TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

‘We have no more to give’: Over 3,000 attend Frontline services rally

Unions representing prison workers, hospital staff, ambulance workers and Gardaí attend a major rally in Tallaght.

A RALLY of Gardaí, firefighters, and prison and hospital staff has been told that emergency and public workers have “no more to give” and cannot be asked to accept more pay cuts.

Over 3,000 members of five unions and associations affiliated to the ’24/7 FrontLine Services Alliance’ attended the rally at the National Basketball Arena in Tallaght,

A letter sent by the alliance to the public expenditure minister Brendan Howlin, read to attendees, said front line workers “who provide servies on a 24-hour day, 7-ay week basis cannot endure further pay cuts, as they have no more to give”.

“Frontline staff of emergency and public services have already, and are, taking the risks and paying their share,” the letter said.

Representatives from Garda associations said they were not opposed to finding savings in the Garda budget, and were prepared to put forward proposals to better manage the force’s finances, but that further cuts to workers’ pay could not be accepted.

“The cynics said last week, ‘Let them have their meeting – and we’ll see how many turn up’,” said PJ Stone of the Garda Representative Association.

“Brothers and sisters of this new Frontline Alliance: look around and shake each others hands because you have shown tonight by your presence here, that our campaign is just and fair.”

Claire Mahon of the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation said workers should not be afraid to defend premium payments, as they formed a legitimate part of their salaries.

“Being away from your family is not something you have to apologise for,” she said.

Seamus Murphy of the Psychiatric Nurses Association told attendees: “In 1913 we have the lockout; in 2013 we have the sell-out.”

Many union representatives said they could not understand why the government had already insisted on seeking an extra €1 billion in savings by extending the Croke Park agreement when that agreement remained valid until mid-2014.

Others warned politicians not to “test our resolve”, as they were happy to pursue work-to-rule action and prove that they were not willing to tolerate further cuts.

The event is intended to act as a launchpad for a national campaign of political lobbying by the alliance’s six member associations.

The alliance is comprised of the Garda Representative Association, the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors, the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation, the Prison Officers Association and the Psychiatric Nurses Association.

Explainer: What’s on the table in the Croke Park talks?

Read next:

Comments (163 Comments)

• I am just out of hospital after major surgery. I spent 10 days in the High Dependency Unit in Beaumont Hospital and to say the nurses were stretched to their limits is an understatement. On the unit there was 2 qualified nurses and 2 student nurses who could only do so much. Overnight there is only 1 of each. When I asked the students what they were going to do when qualified they all said they were getting out of this country as fast as possible!

We give our nurses the best training in the world for them to take that expertise to other parts of the world, what are we going to be left with? Who is going to care for us?

• You’re quite right about qualified nurses planning to leave the country…my daughter is also planning to go when she qualifies — and she will take my grandchildren with her to a potentially better life…and climate. She is a mature student and her friends are also considering leaving. Only positive I can see, we’ll have somewhere nice to go on the hols!!!!!

• Lyndsey while visiting a patient last week in the Mather I witnessed the same thing. It’s actually quite shocking to see and makes everyone very uncomfortable when the nurse is visibly out of breathe from running around and clearly stressed looking. It definitely never used to be like this in the past. What the hell are Fine Gael doing to our health service and our youth forcing them to emigrate and shame on us for allowing this to happen! As it does and will affect us whether we like it or not!

• John Casey “frontline service workers are nothing special” really now let me see, who are the people who are out at night while you are asleep in your bed, cutting people out of cars after a car crash, trying to resuscitate people and stop the bleeding at the side of the road, attending to the sick and dying, calling on people’s loved ones to tell them they have been in an accident and are in the local hospital and come and identify the body, who are the people who are out escorting your cash from banks and credit unions with the risk of being attacked and shot while you are at home with your feet up watching the telly for the night or who are the people out there protecting our streets and investigating rapes and murders on a Saturday night while you are out in your local enjoying a few pints, who are the people who are out there putting out fires or clearing up crashes from the side of the road while you are at home enjoying your Sunday roast with your family, who are the people who are chasing joyriders in stolen cars around the road with the risk of being rammed on a bank holiday Monday while you are playing with your children in the play ground, will I tell you who FRONTLINE PUBLIC SERVICE WORKERS, that’s who. Nothing special…pretty damn special actually and not appreciated at all for the work they do.

• Start of the fightback!

• What exact resource have they given that is now dried up? They’ve been mainly protected from the recession and their wages are, for the most part, intact.
      Happy to demand benchmarking when it suited them but now disgusted by the concept when it does not. Hypocrites.

• Asked to do more for less that’s protection alright

• Still a bit cold out for a revolution I take a look again in May!!!!

• So damien, you think it should only be the private sector who should have to pay? Not the people whos wages were doubled and tripled by the prosperity created by said private sector. How would you reduce our deficit?

