TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

“We’re drinking too much as a country” – Shortall confirms alcohol restrictions

Junior minister says the cheap and easy availability of alcohol needs to be addressed to curb consumption.

Image: David Jones/PA Wire

MINISTER OF STATE Roisin Shortall has confirmed that the government is preparing to introduce new alcohol control measures to reduce the amount of alcohol people in Ireland are consuming.

“Overall we need to reduce the amount of alcohol that we drink”, she told Newstalk Breakfast this morning.

The cheap and easy availability of alcohol “happened in recent years” and is a serious factor in facilitating harmful alcohol consumption, she said. “We’re working to introduce a minimum price for alcohol – a floor below which you cannot sell alcohol.”

The junior minister said that problems with alcohol need to be tackled on different fronts at the same time through education, labelling with health warnings, alcohol abuse treatment, and alcohol prices and availability.

Shortall said that alcohol puts pressure on the health system and economically and socially “it’s costing us a lot”. “It costs about €3.7 billion a year in terms of extra pressures on the hospital system, alcohol-related crime, problems in the workplace – absenteeism, lack of competitiveness, accidents in the workplace and so on.”

The recent report on the deaths of children in care showed the extent to which parental alcohol abuse was a factor in children being taken into care, Shortall added.

“We’re drinking too much as a country. Per capita we’re drinking almost 12 litres of alcohol a year, that’s about the equivalent of a bottle of spirits a week per person over 15.”

Shortall said that plans for a Public Health Bill concerning the sale and availability of alcohol are well underway and that the steering group’s report is being referred to the cabinet committee on social policy.

Read next:

Comments (133 Comments)

• im sure what ever they decide to do it will benefit the governments pocket and break the ordinary Joe soap who has a couple of drinks at home at the weekend.

• Nappy 23/07/12 #

putting up price wont help one bit

• This is another example of government fighting wrong battle (Don’t get me wrong alcoholism is a major issue) but experience has shown that increasing the price doesn’t work. This is not about protecting health this is an easy taxation for the government and political parties in general.
    Yes something needs to be done to tackle the abuse of alcohol, but it needs to be educational, social and inclusive. This plan of restrictions is nothing more than playing to the crowd and this sort of Politics makes me sick. Poor town planning is a cause of alcoholism, poor education is a cause of alcoholism, Political and social exclusion are causes of alcoholism. The arrogance of the political elite and their self serving “solution” to alcoholism is a cause of alcoholism!

• This government is not concerned with correcting social problems – it is creating them.
    This is just a sop to the vintners lobby and the high-moral-ground campaigners.
    In Spain (yes I had a great holiday thanks) alcohol is much cheaper than Ireland – as it is in many, many countries – and there is not the same problem. Anyone seriously wanting to address this social problem should look elsewhere for the cause.

• Looks like the vintners and publicans successfully lobbied this government same as the last. I’m sure they’ll show their appreciation when the collection plate gets handed round for the next election warchest.

• Home brewing is the key. They can’t control you then.

• Did it years ago.
      Cack, and it’s a really weird aggressive buzz.
      Not recommended.

• You must have done it wrong then. I brew at least 10 times a year and end up with plenty of quality beers wines and ciders.

• Made a good few toxic brews with the cans of slop you buy in the health food shops.

I’d rather drink Dutch Gold out of a docker’s welly.

• Peter 23/07/12 #

The key is keeping your equipment sterile, I made gooseberry champagne last year, plus an apple liqure

• Done properly, home brewing can give beers of much higher quality than the majority of mass produced beers. Kits can give reasonable results, if a bit bland. For the best results, extract or all-grain brewing is the way to go

• JTHM 23/07/12 #

I like the odd drop of whiskey, but I wouldn’t trust myself not to blow myself up if I tried to make it at home. :-)

• Well obviously there’s a world of difference between home brewing and home distilling.

• JTHM 23/07/12 #

@ Damocles – Don’t get me wrong – I’ve a lot of respect for home brewers, but I don’t have the patience. For successful home brewers, I think the hobby aspect is more important than the cheap alcohol aspect – the time and care invested balances out the money saved on buying alcohol, but the satisfaction of doing it yourself brings the extra worth.

• JTHM, with all due respect, home brewing, even from tins of stuff (Muntons are pretty good), requires about 90 mins of effort on two consecutive Saturdays and a small amount of space.

So I don’t think the time expenditure should really be an issue, particularly if alcohol prices are due to increase.

Eoin’s got a point on the flavour issues, but I find that slinging some fruit or honey in and can make a world of difference.

Most issues for people with home brewing come from cleanliness, as per Peter’s sterilisation comment, and small amounts of patience, as you have to wait at least 2 weeks before consumption. Impatience here can lead to many bad experiences for people, raw unconditioned beer’s not the best.

If you need the volume you can double the weekly effort, make 40 pints every week and set yourself up your own wee production line. Of course if you’re knocking back 5 gallons a week the chances are you don’t care about quality.

