TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Callely win could land taxpayer with €500k legal bill

The Public Accounts Committee is told that Ivor Callely’s legal fees for his Supreme Court challenge could reach hundreds of thousands.

Image: Graham Hughes/Photocall Ireland

THE IRISH TAXPAYER could be hit with a bill for almost €500,000 in legal fees if a Seanad committee loses its Supreme Court case against Ivor Callely’s appeal of his 2010 Seanad suspension.

Callely was given a 20-day suspension from the Seanad in 2010 after its Select Committee on Members’ Interests found he had inappropriately claimed travel expenses from an address in Cork while based in Dublin.

Callely successfully appealed the suspension to the High Court, which overturned the suspension and said the Seanad committee did not have the right to pass political judgements against him.

The Dáil’s Public Accounts Committee was this morning told that while Callely has not yet submitted any claim for his legal costs as a result of his High Court success, it was possible that those fees could reach half a million euro.

The State could be forced to pick up Callely’s legal bill if its Supreme Court appeal against Callely’s victory is unsuccessful.

The High Court awarded Callely his costs as well as €17,000 in damages, but the committee was told that Callely had not yet submitted his legal costs for reimbursement.

Dáil clerk Kieran Coughlan agreed to seek a more up-to-date figure on the Seanad’s own legal fees, which will be distributed to the committee in the coming weeks.

The committee was examining the Oireachtas’ own official accounts for 2010.

In other business, the committee set a provisional date of March 1 for a further hearing into the management and spending of the controversial HSE ‘SKILL’ training fund, after representatives from SIPTU agreed to attend a further hearing.

Neither of the two SIPTU officials who managed the fund itself, nor a now-retired civil servant who oversaw its funding, have responded to letters from the committee seeking their assistance.

SIPO probe into Ivor Callely’s mobile phone claims discontinued

High Court awards Callely €17k in damages for Seanad suspension

Read next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• This odious “little” man typifies all that is wrong with politics in Eire. He’ll have no problem filling out his claim form though. Plenty of experience with that.

• He has a neck like a jockeys b****x

• and yet 17% of the populace would vote FF in the morning. What is wrong with those people, are they that bad that they couldn’t care less what is done to Ireland, their own children having to leave for a slop of tar and a medical card, which in most countries are automatically given.

No doubt that FG/Lab. leave a lot to be desired, and I have never voted for either of them but FF are unique in politics, a unique cancer in our society, they have stuffed positions of power with their gombeen men and gangsters for decades. This is why we’ll never see convictions here, in the FF fraternity, it is all for one, one for all, and fuck the Irish people.

FG are just full of Victorian economics and a fear of change. Labour are just Dáil vote fillers.

• Very very true!!! Lets not forget the ‘man’ who brought this leech Callely upon us – A certain Bertie Ahern!! Need I say any more!!??

• Hey Gavan!!

Whats up with the journal today?

”Callely win could land taxpayer with €500k legal bill”

But no articles on Galwayman Danny Grehan writing off €308 million (owed to the Irish Taxpayer) with his U.K Bankruptcy yesterday?

It’s even on Reuters
      http://uk.reuters.com/article/2012/01/11/uk-ireland-developer-idUKTRE80A1C420120111

It’s amazing how Grehan,his brother, Flemming and all the other southerners writing of Billions owed to the Irish taxpayer doesn’t seem to make big news.

Kinda give’s substance to the Quinn Vendetta?

Although I suppose Quinn didn’t sell a lot of overpriced properties through Daft.ie during the boom years like Flemming,The Grehans and Co.

• What are you talking about he is a jockeys B****y

• Rotten to the core, a despicable human being.

• Can these papers not be passed to the DPP for a decision on a prosecution? He should be prosecuted and then his pension entitlements withdrawn. He’s adding insult to injury the way he’s behaving.

• So the expenses cheat who by the standards of any other normal country would be in prison for fraud is now going to cost the hard pressed tax payer half a million euro and that figure is just his legal fees? The Seanad (waste of space) is also going to cost the tax payer and what’s worse is that it is looking increasingly likely that the incompetence that has prevailed in Irish political circles throughout the last 90 years is going to mean that once again another farce is about to happen and Callely who, everyone agrees bar him HAS made false claims and defrauded the public purse will get away with it, he is already getting nearly €15,000 a year in pension and thanks to the idiots in the Seanad he is now going to get another windfall of tax payers money despite him being a class A crook! What a country!

• Another scumbag politician..

• What a horrible c**t.

• If he’s successful we’ll pay it off @ €1:00 a week.

• Ivor Callely is just another example of the political-parasites that are still ruining this country.The man should be put in jail.

• Why are the Gardai not involved for the alleged fraud? In the UK a few grand gets you 18 months.

• Rotten to the core the lot of them. Only in Ireland would that lying bastard get away with it and gets a nice reward for all his pain and suffering

• what a dick!

