TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

First official event of The Gathering kicks off with Dublin NYE party

Thousands of people are expected to take to Dublin’s streets tomorrow night to celebrate New Year’s Eve.

Preparations for Dublin's New Year's Eve concert on College Green earlier today
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

THE GATHERING WILL officially kick off tomorrow night with a major New Year’s Eve festival planned for Dublin’s city centre.

Thousands of people are expected to take to the streets for a concert and fireworks display which will mark the start of the year of events aimed at encouraging people to visit Ireland in 2013.

Concert-goers will pay €20 to see Imelda May and Bell X1 headline a gig at College Green, while a procession of light will see families join with fire-breathers, stilt-walkers and street entertainers in a procession through Dublin’s streets.

Organisers say the event will showcase Ireland and encourage tourists to visit.

“As The Gathering starts, it [the NYE festival] is the perfect advertisement for visiting this country and we will be doing all we can to make sure that Ireland benefits as much as possible from all the colour, variety and energy of the event,” said Ciara Sugrue of Fáilte Ireland.

Journalists from around 70 international broadcast and print media organisations have arrived in Dublin to cover the event, organisers said.

The festival will be broadcast live on RTE television, with Miriam O’Callaghan set to present a show from a purpose-built studio in College Green. The event will also be streamed live worldwide through the RTE website.

Dublin;s New Years Eve celebrations

(Photo: Niall Carson/PA Wire)

Read: New Year’s Eve in Dublin? Yes please, says Lonely Planet >

Read: Fewer British people visited Ireland but rise in European and US tourists in 2012 >

Read: In which Irish city would we most like to celebrate New Year >

Read next:

Comments (96 Comments)

• Had organised Bristol Rovers reserves,Swansea city reserves, a team representing Aberdeen,Cork City and also a team from France to take part in a soccer tournament for the gathering. Applied for the grant got refused because the numbers were not large enough. I had 100 players traveling from outside Ireland and at least another 500 fans traveling over.Still not good enough, so I looked up the ones that were approved. Some are only bring in 50 – 100 people and they got € 2,500. The tournament is still going ahead without there tag line.

• In the US, cities organize a NYE celebration that includes cultural events–music recitals (not just pop–plenty of classical)–literary events, fireworks, public sing-alongs, the whole shebang. It is both free admission and alcohol-free in most cities. Families come out, streets are closed. Great time had by all. Best one I ever attended was in Atlanta, Georgia. Big, fun party with none of the usual alcohol-fueled stupidity you may find around other venues. You can actually take your family out on NYE and have fun without fear. Something to consider.
    With regard to “The Gathering”, that was a great and rare CD by Donal Lunny, Andy Irvine and others. As far as a tourism hook, I’d say the minister for sport, tourism and culture should be ashamed for floating this cynical and obvious come-on scheme. As a former tourist and a citizen on both sides of the Atlantic, it just has me shaking my head. You’re not going to fool anyone with this stuff. Just be sincere. That’s all you need to do. People are attracted to sincerity, cheerfulness, helpfulness, interesting well-presented history and beautiful scenery. You have that in spades. You don’t need the hype of “The Gathering”.

• We have what’s called “First Night” in Burlington Vermont. A all day event with something for everyone young old and in between ending with fireworks at midnight. It’s very successful and it’s billed as a alcohol free event.

• “First Night”, exactly, Declan. Thank you for putting that out there. Wonderful event. I’ve done the Atlanta, San Francisco, and even the Fairfax, CA first night. Some even do it once a month opening art galleries and the like on the first of each month.

• First one to beat the crap out of the dancing leprechaun gets a pint on me.

• 20 euro to stand in you’re own street , or 5 pints of bavaria and 2 packs of salt and vinegar , I know where I’m going , the local !

• The hotel federation moan that visitor numbers are down but as soon as there is any type of event they ride people bareback for a room for a night or 2, When will they realise that nobody will want to come here to be ripped off for food /drinks and hotels.
    Rip off ireland is alive and well , the only gathering will be at the ports /airports for people getting out of here and probably never returning

• I have to say I think this gathering thingy is in principal a great idea for tourism but afraid it will be hijacked by media type for their own publicity. Perhaps I’m too cynical!

• Beyond irony that this is taking place in front of the BOI headquarters.

