TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Gallagher extends lead in latest Áras opinion polls

The final Sunday Business Post poll before polling gives Seán Gallagher a 14-point lead over Michael D Higgins.

Sean Gallagher is now a firm favourite to win Thursday's election, holding a 14-point lead in the week before polling.
Image: Tony Kinlan

THE LATEST PRESIDENTIAL opinion polls have put Sean Gallagher firmly on course to become the next President of Ireland, holding a 14-point lead over Labour’s Michael D Higgins.

A Red C poll, to be published in tomorrow’s Sunday Business Post just four days before polling, shows Gallagher as having gained one percentage point on his showing from last week, standing on 40 per cent.

Labour’s Michael D Higgins drops one point to 26 per cent, and now stands 14 points behind his main rival, though he remains comfortably in second place, with double the share of third-placed Martin McGuinness on 13 per cent.

David Norris overtakes Fine Gael’s Gay Mitchell to come into four place, gaining three points to move to 10 per cent, as Mitchell’s support continues to fall – he loses another 2 points to stand on 6.

The two female candidates remain at the bottom, though their order has reversed – Dana Rosemary Scallon’s support rises one point to 3 per cent, while Mary Davis falls to just 2 per cent.

The sampling for this week’s Red C poll was carried out between Tuesday and Thursday of this week. It showed that only 10 per cent of voters are undecided.

A second poll, published in the Sunday Times and carried out by Behaviour and Attitudes, also leaves Gallagher in the lead – in that poll, he holds a 38-26 lead over Higgins, while McGuinness stands third on 17.

In that poll, Gay Mitchell is on 8, David Norris on 6, Mary Davis on 3 and Dana Rosemary Scallon on 2. Similarly, only 10 per cent of voters have not decided who to vote for.

Referenda

The Sunday Times’ poll also asks voters for their intentions on this week’s referenda – showing 87 per cent of voters in support of the referendum on judicial pay, compared to 8 per cent against and 5 per cent undecided.

76 per cent of voters in favour of the referendum on Oireachtas enquiries, while 18 per cent are opposed to it and 6 per cent undecided.

The improvement in Gallagher’s performance comes in spite of renewed focus on his status as a member of Fianna Fáil’s national executive, and increased media scrutiny on his business affairs.

It also comes despite what many had perceived to be a poor showing in last week’s RTÉ Prime Time debate – which had taken place after the polling in the last comparable SBP poll published last weekend.

Bookmakers Paddy Power have already slashed their odds on Gallagher now taking the position – despite rival Boylesports deciding to pay out on Higgins earlier this week.

Gallagher’s odds have now been cut to 1/5 – from 4/1 – while Higgins has been cut to 7/2. The remaining candidates are priced at 50/1 or better – indicating that the bookmakers now believe the election to firmly be a two-horse race.

Lesser-performing candidates now face a significant battle to reach the 12.5 per cent of the vote they will need in order to reclaim some of their election expenses.

Candidates must reach that threshold at any count in the election in order to qualify for a refund of their expenses, which is capped at €200,000.

Sunday Business Post/Red C opinion poll:

(Standing in last week’s SBP poll in brackets)
[Standings in Red C/Paddy Power poll from October 6 in square brackets]

• Sean Gallagher 40 (39) [21]
  • Michael D Higgins 26 (27) [25]
  • Martin McGuinness 13 (13) [16]
  • David Norris 10 (7) [14]
  • Gay Mitchell 6 (8) [10]
  • Dana Rosemary Scallon 3 (2) [5]
  • Mary Davis 2 (4) [9]

Sunday Times/Behaviour & Attitudes opinion poll:

• Sean Gallagher 38
  • Michael D Higgins 26
  • Martin McGuinness 17
  • Gay Mitchell 8
  • David Norris 6
  • Mary Davis 3
  • Dana Rosemary Scallon 2

More: Have Presidential opinion polls this late ever been wrong?

Read: Gallagher denies being ‘secret FF candidate’ during radio debate

Read: Voting for Mitchell or Higgins is ‘comfort blanket for bailouts’, says McGuinness

In full: TheJournal.ie’s coverage of the Race for the Áras >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (187 Comments)

• You know it’s time to throw in the towel when you’re polling below Dana. Mary Davis has more chance of becoming the face of Special K at this stage!

• We are a wonderful people we don’t hold a grudge for long. Welcome back to the fold FF ( SG).
    I know a TD has to resign his seat if he is declared bankrupt, what happens with the president, does the country pay off his dept…..Just asking.

• The Stockholm Syndrome: secretly, unconsciously, the Irish people love Fianna Fail, despite (or perhaps because of) how much they have been hurt by them.

• Is this country cracking up?

A FF leech, that if he did get the gig, would no doubt have all the hupyaboya brigade online and off, shouting and roaring, reminding us that they “haven’t gone away, you know”?

An individual who, together with his partner, took eight hundred grand out of a failing company, while getting a similiar sum in grants from you and me? A self portrayed farmer, who said he bought twenty acres (in fact it was eight, and purchased by his father-and never farmed by Gallagher)? A self professed youth worker (i.e. OgraFF)? A non political person, who joined the National Executive of Fianna Fail to change policy, but then admitted on air that they had nothing to do with policy? An independent candidate who resigned from a political party, except he didn’t? A non party man, who yet found time to whip up attendees for a five grand a head bash for Biffo, and to launch the campaigns of four FF candidates? A person who claims partial blindness, yet can use smartphones, laptops, and drive a VW Toureag? A man who claimed this week on his website that he was opening the Wexford Opera Festival, despite that duty falling, according to the organisers themselves, to one E. Kenny, Taoiseach? An entrepreneur with a list of failed business and suspect “loans” behind him, who charges €500 quid for a coaching session, and spends half of it supping pints in a hotel lobby, and the other half spouting banal cliches?

Really?

• Please god no.

• The greatest swindle ever pulled by FF is pretending they don’t have a candidate on this election. Sean Gallagher is keyser Soze!

• 22/10/11 #

impressive result maybe, but completely at odds with how UNimpressive he is. I cant believe it. I just cant believe he could be so popular. what is wrong with this country!

