TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Election results a ‘massive blow’ to austerity, says Sinn Féin

Mary Lou McDonald says French and Greek elections show people are signalling that austerity is not working.

Mary Lou McDonald TD
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

SINN FÉIN HAS CALLED the French and Greek election results a “massive blow” to austerity policies in Europe.

“People are sending a clear signal that austerity is not working and that a new approach based on jobs and growth must be found,” TD Mary Lou McDonald said today.

“At a time when the Irish and Eurozone economies desperately need investment in jobs and growth, the Government and their EU counterparts are proposing the very opposite.”

Referring to the Fiscal Compact referendum, McDonald said: “The Austerity Treaty is bad for jobs and for growth. If passed it will hamper any prospect of economic recovery.”

The Sinn Féin TD also accused Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore of making ‘cynical claims’ that the Irish government shares the same growth agenda as the French president-elect. In his campaign, Francois Hollande had pledged to rework the Fiscal Compact treaty.

While congratulating Hollande on his success over Nicolas Sarkozy in the French presidential election this weekend, Gilmore said that Hollande’s win would have no bearing on holding an Irish referendum on the European Fiscal Compact treaty at the end of this month.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel told the press today that she was looking forward to working with Hollande, but ruled out any further renegotiation of the treaty.

Gilmore: Ireland will hold referendum despite Hollande victory >

Merkel: Fiscal Treaty will not be renegotiated >

Greek election impasse heralds lengthy instability >

Read next:

Comments (179 Comments)

• A few tuna and mayonaise sandwiches and i’m going to ride out this recession.

• Dave 07/05/12 #

“The definition of madness is doing the same thing over and over again, but each time expecting a different result”. A bit like us, the Irish electorate, eh?

Maybe its time we gave some other party a chance?

• I think we are all missing the point here. All politicians make promises that they can’t and in most cases have no intention of keeping once elected. Why would SF be any different. It’s either a power trip or financial enhancement that drives most would be politicians. The few that do have a desire to improve matters and put the country first are very quickly stifled by the party machine.

• Not that I’d expect anything approaching nuance to effect the (*ahem) “logic” of a Shinner, but the Greeks voted for genuine fascists (with whom they’re throwing you lot in semmingly…) & Hollande comes from Centre of his party; his promises are worth about as much as Varadkar’s “not another red cent” or Gilmore’s “Frankfurt’s way or Labour’s way” speech…

• Hey Paul, we tried FF and we saw where that got us … You can keep puffing on that cigar as long as ye want, FF will never see power again in this country. Time to give us the ghost and disband.

• Vote sinn fein. Nobody will be unemployed. Nobody will be sick or uneducated. The basic standard of living will include an outdoor pool at the very least.
    P.S I also have some magic beans for sale.

• Mary cop on Sinn Fein dont promise what they cant deliever, but they wont let some unelected body from europe tell us what to do. Kenny and Gilmore you must know by now they are weak leaders.

• it easy for sinn fein to say no to everything, i want to hear definite sound economic policies not populist clap trap.

• You don’t think sinn feins policy to introduce a third rate of tax on high earners is a sound eonomic policy?

• In their defence, their economic policies are up on their website.

They are pure fantasy but they are there.

• @Too Trueleft, whether its sound economic policy or not (and the debate is open on that) its populism of the highest order from SF as they know that it will not effect 99%+ of their vote demographics

• good man Paddy, you said it. there saying no to things in the republic, which they have no problem with happening in northern ireland, we’re they’re part of the govt themselves.

• @ Keith
      Why arnt FG up north!?

• @ Connor.You do realise that when you say “its populism of the highest order from SF as they know that it will not effect 99%+ of their vote demographics” what you are in effect saying is that their policies will benefit the vast majority.

Not think after fine gael continuing the policies, despite the crash, that is continuing to make the 1% even wealthier, that some policies taking the pressure off the 99% might be a bit overdue?

• That’s what Gilmore has being doing for years. Easier to criticise than implement.

• @Too Trueleft, there is a considerable difference between 99% of SF voters or potential voter pool and 99% of the population. SF’s vote tends to come from the C2DE demographic, many of whom would not be impacted by the current marginal rate of 41% let alone a third rate at 48-50%.

again I’m not saying a third rate is a good or bad thing but merely the fact that SF know it makes good populist sound bites with out risking marginalizing their existing voter base

• Actually conor, thanks for pointing that out for us, you not saying whether its a good or bad thing. Do you think a third rate of tax on higher earners would be a good or bad thing?

