TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Gerry Adams tells Enda Kenny: stop bringing up the IRA

The Taoiseach has called on Gerry Adams to admit that he was a member of the IRA – but Gerry Adams says the Taoiseach is just creating a distraction from the James Reilly story.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

GERRY ADAMS HAS said Taoiseach Enda Kenny should stop raising the issue of whether the Sinn Féin leader was ever a member of the IRA.

The Louth TD said the allegation is “tedious” and accused the government of trying to distract the public from the ongoing issues with Minister for Health James Reilly.

Enda Kenny last night said that he believed Adams had been a member of the army council of the IRA.

Kenny called on Adams should be truthful about his role in the Northern Ireland conflict. Martin McGuinness, the deputy first minister of Northern Ireland, has spoken about his own membership of the IRA in the past.

“It is now becoming tedious that every time this government feels under pressure it raises this issue of me being in the IRA,” Adams said this afternoon. “It is nonsense and the Taoiseach knows it”.

He said that the comments by Kenny were “another desperate and transparent attempt to deflect attention from the failures of Mr Kenny’s government”.

Read: Gerry Adams again rejects Dolours Price allegations >

Read: Gerry Adams: ‘Masquerading’ paramilitary groups ‘should go away’ >

Read next:

Comments (112 Comments)

• This is like a school yard spat, and they are as we all know, both right. Adams was in the Ra and after the week the government has just had the only thing Kenny can say in defence of his own government is to point his finger at Adams and say “but he was a terrorist”. Thing is Enda, who’s destroying his own country now?

• It really is a blatant attempt to change the news cycle from the Shorthall/Reilly fiasco, the massive failure on the bank debt and the shafting from the FANG countries during the week.

Get on with it Kenny ya eejit.

• God, poor old Gerry has a lot to contend with if he is going to clear that lot off the front page.
      Maybe if he was to stand bollock naked in Clerys window but otherwise I don’t think so.

• Eric et al, this so called smoke screen for a bond holder payment stared earlier in the week with Dolores Price accusing Adams of being in the ira,do you believe that the government some how set these event in motion?

If Kennys accusation is false,Adams should bring him to court and sue him for defamation,why is he so reluctant to take this route?

With regards to bond holder payments,please remember that we will draw down 85 billion from the IMF and eu for 2011’2012 Ns 2013 the majority of that money will be used to run the country and keep our collective heads above water,this is not all being used to pay off debt to bond holders.These payments are a condition of our bailout.

We could leave this programme ,that would men Kenny and his government would have to balance the budget this Decembers by removing another 15 billion at least!

Those are the governments choices.

Just remember who got us here,they spent 12 year wrecking the country,did you really think fg and labour could fix it in two years?

• @Richiefett – they haven’t tried to fix anything yet, have they??? Can’t find the auditors who audited Anglo, health minister “fixing” site lists, nobody charged for any part of the crisis, no reform of social welfare, no reform of the financial sector, still paying bond holders, no help for mortgage holders, they’re a friggin disgrace.

• Also, even if the government did everything right, it’d still take five or six years for any sort of recovery. No one expects a recovery in two years, but as things are you’ll be lucky to see a proper recovery in ten.

• I have read documents and have it on good authority that Enda Kenny is a member of Fine Gael , in fact he is one of the leading figures in the party , some say the actual leader of the whole organisation , now will be come out and admit it , and get on with running the country and tackle the reforms including health and stop playing distraction politics ….

• The dead and maimed might just be a ‘distraction’ to you but they are very real to others. ‘Distraction’ and ‘deflection’ are the two most common words used by Sinn Féin/IRA to deflect attention away from their own crimes.

• Patrick. The problem with grief is that it goes through stages. How you progress through those stages is down to how much you are willing to let go.

Some people are still very much in the anger phase and they are comfortable there, others have moved on, embraced the peace process and started to look forward.

