TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Ennis is not a racist town – Mayor

Mayor Michael Guilfoyle defended the Clare town after a man was jailed for 9 months for a racist attack on a taxi driver in the town.

Image: Google Maps

THE MAYOR OF Ennis has hit back at claims that the Clare town is racist following the jailing of a man for an attack on a black taxi driver in the town.

Independent councillor Michael Guilfoyle said that integration is “alive and well in Ennis”, and that he took exception to the portrayal of the town in the media after the attack.

“There are people from 26 different nationalities living in the town and we work hard to make every effort to make sure they enjoy living here,” he told TheJournal.ie.

“The depiction of Ennis as racist is not the town I know,” Guilfoyle said.

The Mayor made the comments after a man was jailed for 9 months last week for an assault on the Nigerian-born taxi driver. The assailant knocked out two of Bartholomew Omoifo’s teeth and subjected him to racist abuse.

Guilfoyle condemned the assault on Omoifo, noting that local media had portrayed the town as a racist place and he had “taken exception to that – Ennis is not a racist town”.

Green councillor Brian Meaney raised the issue at a meeting of Ennis Town Council earlier this week when colleagues from other parts of Clare had suggested to him that Ennis was a racist town, Guilfoyle said.

One of the largest taxi drivers groups last week said that it was “not aware” of any widespread racism against black taxi drivers.

Taxi drivers’ group ‘not aware’ of racist abuse problem >

Read next:

Comments (26 Comments)

• As someone who has lived all their life in Ennis, I can say that it’s no different from most other big towns in the country.

Yes, there is slight racism, but unfortunately that’s the case wherever you go.

• I would like to know why there was no big move on to deliberately allow non-EU people from Africa and Asia into Ireland before the mid 1990’s and why all of a sudden it is now seen as imperative that we have Africans and Asians here?

Furthermore, if someone opposes this immigration policy, why are they racist? Does that somehow mean they ‘hate’ other races? Eh, no it doesn’t. I would like the journal.ie and it’s cheerleading supporters of immigration, hardly any of which live amongst large numbers of immigrants to answer this.

• I would also like to know that if they are fleeing danger and skip over several African countries and then several more EU countries to get here, how they are truly in danger when they are very choosy instead of getting to the very first safe place they can get their feet into?

And after skipping over all those safe countries, how are they genuine and how are they allowed be here?

Does anyone not read the papers, do people on here not know about asylum shopping? Which really makes a mockery of the claim to be in danger.

• Aine 12/01/12 #

I live in Ennis and to be fair its a small minority of eejits that paint the rest of us in a bad light!!

• There’s a joke told about the same Ennis…

You hear they caught three men for the burglary the other night?

Yeah, two locals and a white fella!

I’ll get me coat…

• You may well joke, but this replacement of the indigenous population is well under way in many cities and towns in Europe. As usual Ireland is 15 years behind being knowledgeable about what is bad, and what is good for it.

Immigration policy is neither good for Ireland nor the 3rd world itself. Ireland is implementing a policy which it feels make it sophisticated and ‘mature’, now able to boast of looking like New York, just like all the big boys in Europe. Well Ireland, you should be far more independent, do things your own way and not give a hoot what other countries think…that is what is mature.

You will find other countries are making a huge mistake, it is they who will be looking at trying to copy Ireland had we a real sense of independence, sovereignty and indigenous Irish pride. But no, kneel before the bondholders and international bankers, and the policy tools such as multiculturalism and immigration policy they use as a tool to open us up and stop us being a tight knit national opposition.

You will wonder in 15 years how we thoroughly managed to ruin this country. And those supporting immigration now, will be the very ones saying they were against it all along.

• well said Brian….I fear you are very right….

• Racism seems to flow only in one direction in Ireland (from white to black)
    People are afraid of their shite to be seen as racist.
    Racism is obviously wrong and should not be encouraged, but a lot of the time people are being accused unfairly of racism.

• an attack is an attack but why if u r black do we assume its rascist ?????