• @Too TrueLeft, initial reaction would be against, most people are currently paying a marginal rate of 52% (41% income tax, 7% USC and 4% PRSI) on earnings over approx. 35K. assuming a third date of 48 – 50% that would be marginal rate of 59 – 61%.

it would really depend on what the threshold for the rate was, how much it would generate and what the consequences were (tax exiles, ability to retain and attract key talent, etc)

• Sorry conor but you figures don’t add up. You assume a marginal rate of 59 – 61% but fail to give a figure for where the third rate cuts in, therefore you have no base figure to extrapolate your claimed rate from. In other words, your pulling fugures out of thin air,

Nobodys going to the poorhouse of we introduce a third rate of tax for higher earners. The revenue it will bring in, however, might just allow us to keep some people out of it.

• the level that the rate kicks in at has no bearing on what the marginal rate will be. if its 50,100 or 150K then it is still a marginal rate of 59 – 61%.

the rate range i suggested is based on the SF proposed 48% as a base, add to that USC & PRSI and you reach 59%. others have suggested 50% which by the same maths would give a marginal rate of 61%.

• So, by your contention, if the new rate kicks in at, say 75,000, your marginal rate suddenly jumps to 59-61% whether you’re earning €75,001 or €750,000,001 despite the first figure (75,000) mening almost all of your tax is at a lower rate and the higher figure (€750,000,001 ) means almost all of your tax is paid at the new higher rate??

Come on conor

• Too Trueleft, it is a ridiculous policy. High Earners are the most mobile.. It will be bye bye to them and their capital the day Sinn Fein get into power. You can all have your workers paradise then, albeit with no jobs.

• Mary-Lou sickens me. She actually referred to the IRA as “the undefeated army…still the undefeated army” on Ursula Halligan’s The Political Party. Left-wing or not, I don’t know how anyone could offer support to such a party after she lauded the acts of these Terrorists. I’d vote FF any day over the Shinners.

• A blow against austerity by the Greeks still won’t make SInn Fein’s policies more credible.

• I’m assuming that you have actually read their alternate budget for 2012 so Adam?

• It only goes to show how bad the mainstream parties are when Mary Lou and her gang are deemed the main opposition! Bertie Ahern ruined a great country, and I’m seriously wondering if it can ever recover!!

• I have.. The only things missing were the crayon drawings…

• We’ve survived famine, independence, civil war, economic war, the 1980s and Jedward!

I think we’ll make it through this one!

• David Higgins

You should be ashamed of yourself and go back to school and learn your IRISH history. We most certainly did not survive a famine as there was no famine. What the Irish people suffered through in the 1840’s was ethnic cleansing at its most evil. You really do fall for propaganda dont you.

• Sinn Fein, the party which opposes everything and proposes nothing.

• Keith, if you have an issue with sinn fein, please discuss it at face value. Don’t misrepresent them.

http://www.sinnfein.ie/policies

• To those 16 red thumbers I suggest that you also go and learn your history too. Ireland had bumper crop yields and exports in the 1840s of maize, oats and wheat . The potato was the only crop that failed because of blight.

• David Higgins, your party won’t survive the next election!

• Hear hear Caroline. I will never vote FG ever again. I like many many others have been let down by them!

• One of the definitions of famine is “extreme hunger, starvation”. I think we had that, Ann.

• Terry, perhaps Ann is referring to the fact that due to extremee rationing of other crops ehich were in abundance, and the over reliance on a failed crop (spuds) to feed the locals the famine was, in a sense, engineered.
      Same way the Holodomor was engineered (pretty much the exact same story except in the Ukraine and ending the lives of 11 million).

• @ann – there was a famine. Badly handled by the authorities at the time, but there was a famine. No matter which way you look at it, not coming to the aid of the starving is not the same as ethnic cleansing. Bit of perspective goes a long way, and it helps with credibility.

• Ann Reddin and Shanti Om are dead right. I’ll post the first definition of a famine. “1.extreme and general scarcity of food, as in a country or a large geographical area.”

This was not the case in Ireland at the time of our “famine”. Food was plentiful but exported to Britain while Irish people starved to death. We received more aid from a tribe of native Americans than we did from queen Victoria.

