Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Former FF senator given €3,100 expenses for role he couldn’t fulfil

Pat Moylan stopped being a Senator on April 25 - but got expenses for a month afterwards because he was Cathaoirleach of a non-existant Seanad.
Image: James Horan/Photocall ireland

A FIANNA FÁIL senator was paid over €3,100 in travel and office expenses last year – for a role which he couldn’t possibly fulfil.

Pat Moylan was paid €3100.05 in unvouched expenses for 30 days over April and May for his role as Cathaoirleach of the Seanad – even though the Seanad of which he was chairman no longer existed.

Polling in the most recent Seanad elections closed on April 25 – after which the previous Seanad was dissolved and members deemed to have vacated their seats. Unlike the Ceann Comhairle in the Dáil, the Seanad Cathaoirleach is not automatically re-elected.

And even though Moylan did not run to retain his seat, he was paid €3,100.05 in expenses – all of it unvouched – to cover any phone and travel expenses incurred as Cathaoirleach before he was officially replaced in that role.

This is despite the fact that Moylan would not have been in a position to perform any duties in that role, because the Seanad’s rules require it to elect his successor at its very first meeting.

The Offalyman would not even have officiated for the first few moments of the new sitting, because Seanad rules give this duty to the ‘Father of the House’, currently David Norris.

The only duties Moylan could have been asked to fulfil were those of the Presidential Commission, which signs legislation whenever the President might be abroad – but such a possibility could not arise because with the Seanad not meeting, no new legislation could be approved.

The expenses paid to him were intended to cover his travel to and from Leinster House, as well as his expenses for mobile phones, web hosting, leaflet distribution and attendance at any conferences between April 26 and May 25.

30 days with no role

It was not until May 25 that Moylan was formally replaced as Cathaoirleach, when the new Seanad finally convened – almost four weeks after the election count was completed – and elected Fine Gael’s Paddy Burke as its chairman.

No Leinster House attendance record is available for Moylan during that time, as records are not released for politicians who are no longer a member of either house.

Although Burke is entitled to receive higher expenses than other members of the Seanad because of his role as the new Cathaoirleach, he only claims the same travel expenses paid to other members.

Expenses payments to all other members of the previous Seanad stopped on April 25, when the postal vote for the current Seanad elections formally closed.

An Oireachtas spokesman declined to comment on whether Moylan had returned any of his expenses or been asked to do so, remarking only that Moylan retained the role of Cathaoirleach until his successor was chosen.

He also declined to indicate whether any record of Moylan’s travel to and from Leinster House was kept for the 30 days in question.

Because Moylan opted to claim expenses on an unvouched basis, his expenses claims are not subject to any audit.

Read: Here’s how much the Seanad received in expenses last year

More: A bluffer’s guide to the Seanad election count

Read Next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• jimbo 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The corruption continues….

• Adam Long 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Gombeenism in Irish politics rears its ugly head again…

• Daisy Chainsaw 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Tip of the iceberg… but what can we do? They’ll bluff and bullshit and not one red cent will be given back to the public coffers.

And then they’ll do it again because they can.

• Mensah Mensah 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Ha ha ha ha…and u blame the country for borrowing too much….jokers and gop sh**t running the country…we thougt bertie was bad..at least we all had jobs…JOKE

• Niamh McGaley 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Once again, this makes my blood boil. Easily known that they are playing with monopoly money,ie taxpayers money, aka not their own money, because if it was their own money they wouldn’t throw it around so easily.
    Any private sector company would not be paying out expenses like this.
    Infuriating!!

• Mike Turner 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Niamh, if that happened in the private sector, he would be fired and probably charged with fraud.

• Niamh McGaley 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I know, Mike, but alas it is public sector so not alone will he get the expenses, he will probably get a golden handshake and a payoff for the stress that the media cause by releasing this story!
      No chance that he will be charged, or asked to refund!

• Patrick Mooney 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I agree that this guy should not and never have been given the money but he’s not really a public sector worker I am and like most get no expenses will not get a golden handshake. So stop bashing the normal people in the public sector it’s the few at the top. The golden circle that are milking all of us dry. The government also wants to play the private sector against the public sector it’s divide and conquer. We need to stand together against this shit as it make my blood boil too.

