Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Cork 96FM’s Neil Prendeville doesn’t recall ‘exposing himself’ on flight

Image: Facebook

AER LINGUS IS TO REPORT the behaviour of a Cork radio host to the gardaí after the man allegedly exposed himself on board a flight from London to Cork.

Neil Prendeville, 49, presents a daytime radio show on Cork’s 96fm which boasts a daily listenership of almost 100,000 people.

The Irish Examiner reports that as his flight took off from London on the evening of 19 October, Prendeville was seen to expose himself and masturbate in his front-row seat.

A female passenger sat on one side of him and a male passenger on the other, and the seats faced two air hostesses.

One of the hostesses intervened when the plane was in the air. She spoke to Prendeville and the guests alongside him, and the Examiner reports that the airline has compiled reports on the incident.

The head of Aer Lingus security Mark Dunphy said the airline would be making a formal complaint to gardaí.

Following the incident, Prendeville is reported to have left a voice message on the phone of the female passenger who had sat beside him on the flight, apologising for any offence he may have caused her:

I took some Nurofen Plus alright, I know that, for my neck. And as you know, with me anyway there was pints and wine and stuff and Jesus I don’t know where I’d begin to make it up to you.

He said he did not remember the incident and was shocked when he heard about it.

Prendeville responds

Speaking on Cork’s 96fm this morning, Prendeville confirmed that he was on the flight in question but could not remember the incident on board.

<Listen here>

He said he remembered taking painkilling tablets for a persistent neck injury “along with alcohol while at the restaurant”, but remembers nothing about the flight and getting home.

Speaking of the allegations made against him, he said: “I can’t deny that they’re not [true] because I just don’t recall”.

He added: “I would like to offer deepest apologies to the passengers on the plane, to the flight personnel, to my family, to my employers and my work colleagues and to all of the people of Cork”. He said he “apologises unreservedly to all concerned”.

He also warned people not to mix painkillers and alcohol.

Read Next:

Comments (67 Comments)

• Michelle Ryan 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

He “doesn’t recall” exposing himself (and the rest). Call me a sceptic but that seems unlikely.

• Emmet Ryan 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

I think I can safely say this is the oddest thing I’ve woken up to in a while. A couple of painkillers and some wine caused him to….oh give me a break.

• Report this comment

The manufacturers of Neurofen are certainly going to have to think about updating the warning list of side effects on the packet after this…

• Francis Kaye 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Yea, yea, yea . . . the Nurofen excuse is original alright but, ahem . . . incredible. Moral of the story: Stock up with Nurofen Plus the next time you decide to rob a bank!

• Andy O' Connell 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Did you here Prenderville will be making a guest appearence on the new “snakes on a plane” sequel movie!!!

• Andy O' Connell 03/11/10 #
      Report this comment

I just wanted to add – even do I genuinely
      dislike his radio show I genuinely feel sorry
      for him and I would say he is going through hell at the moment
      that I would not wish I my worst enemy.

And I do think he had a genuine blackout
      but he is probably underplaying the role of alcohol
      in favor of nuerofen

• Alan Hunter 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

As Gerald Keane said on todayPK…Neil Prenderville is SINCERLY APOLOGETIC! As for me I know he’s a decent guy… and it’s OUT OF CHARACTER for Neil. We gave KEANO a break! Give NEIL a break…
    I think the decent PEOPLE of CORK back me on this!

Alan Hunter: President: Irish Football Supporters Association..

• Ursula Collins 03/11/10 #
      Report this comment

absolutely agree, just to say to the ignorant and impulsive people of cork who jumped on here to slate him, stop and think for one second, owner of the boardwalk, and various other high profile situations, do you really think he is willing to act in such a foolish manner, knowingly, and risk everything? i dont think so. He’s not stupid, but the people on here are! I believe he doesn’t remember it and had some kind of black out or reaction and thats not me being naive, look at it realistically. He’s not going to play off on himself on a plane, put his family through this knowingly is he?? Lets face it, there are many fellas in cork i’m sure who’ve been so pee eyed on booze they’ve tried to get into the wardrobe to go to the toilet, and various other scenarios. And if he was visibly drunk, Aer Lingus shouldn’t have let him on the plane. COP ON!!