• @john, the last tranch of benchmarking was delayed and then cancelled as the downturn hit, then there were the pay cuts and levies implemented after that. Get your facts straight. I have a masters and get paid less now than if I was in the private but I like my job, am good at it and would like to stay, however, continued cuts will drive public servants out and then who will provide services. The recent graduate nurse debacle shows just how many people are now prepared to enter due to the poor wages

• Gardai got 5 % pay rise in the 15 years I have been in it … Do the maths

• @Vocal – pay rates haven’t been cut since 2010 and incremental salary increases continue. They can’t be sacked and have a job for life. There incredibly well protected. The problem is, we’re bankrupt. We can’t afford to pay the same wages as when we were rich.

I’ll ask again, how would you reduce the CBD without touching salaries? (and the top tax rates in europe would still only bring in €3 Billion extra)

• Aarum 18/02/13 #

@john doubled and tripled? What planet are you on, it’s the private sector that caused the problem this country is facing, the government is looking or easy targets, and by the turn out in tallaght they’re not going to find any here. There are plenty of solutions put forward by unions and rep associations that would create huge savings, but they are just rejected, all they want is a quick fix

• It wasnt the the public sector that got the country in the shite in the first place! Its not theres to pay… Banks was it not????? If ya have nothing positive to say dont say anything atall! Cause your losing a lost battle..

• Irish Public Service 2001-2006: Salaries up 59%; Payroll up 18% – 38,000 additional workers and Pensions up 81.3%: Average industrial wage rise in the period was 19%.

And now they won’t give some of it back? Very greedy, like the bankers, if you ask me.

• This arguement has been played out again and again. Trolls like john obviously never has to go to hospital, need the guards protection, etc…Well done to all who attended.

• Pablo 18/02/13 #

Estate agent John?

• John Duggan – I worked in the private sector and was made redundant 5 years ago now. Private sector wages are more volatile than public sector – private sector laughs at public when times are good and then complain when recession hits.

The blinkers are on for both sides. There are certainly areas in the public service which deserve scrutiny and change to bring it more like the private sector. For example, refusal of relocation during reform – this should be a case of relocation or redundancy just as it would be in private sector.

• @John, Wages that were doubled and tripled by the prosperity of the private sector? Firstly I’m going to have a word with the wages section tomorrow cause iv been grossly underpaid to date.
      Secondly ,bit of an oxymoron the prosperity that the private sector created? Who’s mess are we all paying for? That’s right we socialized private/prosperity creators debt. Doubled and trebled wages good trolling John

• Pablo 18/02/13 #

@John Reason why I asked if you were an estate agent? You should ask people in the private sector such as estate agents, blocklayers, property developers, bankers etc earned between 2001-2006 whilst they laughed at their poor cousins in the public sector. Reflect John, reflect, who caused the whole situation you seem to be so expert on?The magic recession fairy? I think you will find it was (amongst others) the private sector workers above and not the nurse who was and still is getting spat at in A&E, or the guard who was getting shot at, or the social worker who is jabbed with a needle. Admit what YOU do for a living John, until then go away, it’s easy to spout facts that are one sided from a point of view that is anonymous.

• Yeah John, What do you work as!?! Enlighten us all!

• Your qualifications are irrelevant. Only in the public sector do people expect to be paid for qualifications. More of the entitlement attitude

• Just watched the report on the news.
      Well done folks and good luck.

• Pablo 18/02/13 #

Silly comment Paul. You need certain qualifications for certain jobs in the private sector too. If I have a masters degree in Manufacturing Engineering I don’t want to work as an operator. Just plain silly.

• John, if you want to cut salaries in the public sector but start at the top and work the way down not at the bottom and stop when you get mid way. This Government capped salaries when they came into power yet how many times have they broke that cap when they appointed their cronies into top jobs.
      I am the wife of a fire fighter and I can tell you fact their wages have been cut since 2010 FACT. The top brass remained the same, no change their. There are families of public sector workers who have medical cards because of their low income and they are NOT easy to get. The media have caused this private public spilt but I tell you we will all pay the price even those who are not even born yet will continue to pay for the greed of bankers and the fat cats. Let’s all stop this public private crap and look as a whole to what we have been reduced to and see that we ALL are trying to survive keep a roof over our heads and food on the table for our children who are paying the price for something that they did not cause. That’s the reality here. A firefighter works an average 64 hours in a working 7 day period that’s a hell of a lot for the wage they receive and the rolls royce pensions are that of the top brass not the fire fighter who comes to the RTC or house fire or the ambulance call out we all receive. Time to get real.

• John go for a run and stop talking shite.

• @Paul_Langin – tripe. In many jobs in the private sector the quality of your degree and post graduate qualification are related to your starting salary. Also many jobs in the private sector also link “time served” to pay increases and are unionised.

Absolutely sick of people ignoring these facts because it hasn’t been within their experience.

• Ever worked a double shift John due to an emergency, ever missed Christmas Day with your family or missed your child’s birthday party because of being on duty, ever not tucked your kids in bed night after night because of work, ever watch your spouse go to work and wonder if they”ll come home safe and sound and not get SHOT!!! And do you believe that nurses, gardai and firefighters etc get paid danger money, well they don’t they just get spat upon by ignorant people.

• John our wages are down and we never demanded benchmarking. In actual fact the majority of public servants got next to nothing from benchmarking. Benchmarking in ags only benefited superintendent rank and above. Get your facts in order before talking rubbish

• John what name were u posting on here before today. And seriously tell me on sector of the emergency services who had their pay doubled or tripled in the last few years?