• Yeah, I should say, I’m not trying to put home brewing down here. I’m sure with the proper time and effort anybody can produce nice beers. But if you think you can just go out buy a tin of gloop and a bucket and three weeks later be drinking high quality craft beer for 20c a bottle you are kidding yourself.

You will end up with 20 litres of medical grade colonic irrigant and an afternoon on the jacks.

• i think its hilarious everybodies talking about home brewing after that article.
      Shorthall needs a good kick up the arse.

• The tax take on cheap alcohol is not all that much. No doubt that is part of the reason. Just back from Lanzarote and a Magners is €3 for a pint. So shipping, storage etc. from Ireland to somewhere off the coast of Africa is cheaper that a pint here. I’ll buy my cheap drink here until the prices in Irish bars comes down or freeze for about 15 years.

And another thing, if there is a minimum price on alcohol here everyone will just stock up their alcohol supplies up North.

• they want to put a minimun priice so they can generate more tax from it. \they,re just using the old we want to help the alcho’s and eradicate drunken fools as an excuse to rape our already sodomised wallets.

• @diarmaid. It’s called responsible parenting.
    We don’t need our political overlords to point out our duty to raise self respecting adults.

• I agree in some parts with this, however responsible adults do not need to be punished, by putting up the prices it will not solve the problem, shoplifting will increase, and people will shop over the border for cheaper drink. If the sale of alchol was better regulated, stopping underage people buying, and not granting licences to almost every shop that asks for one things would be better

• Ah sure, just make it illegal. All out prohibition. Worked out well for America in the 20s….

• My one joy in life about to be clobbered by these vampires.
    I despair!

• Personally, I don’t think highering the price will work. The new closing times of off licences has not helped one bit, in fact I believe it’s made the situation worse. Because they close so early, people buy way more than they need, “just in case”. And then they end up drinking it all because it’s there.

• cant tar everyone not all drinkers abuse drink.

• John F 23/07/12 #

No Problem Roisin, I’ll continue to cross the border for my €1. cans, I pay enough in Tax already! If the Judicial System would find the balls to crack down hard on drug/drink related anti-social behavior maybe the rest of us wouldn’t have to suffer because of the actions of a tiny minority although Im more inclined to believe this is a measure to raise more taxes for the government and keep the Vintners Association happy!

• Scarr 23/07/12 #

The gov tax take on alcohol is down €333,600,000 since 2008. They have to make a grab for your cash somehow! You didn’t think this was about health and social issues did we? Those anti social issues don’t happen in the main fg areas. Take on booze 2008 – € 1,160,000,000. 2010 – € 826,400,000

• Due to their complete incompetence in virtually every other aspect of governance, the Labour Party (and Ms. Shortall especially) like nothing better than this nanny state claptrap which ususally involves banning something or other. I’m sick and tired of being told what to do by the government. People getting out of their heads is not because you can get a reasonably priced slab of larger – there’s often other more complex reasons. Typical knee-jerk loony lefty rubbish that further curtails personal freedoms and does nothing except let a cabal of professionally offended dinner party bolsheviks feel good about themselvs by telling us plebs what we can and can’t do. Another useless annoyance that will do nothing whatsoever to address the real problem.

• Steve 23/07/12 #

excessive drunkenness should be cause for shame. In Ireland it’s just cause for general shits and giggles.

Until there’s a massive cultural shift to the point where drunken idiocy becomes socially unacceptable, nothing will change.

Peer pressure is a powerful force. An extra bit of tax on the price of a drink is not.

• Zoltar 23/07/12 #

If you want alcohol consumption to drop, let the safer alternatives be made available legally through regulation to adults. Substances that don’t cause violence, liver failure and the massive cost to society have been around for years. It’s time we started taking a grown up and sensible approach to all drugs instead of giving people the choice of just alcohol and tobacco that are straight up killers. Alcohol costs €3.6 billion to police and health, cannabis coffee shops would generate that amount of wealth while taking the pressure of the emergency services.

The overall net benefit would be massive.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2012/jun/19/david-nutt-alcohol-cannabis-cafes

• Education and responsibility.
    We don’t put up the price of McDonalds just because some people eat too many burgers.

Education and responsibility is the key.

• I’m against this, but surely any minimum price will still be fairly low, and therefore would only raise the price of supermarkets’ own-brand muck and the like? The price of any half-decent beers should be unaffected.

Still, it stifles competition, which can only be bad for consumers in the long run.

• One simple way to cut down on alcohol related violence/anti-social behaviour on the streets:

Bars and, in particular, nightclubs should be obliged to remain open for at least two hours after they stop serving – rather than the usual half hour at present. This would allow the premises to empty slowly, rather than having a large number of people ending up on the streets at the same time.

• Any idea what sort of measures she is going to bring in? Minimum pricing is enforceable but if she is going to try the Michael McDowell label every can/bottle with the off-licence name then she is heading for a fall.

