TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Enda tells Chinese investors that Ireland “is growing again”

Someone must have missed last week’s CSO news…

Taoiseach, Enda Kenny at the opening of Morgan McKinley's offices in Shanghai's Pudong high growth economic zone.
Image: Courtesy of Morgan McKinley

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has told an audience of investors in Shanghai that economic growth has returned to Ireland – days after the country slid officially back into recession.

Speaking at a networking breakfast in Shanghai during his four-day visit to China, Kenny told an audience at an Enterprise Ireland business networking event that Ireland’s economy had returned to positive growth.

“Ireland’s economy is fundamentally sound; our public finances have been stabilised, our exports are at record levels, and foreign direct investment is booming. The business world knows that Ireland is recovering well,” the Taoiseach said.

“China, I believe, also knows this.”

The Taoiseach added that Ireland was one of the world’s most open economies and that its capacity to adapt and innovate meant it was able to win sold business in China, which he described as “the economic giant of the 21st century”.

His comments come four days after figures produced by the Central Statistics Office showed that Ireland’s economic output grew by 0.7 per cent last year – though this was below the rate of inflation, meaning a decline in real terms.

Economic output in the fourth quarter of 2011 was down by 0.2 per cent, however, marking the second successive quarter in which the economy shrank – officially meaning Ireland had returned to recession.

The Taoiseach’s remarks included a lengthy discussion on how Ireland and China shared many similarities, including the creation of a business culture centred on innovation, and a long history of tradition.

“In recent decades, both Ireland and China have moved rapidly toward a knowledge-based economy founded on innovation and technology. We both have innovative business and commercial development policies that are driven by cutting-edge information technology,”

“Yet, we have each managed to successfully balance the importance of tradition and the challenges of modernisation.”

Kenny concluded his remarks by insisting Ireland was “open for business, and this is an excellent time to invest in – and benefit from – Ireland’s recovery.”

Read: Nǐ hǎo! Taoiseach to start visit to China today >

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• Jaysus, what do some of ye want him to say?
    “Howye Lads, our economy has gone off a cliff and without external support we wouldn’t be able to keep the lights turned on let alone sell ye anything thing. Two of our former Prime Ministers were exposed last week in a judicial enquiry into endemic corruption in our political system but apart from that “its all good in the hood”.”

We either get busy living or get busy dying as a country. This trade mission to China is exactly the sort of thing our government should be doing.

• We did have our first year of growth since 2007. Late last year turned very negative with the euro crisis but that has since settled and we are predicted to grow this year, albeit slowly.

No harm in talking up Ireland. We really need the trade with China. What do we expect Enda to do, tell China we’re in recession and that they should put their money elsewhere?!

• The Republic of Ireland really needs to step up engagement with China. I visited the Ireland Pavilion at the Shanghai EXPO in 2010. I’m sorry to say this but compared to most of the splendid national pavilions at the EXPO, the Irish pavilion was a kip. I grew up in the fishing town of Killybegs in Co Donegal and, on the outside, the Ireland pavilion looked like a corrugated fish processing factory, the you see all over my home town. It was little better inside.

More Ireland consulates need to be opened throughout China, a country of 1.35 billion people, and which has an expanding middle class, already 350 million strong.

• Enda’s wooden nose is growing!

• A classic case of Chinese whispers

• maybe the chinese are not as gullible

• Enda is right.Ireland is growing.growing tired of his bullshit.

• Ooooh censorship in Ireland and China!

• He said it, cos perhaps he thinks the Chinese don’t read papers?

• Where dose enda live?????????

• Susie, Enda is over there trying to secure Chinese investment in this country. Which is exactly the kind of thing which he SHOULD be doing. How that makes a toe rag Iam not really sure. Perhaps you might like to present at least some rationale for your statements? I don’t think Enda and the current Gov are perfect by any means but they were presented a no win scenario by previous lot.

