TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

James Reilly: New consultants will have to face a hefty pay cut

Consultants may also have to work weekends under the terms of the new deal.

File photo
File photo
Image: Paul Sharp/Photocall Ireland

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly has said hospital consultants will face a major pay cut in their starting salaries under an agreement worked out in the early hours of this morning.

The starting salary rate for consultants will now be around €120,000 – a cut of 30 per cent –   under the deal which changes working practices and hours for consultants.

Consultants will also now work any five days out of seven and can be rostered for night duty. Previously, they only worked weekdays, which had led to problems with patients not being seen at weekends.

The new deal was hammered out after 23 consecutive hours of talks between consultants, the HSE, the Department of Health and the Irish Medical Organisation. The proposals were accepted by all sides.

James Reilly said that the new changes to how consultants work could save around €200 million per year. He said:

The impact of what has been agreed has a vital financial benefit and of greater importance it paves the way for the more effective treatment of patients as we continue to reform our health services for the better in the interests of patients.

Speaking on RTE Radio One’s News at One today, the Minister said that he understands that the changes will be brought in on 1 October.

A number of issues, including Historic Rest Days, were not agreed at the LRC and will be referred to the Labour Court for adjudication.

There had been clear tensions between the groups during the talks at the Labour Relations Commission, which had lasted three days.

The Irish Hospital Consultants Association only agreed to enter talks after Health Minister James Reilly publicly expressed his frustration that the organisation was not engaging in discussion.

All sides had set a deadline of Sunday night to reach an agreement. If a deal had not been struck by then the case would have been referred to the Labour Court to be solved.

Read: Consultants’ talks at LRC end eight hours after deadline >

Previously: Consultants agree to LRC talks on Department of Health budget >

Read next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• What the hell is wrong with people on this? Are you all that jealous of other peoples success and hard work? These consultants are not people who have had easy lives. They have worked hard for yrs to get to this level and deserve a good wage.
    Now I do understand that the country is broke and pay cuts do need to happen. And so they should, across the board. Not just for the newbies coming in. That is what makes this sick. Existing consultants should have their pay cut also. Doing it this way will only exacerbate the brain drain. So many graduate docs and new consultants heading off to greener pastures.
    It just baffles me how short sighted this government have become.
    What should happen is a cut across the board of all consultants. Level playing field. And finally lads, stop begrudging people something they have worked very very hard to get, just because it has a certain pay associated with it.

• I don’t think anyone is begrudging them good pay for difficult and responsible work; what is galling is how disproportionate the pay is in comparison to other countries with similar standard of living and how much they can earn on the side using public facilities for private work.

But I agree about the cuts across the board. It’s the ones on top who get the most and have ways to deliver the least, while juniors are outside looking in but it’s them who will bear the adjustments.

• I think the point is that with limited resources and services being cut….any doctor worth his salt should realise he is taking medicine away from the sick in his obese paycheck. Same for our TDs, CEOs and assorted tax-dodging snorters at their various troughs.

And nurses work equally hard, as do miners, fishermen, binmen…under worse conditions.

I believe the word is triage..a matter of prioritising, not begrudging. Personally I think the gluttony for money at the upper reaches of social pyramids represents a symtom of psychological ill health, a basic insecurity requiring the crutch of status and over-reward…but maybe you can give me a second opinion.

• Gastrophase ”how disproportionate the pay is in comparison to other countries with similar standard of living ”

Recently returned from canada. Consultant (or attending) is paid 300-500,000 dollars per annum. Irish graduates and consultants generally work longer hours, are more highly trained having worked abroad. Even the current contract consultants who remain untouched have nowhere near approaching this level of pay.

The new contract for new consultant posts is grossly under this wage. Similar standards of living and pay in canada i think?

As for nurses miners binmen working as hard…
      Simple question, should doctors be paid more per hour than the above professions? Yes or no. If it breaks your heart to say yes, you are living in the wrong country, decade, and planet. Get real please.