• It would make you despair. Hopefully these polls, like the ones 14 years ago, will prove to be off the wall.

• cannot understand why he’s so popular, I’ll eat my hat if he gets elected

• can’t believe I’m saying this, but as Gay Mitchell often prattles on, poll results can be meaningless…remember adi roche blah blah blah. I actually hope he is right! (but not in such a way that it would favour him). I’m just amazed people have been sucked in by this FF tooligan. Do his sham dealings not to do anything to disuade the nation? God, the THOUGHTS of him at the helm of 1916 centenary celebrations.

• Haha tooligan! love it!

• Well I don’t want either to win, but if it comes down to a choice between a failed entrepreneur or a dodgy poet who insulted an American president and backs a terrorist organisation in Hamas, which is closely aligned to America’s enemy Iran, I know which one I’d rather represent us on the world stage at a time the country needs as many friends as it can get. I suspect that’s the reason he is doing so well, he may be unimpressive, he may be FF in disguise but at least he isn’t MDH. That shows an intelligent electorate.

• Baffling! Are people really that easily duped?

• This is Bertie without hair – cute xxxxx he threatened to sue trhe Enterprise Board who gave him 650,000 Euro over the years. Last year he got 125,000 for patents????? FF and the Galway tent. Who gave this guy 125,000 at a time when people have no light and gas. All his businesses were state funded and where are the companies now? He seems to be doing well while the taxpayer gave him money for start ups and now he wants the taxpayer to put a bigger roof over his bald head.

• And the patents themselves are bullshit, I’m a sparks myself, and someone linked to them on p.ie, so I had a look.

They are utterly meaningless, but I gather they garner financial benefit, be it through tax exemptions, or as you say, as part of a grant application.

• It’s over for Mitchell and Davis on those numbers. Little more than Transfer Fodder, and on those numbers They’ll fail to reach the 12.5% needed to get back their expenses. Norris will struggle to reach the 12.5% threshold, but will probably get there on the day. Martin will come 3rd, and will have increased the SF vote along the way while also raising the Party’s profile before the Euro/Local Elections in 2014. It’s between Gallagher and Higgins, I still think Higgins will do it on Tranfers.

• Really can’t believe 40% of people are going to vote for him. I don’t think I’ve even spoken to forty people that will.

• I can’t understand this result. Not a soul I have talked to is voting for Gallagher. Does anyone know where these polls are carried out and how many people are asked? Also, is there a percentage for “haven’t decided”? How embarssing would it be for Ireland on an international level to have elected a Fianna Failer builder, considering the state of the country and what got us here.

• Hard to see Gallagher not winning #aras11 on those numbers. Mitchell vote shows that Feb vote was anti FF not pro FG. Disaster for them.

• It shows that they can’t rely on their supporters to just vote for any candidate. FG’s Feb vote was NOT anti-FF however. People had ample choice between FG, Lab, SF, Greens, PBP, Socialist, Independents and others. They chose Fine Gael !

• No, David. People agreed with the majority of the steps that FF were taking to solve the economic crisis, but felt that they shouldn’t be the ones to take them (and it takes no genius to imagine why). Look at the support levels that Enda Kenny has as Taoiseach, despite the fact that he is carrying out the program negotiated by Brian Lenihan with the troika…

• What was he supposed to do, tell them to shag off?

It’s not as if we need the money to keep the Health service or the Social Welfare offices open or anything…

• Alan; Very strange comment. Sounds very anti Fine Gael. A bit of “hiding from the truth”!

Running a Fine Gael candidate for anything is not a set in stone winner. Many Fine Gael candidates in the General Election didn’t make it, many did. They are now in government and remain the most popular party based on all opinion polls. They have a leader (I hate that word) who was the least popular and is now the most popular. He made a lot of gaffs and wasn’t great on the awl box in the run up to the election, but doesn’t seem to be doing badly now. Based on all of that, it seems clear that it was more than an “anti-FF” vote.

Running a government candidate, regardless of party, is not a guaranteed winner in any form of election. At least not here in Ireland. We have a Fianna Fail candidate winning this election now, but only because he went Independent. He is beating Sinn Feins candidate, who are (according to one poll) the second most popular party (shudder at the thought). It says more about the fact McGuiness cant beat a Fianna Fail candidate, or a government candidate despite being the fourth party in the Dail and having the most popular leader for a period who constantly heckle and claim they have the best alternative (usually offering nothing).

Your point would only be valid if the opinion polls were favouring anybody but Fine Gael since the election. Plus, as David said, people choose them over every other party and candidate.

It might be a bit of a blow, but its far from a disaster.

Fiachra; I very much doubt that anybody supported how Fianna Fail were working in government. People were furious with how they handled things, how they lied, and how they looked after themselves and did feck all else. I think Fianna Fail wouldn’t have handled running of the government any better, or the same, as Fine Gael. People are really annoyed that Fine Gael are doing these savage cuts and taking more from their pay but they have no choice and people are understanding that. They trust them, as they have done in the past, to get Ireland out of the crisis that they are in.

Id count Labour, but they seem to be more lap dogs and doing mostly what there told. It seems to be mostly Fine Gael running the ship, with Labour watching and making their own recommendations.

• Today i am officially embarrassed to be Irish. How can my fellow countrymen and women can be duped by this man Sean Gallagher. He spouts his mantra of creating jobs. Wake up people he Will only be a bloody figurehead. I just cannot fathom why people are voting for this man. We all know this an is a Fianna fail candidate in all but name. His wife then talks about having babies in the aras and everyone has collective ahhh’s and isn’t that nice. Have we not learnt of what14years of f.f. has done to our country? By all means vote for him and you’ll see bertie and the cronies back from under the rocks they belong quicker than you can say bank bailout.

• People are quite capable of deciding who to vote for just as you are and they don’t have to apologise to anyone for that. What gives anyone the right to question other people’s choices? I am glad that there people out there who aren’t depending on some elements in the media and those dirt raking for their information.

• oh yeah, that near made me sick, the poor kid isn’t even conceived yet and it’s being sold down the river for a swipe at power- shame on gallagher & wife! how low can you get.

• Fianna fail in the Aras, fucking unbelievable!!