• Legalising cannabis would bring about a drop in alcohol consumption – http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2012/jun/19/david-nutt-alcohol-cannabis-cafes?commentpage=2#start-of-comments

• Prohibition works. Look at how drugs have disappeared because the availability is decreased.

• I’d like to understand why alcohol free beers are so expensive in pubs. It can’t be duty, they’re alcohol free.

• To the best of my knowledge it is treated the same as alcohol, ie you must be 18 to purchase it and it can only be sold during alcohol sales time (10:30am-10pm mon-sat, 12:30-10:30 sunday)! I believe and I am open to correction on this but it is something to do with whats in the beer!

• I don’t think tinkering with the price will make any difference really. The whole culture around alcohol use and abuse in this country is warped and is a huge drain on the resources of the state. Education is the key and people need to wake up to this.
    For example after a recent U12 camogie final win locally the celebration consisted of going straight back to the pub, a few pizzas thrown on for the kids involved, and free rein for the adults to “celebrate” the win.
    Hardly a surprise then when youngsters learn to associate all occasions good or bad with drinking and the pub.

• Exactly! And while we’ll agree to disagree on the price issue Rommel, I agree it’s only one step and education must form a major part. I love your point about the camogie. The ironic thing is ppl do not see a problem with that yet are up in arms when they see teenagers and young adults out getting bladdered! We have a blind spot for drink in this country! It’s a simple fact!

• Absolute money-spinner for the coffers. Nothing more. same old excuse to raise taxes

• That I could not accurately answer…pubs margins I know. …which incidentally varies on your location and volume. …
    The Breweries have the biggest mark up in this scenario that I can assure you….average price of a keg of lager including Vat to the Pub….approx ?170 – 180. ..which works out at ?2-2.10 a pint….
    Breweries could definitely drop their prices…I know for a fact a keg of Guinness or Heineken is about ?50 Euros cheaper on Germany than here…and Guinness is manufactured in Dublin. ..go figure huh. ..
    But a large reason for that is The Government high excise duty imposed on alcohol in this country….
    In actual fact a prince increase on alcohol in supermarkets will put more money in the coffers for the boys above in the Dail. …

• Firstly as a Publican and secondly as a person who’s lived in continental Europe for 20 yrs…The problem here is 100 % the drinking culture…Even cheaper booze is readily available in Germany, Holland etc…ppl don’t abuse it to anywhere near the same extent as here. Of course they have Alcohol problems but its minimal in comparison…Actually the legal drinking age is most certain Countries..France, Germany etc is 16…but that’s only Beer and wine…no spirits….and u18s have to b out of pubs and off the streets by midnight…when u actually have 3am to 5am closing times.Young ppl can drink sensibly in a controlled environment I.E The pub….not back of schools or in parks with rucksacks full of spirits…
    The problem does start at a young age & when young teenagers start boozing here..its the supermarket they head for…which is totally unregulated. .I don’t think a minimum pricing is the answer. .cos How much can it be hiked up..I bet you it will be less than 50 cent per unit….Supermarkets will still be miles cheaper than Pubs…
    As regards pubs ripping ppl off…The actual margins may seem very high from the outside looking in….but I know from first hand the overheads r crippling here…and Your gross margin and net margin are miles apart….Rates..Utilities…Rents. ..Revenue..Insurance. ..live Bands…Staff….Imro. …among many of the overheads which soon eat away at any profits u make..
    Simple question! Would they’re be so many pubs closing if they’re making money? ??

• Boycott all pubs in Ireland if they try and bring in a minimum price.

• toorkeel 23/07/12 #

Should read, the ordinary person is not the problem

• Raising the price will have little or no effect. Alcohol abuse in Ireland and, Northern Europe for thay matter, is an age old problem. Greek and Roman writers from antiquity commented on the amount the Celts and Germanic tribes drank. This is a deeply rooted thing that goes to the very core of who we are and it will take something a bit more intelligent than raising the price to solve it.

• The black market for alcohol has just received a major boost now with this..like the cigarettes, this addresses a symptom not the core problem with alcohol and wont make any difference to the issues concerned.
    A lovely leg up to the vintners too who still charge the same prices as they did in the Celtic tiger era (oh and we still have an alcohol problem-proving this initiative will not work at all)
    Idiot governance…an education campaign preventing the parents from going back to the aforementioned club house to get tanked after the camogie match or whatever would be far more affective,
    also how about an order not allowing the club to serve alcohol at such events would be best(might upset the vintners though)

• Define cheap and readily available. Our licensing laws are one of the strictest in Europe and pricing is all relative to your income. An abuser of alcohol will find the means, lawfully or unlawfully, to aquire their booze. This proposal is about one thing only and that is increasing revenues for the gov.

• Lots of talk about pricing, home-brew and closing times. Symptom management. Not much talk about the underlying reasons for Irish society’s messed up attitude to drinking. Ireland is such a miserable, uptight dump to live in, the population are drinking to forget. Problem is they don’t know it. All the looking outward to more civilised countries is pointless.