• Typical , kicking off the gathering with a concert with headline acts that are barely known , I’m a fan of the acts myself but the gathering has been targeting international tourism , there should be international well known acts playing

• International acts? That would cost money, Anthony. The Gov are trying to spend as little as possible on this. My bro is coming home from Oz in June for his graduation. I joked if anyone official asks him ‘Are you home for The Gathering?’ he should reply ‘Yeah, I’m Gathering the rest of my stuff!’

• True true, but you have to spend money to make money , pay peanuts and get monkeys, if you build it they will come etc.. Etc. …..

• paul 30/12/12 #

The guthering more like we use to be able to go in town and listen to some music
    For free now it’s 20 euro what’s it going to be next year .and the year after let the fleecing begin

• It’s about time we started doing something in this country to celebrate nye. I hope it goes well and evolves every year into an event that’s one of the must be events around the globe to ring in the New Year. Bring it on I say.

• Ailísh 30/12/12 #

Nobody worried about the weather? There I said it. It’l be gas

• Not 2013 yet & I’ve heard enough of this “Gathering” already. If Our Politicians concentrated on investment in jobs there’d be no need for this gathering 80, 000 plus per year leaving Our Shores because of weak governance.

• Tourism plays a big part in our economy so events like the gathering are also important in the investment of jobs…

• Yes Ryan.
      But due to the large amounts of government enforced emigration over the years and
      due to the current governments huge boost to the emigrant figures,
      there will always be plenty of people forced to come home.

What you have here is Fine Gael and Labour trying to gain praise for this sick form of “tourism”

• Will Enda kick it off with another heavily plagerised speech in said College Green?

• 70 journalists from around the world will be here. Thats alot of publicity. Alot of people seem to want this gathering to fall flat on its face. Relax and enjoy it, I am sure who ever is running this is not in the position to create jobs around the country so that arguement about “they should be creating jobs” is null.

• Should be a great night in Dublin .

• Well the organisers can’t lose, they can say at the end of the year. So many came over for the gathering, people who were going to come anyway and who can prove them wrong. Same trick with the Registered and Paid line, they included the numbers who registered for exemption from the property tax with the ones who registered and paid. All tricks, lies and scams!

• It would be great to see this

• Gabriel Byrne described this Gathering thing as no more than a scam! He’s dead right. It’s not even an original idea FFS.

• So your not into people enjoying the New Years festivities?!

• I would like to congratulate Gabriel Byrne for having an opinion.

• I think it will become The Scattering .

• What a load of pompous manure.

FG and Labour got into government with the GET THE COWEN OUT vote and a pack of lies.
      Now Kenny and Co. want to pretend they are responsible for a few people coming home for a family funeral, wedding, christening, birthday, repossession, eviction, suicide etc.

Why don’t they go out to departures with begging buckets and cadge of the people that they have betrayed?
      Because lets face it a lot of them won’t be coming back.

The vile Irony of it all.
      Trying to con the very people whom the government banished from these shores.
      The victims of corrupt politics.
      Disgusting.
      Truly disgusting!

• Can anyone tell me is there an incentive to come home for this “gathering”.
      What’s it all about.i know people away and this means nothing to them.
      Anyone I know mite come home for christmas anyway.
      So what is this.
      Is enda self promoting his image again.
      I’m sure he’ll find plenty of photo opportunities.

• Byrnes nastiness only emerged after the Government decided he didn’t fit the profile of a cultural ambassador. He has proven the case!

• The gathering is a complete waste of tax payers money. Come back to Ireland and get ripped off and find what the government has done to your country and its people in your absence.

• Actually wheter you disagree with the idea, it will have massive multiplier effects and be great for the economy and long term tourism habits! So it’s not wasted money

• “THE BEGGING 2013″

Come home and see your family and friends being thrown out of their homes by the very same corrupt banks and government(s) that destroy(ed) your country.

See HALF of your country men and women live below THE POVERTY LINE.

Just imagine it LIVE MASS EVICTIONS (just like the FAMINE years) carried out by CORRUPT/CRIMINAL BANKS and their HIRED THUGS.

Watch as these BANKER’S THUGS break into FARMS in the middle of the night and assault innocent families, Then watch closely as your TD’s make a skit of the situation as they suck SUBSIDIZED BEER DOWN THEIR SNOUTS from the comfort of THE DAIL BAR.
      “HA HA HA”
      “LET THEM EAT PIZZA”
      “HILARIOUS”

Come see our “NATIONAL TREASURES”
      Our very own “TOMB OF THE KINGS” PRIORY HALL!
      GHOST ESTATES!
      UNFINISHED BUILDINGS!
      400 MILLION EURO VACANT BUILDING SITES!
      THOUSANDS OF VACANT SHOP UNITS!
      Not to mention our very own LITTLE VENICE (with a twist) Yes folks ENTIRE HOUSING ESTATES built on FLOOD PLAINS and SEWERAGE DUMPS.