• This poll was taken before Sean Gallagher cited the Fr. Ted “the money was only resting in my account” excuse on Morning Ireland.

The Indo’s exposition today that, far from being an astute capitalist entrepreneur, he was in effect a well-heeled addict to state benefits and took €830k in state handouts,a form of Galway Tent Social Welfare if you will, to prop up a business that was based on a speculative housing bubble and the fallout of this property bubble bursting caused abject misery for people and bankrupted our country.

I think people realise this now as the poll on Politico has Michael D Higgins and Martin McGuinness polling ahead.

Before Seanie Gallagher’s business effectively collapsed amidst the rubble of the housing bubble, Seanie G, in true Fianna Fail tradition, happily gorged on the trough paying himself and his partner a whopping €860k as the economy crashed and the property bubble collapsed.
    Hundreds of thousands of Irish homes are now trapped in negative equity and choking on a massive debt that they will never be able to repay, whilst the banks, property developers and friends of Fianna Fail cashed in like cowboys at the expense of the suffering public.

Seanie G knew full well how toxic the Fianna Fail brand was so cleverly positioned himself as an independent candidate, which was a pragmatic marketing decision.

If he has an entrepreneurial spirit as he would lead you to believe, why isn’t he setting up a new business instead of looking for a cushy state-funded job that comes with plush social housing?

The people of Ireland are smart and patriotic and they will know on polling day that to vote for Fianna Fail cronyism is to inexorably doom our country to economic destruction and we will become an international laughing stock,

Do you really want to see Micheal Martin, Brian Cowen and Bertie Ahern and the rest of the boys from the Fianna Fail Galway races tent popping champagne corks in The Aras celebrating the win of their candidate, Sean Gallagher?

• @Will Lynch – Just on a point of information, polling was carried out between Tuesday and Thursday, would have included Thursday’s Irish Independent report and Gallagher’s subsequent response on Morning Ireland.

• CMD 22/10/11 #

Willynch maybe u have been on your holidays since last February but I have lived in ireland and I have only seen more cutbacks, broken promises, and fat cat “advisors” and friends of Fine Gael/Labour gorging themselves at our expense receiving hugely inflated salaries (despite FG promises) while most of us are saddled with debt we will never be able to repay, begging for basic social welfare entitlements same as under FF. And their candidates for the Aras are employing media guras to dig the dirt on other candidates. Maybe the reason why SG is doing well is because he has refused to allow himself to be dragged down to gutter level like them. PS. Hope you are still around in 4 or so years time when the next general election is imminent. I will be interested to see your comments then. But then a lot of folk will be reading these blogs from NY or NSW cos if u r expecting this government to create jobs god love u. You’ll be waiting.

• To summarise wills post…… Sean gallagher is stock fianna fail

• @Gavan. This makes the poll results even more depressing!! :(

• I was surprised by Gallagher hitting 39% last week, but not by him maintaining his lead this week. Higgins’ decision to attack him directly was a miscalculation – he should have stood back, stayed aloof and let the media and other candidates do the dirty work. Instead he came across as conceited and pompous. I really can’t understand how Mary Davis is behind Dana – I suppose a fair amount of Gallagher number 1s probably go number 2 for Davis, which is scant compensation… I think the Higgins vs Gallagher contest comes down to is not any great political or ideological differences but simply that more people can identify with Gallagher than Higgins.

• Todays Cork Evening Echo carries a story with Cork FF TD Billy Kelleher saying that while he is not endorsing SG, he thinks SG is an “exceptional” candidate whose message of hope was similar to that of Barack Obama.
    Wow!
    It goes on to say that the former Dragons Den judge delivered a rallying call to supporters of the TD last FEBRUARY prior to the general election,when Kellrher was in danger of losing his seat.
    Independent candidate my arse!

• Gallagher leading the polls
    It’s great to see we Irish have learned our lesson
    We are still voting for the most corrupt in the race.

• Jimmy D 22/10/11 #

If polls are capable of swinging so wildly then who knows maybe David can make it – wishful thinking maybe but he is a good candidate despite how erratic he has been in his media performances

• Despite his denials Gallagher is still very much a Fianna Fail muppet. What short memories we as a people have. Shame on anyone who votes for him.

• Genuinely amazed he is still polling so strong. I really don’t get it. A vacuous candidate. It’ll be a very disappointing result if the poll predictions come to pass. He can’t deliver jobs. He should stop saying he will.

• The new Bertie?

• Still don’t understand how this joker is polling so high! Seriously, can someone explain the appeal to me?

• Dont we Irish ever learn. Seannie is FF in all but name. We are going to put a F Failure into the Aras….shame on you all. I give up.

• I’m a bit sick of this crap. Mary McAleese ran on a FF ticket and the Irish people can’t seem to praise her enough. So what’s with the double standards when it comes to Sean Gallagher? Is it because the Irish people have fallen out of love with FF so therefore anyone associated with them should be labelled as “toxic”? The Presidency isn’t a political role. Gallagher won’t be deciding on government policy.

By the way I’m not a supporter of Gallagher or FF before anyone implies I have some sort of bias.

• I think it might be to do with the swindlng FF bastards drunk at the wheel that sailed a tanker into our society.

• She may have been a FF candidate but she certainly wasn’t a FF gombeen like this chancer.This guy was not and is not some lowly FF footsoldier either.

• Just goes to prove that the nation will never move forward and will always swallow what they are fed.

Anybody but SF to spite common sense good on you all.

Gallagher is the weakest candidate, who is he, what has he done bar line his pockets in the good times by rubbing elbows with his FF pals. He’s the exact example of what was wrong with Ireland and what is still wrong today.

Our president should be a symbol of Ireland and what we all stand for. Gallagher only dirties the good work of our recent presidents. Higgins is the man, if you are anti SF not this plank.

• Only a few weeks ago people were ending statements about Gallagher with, “…but it doesn’t matter because he hasn’t a hope”. The results of this election should be interesting.

• Bazza 23/10/11 #

Trying to look at this objectively, surely one has to look at Gallagher and ask a few questions;

Why is he so reluctant to talk about his central role in FF ?

Where did all the money go that was grant-aided to his company (during FF time in power…) ?