Once you have gotten this straight, then the question is simply ‘by how much’.

• I’ve no problem saying yes..and it is about ‘how much’.

Equally, should half a million people, most of whom want an income besides the dole pittance, be left idle, or should the working week be adapted to take account of the bones of a century’s technological and other productivity advances??
      Our whole system is out of balance, and that is reflected in to squalor of homelessness amidst a glut of houses, and an economy choking on austerity for the many, alongside obscene luxury and privilege.
      The Hippocratic oath includes economic harm, and in a society with limited resources, those seeking Beverly Hills lifestyles in the midst of poverty, and at the expense of those impoverished(its not a state of nature or an accident)cannot insulate theemselves from the social costs of their blind-eye syndrome.
      The system is broke, redundant, and unfit for purpose in the 21st century…but the entrenched and accumulated wealth of centuries seems devoid of the nous to read the runes. Its the same ‘free marketeering’ that brough us centuries of war and colonial famine, and a century of emigration since independence. The problem is, its a global system..and the ‘players’ will never satiate their gluttony…that does not mean we should aspire to ostrich-whisling through the elevated sphinter. There are alternatives. But the wages of the necessary work are something less than the average consultants. But then it was a surfeit of astronomically remunerated economic consultants cured our mirage Tiger.
      In the 19th century doctors were so primitive they took an interest in the social causes of sickness…but that was before the sickness industry went totally septic.

• Cormac, I don’t think people are begrudging the success that comes with hard work. You’re right, the pay cut for new entrants only is sick. Another sign of the sickness that is killing this country. We can no longer afford the pay and conditions that were previously provided, but the cuts should be fair. You cannot keep a country running this way.

• Dukezeal, no binman or nurse gets paid 150k, get real yourself please. Compare pay scales with Europe… with Germans who bail us out. Sure, whoever want to go to America can do so, makes you wonder why are they all here still. Something to do with years required to retrain maybe?

• Gastrophase.
      ”Whoever want to go to America can do so, makes you wonder why are they all here still.”
      They aren’t? Are you blind to people leaving these shores or in total denial? Depends on area of course, if you are in dublin you could probably be forgiven for thinking young people abound, as most young will flock to capital cities in times of recession. But check out the rest of the country eh :)

”Something to do with years required to retrain maybe?”
      The M-cats or equivilant require no years of additional training they can be done on the job, irish consultants rate favorably vs international counterparts and can walk into a job no problem. USA depends on state( most no problem), canada depends on province (again, most fine, even begging for docs), oz is fine all over. What on earth are you on about mate..

• You don’t see older consultants emigrating, they have it too good with the amount of private practice they are allowed to have. And if the younger ones want to take their education abroad you can’t stop them, unless you make them obliged to pay it back if they emigrate. We will get medics from Europe or India who will find these salaries worth their while, and with lower salaries we will be able to afford more of them to ease the load. That’s how it works these days.

• I’ve spoken to a few doctors today, and yes a couple of consultants too. The consensus is that this is a very bad idea, yes they concede they are well paid but then they worked hard to get where they are. Lets be honest, who began to plan for a career in medicine in their early teens and began to put their head in the books then? Once you get into medical school its a long hard slog to become a consultant, you may be in your late 30′s by the time you reach your goal. The failure rate is extremely high, not everyone becomes a consultant.
      Most believe if the reward at the end of the line isn’t sufficient in Ireland, where we have desperately overcrowded hospitals and a health system that is begining to break, then our doctors will simply leave. When fully trained most will go to sunnier climates with better, less stressful health systems. What we will be left with is a situation where we have to import most of our doctors, we’ll be scraping the bottom of the barrel, taking doctors who can barely speak english, if at all, and you wouldn’t or couldn’t get a job anywhere else. Sound familiar? Sometimes you do get what you pay for.
      It was also pointed out that many doctors will prefer to become GP’s, as this will be a shorter, quicker route which will give them the opportunity of a much bigger income. Some GP’s can earn up to €1m per year, and bear in mind most of this is cash, many easily earn double what a consultant earns while working for 6 or 7 hours a day no more than 5 days a week.
      It is widely felt that that this decision was a PR political one and had little to do with saving money but more to do with making politicians look tough. That said, every doctor I spoke to felt it was a foolish mistake that will ultimately blow up in their faces in time, by then however it will be the patients who will suffer for the politicians incompetence.

