TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Cannabis use by adolescents hits brain areas associated with schizophrenia

Research at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland found that cannabis use makes physical changes to parts of the brain when smoked by adolescents.

Image: PA Wire

RESEARCHERS IN IRELAND have proved that cannabis use during adolescence makes physical changes to parts of the brain which are associated with schizophrenia.

In research published in a journal this month, researchers at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) found cannabis use in young people can interact with a gene to cause physical changes in the brain.

The three areas of the brain assessed in the study changed in cell size, density, and protein levels.

“Increased knowledge on the effects of cannabis on the brain is critical to understanding youth mental health both in terms of psychological and psychiatric well-being,” said Dr Áine Behan, the lead author of the study.

“This is the first study to show that the combined effects of the COMT gene with adolescent cannabis use cause physical changes in the brain regions associated with schizophrenia”.

Dr Behan said the study showed how genetic, developmental and environmental factors interact to affect brain function in schizophrenia.

The research was carried out through funding from the Health Research board and Science Foundation Ireland.

Ban on tourists buying cannabis officially begins in Netherlands >

Read next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• This just in… Excessive consumption of cheeseburgers may lead to obesity

• Aidan 08/05/12 #

Thank you, I loled!

Another pointless study yields obvious results.

• everyone knows that cheeseburgers make you fat though. a lot of people would deny that cannabis is bad. its different, ye know?

• Aidan 08/05/12 #

Well I heard years ago cannabis use in adolescence caused problems, so not or me. Plus common sense dictates that teens shouldn’t be doing dugs, be it alcohol or other drugs, as they don’t, in the vast majority of cases, have the common sense to do so in moderation and don’t fully appreciate the affects.

• I think you have missed the significance of this report. Studies in the past have shown a relation between schizophrenia and cannabis use. From the findings Psychiatrists could guess which region of the brain was effected. These results have traced the effects of cannabis use, to interaction with a single gene. This means prescribing treatment for patients effected by narcotic induced Schizophrenia can now be administered in a way which will guarantee success. This is a major leap forward from the trial and error chemical drug therapy that currently exists.

• Aidan 08/05/12 #

I prefer to handle the cause of a problem not to treat the symptoms. But I do see what you’re saying.

• I think Aidan has just hit the nail on the head there – adolescents shouldn’t be using any sort of drug at all.
      In addition to the very nature of adolescence, which brings enough changes of its own, they are not renound for respecting their own limits, and that is a recipe for disaster whatever the drug is.

• Glen Grehan you appear to be a font of knowledge perhaps you can tell us what exactly is schizophrenia, what causes it and how do you test for it? If you’re suggesting cannabis use is directly responsible for it on the basis of one study in rodents who don’t suffer mental illness like humans (they don’t have higher consciousness) what causes schizophrenia in people who have never smoke weed?

• as per the actual research article here: http://www.nature.com/npp/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/npp201224a.html this study didn’t find “cannabis use in young people can interact with a gene to cause physical changes in the brain”. It found that cannabis use in young mice had this effect. A slightly different species! These mice, for example, were 32 to 52 days old when their brains treated with cannabis, as opposed to the 13-18 year old brain of a human adolescent.

• Yeah and alcohol can make you murder, rape and cause gbh to people, cause liver failure and brain failure but lets just ignore all that cause we can tax the hell out of it and make loads of money.

• Don’t forgot tobacco!
      emphysema, lung cancer, heart disease all available at your local newsagent in a convenient 20 pack @ €6.71 for the revenue, welcome to flavour country!

• Thats all true but cannabis can cause mental health problems so it needs debate. I have seen people so messed up on drugs including cannabis they had a condition which was drug induced bi polar. Its not meant to insult anybody but if you take drugs including alcohol you are rolling the dice. If you can live with the fact that you could end up with mental health problems carry on. As someone with mental health problems I would prefer not to have them your choice.

• cimada 08/05/12 #

100% agree with Michael. Seen drug induced bi polar myself. Several times. And the only drug involved was cannabis.

• Alcohol causes mental health problems too! How many ordinarily law abiding people appear in court for alcohol induced public order offences?
      Alcohol induced bi polar anyone?
      Cannabis in moderation is no more harmful than alcohol in moderation.