How many companies has this ‘entrepreneur’ actually opened ? (ans = 1, I believe)

Beyond the empty rhetoric what is he offering as a candidate ?

If one cared about the destruction of our country in the last 5 years, it is very hard not to believe Gallagher had his snout in the trough, and had a level of culpability in the FF decision-making that has us where we are.

Personally I haven’t made up my mind on my number 1 yet, however I know that Gallagher will be in the bottom 2 or 3 on the ballot paper, along with McGuinness.

• The women candidates only getting 5% of the vote! Funny how I keep hearing people say that a man should get it this time. Can’t see the reasoning behind that but it seems to have sunk in with a lot of people, or that Dana and Davis are just both totally out of their depths :P

• It’s very arrogant and egotistical of some people here, a vote is a vote regardless of someones intelligence, look at Libya be grateful for your vote, many have died trying to secure it.

• I completely agree with you. For someone who for starters isn’t prepared to show either her name or her face, to make such a statement about why others vote in a certain way or that they are somehow inferior in intelligence is a bit rich. I am so glad that this extremist isn’t running for any elections where he or she could have any influence.

• All I know is I will definitely be voting for David Norris
    listened to the debate on radio with Charlie Bird and presidential candidates. When Gay Mitchell was asked if he would act as a grand marshall at a gay parade, he responded by saying if he was capable of visiting an ‘Ann Summers’ sex shop, he would have no problem being a grand marshall of a gay parade in Dublin. This guy is an absolute ‘Homophobe’ through and through, as innate as the day is long. He understands nothing about a person’s identity as if David Norris went and fought a case with Mary Robinson that equates with a sex shop. When David Norris took him to task, he accused David of intolerance and that he wouldn’t put up with it. ???????????? I can’t tell you how upsetting this is that this guy can get away with making such a homophobic statement and be unchallenged in a third level educational setting.
    At least we know Dana’s colours but the ideology of Fine Gael as represented in the views of an Irish Prime Minister, (Enda Kenny) their presidential candidate, (Gay Mitchell) and their junior minister of foreign affairs (Lucinda Creighton) are homophobic. Even Tony Blair got rid of his ministers who held such views, (can’t remember her name – Ruth Kelly?) and as well the EU had to backtrack before appointing someone to an important position. Why? Because UK citizens/media demanded Blair’s minister’s resignation. And, collectively EU political pressure made them think twice before appointing someone who held views contrary to justice and equality. Obviously, Ireland still tolerates. Charlie Bird and the other candidates never challenged Mitchell – in the UK this would not be acceptable and the US

• Jimmy I’m sorry, I’m not a fan of gay Mitchell, far from it, nor am I a fan of David Norris, but when did the presidential debate turn into who s a homophobe and who s not. I am sick and tired of the same ole predictable rubbish from Norris fans. For supporters and a candidate who wants equality so much you constantly seem to be the ones complaining and twisting people’s words to make yourselves different. And before I’m accused of being a homophobe alot of friends I have who happen to be gay agree with that sentiment. Just cause someone disagrees with David spoofer Norris doesn’t make them homophobic so stop trying to insinuate. And Ann summers is a lingerie store, not a sex shop, cop on!

• Jimmy D 22/10/11 #

Diarmaid, given the ignorance of your views, it is not my responsibility to educate you or bring you up to speed on what constitutes homophobia. How dare you suggest I twisted Gay Mitchell’s words – listen to it and stop being such a complete spoofer yourself. And by the way, people don’t happen to be gay in the same way as you don’t happen upon your whatever you are – or maybe you think this ‘happening’ can be bought for a gay pride day off a shelf in Anne Summers

• See there you go again. I happen to be a man, I didn’t choose it as a foetus to be male, it just HAPPENED! By me saying that I mean it in the most pc diplomatic way I can suggest that someone has a different sexual preference but obviously you’re too much of a crusader to grasp that given your rather remarkable response. Anyway I’m not going to try justify my very rational argument with someone whose opinions are just as contrived as those who you claim to be so homophobic!

• Jimmy D 22/10/11 #

Diarmaid get a grip – very rational are u for real

• Jimmy D 22/10/11 #

what do you do not understand about homophobia in relation to the specificity of what I said regarding Gay Mitchell’s remarks?

• Jimmy D ” I can’t tell you how upsetting this is that this guy can get away with making such a homophobic statement and be unchallenged in a third level educational setting”

Grow up ffs!People say things we don`t like all the time.

No UK citizens didn`t demand Tony Blair`s resignation.

• its you that needs to cop on if you dont see that most of the fine gael party are homophobic