The dead can’t come back, the IRA can’t take it back. Even if people got that apology or admission they would find it hollow because by now they have placed so much emphasis on it that it could only ever disappoint.

I honestly do not mean to sound callous, but there are some things in life that there is no benefit to carting around with indefinitely, sometimes we just have to let go.

• @Mr lyons , i never suggested the dead and maimed were a ‘distraction’ to me so please don’t go putting words in my mouth or accuse of me of being disrespectful….i didn’t bring the dead and maimed into the discussion at all…in fact my comment , very obviously laced with sarcasm , accused Enda Kenny of playing ‘distraction’ politics , which i believe this to be….this government was voted into power , to get FF out , to reform public services and steer the country out of the mess , not to play party politics with SF or anyone else. I am aware of the atrocities caused on all sides of the troubles and I am happy to see that in 2012 we have moved on from the dark days of the troubles of the north , we are faced with other significant challenges now and I expect the government of the day to channel its efforts and energies into fixing them -not to be harking back to the past.

• What’s the point in having a peace process if the likes of Gerry and Martin can’t move into politics . Enda. No one is under any illusion as to Gerrys contribution. Now move on !

• If that’s all Enda can come up with after this shambles of a week I give up and if we lap it up we are worse! http://diarmaidtwomey.blogspot.ie/2012/09/the-insiders.html

• Excellent post, well done.

• Having a terrorist in the Dail is not a big deal?

• Everyone has a history and alot more have links to terrorism in the Dail than you think. A prominent member of the Labour party and junior minister from Cork has extensive immediate family links to the IRA in its current state. The health minister is in breach of a high court order. Lowry is a tax defaulter. Everyone is aware of Gerry Adams past but he got voted through the democratic process. I am not a sinn fein supporter by a long shot but if Kenny and you are worried about ex criminals being in the Dail, perhaps you should look much closer to home and actions of your own colleagues before casting stones. Best off putting your efforts into running the country and perhaps addressing your own house first.

• To be fair to Kenny, “Adams / IRA” is not his only stock answer / deflect. He also has “FF legacy” to fall back on.
    Basically anything but the openness and transparency promised.

• I think we all know where Adams stood in the 70/80/90s, but what a vapid character this Kenny is. With a nod to Denis Healey, ‘Being attacked by Kenny is like being savaged by a dead sheep’. The man looks and acts like a clown.

• At the end of the day Gerry Adams was elected as a a TD. I’d say 99% of those who voted for him know that he held a lot of power within the IRA. I personally could never vote for someone that directly or indirectly was involved in the murder of innocent children. However I really don’t know why that sap is getting involved in this.

• Enda is a spineless character he will use any distraction to deflect from the present , he has to look after the bond holders and keep the Troika happy while he and Labour screw the Irish citizens even harder. Well done to Roisin Shortall standing for what she believed in and shown this lot up for what they are .Where was Gilmore when she needed support from her party.

• Say what you will, but without Gerry Adams, no matter what his position was, there is no way we would have the relative peace on this island today. Now, why is Enda attacking him? One only attacks out of necessity. Can Enda see the writing on the wall for the Labour party? Surely he is thinkin strategically ahead to the next election, and, as he needs to bury the disastrous events of the last week, he believes he can kill two birds with one stone. Sinn Fein are on the way to being the 2nd largest party and whether we like it or not, this fact isn’t lost on Enda.

• phil 30/09/12 #

Imagine been born a second class citizen. People discriminating against you because of your religion. Everything.from jobs to education was better for the otherside…. What would you do ? stand around and take it or take up arms ? While I would not have alot of time for the provos i can fully understand why people would of joined, including Adams

• Enda’s smoke and mirror crap is starting to get old. There’s no diverting peoples focus from the fact that Ireland is being sold out by an incompetent and corrupt Govt.

• I’m not a fan of Sinn Feinn but every time without exception if someone brings up a subject that shames kenny or his cohorts he rants and raves and blames someone else.
    It’s like listening to schoolkids squabbling.