• True Caroline but I never said alcohol was safe. You say in moderation its ok. Give me a number for moderation.

• That’s up to individuals!
      You object to Cannabis on mental health grounds because of personal reasons, I respect that. I do not drink alcohol or smoke for my own reasons but I respect anyone who chooses to do so
      If we’re going to educate children on the evils of drugs lets do the same with alcohol & Tobacco.
      Then let educated adults make their own choices

• Y’know, I was depressed once.. I went to the doc who gave me SSRIs – which made me go crazy, then after nearly killing myself I got put on SNRIs, which made me manic then dysphoric – I was told I was type II bi polar..

I stopped taking the drugs. I started eating right, making sure I was getting plenty of b complex and magnesium, and guess what?
      I’m discharged, cured if you will.. Doctor had zero to do with it – except for making the problem worse..

I’m inclined to take a lot of research into mental health with a pinch of salt because they routinely ignore the fact that low levels of certain nutrients cause the exact same symptoms as several “psychiatric disorders”, even schizophrenia.

• @ Caroline, you say “Cannabis in moderation is no more harmful than alcohol in moderation”, have you got anything to back that statement up?

• Too bad it’s so tasty.

• This isn’t really new news as the link has been previously suggested. The important thing to note here is that this applies to the adolescent brain, that is, a brain still under significant development. Another reason to legalise and get this drug sold where it can be sold to adults only. Keeping it illegal like it is means it can only be sold through people who don’t care what age their buyers are. Make no mistake, marijuana will always be available for sale as it always has been. By legalizing it, we introduce some measure of control over who is able to buy it. And yes, I have children, and no, I don’t want them getting their hands on this stuff before they’re adults.

• Ha ha,seems to be a few Reefer Madness fans in today :-)

“They lie about marijuana. Tell you pot-smoking makes you unmotivated. Lie! When you’re high, you can do everything you normally do, just as well. You just realize that it’s not worth the fucking effort. There is a difference.”-Bill Hicks.

• I used to be a schizo but now so am I

• Love Weed n u will get the thumbs down … hate Weed n u will get the thumbs down … but at the end of the day it is or should be a personal choice that should come with warning like the warnings that come with alcohol “Drink Aware” V “Weed Aware … So thumbs up or down I have both drank and smoked weed and my personal choice is WEED!. I say free the weed and let the people make up their own minds. Shoot me down I personally don’t give a dam because at the end of the day i’v made my choice and the Government are not going to stop me smoking Weed so I am above the law in this regard but is in it better than been 6 feet under with no liver from alcohol!.

• Totally agree with you Conor… I think the only reason alcohol is legal is because it’s in the bible.. If it had been the other way around and pubs introduced instead of head shops, alcohol would be banned.. Drink is 10 times worse than weed, I know I’ve never blacked out from it, or been totally outta my mind that I don’t know which end of me is up?! Drink is evil

• If people can answer this then you can criticise Cannabis. In over 10000 years of usage, how many people have died from smoking cannabis?? Also, the human brain produces a substance called cannabinoids which help the brain work. The only other living thing to produce this is the cannabis plant. As for the article, I remember reading the same thing over 10 years ago. There is no proof cannabis causes these problems. These problems are most likely caused by underlying problems in the users brain which might possibly be made visible through cannabis usage. But thats not to say its the natural ingredients to the plant but the horrid chemicals that have been added to the product by drug dealers to maximise profits. When scientists actually study the effects of the added chemicals affects rather thatn the thc effects, I garauntee the chemicals are the worst. Ive been smoking cannabis since my early teens (judge all ye want) and it has had no negative affect on me after 14 years. I function normally, work hard, pay my mortgage and provide for my family. People against cannabis usage are either stupid or ignorant to the positive effects this plant can have on healing, revenue, recreational usage and much more. Chemicals and chemical based drugs do more harm than good in the long run. Herbs and herbal based medicines are the only way ahead for this world.

• S TJ L 08/05/12 #

Ive seen a study before that explains the truth that it actually Only causes Schizophrenia in people who were predisposed to having schizophrenia. Meaning that it opens the door for very few people who would have gotten it eventually regardless.