• Jimmy D 23/10/11 #

As per today’s Independent on Sunday
      “Hate crime towards gay and transgender people is on the rise across Britain, with thousands of people suffering abuse for their sexuality every year. Crimes against transgender people went up by 14 per cent during 2010 and, in some cities, attacks motivated by sexual prejudice are up by as much as 170 per cent annually.
      The rise in homophobic crime in England, Wales and Northern Ireland went from 4,805 offences in 2009 to 4,883 in 2010. Campaigners say the figures are just the “tip of the iceberg” as research suggests three out of four people are still too afraid to report these crimes.
      The police now record any crimes they believe are motivated by homophobia – anything from persistent harassment to serious assault and murder. Experts believe the reason for the increase may be in part because more people feel able to be open about their sexuality, making them easier to be picked out by thugs. Vic Codling, national co-ordinator of the Gay Police Association, said: “People have got more confidence in themselves and, when you get people who are openly gay, that provokes homophobes. There is still stigma in Britain and, if you’re open about your sexuality, that encourages people to take up arms and act on homophobia.”
      The gay rights group Stonewall says there is anecdotal evidence that unprovoked attacks on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people are on the rise. The results can be fatal. The story of 62-year-old Ian Baynham, who was killed by drunken teenagers screaming “Faggot”, while they bludgeoned him to death in London’s Trafalgar Square in September 2009, is one of many. The Independent on Sunday is aware of at least nine people who have been killed by attackers because of their sexuality – or who committed suicide after being bullied – since 2009.
      A growth in more extremist religious views has also contributed to the increase in attacks. A homophobic campaign, launched by extremist Muslims in east London earlier this year, featured stickers declaring the area a “gay-free zone” and that Allah would be “severe in punishment”. “A lot of the problems come when people believe their religion encourages them to be homophobic,” said Mr Codling.
      The rise in recorded attacks may partly be attributable to an increasing willingness among the LGBT community to go to the police and report crime. Police have also been better trained in recording crimes as homophobic, rather than just robberies or muggings.
      The most dramatic increase is in Scotland, where homophobic abuse has risen fivefold in five years, police statistics show. There were 666 crimes against LGBT people recorded in Scotland in 2009/10 – almost double the 365 reported in 2007/08.
      In Oxford, homophobic crimes reported to police rose by more than 170 per cent last year; and in London’s West End, still a focal point for the capital’s gay nightlife, crimes motivated by homophobia increased by 20.9 per cent.
      Experts say a dramatic growth in the number of transgender people seeking medical sex changes has made those born into a different gender more visible and therefore more vulnerable. In 2010, there were 357 incidents of hate crime against transgender people, up 14 per cent from 2009. The number of people medically changing their sex is growing at a rate of around 15 per cent every year: 1,200 people now undergo gender realignment procedures annually.
      Bernard Reed, of the Gender Identity Research and Education Society, said: “The more people who feel the need to reveal their condition, the more people put themselves at risk. Our research shows 90 per cent of transgender people do not report abuse, so this is the tip of a very large iceberg. Society’s acceptance and understanding of trans people is up to 20 years behind LGB; we know people who are spat at every day.”
      While numbers of reported incidents rise, police forces nationwide are closing down specialist LGBT liaison officer posts in response to budget cuts.
      Sam Dick, of the charity Stonewall, believes the problem starts in school. “I think there’s a misconception that because the laws have changed, social attitudes towards gay people have changed. But it’s clear that people are leaving school feeling that homophobia and violent homophobia is acceptable: 17 per cent of gay students who have experienced homophobic bullying have received death threats. It’s clear this behaviour is going on in schools unchallenged.”
      Lynne Featherstone, the Equalities minister, said: “Targeting a person purely because of gender identity or sexual orientation is a shameful act and will not be tolerated. We are working with the police to improve our response to hate crime. For the first time, forces are recording data centrally, which will help target resources more effectively and better protect victims. Everyone should have the freedom to live without fear of hostility or harassment.”
      Case studies…
      Rachel Maton, 56
      Egham, Surrey
      Rachel has suffered systematic abuse since she began her sex change in 2007
      “I became a target because I’m transgender. Youths would pelt my house with eggs, smash my windows and shout at me. One day, I was hit from behind and the lights went out. Then they set upon me. My nose was smashed flat and I couldn’t breathe. Now I’m careful not to get in a vulnerable position.”
      Chas Anderson, 20
      East London
      Chas, a former model, was assaulted in April outside a gay bar in Clapham
      “My partner and I were queuing at a cash point after leaving the bar when a group started making abusive comments. They started saying the shorts I was wearing looked ridiculous, and one of them said that because I was gay, I deserved to be dead. Next thing, a man punched me in the face and I fell to the ground. There was a lot of blood and I had to go to hospital. The police said there had been a spike in similar incidents at the time in Clapham and south London.”
      My response
      Yet we are told by those who want to prematurely foreclose in the idea that sexual inequality is no longer and those who focus on stories as written for example by Independent on Sunday journalists are living in the past. My suggestion, is that those who want to foreclose have a very suspicious agenda. For example, In Dublin, yesterday, when a senior Euro politician, Gay Mitchell who is running for the Irish presidency said on Radio One yesterday if he was able to enter a lingerie shop surely he would accept an invitation to be grand marshal at an Irish Gay Pride Parade. Is it any wonder that transgender people are the victim of hate crimes. Mitchell’s comment was in response to a question from the audience in DCU. Interestingly, it fell to David Norris to take exception to such comments. Michael D and other presidential remained silent, and of course, it didn’t register with Charlie Bird either. Basically, our media and our presidential candidates with the exception of David Norris have no radar when it comes to homophobic comments. In the UK, this type of remark would have led to a nuclear storm, probably ably led by representatives like Peter Thatchell, demanding Mitchell’s resignation. In Ireland, those who protest too much like David Norris are bullied by people like Gay Mitchell that if he is accused of being a homophobe when he equates a person’s identity with a lingerie shop, he, Gay Mitchell, will not stand for it. And the rest of them in DCU remained silent. ‘Coz Its okay and what are you getting all excited for’.
      A further point from Wiki re Gay Mitchell reads “On the 12th August 2011 in a radio interview with Pat Kenny when asked for his views on same-sex marriage, Mr Mitchell said he did not want to do anything that “weakens marriage” but had supported civil partnership. In 2004 Mitchell defended Italian MEP Rocco Buttiglione’s remarks when he referred to homosexuality as a sin.
      Mitchell has been questioned as to whether or not he is a member of the European Catholic group Dignitatis Humanae Institute, which he denied on the same radio interview with Pat Kenny, however according to Benjamin Harnwell, the institute’s founding chairman Mitchell helped formulate the charter that became the institute’s declaration. In the same interview Mitchell was also asked whether or not he is a member of the Iona Institute (who reject the notion of same-sex marriages), which he also denied, however in September 2007, he did host a conference (The Fragmenting Family) on behalf of the Iona Institute.”
      This guy has the unqualified support of our Prime Minister, Enda Kenny.
      Ireland

• In case you haven`t noticed Jimmy D you`re not in the UK.

• If this FF’er wins the presidential election, we must surely, as an electorate, be the dumbest on the planet.

• Its a bit like who wants to be a millionaire. You don’t know the right choice but choose one via process of elimination. MDH and GM are disasters – FG made huge mistake on Mitchell. DN and MMG are untrustworthy and the two ladies are for the birds. That’s why Sean is on 40%

• @John…describe one legitimate way in which Michael D is a disaster. And don’t just tell me he’s too old, because that has nothing to do with it…

• @ Robert Michael D has now been in 4 or 5 debates that I have seen/heard and he has said nothing which would inspire the electorate. There’s no doubt he’s a nice man but this is only a retirement home job for him. He’ll be 80 by term end so I think that has to play a part in it. There was so much expected of him and he is failing to inspire the people. We need a youthful president who is capable of traveling abroad regularly and bringing business to Ireland not an old man that wants to play golf and read the paper.