Why not BRING HOME a SOUVENIR, made from one of our NATIONAL TREASURES,
      YES FOLKS we have them, your very own HANDMADE IRISH PYRITE SOUVENIRS!!
      Want A JAR OF METHANE from a FAMILY’S BEDROOM IN THE MIDLANDS? YOU’VE GOT IT!!!

SOUP KITCHENS and HOMELESS HOSTELS available for the discerning ECONOMY TRAVELLER.

Please remember to SPEND, SPEND, SPEND plenty of money while you are here, so that our lazy government can collect lots of taxes to pay THE BONDHOLDERS their own fat FAT SALARIES AND PENSIONS.

ALL CURRENCIES ACCEPTED (although we prefer payments in non euro tender).
      Come on, see your country being destroyed before your very eyes.

Disclaimer: During your stay, please beware of large gangs of PICKPOCKETS posing as senior civil servants, bankers and TD”s.

• Please also note: Make sure that you HAVE A FULL MEDICAL CHECK UP before you travel as TAILBACKS in our HOSPITALS last for a long time and you don’t want to be stuck in a TROLLY CUE for YOUR ENTIRE STAY (or for the rest of your short life, due to some unknown HOSPITAL BUG) !

• No South Africa had this a few years ago

• Having been in Dublin over nine years I’ve found NYE to be pretty disappointing here. I hope this year with the gig things start to change.

• The grabbing.

• Kenny and co bleeding more money out of people who come here to enjoy themselves . You will have Gilmore on the fiddle Kenny blowing his own trumpet and rabbite sing to what ever tune he is told to, should be a great night in Dublin .

• Surprised the goverment have not instructed there minions in RTE to make it pay per view and maybe squeeze some more moeny from somewhere. The scattering 2013.

• Miriam should be introduced to her children.

• The gathering is just an empty pr exercise. It is all about getting people to come and no thought about what people will do when they get here. Yes there are events planned, most of which were happening already anyway, but what are tourists to do in between these events. Instead of squandering money on pr we should be investing in tourist infrastructure, instead of events the money should be used to help set up self sustaining company’s that will provide activities. Everything from outdoor adventure style pursuits to historical tours should be catered for. All this already exists in some places so it just needs to be promoted properly. Anyone who has been to places like New Zealand can see a model for this, there is almost too much to do there, ranging from the expensive to the free, all of it run well and with the ultimate enjoyment of the customer at he fore. If we want tourists not only to visit Ireland but to want to come back as well we need to provide an experience that’s rich in activity and value for money.

• It’s nice to see Dublin bringing in the new year properly with a large scale event and fireworks like New York, Paris, London etc. Looks like it would be brilliant to attend!

• Listening to the naysayers above is putting me off from traveling back home to Dublin next year.

• Thats the circuses started…if you have the bread.
    I’m sure the world will cancel its NYE parties to tune in.

PR-op-agenda: ON.

• Just looking at all the negative comments on this thread makes me feel sick…its an idea to bring people into this country to enhance tourism and general spending and yet so many giving out..what are the downsides as i havent seen any just remarks with no actual reasoning behind them…

• For too many years have emigrants throughout the world sent money home to Ireland,
      to fill the gap left behind by blatant government corruption/criminality, ineptitude and laziness.

Now our overpaid, inept, spineless,sleeveen, gombeen, stoogeen “government” want to try and make this Begging Farce “GRABBING” into the focal point of their time in power.

It would pay them better to jail their corrupt/criminal bedfellows who destroyed this country.

• “THE BEGGING”
      (to pay for the corruption, criminality and lifestyles of a few schiesters)

• Andy
      You are mistaken.
      This site belongs to an underclass who cannot understand that the Irish are intelligent enough to shrink from the propaganda of the Extreme Left. Couple that with Iran innate sense of doom these harbingers of misery would suck the life out of the froth on pint of Plain and rarely sleep as they churn their misery across the ether with their latest Vodaphone deal and cheap knock off iPhone.
      Their language is that of the adult cyber bully and there is no learning among them of the damage they may cause with their nasty and vicious comments about named politicians. Whatever damage they cause to our economy or the lives of politicians is of no meaning to them as they fester in their unpleasantness.