Newspapers in Britain at the time depicted us as half human/half animal. We were shown to be savages. It was indeed an attempt at genocide. Evictions were rife and entering a Work house in Ireland at the time meant you were separated from spouse and children. If you want further information look it up online.

The truth isn’t always palpable to a former colonised country. But the Truth remains the Truth!

• Have to disagree I’m afraid.

If famine is “an extreme and general scarcity of food”, this did apply to Ireland. Crops were grown and exported, so there was not enough food in the country available to the population. Your definition doesn’t insist that the lack of food came from crop failure or other “natural” causes, removal of food from the country led to a scarcity of food. Just look at the more recent African famines, the fact that they were mostly caused by tinpot dictators redirecting resources and squandering aid does not change the fact that they were and are famines.

The famine wasn’t engineered. It had no benefit for the British empire. They were happily exploiting Ireland’s resources, they had nothing to gain from genocide or ethnic cleansing, why destroy a cheap work-force? The Irish famine was intensified by mismanagement, ignorance and a lack of respect for the local population, and not by planned malice. There was no “grand plan”.

I hope it’s clear that I’m in no way apologising for the British Empire, or for Imperialism in general. It was one of the many shameful parts of history. But history needs to be about dispassionately examining what happened in the past, not re-interpeting the past to aid present agendas.

• John Conniffe. The potato crop failed all over Europe yet no other country suffered the loss of life we did. I only commented on this as Ann Reddin didn’t seem to be believed. I am not a vengeful person and if there were a famine in Britain now I would be prepared to feel a bit of hunger to help them.

I do feel, however, that we as a nation, are very apologetic regarding our history, no doubt as a result of being colonised and wish to god we would shake those shackles off us. Then we might start to speak up for ourselves in Europe. Angela Merkle has to be told that she is one leader among many in Europe – not supreme leader. With our current mindset that’s not likely to come from apologetic Tory Enda Kenny. It might however come from Sinn Féin. They weren’t prepared to be silent when Republicans were being burnt out of their houses in 26 counties by loyalists or while civil rights marchers were being shot by the British Army.

• @Reada – If you’re saying that the vast majority of the devastation and suffering during the famine was caused by the decision and actions of the British Empire, then I agree totally. But it was a famine. Natural causes such as the potato blight are not the only causes of a famine. There was not enough food available to the people, people starved on a massive scale. That’s a famine.

It is not credible to equate the famine with genocide, ethic cleansing or the holocaust. I’m not saying the famine wasn’t an tragedy and the British Empire didn’t treat the Irish people woefully badly. It was and they did. But the comparison above is sloppy and doesn’t hold water. The British Empire focused on production, and Ireland was a good producer for them. They weren’t so brainless as to think wiping out their work force would be a good thing.

• As for Merkel, she may be seen as an Iron Lady in Ireland, but she’s losing support in Germany, so chances are she may be gone sooner or later. This mightn’t be as good as it sounds. One of the main reasons she’s loosing support is that German voters believe that she is far too soft when it comes to the EU and Eurozone crisis. Let that sink in for a minute…

• Well it was the exact same story as the Holodomor and there are moves to have the Holodomor recognised as a genocide.
      http://www.holodomor.org.uk/
      The Russians wanted the Ukranians food, they took their abundant harvests and allowed the Ukranians barely enough to survive on, if even that. 11 MILLION Ukranians died, despite the fact that they had bumper harvests. Many were executed but the overwhelming majority simply starved.
      We produced plenty of food, yet our people were starving over the failure of ONE crop. Surely the answer was quite simple? Increase rations of other foods?
      We do have to consider that perhaps they just wanted less Irish people. They may not have wanted to kill us all or exterminate us, they might have just wanted to reduce the numbers, put us “on a diet”?
      Just because they aren’t screaming for a group or nations extermination doesn’t mean that they don’t wish to get rid of a chunk of them..

• John. I know you from previous comments on Journal and I know you are a fair man but in this instance I disagree with you. The Irish were viewed as less than human. We were the only European peasants that had a growing population due to our nutritious diet of potatoes where other peasants ate mainly bread. As a result we were very fertile and the British viewed our population explosion as a problem. Exporting food out of Ireland while the Irish were starving was indeed a means of reducing the population. That is genocide. Ugly but true.

