TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Did Hogan appoint a HomeBond official to a State board?

Fianna Fáil has asked Phil Hogan to clarify whether he gave a State board job to someone connected with the pyrite controversy.

An example of the pyrite damage caused to one property in Dublin.
Image: James Horan/Photocall ireland

FIANNA FÁIL has urged the environment minister Phil Hogan to clarify whether he appointed someone connected to a controversial insurance company to a position on a State board.

Environment spokesman Niall Collins has demanded an explanation whether the Conor Taaffe appointed by Hogan to the Building Regulation Advisory Board is the same person who was Customer Services Manager at insurance company HomeBond.

That company came under heavy criticism last year when it opted out of legal responsibility for covering damage to the homes of customers whose houses were built with the mineral pyrite.

That mineral swells when it comes into contact with water, posing major difficulties for the integrity of homes over time.

Taaffe has been the public face of the company since then, and was the signatory of a letter to the Oireachtas environment committee last year in which the company refused to face questioning from TDs over its stance on the pyrite issue.

It emerged in parliamentary questions tabled in the last few weeks by Shane Ross and Michael Healy-Rae that a Conor Taaffe was appointed to the Building Regulation Authority Board, a body which advises the Minister for the Environment on matters relating to building regulations.

No public advertisements were issued for the job, which does not carry any pay.

“People will find it astonishing if Minister Hogan has appointed Conor Taaffe of HomeBond to the State’s building regulation watchdog, given the company’s close links to controversy over insurance cover for homes that have been destroyed by pyrite,” Collins said.

“What is even more disturbing is the latest appointments to Building Regulation Advisory Board were done completely under the radar. Minister Hogan did not advertise the positions despite his Government’s promise to publicly advertise all of the available roles on State boards.

In fact, Minister Hogan has been forced to confirm this week that since coming into power last year, he has made 26 appointments to State Boards without advertising those positions.

The accusations cap a difficult weekend for Hogan, who was the focus of much scrutiny as half the population declined to sign up for the household charge, and who was then reported to be personally in dispute over an unpaid property management bill of over €4,000.

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• What’s more alarming is that these people actually think we are stupid, yes they really do, how on earth did any of them expect to fill these jobs without scrutiny… I have said this once and I will say it again… There is only one way and only ONE way of getting decent , hardworking political representatives.. Bring the pay down to realistic figures and vouch expenses also ( cap them ) ditch the freebies and allowances ( capped expenses will cover them ) and then let’s see who runs for office, oh yeah, no pension to be collected till your 55 or so , unless of course you decide that your pension is your SOLE source of income( we’re not boot boys ) if I thought for a second that I could do some good in office, get 55, 60 k a year, 500 to 1000 expenses allowances monthly ( to cover aaaaaaallll my expenses) I would be all over it like flat cap on a Healy Rae …..

• So much for the promised transparency in appointments to state boards then. It was one of the big black marks against the last government and this one has carried on regardless of their own criticism on this practise in the past. Min. Hogan’s position is becoming more untenable by the day at this stage. Fair play to Collins for highlighting this.

• You can be sure that the media and the opposition have facts like this on all the ministers. The problem is if you just release it you look like you’re bashing them for no reason. Hogan has become public enemy number one so the media and the opposition will be more willing to use these little nuggets of information against him.

• @Eoin O Niallain

F Fail has just changed their name, it’s now called F Gael! I hate, hate, hate, liars, snakes, bullies, double standards, two rules – them and us.

Hogan resign now, Kenny sort this quickly. Apologize to the electorate. Go on National tv/radio admit that this was just a registration fee, admit that you will be coming after us next January for EUR? Be honest, that’s all I want, that’s all anybody wants. We’ve had liars and thieves for too long in there and we’re sick of it.

I then might pay my part as I have always done since I was 18yrs old. I’ve no job now but I will find the money from somewhere if it’s taken honestly. Hogan has f . . ked up on this and the referendum in May. SORT IT NOW!

• This just confirms that hogan is scum, a low-life crook. Maybe he should get his own affairs in order before he tries to sort out the states.

• Resign.

• It’s the little things that get you! I reckon Enda Kenny’s just waiting for an excuse to get rid of Hogan! This might be it!!

• Now, I’ll get ready for the red thumbs…
      “No public advertisements were issued for the job, which does NOT carry any pay”
      Taafe was not personally responsible for the Homebond decision, you can be sure it was taken by their lawyers or reinsurers.
      But, it is right to have a person from Homebond on this advisory board. Like them or Loathe them, they have performed a very valuable service in the building industry in the absence of proper state oversight and self regulation. Even in Architects offices, the Homebond manual is one of the most used books.