• Stephen Good 03/11/10 #
      Report this comment

I am a decent person of Cork and neil Prendeville is nothing but a crank.

• Darren Purtill 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

So I guess Nurofen is not just for stiff necks?

• Elaine Barrett 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

he cant remember getting on the plane and getting home but can remember taking a second lot of tablets – i dont think so

• Jackie Sharpe 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Im as shocked by this as i was at the news Gerry Ryan had died.

• Una Dineen 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

give the man a break and some privacy whos f………. perfect eh

• Andy Gibson 03/11/10 #
      Report this comment

I am by no means perfect, but I’ve never masturbated on a flight before!!!

• Report this comment

i know no-ones perfect but this is not right and he will have to be punished for hes crime,the guards should of been waiting for him when he got off the plane!!!

• Meggymoo Sullivan 03/11/10 #
      Report this comment

This is a Disgrace i dont Agree with you Una ,He diserves to be punished as you said Marcella,
      I meen think of it what if a Young child was Passing bye the Passenger sets and Acedentally
      Seen Prendeville Masturbating Himself ..!Do you ever think of that ??!And the people on board
      must have been In alote of shock also The people who where sitting right next to him !
      I feel sorry for them who had to sit there and watch such a Sick revulting thing like this !
      Its not acceptable !!I wouldn’t even dream of doing such a Thing on a Flight !!! Thats No respect for
      the People who where on that exact flight too !And he must be Punnish there is no explemation to this,!
      He did what he did
      Now he must Pay the Price !!!!
      And if you think of Young children hearing about this and your feeling Unsure and Bad about it
      Then let me tell you My name is Megan and Im 14 years Old !!!!!!!
      A young teenager,also and this is no suprise to me either,its Obviously going to Happen!
      If you go ahead and Drink alchol and Nurofeon also with The of them mixed an absoulute Disgrace !!!
      P.S .I would never dream Of doing such a Dirty And sickning thing like that never mind a plain but never anywere!
      Regards
      Megan O sullivan !

• Laura Power 04/11/10 #
      Report this comment

I’m sure the people sitting next to him would have LOVEd to give him some privacy.

• Emmet Ryan 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

If he’d sought out privacy in the first place Una there wouldn’t have been as much of a problem.

• Natalie Murphy 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Well, once upon a time when I took 2 neurofen plus, I ended up in A+E with no recollection of what had happened… Its quite a dangerous drug, and mixed with alcohol then I suppose there are endless possiblilities to what a normally sane person could get upto. Poor guy…

• Morgan Fitzgibbon 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

But only, we learn, after his solicitor Gerald Keane failed to get an injunction against The Examiner running its story this morning.

So he tried to thwart the media as well. If a politician or a celeb tried to do this he would be ripping them to shreds on the airwaves and getting the people of cork to ring in and support him…unbelieveable behaviour all round.. Not saying for one minute that a person could not have a lapse of judgement but not standinng up to it later(i.e getting an injuction) is inexcusable

• Report this comment

Neil, hands up! Surrender! No change without crisis. No crisis without corruption. No corruption without opportunity. No opportunity without change! Go for it son, go the full monty and start again with a clean, clear slate! You know what I mean, don’t you? You’ll die living! Keep going well with your wind!

P. O Neill

• David Curtin 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Its kind of sad when you have to join the mile high club alone .

