TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Gardai vow to find killers after shooting of Alan Ryan

Man shot dead in broad daylight in Dublin today had links to Real IRA.

Discarded clothing and bloodstains visible at the scene of the shooting today
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE MAN WHO was shot in Clongriffin in Dublin today has been named as Alan Ryan.

Ryan was known to gardai for his links with the Real IRA – he was convicted in 2001 of taking part in a Real IRA training camp in Meath and also for firearms possession on another occasion. Most recently, he took part in protests against Queen Elizabeth II’s visit to Ireland, specifically outside Dublin Castle on the day of the State dinner hosted by President Mary McAleese there for Elizabeth II on 18 May last year.

At a press briefing at Coolock Garda station this evening, gardai moved to assure the public that they were engaging regional teams in investigating the shooting this afternoon of Alan Ryan. They said that they fully intended bringing the perpetrators of the killing to justice.

Another man was shot in the leg in the shooting on Grange Lodge Avenue but his wounds are not thought to be life-threatening. Alan Ryan was shot several times by his killer.

Gardai have been carrying out forensic tests on the scene of the shooting and also at the scene where a burnt-out car was found on Hole in the Wall Road a short time after the 3.30pm killing.

Man shot dead in Dublin>

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• These people really don’t give a shit shooting in broad day light. Young children probably having to bear witness to this after their first day of school. Some people have no concern or cop on for the welfare of others.

• It’s more than just the Gardai that are responsible for bringing the killers to justice. Anyone that knows anything about these murderous cretins should pick up the phone.

It’s up to all of us to keep our communities healthy – if you know something – speak up.

• And this guy might have been a thug. The way to deal with them is not to get someone else to shoot them – but to use the laws. There must be brave people out there that know they can protect their neighbours and kids by giving information about thugs to the Garda.

• It’s a jungle out there, and the animals are getting hungrier every day as the drugs, prostitution and racketeering turf shrinks. The fact is that these guys are going to wipe each other out in the battle for supremacy, financial and egotistical supremacy. While some say “Let them wipe each other out” I cannot agree, too many innocent victims are created in that scenario, Shane Geoghan, Anthony Campbell and dozens of other unfortunates are proof of that.

What is needed is for our government to use the laws it has to remove these thugs from our streets, to go after them like in the aftermath of Veronica Guerin’s murder, implement newer laws like New York Mayor Rudolph Giuliani did and not reduce spending on policing any further.

• This guy was well know to Gardai, his Republican ‘credentials’ were tenuous at best. The ‘Real IRA’ in North Dublin are a loose collection of dealers and thugs who tag along to Republican protests because if you have some sort of political motive its ok to be a criminal it seems.

The Continuity IRA didn’t like their brand to be tainted by association it seems so he was taken out.

• For what it’s worth, there is a noticeable presence from the Garda armed response unit in the Clongriffin/Donaghmede area tonight.

• …..because they’re scared of the fallout from this one! Could be all out war!!!

• I’ll certainly like to know the gist of the conversation taking place in the photo outside Dublin Castle.

• These guys don’t recognise the republic or it’s laws. Why should the republic waste resources investigating one of their murders?

• Mjhint 04/09/12 #

Gingerman we had the same atitude towards the provos & look where that got us. Apparently Sinn Fein is trying to engage regularly with these disadent republicans & bring them in from the cold. While a lot stories are going around about these guys motives for their violence if they have some ideology that in some way can be influenced by them giving up this madness they should be engaged. Remember the provos were also accused of drug dealing & organised crime & they stopped. So maybe these guys can be made do the same.

• F this so-called Republic!

A poxy 26 county state that’s nothing more than a Banana Republic, a Troika Republic.

“Those guys” should be proud they don’t recognise that decrepit entity

• ‘F this so-called Republic!
      A poxy 26 county state that’s nothing more than a Banana Republic, a Troika Republic.
      “Those guys” should be proud they don’t recognise that decrepit entity’

OMG Kerron ur totes such a rebel! Lets all put on our che guevara thsirts and make jokes that Angie Merkel is SO like hitler and that the bankers are running the country, maybe something about Phil Hogan and the household tax?