• Sinn Fein- a “blow” to sensible economics everywhere

• @ TERRY TURNER & JOHN CONNIFFE.

So a colonising army makes it illegal to speak your own language, practicing your religion, education for the natives, and then choses to let them starve, is not ethnic cleansing. Really people go back and learn your history. Apologists of the highest order. Shame on you for believing everything your told.

The insertion of the “Gregory clause” in the Poor Law Amendment Act (1847) meant that farmers who owned a quarter acre or more could not recieve relief, were left with 2 options – give up their land or starve. They gave up their land and were forced to either emigrate or die of stavation at the side of the road.

Please please people, learn your history. Doing so might make you realise that we fought a long hard battle to win our freedom and this is why remaining our own little country is so important. Take this chance to educate yourself before May 31st.

• jOHN

You also need to research the Corn Laws while you are at it. You really dont know what you are talking about.

• Why on earth does the fact that there was a famine 150 years ago mean that it’s “so important” that we remain our own little country? Voting no in this treaty has nothing to do with EU/Irish sovereignty. People should vote on the treaty itself, not on what they think (rather ignorantly) the treaty represents..

• John

“But history needs to be about dispassionately examining what happened in the past, not re-interpeting the past to aid present agendas”.

I have a degree in History and I am not using it to further any agenda. Two books I suggest you read if you really want to educate yourself in Irish history

Ireland Before the Famine 1798 – 1848 by Gearoid O Tuathaigh

Ireland Since the Famine by F. S. L. Lyons (14 Mar 1985)

Or check out this link, it wont take anymore than 10 minutes to read it.
      http://www.wolfetonesofficialsite.com/famine.htm

• @ Aindriú Ó Cionnaith

My response to David Higgins was merely to pull him up on the facts that he is wrong when he says we survived a “famine”. Given your age I would assume that this is something you would have learned quite recently. I did not in anyway make or form suggest that we should vote No because the of what happened during the 1840s.

Once again just for your benefit I will say that I am voting NO because I do not believe that any person or institution should be above and beyond the law!!

As I stated we fought a long hard battle to win our freedom and beome our OWN sovereign nation. And I for one do not believe that we should be allowing ourselves to be dictated to by the ESM / Merkel.

• Genocide: the deliberate killing of a large group of people, esp. those of a particular ethnic group or nation.

I’m arguing that, while the British Empire made decisions that were brutal, cruel and destructive to the Irish people, these decisions were not driven by the deliberate intent to wipe out the Irish, but were driven by greed and industry over basic human rights. It is an opinion that the famine was an act of genocide. It is not an opinion that I hold, but I can understand the logic of holding this opinion. It is not fact that the famine was deliberate and intentional, so it is not a fact that it was genocide.

A better comparision would be that the famine was similar to the destruction of New Orleans, albeit on a far larger scale. The death toll can be placed firmly at the feat of the arrogance, selfishness and stupidity of the authorities of the time, but we cannot say for sure that the authorities were aiming to wipe out the people.

As it is very clear from this and previous posts, I am obviously not an apologist for the the former British Empire, or of imperialism in general. Sloppy aim, there.

This will come down to opinions, and I’m happy to say that we can disagree, let’s not make a cat fight out of it.

I am well aware of the corn laws.

• I accept that this is your opinion and of course you are entitled to it and to voice it, but I think that you will find not 1 single history academic either here or in Britain that would agree with you.

• Great lets magic some money out of thin air.

• If we didnt bail out the banks we would have pleny of money its a no brainer.

• 39 billion should be enough to run a country the size of Ireland.

• Frank. Most of the money we’ve borrowed didn’t go to any bank, we used if for the day to day running of the country. That is a fact.

• censored. Perhaps you’re right, however taking large sums of money quickly out of the economy could make things very nasty indeed. And could get us caught in a downward spiral.

• So Gary – you agree that handing the ESM 1.6 billion euors in a couple of weeks is a bad idea?

• Ann I think that we borrowed money, the majority of which was for our day to day overspending and we will have to pay the piper on that. I never cease to be fascinated people are calling for us not to pay our debts. Our neighbours borrowed money and gave it to us at the rate they borrowed it at, a way lower rate than we could get ourselves. Yet many people think it’s perfectly okay to stuff them with this debt, as long as we can claim it’s not our debt (even though it clearly is). Or we can claim it was to pay off German banks (even though it wasn’t).