• gerard you are having a laugh? That so called ‘manual’ that builders were supposed to follow in order for homebond to give their seal of approval? The regulations that were supposed to be adhered to, that homebond were supposed to inspect during to construction? That ‘manual’ isn’t worth the paper it’s printed on. I can’t go into specifics on an open forum but you can take my word that these decisions were very much led by the man in question.

• Niamh, again you misunderstand the building process.
      HB are not a regulatory body, any advice they give on a building project is simply that -advice. They are insurers.
      But, but, in the ABSENCE of a functioning local authority building control system, Homebond have provided a valuable service. Their manual is an excellent document.
      They cannot be held responsible for anything that went wrong, but may be required to pay for defects to be rectified.
      It’s the system that is broken.
      Why do banks give out mortgages on property that do not meet building regulations?
      Why does the legal profession accept the wording ‘substantial compliance’ from certifiers.
      Why do architects accept the builders word that the building has been built correctly?
      It is because the system is broken.
      Lobbyists such as the CIF have ensured the broken system has endured, to the detriment of homeowners.
      Priory Hall will eventually be pulled down, of that you can be sure.

• Gerard they are not an insurance company, they are a bond company and I think it is you who misunderstand. You have obviously been lucky enough not to have to deal with homebond, unfortunately many homeowners are not in ur position. As I said I won’t go into specifics on an open forum but I can tell you that homebond most definitely share some of the responsibility and they know it.

• There are 1,000′s of homes with this pyrite all over north county Dublin, Meath. Many, many of them cannot get it fixed because they have been told their ‘home bond’ is gone they cannot claim. Worth nothing! These people are paying big morgs., many have lost their jobs. They can’t afford to fix it, which could be up to EUR100,000 depending on how bad and how old the house is. Some have been offered EUR2,000!

These house cannot be sold. They will eventully fall down, outwards. That is what pyrite does. It expands underneath the house, as it is in the foundations. It will keep expanding. It pushes the walls outwards and eventually it will fall down. Could take 20 years but it will happen. The pyrite is in some quarries that developers were using. As far as I know the builders didn’t know about it. Two years ago ‘a law’ came in where the soil must be checked before it leaves the quarries. Unfortunately, that’s no good to the poor souls that are living in a home that they are paying a morg. for a house that is worth nothing. This Government has to fix these homes if they expect the families to continue to pay their morgs.

• Gerard. I’m a builder, once off private houses, extensions, renovations. The homebond book is a joke. I was written by engineers and technicians from the comfort of their desks…all theory…all far removed from the reality of real building conditions. NO attempt to tailor building methods to our specific climate. All of this using” facts and values” taken as gospel from big building materials manufacturers. HOMEBOND = JOBS FOR THE BOYS!

• More lies, bull, jobs for the boys, underhandedness,double standards etc , enough is enough , cmon everybody lets wreck the place !!!!!Sorry too late I see sombody has done it already

• Aidan 02/04/12 #

He should be fired for this. This country makes me so sad.

• The problem in Ireland is there is no proper Building Control Inspection as in UK. Simple. Architects certifying buildings to be ‘in compliance’ is a joke. Prior Hall is really only the tip of the iceberg.Watch this space!

• Niamh were the OPW involved in the building of your estate, and if so what role did they play in? Did they sign off all work done by the developer?

• Hogan is not the only one looking after “mates”, hasn’t Kenny looked after a few advisers with 30k increases in salary, and a few others slipped family members into civil service jobs. Nothing has changed. We are still the suckers.

• This is a slap in the face to the 20,000 households affected by pyrite.

• I am a fool, I genuinely thought they couldn’t be as bad as FF!

• Brian
      You are not a fool, you /we have been lied to and cheated.
      The fools are these twits in gov who thought we wouldn’t notice

• If that is the case we are all fools , but no more . They are worse , they knew when they were campaigning in the general election they were LYING. They are Liars , and bullies. Horrible selfish immoral, led by a man who comes across as holier than thou ! He is a Sly sleeveen. Shame Shame Shame Shame ….. and as for Hogan and creighton . pigs.

• @Brian Mulligan, Dav Harris, Susie

What’s worrying me is that they have been there while Haughey, Aherne, O’Dea, Harney, Burke, Lawlor etc. etc. were holding office. They’ve been watching, listening and learning all along. They’ve seen what F Fail have got away with and they will do it too if we let them. They’ll just do it in a more sneaky way.

We have to get on top of this. We have to be in their face the whole time. Where they are littering looking behind them for the rest of their time in there. Unfortunately, there are rotten apples in every box. We, the electorate we just have to do all the work ourselves now and take them out.

• Sheila
      We got a box of rotten apples ….. Kenny ( for all his seemingly goodness), Veradkar , Hogan, Creighton, Noonan , Hayes et al…. Gilmore , Rabbitte, (By nature) and all of them . We must keep up a show of ”civil disobedience” along with the million other house holds

• Welcome to the club!