• Who cant be sacked? And what name were u using to post on the journal before today you troll

• Paul can you explain then how my wife who is a financial accountant in the private sector has not had a pay cut since the downturn and has recieved pay rises as she gains further qualifications?

• @john nobody asked you

• Mike Clinton the country is insolvent do you not understand addition and truth

• U still playin with the abacus mammy bought you??quote your source if its not from your lonely remaining cell please

• @ Harry Price.. This country will remain broke as long as we prop up dead banks,bow & grovel to criminal bankers,fill the pockets of bond holders,kenny and his ilk getting their ott wages, governmental cronies being set up for life.the last shower of thieves on jaw dropping pensions,the top layers of public servants … Sorry Harry,have I missed anything ?.
      Not having a go at you at all and hope you don’t take offence but we are sick being told that we are broke.
      It’s the bottom of the ladder that’s broke,as you climb higher you are insulated better.
      I am in the private sector and on the verge of closing the doors,I havn’t pulled a weeks wages since November and basically have used up almost everything I had in the account.

• You’re late to the thread Harry! Away with you now Troll!!

• Henry while I don’t necessarily agree with what John is saying, he is blatantly not a troll.

• John Duggan I would love you to clarify how exactly guards, Nurses and Paramedics were protected because I can tell you we weren’t we have had our wages cut! We pay more in deductions then most the pension levy takes on average 3 times more that my pension contribution ! Our new recruits ( paramedics ) are on 25k a year before tax and average 400 pw.. This is for graduates before you make some other ill informed quip! We work in under resourced highly dangerous and unpredictable environments! We get assaulted, stabbed, kicked, threatened abused punched and bitten ! Two of my colleagues have been killed in the line of there duty! A detective lost his life recently.. Then there’s benchmarking as you put it ! Which was meant to bring lesser paid public sector workers to decent rate of pay ! 5% to guards and nurses ! 25% to paramedics which brought there wage to in your book an over indulgent 600 euros per week ! The nurse graduates if the government and ictu gets the way equates to €7.78 per hour less then minimum wage, we have interns sleeping in there cars because they can’t afford to drive home ! You want me to continue proving what an ill informed gombean you are or have I just proved how protected And my colleagues are

• Incremental pay rates continue paramedic rate for pre2010 was maxed at 36000 advanced paramedic training brings it to a max 45 k, similar to most services and post 2010 the new enterants cap at 30 k ! This is for staff with 4 years degree

• @Nuffsaid just google” troll”" the laugh is on you and last weeks troll is this weeks

• Yeah up 56% the benchmarking was to make public salaries as competitive as private sector

• John Duggan. You really have to wake up and stop listening to the government spin.
      As a member of the alliance I have worked there during the tiger when my friends in the private sector laughed at my pay as I got 3% of a pay rise in the benchmarking but this was the “vocation” that I chose along with the other members of the alliance
      But now the sh@$t has been beaten out of that tiger and the private sector are in a slump I am expected to pay for their ill gotten gains if I may call it that.
      I have a wife and children and a mortgage to pay as well as the normal run of the mill bills and struggle to make ends meet. And by the way it is illegal for me to become a debtor ( I can be fired for same )
      So are you telling me with your government spin figures that this is a life you would lead going into work everyday facing the situations we face everyday for the wage we make and not stand up and be counted.
      GET A LIFE walk in our shoes for a week and then put up your stupid argument because until you do you really don’t know what your are talking about.
      Myself and many of my colleagues in the alliance have dealt with so many situations in our working day that you might see in 10 lifetimes.
      Then come back and say we aren’t worth the money we earn

• bud61193 19/02/13 #

Nice one des

• just watched “life on the Inside” What ever POs/Garda/Nurses & Doctors/ Health workers get paid, it’ll never be enough to put up with that day after day, night after night, I salute you all.

• If the Politicians, demanding more pain from people. Took some first, lead by example and enforce the legal retirement age for politicians to get their pension? Then they might get some respect, but Idoubt they have the courage?

• Who may I ask does the head count is it RTE cos I have noticed that any protest I have been on has always been report that a lot less numbers attended than were actually there

• To all 24/7 alliance members, colleagues and friends…WE are united and will remain united to the END…..THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING!! 3000 IS NOW 75000 STRONG! A VERY PROUD DAY TO BE IN THE PUBLIC SECTOR!

• Posters who begrudge our 24/7 emergency services their wage need a reality check. Personally I think these people aren’t paid enough. Quite recently we’ve been reminded how they sacrifice their own safety to do their job. We need to support their campaign.

• Delighted that so many turned up

• Well done 24/7 alliance the spark is lit

• I suppose I wouldn’t like to see a country without a full flowing public service-
    And I am not one but I will say for all the people cribbing maybe if they did a week in a nurses or Gardas shoes they might have an altered view i don’t know
    I will say this though I wouldn’t like an extra hour added on to my day
    Nurses in some places work 12 hrs a day up that to 13 or gardai workin 11hrs a day u would wonder is that legal or can a Garda driver drive for 11hrs or I don’t know Would i like a nurse working in the stress job for 13hrs on wards
    I could see problems for gardai prosecuting people for dangerous driving and they driving 11hrs themselves
    As I said its only an observation but I wouldn’t like it coming into my job

• If stupidity was a crime, the Gardai would have a field-day in the Dáil. The Gardai and Army stand between us and anarchy, they ensure our safety so as we can sleep at night. Nurses and Doctors stand between us and death. How much is a life worth? Those people deserve to be paid well, and not treated with the contempt being shown by the MORONS in the Cabinet.