• He is a liar . have you been awake for the past twelve months ? Then I am not going to elaborate as we all know where we stand . You have your views and I hold my views and I know I am not wrong. This hhc is a mockery of our combined ancestors , who fought for freedom to have an opinion. I will not let them down .

• Kenny, the King Canute of European political leaders. He has never had a real job outside the public sector in his life and is surrounded by wafflers terrified the Emperor’s new clothes will be seen for what they are.

• I believe he said exports are up which is true, not that our economy is growing which is false. Misleading headline and summary.

• For your information, the direct quote from Enda’s remarks:

I am happy to report that, following the global financial crisis, the Irish economy is growing again. Ireland’s economy is fundamentally sound; our public finances have been stabilised, our exports are at record levels, and foreign direct investment is booming. The business world knows that Ireland is recovering well.

• Yep that’s the quote. He says it is growing and then clarifies the sectors which he is talking about and we do have a lesser structural deficit this year. Incredibly clear to me, story is still misleading as far as I’m concerned. He promoted our economy in a great way, give the man some credit not criticism.

• Regardless of whether you think it’s a good thing he embellished or a bad thing he lied, there is something embarrassing about it. Maybe he didn’t bother catching up with the latest stats, or else he did and decided to waffle his way through. Either way, it’s not indicative of someone you can trust to do the job right. He clearly sees the Chinese as thickos, the exact same way he sees us.

• This is Enda’s forum I see!! Exports are up, emigration is steady, growth is predicted. And everyone is quite excellently positive.
    Susie Enda’s lackeys are once again out in force (seriously if Enda’s in the headline these guys will be out to put you down) . Don’t bother with retorting to their bullying.

• There are some for whom the negative agenda works. Like populist parties of protest who’s vote swells during difficult times. Thankfully, as economic conditions improve, support for these off the wall lefty agendas will decline… This Taoiseach is working harder than any we’ve had over the last 15 yrs.Wake up little Susie, wake up…

• Neil 26/03/12 #

@O´Reilly
      It´s only because Sinn Fein and the ULA will not be in government in the forseeable future that their supporters can get away with shouting ´no´ to everything, even foreign investment.

Criticise government policies, propose better ones. That´s all part of politics. But attacking trade missions? Wow. Even in the US the Republicans hate for Obama is not so great that they would want him to stop supporting foreign trade and investment.

• O’Reilly
      OH I am awake , and I have woken up to the treachery , these politicians have carried out business .Enda and Gilmore Lied and lied and are still ,lying , now to the Chinese.
      As for Bertie ,there are no words to fully describe how I feel , but History will tell in all good time . Thank God I am alive now to see the changes that are taking place.We will lie down no more . Have a nice day .

• Well at least Enda isnt sitting on his backside doing nothing. He is trying to get chinese companies to come here. What are you doing to help? I’ll tell you Nothing.

• He’s the leader of this country. Are we? What do we want him to say? or any other politician to say? Well the truth would be nice.

• sure enda thinks it is the actual island thats growing also telling the truth is something politicans avoid at all costs

• It’s a trade mission for goodness sake……………. anyone who is familiar with my posts will know I’m critical as I see fit but ffs whether you like Kenny or not he IS our Taoiseach. I hope he’s successful in his efforts to attract inward investment as I’m sure the 400k+ people languishing on the dole would too. Even if it sticks in your craw be adult enough to give credit where it’s due!

• Isn’t he better

• Did he mention that Ireland’s economy was improving from standing on the backs of the ordinary people of Ireland? That with pay cuts, thousands of redundancies, being taxed to the hilt, unfair taxes and sending thousands emigrating for jobs it ‘looks’ like we are coming out of it. Truth is that people are not spending money in Irish shops but as long as the government coffers are being filled….

• House prices still falling, emigration still rising,jobs still being lost,nobody spending, trying to tax us into the bone.Am I missing something in basic economic growth indicators Enda!!

• a politican, lie?? noooooo

• If you lie to somebody you will be doubted for ever when the truth emerges. Maybe he thinks the chinese are thick.

