TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Fine Gael ministers defend meeting with Michael Lowry

Both the Minister for Health and Minister for Finance have defended meeting with Lowry after damning finding were made about him in the Moriarty Tribunal report.

Image: Photocall Ireland

TWO FINE GAEL ministers who met with Michael Lowry after the publication of the Moriarty Tribunal’s report, which made adverse finding about Lowry, have defended doing so.

Minister for Health James Reilly said he met with Lowry, along with other ministers and some members of the public, over a nursing home in Lowry’s constituency.

“I can’t refuse to meet with public representatives,” Reilly told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, pointing out that Lowry had received a third of the vote of North Tipperary.

Reilly said that although Fine Gael had imposed the strongest censure available to them upon Lowry – removal from the party – Lowry nevertheless had been given a mandate by the voters, and that those who had supported him were entitled to be represented.

“Am I to refuse to meet TDs because of pasty issues?” he asked. “We live in a democracy and people are elected democratically.”

Minister for Finance Michael Noonan has also admitted to meeting Lowry after the publication of the report, saying that Lowry had led a delegation from Foróige to a meeting at his office and that he tried to accommodate requests from all elected representatives, reports RTÉ.

Yesterday, Environment Minister Phil Hogan released the minutes of the meeting he held with Lowry just days after the publication of the Moriarty Tribunal report.

The minutes show that the meeting on 28 March 2011 was attended by Minister Hogan, Deputy Lowry, two officials from the Department of Environment, and two people from a company called Filmco based in Lowry’s constituency, who were lobbying for changes to farm waste legislation.

The Moriarty report found that Lowry was an “insidious and pervasive influence” on the awarding of Ireland’s second GSM mobile phone licence to Denis O’Brien’s Esat Digifone consortium.

Here’s what happened at the meeting between Phil Hogan and Michael Lowry>

Hogan accused of double standards over Lowry meeting>

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• I read in the Independent that the Filmco business is located in Carrick-on-Suir and the principals are from Clonmel. Both towns are in the South Tipperary constituency and not in Lowry’s. It stated that there was a business connection to Lowry via his PR company. If this is correct does this not undermine Hogan and O’Reilly’s trumpeting about representative democracy? More bombast, more lies?

• Nonsense! All they had to do was quote the tribunal findings when requests for meetings were made! The people of Tipperary north knew what the were getting themselves into when they voted for a man like Lowry!

• Charlie Flanagan seems to think that Joan Burton has a ‘deathwish’ What an arrogant ass. She has a sh1t job to do, is trying her best, gives her opinion on the meeting that Reilly, The Bull Hogan and Bruton had with Lowry straight after the Tribunal and then starts bullying Joan Burton.

If I were you Ms. Burton, I’d have nothing to do with these people. Yours and Gilmore’s voice is non existent at the moment. Get it back before you’re put in the same box as them. They will, drag you down with them if you’re not careful.

• Has the local TD for priory court requested a meeting for the residents with any minister ? If not, why not ? According to the government Michael Lowry has access to these ministers when ever he wants because he is an elected TD & not because he is a former party member. I’m getting on to my local TD as I’m not happy with a few public issues & I want to meet the relevent minister to discuss my proposals…. Lowry has had meetings with three of them within a few months of FG getting in to power on constituency issues, it’s great to see these ministers showing the tribunals for what they are, a complete load of b*llox.

• Are they spreading the slurry a little earlier this year I get the awful bang of SHITE of this….

• I used to hold James Reilly in very high esteem now I see him as the greatest auld waffler to come out of Fine Gael since Mr Committee Man himself Gay Mitchell. Indeed the more I hear him speak the more he sounds like Fine Gaels answer to Joan Burton.

• They’re all like rats around a rubbish skip

• Lowry seems to have managed to have three meetings with three of the most senior FG minsters in a relatively short space of time. Would Joe Higgins, Mick Wallace, Stephen Donnelly, Mattie McGrath, and any other Independent you care to mention have received similarly welcoming receptions? That is the issue to drill into. How many times were others turned away?

• @Yvonne Byrne (no relation!)