People of Ireland, look inward, see the backwardness, the intrinsic artificial nationalistic “ghra” instilled in you since childhood, the inequalities, the inferiority complexes, the disgraceful treatment of children ( a society’s institutions reflect its values). No wonder the country has a serious drink problem.

• Diarmuid, I couldnt help but notice quite a while ago in the thread you mentioned ?3.00 bottle of wine, could you possibly share where this is available; purely for research purposes obviously !

• I don’t know lads, I see this as a good thing. Alcohol is the legal scourge of this country and causes much more damage that illegal substances on a much wider scale. Being able to buy a bottle of wine for €3 or a can of lager for 80c is off the wall. I am not pro a nanny state, I am however pro some sort of government intervention to at least attempt to calm the problem.

• Every family in Ireland has a member, relative or neighbour that has had their life destroyed through alcoholism. The same cannot be said about drugs.

Alcohol is the most destructive social drug in Ireland, from a social and economic perspective and it is so by a very large margin.

• Exactly, and I am actually pro legalising drugs, so it’s not a case of being a nanny state, it’s a case of being sensible and rational. I understand peoples gripe with publicans etc, I too have stopped going to the pub because of their prices and mark ups, however, our sensitivity to having a cheap brew should not cloud our judgement in recognising our nations problem with drink and if it does we have a much bigger problem on our hands!

• I always felt that our problem with drink is down to our low self respect as a people. It’s basically a coping mechanism.

• I can’t agree more Diarmaid, it might be a trite remark but alcohol but alcohol doesn’t cause problems, people who misuse alcohol cause problems, they are the “scourge on this country”. I is not my place to tell somebody how to live their lives, good luck to them, but cheap easily available alcohol and the devastation that it leaves behind is certainly a problem. It is every bodies place to question when a measure of vodka costs less than the mixer that goes in it.

• So what you’re actually saying is (and this is part of the reason why I find this so strange coming from a party like Labour) is that low income people or those simply trying to save a few bob can’t get access to cheap drink but if you’ve got enough cash you can continue getting every bit as as plastered as previously? The real root causes of alcoholism (depression being one) are too difficult, costly and beyond the intellectual ability of people such as Roisin Shorthall to address. This is only banning a symptom. The cause remains and doubtless will find another outlet.

• Agreed, about time.

I long for the day where Friday and Saturday nights become something other than excuses to drink too much, post complaints about hangovers on Facebook and then blame everyone else for the alcohol issues in this country.

I also look forward to being in Dublin of a weekend evening and not feel threatened by the atmosphere.

• @TLL I’m not sure I understand your point? Are you saying we should make alcoholism affordable?

• Affordable is entirely relative. I don’t think – to the alcoholic – that any price increment as a result of legislation will prove any deterence whatsoever. Someone determined to drink to the point of severe intoxication – irrespective of the reason – isn’t really going to care if the price of a can is eighty cents or two euro. This legislation (rather incorrectly, I think) is assuming all problem drinkers are either kids or on the dole. This is not the case, and even if it was I doubt any legally mandated price incremenet could possibly be sufficient to make a difference. There’s two things afoot here – revenue raising under the banner of the political juggernaut that is ‘elf ‘n’ safety and a bit of nanny state hectoring from masters of the art on the basis they feel it will get them votes.

• Your point is a big contradiction so. You believe price is not a deterrent to people, yet you believe the price should be left low so people can afford drink. Seriously, step back from your argument and think about what you’re saying?

• Umm… no. I don’t believe that price is really a factor. It’s not low as things stand, certain products in some outlets are a little over the EU average. I think the political invervention on pricing is the ususal combination of misguided legislation and knee-jerk reaction so favoured by our leaders. It’s especially bad form because by doing this the government can claim they’re addressing the problem while the root causes of alcoholism – isolation, depression, unemployment and mental illness – are left as is. This is headline grabber and a vote getter with the moral brigade while bringing in a bit of additional revenue. Once you take on board that heavy drinking is more often than not a symptom rather than a cause in itself the obvious flaws in measures such as this become apparent.

• JTHM 23/07/12 #

The price of alcohol is significantly cheaper on the continent, ( €2-3 for wine, 40-70 cent for beer in a supermarket ), yet these countries haven’t collapsed into alcohol-furled chaos. Price is clearly not a significant factor. How we approach drink is a significant factor. Restrictions on when and where people can drink alcohol has not limited the problem, it has intensified it. If drinking outdoors in a public park is seen as perfectly acceptable, then knacker-drinking would be lessened. Making something illicit does not remove it, it makes it less controllable and, for some, more attractive.