• Do you seriously think the Chinese officials don’t know the real state of affairs? Enda, in his role here, is that of salesman…… we have a huge workforce, educated, experienced, with nothing to do…. China is on the brink of becoming the dominant industrial base in the world and we could do with the jobs….. is that so difficult to understand? If the socialist alternative is so worldly naive I think I’d rather retain the shortcomings of our resident idiots………. at least I might have a job tomorrow!

• Enda going around telling lies.
    This country is STILL in recession. That means it is not growing.

• Yes Gerard he is a LIAR. A dirty rotten Liar .

• Neil 26/03/12 #

What age are you? Shouldn´t you be at school or something?

• GDP is up 0.7% YOY.Yes, you know and I know that because of profit repatriation etc. etc., GNP is a better measure of economic activity but there are a lot of market geezers out there who are a bit hazy on this level of detail. And anyway, GDP isn’t totally meaningless. It’s a better measure of tax intake, for exampe. They’re scanning down the latest growth lists and way-hay (ish).They see little old Ireland is showing some signs of “growth” while most of the eurozone is in recession and the other PIIGS countries are contracting sharply.

So, they’ll cut us a bit more slack on government bond yields, forecasts etc. and it all feeds back into greater positivity towards the country. You’re not going to turn your nose up at that, are you?

• Ciaran – Nobody disputes that GDP is up year-on-year, but the rate of inflation exceeded the growth in GDP. Inflation was 2.5% in the 2011 calendar year – meaning GDP would need to raise by 2.5% if Ireland was to ‘break even’.

If your output for 2010 was €1,000, you’d need to produce €1,025 of stuff in 2011 in order to be holding steady. Ireland, in 2011, produced €1,007 of stuff. That, in real terms, is a reduction.

• Better him lying to them than us, I suppose…

• David Sheridan
      Lies never solved anything . Lying to anyone never solves any thing . Him lying to them only makes him look like the thick he is and will do us no favors.

• Gavan,

I’ve been wondering for some time if the GDP & GNP figures quoted in the headlines were adjusted for inflation. I’d been assuming they must have been since journalists seem not to reference inflation when discussing them.

I’m no expert on this but I’m aware that there’s a distinction made between nominal and real GDP growth owing to price movements and a lot of websites out there are saying that by both measures (+0.7% vs. +0.3%), there was growth in 2011.

http://www.irisheconomy.ie/index.php/2012/03/22/new-cso-gdpbop-data/
      http://www.ncbresearch.com/fixed_income/IrishQuarterlyGDP.pdf
      http://corporatebanking.bankofireland.com/fs/doc/publications/weekly-commentary/market-newsflash-22-march-2012.pdf

• Ciarán – Good question. I’ll get in touch with the CSO and get their line on it.

• Thanks, Gavan.

• Right – just off the phone with the statistician who puts the numbers together, and Ciarán, you’re right: basically while you can’t use the general rate of inflation (CPI) in figuring out the numbers, because you’re dealing with a different ‘basket’ of goods, the Quarterly National Accounts does contain two separate tables: one with the real GDP and GNP, where the effects of price fluctuations are removed, and a table with nominal values, one dealing with the current market price of each product.

The real accounts (which prices goods and services at constant prices) has GDP up by 0.7%. When NOT adjusted for price differences, the nominal rate is 0.3%.

So, to answer your question, the headline figures DO account for price fluctuations, and so the 0.7 per cent is a ‘net’ figure, so to speak – and I was indeed wrong to suggest that the 0.7% didn’t account for inflation.

Table 1 is the ‘real’ data, Table 2 the nominal data:
      http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/releasespublications/documents/economy/2011/qna_q42011.pdf

(As an epilogue, none of this should be confused with the technical definition of a recession, which is two consecutive quarters of negative growth; on both the real and nominal tables, both GDP and GNP contracted in Q3 and Q4 of last year.)