• Christine Deasy 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Well i have heard the story,listened to Neil apologize , i .am aware of all the jokes that will be told ,unfortunately Neil will have to take it, as we all know we have to listen to thunder unless we are deaf,but any normal human being knows that if Neil was of sane mind he would never in a million years have done what there saying,he will no doubt have learned a major lesson,and who among us can point a finger or crack a joke on something that is clearly devastating to another human being there for the grace of God go i, it could be you to morrow and worse so do not gang up on someones misfortune Please give Neil a break,

• Justin Mac 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

i heard one of his bags was overweight and he had to empty it , end of story!!

• Liam Byrne 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

I was reading a blog written by Neil Prenderville here
    http://thecorknews.ie/?q=content/neil-prendeville-articles

and he describes an incident on a Dublin to Cork train when a young 16 year old girl, on a train full of passengers including many grown men, was mugged, assaulted, terrorised and robbed and not a single person intervened or came to her aid. Yet when an guy intoxicated or not “Plays with himself” on a plane the entire country is shocked and horrified and gets involved.!! What the hell is it with this country.? Priorities my ass. Reminds me of the good old days when the Catholic Taliban called the shots and ruled the Irish pesants and when they heavily censored movies like “Carry On Nurse” yet allowed the most brutal scenes of gunmen and murder to be shown and even applauded.
    The guy is not being crucified for what he did..he is being crucified for where he did it. ALL men masturbate and women to..they simply have the good sense not to do it in a “public” place like on board an aircraft. Actually thats not true…YouTube is full of videos of not only passengers having sex on aircraft but even the crews in the cockpit.
    My God..so this chap ..under the influence of Neurofen or not and I am inclined to believe that at the very least the pain killers and booze lowered his inhibitions and ability to think clearly..so this chap did what he did..BIG DEAL. Now get back to complaining about some important issues and not complete trivia. You have a Government…and I use that word in its loosest sense, which has through Greed, Stupidity and Incompentency desptroed this country and cost all of us our jobs, livlihood and hard earned cash. Concentrate on THAT and not some poor jerk …excuse the pun….

Liam Byrne

• Emma Keane 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Those of you defending Neil: if it was your teenage daughter sitting to the left of him on the plane witnessing this, would you still be so quick to defend him? Yes, he has family and friends he has disgraced, and yes, everybody has a right to defend themselves and give their side of the story, but saying he cannot remember is just not good enough! He is not taking responisibility, and one last final point for Ursula: us ‘ignorant’ and ‘impulsive’ Corkonians listen to Neil get on his high horse everyday and take the moral highground on MORAL issues! This is the problem! How can he continue in his position, given his questionable morals at this point!

• Ursula Collins 04/11/10 #
      Report this comment

Emma, I’m not a fan of his and I don’t listen to his programme. But this whole thing is utterly soap opera style. Are you saying you believe he just took his old boy out and decided to have a go off himself on the plane, just for fun? I kind of don’t think so?? I’m not going to say anymore about it, the man’s embarrassed himself to the extreme and he’s apologised profoundly to all concerned. It should be left there for gods sake, Everyone get back to work, for those of us who still have jobs.

• Liam Byrne 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Oh Emma I HAVE a teenage daughter and by God she and her teenage girlfriends is NOT as dumb or naive as you would have everybody believe. You want to arrest someone for indecent exposure..Try walking around the city centre in Dublin on a Friday and Saturday night and you will see thousands of candidates ..most of them teenage girls….exposing EVERYTHING for all to see and be horrified at. ..and before you complain..my teenage SONS love it.
    I am NOT saying what this guy did was right or proper …well actually what he did is perfectly right, proper, normal and natural..its where and when that is causing the embarrassment and outrage.
    What I am saying is…BIG DEAL…move on. Has he still got the right to preach on air. Of course he has. Look at your politicians and Bankers and Property Developers and Barristers etc on your tv every night pontificating till the cows come home and most..not all..but most are as corrupt as hell.
    This is a non event…as was George Michaels expedition into a public toilet in LA or Hugh Grants games with a Hooker….and it will do Neil Prenderville just about as much harm as it did them..NONE.!!