• Kim 17/09/12 #

@Rusty Balls very well put and you’ve hit the nail right on the head.
      The other thing that may happen with the consultants that do remain in Ireland is that they ONLY go into private practices/ hospitals and there will be no consultants on the public payroll.
      Now they can charge you what they like for a consultation. That present it’s anything from €190 up privately.

• Rusty Balls, and erm what did you expect them to say?…
      As to importing consultants, this year an Irish consultant told my colleague who went to see him with suspicious symptoms that breast check before 35yo (as in, manual breast check you perform yourself) is a waste of time and shure you will only stress over it. Well tell that to all those young women who died of breast cancer diagnosed too late, when it’s actually more aggressive in young people. I dread to think how many other women heard that nugget of wisdom and believed his authority. If consultants like this one want to emigrate, we’ll only be better off. And I’m sure there are many who will only be too happy to apply for an Irish salary which is still very generous in comparison to the rest of Europe. If we get them in numbers high enough to ease the workload now that we can have better value everyone will be happy.

• Micheal 17/09/12 #

Gastrophase,
      The HSE had to literally drag NCHD’s here last July, and they still couldn’t fill all the posts. (the advertised ones, let alone the fact that Irish hospitals are not known for their over-population in terms Of medical staff).
      The days of little old Ireland is a great jobs destination are well and truly gone, gone, gone!

• @Gastrophase I have to agree with Michael, we tend to look at things from the inside out but abroad our hospitals have a dreadful reputation. As things stand we would struggle to attract consultants to Ireland, any consultants. If their salaries are further reduced, conditions in our hospitals deteriorate etc. what we will attract will be the bottom of the barrel, every other countries rejects. This isn’t idle speculation, this is proven fact.

• Now all they need to do is get the registrars currently training for the now much worse jobs to agree to the changes.

Otherwise there will be a continued flight of NCHDs out of the country.

• Hmmmmmmm 5/6 years to become a consultant in the US with average $300,000 salary at 30% tax or 8-15 years in Ireland with no guarantee of consultant position at the end of it and now on a contract of €120,000 at 50%???

• Yep, but the braying mob won’t be happy til docs earn less than someone flipping burgers in McDonalds. Jealousy is a terrible affliction.

• I wonder are these same people also demanding that NCHDs get paid for the hours they work or get improved working conditions??

• tozyurt 17/09/12 #

You need to check the cost of going to med school in US. it is very expensive .
      These guys here are financed by tax payers in Ireland. There should be a contract if they want to leave Ireland to pay the education cost . A consultant in NHS gets on average around 90k Gbp.
      So it still compares very well ….. We should get some more doctors from India and eastern Europe , invest in their English skills seriously , still much better bargain. Many ways to skin a cat

• censored 17/09/12 #

Are you really comparing the medical system in the US with Ireland? (groan)

• No there is no comparison of the two medical systems. I urge you to read what I wrote again if you think there is.

• censored 18/09/12 #

“Hmmmmmmm 5/6 years to become a consultant in the US with average $300,000 salary at 30% tax or 8-15 years in Ireland with no guarantee of consultant position at the end of it and now on a contract of €120,000 at 50%??”

This is the comparison I was talking about – US vs Ireland salary/training requirements. I agree there is no comparison between the two systems, and you cannot just contrast salary/training.

• Great way to lead by example I must say – refuse to take a pay cut yourselves but force those who come after you to! And they say SIPTU are bad when it comes to greed? This just takes the piss!