Have to agree with you. I thought when I heard he was going to go for election that it would be great to see a local doctor, experience in everyday difficulties and ills with the ordinary person on the street. A doctor being the Minister for Health, great. Well, sorry if I am insulting you Dr. Reilly, but yes, you’re one of the biggest wafflers on your team. I don’t think you tell ‘fibs’ but it seems you brainwash very quickly! A bit of a verbal diarrea too. What does he mean by “pasty issues”. Nothing found in the tribunal to be definite with Lowry?

• This is the same minister who refuses to meet the residents of Priory Hall don’t forget!!!!!

• If a TD is found to be corrupt they should be removed from the Dail. The late Liam Lawlor was allowed temporary release from prison to attend the Dail. What does a TD have to do to be fired?

• I’d say the list to your last question is endless, Pat -

• Nigal you are so right! I don’t understand how any right thinking person could give you a thumbs down for your comment. I guess some people just don’t know how difficult life is in the real world.
      To Pat regarding Liam Lawlor, do you recall that on that very day (the day he was released) he was in the line up to shake the hand of Bill Clinton?

• No matter what any FG quisling/apologist says here in an attempt to defend their party, this is the same bulls**t and the same cronyism which has blighted the political landscape here for decades…FG and labour talked up the change they were gonna to introduce when elected……….change? – what f***ing change have we got?
    The same “inner circle” where friends of friends and ex party colleagues get access to the higher echelons of government to lobby for themselves and their cronys.

• ‘Their all in this together’, birds of a feather and all that! Continuity Fine FAILure are just as bad as the last shower of corrupt gangsters who ruled the gombeen nation, they are just the same shit, different colour but they all smell the same once their stinking mess is uncovered and it should come as no surprise to anyone in Ireland that a corrupt chancer like Lowry still has buddies in his party and in the govt. who are all more than happy to entertain him and his crony’s, they are all as corrupt and self serving as each other and with the culture of greed and a cute hoor parish pump mentality still thriving in the Irish political system then don’t be surprised to see other Mahon delinquents making a comeback. Bottom line, you get what you vote for and as long as the people of Ireland vote for crap then don’t be surprised when the turds float to the top and it ends up with the IMF/ECB plumbers being called out to unblock the toilet into which these greedy shits have flushed the country into! Banana republic, more like septic isle!

• Once a FG TD always a FG TD.Remember Enda approached Lowry before the election regarding him rejoining FG.

• I am getting pretty sick of the Journal’s one sided pro government reporting stance.
    I was hoping this particular news outlet would be left leaning and more “Plain People of Ireland” friendly…
    I might as well be watching RTE or listening to one of Denis O’Brien’s stations

Sad

• Come the next election the people of Tipperary will vote him in again, just watch. Irish people have very short memories, …, squirrel!

• Minister meets with elected TD to try and help improve lives of constituents. The problem being…

• David seriouly do you not see a problem with any of this?Btw opposition/independent TDs rarely get such access to a sitting minister.

• The problem being people like you, who condone this blatant cronyism David!

• The problem being that they are not his constituents and their business is located in a different constituency. This was Lowry using his political connections to support his business friends. That’s not why politicians are elected, or have we learned nothing? The problem being that some people never let the facts get in the way of blind loyalty.

• That’ll be you in ten years David, taking bungs from big business, sucking up to Lowry et al,. Admit it, you’re doing it for the money and you couldn’t give a toss about the working people of this country. How many of your relatives are FG members?

• @Martin All my Dad’s side of the family are Fianna Fail, my uncle still an active member. Not a single member of my extended family had anything to do with Fine Gael when I joined.

The course I’m currently studying in college (MSISS in Trinity) leads most graduates into highly paid employment with earning potential much greater than that of a politician so NO I’m not in it for the money. I’m not even “in it”. I’m a member of a party, not a politician.

@Padraig The meetings were about saving jobs in Lowry’s constituency and another about a nursing home. You can’t talk about blind loyalty when it was Fine Gael who kicked out Lowry when we found out what he was up to!

• FF/FG two sides of the one coin. You condemn yourself.

• The problem is Lowrey was subject to adverse findings let him make his submissions in writing!!
      More wind and piss being spouted by the heroes of Continuity FF.
      What minister has he not met

• @David, where did you see the information saying that the jobs were in Lowry’s constituency? Because that actually contradicts the company’s own website (www.filmco.ie). The jobs are in Carrick-on-Suir, in SOUTH Tipperary, not NORTH Tipperary, which is Lowry’s constituency. According to the Independent, the connection with Lowry is a business one, via his PR company.