• Gary, you need to read this article.
      http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2011/0507/1224296372123.html#.
      We are running a budget deficit but the majority of the money we were forced to borrow was poured into the banks.

• Gary you know quite well that it is looking more and more likely that Portugal and Spain are going to be needing bailouts followed swiftly by Italy. If that happens we will have to lodge 11 billion euros into the ESM…..where are we getting this 11 billion euros from? And of course why would they stop at asking us for capital stock of 11 billion when they can increase it to 20 billion euros if they feel like it. I will not be responsible for future generations of Irish citizens being shackled to any entity or group of people who are beyond the law.

• Sorry gary, I think ann was referring to the billions paid this year to unsecured unguaranteed bondholders that we had no obligation to pay. Can you clarify if you disagree with fine gael paying this money.

• Caroline. Don’t have time to read this fully right now but can’t seem to see where it says “the majority of the money we were forced to borrow was poured into the banks”. Maybe you can help me out?

http://economic-incentives.blogspot.co.uk/2011/11/deficit-and-banks.html
      “If we do a simple counterfactual and magic away the €62.5 billion we have pumped into the banks, the projected deficit for 2012 would fall from €13.6 billion to €12.8 billion or 8.0% of GDP. Eliminating the effect of the bank payments would knock 5% off the deficit; 95% of next year’s deficit is not related to the bank payments.”

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0323/1224313766388.html
      “Three claims are frequently made:
      * Most public debt is a result of taking on banking debt;
      * The economic and budgetary outlook would be transformed if banking debt could be offloaded;
      * A bailout would not have been needed had it not been for socialised banking debt.

These claims are, respectively, plain wrong, wrong and debatable.”

• Gary, one quote you missed from the IT article you linked to
      “THE BURDEN of bailing out banks and their bondholders on every man, woman and child in this State will be among the highest, if not the highest, of any financial failure in history on a per capita basis”

• Are the Irish people been conned!
      Vincent Browne blogs ahead of the show.

Fine Gael and Labour promised in the last election campaign – just over a year ago –that they would seek a write-down of the bank debt that had been inflicted on the Irish people.

They didn’t quite put it that way but that is what was understood and that is what they wanted people to understand.

Enda Kenny’s party said:

“Fine Gael believes that the IMF/EU bailout deal has not and will not restore investor confidence in our country and must therefore be renegotiated to reduce the interest rate and to ensure a fairer sharing of the cost of fixing Ireland ’s broken banks.”

And :

“Fine Gael in government will force certain classes of bondholders to share in the cost of recapitalising troubled financial institutions. This will be done unilaterally for the most junior bondholders (owners of preference shares, subordinated debt and similar instruments) but could be extended – as part of a European wide framework – for senior debt, focusing on insolvent institutions like Anglo Irish and Irish Nationwide that have no systemic importance”.

Eamon Gilmore’s party said:

“Labour believes that bank bondholders should share in bank losses” and “Labour will seek to ensure that burden sharing with bondholders is part of a renegotiated (EU/IMF) deal”.

They both will try to wriggle out of these promises, but had either or both of them said before the last election: “We don’t even bother seeking a write down, let alone a write off of the bank debt which has nothing to do with the Irish people. All we will do is seek a reduction on the interest rate on the debt that has been inflicted on the Irish people and seek a deferral on the payments,” what do you think would have happened in the election?

Yes, it is likely there would have been a Fine Gael/Labour government but with nothing like the majority it enjoyed. The fact is that the Irish people were conned and this jubilation over the deal on the promissory notes is just an exacerbation of the injury that has been done.

No doubt the Fine Gael Árd Fheis at the weekend will be in ecstasies over the promissory note deal but there will be some anguish over the hash the government and Fine Gael minister Phil Hogan made of the household charge.

This fiasco may have lasting consequences. If, as seems likely, less than half of those required to sign up and pay do so, the chances of the government being able to introduce a property tax next year and make it stick will be greatly compromised. And that will be a major problem with the Troika and with the fiscal deficit.

• Caroline I didn’t suggest otherwise and it’s a fact so why would I. I didn’t support the blanket guarantee of the banks but then I didn’t vote for Fianna Fail either. However unless someone has a time machine that milk is long spilt.
      So as I was asking where does he say “the majority of the money we were forced to borrow was poured into the banks”?