• Tom Mc Carthy 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Can anyone find an email for this guy so we can kindly request him to return the money after this unfortunate oversight on his behalf?

• Neil Kettles 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Surely if someone Makes a complaint to the Police about this blatant fraud, they’re under obligation to investigate! Can someone clarify this for me please?

• Report this comment

Before FF bashing begins, how about I just say that so long as unvouched expenses are allowed, there will be abuse, no matter what the affiliation of the politicians in question. This is not just an FF problem, it’s a problem of Irish political culture and human nature, and can only be changed by bringing in a watertight system that prevents such blatant abuse. You’re only codding yourselves if you think that electing a new bunch of politicians will change anything.

Protesting and lobbying for reform is the only resource left open to us, so be vocal about it. Any of you who are members of political parties, lobby for reform from within existing structures as well. It’s time to stop being furious and outraged about it, and start demanding reforms starting from right now.

• Stephen O'Connell 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

FF and SF top the table, both claiming 50% more per member than LAB.

• Jack Driscoll 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

A bit rich coming from a Fianna FAILURE. I know some of you are supposed to possess decent souls, but I’d respect you lot more if you actually left your party because it’s 90% gobshite.

• Conor Joseph Ryan 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s a problem across the political spectrum, but you have to admit – FF seem to have something of a more acute relationship with this carry on. It’s simply a bigger problem in that Party than it seems to be in others – not that I’m saying it isn’t present to one degree or another in the other parties, but time and time again we see FF’s name come up in this stuff…

• Report this comment

Stephen, FF have no Dublin TDs, SF too have many spread across the country, Labour are mostly concentrated in Dublin where they are the largest party. Its not a case of corruption, its a case of a further distance to travel.

• Tim Henchin 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

At Conor. It is more of a problem in FF because over the last 40 years they were mostly in power, if you were bent and corrupt you joined FF, they as a party had no problem with corruption, indeed it ensured that you advanced in the party as you could back your fellow bent TD’s and Cllr’s, they became a magnet for ambitious politicians with no morals. Look at the sheer no. of them that have been found out. The rest for all their faults have political beliefs of some sort and that keeps them some bit more manageable. There are few parties that can manage the benefits that FF give to the corrupt and criminal.

Sean Lemass warned FF in the 60′s that they were being taken over by apolitical gangsters who were only joining the party for power and personal enrichment. He despised men like Haughey, his son in law.

• Lucy Lannin 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Tom Hayes FG said in todays paper we are going to make recommendations to make expenses transparent. But I dont think they can be,they have gone a long way from where they were before, he also said we have got one of the best (expenses) systems in Europe.So Tom may not want to disturb that !!

• Francis Stokes 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If he had any cop on in the present environment when they are suppose to be setting an example he would have not even taken these expenses How can the Government expect people to accept the austerity measures when they are not setting an example. He is only one how many more are there. We are getting drip drip Information on TDs and others who are claiming Expenses..

• Jammy Mason 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We’re getting the piss ripped out of us…it has gone beyond a joke!! We are too passive as a nation and that is why these things continue happening! The camel’s back is struggling now…what will be the straw that finishes this Government off?!!!

• Aleo 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I only wish I could say “unbelievable” with any degree of conviction.

• tuba hg 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If you check the records every outgoing Senator across the party divide including the ones who were elected by the Colleges claimed as well
    Change the system, don’t blame the people who are there

• Ruadhri Aardvark 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Is this guy going to pay back this money? “don’t blame the people who are there”? Are you kidding me? You need rules to have morality? GTF

• Paul Anthony Ward 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Constructing a better system, where abuse is all but impossible, free of all unvouched expenses, is what’s called for here…

• Gerry Ryan 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

A man with his oustanding record of public service should be allowed to choose his cell.

• John Wooldridge 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Corrupt Bastards!!! They abuse the system through legal loopholes.

• Frank2521 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Where are the Garda? Very easy case to prove.

• Ruadhri Aardvark 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

€3,100? That would almost buy you a website in some parts.

• Jurisprudence 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Not if your from FF circles. Just ask Stephen Kearon, the bollock scratcher of Dick Roche who charged €3250 for 1 year to host Dick Roches (FF, surprise) website. Endemic in FF and always will be.