• We already have some of the higest prices for alcohol in Europe , if price increases were going to work our consumtion figures should be lowered , raising the price simply punishes responsible drinkers for the actions of others for whom price will have no bearing. Shorthall is on a crusade whether it be personal or lobbied. and I see very little opposition to this comin out via media the frontline program on it a while back was a farce.
      They subsidise drink in the dail bar but want to charge us more. underage drinking should not be affected. it is illegal to drink under 18, inforce the law that’s already there or raise the age (not that it would work) but they are more responsible measures to raising minimum prices in super markets, exactly as the vintners asked them to do, its a lame political stroke to appease a lobby…

• @TLL When are you actually going to listen to my point? You keep harping on about mental illness and unemployment like I do not know they are massive issues. I actually feel more passionately about both those issues than I do this, however, this is not about alcoholics alone, this is about our society and the approach we have to drink. Having a litre of beer being cheaper than a litre of water is absolute madness. Irish ppl have a problem with over drinking, not just the alcoholics and the “Swedish House Mafia go-ers”, but adults too! There are men and women who have a bottle of cheap plonk every night of the week to “relax”, who speak about alcoholics and young people as being the plague on our society. I refuse to see why our hospitals should be clogged up in 20 yrs time with ppl who have cheap drink most days of the week now, and why putting up prices should not be seen as a reasonable deterrent and even if not a deterrent, we should be making adequate tax off it to cover the health implications coming down the tracks!

• JTHM 23/07/12 #

@ Diarmaid – there is a problem with how us Irish approach alcohol, but setting an artificially high price will not address that problem. The fact is that, in terms of production costs, beer really isn’t that much more expensive than water, if the water has been properly treated and purified. People in Ireland have a very inaccurate view of how much beer costs due to taxes and profit margins. In terms of production costs, beer should be cheaper than coca-cola. Heroin and Cocaine also have huge mark-ups that disguise the cost price, but this heightening of the price hasn’t affected their popularity. Higher pricing won’t help.

• Aidan 23/07/12 #

Diarmaid, something that is in demand it is not affected by price too much

how easily you forget the housing market only a few years ago

how easily you forget drugs

Your point is invalid. Completely.

• Its the ordinary person thats not the problem. The ordinary person who might throw a bottle of wine into the weekly shop so they can have a relaxing drink at home on the couch watching easy tv on a saturday night. Why do these people need to be penalised? the problem is with morons running riot at weekends in our towns and cities. Local councils need to be more proactive and introduce more by-laws to stop public drinking in out public parks and streets. Also Off-licences need to step up to the plate and insist on Garda ID’s for late teens and young persons up to 21/22. The same goons are causing hassle on the streets week in, week out. Greater punishment for Public Order offences and more accountability I feel will go along way in changing the mindset of these people. Get them to mop up puke and piss from doorways and public areas. Pick up litter and wash the fronts of public buildings in high visibility jackets with “Community Service” written on the back. They would think twice about their unacceptable behaviour next time. .

• Why shouldn’t adults be able to enjoy a bottle of wine or a few cans without spending loads of money? As usual the moderate drinkers are going to suffer from this. The problem drinkers are going to drink anyway, regardless of cost, the others in their household will just lose out on something

• Diarmaid, you really have rustled my jimmies with two of your comments. This self-righteous “clogging up the health service” tomknavery infuriates me. Firstly, the level of free health care you get is quite rudimentary and secondly, a huge number of people who end up availing of it do so for lifestyle reasons. Sports, smoking, overeating, lack of exercise, having the wanton audacity to get pregnant and so forth. It’s an immature argument. Generally speaking, the of person who has a bottle of wine a night, will more than likely end up paying for any resulting ailments themselves.

Also, and the lefties really do need to grasp this one, you can’t go around telling people what to do on the rather specious basis that they might access a health service (which most of them will pay for) at some point in the future because of it. That just doesn’t wash. We already have some of the strictest licencing laws in Europe and some of the most expensive booze. All this nanny state mentality gets us is diminished personal responsibility, learned helplessness and bigger government legislating for every aspect of our daily lives.

• A quick few points @tll. Firstly I am not a left winger. Far from it. I despise that sort of action where I am put in a box because of an opinion, in order to enable an opposite political ideal to diminish my argument. Secondly, in relation to your tax point. Smokers are one of the most taxed people in this land, and rightly so. I smoked for 12 years of my life and never complained on budget day because of the cost of smokers on our health system. You also mentioned those who get pregnant. Let’s not be silly here. The children of today are the tax payers of tomorrow vis a vie, they will be supporting us when we re old and grey. My personal belief is adequate tax should be made off every possible pastime a member of our society takes part in to cover every possible cost to society eventuality. For a man who seems to rubbish the left, ironically I’m not sure you know where the money will come from to pay for health and addiction services if you want everything to be taxed so little. I do not want a nanny state, quite the opposite, read my blog on drug legalisation. I do however want a well funded well educated society able to cope with societal and health issues!

• Believe it or not Diarmaid…I agree with you… Hope the cabinet push this true….I actually think they will despite the doubting tom’s on here…

• Christ Declan , first time for everything ;) I do hope so! As you well know I criticise the govt enough, but I genuinely believe there is good meant in this move and that it will have a positive effect.