• Emma Keane 03/11/10 #
      Report this comment

Fair enough, point made re. some Irish teenagers, but let’s not tar them all with the same brush! Secondly, an airplane is a confined space that you cannot just escape from the moment someone makes you uncomfortable! Thirdly, unlike these anonymous teenagers that you talk about, Neil Prendeville is a public figure, constantly pontificating and talking about his own personal life and financial endeavours (i.e. his restaurant etc.) for advertising purposes. He cannot expect there to be no interest in this when he usually invites attention upon himself in this way. Finally, what do you mean by ‘actually what he did is perfectly right, proper, normal and natural’? There is a difference between private masturbation and public exposure!

• Andrew Wray 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

One of Neil Prenderville’s frequently used phrases is “.. there’s no smoke without fire ..”, which I commented on his use of some years ago, as it smacks of rumour mongering by those who have nothing better to do than to spread malicious tales about others – hopefully he will now grasp how inappropriate the use is of that phrase by someone in his high profile position as a 96fm presenter

• Christine Meaney 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

ita an awful thing that happened … i cant imagine what he is going through…theres a time and a place for everything ,,, he did what he did but come on he hardly put his job and family and everything on line to do that .. i think give neil a break … he must be going through hell ,,,, hope he be back on 96fm ,, it wont be the same without him ,,, life goes on ,,,

• Stephen Good 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Fittingly, this is just the kind of story the Neil Prendeville Show would cover in its monotonous, poorly researched and limp tabloid fashion. This is also the kind of ‘lad in hand’ story which would sustain Prenderville’s moralistic moan-circus for a good hour. In the spirit of The Prendeville Show, which has served to both exploit and misinform the people of Cork in equal measure since I can remember, I want to mislead everyone in saying: “aaahh shur he was probably on something”, “aaahh shur wasn’t he off on some junket or other, they’re all the same”, “aaahh shur I always knew there was something wrong with that fella”, “aaahh shur I heard he was an immigrant”, “aaahh shur I heard he punched an elderly woman in the face”, “aaahh shur I heard he ate a baby”, “aaahh shur I heard he had a wank on a plane”. Cork deserves better.

• Cool Brian 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Neil does not deserve to be defended at all in this case. He prides himself on being a public voice and playing the role of judge and jury in Cork city, and if he was on the other side of the firing squad he would have no bother in absolutely destroying any public figure in the same similar position.

• Mark O Keeffe 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

feel sorry for him he has done a lot good for lots of people and deserves a break

• Report this comment

Oh for God,s sake leave the man alone,,He is not the first to fall but knowing Niel he will bounce back,
    Cant waiy for him to be back on air,,Live and let live..

• Report this comment

Karma’s a bitch…

• Nig El 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

absolute hypocrite…. this moron spent two weeks on his show “naming and shaming” pharmacies who were only doing their job and following the law of the land (the same one that prohibits masturbation in public) with regard to sales of codeine products (eg Nurofen Plus) when all the time he is abusing the stuff himself….. !!!

• Barry O'Sullivan 03/11/10 #
      Report this comment

everyone has always had an opinion on neil prendeville; Why? .. cos he’s a bloody good radio presenter who evokes a reaction. he never takes the easy option of sitting on the fence like joe duffy, pat kenny, ryan tubridy, the late gerry ryan etc; he always gives his opinion which is alot more than can be said for 99% of radio dj’s in ireland. if we lose him in cork, radio will never be the same again… he was pissed and acted the maggot; big deal …. he talks about issues, such as immigration which other radio shows don’t touch, and he gives an opinion; why don’t irish people give him credit for that.. i may not agree with him all of the time but thank god there’s a show and presenter like him on irish radio

• Justin Mcgurk 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

I bet he wishes he had only got caught with his hand in the cooke jar.