Do you think it is a credit to Fine Gael that they “kicked out Lowry when we found out what he was up to”? FF, Labor or Sinn Fein couldn’t exactly kick him out, could they? He was your party member and representative when he swore an oath on taking up a Ministerial office that your party gave him. He used it to feather his own nest and your party had to do something when it went public. However, your party has clearly treated him as a member on leave, right up to the meeting with Hogan and O’Reilly. You will lose any remaining credibility if you persist in trying to portray this as anything other than rotten.

Congrats on the big future earnings by the way. I hope it stays fine for you.

• censored 06/04/12 #

@David: I wonder did you ever hear this quote:

Show me a young Conservative and I’ll show you someone with no heart. Show me an old Liberal and I’ll show you someone with no brains.

WIinston Churchill I believe, but it’s always made sense to me. You should be doing better things with your youth and college years.

• North and South Tipperary are likely to merge after the next boundary view.

• If we had sense we would begin to vote against Govn referendum where we can! Vote no on the fiscal treaty and then in the same breath ask to rejoin the Union. At least they will dismantle not just the HSE but the Trade Unions too.

• Yes, get rid of trade unions. The only protection workers have from unscropulous employers. The same sort of employers who conspire with Lowry and his crew to break the law. Vote no on the treaty but at least do it for a proper reason.

• Yes Martin; Unions are why I can’t get into my office before 9 and have to be gone by 5! Unions are why my managers are over paid and can’t use a fockin crack berry and get confused about spreadsheets! No sorry that was Croke park, eh no Unions again! Union leaders drive 2012 cars but hey they are socialists chopping in to help out car dealers! So while I try to get services for young people with mental health difficulties, Unions create a work place where lines of demarcation between professionals are held steadfast while a room of approx €600,000 of wages talk shite with no resolution for the client! Unions had their day! protecting wages from who? If your productive, have a sound business plan with clear outcomes everyone works together! Unions are the monkeys on out back that compensate for the wasters in the job!

• Hear hear, we should have also voted against the judges pay referendum too. Express our anger at these good for nothings! :)

And that Children’s Rights referendum – let’s really get at their brass necks. Vote NO for that too. After all, it’s only politicians that suffer from referendum defeats, not children. It’s just a smokescreen I tell ya!

• Replace every use of the word union in your paragraph with “union officials”. I think you’re seriously confused about what a trade union is. They’re not perfect, they’re corrupt, their members are apathetic. But they’re the only thing standing between us and no minimum wage, a total removal of all the rights workers have fought for the last 150 years. Reform the unions, getting rid of them would be undemocratic and regressive.

• well at Burton is try to do some good like it r not

• What are you all on about??? This is a complete non-story…. move on…..

• @Declan, yes nothing to see hear here folks business as usual isn’t that right.

• @Declan Cotter

You just don’t get it Declan, you choose not to read and take in the other complaints/worries that these people, including me have brought up on this thread, including the fact that Dr. O’Reilly has nothing to say to Kenny/Lowry of his distaste of Lowry’s lies etc. The fact that he doesn’t make a statement about the whole thing shows that he agrees with what Lowry did.

I would have so much respect for him if he just stated his feelings to Kenny (maybe he has) and to the electorate that he condones what Lowry and the rest of the snakes did.

• Most of the ‘thick Irish’ make comments on here…..

• censored 07/04/12 #

@Declan: you got very irate about being called a “gombeen” but you’re happy to insult an entire nation?

For the record, there’s no evidence that Noonan or Reilly are corrupt. However, if they turn a blind eye to corruption in their party they are just as guilty as those who are actively corrupt. This Lowry/Hogan thing is worrying as it’s evidence that the practices highlighted in recent corruption tribunals are continuing. They have chosen to defend this!

• I dont believe for one second that any of the Ministers mentioned are in any way corrupt. I am not the one who does not ‘get it’ by the way…. Every second person on this forum is looking to creating some big conspiracy…There is none…. A TD from North Tipp had meetings with Ministers…Full stop….

Add New Comment