• 2 litres of water in Tescos is 49c, making a litre of water 24.5c, can you tell me where I can buy my beer for 24.9c a litre, I’ve obviously been missing out? Just because our elected representatives say it, does not make it true, usually the opposite of what they say is true.

• Perhaps the gov should use some of the tax they earn from alcohol sales and spend it on some European grade sports facilities Like 50m pools and subsidized the high costs of entering these clubs so young people can access them.

• Price is indeed a factor in alcohol consumption. But as with anything where it is essentially intended to raise prices as a solution to reducing consumption, there is a limit.

I’ll exaggerate to highlight the point – if a bottle of wine cots €200 minimum then I doubt people would buy one at all, never mind just a few times a year. People would take an alternative route – home brewing or renting a van to head to France and back.

There is a tipping point where raising prices stops having an effect, or indeed has an adverse effect.

Given the price of alcohol on mainland Europe we need to look at the problem – and that problem isn’t price. I’m not sure what that is but looking at price alone is not going to address the damage that alcohol abuse is doing. We have a very different attitude to alcohol consumption here than in many other countries, if this can be understood it would be of much more benefit than the blunt instrument which does little more than sustain an industry.

• Throw up some minarets around Leinster House and blast out the Koran. Welcome to the Islamic Republic of Ireland.

• I bet they are happy with this news up north.

• 107 Comments on this thread…… just shows you how important alcohol is to the people of Ireland. Its a luxury the western world enjoys but Ireland abuses. If we drank less and got involved in our own communities we’d have less to complain about.

• Rob 23/07/12 #

time to buy shares in Duty Free Shopping!!

• seeing as roisin sharthall is on about 2 grand a week she must be a raving alcoholic according to her own logic.

• JTHM 23/07/12 #

@ Damocles – Good advice. For me though, I no longer live in Ireland so price is not an issue. Fruit juice is more expensive. My issue is not the price, it’s the fact that beer makes me fat :-(. I do see the benefit of being in a country where beer’s a refreshing drink and a more pleasant alternative to something fizzy and sugary, rather than a means of blanking out the world. Even promoting a Spanish drinking model ( eat and drink and eat and drink ) would maybe help..

• Drink drink, let the toast start, may young hearts never part…….

• Łíšã 23/07/12 #

Well one thing is for certain mr publican down the road who hot foots it into tesco to buy his crates of beer for nowt to sell on to the punters for €5 won’t be best pleased!

I don’t think this is the answer to stopping alcoholism.. Education is most definitely. If they came out and said ” look we need more revenue from this we’re setting a minimum price” you’d say “ah right ok”.. Having more money to spend of hospitals etc is never a bad thing, but if people want to drink, they’ll drink! all that will happen is they won’t go clothes shopping as often or they’ll cut down of brand products and go cheaper etc.. Where there’s a will there’s a way!
    If we’re talkin about tackling alcoholism and anti social behaviour lets start with those that sell alcohol; put the age up to 21 for a start, secondly ensure off-licences seek ID by conducting ‘sting’ operations and the like and imposing heavy fines/imprisonment if they don’t. Also why not have a maximum drink allowance in all pubs/clubs? People pay cash an are given vouchers for night and that’s there limit tough! There are other ways to fight this problem putting the price up isn’t one of them.

• And what is their to stop people from crossing the border to buy cheap drink there?? I know that’s where I’ll be going for mine!! :)

• What’s d point in new laws with drink because the government only making it worse. People will still get drink no matter what d government do. So there’s no end to it. It’s worse it get not better.

• Nappy 23/07/12 #

buckfast is 12 euros and it has not stopped people drinking it one bit

• Bottom line here.
    As a nation we have a disastrous relationship with booze.
    Irish people can’t take alcohol socially, despite all the bullshit about ‘having the craic’.
    We can, however, drink professionally, and often lethally.
    Culturally, we have a blindspot about drunkenness and antisocial behaviour, bound up with issues of sub level esteem.
    Anything that counters this is in fact a good thing, but in essence we’re a couple of generations away from thinning out these tendencies.

• Peter 23/07/12 #

I believe that no off license should sell you a beer until you have brought back your empties, the price should be 3 times as high for people who don’t bring back the old bottles, they do this in brazil and other countries

• I can understand a lot of the concerns people have I relation to the minimum price increase but something has to be done when it’s cheaper to buy a can of beer than it is for a can of mineral. If u go to a pub and have too much alcohol on board it’s a bar responsibility to prevent u from getting too intoxicated. The person in the supermarket has no such responsibility. I own bus and taxi business and see the affects of all the drinking at house parties on our young people. I don’t agree with anything fg or labour say, they have lied to us since the day that their campaign started to get into government, but that woman has to start somewhere on this.

• Scarr 23/07/12 #

I’d start with more power to the gardai. Drunk tanks in a&e, personal responsibility for all – you drink, get drunk and get hurt – tough, no litigation for you. You visit a hospital because you drank yourself there, then pay up. I’d almost support a rise in low cost booze if there was a multi pronged strategy but all I’ve seen thus far is “we’re going to raise the price and have some eh….. Education, yes that sounds right, education.”

