TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil accuses Govt of putting debt deal in jeopardy

“All over the place” is how Michael McGrath described Fine Gael and Labour’s handling of the Anglo debt negotiations.

Image: Brian O'Leary/Photocall Ireland

OPPOSITION PARTY FIANNA Fáil has said that the contradictory statements being made by Government ministers could potentially jeopardise any deal to reduce the burden of Ireland’s banking debt.

Party spokesperson on finance Michael McGrath claimed Labour and Fine Gael have not come up with a “coherent negotiating strategy”.

“Over recent weeks, the Government’s handling of the Anglo debt negotiations has been all over the place,” he said. “On the imminence of a deal, on the link with the Fiscal Stability Treaty and on the nature of the deal itself, different Ministers are publicly saying very different things.”

McGrath added that the ruling parties desire for a political PR coup is “jeopardising the possibility of securing the deal” before 31 March when a €3.1 billion payment is due.

He cited various ministerial interviews, including Pat Rabbitte’s with the Wall Street Journal last month in which he said that a deal would be finalised within weeks. McGrath also criticised Joan Burton for linking the passing of the EU fiscal treaty with the debt deal, noting that she has been “publicly rebuked by the Taoiseach and Tánaiste”.

Speaking on The Week in Politics last night, Finance Minister Michael Noonan revealed that the talks on restructuring Ireland’s €31 billion banking crisis debt were not only focused on promissory notes for Anglo Irish Bank and Irish Nationwide but also other moves which could boost the sector.

Noonan confirmed that European authorities and the IMF are discussing the possibility of taking loss-making tracker mortgages off AIB and Permanent TSB’s books and transfer them to IBRC, formerly known as Anglo.

The Government has been in talks with its international partners since September as part of efforts to improve the terms of repayment onIreland’s crippling banking crisis debt. It is hoped that a longer repayment period and a lower interest rate will be secured before the end of this month.

If an agreement is reached the annual €3.1 billion liability will be reduced significantly – easing the pressure on Government as future Budgets will not have to be as focussed no austerity measures as the past two have been.

More: Troika deal could move tracker mortgages to IBRC – Noonan>

Related: “The time for burning bondholders is gone”: economists address promissory notes>

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• Aren’t Fianna “FAIL” the bastards that got us into this mess. Gobshites

• Will Fianna Fail ever shut up we are in this mess because of you.

• Very true killian. I do believe that some credit unions here in Ireland invested monies in Anglo Irish bank also. What a mess. The phrase cutting a stick to beat ourselves comes to mind.

• Jeopardising the “never ending deal” that fianna fail thought was a good idea to sign us up for?!?! Just to save face with their banker and developer buddies! Is Michael mc Grath for real???

• How can they argue against measures which they, themselves brought in??? The film Me, myself and Irene springs to mind! Classic case of schizophrenia…

• The €3.1bn that he’s referring to is not covered in the EU/IMF deal, it is junior, unguaranteed bondholders that this government have chosen to pay even though they don’t have to. He’s right too, it’s a gamble to say we’ll pay it if we get a deal on promissory notes and then don’t look like they have the first clue about what they’re doing. Looks an awful lot like Ministers coming out saying “the IMF is not in town” right before the bailout. Lessons from the mistakes of the last government need to be learned from, not repeated!

• The fact is Fianna Fail would definitely do the same thing, make the same payments to junior bondholders, we all know it.

• It may be tinfoil hat time, but I’m beginning to believe there’s no burning of bondholders because a shedload of TDs ARE the bondholders!

• Indirectly it’s you and me- if you have a private pension. Pension funds are often who buy bonds, many of these would have sold off to secondary buyers when things got tough, but still worth looking at where your pension money is if you are lucky enough to be in a position to have one.

• skeolawn 12/03/12 #

This is giving me a headache. So after the government raids private sector pensions a few more times to help pay for the situation created by paying back the bondholders (ie private sector pension funds) …. ?

• killian, doesn’t matter who the bondholders are,
      they should never never never have become public debt

• Eggers 12/03/12 #

A certain grease bag by the name of Lenihan actually converted most of the bond debt in to state debt before he left office. This was specifically done to ensure that the normal rules of business could not be applied. If people actually sat down and looked at what he did in depth then he would be more hated than Ahern. The man was a traitor, plain and simple. Felled by an awful disease and he bore it well but no friend of Ireland or the Irish. Not even remotely.

• it pains me to say this….it really pains me……i don’t think i will sleep tonight after i do say this….But…..we need Fianna Fail to stand up and show a big pair of balls and be a good opposition party… cos we are completely and totally FUCXED…with a CAPITAL “F” if we don’t have a good voice in opposition….
    and before i get a mountain of red thumbs….please think about what i trying to say… if we don’t have a strong opposition then we have Nothing to stop this government from riding us bareback…

• Back in your box boys. Get back.

• Go away, go away, go away.

• Gotta give all due respect to Fianna Fail……now that didn’t take long did it.