• Because, he was given verbal racist abuse when getting his teeth knocked out.
      I can’t believe the attitude of some people here, this is not an article debating issues of immigration, its an article which shows how vile people can be in this country.
      Yet people like you still don’t see the problem, blaming the victim rather than the aggressor.
      I don’t mind discussing issues related to immigration rationally but unfortunately it seems to be either people who don’t care of the issues or people who are painfully transparent in their contempt.
      My sisters husband was attacked in France when they were both living there, he wasn’t hurt as badly as this poor guy but if I saw the type of unsympathetic response you get from a lot of moaning asses on this site then I definitely would have developed a bad view of that country.
      Go write out a cost benefit analysis and try and remain on topic instead of moaning that nobody wants to take you seriously.
      You sound like bitter drunks in a pub passing blame onto people who don’t deserve it.
      I mean how many immigrants were part of the bailout which continues to plague the country? how many of them had executive powers here? How many of them profited from you?
      Your so painfully inconsistent when you moan, when an immigrant is out of work then they are welfare queens, when they have been working here for over ten years then they are outsiders who took Irish jobs.
      As for Ennis, I would consider it to be one of the best towns in the country in terms of integration.
      I have seen more idiots here then I have ever seen in Ennis.

• The racist card is drawn a lot. Do we not live in a country with freedom of speech? If I don’t like someone it’s my opinion. If it was an irish person it’s ok but if it’s a black person straight away I’m a racist.

• And try calling a black person a brown person.

• Racist comment You say it is “drawn a lot”. What you are implying is that ethnic minorities, religious groups and people from Skerries are just a bunch of simpletons drawing pictures in crayons of racists acts or comments that they receive.

No Platform for Billy.

P’s’ often the problem with the Racism Card is from blue eyed devils with too much time on their hands and a sense of noblesse oblige.

• Fr Ted is the parish priest there

• Who gave us Irish whites the permanent exclusive rights of occupancy of this country anyway?

• Hey I see a pattern emerging ….

Maybe “racism”(your word) is something that is naturally occuring in all societies …..

Maybe we need to accept that ….

• Could you clarify that please: do you mean we should accept that it is ok to judge people on the colour of their skin rather than the content of their character? Or rather accept that racism, like crime, bullying, addictions and other social ills will always be part of society?

Even if we accept that it’ll always be around, shouldn’t steps be taken to counter it at every opportunity?

• Well James
      maybe you need to answer those questions for me and you.

Maybe if you can point me to ANY country or society in the world where there ISN’T racism and people live side by side, that might be a good starting point ..?

• Hi DubInNaas,

I probably can’t point to any society in the world where there isn’t any racism. Neither could I point to any society in the world where there isn’t murder, rape, robbery and corruption. However, as I said above, just because these blights exist, it doesn’t mean we shouldn’t make an effort to contain them.

• How about Antarctica

• Damn, who dug up Enoch Powell?? Well you & Billy are certainly answering the question of whether racism is alive & well in Ireland. What are you so threatened by?? I’d love to know. You’re not honestly trying to blame immigration for the state of the country? At best that’s lazy, at worst moronic

• Black man gets his teeth kocked out :
    “Wouldnt have happened if he was refused an oppurtunity to pay his own way in this country.”

White man gets his teeth knocked out:
    “What kind of drunken scum would do this?”

What a wonderful country of deluded,hateful and hypocritical morons we seem to have today. Guess its no surprise our politicians are getting away with creating their own set of exclusive laws( bus lane fiasco).

To improve any aspect of our society you first need to find what works and what doesn’t. Its rational to try and fix what doesn’t, yet there are people here sympathising with an assault on someone who was just doing their job and obeying the law.

Also sad to see people constantly moan about being censored on the site, obviously when your comments remain you are not censored. It’s better to keep them here in full view anyway so people can see what a twit you are.

• Careful folks, Aodhán Ó Ríordáin (of this website and the Labour Party) may again be driven to (incited to) hating blacks and will report you all to the Gardai for causing it.

• John very well said…and isn’t it the correlation that racism is always coming from those unhappy with their lives looking to exit their frustration and those who could not pass A-levels?

• Oh yes immigration will make Ireland a worse country. When it is already a country where peadophiles and drunks are respected members of the community.

Add New Comment