• Ridiculous media posturing. A pay cut for new consultants, but the existing contracts are let to stand. Most comments backing up the fact this posturing works on the masses. ”Good on him for taking a hard stand” Give me a break..

Yet another reason for young docs not to return home. Consultants in ireland are indeed paid comparable or high compared to france or germany which have a totally different healthcare and social systems, but compare them to USA and canada, where 500,000 dollars a year is not unusual with massively better working conditions. People do not begrudge them in those countries either, a fee is paid for a highly technical and difficult job with the longest possible time spent in education of any profession. So they get rewarded for the 5 extra years they spent in full time study while others were out getting jobs?

Why would Irish docs come back here when they are offered lucrative positions abroad?

On a broader note, with news of the political ‘opposition’ jumping on the bandwagon to protect pensioners (or ”walking vote pinatas”, reading to be smacked by the party with the biggest s(ch)tick), is anyone in this country standing up for the people who need the money the most, the young people who are stuck with ridiculous inflated mortgages, new children, and are now bearing the brunt of many such ‘new contracts’? How shortsighted of those baby boomers in the reins, passing their banking bubble hook line and sinker onto the next generation. Sure there’s noone young in the coutnry to debate the issue, lets just load it on…

Pensioners have told me they dont even know what to do with their pensions other than stick it under the pillow. The time of your life with the least costs is hit least by cuts?

• Reilly says 70% of his costs are payroll. But he cannot touch the bulk of it thanks to the Crocked Park agreement.

So in a few years the bulk of this staff will still be on the payroll, but we will have less new consultants, doctors and nurses. These life savers will be off saving lives anywhere but here.

And theres me heading for that old age when I will be more prone to sickness and ill health. I wonder will I get very ill or die because of this mess,

*sigh*

• More spin for the masses

• Half the people on this thread have never heard of the term market forces. You pay peanuts you get monkeys! But no these people see any public service pay-packet higher than there own and immediately think ‘cut that fat cats pay’.

This cut affects young doctors who, like nurses, care assistants and other frontline medical staff have been battling under-staffing and inadequate resource since before the recession. They have seen cuts to their study supports which they need in order to become better doctors, not to mention their pay, and time off. These people have devoted there lives to Irish medicine despite the prospect of a better quality of life pretty much anywhere else in the western world. They chose to stay here and treat you. Becoming a consultant was the only light at the end of the tunnel a chance to final earn the money and have the home life that was previously impossible. With these cuts that light has become significantly dimmer.

We screwed over junior doctors for years and now are forced to import them from less developed nations by the thousands. 2/3 Irish medical students are emigrating because they cannot endure a life that miserable. I guarantee you the same will happen now with consultants and it will be you, the joe soap with the loud mouth and the chip on his shoulder about anyone earning more than him, who will have to have his cancer treated by a doctor with questionable experience and barely passable English, or who will find that his life is in the hands of and A&E consultant who came close to bottom in his class.

Wake up people. These are the cuts that could kill you!

• Every college graduate – doctor, nurse, architect, banker – is “financed by the taxpayer” so why should doctors be forced to “pay the education cost” if they choose to not work in a lousy healthcare system, with appalling working conditions, worse logistical support from the HSE, and for a public that’s baying for your blood at every opportunity? Why do you have to be a martyr to do medicine?

• If the cuts save 200 mil like this nob head Reilly says, that’s a hell of a lot better than the cuts he was going to make before – but we need good consultants – our lives often depend on their skills – and if a significant number leave it will take a long time to get more l

• Unfortunately, the majority of the public are unaware of working conditions and expectations placed on healthcare staff.

There is also a foolish belief that cutting or punishing those who have yet to enter the system for the failings of those running it is anything but cowardly politics.

Whats next? Why not hit the 1600 or so final year nursing students for their annual salary and save a cheeky €20,000,000. See how long it takes before pickets are in place.

Its always the same old nonsense from successive governments. The NCHDs are a soft target here.