• This from the man who was championing Michael O Muircheartaigh a few weeks ago?

• @ John
      Pretty pathetic response there.

• Fieldo 22/10/11 #

The Aras is a retirement home. It’s better than a big FF tent.

• A cute hoor is right. Bleating on about promoting job creation, just telling a nation what they need to hear to deflect from his lame political cv. They are all dire. But il take a boring Higgins over the rest of them. At least he has plentiful experience and won’t make a complete show of us.

• the elite of Ireland need one of their own in the aras be they from the current government parties or fianna fail so these polls will always have one of their favourites in poll position. no one in the media has asked the candidates what they think of the dire state our health and education systems. issues that are really relevant now as well as unemployment.

• Boylesports paid out on Micheal D,Bookies rarely wrong

• I see some of Seanie’s drones are among us, red thumbing away.

• Anybody with an opinion is one of seanie’s boys or a FF preacher according to you. It must be difficult for you to understand but our ancestors fought for freedom so that we could vote and have opinions. Perhaps you might like to live in places such as Burma or Cuba where opinions are streamlined with orders. We live in a democracy and are entitled to our views without your rubbish suggestions and smearing.

• John. Is Ryan not entitled to have his views (even if is biased -like everyone’s political view) just as you are entitled to yours? It strikes me that your comment is the less democratic one?

• @ David I respect your point but having a biased political opinion is very different from smearing and casting aspersions on people who vary in views. My comment is based not just on this comment from Ryan but following through this entire article.

• @John It didn’t read like that to me but your follow up point is fair enough – although I can’t say if I agree with your point about Ryan, I haven’t been following his posts. I’m anti-FF not anti- Gallagher. My own personal view is that there’s enough evidence to say that hes FF. But that’s for everyone else to make up their own mind about.

• @ John.
      Who’s Mr.Burns ?

• It’s very believable. Mary McAleese was A Fianna Fail candidate and has been in the Aras for the past 14 years. And what a representative for Fianna Fail and all the people of this island she has been!

• It’s not just FF, and well you know it-it’s the fact that Gallagher is just the type of spoofer that thrived in FF during the last couple of decades. FF as a party is one thing, and they got their answer in the polls. Gallagher is quite another, as slippery as the snake oil he’s been peddling since his Damascene conversion. I gather he hasn’t attended a cumann meeting in, oh, weeks now!

Anyone drawing comparisons between McAleese and Gallagher would want their head examined. And I say that as someone who thinks she has been over rated at times.

• The Fianna Fail propaganda machine seems to be working overtime or else we’ve a bigger amount of fools in Ireland then I thought.
    Mary Davis and special K – creepy.

• Have you read in Independent how Gallagher offered 500 eur 2 hour business advice for young chap starting sweets business? I am not sure if that wasn’t any stunt to discredit him, but if not then you must be mad to vote for him. Either way article left bad taste…

• Im voting Martin Mc Guinness,thats all i hear most people in the area telling me.I have already meet two people who say they are voting Mc Guinness even though they are in other political parties.RTE and these polls are owned by the wealthy elites.

• If Gallagher is elected
    What odds is paddy power given that he will be forced to resign within 12 months due to his past dealings

• dark forces at work

• I wont be voting for Gallagher or Higgins or Mitchell,…Gallagher failed business man ex FFer…Mitchell and Higgins are part of the establishment who were elected on false promises to the people…I didn’t vote for them
    then and I certainly wont vote for them now!!
    As they say..You get the government you deserve.

• So if I don’t vote for norris I’m a homophobe, if I don’t vote for mcguinness I’m a west Brit, if I vote for Gallagher I’m a FF lover and an idiot and vote for higgins I’m part of the establishment. Since I’m voting for Gallagher and Higgins (and no one else) that makes me a west Brit FF loving idiotic homophobe who’s part of the establishment.

Or
    Capable of making up my own mind as I like to see it.

• Process of elimination, moreso than “I love Gallagher”:

1. Dana – never stood a chance but for me, she has a weak, overly emotional personality, is too conservative and too Catholic for me and I think there’s a danger she would embarrass us on the world stage.

2. Mary Davis – considered her early on but after seeing and hearing a number of interviews, I’m just disappointed by her. Seems like a decent woman but has little substance. Her FF board appointments had nothing to do with my decision and I didn’t consider them important.

3. Martin McGuinness – Like I said earlier, I personally don’t think Ireland needs a President, but if we do, the office shouldn’t attract controversy. Every state visit President McGuinness would go on would be dominated, initially anyway, by questions of his IRA past.

4. Gay Mitchell – Boring. Too conservative. Too religious.

5. David Norris – No major issues with Norris to be honest. He came across very badly in interviews and debates and I think the whole “Ireland’s first gay President” thing would wear off very quickly. Overall a good guy but not someone I’d considered voting for at any point.

6. Michael D – I just think he’s in this for a cosy retirement. He’d be uncontroversial certainly but that’s exactly the reason why I’m against the Presidency as an idea.

7. Sean Gallagher – A businessman who benefited from the building boom. Wow. That’s so controversial (!). Yes, he has FF links. But even in FF, there are good people (John McGuinness is another I would admire). I like his message, I like his energy. I like that he has business experience and the fact that he wants to use this to promote a culture of enterprise in schools and communities. I think he’d be a very different President than any we’ve seen to date.

• This was in response to Ryan Murphy’s question to my earlier post, sorry.

• Simon – thanks for writing that.
      I’ve been intrigued as to how the majority of people on the journal are so anti Gallagher, especially considering who he’s running against.

• If FF get the presidency I’m going to be physically sick. If it happens then we truly do deserve everything we get. FF should be wiped out for what they did to this country. Anyone but FF please Ireland. Lets Have some respect for ourselves ;-(

• cian 22/10/11 #

Getting a position on the laois enterprise board because of your connection to a political party and then using that position to give your own company grants does not = A businessman who benefited from the building boom. Add that to the fact he has no real substance and no respect for irish culture (ie. changing the national anthem, turning the 1916 centenary into a business expo) and you he loses my vote.