• Why should the taxpayer pay this, the unwanted muppets in the Seanad, that suspended him should be fined this from their salaries, expenses and pensions. then sack the lot of them they are a leech on the taxpayers

• Forget about Ivor for a moment. Why are the legal bills €500k? That bill is as obscene as Ivor’s fake travel expenses.

• Seriously this man needs to hung for treason. A cheat with no shame.
    I wouldnt use a bullet as a rope around his neck can be used again as there’s a few more who should join him on the gallows

• Useless politician! With a sense of entitlement that’s mind boggling! I hope this cretin gets what’s overdue to him!!

• Irish politicians are mostly a disgrace – two Longford politicians (of the present Govt.) have cost the taxpayer €10,000 by sending out Christmas cards at the country’s expense – an awful lot of waste.

• I really hope I bump into this “man” someday. Were gonna a long talk. What a farce and the courts should be ashamed their as bad as him. My bloody tax money.

• De Bert 12/01/12 #

Ivor gets us on a technicality. We pay.
    His fat Pension guaranteed.
    Bertie won it on horses. We pay
    His fat pension guaranteed.

I am beginning to despair. This country is so corrupt and full of protected vested interests.

• How much can one hate a slimy little politico like him. This guy is the embodiment of everything that is wrong with politics and the courts in this country. And the only ones that suffer for it are the tax payers. Loser.

• Gravy for the lawyers, gruel for the taxpayer and small business owner. Great country.

• How did he win this case? He claimed expenses falsely and was suspended. And how is it going to cost half a million? Its only been going on for a year or so, how does it amount to that much so fast? The system is rotten when people like this scumbag can prosper.

• Basically the Law profession in Ireland is institutionally bent. It is a self-enrichment project, certainly not about the law. It is run on rules and regs that were formulated in the 1800’s.

• @tim to the contrary if the arrogant asses in the Seanad had actually taken the time to take even some small legal advice they might have handled the hearing more professionally and the result might be quite different.

• Time for the Irish public to bend over once again and smile as yet another member of government rides us all the way to his own bank.

• Q:What did Callely ever do for this country….. A:nothing but waste taxpayers money.
    Delusional self serving waster should off either worked as a Priest to say mass or a jockey because of the neck of the chap.
    Where do these politicians get this attitude of self entitlement from educated,the system or their nothing but gangsters in suits.
    As well I don’t know what annoys me more Ivory Callely or him getting away with robbing the state?
    Doesn’t give a good signal to people thinking about robbing the dole or dodging tax.

• Absolutely typifies the sanctimonious greedy bastards that are the cancer of Irish politics, bad cess to him

• His onus as a paid public representative to the citizens of this state is a joke this little prick is , a liar , cheat and a thief and scum like him only merit the disrespect that they deserve less talk folks and more action, most of the people posting here agree what a scumbag he is so lets treat him like one, off with the gloves boys and girls and lets make an example of this type of scum who are only intrested in thier own personal gains,looking forward to meeting Ivor soon!!!!!!

• He is an odious man but the the comittee are completely at fault in this instance.

They were in such a hurry get a result they forgot to follow a few simple procedures. Just count your blessings that the recent referendum was not passed. Incompetent bunch of idiots. The seanad should be closed immediately and the senators made to pay his legal fees out of their over inflated salaries.

• The problem I have with this is that the “Select Committee on Members’ Interests” shouldn’t be acting like a court and they effectively started this farce. They are to blame and that €500k should come out of the performance management budget for politicians. Why da f*ck should I pay for they’re pure stupidity…trying to run a case when they wouldn’t run a bath for you.
    Why weren’t the guards called to investigate first, and if he had a case to answer then he should be brought to court for stealing.
    This is a brilliant example of the danger of moving responsibilities for findings in law away from the court to these dumba*s politicians.

• He served under Bertie as a minister and was subsequently appointed to the Seanad by Bertie. Bertie was elected 3 times in a row including when he was lying through his teeth at the Mahon tribunal.

These are the type of scumbags and standards the Irish people endorsed. How often I heard “Better the devil ya know” or “loveable rogues” when used to describe these type characters. No point bitching and whining about it now when the IMF are in town, ye only have yourselves to blame !

• I can’t understand why he wasn’t charged with obtaining money by deception

• His claim that he was ”illegally ‘ suspended was upheld by the courts ….. that is what he won .! 5000 houses x €100 house charges = €500,000….. That has made up my mind … I WILL NOT PAY THE HOUSE HOLD CHARGE. F…ing crooks.

• So not only will I have to pay for Ivor Callaley, I will have to pay for you too. :) Yipee!

• Tom Neville @
      Thanks Tom:) :) .

• YW Eileen. Now everybody has a justification not to pay their tax. LOL. Hope you have fun explaining to nurses and special needs teachers why we can’t pay their salaries.

• @Tom, You only have to pay the “household charge” once not twice.So you won’t be paying anyone else’s “household charge” if they don’t pay it.

• Eugene,

Not sure if you understand how taxation works. We collect money to pay our bills. If people don’t pay and the bills still exist, we still have to pay the bills.