• Tell that to the relatives of the dead and the maimed.

• Patrick
      If you are looking for sympathy or understanding for the dead & maimed the red thumbs on your post will tell you that you are in the wrong place.

• When Kenny was a young TD, his party covered up the bombings of Dublin and Monaghan, destroyed evidence and halted the investigation after 6 weeks, to prevent the killers being brought to justice. They covered up the murder of Seamus Ludlow, blamed it on his family.

The families of the survivors were harassed for years by the Special Branch when FG were in power for asking why the investigations were stopped.

Fine if you don’t like the Shinners and Provo’s but don’t dare try to imply that FG or FF gave a toss about the dead or maimed either. The facts just don’t show that.

• I never mentioned Sinn Fein & I don’t disagree with you.
      It was just an observation on the number of red thumbs on a post about the dead & maimed.

• Those red thumbs may not have been directed at the dead and maimed part of the comment and more at the way it was used as a response – it was a cheap tactic to manipulate using misleading vividness.

The dead and maimed deserve more respect than that.

• Justin and Patrick,
      There were dead and maimed on all sides . In a war that is what happens. It is time to move on and look at what is happening in the present day. Kenny is pulling ‘strokes’.

• We all know he’s a clown as are all the rest of his gang. Its hard to believe that those are the one’s that are ruling our lives. And what makes things worse is the fact that we the people are paying them massive incomes and pensions. Isn’t it time for us people to demand the resignations of this gang of clowns?

• If Sinn Fein want to progress, I think they will have to ask Adams to stand aside and let either McDonald lead or Doherty, they have to lose the (supposed) connection with IRA if they want to become an alternative

• Sam 30/09/12 #

Exactly

• Supposed?

• Sinn Féin under Adams has done nothing but progress. When he took over as party president the party had no TDs, now it’s the second largest party in the state and he’s the most popular leader…

• Well, I hope Adams never stands aside. If Sinn Fein were to get any credibility, or God forbid get into power, we could be staring down the barrel of a People’s Democratic Socialist Island of Ireland.

• Christ, imagine that, a real Republic that puts the interests of citizens ahead of bondholders!

• Seamus,
      Correct me if I’m wrong, but SF had no TD’s when he took over because they didn’t stand for election in the Dail. They didn’t believe in the legitimacy of the Dail.
      And when did they come 2nd in a GE in this state? The number of SF TD’s seem to render your claim at 2nd biggest in the state as a slight exaggeration.

• SF are the second most popular party according to the red c poll and are far more credible than labour FF and FG

• Danny, you are wrong.

Sinn Féin stood for election, albeit ona an abstentionist platform, until 1986 when abstensionism was dropped. In fact Sinn Féin had TDs who refused to take their seats in Leinster House up until the 1960s.

Adams took over the party in 1983 and was supportive of dropping abstensionism towards Leinster House following the success of two IRA prisoners being elected to the Dáil on an Anti-H Block/Armagh Political Prisoner Committee platform in 1981. He saw the benefits of elections while the man he ousted, Ruairí Ó Brádaigh, did not. Ó Brádaigh went on to found the dissident ‘Republican Sinn Féin’ party who have remained obscure since.

• But that’s what he’s famous for!

• The truth about kenny and co is they will happily drive this country down the drain cost jobs close down business and cause more emigration once the bond holders and troika are happy , Kenny is only a puppet .

• The only folk bothered about Adams history are the ones that already despise him. So Kenny is only preaching to the already converted. The likes of the Sunday Independent readers might lap this stuff up but I believe more folk are concerned with what is happening in Ireland in the present day. Truth is that Fine Gael and its Labour coalition are failing the people of Ireland miserably. So much for “not one red cent” by varadkar whilst in opposition. Another 1 billion of unsecured bond holders to be paid back 100% in the euro tomorrow. There are bigger stories more relevant to Ireland today and Kenny and his attempts of divert and deflection should be seen for the con that it is…

• Don’t you think a lot more people would be bothered or not vote for him if he finally admitted what everyone knows? Sinn feiners keep trying to deflect from the fact that their party is lead by a terrorist. The truth is inconvenient.