• Med school isn’t a free for all here I’m afraid. Having trained previously in a health science only for the govt to implement a recruitment ban and then to retrain as a doctor, I like many of my colleagues will leave college with a €100k plus loan to repay. Thats €1000 per month for 10 years.

Interns start on a very low wage and it’s a slow climb after this too. By the time I am eligible for a consultants post it will be after 17 years training at best.

The US/Canada option is now a no-brainer, this service is a joke. As an Irishman who wants to work here in an Irish hospital with patients, not pushing pencils or making sure I get every allocated second of my lunch break, like some hospital staff, this is another slap in the face.

• I agree entirely. I wanted to train and work in Ireland but unfortunately it just doesn’t make sense/ is impossible anyway considering the lack of properly run training schemes.

• So, as usual, he has done feck all!

• It’s the older ones that are the problem…over paid clowns

• God love them.

• Just like the teachers as long as the incumbents pay remains untouched they are happy to accept a pay cut on behalf of unrepresented new entrants

• As Economicopoly says, just another example of the Boomer generation – who by the way did the best out of the Celtic Tiger – looking after themselves and pulling the ladder up from those coming behind them. It’s not the boomer generation who are commuting from godforsaken commuter towns, paying exorbitant creche fees and struggling with mortgages on shoebox apartments they’ll never get rid of.

Ironic that the trades unions and the consultants should be as one in their shafting of the younger generation.

• Yes, another example of the gilded few protecting their position while our government continues to display moral cowardice. Not sure this is even legally acceptable.

• I completely agree. This is generally unfair. I’m in a similar profession that has seen a 30% cut in salary over 2/3 years for entry grade. Which means in the space of a couple of years, I’m doing the exact same job (roles & responsibilities) with the exact same qualifications, for significantly less than my colleagues. Those in higher positions have been largely untouched. I’m not against cuts but they really should be equitable.

• Whatever about Doctors/consultants pay, why aren’t they cutting their own? Everyone else but us attitude is laughable, they know how to make enemies of themselves!

• Good to see him cracking the whip. Hopefully this is only the start of major changes

• It is a joke if that what the Minister is calling a savings. Cop on do you think we are fools.

• Isn’t there a moratorium on hiring new staff? So how exactly is this going to work?

• bout bleeding time

• these guys have been having their cake and eating it for too long, using public facilities to provide private practice.
    That said how do we compare to international pay rates. They can walk into jobs the world over, so Unless we have good pay rates and conditions I would expect to see alot of the top consultants upping sticks and moving elsewhere in the coming months/years.

• Compare quite well in terms of salary actually.
      In terms of quality of life, not so good. Hence the need for a good salary. There is already a host of doctors leaving these shores for Oz, UK, Canada, etc., and the pay reduction isn’t going to reduce those numbers departing these shores.
      You can expect to see some short-staffed hospitals in the future, unless working conditions vastly improve.

• Exactly, a family member is a consultant who is paid very well but taxed at around 50% of earnings. She could easily head to the US and earn twice the salary and only get taxed 30%.

She won’t but I suspect some will. She spent 16 years training for what she does and the State paid for most of it so while it is necessary that salaries are reduced it is also important that the government doesn’t incentivise a brain drain.

All that said my sis wont be affected by the 30% pay cut- this is a carbon copy of what the teachers unions did- cut those yet to enter the service so the inflated salaries of those already on the profession remain untouched.

It isn’t fair and it isn’t equitable and if I were a new consultant who could command double the Irish wage I’d be looking elsewhere.

• It’s not about the Consultant\Doctor’s ability…. It’s about the money. And this country is bankrupt…. So why should anyone in the public sector or financed\governed by public expenditures demad such salaries. Furthermore, like the private sector, these folks should be paid based upon their skill level and experience. When a doctor\consultant begins in the profession s\he should get a base salary and skill and experience determines any additional financial increases.

