymore either and I just wrote in the same manner as you, they couldn’t answer the questions without lying so they just delete them, loads more people had the same done to them. They only want to listen to people who agree with them and they don’t give a s??t about anyone else.

• Toirealach Mag Fhionnghaile
      Have you noticed that there are FG commenters on some of these posts , who incessantly repeat the same questions and use several different identities ( they some times forget the id they have been chatting with ) and even hack decent people’s accounts . But as you say they don’t give a sh1t about anyone else.

• Still no takers on a party leader better than Enda Kenny……..

Fine so, to quote a commenter above Enda “wins by default”.

• Oh David ! You are going to get kicked out of YFG for that …… Careful now , are you showing some spine ?

• David he’s not even the best leader f.g. have had. To say he is, is doing a great disservice to Garret Fitz.

• limofax 04/06/12 #

Leslie, Bosco would have got an overall majority.

• @ Susie: Where’s the proof that someone from FG hacked your account? I’m curious because it’s a serious accusation to make if you’ve no foundation for it.

@ David: Enda would probably be considered the most successful FG leader of all time (76 seats verses Garret’s 70 as well as leading them to being the biggest party at all levels). But deValera was Taoiseach for by far the longest period of time, while Bertie won three elections so it depends on the criteria used to define the most successful leader.

• Ryan Allen
      Why ? There was a false account in my name , now you obviously think that is ok , I don’t .

• @ Susie: You made a claim above that there are “FG commenters on some of these posts , who incessantly repeat the same questions and use several different identities ( they some times forget the id they have been chatting with ) and even hack decent people’s accounts”

I’m asking where your evidence is that is was an FG person who hacked your account?

I never said that it was okay, so please don’t be so disrespectful as to put words in my mouth. I can speak for myself thanks.

• Ryan Allen
      It wasn’t you so why are you asking ? I am curious as to why you are so concerned about something that does not concern you . Thing is it happened . It is not nice to see your name and know that the stuff being written is not written by yourself. I do not see your point .

• @Ryan
      What would the process be if I did have proof?

• @ Susie: You made an assertion and I’m wondering if you can back it up. Too often people make assertions on this site and can’t back them up. The fact that you focus on why I’m asking and don’t answer seems to suggest you can’t back this particular throwaway remark up.

• @Ryan
      Fine gael are the masters of making assertions without backing them up.
      Do you know what the process would be?

• @Ryan
      if she had proof she’s hardly going to tell everyone here :-/

• Well , that is just it . I will not be telling. Suffice to say that it happened and there are certain contributers who spout FG policy ad nauseum and have more than one user name to do so , but you know what that doesn’t bother me at all , I find that quite entertaining , especially when they confuse themselves and forget which identity they are using. It gives me a giggle.

I will not be gagged tho . in my beliefs .

• I never taught they re was so many spiteful people out there till till I read the comment s made on this article what do e want. Is it because the leader of our country has not been in a tribunal or a scandal of some sort he s not perfect but who is.

• Maybe you missed the Davos interview Dave.

• In some of those pictures he looks like he really has the tickles!

• Tell you what if my new party gets in he won’t have the size of pension hes’ after – why because everyone reading this will be voting for a group of new patriots who will have a common-sense agenda for one. For two long we’ve sat back commented and done zip – now the charge is on each and everyone to get behind sli-nios-fearr it will hit the street of Dublin though out July, and limerick in June and the press office will be up an running soon- look it up – google it – and get involved

• I think his doing the best he

• A lot of infantile comments.

• Gagsy 99 04/06/12 #

Can I suggest to Journal.ie that anyone who includes the phrase “Everyone knows that….” as part of their argument should have their account deleted?

• Fagan's 04/06/12 #

People already forget the likes of Ahern, Cowen,Liam Cosgrave, Haughey. They were the worst Taoiseachs that this state has ever had. All exhibiting a disregard for the greater good, and often basic right and wrong.

I don’t get the obsession with Kenny, he is honest, he is carrying on the same as FG/FF/Lab have done for 90 years to a lesser or greater degree.

• Ben Gunn 04/06/12 #

Difficult to think of any leader worth a light since 1922.

• He’s not doing that bad a job I’d be really worried if everyone liked him because it would mean he was more worried about staying in power and not making tough choices. He got the job a Hard time so don’t be fooled by SF or any other party if they were in there the same choices would have to be made. We are in a tough time but it’s Notting this little island has not being tru before So chin up my fella country men and women we will get tru this. :)

• Next government will be a coalition of FG and FF with Kenny still leader & Martin as Tanaiste

• “Coming at a time when some critics were dismissive of Enda and his government’s deference to other European leaders, this photo of him being nuggied by then-president Nicolas Sarkozy seemed spectacularly ill-timed and badly thought out.”

Facepalm. Please explain how exactly this photo was badly thought out? How exactly can a person control how someone they are talking to reacts to them, especially when Europe’s media is focused on them?

• Ryan: The age of reason has gone out the door for many of the no campaigners. Instead, they judge a politician on how he looks in a particular photo. Tabloid morality.

• @ Paul: I couldn’t agree more. If SF ever get into government it’ll be very interesting to see how their supporters cope. Compromise and negotiation aren’t just hallmarks of the EU, they are also seen in any coalition so SF will quickly have to do that if they are to enter government.

• Ryan while I agree with you somewhat, Paul I have no idea what you are on about? You don’t think that photo is damaging? Cause if you don’t you’re delusional. Ole Berlusconi would love for the Italian public to think like you!

• Lads the photo was captioned by a journalist, what in Gods name are ye both on about now? Get a grip on reality there will ye!

• @ Diarmaid Twomey: Yes, I’m talking about that caption. I’m wondering how this photo can be described as “badly thought out” when Enda can’t exactly plan beforehand how a fellow European leader is going to interact with him. In my opinion, the caption is very poorly written because it suggests that the photo was put out at Enda’s direction or something.

Also the reaction to this photo shows how easily distracted people are if they spend more time focusing on a photo of Enda and Sarkozy than policies.

• A picture paints a thousand words. How many other Irish or EU leaders would Sarkozy act this way towards? Struggling to think of one.

• censored 04/06/12 #

So he can’t plan out beforehand how other European leaders will interact with him?

Well, let’s play a little game. Can you think of any other European leader who Sarko has patted on the head? Lucas Papademos maybe?

Remember this picture? (Juncker and Luis de Guindos)
      http://openeuropeblog.blogspot.com/2012/03/fiscal-compact-in-action.html

• It’s easy to be angry, FG have made some awful gaffs, I voted no, but I still feel enda is a good decent family man of integrity..

Add New Comment