• I was with you from 1 to 6 ;)

To be honest, I know well that Michael D isn’t the best choice we could have had even though he is mine, hell neither is Mitchell. For me it should have been Finlay and Mairead, but there we are.

Yes SG is a FFer, and yes, he did indeed benefit from the boom, but those are arguably less objectionable than some of the other nuggets that have come to light about him of late.

I think we can agree that this election is not exactly an embarrassment of riches.

• Apparently Ireland will never get rid of the FF virus… De Valera was a president of this country until age of 90 and he was from FF. Any of the candidates above is better than a acndidate with scandals like SG…

• The heroic business man sold luxury goods to builders bankers and assorted cads who derived their income dishonestly and paid very little if any tax on it. A cute hoor nothing more. I think we are seeing the urban rural divide emerging once again. He is popular with redneck reactionaries and we do have a lot of those. He is a sort of cross between Daniel o’donnell and mussolini. I suppose the Irish do have a long history of voting for twats. This dickhead brings it to a new low.

• @ David who is the FF candidate? Last I checked they had none and the independents had to get council and oireachtas backing to get their names on the ballot paper. SG is not a FF stalwart, he was never an elected representative. He got involved at a very low grassroots level!!!! Big deal!!!!

• He did yeah.

Sure he was only in charge of Ogra, was on the National Executive, organised secret shindigs at five grand a head for Biffo, launched four election campaigns, was O Hanlon’s gofer, and got Kirk re-elected!

Oh, and got a handy gig on a couple of state boards and the bones of a million in grants-that we know about!

But that’s all, a humble footsoldier!

Typical FF attempt to mislead the people, how dare you!

• @Ryan I’m not a fianna failer and how dare you try to stop me having my opinion. Most of what you said is bull such as he did not organise a secret shindig. If you read a decent quality paper and put down the Irish mirror or daily star you’d know that. Your “facts” are 10% true and 90% stretched, twisted and tabloid-like. Whoever you want to vote for, off you go but don’t dare try to shove your twisted opinions down my throat. And less of the accusations about me personally, you know nothing about me. I am looking at each candidate objectively and will make my own mind up on who to vote for if that’s ok with you Stalin.

• I get very annoyed with Gallagher being painted as the Fianna Fail candidate and that anyone voting for him is an idiot and are somehow less intelligent than those who are voting for Norris, for example.

I have never voted for FF in my entire life. I voted for FG in the general election and wanted a majority FG government. I don’t believe that we need a President in this country, but since we’ll have one, I want one who might actually do something and not treat the place as a retirement home. I believe Mitchell, Norris and Higgins would do exactly that.

I’ll be voting for Sean Gallagher. Don’t like it? Fine. But don’t paint me as a Fianna Fail loving idiot just because you don’t agree.

• And I’m STILL voting for Martin McGuinness.

• i think the polls are wrong i canvass for martin mcguinness in wexford town and only two people have said there voteing for gallagher so i dont know where theses polls are coming from martin mcguinness have alot of support in wexford and this is out of a canvass of 5000 houses

• Just read that link ryan…jesus 

• The reason why people are voting for Gallagher is because all the other candidates are pantomime characters. Though it would be good to send Michael D. to the White House on Paddy day, dressed his Darby O’ Gill leprechaun outfit.

I just read the Norris comments,

“In my opinion, the teacher, the Christian Brother who puts his hand into a boy’s pocket during a history lesson, that is one end of the spectrum but then there’s another, that a person who attacks children of either sex, rape them, brutalise them, and then murder them, that’s quite different.”

Can anyone defend this disguisting comment?

• Isn’t that beyond comprehension? I was sick reading the full interview he gave and it doesn’t matter if it was intentionally released to do him the most damage, the voting public have a right to know what his beliefs are before deciding whether to vote for him or not.

• http://www.politics.ie/forum/irish-presidential-election-2011/173917-seeing-last-red-c-poll-i-am-ashamed-call-myself-irish-sean-gallagher-41-a.html

Not my work, but someone has put a good deal of effort into cataloguing the story so far. It is long, but worth reading, whatever your intentions may be.

• Can’t believe mcguinness is polled in front of Norris.They all have their faults but surely Norris is the only one that has achieved so much to give Ireland’s gay population a standing in society.Ireland has lived in the dark ages with the catholic church keeping everyone under the thumb.He is what we need not someone who is probably mourning the death of a close ally.

• Yes Norris has an excellent record but you forget that he has one of the worst campaign teams ever seen in the history of Irish elections. They have made a mockery of the man. And he has allowed them do it. His campaign team will blame the media, homophobia and just about everything else on a poor result, but most of the blame will lie with themselves. They will have cost Ireland a potentially excellent President but you can’t blame the Irish people for not voting for Norris when you consider the farce that has been his campaign.

• to quote you moggs999, “he is what we need, not someone probably mourning the death of a close ally.”
      what a stupid comment!

• Dermot !!! Making up excuses already !!!!!

• Can`t believe anyone would even think of voting for a candidate who thinks incest is only wrong if a girl could get pregnant.A man who defended his paedophile ex boyfriend and someone who thinks a teacher fondling a childs penis is not too serious.

• Voting for Martin McGuinness myself and so are a lot of people i meet.. Polls smolls

• As I posted earlier that I haven’t spoken to even forty people that are going to vote for SG. Nearly everyone I ask says they will vote McGuinness, so i don’t know where there getting these figures from.

• Good to see the McGuinness supporters holding strong (I am one myself). I won’t start the personal/intelligence attacks on folks that dont support him. Its a democracy. Let everyone have their say and respect the result and the WILL of the people. I personally dont believe the numbers on the polls… something fishy in it … Possibly a deliberate ploy by the media to try and make it a two horse race at the finish up, but lets see if it pans out on election day. I really dont see 40% of people giving any one candidate their first preference vote…. I may have to come back in here next week and eat my words ….