• Excellent, Gavan. Thanks a million for that. It’s good to get that clarified. I’ve gleaned a lot of what I know from lurking around certain other politically-minded Irish discussion websites. But a lot of the guys there have their own agenda and it’s hard to know who to believe. Thanks again.

• Enda Kenny you are a lying toe rag . You have no self respect , and no respect for the Irish people . You are a loathsome specimen . Do you think we are thick ?

• Neil 26/03/12 #

You´re great craic. Your attitude can only lead to happiness and success.

• You better believe it Neil , and guess what I never had to prostitute myself to succeed either, and that is exactly what Enda is doing . He is lying through his teeth.

• Neil 26/03/12 #

Chinese trade and investment will create jobs here. Your type of bile and hatred will create nothing, not here, not anywhere.

• Susie, what would you do?

• That’s it go for the jugular neill, put the person down, bully away so we can see who you really are!!

• spot on Ryan, him and his ilk never have anything to add to a debate except to try and sneer at contributors, its funny because they are so weak at it, neil repeats the same moronic comments daily, yes man to the core, lets all hold hands and sing as we skip merrily off the insolvency cliff, whats with all these negative comments? why the long face horse? sure you lost your house, job, family etc but you should really be happy that our leaders are robbing us to pay european billionaires, dont worry about the corruption and the lies, our great leaders wont forget us…

• Neil
      I am not full of hate . I do hate ( and if you knew me you would realise how out of character it is for me) E Kenny and b Aherne for them selling us out , by different means maybe but none the less they sold us out.
      I love my country and I want to see it thrive as Ireland , not as an economy in the federal europe of the Troika……or some other federalist sell out.
      Neil
      you tell me what you will do , because I get the feeling that you really don’t care what happens , except you enjoy putting me and others down on this forum .
      Tell me what is it you want ?

• Neil 26/03/12 #

Whiners and moaners, with nothing but bile to maintain them, will never be any happy in any country they live in. Unfortuately they´ll do their best to drag others down with them.

• Neil
      I do not want to live in any other country . This is my home , I will strive to protect it . :)

• Neil 26/03/12 #

Protect it from Chinese trade and Chinese investment? Well done. With that kind of attitude I´m sure other countries would only love to have you.

• Neil
      I am not going any where ! This is where I live and this is where I will die . I will always have Ireland in my heart . Now I have things to do and I can not talk to fantacy beings such as your self any longer , go back in under your bridge like a good chap :)

• mcbab 26/03/12 #

That’s the trouble with you susie you are FULL of hate. Must be miserable being you!

• No , I am not full of hate , at all . I love my country ,my family , my friends and any one I meet is always cheered up. I do not hate , but b aherne and kenny , I do hate , for making me feel this way . I hate them for their lies , and yes they have lied . I took a tribunal to tell us what we knew about Bertie ,but we don’t need that nonsense to know that Kenny is lying and has lied . It is a shame really , because if he did not lie , we may have supported him . He will never know now . He took a chance and lost.

• @ Susie: And yet I’ve yet to see you make a positive comment on this site or give a proper alternative of what you would do. You think Enda shouldn’t be in China… okay let’s tell us what he should be doing instead eh? Or do you not do constructive criticism – just criticism?

• Ryan
      No I do not think Enda should be in China , or more to the point I do not think Enda Kenny should not be out of the country yet again.
      I have given lots of constructive criticism and I am not going to repeat myself . Suffice it to say that I am not an accountant ,economist or a politician , but the government pay advisers a lot of money to get the best way to solve these issues, but the most important thing in all of this is that the government that we have do not listen to us. There is very real poverty and the government brag about 70 rising to 200 jobs where ? …..In China….. We could not make this sh1t up .

• David 27/03/12 #

Cheer up susie and don’t be so negative and miserable. I think your just on the wrong page here. It’s the anti household charge page that all your friends are hanging out!

• @ David
      Thank you :)

Add New Comment