• Side step Gary missing the facts as usual!!

• Dave 07/05/12 #

Gary, 50 billion of the bailout was immediately ear marked for the banking sector. Even the British press widely reported that. We are stuck paying that back. Please dont fall for the informational fudge of defecit / bank debt.

• What ‘facts’ would they be Ryan? simple question.

• Sorry to break it to you but that’s exactly what most central banks do when they create money, and most banks lend out money based on your ability to pay it back by just crediting your loan account eith electronically created money.

Where did the ECB get all the money it stuffed into the European banks there before christmas? €1Trillion I think it was, was it just lying around in frunkfurt doing nothing? Let me break it to you again, they just created it out of think air, the banks have to pay it back evently. Then the ECB will effectly burn it out of existence to control inflation.

But the reality is in a deflationary economy inflation is not a real concern. A weak euro would suit us here in Ireland as it would make our exports cheap – effects the price of oil though.

• Dave. What the hell are you on about? The figures being used are from multiple respected sources. If you want to ignore the figures we may as well go back to hoping for the magic money trees.

• Gary, as usual the figures you quote are quite correct but ignore 1 important point,they do not include NAMA. That pushes the burden up by 26% of GDP this year (or 21% of our projected nominal GDP in 2015).

• Btw Gary €70.3bn in bank debt is not spilt milk, I don’t need a time machine to tell me that my children and grandchildren will be paying back €100bn in interest.

• Gary
      You really have lost it …..
      You have not got a clue ……
      Go and read something educate yourself.

• Fagan's 07/05/12 #

That’s what will happen, its worked in America. It can be problematic, no doubt but the whips and salt approach that the EU has taken so far is not working.

• Ah Susie Chester, defaulting to type as usual…. Telling people to “go educate” when everything they say is perfectly educated (Gary) and quotes respectable statistics to back up their points..

All you offer is rhetoric. No rationale. Maybe you would be best served with an education in reality….

• Actually TTL

The 1.6 billion I am referring to is the first installment of the 11 billion euro “Capital Stock” that we have to ledge into the ESM bailout fund. This amount has nothing to do with repaying the bond holders. This is “on top” of the bail out money we are currently repaying.

• Mary Lou & SF have one goal in mind – consolidating their vote during this disastrous economic period. They’re obviously gambling on things getting worse between now and next GE. But the fact is, things are starting to stabilise. When the next GE comes around, they will be reminded they had no hand, act or part in this country’s recovery. In the meantime, the Greek & French outcomes will demonstrate the real impact of far left/ far right policy in the coming years…

• O’Reilly, stabilizing??? They are only stabilizing, because so many are emigrating. But we all know FFg/Labour built the plan for emigration into their program for government. Its the only target they have hot since getting into office. What really strikes me about all the posts i have read on this thread… The very very vast majority of them dont deal with the story. They are attacking SF… Which then poses the follow on question, have the Government supporting commentators on this thread thrown in the towel on the upcoming referenda? Do the government supporting parties not accept and support the will of the French people? Its all about attacking SF now?

• That’s a BIG bitch!

• Rap SF all you want. It wasn’t their policies that got us where we are today.
    And THAT, boys and girls, is the fact of the matter.

• Aghhhh I live this little hum dinger!!! I’v said it before and I’ll say it again I am not a SF supporter but I love the fact that the faglab coalition are quaking in their boots at the rising support that SF are taking right out of FG hands!!

LOL I’m gonna love the next election and the out come either way I’m a winner because FG will be out on your ear!! In fact I might just vote SF to piss you all off!! Might think twice about branding all that go against FG shinners!!!! Oh I can’t wait till Enda’s out of a job :)

• it will take some seismic event (even more than we’ve seen to date) to propel SF into government come the next election. right now they are doing well in (arguably meaningless) opinion poll’s due to populist politics and rhetoric as they know they don’t have to back up what they say……

its Labour whom i suspect will take the real beating come the next GE, SF have been aggressively targeting their voter base. the outcome of the next GE could well see a FG/FF and/or some independents as being far far more likely then a government involving SF…

then again a lot can happen quickly……

• So you’re not a SF supporter but you love the fact they’re on the up and will probably vote for them next time…

C’mon Ryan, at least I’m honest about who I support :)

• I’d honestly love to know how you think SF are eating into FG support Ryan? All the opinion polls since the election have FG in the early to mid thirties, marginally lower than or in some cases matching the General Election. Meanwhile Labour are down significantly and FF are also down on the election slightly as well. Its clear that FF and Labour voters are going to SF, not FG ones.