• Liam Byrne 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

So IF I go into the privacy of my back garden and sunbathe nude and the woman next door looks out her window…she can call the Police and have me arrested for indecent exposure..
    But if she goes into the privacy of her back garden and sunbathes nude and I look out my window next door…she can call the Police and have me arrested for being a peeping tom.!!!
    Who said Life was Fair.?
    I’v seen half naked women on many flights especially coming back to Ireland from Mediterranean sun spots and nobody said a word.
    Having said that nobody in their right mind would do what he did .. or rather where and when he did it. So obviously he wasn’t in his right mind whatever the cause. The guy needs help NOT criticism.

• Christine Deasy 04/11/10 #
      Report this comment

Well said Liam,no way was Niel in his right mind,for God sake, Niel is in the public eye can anyone rely believe that someone in his position would expect, we all would blow kisses and pat him on the back as he walked down the street.sometimes we can hate so much that we want someone to fall so badly just so we can give them a clatter or a boot,just to let them know how we feel,when we could have picked up the phone and spoke to them in the first place at the time they annoyed us.i do not think this is the time to want to hit out at Neil because no one can make him feel worse then reality is making him feel now, :(

• Claire O'Brien 03/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Anyone wonder how he was left on to the plane in such a reportedly bad state? Or why the people next to him didn’t immediately react to what he was doing? He said himself that there is of course always wine and beer with him. Should he be in an alcohol treatment centre?

I feel really sorry for his family but I think he deserves to be fired. He can’t take the moral high ground now on anything. He still has his other businesses and I’m sure people will get over it quickly, its just surreal!

• Report this comment

Fair play barry your not living in a goldfish bowl..You could be a great pressenter yourself with your broadminded attitude. What is wrong with the people. Only ignorant people with small minds feel the need to live through others mishaps.God………….Help them,,

• Kathleen Quinlan 04/11/10 #
      Report this comment

let he who is without sin cast the 1st stone now he will know how to be humble that will make him more understanding

• James Fitzgerald 04/11/10 #
      Report this comment

Enough of this “let he who is without sin cast the first stone” shit. Nobody’s perfect, but if I break the law in any way, I should be held responsible for it. And if I take a series of poor decisions (like getting so drunk before a flight that I start masturbating on the plane), I would not expect an employer to take it lightly either.
      Neil Prendeville should own up to his drinking problem and resign from his talkshow.

• Tom Randles 04/11/10 #
    Report this comment

What a load of s**t. What I cannot understand is how nobody interjected and if he did this not stopped sooner- let’s face it- it is not easy to do while sitting in a plane, belted up, during take off. Secondl alcohol can easily make you do stupid things and easily forget, just read the daily court reports. Thirdly if it was such a serious incident why was it not immediately dealt with- I have seen this happen for much worse. The Irish times reported that the lady who saw this was an examiner journalist- I note the examiner never pointed this out.

It all seems a little fishy to me. Please move on……….

• Lisa Byrne 04/11/10 #
    Report this comment

How the mighty have fallen. I dont like him never have and never will the Santamonious Shit
    So I am delighted and hopefully will never have to here his condecending voice on the airwaves again

• Stephen Kelly 04/11/10 #
    Report this comment

“(Card counting) is not illegal. It’s just frowned upon. Like masturbating on an airplane” – Alan in The Hangover

Maybe that was the in-flight film and Prendeville took the quote as legal fact.

• Report this comment

for years he has stirred up trouble between family’s and friends by giving air time to people who were at loggerheads with each other , these people had children who were effected by this but it meant nothing to him as long as he got the listener-ship
    Now he gets caught wanking off on a plane then he tries to get an injunction against the media to stop them making this vile story public? instead off facing up to his actions, this tells me he tried to bury this incident and carry on taking the high moral ground again against the cork public, not what one would expect from a remorseful person.
    bottom line he committed a vile sexual act in public he will be on the sex offenders register soon, he is finished and i am glad of that, i feel sorry for his children

• Louise Hannon 04/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Problem is and I’ve seen this before mixing alcohol with certain drugs can and does send people into a loony state. I had a friend who was fined £200 at Heathrow and he mixed alcohol and sleeping drugs, which made him try and light a cigarette on a smoke free flight. So what this guy is saying is not impossible.