• still people don’t get it . some spin doctor split you into private and public sector and as many of you have fallen for it. this government have sold us all out including our childrens children. they have stolen our dignity and have declared war on the people of this shit hole. sorry to say i am public sector work and i am tired of your stupid argument we haven’t had a pay cut and we get a free pension and even if i did it still is not worth having to listen you some of this winging

• What a shite country we live in all begrudging each other private v public the government must be pissing themselves laughing at this. Where do we get the money to pay for vital services you ask start with the arseholes running the show ministers pay outrageous for fighting like kids in a playground called the Dail the Seanad abolish it , expenses , privatise esb , legal aid system reform, 92 million overpaid in social welfare…. The list is endless but these clowns couldn’t organise a piss up in a brewery

• There were a lot more than 3000 there!

• I was called into my manager’s office today because of my dress code.
    He said, “You can’t wear pyjamas for work.”
    I said, “Everyone else does.”
    He said, “That’s because they’re fecking patients”

Great to see some real leadership. Keep it going all.

• Well done to all who went to tallaght and to those of us that were on duty but also would have attended.
    Our unity is our strength so speak with your colleagues in other services and reassure them that we will survive this onslaught on our livelihood

• barry 18/02/13 #

Hopefully this will give people sitting on
    the fence the incentive to get together and speak their minds in more protests.
    I speaker tonight summed it all up for the whole country, the government are totally removed from the ordinary man and woman on the street, and why wouldn’t they, what minister has to worry about the next bill coming in the door?? I doubt any..

• “Frontline workers are nothing special” what an insulting statement. When the intruder with the knife enters your home mate I presume you wil b running to dial 999 for that “nothing special” Gardai, or if the intruder sets your house on fire will you ask for the “nothing special” fire brigade. If you or your family are injured will you require the “nothing special” ambulance crew and nurses in the hospital. And when the intruder is caught I presume u want the “nothing special” prison officers to keep them locked away!! I guess an unsociable hours allowance is demanding to much also considering all this occurred at 4am while you were at home wit your family and the above named were away from theirs…?
    Wake up mate. People like you expect these services at their beck and call 24/7 365 but slate the people who provide them for trying to keep a roof over their head and food on their tables for their families. There is no more to give.

• skoda 18/02/13 #

Well done to the Front Line Services protest in Tallaght. I sure hope they are successful. Social Welfare cut my household benefits of E62 a month to E44.50. As a pensioner I depended so much on this. I would like to be able to protest in this manner but unfortunately I wouldn’t have the same number of people who turned out to the Tallaght protest.

• I read these negative comments and feel I should be angry or upset, but I’m not, it’s just more of what I hear every day or night that I go into work. I suppose it’s just water off a ducks back at this stage. I continue to do my job to the best of my abilities, I’m gone past worrying what people think about me or my profession. I plough on in the knowledge that I am doing the public a service,I don’t want a pay rise,I don’t want anything extra at all…..I just want to be left alone to do the work that I do. 24/7/365.

• Great statement 1913 the lockout 2013 the sellout they stood up then we have to stand up now United We will Win

• I have no problem with the front line staff recieving their wages and believe they are been targeted by both government and unions to make more and more cuts rather than target the groups of staff who sit in seperate offices with individual secretaries to help them answer emails. what about those who work monday to friday in offices in hospitals etc not in the front line of the day to day service.Those protecedt individuals who must have their tea breaks at 10- 10:30 1 to 2 and not forgetting the 3 to 3:30 break who are not on the front line.Those individuals that would have been long gone in any private sector industry yet continue to enjoy half day on a friday,kings day,christmas shopping day never work a bank holiday or past 5 pm and do not start before 9 am. when are they going to be dragged kicking and screming into the real world.I am a private sector worker who manages a contract in a public sector establishment and am astonished at the bubble world these people live in.No redeployment,no absentee management answerable to nobody.Yet are lumped in with front line workers when it comes to pay cuts yet actually suffer no loss of earnings as they do not work 5 over 7 or night shifts etc.One of these cosseted individuals asked me how do you think they will get me to work 15 mins extra every day yet if they worked in the private sector she would have been long gone due to rationalisation…

• Martin. If the paltry paid office workers were not needed in hospitals, the hospital would not be functional. All members of staff in hospitals are important for the daily running of our hospitals from the janitor to the cardiac surgeon. Office workers in hospital are responsible for ordering equipment, medicines, managing beds, booking clinic appts, organising pre and post operative investigations, typing medical reports with results of tests, diagnosis, prognosis. The office worker is that important link person between the patient and nurse or doctor as they can’t be interrupted while in theatre or at clinic or on the wards. In the boom hospitals couldn’t get admin staff because of their low wages. There are many low paid office staff in the public sector and lots of high paid chiefs. There aren’t enough hours in the day working in hospitals for ALL staff, from the over worked nurses, doctors, admin staff. Household staff, catering, portering staff, security staff and each department is an important link for the hospitals to function correctly.