• Do people honestly think this so called debt restructure will make a difference? I reckon this was all agreed months ago! It’s all designed to get the Irish people to vote for this new fiscal treaty, then before you know it, Enda Kenny tells us an emergency budget is needed to balance the books! This will all be attributed to elements outside Irelands control! It’s all a big scam!

• Do the troika really care about slight differences in utterances from ministers?

The negotiations are technical meaning the examination of figures, not statements from politicians.

What McGrath is essentially saying is Joan Burton should have stayed quiet on this being a condition for treaty ratification. Ultimately the treaty should be judged on its text, but no harm in using it to get a better deal!

• I would take issue with the slight differences comment Pat Ranbitte told the wall street journal in early feb the deal would be in place in a matter of weeks Ms Burton told financial times debt reduction or re engineering of same would help get treaty passed
      Mr Kenny says no debt reduction and a medium term solution which could be anything between 1 to 3 years in economic terms so who is right ?
      Gilmore talks of extensions of time.
      Perhaps they could at least song from the same hymn sheet and if they are going to lie at least have the decency to lie together.
      What concerns me is that these guys and girls can’t agree on a photo shoot few balloons and a cake then a 3.1 billion debt repayment over a decade seems near impossible to agree on.
      The wall street journal and the FT are papers of record not some parish pump publication trotted out for the faithful and bond traders hate doubt.
      We have an expression in the Market if there is any doubt there is no doubt I.e.
      If you have a suspicion it’s spoof and spin then it is spoof and spin.
      On top of that we have the keepers of lies FF wading in with more pot stirring as if the present mob have not stirred enough.
      Then this eve some o donnell TD chap gave an incorrect figure of years of Anglo repayment in the process of making a swerve to a direct question on drive time.
      How did we ever vote for another set of self serving gob daws?

• Get lost fine galer …..

• The kop 12/03/12 #

David….not you john…. Just to clarify…

• Fianna Fail pointed out that the government stance on this supposed renegotiation has been either mismanaged or miscommunicated. Thats the job of opposition. Regardless of mistakes made by the last government I’d rather have an opposition that holds the government to account, if we had that in the first place we might not be in the situation we are in now.

• Fianna Fail turn my stomach. i hate the sight of them.

• Auld sour grapes from a bunch of wizened auld prunes! And that Fleming eejit saying rte were biased against fianna failed when they are actually giving the failed traitors too much airtime!

They are sinking into the bond holders cauldron and grasping at straws hoping Ireland will give them a dig-out lol!

• SeanR 12/03/12 #

Ah the utter morons are at it again. So is part of the “never-ending” deal that we have to listening to this sanctimonious codswallop from FF that has zero shame about its treachery? My blood just boils everytime I hear an utterance from these witless tossers.

• Is this a joke story? FF complaining that FG haven’t cleaned up their (FF’s) mess?
    Like a teenager roaring at his mum for not cleaning his room.

• This annoys me so much. People just make sweeping statements calling on political parties to be disbanded and their members thrown in jail and whatever other reactionary nonsense comes into their head. Fianna Fail made very very serious mistakes in dealing with the worldwide financial crisis and the electorate have held them to account and rightly so. Question marks certainly exist around SOME in the higher echelons of the party and again if they are found to be criminal they should also be held to account.

We live in a DEMOCRACY, calling for banning political parties and members to be jailed is the same kind of mentality that led to Fascism and Nazism becoming acceptable. People have to ask themselves what good is throwing out cliched rants, how does that benefit society in any way?

By the way I am certainly no Fianna Fail supporter, but I do realise that democracy is a very fragile thing and wantonly espousing anti-democratic rhetoric in this day and age is not only pointless its dangerous.

• If FF had any respect for us they would disband. Guess that will not happen! They should be behind bars.

• This is a rich coming from FF

• And the reason there is such a massive problem in the first place is?. They are largely responsible, just because you are in opposition doesn’t mean you are a suddenly a saint. People haven’t forgotten went wrong and who was in charge before and during.

• 14/03/12 #

I know something that you don’t. Further details by searching in Google for ‘ RTE TSB Windle Hanna’

Cheers

Le Enfant Terrible

• Priceless! Fianna FAILure talking about a “coherent negotiating strategy” You couldn’t make it up!

• We must be realistic the European union has no intention of restructuring our debt . One way or another we will have to pay back the debt. The Government are in Cloud Cuckoo land if they thing they can get the debt cut. Statements by minsters here will have no bearing on the decision to reduce the debt. I am sure that They are already after making up their minds in Europe on what they are going to do. As regards the referendum we are having it will make no difference if we say yes or no as regards the debt issue.Finna Fail are in no position to be making statements on the Debt issue as they were the Government in Power that caused some if not all of the problems we have now.Wht would they do if they were in office only more of the same.

• Maybe people are not agreeing with what I am saying but we have to accept the fact that the debt has to be paid one way or another. Looking at the Positive side maybe they will move on it and give us some leverage.I am not downing Finna Fail I am just making the point that it was that Government that rough us to the state we are in now.So we will see what happens in the next few weeks. I hope that they will reduce the Debt. What are the chances?

Add New Comment