• Report this comment

there is a big difference between lighting up a cigarette on a plane and having a wank on a plane

• James Fitzgerald 04/11/10 #
    Report this comment

Neil Prendeville at the very least, has a serious drink problem.
    A few tablets of Nurofen Plus will not have such a wild reaction with alcohol to cause this type of behaviour, just ask your GP or pharmacist. Anyone who drinks so much (and this is purely an alcohol-related problem, nothing to do with Nurofen plus) that they start masturbating on a flight needs treatment. Everyone goes on a binge now and then, but I cannot believe there are people defending Prendeville here.

How can he ever interview/debate with anyone on the radio again? All they have to say is “sure Neil you’re only a wanker anyway” and the conversation is instantly derailed. If this had happened to anyone else, Neil Prendeville would be up on his high horse about it, calling for their resignation.

• Dan Mc Sweeney 04/11/10 #
    Report this comment

How did he smuggle the loaded weapon on to the plane?.

• Theresa Hurley 04/11/10 #
    Report this comment

.did like the show. lousy on the kids and family i think.woz shocked by his behaviour seriously!!get Michael Cahill on that show frm 2fm hes a klass dj and is frm Cork aswell.

• Report this comment

My heart goes out to the guy ,the whole story sounds ludicrous ,no verdict to found guilty in a court of law ,whatever happened on that plane must not of been serious ,if i was in his shoes id laugh it all yje way poor guy .

• Anne Cronin 05/11/10 #
    Report this comment

96 fm are doing everything but talking about it ,its like hiding an elephant in a room cant be done ,so come on 96 fm and bring up the subject [pardon the pun}

• Eddie Powell 06/11/10 #
    Report this comment

neils for mile high

• Report this comment

Congrats on your effort at dealing with matters! Go the extra-mile prendi! It’ll not only help you to understand, it’ll help others too! Understanding comes from experience not from mistakes. Finish the experience, regardless of the facts! Keep going well with your wind!

• Brenda 10/11/10 #
    Report this comment

For as long as I remember Neil Prendeville peered over his ivory tower raining judgements down on people. Inciting fueds and bad feeling. He was never a “journalist” he was a DJ who got lucky. And in typical Irish fashion, it doesn’t matter if you’re an imbecile, if you’re in, well then that’s it. He is obnoxious in the extreme, and I nor most like minded people in Cork and Ireland do not believe his pathetic excuse. Do not be under any illusion, that man did not put his hands up straight away and apologise. He tried to keep it quiet, he then went on to say “if it’s true” and made it about us, “let this be a warning to people”. The man is arrogant beyond belief and beyond contempt. He actually denied who he was in public over this. He sure is giving wonderful example to his children. There is absolutely no chance of character building in that man nor will there ever be.

• Michele Wallis 11/11/10 #
    Report this comment

maybe he shud have tried magic mushrooms! ive never lost my memory or masturbated in public on them!
    the man is a hypocrite,drink is a drug n he shud stay off it if he cant handle it!

• Teresa Healy 12/11/10 #
    Report this comment

I feel very sorry for Neil Prendeville and his family and i miss him on the radio………………..

• Brenda 24/11/10 #
      Report this comment

I suppose you feel sorry for Betie Ahern, Brian Lenihan, Brian Cowen, Seanie Fitzpatrick, Michael Fingleton and the rest of the bandits and robbers who behaved with impunity as well!!!!!

• West Meath 22/08/11 #
    Report this comment

Any one who thinks he is a grand fella and did nothing much- would you sit beside him while he was self pleasuring on public transport?

Add New Comment