• Tommy C 19/02/13 #

Dont forget us lab scientists cos without us,you’d have no diagnosis!

• Perhaps some of the critics of front like public servants would like to comment on the average payments of CEOs of Irish PLCs. That’s around €1.5 million a year!! And it was Irish PLCs, the banks, who destroyed the country.

• I feel maybe at times we have a ” I’m glad it’s not me it’s happening to” view on things
    Problem is when the government are finished with the public service what ever way it goes-
    They are going to come after the rest of us and then we will see how the shoe fits – not looking forward to it at all

• It was a night I won’t forget. Was great to see the unity between the services. Very proud

• Harry C 19/02/13 #

I can truly understand your grievances and anger at these proposed cuts but its not true to say that we the Joe public don’t appreciate the work ye guys do. Just a word of caution though, don’t demean someone else’s profession just because you are more qualified as in “dunnes worker”. These people work hard and unsocialable hours as well for low pay.

• Cuts in the public service will be brought into the private sector as well. Only a matter of time before the double pay for Sunday will be gone for everyone.

• Have to agree with you there. If employers have their way ANY overtime payments will be a thing of the past within a few years, regardless if it PS or Private Sector, they’ll use one as a bargaining tool against the other.
      As someone else said here the PS didn’t cause this mess but they’ve been left with the majority of the bill. When times were good they got paid for what they did, not obscene wages that allowed them to get huge mortgages and several cars. That’s what we did in the Private Sector, we lost the run of ourselves. Now when the bubble has burst, the cars are gone and the mortgages can’t be paid we’re like spoiled children saying we’re suffering more. While everyone is suffering the fact is PS wages have been hit harder than the Private Sector, the one group that never really benefitted from the boom. Benchmarking was introduced, we were told, to bring their wages up to more realistic levels, not obscene levels, just realistic levels at that time. Even those gains are long gone now.

• I see the usual misinformed ignorant idiots still feel the need to comment on matters they know damn all about

• Faceful 19/02/13 #

The private vs public sector is ridiculous, whatever happens to the public sector will impact on the private, private hospitals will follow suit cutting unsocial hours and Sunday pay. Public sympathy for the plight of public sector rgns is few and far between, highlighting the abuse that we suffer is pointless, the perception is we get well paid to put up with it. We should stand together, who knows one of your children may end up working for pittance and treated like dirt.

• What is forgotten here is, private sector depend on public sector money. If a Prison Officer, Garda, Nurse etc. needs their roof repaired or car serviced, and they can not afford it, the private sector suffers. The t.d’s car and roof will be looked after because we pay for it. If no money circulates, we all suffer. United we can make them play fair. Divided we are all screwed.

• let me tell you john casey i am a proud member of an garda siochana and i pay for my pension i pay my taxes the same as everyone else i pay the levy i pay the usc i pay the same as everyone else public and private this myth that the private sector are paying the public section bull s/////// we pay our taxes too and we did not have big pay cheques like those in the public sector when times were good tell me do you spend christmas eve christmas day night stephens day and all the other holidays with your family or friends i had to get up from my dinner table leave my husband and children and go to work just like so many of us who work 24/7 would you like to get punched kicked hit spat on hit with bottles and anything else going we deserve our wage let me tell you we earn it

• sean 18/02/13 #

every ordinary struggling citizen should have been out to support these guys , private , public or unemployed ,
    perhaps something like this should be organised in every city,town , village ,
    most of us are in the same boat , the a/c, purse, wallet, piggybanks are empty

• I am a sraff nurse with a level 9 qualification who just 4 d record works a 13 nd half hr shift from 7.30 am til 9pm, i desl with d public everyday who are reslly rude, have no respect for nurses nd who point out everything we do wrong, we get verbslly abused,it is very rare we get thanked, i work on an acute medical ward, i make sur ur family member is fed while mine r at home eating god knows what, i skip mesls 2 ensure ur family is fed, i make sur ur family member is comfortsble n clean clothes,usually hospital1′s as d families r 2 mesn 2 bring u in nyting, i work xmas day instead of crlebrating with me own family 2 make d day special 4 parients, i take abuse on a daily basis i comfort people who r leaving thus world ,pple dont get sick 9 to 5 mon 2 fri, i never get a bonus, im 7 yrs qualified nd get payed less dan a health care attendsnt and dunnes worker , i csn get taxed nywhere from 800 to 1300 euro a fortnight
    I am not guarenteed a pension when i retire as god only knows where it is going, i pay pension, pension levy, usc prsi nd 4 what? I ‘l never get it back, i get boxed punched spat at scraubed, kicked etc nd keep dmiling during it all, dont get me wrong i luv me job but it makes me sooo mad when pple pass comments nd assumptions about nurses, would love 2 have d nerve 2 suggest sn all out strike nd see what happens when there isnt a nurse nsight
    I thing everybody shud come and work a day with me nd them cum bac eith ur smart answers

• Wait for the day when the private sector, are protesting about cuts at the gates of the funny farm. Gardai look the other way when they force their way in. Ambulance service too busy to ferry injured T.D’s to hospital. When they do eventually arrive at their new children’s hospital, let them wait on trollies for a week. No Doctor or nurse available to lick their wounds. When, they demand an inquiry into what had happened, let the higher paid officers do the investigating. Bet the inquiry goes dead within minutes. Looks like shatter will be hiring Blackwater inc. soon, to mind the nest eggs of his comrades.