Also SF currently have 14 seats. I could see them doubling this, perhaps even reaching the mid to late thirties on a truly outstanding day – but it is still very difficult to see how they could cobble together a stable coalition that would reach the magic number of 84 seats. The ULA and various independents would be difficult to negotiate with and FF can be ruled out after the events of the past week it seems.

• Ah vote for a party to piss off people on the Internet. Sad comment from a sad man.

• I don’t care who’s in gubbermint next election! My satisfaction will be that it’s not Enda :D the lying traitor!!

• @ Ryan: Given the consistent support for FG since the election (31-36%) it is far from a foregone conclusion that there will be a change of Taoiseach. Obviously things could change or Kenny might retire, although having led them to being the biggest party at every level in Ireland, I’d imagine Kenny would want to stick around to see FG getting re-elected for the first time ever.

If there is a change who do you think it will be? Michael Martin or Gerry Adams?

• @Ryan Allen
      Here’s one ex FG supporter that will vote for anyone except FG again!! There are plenty more like me who remember the bold rhetoric of pre election lies!! Yeh I’m still waiting for that change he promised and you are a fool if you think I am alone!! There are many more pissed of voters who feel duped, we’ll see come the next election! Eh we’ll see :) Enda will be out of a job quicker than Sarkosy!!!

• Dave 07/05/12 #

You can add me Ryan. Voted FG last time. Never again. I’m just fed up of being lied to.

• Also voted FG last time. With a heavy heart at the lack of choices. We need some new options.

• Dave 07/05/12 #

The hatred for Sinn Fein is very strange considering they have never been in government, have never had an opportunity to show what they can/cant do, and had ZERO part to play in the destruction of the economy. Yet most of you slag them off and vote for parties who WERE DIRECTLY responsible for what’s happened.

I can only conclude that rather than ordinary voters, ordinary people, these pages are filled with politicos who seem to be shit scared of a political changing of the guard. I’d love to know what you’re all so afraid of, cos it really could’nt be much worse than what’s happened already.

I’ve always voted for mainstream parties – and i’m really starting to wonder if i’ve been conned by vested interests all along. Why else do they jump around in ecstatic celebration on election night….

• People hate Sinn Féin because they can’t be trusted. They are distinctly Machiavellian in their approach to politics and have no qualms about talking absolute nonsense if it gets them more seats next time round. Certainly, they have many noble ideas and ideals, but it’s the way they go about pursuing those ideas and ideals that people don’t like. It is an “ends justify the means” approach and anyone who has any sense of political idealism is necessarily disgusted by their logic.

• Dave 07/05/12 #

Eh, does Blueshirts sound familiar? I’m well aware of the history, but let’s not quote it selectively! They all have a few skeletons in the closet, dont they?

I just have trouble understanding why everyone defends a system (FF, FG) that has failed so miserably.

• People are afraid of Sinn Fein. A few cosy applecarts might be upset if they ever got into power.

• Dave 07/05/12 #

Censored, I am really starting to suspect that this is indeed the case.

• @censored: certainly some people are afraid that someone might spoil their gravy-train, but the vast majority of people who distrust Sinn Féin are not bankers or cosy civil servants, they’re normal citizens. We don’t like the deception of misquoted economists, populist pandering and fantastical argument. If SF could update their republicanism and have a bit more integrity they could be an amazing force for change in this country. My bet is they won’t though so they’ll probably never get my vote.

• Damn right. Signing up to this lunacy just so merkel can try convince german voters shes in control of the euro crisis is a step to far. Time to change tohe focus from austerity to growth. Vote NO on the 31st!

• Shinners u have to
    Laugh at them they haven’t a clue bless them

• Good ol SF on the ball again and surprise surprise the usual anti SF rhetoric is spouted by the sheeple of the journal.

• Good man Gary here’s a lesson in politics …… Labour for the last few years steady on 11% ride the populist vote to 19% and become 2nd biggest party in d state …… S/f steady on 11% now steady on average of 19% and you think they hav absolutely no chance of getting into government next election well ……… More fool you

• Sorry Mr Hannigan, your comment makes no sense. How I spell my name has no impact on how the country is “the way it is” I spell my name the same way its spelled on my birth cert??