• Cal, did the boys in Warrington enjoy the benefits of democracy when Mr McGuinness’ (former?) associates in the illegal army he admits to being a member of at one time murdered them with Libyan semtex? Were they somehow soldiers in a legitimate conflict between two nations according to the Geneva Convention, or was this just a dirty, nasty, vile war crime? How does anyone square this with trying to put Mr McGuinness into the Aras? Seriously, please tell me, because I just cannot understand the logic, and can only assume there is none?

• Take your McG hatred elsewhere Burned Toast, we’re all stocked up here. VOTE MCGUINNESS NO 1!!
      Met him the other day and he was incredibly warm…the man is a living legend. History will be kind to him. He stood up for his people when it counted, and has continued to do this by whatever means necessary- he has devoted his life to the rights of Irish people and their land. How it could be anyone else I don’t know. I’d be proud to have him as prez.

• My bad Ailis. Sorry for being so negative against a group of murderers and terrorists. I should of course be more tolerant towards those who kill, torture, extort and abuse my national flag.

• Sheelagh, if I may, what about my statement is incorrect? It is an undeniable fact that the majority of the electorate is by definition at or below average intelligence given. This places high intelligence people in the minority, and hence electorally disadvantaged. There are implications for democratic choice in this reality. What, precicesly, do you disagree with in this regard, because I would be genuinely interested to know? Further, I would like to add that I am not an extremist, unless you consider challenging accepted wisdoms extreme (in which case, I give up), and I would like to know why you consider it necessary to question why I keep my identity personal (I did not think it was a perquisite of this website), and why you make the assumption that I am female? In fact, I would accuse you of holding the narrow-minded, extremist view that one cannot have free speech unless one stands up and is publicly identified, which, for reasons which are none of anyone’s concern, a person may choose not to do so. Finally, let me assure you that I do not want for influence – a responsibility and privilege I take very seriously.

• Correct me if I’m wrong, but wouldn’t the majority of the people have average intelligence. The standard distribution would have bell shaped curve with an equal amount of very bright people balanced with an equal amount of really dumb, the majority would have average intelligence, what do you think, or am I slightly dumb, I don’t know!

• Nice question! Statistically, exactly one person is at the precise average point; everyone else is then either above or below. Most people will be in the group you refer to which ranges from moderately low intelligence to moderately high intelligence. It is this group which rules the country.

• Burned Toast where would you place yourself above or below average intelligence?

• Unlike Dana win or lose Mc Guinness hits will be remembered

• I will be voting number one Martin Mc Guinness . I would be urging any one who can intelligently reason to do the same.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FD9XN-5W14g

• And this despite the Sindo’s hit job this week. Like him or not (I do), this is impressive.

• It would seem that a century and a half that Davis and Mitchell ment a lot to the Irish. Now it seems that they mean very little.

• Jimmy D 22/10/11 #

I made an error in suggesting Ruth Kelly had to resign under Blair, in fact, she withdrew herself to focus on her family when Gordon Brown was leader. But my point was she was seriously taken to task for her orthodox religious views and in some quarters they say she left public because of both the pressure from media and her feeling that legislation was becoming too progressive and liberal for her liking on a whole range of issues that presented moral principles that were in conflict with her Catholic beliefs

• Ryan, as it is evident that you believe anyone who votes for Gallagher is a complete idiot please tell us who to vote for and why.
    You may have said who you’re voting for but forgive me for not picking up amongst your vitriol who you think the intelligent ones should elect.

• Ryan would like Michael D to get the top job – it is in earlier posts. I hope you aren’t voting for SG (like me) or you’ll be brandished as a FF propaganda machine and best mates with Seanie Fitz, Brian Cowen and you may even be blamed for the collapse of the country. So much for one person, one vote eh!!!!

• Sorry Ferg, just saw this now (I’ll ignore the angry ranting in between!).

I don’t recall calling anyone an idiot here-I do remember talking about the poll sample alright, but that’s not the same thing.

A vote is a vote, but *for me* seeing as you asked in such a barbed manner, there is simply too much shite attached to Gallagher for me to even consider him, it’s just like Bertie all over again, with the lies, the spin, the half truths and the innuendo.

So, despite the fact that I don’t think he’s even the best Labour could have offered, I’ll be giving MDH a number one. This is a speech from MDH, at a time when said Mr. Gallagher was cruising up and down the country “launching” campaigns and promoting 5 grand a head shindigs for Brian Cowen. Be warned, it is 23 minutes long, but shows quite a contrast between the two, IMO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJJ5q1_5jX8

• Thanks Ryan. I’ll give that a watch.

• @Ryan. Thank you. Could definitely see this man as President of Ireland!!

• Thanks Ryan,
      Good to be reminded that we can have someone of this calibre to represent us should we chose.

• Good on you Sean Gallagher. Keep the momento going and I hope you’ll have a great win on Thursday, and before people start slagging me off and calling me all sort of names, I AM VOTING FOR SEAN GALLAGHER AND I AM NOT APOLOGISING TO ANYBODY FOR IT.

• Good for you Mary, it’s your right to vote for who you like. And don’t allow anyone here to have a go at you for it or cast aspersions on your character.

• Can anyone say why they are voting for SG. I was thinking about voting for him. Indeed he will definitely be in my top 3 but every time I listen to him I go through the following sequence of thoughts: 1. That is refreshing, I’ll vote for him. 2. Hold on a second that has nothing to do with the presidency. 3. The wool has been pulled over my eyes again.

And then, the most worrying thought enters my mind, this guy showed the lack of judgment to continue supporting FF until recently….(and perhaps he still does)

• @Robert
      Gallagher and Higgins. Don’t know what order yet tho. Purely cause best of a bad lot.

• Anybody but SF makes me laugh

• The way I look at it this: I’d rather be looking at Mrs Gallagher than Mrs Higgins (no offence) for the next seven years.

• CMD 23/10/11 #

John Woods – I luv u! U saved me a lot of work – couldn’t have put it better myself.

• Anyone else starting to think we should give Mary’n'Marty another run at it?

• Gallagher wouldn’t be my first choice (I’ll still be giving my #1 to Dana) but I have to say that I’m pleased that we are looking at a younger more energetic Presidency. I feared for a long time that we were going to return the Aras to be a retirement home for aging politicians but thankfully the public have seen through the vacuous nature of Higgins campaign.

Add New Comment