• One mans terrorist is another mans freedom fighter John. And no matter which you consider him to be, he is still the man that who campaigned for a political settlement to the troubles since the 70s and who also dragged the IRA to the negotiating table.

• Emmet 30/09/12 #

I’m no SF head but this is old news. Adams was involved in part for one of the most significant events since the formation of the state,re:peace process. Much more than any other sitting TD. But I do think Doherty should step up as leader

• Enda speaks at a Michael Collins commemoration in a vain attempt to look like the true inheritor of Collins’ legacy and then a few weeks later he uses Adams’ perceived connections to the IRA to deflect attention away from what is happening in his government.

You can’t ride two horses at once Enda.

• I don’t think this story is going to go away and in all honesty Gerry must know this as well.

• Being blunt but does anyone actually give a toss. It’s hardly news as is. If this doesn’t work, Shatter will have to have an Anglo Irish banker arrested for a few hours. That’s been a great distraction before.

• Of course you were never in the IRA, Gerry. And of course you’re a resident of Co. Louth…..

• Kenny is forever mudslining, trying to divert attention away from his mistakes & lies, countless lies is all he has delivered since coming to power. Not one single pre-election promise has so fare come to fruition. Lets hope this news story will help people learn the truth about Enda. Please somone, Remind me, how much have the (nameless)-bondholders been paid since fg/labour took up office?,,,anyone know?

• Not to mention diverting attention away from the billion euro the government is handing over to UNGUARANTEED bondholders tomorrow. A story like this is always manufactured the day before the next big payment.

• It will only go away when Adams does or admits it. Problem is if he admits it after years of denying it then he’ll be seen as a blatant liar & hypocrite . either way it would effectively end any credibility he had and his ability to lead SF. the only viable option for him is to continue denying it and not suing anyone who accuses him of same.

• Of course Gerry wasn’t in the IRA & in other breaking news The Pope admits he is in fact a Free Presbyterian.

• Who cares if Gerry was in the IRA or not, doesn’t matter now, the government is strangling the country.

• Any time I have watched debates in the Dáil I have seen the same thing from Enda Kenny, some other ministers too, but to keep on topic – this discussion is about Mr Kenny and Mr Adams. While Mr Adams is not blameless, it is nowhere near as apparent as with Mr Kenny.

Ad hominem attacks, circumstantial ad hominems, poisoning the well, guilt by association fallacies, appeals to spite and to ridicule, red herrings – I am yet to hear the man answer a question put to him by the opposition, and I mean actually answer, the question he was asked.

These are logical fallacies, they are not acceptable when it comes to affairs of state and they are not acceptable in Dáil debates. Spin is simply dishonesty by a different title. As a man who trained as a teacher and was charged with educating others I cannot believe that he is unaware of what he is doing and so I call it for what it is. Distraction, Deflection and Dishonesty.

This is, I believe, is the real reason why Enda Kenny will not deal with Vincent Browne. Mr Browne is like a dog with a bone, if he asks a question he wants *it* answered, and he will keep badgering. Even Kennys’ excuse for refusing to deal with Mr Browne was fallacious – he was over sensitive to a figure of speech, he was given an apology.

The truth is that Kenny can only deal with it if the interviewer will let him say what he planned to say or he has the chair calling time. He’s too weak to be a leader, at this point in time we need someone who is strong enough to tackle things head on and Kenny just isn’t it. If he can’t even master basic debate, how on earth is he supposed to negotiate?

• What is ‘Tedious’ Mr Adams is the wait that families of the disappeared have had to find out where their loved ones were disposed by your army of terrorists. As for the distraction from James Reilly, you’re absolutely right.