Apologies again, but your comment makes no sense at all.

• FF, FG, Labor – all linked to terrorism / murder / racketeetring / punishment beatings etc.

Did up some of the Irish Times reports about “the irregulars” and “gangs” terrorizing the country during the war of independence. You’ll find they are remarkably similar to your comments today.

Not an SF supporter. But I don’t like you lot singing from the holier than thou hymnsheet. You’re all tarred with the same brush – and at least the SFers have some principals other than “for sale to highest bidder”.

• Sinn fein will form part of the next government if they cut IRA links and move forward with mary lou as leader and pierce docherty as finance ministee. Then they will be credible and offer a sensible alernative to the successive shite we have been served up from FF, FG and labour in the past few years. I will never vote labour again.

• ‘It wasn’t their policies that got us where we are today’
    Your right it wasn’t SF who got us into this very deep Recession it was FF with FG and Labour carring the torch for them but it might take a Party like SF to tell the Merkel to stop intervering with our matter’s and let us sort out our problems.

But if i had my way i would get rid of all the party’s and start anew there is just way to much curruption in today’s goverment.

• You just have to wonder what sort of inspired policies the Shinners have to do any better. We all accept we’re in a bad place but extremist views won’t solve anything. Can you imagine the message it would send to the businesses thinking of locating here? “Come to Ireland where we’ve decided to ride out the recession alone! “

• Would that be similar to FFs links to brown envelopes, corruption, gross incompetence and cronyism?

• I didnt do it behind her back – its a public forum. Also, Im sure she’s had worse levelled at her.

• Gary “the lads” we’re carrying arms in the Dail in the 30s ……….. Ye just hate s/f that’s ok but will ye get your facts straight and get a life ….

• car boot sales ?

• Phew that was some debate but I think Sinn Fein won out in the end. Good night all.

• sameol shite from ego maniacs who pretend to be sophisticated and educated wanting the best for there country best for themselves and there children whilst voting and revoting the same shameless polliticans and tip the hat cronnie admiration mentality that has always kept this country from fullfilling its potential..the way i see it anyone who has voted for any of the far right nevermind my neighbour once im ok parties i.e f.g f.f.labour shouldo seriously re-evaluate there ..who wants to be a millonaire attitude and start thinking hard about what kind of country and world we want to live in..me been a voter for fairness and equality find it hard to listen to the same voters who particapated in driving this country to its knees harping on about what we should do ..maybe if ye were,nt so gullible or maybe just stop voting we might have some chance for the future..eh hem lisbon treaty thanks for that one do-righties..

• @David Higgins surviving jedward who now run the county after we got rid of the chuckle brothers Ahern and Cowan

• “made it quite clear here on many occasions that you would vote for the party of haughey and aherne”?

Notwithstanding the wild exaggerations (many occasions?) I was merely expressing the opinion that SF would be last on my list of preferences. Also, I take each candidate on their merits whether they are independent of a party or not.

Troll much?

• Actually Eamonn, you’re the one who pops up from under his little bridge every now and again to drop FF in a positive light into every thread (and repeatedly getting ridiculed in the process). The very definition of a troll.

• One day Mary Lou McDonald will be the first lady Taoiseach and she will speak up for Ireland.

• Sinn Fein should read the fiscal compact and see that growth and employment form part of the reason why yes is so necessary , Holllande will not look to change the fiscal compact but to strengthen the growth and employment aspect much more than what Sinn Fein has said to date which is nothing only rhetoric and populist guff to further their own interests as always.

• Tiernan if you’re not going to say something sensible you should nothing at all.And to spell your name in Irish as if your proud Irishman !people like you has the country the way it is..you need to read your Irish history.

• Eamonn your brave insulting a woman behind her back.

• …as long as that’s all they win.

• Frau stuehrmbahnfuerer will not amend the treaty.
    A cheese eating surrender monkey wants to amend it.
    Paddy is threatened into signing either of these… Bad or unknown.

The rest of the people of Europe is denied their referenda….
    The joys of middle class Europe on Nice and Lisbon 1….
    I wonder if paddy power offers odds on there not being austerity II as promissed

• They are far from inspirational they form the backbone to the problem without any dressing

• mcbab 07/05/12 #

Just wondering why my comment was deleted?

Add New Comment