• So are public sector worker expected to work like trojans and then not be paid enough to be able to live? All we are asking for is a fair days pay for a hard days work. Is this not what those in the private sector ask for too? If we have to take more cuts let all of us take them together. For those of you who think we have not taken cuts…. get real!! We have!!! Like it or not we need a public sector that provides essential services such as those provided by nurses, guards, ambulance crew etc!!! Without these services lives could be on the line!!

• Glad to finally see the public service begin to stand up for itself. Why if this govt is supposed to be the smartest one of all and can conjure up fine tricks to get us out of paying the prom note for 30 or 40 yrs can’t it talk to the public service unions with out trying to bully them into further submission and bring them to the point of obliteration instead of looking at where the true savings can be made or is it because they are too afraid to take on the ones at management levels and find if their policies are reviewed that the money being lost is down to poor management and not down to the payment of its employees who put themselves out on a daily basis to serve the public

• I personally think there should be a protest set up along the lines of tonight… But the private sector workers themselves family,friends and ALL members of the public should partake in.. Showing the true strength of the campaign in numbers and of how much the suffering people back them in venues all around ireland! I heard a man say today a National Day of strike whenever the Blue Flu pandemic hits… But could something like that be even possible? The Government need to cop on or get out!

• We persist as a nation bickering amongst ourselves.The stark realty is that the vast bulk of wealth doesn’t exist in private households but in large company accounts Google Facebook Microsoft amazon all earn vast billions basing their footprint in Ireland whilst paying zero tax.each year their accounts increase dramatically and we fail to enact legislation to extract the tax we are owed from these monsters.By my calculation Google alone last year should of paid in excess of 500 million of tax to the Irish government whilst paying a tiny preportion of that.We are fighting the wrong battles here.

• So are public sector worker expected to work like trojens and then not be able to live? All we are asking for is a fair days pay for a hard days work. Is this not what those in the private sector ask for too? If we have to take more cuts let all of us take them together. For those of you who think we have not taken cuts…. get real!! We have!!! Like it or not we need a public sector that functions effectively.

• @ Simon Blake when I say the word ‘member’ I think of you!

• John Duggan why didn’t u join the public service ?? Ur life would be so much better and less pain filled and without bitterness and contempt if u had. Do u want a hug??

• Its quite simple really. If you think nurses gardai firefighters etc are overpaid and that their wages are a joke then my advice is when your sick dont call nurses docs or go to hospital. If your house or car is on fire dont call the firefighters and if your the victim of a crime dont bother calling for the gardai. Then youll have the right to complain. Up untill then just shut your words holes trolls

• A lot of people are forgetting the over inflated wages/pensions are going to the politicians and such.
    Not our nurses, doctors, ambulance crew or guards.

• I think they do deserve the high pay but so many people are saying they are down 25 grand a year, I dont make that in a year, not even close. We are all feeling the pinch,but in all fairness the tds should tightening their own belts, not everyone elses

• Front line workers and other civil servants can continue to give out and protest all they want but we all know it will be a fairly pointless exercise in the end and will ultimately burn any remaining public sympathy that exists now. Bottom line is that our government is effectively bankrupt and cuts will need to be made no matter what. There is no point in continuing to blame the bankers and everyone else – we are where we are and must now attempt to solve things. We simply cannot continue to run the yearly deficits (excluding bailout related costs) that the civil service and social welfare etc are substantially driving. Everyone accepts that a lot of the services that these workers are providing are indeed very unpleasant but people made the choices to enter these professions. Threatening to hold the public and the government to ransom to protect self serving privileges will not solve the situation…

• ‘We are where we are’ … great analysis sherlock…. do you not realise public sector workers are struggling to pay mortgages and bills as it is. They have paid their share. Go back to listening to eddie hobbs good lad

• No need for your condescension – do you not think the public sector have also taken an almighty bashing? The only difference is that we don’t have the 19th/20th century privilege of job security and defined benefit pensions…
      There is no point moaning about how we got here – that is my point – we are where we are and we cannot undo the mistakes of yesterday. We need to move forward in a constructive fashion and double time privileges, ability to retire on full pension after 30 years, etc etc need to be addressed. If people are unhappy with their jobs and what they’re paid etc, it is certainly not the problem of the public sector taxpayer who contributes the vast majority of income taxes to the exchequer to pay for your protected base salaries/positions and plug your ballooning pension deficits. I was a public sector worker for 8 years and so I am best positioned to make these comments. Enough of the “poor me” rhetoric please. It is beginning to fall on deaf ears. Engage constructively on non-core pay cuts or the government will (rightly) legislate and cut your “entitlements” anyway…

• *”PRIVATE sector have taken an almighty bashing…”

• Micheal O’Leary, would the answer if the country is bankrupt not be reduce the cost of living in line with pay cuts? Would the answer not be to try and stimulate growth in businesses? Would the answer not be find where the financial heammorrage is and plug it with reform? Your a business man with all the taxes, levys and pay deductions does that mean less expendable income that means that no one can afford to go on Ryanair planes ? Does it not say that reformation and resetting the clock like Iceland?