• damien chaney 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

And yet they want us to be compliant and obedient and pay more taxes to support these opportunist parasite.
    Civil disobedience step 1: refuse to pay household charge.

• Ciaro 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This money wasn’t given to him. He had to claim it. Parasite

• Ciaro 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Crimestoppers.
    Telephone:1800 250 025

I’m calling them tomorrow @9:00 to report this fraudulent claim.

• Aydo 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m very vexed by this. It’s just not stopping, the stupidity selfishness and greed.

• Joe Sixtwo 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Another crook exposed.

• Derek Rochford 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Every day there is some new disclosure of some politician with their snouts in the trough and they are getting away with it.

Yet there are people in Mountjoy Jail and other Jails for not paying their television licences, because they just hadn’t got the money to pay for them.

One law for politicians and another law for ‘ordinary citizens’ and yet in England politicians did go to jail for less than this!

These disclosures about politicians just go on and on, with seemingly no end in sight!

Where will it all end?

• Sarah Brener 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We need a new blood in politics. A new party with new people who weren’t politicians before. Fed up of shameless cronies.

• Aisling Brady 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

how long would they be in power before they become as corrupt as the ones gone before them – people will always be greedy and corrupt as long as they can get away with it – and therein lies the answer – FIND A WAY TO STOP THEM GETTING AWAY WITH IT.

• Barry Brennan 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Great exposure showing the continued corruption in this country. These people need to be held accountable taking our money like this. Would love the media to continue highlighting this and maybe get some kind of petition going to add to the pressure and get our money returned and stop this type of corruption! Good work journal.ie

• Tony Skillington 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Just about sums this country’s poliical up….rotten to the core!

• Dermot Murphy 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Every day,another scumbag is revealed.How many more are at it.We dont know the half of what goes on.Explains to me where all our taxes are going.These fuckers need locking up,and stripped of their pensions.Dirty Scumbags.

• Don Booker 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

3 grand or 30 billion – all the same in Ireland. Nobody’s payin’ – only you and I.

• Report this comment

Enda & co will never default, who else but IMF etc will pay there obscene salaries and multiple pensions.Get real friends we are the suckers !

• Report this comment

Don’t know what happened to my comment but here goes again. Nothing will happen as usual with Politicos ie Corrupt elite !

• Bernadette Dunne 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I am applying for his Job

• Report this comment

If he was a UK politician he would have to repay and also face jail time

• Aidan Gill 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Another reason they won’t be getting my house charge or septic tank charge. I needed that money for my expenses.

• Gerard Fogarty 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s hard to excuse the use of expenses but this raises an interesting debate about thepresidential commission. I think it’s wrong to say he had no role. The Cathaoirleach has an important constitutional office. The commission replaces the president when abroad, incapacitated or when the office is vacant. The president has functions other than legislative. But then again the council of state can allow just two members of the commission to carry out its functions.

• Gavan Reilly 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hi Gerard – Others made this point to us, but we checked the fine print of the Oireachtas expenses system and the travel is only to be claimed for journeys to and from Leinster House, and not journeys to other places where the Cathaoirleach is required to be for their duties (though I suppose the Cathaoirleach could still claim for their phone expenses).

Either way, if the President was to be abroad or incapacitated then the Commission’s foremost function would be to promulgate legislation, which it couldn’t do when the Seanad had been dissolved. The only other functions would be the routine appointment of office holders, in which case there is no prerogative: the President (or the Commission) simply follows the advice of the government.

• Ed Appleby 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Money for nothing! In the age of austerity where the ordinary person in the street is being fleeced by the Dept.of ‘lets think of new ways to screw the population’ we have this clown getting paid tax payers money for doing nothing, he also happily takes the money and even the gobshites who are supposed to be in charge of spending this tax payers money seem to be clueless yet again as to why this has happened, just shows how completely inept the system really is and how unvouched expenses are easily abused and totally abused by the greedy parasites who have their snouts firmly buried in the trough. When will it end?

• Derek Rochford 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Hi Gerald,

Any more information on this story, or was there any follow up?

Are you or were you able to find out if this money was repaid?
    I hope it will be if anyone reports this to the proper authorities, but will anyone report it?

If not, my reading of the situation would be that this will just be forgotten!

Add New Comment