Also can someone please explain why the active compound in Cannabis THC kills Cancer cells in numerous controlled medical studies???

http://blog.norml.org/2009/08/18/reuters-pot-kills-cancer-but-dont-even-think-about-using-it/

• The comment I thought best suited this is for the author of the article – In research one never ‘proves’ anything! So the article seems to be scewed from the beginning with the author coming down solidly against cannabis. It is one study that I am fairly sure (if we could get a link to the paper please) that there are numerous errors in the data because you can not have a proper experiment on this question – because first of all you cant give a group of teenagers cannabis and compare them against a group that does not take cannabis not only would it be unethical, and illegal it still could not ‘prove’ a cause and effect as there is far more environmental factors and genetic factors that come into play! I’m just saying first when writing about research never use the word ‘prove’ and furthermore take this piece of research with a pinch of salt until further more comprehensive and repeated pieces of research are carried out in the same vein, if the same results come out over and over than that validates a theory but does not prove anything.

• Agreed – even if one is to read the article it states:
      “Dr Behan said the study showed how genetic, developmental and environmental factors interact to affect brain function in schizophrenia.”

This statement is very telling. They weren’t researching whether cannabis causes schizophrenia, they were observing myriad factors and somehow the author (and no doubt every outlet reporting on this) jumped to the conclusion that cannabis was somehow a causative factor.

Besides the fact that one study never really “proves” anything, it’s only when a large number of studies reach the same conclusion that it’s considered proven. According to Ben Goldacre there’s over 600,000 ways to cook trial data. According to Richard Smith up to 99% of what goes in med journals is later proven wrong. And another poster above pointed out that the study may have been conducted on MICE..

This should all be borne in mind when reading articles such as the one above.

• Ive come to the conclusion that there are complete muppets on this that just hit the thumbs down because they are completely clueless when they get a logical and informational comment that they have no idea how they can actually retaliate with an intelligent answer!!

• Drugs are baaaaaaaad. Mmm kayyyyyy.

• The key is moderation. If you drink too much, you will damage you liver. If you eat too much you risk heart problems, diabeties and getting fat. A couple off splifs in the evening is harmless. Although there are people who smoke all day every day who need help. Even though those who drink all day are damaging their health much much more

• Yes you might have a point but what is moderation hows it measured. Apparently if you smoke a couple of joints every weekend this is enough to do damage. The arguement for people that may have had mental health problems anyway & cannabis just sealed their fate is a none runner for me. Mental health problems have exploded since the increase of recreational drug use. Thats a fact. Again its a debate that needs to happen. It may be that these drugs can have benefits but all the information should be put out there. Information is the greatest weapon.

• Mental health problems have not exploded because of recreational drug use, where did you get that?
      People have been using cannabis and magic mushrooms and cacti etc since humans evolved, maybe even before – there is a hypothesis that they could have contributed to our evolution.

Mental health problems have exploded since the APA started voting conditions into the DSM, they went from 4 basic conditions to about 300 over the past few decades, all diagnosed on symptomology alone. Psychiatrists have been put in schools in the US to get ‘em while they’re young, and since they started advertising anti depressants on the TV over there their use doubled in 10 years – ever eager to expand their market (and extend the patent), Prozac is now even marketed to dogs (Reconcile).

The rise in mental health problems has come from the broadening of the scope of what’s considered a mental illness. Some of the “disorders” in the DSM are questionable, and there’s no test for any of them, just a symptom checklist, many of which overlap.
      The early stages of type 2 diabetes can present as mental health problems, as can certain nutritional deficiencies, and then there’s the environmental causes such as stress and bullying etc – how a drug is supposed to treat any of those things is beyond me.

• @ Michael, here’s an interesting little study done by Keele Uni which completely disagrees with what you say about the increase in drug use and mental illness

http://ukcia.org/wordpress/?p=76

• I love reading the expert opinions on here.

• All these articles put out for when it comes to the big debate, the clowns who believe this utter nonsense will oppose the legalisation of cannabis. Its all a government ploy by scientists backed by government funding to keep cannabis illegal because of the money piled into their bank accounts by the pharmaceutical companies who will lose money if this naturally grown wonder plant becomes legal and puts them tyrants out of business!!

• Connor I dont accept the government conspiracy stuff. Go to your local mental hospital the evidence is clear. Im not saying not to legalise cannibis Im saying its harmful to your mental health as is alcohol. Just make your choiced based on that information.