• Since when did telling the truth become “nasty and vicious” Mr Collins.

The truth that hundreds of thousands (if not millions) of lives have been destroyed by corruption in our government(s).

Government(s) that stood/stand by and allow(ed) their people to be abused physically/sexually/financially by large international organisations.

• Mr Money
      Sorry for being so formal but have never been introduced and it’s unlikely that we mix in the same social, educational or business circles.
      What was your suggestion…….that our cowardly and spineless Government stood by while large International Organisations sexually abused our population!
      What a preposterous idea Mr Money but just to be quite correct in the matter would you be able to provide us with dates names and places please so these people can be prosecuted or are you just generalising about something that happened long before this Government came to offices.

• The large international organisation : The Catholic Church.

Dates and Times: Decades if not centuries till recently.

• Please keep us informed on how the “prosecutions” are going Michael.

• This government are far too
    spineless,
    lazy,
    useless,
    un-resourcefull,
    spoilt,
    greedy,
    inbred,
    etc…
    To Man up and sort out the state of the country for once and for all.

Instead they pay P.R companies vast sums of money to circulate this glorified begging letter.

• Just wait for it.
    The introduction of
    THE EMIGRANT TAX
    (a €1000 a year tax on Irish emigrants, that goes directly to pay for the corruption, criminality and lifestyles of a few protected elites and their government bedfellows)

• I feel sorry for the negative people on this, if everything bothers you all so much get up off ur a**es and do something about it instead of moanin online, cop on and enjoy the party. Now let the grammer nazii and red thumbs begin from the lazy keyboard gangster clowns.

• it’ll be a flop

• The gov drove these ppl out of irl and did their best not to pay them benefit then they want them to come home and spend their hard earned money here ….

• come to ireland for the grabbing of every cent bell enda can get out of you…

• I am in Australia and only heard of The Gathering through my family. There is nothing promoting it here. In fact I have family leaving Ireland to visit me in 2013. Hope for Irelands sake it is a success .

• The gathering. What a bloody embarrassment. We have to literally beg people to come here, fleece them when the get here and then send them on their way.

It’s absolutely pathetic that, as a nation, we are reduced to this bullshit to make a few lousy quid to balance the books and keep Angela happy.

• Endas pocket money ,after he mugged the carers, children and the OAP, now he wants the people he forced to leave the country to come home and spend , maybe its because we the people at home have nothing more to give , Enda and Hogan are well met two bandits supported by the people who were suppose to keep an eye on the ball the so called Labour party , Labour party my arse.

• All the lads in the pub are looking forward to the gathering,They will meet all the old pals that made it in America and Australia most are millionaires now and billionaires.Well done the lads from Ireland they done well.

• did the said millionaires and billionaires give any indication they would be arriving en masse to shower us all with wealth and prosperity?

• We are open for business

• Revolting
      Please forgive me for my familiarity but you are so aptly named.
      We have more than thirty family members coming to share a special Day on the Hill of Slane and they will be travelling from Mexico, Canada, France, Spain and Australia.
      All together there will be ninety three of us and everybody found the Gathering as an excellent excuse to come back home for an anniversary .
      Really sorry you aren’t able to see the benefits but I trust that our contribution to the Irish economy will extend way beyond the taxes we pay and help in some small way to bring about a recovery.
      Am I foolish. Are you a taxpayer or what we sometimes call a nett receiver? Either way you would have to be very dense to oppose this marketing campaign.

• i didnt oppose it you fool, i simply questioned its potential success and also stop talking s*ite and pretending you have a well travelled family

• I am looking forward to seeing Miriam O Callaghan

• the gathering,know, right so I ring my aunt in Boston and ask her to come back to Ireland with her family at her expense, Kip
    on my floor, or book into a hotel, again at her expense, and if she has any money left spend it on Irish produce??? is that the gist of it?? that government haven’t a brain cell between them, clowns the lot of them, that’s the best they could come up with????

• Is bono not sticking the oar in somewhere ?

• The scammering should Be the events name. Yesterday was the lArgest amount of people leaving the country’s airports that most won’t return.friend living in Australia and came back to Ireland for the first time in 3 years. Planned to stay a month but left after 3 days back to oz saying Ireland is now just the biggest hellhole.4th world country ever some places in the supposed less developed countries were now ahead of Ireland as he travels a lot

Add New Comment