• To say this appointment is controversial too homeowners affected by pyrite is an understatement. It is effectively like a red rag to a bull. Homeowners are outraged that this can go ahead considering how Homebond have denied all liability with regard to the pyrite scandal and have refused to appear before the oireachtas committee twice to answer questions on their involvement. The tradition of jobs for the boys continues.

• Where is Labour in all this, keeping their heads down. They are about to go the way of the PDs and the Greens.

• When did Collins ask this question?
    Why has this and Phil’s outstanding management fees only come to light after the deadline for household charge registration?

• Sadly there won’t be a resignation any time soon, enda owes this man way too much, the fg party leadership.

• jimbo 02/04/12 #

Hogan is a scumbag

• Just goes to show that nothing will ever change in this country of ours.
    Screw people over? Grand, sure come over here til I give you a pat on the back.
    Utterly infuriating.

• I do not understand how individuals can behave in such a manner when they they are in a ”pack”. It is disgraceful ! I will maintain my protest of not registering and not paying . Hogan is a liability.

• I think you’ll find the fact I voted at all is reason enough to have an opinion whether you agree or not. The people who didn’t vote, that’s who you should be on the case of and DO NOT assume to know the voting preferences of this particular contributor.
      When a clear, concise, well thought out and positive alternative comes along then you might, just might find a change in the voting strategy of the electorate in this country that you seem to find so amusing.

• @Susie,

Hear, hear, I have always voted since I was 18. Wasn’t always sure who was the best to vote for but at least I got off my ass and used it. Women and many others fought for me so out of respect for them and myself I will always vote. I cannot complain otherwise.

• Hogan is a serious liability to the government now and it’s clear he wont resign voluntarily . The question is does Kenny have the balls to force him to resign or to straight out fire him. Will Gilmore take a stand and tell Kenny it’s Hogan or Labour?

Is Enda Kenny the stumbling leader of the FG 2010 heave or the winner of the 2011 election?

• tuba hg 02/04/12 #

Typical of the latest FG trend to ‘cosy up’ to big business people

• CMD 02/04/12 #

The awful thing is that we the electorate are exactly back where we were 2 years ago with a patently corrupt government in power who are too strong to be moved unless the junior partner pulls the plug. And that won’t happen – turkeys and Christmas etc.

• Ardo Ci 02/04/12 #

How long have you got Hogan! If Priory Hall is emblematic of the Republic of Ireland, Hogan is emblematic of ‘the Party’ – whichever one is in power. Jesus! Will the rot ever end.

• Hogan made 26 appointments to State Boards without advertising those positions, this speaks for itself.

• I became aware of this a few days ago when Dessie Ellis raised it…
    http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/22908

I think it’s endemic of the increasing arrogance of the government, they think they can do anything and get away with it, brazenly breaking salary caps, “jobs for the boys” not to mention Phil “Can’t take a pay cut” Hogan not paying his charges in Portugal.

It would make you sick.

• Pot, kettle, black?

• Same old cronyism as FF….same ethics, same mind set. Nothing changes in Irish politics..where they see an opportunity to make gain for themselves or their mates..then they’re in like Flynn. We have no real choice when t comes to choosing who represents us in government….they’ll all be out next election promising the usual crap. I’ve given up voting until something offering real change and something that genuinely stands for the people comes along.

• i dont mean to disrespect you but thats a very silly attitude. people fought and died to give us our vote so if you want to change things vote for independents perhaps? things will never change if people refuse to vote at all!!

• Mark,
      People fought and died for the democratic ideal, Tony is commenting on the fact that the choice between FF, DG SF and independents is a poor one.
      FG wouldnt be in power if there was a viable choice, and they couldnt do it alone.
      (FG couldnt win an election when everybody knew Bertie was crooked remember)

• #Mark, I know using your vote is important but you can see how people get disillusioned with the carry on in the Dail. Independents aren’t immune either. The Healy-Raes spring to mind.
      In fairness, “people fought and died” to give us our sovereignty too and less than 100 years later, the politicians signed that away overnight, to protect their cronies in the banking and building sectors. People with family members who died during these struggles must wonder what it was all for.

• I will always use my vote . It givbes me the right to protest , like now . We use it according to the knowledge we have , and information we are given. In future I will not be so trusting .

• At the end of the day we have the same circus with different clowns,..

• The great dictator is at it again.

• Score cards mmmm?
    Actually now that I think about that Carmel.
    That’s a real teacher one.
    Enda will just give Phil one hundred lines to do ..
    I must not give jobs to cronies.