• Ah but the thing is that most consultants in Ireland have already been practicing their field for 20 years by the time a position opens up.
      What will now start happening is that you will have the consultant’s registrar earning more than them, which leads to a host of other problems.

• By definition a consultant is an expert in their chosen field; what do you think they spend their time as junior doctors working towards?

• That means the poor consultants will have to survive on a little over two grand a WEEK can the h.s.e really afford such generous pay packets, no wonder their are cut backs in the health service !!!

• my salary is one fifth of a consultants. I’m not rich but I can afford stuff. my hours are as long as theirs and my work is crucial in my industry.

these consultants are greedy and overpaid. regardless of what they get from the state, I have to pay them 200 quid for half an hour. where’s my freebie from the state?

• Your hours are as long and you work a hard? Unless you’re also a medic, that’s absolute nonsense. Unadulterated, grade A nonsense.

Consultants put in innumerable 24-72 hour SHIFTS during their training.Toget the job they routinely worked continuously without sleep for longer than most people work in a whole week.

• One last reply. I see this often with provision of services over goods.

It is a misconception to say ‘I am paying this person for 30 minutes work/an hours work/a quick look’.

No. You are paying them for their education, knowledge, staff, and experience. You can apply a price to each and every one of these things.

How much does a medical degree costs in man teaching hours, technology, cadavers, books, non-working years for the student, low paid NCHD and intern years?

• Mursh 17/09/12 #

“your work is crucial in your industry” That could mean you have to have the burger buns ready in a fast food restaurant.

• Eoghan..now try doing that shift in Force 8 on the north Atlantic, with physical labour included..and you’ll realise why medical staff greet more fishermen being choppered in for surgery than consultant trainees damaged in the line of labour.

• Eoghan, you’re obviously a “medic”. Unfortunately part of the problem. You notice that “medics” haven’t reformed this system yet? That’s because they know it creates a pretty good barrier to entry, and further protects the gilded position of consultants. The entire medical system in this country is a disgrace.

• Eoghan, and that’s exactly the point. Pay all consultants less – it’s more than other in Eu get anyway – so that you can hire more of them and they are not overworked and patients are seen faster.

• Please enlighten us as to how often a trawlerman is bleeped to theatre to save someone’s life.

Consultants get paid a lot more than other people because they work harder, and train harder, for longer, with worse conditions, doing a more important job. Simple as.

• yes, eoghan…tell it to the miners ..you obviously have no horse in the race

• Sorry Eoghan. Not true. They get paid more (by the State) because their lobby groups are more effective than others. Let’s have a competitive EU-wide market please.

• @dukezeal while I agree that your job is highly skilled and required years of dedication long hours etc my husbands job is highly skilled in the construction industry and required lots of training long hours etc However he has had to take massive reductions in pay and has to give free advice, estimates even though it’s costing him money just because in your in a specialised job it does not mean that you deserve specialised treatment and have to make more money at every turn share the burden !!!

• I’m not a doctor Grainne sorry. Was just defending their position.

Not everyone has to be part of a special interest, some of us just hate to see stupid decisions and inequitable stuff like this lauded as ‘tough’!

• As if anyone is going to listen to him!!

• They may well have sacrificed the pay of new Consultants but you can see how foolish that idea or concession was when the Croke Park Agreement comes to an end. Methinks the present Consultant will only have preserved the status quo until then at best!

• While I agree that the consultants have shafted the doctors coming up behind them, I have to wonder would it have been possible to slash their pay with the Croke Park agreement? Also under the terms of the agreement they will be working more hours, let’s not pretend the current consultants are completely unaffected by this.

• Consultants have already had their pay slashed, and are already working more hours, with more flexible arrangements.

The soundbites from the HSE have skillfully created a mythical scenario in which consultants spend all day golfing or counting their money while burning the poor to hear mansions. This is not the case at all – all healthcare staff have been targeted for cuts already, and consultants are no different.

• censored 18/09/12 #

Or commenting on the journal (whoops)

Add New Comment