• CSEC BIO 23/07/12 #

Start by education. It is not sexy nor is it cool nor is it quick but the long term benefits will outweigh any benefits of a price increase.
      The question has to be asked why are people looking for cheap supermarket drink and drinking it at home? Cost and results in social isolation. Activities need to be introduced cheaply to get people together without or with minimal alcohol.

• JTHM 23/07/12 #

@ Tom – if the cost of production of alcohol is lower than the cost of production of a mineral, surely the retail price should reflect that?

• If ppl do not think our problem with drink goes beyond alcoholics, just think back to last “Holy” Thursday or Christmas Eve. 90% of Irish ppl rush to the off licences and buy up an amount of drink that could last a few weeks just because the pub is closed for one day.

• Diarmuid, Do you think raising the price of alcohol in off licenses will help Ireland’s drinking problems? Do you think this the the answer?

• It won’t solve the problem no, but I certainly believe we should be making more tax off it to counteract the problems it causes. As well as that putting up the price will most certainly reduce the amount of alcohol consumed by society! I agree with ppl calling for education etc, that has to be the spearhead for tackling the problem, but one measure alone will never stem the problem!

• agreed on tax – but what we are actually talking about is addressing the alcohol problem in Irish society and a minimum price for alcohol will not help the problem at all – and the reason I know this is because the we were a nation of drunks before cheap off license booze and we’ll still be a nation of drunks when its gone. FACT.

• Diarmuid, whilst I applaud your bravery with sticking to your points and I can appreciate your desire to right the wrongs of Irish society, culturally, Irish people are an extremely sociable group. Our sociability is intrinsically locked (pun not intended) to alcohol. How do you change this? Push a café culture, like in France perhaps?

No. It’s not that simple, just like a minimum price increase is not that simple.

Addicts will always drink to excess to meet their needs, selfishly. Removing more of an addicts income through higher taxation only hurts the addict further and those around the addict. The addict will spend less on food, will spend less on dependents and if they are at the lower end of the social ladder could fall into further debt, resorting to stealing, prostitution or worse.

Do you honestly believe any additional revenue raised by this tax increase will be used correctly in the HSE, given the recent overspending news that has come to light? Given our current bailout deal with Europe, sadly, this extra revenue generation will not be used by the HSE, it will be used to pay the bond holders.

This tax increase is inevitable and will happen, as will the next increase in the household charge, lest we forget that this is a yearly rate until property value can be taxed and water metering introduced separately. What’s the bet the next household charge hits €120? Where does the tax increase end? It doesn’t, not for at least the next 30 years.

Diarmuid, whilst your intentions are noble, they are too simplistic, much like the governments reasons for this proposal. To put it into perspective, a bottle of locally produced Jameson Whiskey is cheaper to buy on the continent than it is in Ireland, that’s after production, distribution, export/import duties and tax costs are added. Similarly, a block of Kerry Gold butter is cheaper to buy in a sainsburys supermarket in the uk than in a supermarket here. Irish people are paying through the nose for everything and it cannot continue.

A little of the point here, but if you really want a feel for how bad it is in this country and the extent of the rip off, I urge you to do the following on Hertz.com

Enter in a 3 week period in August for a car rental in Malaga, Spain. Make sure the country of origin is Ireland. Select a B class car just for comparison, but it doesn’t matter which class you pick so long as you stick with it. I chose a Seat Ibiza, class B. Hertz quoted €666.73 for 3 weeks rental of this car in August, pickup and drop-off at Malaga Airport.

Now, go back to the home screen and only change the country to Spain. The pickup stays the same, the dates stay the same and when you select get quote, pick the same vehicle class and you’ll find the exact same Seat Ibiza is now €333.52. The only difference I found between the two rental agreements when I progressed them is that Irish site gave you unlimited km, whilst the Spanish one gave you 6300 km.

So why the 100% markup? Are we richer than the Spanish? Think about what that means and why we as a nation have allowed for such markups, including taxation. Somebody is making money from all of this. With open European markets we should be protected as consumers against this discrimination. When you try and book under the Spanish website, Hertz.com will only process the payment with a valid Spanish credit card.

A small diversion I know but there you go.

Increasing taxes on alcohol, given the current level of corruption in this country does not serve to deter addicts and to change social habits, but makes more funds available for this government to meet its bailout agreement. I wish it did go into the HSE, as we would not be closing hospitals and reducing capacity if it did.

• I must say I am quite disturbed reading some of the comments on here. Our country has one of the worst drinking cultures on the face of the earth. Our hospitals are awash with adults with liver disease and other chronic medical problems caused by excessive drinking, our towns on Saturday nights are awash with street brawls and sunday mornings with vomit and broken bottles. I am a responsible adult who drinks responsibly, however, if I have to pay a little bit extra in a bid to help alleviate the problem so be it. All the talks of conspiracies with publicans and the putting the head in the sand are actually mind boggling! This is a society we live in lads, one where we introduce laws and logic to try and better it for us all. Complaining about having to pay a few extra bob for a pint is patethic given the hardship that families across Ireland go through every day from ease of access to drink!