So badass.

Like seriously I have never heard those sentiments from anyone, so totes original.

We’ll soon be out of the recession with that kind of insightful and original eloquence.

Hats off to you Kerron Ó Luain.

• And I’ve never heard some Gaeilgeoir with the politics of a West-Brit defend the establishment, their cronies and the ridiculous Free State before. So totes original.

• Ah Kerron are u upset that only a tiny minority give a toss for your cause. He was a criminal pure and simple. Get over it

• no why would I be upset about that? if you had any grasp of history you’d know that this has always been the case. Unfortunately the majority have not bothered and a larger minority of your ilk have cowered, spied and informed

• I absolutely agree with you kerron.No need to listen to people who will continue to sit and complain and essentially take it up the rear from as u put it ‘the banana republic’……

This man ‘killed’ drug dealers for f*sake and so what if he lined his pockets with a few bob for it.its better these people are gone for good than us paying for them to waste away in a cell.or the idiotic justice system to allow murderers and rapists back out again to kill and rape innocent people.

Be thankful you and yours dont end up one day disgraced by the justice system and government of this country or worse ‘touch wood’ murdered or raped and then to watch your attacker walk free to commit again be thankful that Mr.Ryan would have no interest in you and yours and did however stand up the people that deserve to be in his position now.

o cinneide is the definition of a keyboard warrior.get some knowledge in before u decide to open it!!
      im sure you have an independent brain in there somewhere!

• ‘This man ‘killed’ drug dealers for f*sake and so what if he lined his pockets with a few bob for it.’

Are you actually serious or are you mentally deficient? Or both perhaps?

Also, not that I need to justify myself to people such as yourselves but I am currently working towards a PhD in the Northern Ireland conflict.

But please, continue calling me a ‘West Brit’ while I sit here and laugh.

• And you will continue to SIT most likely for your lifetime possibly with your Phd possibly not.whilst the country falls around you but yes argue your way out of it type til you cant type anymore this is how we change the country!!! This is how we make a change, we discredit people that make stands.

i wish u luck sir.

• @Ronan, A PhD in the Northern Irish Conflict, you’re joking right? Couldn’t make that shite up, it must be true!

• Look there all bunch of cowardly drug dealers. extortion money from other drug dealers, only matter time before in got clipped..

• gerry 04/09/12 #

Ronan what do you mean ,is that mean if you support any group which are not free state or brit approved you derserve to get shot, or as u say burned.(real west brit thinking)sorry bout brackets.

• What do Gardai mean when they say “We fully intend bringing the perpetrators to justice” is there something different about this killing when compared to others where they don’t make the same comment. Maybe in other killings, they don’t fully intend; strange people; the Gardai.

• Maybe it’s the other way around?

• Well its not an easy task dealing with these guys. A of them are trained in forensics so they are very difficult to convict. Also they would have systems to avoid arrest & detection. I guess the gardai are just trying to reassure the public because of the madness of this stuff.

• Ah now, they can’t exactly say “good riddance” now, can they? Investigating crimes and arresting perpetrators of crimes is their job. It doesn’t matter how the victim was, they are obliged to be disinterested.

• Hi @Ephen – Just a note to you on that – the gardai seemed to be trying to find ways of essentially asking that there be no retaliation. Given the victim’s associations, the chances of that might be higher than in other killings and it would be a calming tactic of sorts to assure all sides that it would be better to let the letter of the law take its course, than to start a tit-for-tat situation.
      Whether it has the desired effect remains to be seen but I’m sure you’d agree that no-one wants that.

• up the reds!

• They sure are strange people, when “normal” people run away from something like this they run to it in a genuine attempt to intercept the gunmen. And no they are not trained to do this they just do it to protect nice citizens like you.

• gerry 04/09/12 #

Does (known to garda )mean you deserve to die in the street,it reminds me of(victim was known to ruc) which was the way the media had of telling the public that it was ok for the person to be murdered,

• WEJ

• gerry 04/09/12 #

Btw ronan che was from clare,go back to school n learn sommit,

Add New Comment