Seriously though SCORE CARDS..
    LMAO

• Barry O 02/04/12 #

Hogan is scum. Save money by sacking all these boards that do.nothing and also get rid of the nearly 600 councilors paid to do nothing

• So much corruption where will it end what`s the next scandle going to be

• jrbmc 02/04/12 #

Phil in p45

• I asked Phil Hogan about this appointment on his Facebook Page yesterday. My comments were deleted and I was blocked.

• @Paul

Agree with you. Every time I see Kenny on the News it’s always about him and F Gael. Labour went into Government with them, I thought with equal rights and a say. To me, any time Kenny is standing there pontificating, Gilmore should be standing right beside him.

I feel they have lost all credibility. I feel Labour is going to get pissed off to be associated with a fool like Hogan. I said here about 4 weeks ago, if we’re not careful and work and fight harder as the electorate, we will have no Government again. We have to heard, Saturday showed what we can do as a great people and we are. Nobody can shout louder than me! We have to show who really is in charge and also has a lot of sense, because we’re living it every bloody day. We have to make them listen to us and show that we mean business.

I know services has to be paid for, I accept that, I accept the money has to come from somewhere, but everybody should be putting their hands in their pocket to give. That’s including a reduction in politicians salaries, a cut back on allowances, get rid of the Government planes. No need tor them, fly first class with Aer Lingus (Irish Company) or Ryan Air. Cut backs in EVERYONE’S salaries.

• Mr Hogan is no “friend” of the environment. He should never been appointed the Minister of the Environment. His behavior is disgraceful and the Taoiseachs reluctance to in any way question Mr Hogan and his motives reflects very poorly on Mr Kennys own judgement and leadership.

It is shocking that a Labour party would support this type of behavior. Allowing government to block investigations into planning “irregularities”, supporting this incompetent Minister over this household charge and his political appointments and the disgraceful suggestion that even if you have paid the household charge (which I have) you may be penalized anyway if the majority in your community haven’t paid.

• I’ve just deleted a LOT of off-topic posts. Any more side-tracking from the issue at hand (HomeBond, etc) and the thread is locked.

• Good Onya Gavan.

”In fact, Minister Hogan has been forced to confirm this week that since coming into power last year, he has made 26 appointments to State Boards without advertising those positions”

Jobs for your Cronies? Big Phil, FG’s Bully Boy Hatchetman.

Its time you went to Portugal on a permanent holiday.
      Well I suppose your government is nearly on permanent holidays anyway.
      FG/Labour ”The Holiday Government”

Oh my god the Troica have Repo-d our country.
      I think it’s time for our leaders to go on a 19 day Easter holiday.
      How can they get anything done with all the holidays?

You should be throwing these HomeBond Cowboys in jail, Not giving them soft, influential posts.

Some of these poor unfortunate people are up to their necks and these cowboys want to leave them with nothing but a pile of rubble.

Go on Phil spend the next 3 years blaming your failures on the last government.
      You’re might be worse than them yourself.
      Time and (our) money will tell.

• Peter 66 02/04/12 #

Nothing wrong with side tracking Gavan it’s more interesting & you sound like a bit of a mammy with your warning of ‘locking’ the thread, relax & don’t turn in to Joan burton :-)

• @Susie,

Agreed. I feel Veradkar, Covenay, Creighton and some other young guns are going to come up behind Kenny, Hogan etc. and stab them in the back. Veradkar has done it before and failed. He won’t fail this time! He is a power seeking little dictator and loves to hear his own voice!

If that happens, he/they need to know who we are, what we can do as one voice. If he does, he needs to know that he must work with us, the electorate. We have to do this for our children. Ireland will be theirs not mine. I just need to know whoever is in power that they know that they can’t get away with ‘them and us’ – ‘their world and ours’.

• Sheila ,
      I think some of my posts were removed ? I don’t know why , but I agree with your comments here :) It has been too long that we have taken every thing lying down, and after meeting up with all those lovely people on the march last saturday I feel revived , and hopeful for the future.:)

• Hogan is in the wrong party HE SHOULD BE IN FIANNA FAIL

• He lives in the actual world……… not in the land of deceit and delusion that is Ireland today! Unpalatable truths tend to sting!

• FG , Should go, Fg out , out , out

• Susie,

Some of my posts were removed also one especially to the individual ‘David Feu’. He was trying to rise some on this thread. He accused me of being a Fine Gael’er and a European! I answered him very politely and finished with, ‘I bid you good day’.

The march was an eye opener. I was on my own and just got chatting to some lovely people. A few that did actually pay because they felt there would be consequences for them! They were there for others like you and me. I didn’t pay either, but was there as a committee member of the families that lost a relative in Leas Cross (my Father). Nobody was made accountable for that even though there was EUR1million spent on it. Harney, aherne, John Aherne should be strung up. Here’s to our next march!

• no brownie points for them

Add New Comment