• Scarr 23/07/12 #

And I don’t see how putting an extra €1 on a can of low grade lager will help those issues. The people you speak of have bigger personal issues than the price of a can of tuborg. Im not talking about down and outs. Im talking about the everyday people, out getting lashed every weekend people. They’ll buy the same amount of booze they always have but now they might not buy that €30 shirt, or cut back on take aways, maybe stop going the pub altogether and stay home drinking instead. I’ve not seen anything else here from shortfall but a cash grab.

• I think you’re missing the point Diarmuid. Pushing up the price of alcohol won’t help tackle Irelands drinking culture and will only play into the hands of criminals as seen with the trade in smuggled cigarettes, drugs and laundered diesel.
      An excerpt from an article from the Adam Smith Institute:
      “Earlier this year, Ireland’s Office of Revenue Commissioners made a shock discovery, albeit one which sounds slightly dull when put in the language of economics. They found that the price elasticity of cigarettes in Ireland is -3.6, which is to say that a 10% increase in price reduces sales by 36%. This came as a surprise because cigarettes—being notoriously addictive—are usually thought to have a consumption elasticity of less than -1.0, whereas a price elasticity of -3.6 implies that smokers are more price sensitive than people who buy jewellery, DVDs and toothpicks. This struck them as rather counterintuitive, to say the least.
      Something was clearly up, and what had been going up was smuggling. Since 2002, the price of cigarettes has risen by 40% in real terms to 8.55 euros a pack and the black market has swollen accordingly. The -3.6 price elasticity figure only took into account legal sales, which have indeed declined significantly. The number of people smoking, however, has not. Smuggled snouts and privately imported baccy have made up the difference.”

What’s most concerning about this initative, is not another politicans demonstrated capacity to pursue completely ineffectual policy, but yet another demonstrated instance of economic illiteracy from our political elite.

• Diarmaid Twomey – you are blind.
      You seem to trust (our) politicians.
      The claim that higher prices will reduce our problem with alcohol is SIMPLY 100% RIDICULOUS.

• Can people make a point without insulting the other person at all on this site?

• Sorry, but the idea that increasing the price of alcohol is in any way a genuine effort to improve the health of the nation is an EXTREMELY GROSS insult to my intelligence and my humanity.

• CSEC BIO 23/07/12 #

I agree with your statement except for the part of putting up the price as a solution. It is not, it is most effective as a tax revenue raising measure. You talk of logic, answer this then putting up the price has failed in the past why should it work this time?
      I would like to see proper measures put in place to tackle alcoholism. One such measure (& one that benefits me more than most) would be the introduction of alcohol free night clubs.
      Education on the biological affects of alcohol should be introduced in 6th class a lesson on taking the pledge until you are 18 from a peristaltic & how breaking it is a sin is a joke. Facts not fear is what is required.
      Alcohol should be banned at all sporting events held in stadiums with a capacity greater than 1000.
      The pub is seen as the main meeting place for people to socialize why not try to introduce social clubs with an exercise element (such as bowling, pool, Darts), where the emphasis is on moving rather than sitting watching a game on TV while taking a sip. Human interactions suffer in pubs.
      Health and general well being can be improved by reducing alcohol consumption but a price increase will not work.
      Education, social and activities will work on reducing alcohol consumption in Ireland. There is no real will to change Ireland’s drink culture, there is only the greed that Politics and lobbyists feed their egos on and this approach to a serious issue is reprehensible and downright disrespectful.

• JTHM 23/07/12 #

Increase retail price of alcohol? No. Legalise drugs? Yes Tax on sugary / fatty foods? A qualified yes. Fat and sugar content should not be the only factors; diary products shouldn’t be taxed, even though cheese and butter have high fat contents. Similarly, many fruits contain a lot of sugar. the tax should be aimed at highly processed foods.

• Ban off licenses and bring in a lower tax on pubs selling drink.

• @TheJournal I would love to see a corresponding poll done on how many of the above posters would a) like to see drugs legalised and b) would like to see a sugar tax / fat tax. My gut feeling is the same people who complain about this notion would be very much anti legalising drugs and would probably see the argument for trying to make our nation eat healthier. If ever we needed confirmation that this country has a blind spot for drink, a quick read of the above proves it!

So ppl can be assured I am not a nanny state advocate:

http://diarmaidtwomey.blogspot.ie/2012/07/lower-crime-and-legalise-drugs.html

• Scarr 23/07/12 #

I would be very much open to legalising drugs. I don’t know the pros and cons or details of fat tax, but would support it if implemented sensibly. Food companies are tricky though, they’d most likely make a non- sugar synthetic to avoid tax. I’m against this as its legislation where education would suffice.

Add New Comment