• Michael – It’s not a “conspiracy” in the “tin-foil hat” sense you are trying to imply. It’s a cold hard fact about the way private interest groups lobby governments the world over. Read an introductory politics text book and see how lobbyists manipulate policy at every turn. Democracy my feckin eye…..

• I was nuts long before I started smoking pot

• Thats bollox Michael. These are not directly caused by cannabis, they are underlying problems that are already in the persons mentality. And anybody that says that they are directly caused by cannabis are brainwashed and narrow minded people who have not done the appropriate research before they comment!!

• Conor have you been to these hospitals?

• Michael, have you looked at all those patients charts? Measured their blood serum levels of essential nutrients? Done hormone panels? MRIs to rule out forms of epilepsy etc? Taken a full detailed history from them? Seen what other drugs they may be taking (eg prescribed medications) and checked the side effects from any prescribed meds?

If not then I’m afraid you cannot truly comment as to whether the cause is truly the drug use or whether the drug use is symptomatic of something else.

• Conor your right, there are underlining problems and for anyone else I know what the inside of a mental hospital looks like

• Cannabis use has skyrocketed from virtually nil (about 50,000 users) in the 1930s-1950s to over 50 million users today. The average age at first use has dropped over the decades as well. And at least half of all adults under 65 have tried it at least once in their lives. I have always wondered why, if there was a significant causal link, why hasn’t there been at least a modest increase in psychosis?

If a truly causal link really exists, it must therefore be only for a very small percentage of the population–those who began using before 15 (or whatever age) AND used very heavily (i.e. daily) for years AND were predisposed to psychosis AND possibly some other factor. Or, it could simply be that it does not cause cases that would not otherwise have occurred. It may precipitate cases that would occur anyway, or it could just be due to a common vulnerability with varying orders of onset. The latter is what I believe is the most likely explanation in light of this and other studies done on the matter.

Thus whatever it is, it does not appear to be of major public health significance. Perhaps it may be significant at an individual level (if it were truly causal), but not at a population level. And it certainly does not justify continued prohibition of cannabis–a policy that clearly does more harm than good. Meanwhwile, we ignore the pink elephant in the room–booze.

• Whether I have or not Michael is beside the point. Let me ask you this, when you were at these hospitals, did you go directly to a doctor and ask “Is so and so in this place of mental unwellness SOLELY from their cannabis usage?? Or did you ask “Is this person in here because they had an underlying mental issue which was brought out because the chemicals in cannabis disagreed with their system?” I doubt you have because doctors are not allowed to divulge this sort of information. I would trust my years of usage and research of cannabis before I trust some mental health doctor who only knows what a book tells him. You cannot even try and argue the point unless you are a cannabis enthusiast because you will only have a distorted view on the subject!!

• It’s so frustrating, how do many people still fall for the anti-weed propaganda. If these idiots were capable of independent thought, they would see through the ridiculous lies that are put out about weed. If they’d only have a toke, then perhaps they would actually be capable of independent thought!

• Yes conor unfortunately for me I have been in these hospitals a lot. And Im not trying to influence the arguements for allowing people to use cannibis or alcohol but the evidence is there that it damages your mental health thats all im saying. Now you have the information so you make the choice. Im not judging.

• I would think that having the part of the brain that is causing the schizophrenia damaged would be a plus……….am I missing something here????

• Why hasnt the sharp increase in Cannabis use over the past 40 years resulted in a tracked and quantifiable increase overall in schizo cases?

• Also Michael, the fact that you can only answer my comment with ” have you visited these hospitals” just proves your lack of knowledge and intelligence in the subject at hand. Give up and accept that you cannot find proof of your nonsense claims!!

• I think this proves that schizophrenia is not such an inherited trait as spouted out by so many …

• Meanwhile back at the big money making pharmaceutical ranch ,it would appear that hash oil is about to become available in Ireland

GW Pharmaceuticals today saw its cannabis-based pain-relief medicine approved in another 10 European countries, sending its shares up nearly 2%.

Sativex, which is approved for use for MS sufferers and is being tested to see whether it could help cancer patients, is already on pharmacy shelves in the UK, Spain, Germany and Denmark, and being prepared for sale in Italy, Sweden, Austria and Czech Republic.