• *and “Private sector taxpayers who contribute significant majority…”

• @michael “we are where we are” fantastic analysis of the situation there michael . Where did you rob that phrase from . from thr howlin/shatter/kenny mantra by aby chance ? and the stupid comment that frontline “people made the choices to enter these professions ” I wouldn’t even respond to such a demeaning comment . Best of luck to the 24/7 alliance .

• During the boom bankers doled out money to builders to build houses leading to a property based tax bubble, much of which was siphoned off with benchmarking etc to inflate public sector pay. The bubble has now burst, builders are bankrupt, banks are bailed out leaving public sector pay as the elephant this government refuses to tackle. No wonder they have fallen behind in the polls. Forget placating the minority public sector workers and their unions and show the leadership the were elected for. We can’t run the country with a YEARLY deficit of €15 billion. It is only time before the tap gets turned off and the money won’t be there.

• There are compensating benefits in the public service and for frontline positions. There is a high degree of job security, excellent pensions with no comparison in the private sector and various allowances.

There is a massive mortgage arrears crisis which impacts on many in the frontline but that is an argument in favour of mortgage debt attenuation for those most severely affected.

Many of us envy the employment and associated benefits of the frontline workers but it is perfectly understandable that the front line workers would not wish to share the sacrifices of the rest of society, for example home care and respite care cut backs and the increasingly limited and more restricted supports for the most vulnerable in society.

The front liners have leverage and they can use that leverage to avoid the hardships of the rest of us. They will look after themselves and that is natural and to be expected. We are all in this for ourselves. The strongest survive and the weakest go to the wall.

• What planet do you live on? Do you think none of the public sector have family? Or that they all their family work in the public sector? Or none of us have people closely related that have been effected by respite care cutbacks?

Try walking in a gardas shoes saturday night in a busy town or in a nurses shoes in a&e or attending a fire with the fire service or facing the low of the low in the prison then see if you still think the way you do. I bet you wouldn’t last five minutes.

And if you don’t fancy any of that try going to all of them without any of us there this saturday night and see the chaos that ensues

• You would swear reading that long diatribe that those in the public sector have been totally insulated from the hardships and wage cuts. This is not the case. It never ceases to amaze me the number of people who wax lyrical about the benefits if being employed in the public sector yet when things were going well in the country these very same people wouldn’t dream of such career as it simply wouldn’t have been good enough for them. People should not be vilified for the career choices they make.

• So people who work in the emergency services don’t have sick family / loved ones that suffer from these cuts too? How dare you presume to know what goes on in my life and the life of others in my line of work. I’ve been hit with every cut they have thrown (pay cuts, pension levy, USC, tax increases etc). Everything everyone else has been hit with. I took out a huge mortgage during the boom (like many) and am just about managing to scrape by. So don’t presume to talk down to me and say that I, and my colleagues, haven’t done our part. I have and I will continue to do so. But take any more of my wages and I won’t have a choice, I won’t be able to pay my mortgage! Which, by the way, means a p45 for me as I can be sacked for falling into bankruptcy.
      You’re right. The strongest will survive… but that ain’t the frontline workers

• You certainly have the bit between the teeth lads. Look after yourselves.

• Lots of aggressive people on this thread. I won’t offer an opinion for fear of being castigated as being a banker, builder or god help us a politician but I would ask people to be less abusive and show maturity and understanding to other people’s opinions.

• Ok. Back to work now lads.

• When I say the word ‘members’ it is almost as irritating as ‘entitlements’. Union speak.

• Why?
      If something is an entitlement then it is an entitlement – just as being represented by an association or union makes you a member.

• looking at P J Stone on the news, I feel sick and ask the question what did he and his group do to stop the gravey train hitting the wall . The answer is clear not their duty to the people and country,. leaving out the medical people and the prison service , you lot controlled and regulated our down fall while the train was allowed roll on,.

• We can’t afford our public service. Negotiate or legislate. Either way, just get it done…

• Public sector looking to hold the taxpayer ransom yet again.

• There needs to be cuts for one of the best paid public sector in the world..and a reverse in benchmarking. Take your chance in the private sector..with job losses and massive paycuts. Remember we pay well for your wages and protected handsomely publically fundedpensions. We’can’t take anymore! Cut priveleged public pay and pensions..protect the most vulernable and preserve welfare payments!!