If you think that there are no consequences to the taxpayer ofindividuals not paying tax, then perhaps you might explain why we don’t just scrap tax completely. :)

I will only pay the household charge once….but I sure as hell will bepaying for those who don’t pay through my other taxes. :)

• Eugene O ‘ @
      Don’t mind Tom …. He does this he picks on people ….. It is my turn . He is not a nice commentator and just tries to annoy me and twist my words … :) :) Bye bye Tom . I am telling you that I am ignoring you on purpose . Nothing you say or will say interests me .

• Eileen,

It’s ok. I won’t hold my breath. I’m still waiting on you to justify your endorsement of tax evasion from the last time.

Have a good day. :)

• @Tom,I don’t work for revenue but have a idea about how tax works and when people try to be patronising.
      I understand why some people who don’t want 2 pay this bank tax because it’s just a con job calling it a household tax.I rather see people complain about the money and over entitlement these politicians feed them self’s.
      If people don’t want to pay this bank charge well good luck to them.

• Eugene,

I agree with you 100% about the sense of entitlement that politicians have.

I disagree with Eileen because she tries to justify screwing taxpayers like me, simply because someone else (in this case Ivor Callaley) is also screwing taxpayers like me. Eileen and her ilk are what is wrong with the country. They just take take take and have no sense of civic or national pride, quite similar to those in Fianna Fail.

• @Tom,Many people who are not paying this new charge are not trying to rob or pull the wool over the eye’s but protest about lack of accountable,greed of the politicians and lack of people behind bar’s who caused this mess.Everyone will have their own opinion about this put get used to it this will only be the start of mass protest’s against new tax’s.

• Tom, I’ll have no problem explaining that at all to any of them. It’s a very quick an easy explanation actually- Fianna Fail and corruption!!!

• For the record . I am not nor have I ever been a tax evader. I am a PAYE contributer. I am entitled to hold my own opinions and I feel very aggrieved that anyone would follow me from post to post picking on me because I hold different views. I am not easily intimidated and will not be hounded away either.

For the record (Yet Again) I am not and never have been a supporter of Fianna Fail. In fact I abhor what they have done to us. Not that any of this is any ones business . I enjoy chatting and sharing opinions on this forum. In fact looking over all of the comments here my comments are not in any way different to the majority of the contributers.

• Those who voted for Ivor Callaley down through the years when he was in the Dail should be horsewhipped.

• He is the product of falsifying the rule books of Ireland to use opinion over 8000 times since 1922.

Those who get away with such things for so long do not know the difference between right and wrong.

As they have used opinions for so long they have destroyed democracy and i don’t see why any of these people are paid monies.

• His right to due process is the issue for the twats that made this decision in the first place, his onus as a public representative to the citizen of this state is another, a liar , cheat and thief only merit the disrespect that they deserve less talk folks and more action, most of the people posting here agree what a scumbag he is so lets treat him like one, off with the gloves boys and girls and lets make an example of this type of scum who are only intrested in thier own personal gains,looking forward to meeting Ivor soon!!!!!!

• Rob 12/01/12 #

the problem in this instance is that he was denied the right to due process – and the committee ignored his defence and pandered to the public opinion in suspending him!

In this instance – the outrageousness of his behaviour in terms of expenses claimed – and the nonsense of how he was appointed – and his barefaced cheek to the irish public – isn’t relevant!

• It’s all varying sorts of incompetence.
    Ministers f**k up, TDs f**k up, so do bankers, administrators, advisers etc etc.
    All of ‘em on fat salaries.
    Then they get moved/resign/draw big pension or quit with fat bonus.
    After which they go and get another responsible, high-paid job.

WTF is going on? I would like that sort of treatment, the only time I ever f**ked up in an ordinary job my only reward was the back door and a kick up the arse. I want to see some recognition by these “top” people that its public money being poured down the drain, and Joe Public is mighty p*$$ed of right now.

• Whilst I have absolutely no sympathy for Mr Callely one has to question the actions of the senate oversight committee who, despite having a barrister on their panel, walked right into this by grandstanding and ignoring the law. One could say that their actions, not Callely’s, brought this cost on the citizens.

• B7584 12/01/12 #

He looks like a character out of Knots Landing.

• The lads in siptu wont answer letters or turn up so we will be fishing in the dark again.
    Social partnership my arse it’s more like a party for the social side of the unions.
    Both parties to Croke park have plenty of questions to answer in relation to this deal that the unemployed infirm hospital trolly patients ect ect ect are paying for.
    Privatise the lot of it put it out to tender let every body reapply for jobs with CAST IRON pensions
    Better idea auction the jobs

• Sick of the lot of them!

• Why worry about Ivor at least he is now out of the ‘Upper’ house. Have been reading that the Independent senators are entitled to claim a €23,000 ‘party leader’ allowance per year. BTW there are 17 ‘independent’ senators at the moment.

• Great news

Add New Comment