Now GW Pharma said it has received recommendation for approval in another 10 countries — Belgium, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal and Slovakia. Their launches are expected to start at the end of this year, after packaging wording is finalised in each country.

“Today’s news means that regulatory authorities in a total of 18 European countries have now recommended Sativex for approval,” Stephen Wright, GW’s research and development director, said.

“The successful outcome of this most recent regulatory process provides further endorsement

of the quality, safety and efficacy of Sativex”

!………..

• S TJ L 09/05/12 #

Why not conduct a mini poll here,

Give a Thumbs Up for Legalising Cannabis (which could generate over €476 million euros)

Over

The household Tax

Ming Flanagan has surely hit the nail on the head with this one!

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ming-tells-rally-legal-cannabis-can-raise-476m-3101776.html

• Ah sure it’s a bitta craic..

• Plus one with Michael-I have seen bipolar tendencies as a direct consequence of frequent drug and alcohol abuse.
    Not funny.

• It fails to say if it’s a good or bad change.

• What information Michael?? You have given no information bar your own opinion. Opinions are not information mate. They are a personal view in repsect of a subject.

• How long di you have conor & I never said I was visiting. Why are you so defensive
      . If you believe your own information why be so defensive. I have seen it. I have the.experience from all sides all you seem to have is.an ideology. If your serious in backing up your arguement take a fact.finding trip to a hospital.

• Ingesting a hallucinogen affects your brain…wow.

• Roses are red,violets are blue,I’m schizophrenic and so am I

• Hey Hippies, nobody’s trying to steal your stash. This article is simply trying to say ganja isn’t for everyone and if it ain’t for you, leave it (that’s ok isn’t it?). If anything that will leave a lot more of that green leafy goodness for you, don’t be so paranoid.

• I have that problem sometimes aswell. The only way around is to keep refreshing the article.

• Parts of the labour party could be using it were they not once official sinn fein
    now they behave like Tories !!

• No comment from Ming on this, suprised as an advocate of legalising blow in Ireland you would imagine he would be at the front line to defend his lifestyle choice,Dope is for dopes !!!!!!

• Unless you’ve some kind of medical disorder like MS heywood

• If cannabis were to be legalised, or more accurately – decriminalised, it would still need to be regulated. It’s sale should still be restricted to ADULTS only, like alcohol (which carries far more health concerns btw)
      Anything can affect an adolescent brain negatively, the same applies to childhood. This is why many medications (especially psychiatric ones) are not intended for use in adolescents.

It’s also worth noting that this is ONE study looking at combining factors such as genetics and environment, so to land the blame squarely on one thing is premature.
      Aside from the vagueness of the report, whether or not it can be recreated independently is another matter. The use of the word “prove” is dubious in this context.

• Dope makes you crazy research stories have been circulating in the media forever. of course what no journalist reports is that this research wasn’t conducted in human beings at all it was carried out on in lab mice not even stoned schizophrenic lab mice just mice missing an enzyme that some scientists suggest may be linked to schizophrenia, assuming we can establish what schizophrenia is to begin with as may not even be a genetic illness. Point I’m making is some scientists conduct research from a particular perspective and it gets a lot of press coverage because it’s suits a political agenda, i.e. to demonise marijuana. Of course the media never question it, and people never question the media, and before long everyone believes weed makes you mad, be cause the scientists proved it does.

• S TJ L 09/05/12 #

Thumbs up for choosing Legalising Cannabis that could generate OVER 476 MILlION EUROS over….the household TAX.

Ming Flanagan has hit the nail on the head with this one for sure!

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ming-tells-rally-legal-cannabis-can-raise-476m-3101776.html

• After a carefull study at university of mensah mensah,it was found out that cigarette smoking cause’s cancer and can cut your adult life in half…oh please how long are they gonna keep this going

• S TJ L 08/05/12 #

Anyone who has been following this since its publish today Notice that theJournal.ie is only showing 18 of 60+ comments?

• i can see all the comments that have been made on the topic. Some might have been taken out in regards to policy but I dont think it has been done on this discussion board yet

• That gives a whole new meaning to the phrase ‘I blew it’! ;-)

• my my what perfect timing. anything to add ‘revolting peasant’ ? *smug smirk*

Add New Comment