• Willie 18/02/13 #

Pay for my wages and pension eh, any chance you’d consider a top up cause their fairly pathetic.
      This may shock you but people in the public service actually pay tax too. In fact last time I checked it was a substantial amount. As for pensions well we pay a large amount towards those punters as well.
      Don’t give me that private sector shite, is this the same sector through its unchecked and unmitigated greed caused this whole mess. Is that the sector you refer to?
      Between rogue bankers, builders and developers they have managed to flush this countries economy down the can. If we are generalising allow me, I have friends in the private sector who have taken no wage cuts since this mess began. In fact their wages have increased handsomely. None of them have list their jobs and apart from an increase in taxes it’s pretty much life as normal, strangely they all work in financial services. Sure isn’t it the same throughout the private sector. Now that’s some good generalising.

• To John Casey. Do you think we get our pensions for free? That we don’t contribute up to 7.5% of our gross wages to our pension or in private sector terms an equilivent of 15% of net wage. Would you like to see the American version of Health care? ie: private insurance or sling your hook. Would you like to have private security companies acting as Police? Would you prefer private Firefighters companies that would only respond if you had the right insurance cover?
      You want first world emergency services but only want to pay third world prices. You take all these services for granted but take them away and see how long you last before you are screaming to get them back at any cost.

• A Gardai colleague was told by an individual that “my dole pays your wages” a woman on this has said office workers are the most important people in the hospital ! I think that the culture has developed preression that if you sit in an office you are king/queen and a welfare culture developed! Why aren’t we getting these people to work on community de elopement for there benefits ! Firefighters paramedics Gardai and nurses don’t have that attitude ! We try and make this country safer

• Mick, you should of been on the podium. Who dragged the stone out from under his platinum rock. He could of stayed in the toothpaste. Any wonder you lads have a fight on your hands.

• This site is,alas,frequented disproportionately by public sector whingers, not representative of majority opinion. There will be widespread resistance and goodwill lost by disruptive industrial action. That target €1 billion saving must be attained.

• Willie 18/02/13 #

I think you’ll find the silent majority are strongly in favour of front line services.
      Me personally I’m appalled at them, imagine the cheek of asking for a fair days pay for a fair days work. I mean it’s unbelievable. Sure aren’t they lucky to have a job.

• John a large number of the public support the Frontline staff on this issue . It is not even a public v private debate as you seem to think in other comments. I previously was employed in 2 factory jobs where we got shift allowance and a premium for sat and Sunday work. So you see these things are not confined to the public sector. Now that you know this fact are you going to suggest that shift workers in private sector should have their allowances cut in an effort to lower wages and increase profit of the employer. I doubt that would be the case as these are well earned allowances in both sectors and are paid across much of the global economies. Most of the public servants I know joined when it was not fashionable to do so were mocked by many in the private sector who earned multiples of public sector wages in the boom. This was a choice made consciously at the time with job security in mind but nowadays job security won’t pay the bills and for that matter neither will good will. Proposals to reduce the wage bill including incentivised career breaks were proposed but the govt will not allow savings from this count towards the target. They want it everyway and are afraid to take on the wealthy or welfare cheats. FG balked when Labour wanted to have a USC rate for those earning over 100k, failed bankers and politicians are getting exorbitant pensions, excessive rates of pay to current banking chiefs despite a salary cap that is ignored oh but I forgot you have to pay for the best, we heard that chestnut before. County managers earning in excess of premiers of European countries. All these excesses and they want to hit the easy Target of the frontline workers not this time

• Well they had better rethink how it will be attained my friend because the 24/7 alliance will go to the wall for this one. You watch. I and my fellow front line workers will make history with this one and don’t particularly care about you suit and ties’ opinion. Your stupidity and opinion won’t pay my bills no feed my children. We are going to look after our own this time. The country hasn’t yet seen a reaction like this one. You go ahead and eat your cake.

• Willie 19/02/13 #

That’s the danger, this government are poking a sleeping bear on this issue. One with the capacity to close this country down.
      Personally I think this kind of drastic action goes against the core values of every frontline worker. However in saying that it would be a fool that does not recognise or thinks that they will allow themselves be abused and run into the ground. Be it rightly held (I believe it is) or wrongly held these people feel they have paid their share and carried the burden, whilst others have carried on untouched. They are extremely angry, they have a lot of power and they are mobilising.
      Kenny and co should tread carefully lest they and all if us reap what this government sows.

• Frontline service workers are nothing special and some of the best paid workers from the public purse..with job security and priveleged gold plated pensions. You you have no support from the silent majority!!

• Willie 18/02/13 #

Gold plated pensions??
      John you are either incredibly stupid or a troll. Do you honestly think a nurse, firefighter or a Gardai are on gold plated pensions. Step away from the Sunday independent and back to reality kid.

• You should have stayed silent John, rather than displaying your ignorance.

• John Casey if you ever have a cardiac arrest in your home or are trapped in your car after an accident or require a surgical intervention from an Advanced Paramedic you can guarantee we won’t be failing you and you will have our support! You show me how paramedics on family support supplement or graduate nurses that could be working for €7.89 ph are overindulged! You show me any job in the private sector that carrys similar risks to there lives that pay less than 25 k a security contractor in Iraq or Afghanistan gets 100,000 a paramedic in the Middle East can earn up to 75 k privately ! Intact Australia pays and recruits Irish cops, nurses and guards and pays them a hell of a lot more then over here! I welcome you to come to my station and il show your the ” realities” of life in the emergency services!

Add New Comment