• Seamus, sf have had significant power in NI since the the GF agreement , you tell me what wonderful improvement they have done for the citizens of northern ireland,with their republican ideals?

• sf have 14 seats in the dail which makes them the fourth largest party in the country,labour currently have 30 (maybe a few without whip,but SF shouldn’t be counting on their support any time soon)red c,Marie Claire,tv3, an pobalacht,popularity contests don’t mean squat.the only popularity contest that matters is election day.

Gerry can be top whatever popularity contest he likes,but it will be cold day in hell when the good people of Ireland have him representing this country,no matter how cuddly his gotten,since he may or may not have left those bunch of murdering bastards.

• Whatever about Gerry, his skeletons in the closet and what the dogs on the street know. I am getting tired of Enda insulting our intelligence, with distractions. They obviously think we are stupid, didn’t a lot of us vote for them. Why wouldn’t they, i’d think it aswell If the electorate swallowed my BS and voted for me!

• Isn’t it strange how such allegations are not levelled at Kenny’s government pals in Labour?

After all, a number of that party’s TDs – Eamon Gilmore, Kathleen Lynch, Pat Rabitte, Eric Byrne, Seán Sherlock – are all former members of the Democratic Left, previously known as The Workers Party and before that Official Sinn Féin.

That would be the organisation whose armed wing called itself the “Official IRA” (OIRA) and was also engaged in bombings shootings and killings. In fact, it was the only organisation to kill the leader of another political party in the state when an OIRA member gunned down Councillor Seamus Costello of the Irish Republican Socialist Party in Dublin in 1977.

Gilmore had been in “Official Sinn Féin” since 1975. Why are similar accusations not levelled at him?

• What you say is true and it cannot be denied. I have no doubt that certain information has been used to facilitate some people. But you also cannot deny the validity of the concerns over what are very serious criminal investigations being undermined ,as I described. Gerry….got it!……

• Good one Mark.

• Mark,your making some leaps,about 30 years of diverging policies and the active purging of the minority hard liners from DL,before merging with labour.

CJ Was a minister in the FF when he was gun running ,does that make all members of Finns fail,Terrorists because their membership coincides with Charlie’s years in the party?

• Many innocent people were killed and maimed during “The Troubles” in Northern Ireland. No one ever said that war was pretty but the Irish didn’t start the war. The IRA acted in response to the attacks on their communities. Why are they held to a higher standard than any other volunteer army who defends their Country from invaders? I guess it all depends on which side you are on. Gerry Adams has as much right to hold his position as Leader of Sinn Fein as any other duly elected politician. It it evident that he has, and will continue to have, massive support despite how often Kenny brings up this tired old nugget. Fine Gael, Fianna Fail and Labour have more to be ashamed of than Sinn Fein ever will.

• Well there ya have it, he’s got us all talking about the past (and I’m not saying it’s irrelevant) when we have much bigger problems that he refuses to address properly today.

• Oh no!! Gerry Adams must stay and spare us from Mary Lou’s lectures.

• Seamus ,which IRA are and which that set up the dail? The current dail had the support of the free state army is that what you mean?

The previous Dail to that was he second dail (war of independence) and it was a prominent FG man who was the Chief of staff.

The irish defence forces are the only army on this island that have a legitimate claim to the men and women who fought for our independence.

• Richie, would the great Tom Barry agree with you?

After all, perhaps the most famous field commander the IRA ever had still supported the IRA up until his death in the 1970s…

• @Paul Mallon,

They have tried,that is clear,tried and failed in a lot of areas maybe,but there are reasons;Reform in the public sector has been pathetically slow,but they are being fought tooth and nail buy the public sector union which are in the middle of playing a game waiting for the next election so there pals can get back in (paranoid I know but its how I feel)
      The Anglo/banking sector thing,there was a referendum put forward to allow the Dail conduct an enquiry with the use of a tribunal,but that was shot down by the people of Ireland-they did try.

Our Debt-As far as I know we haven’t exactly paid it all back yet and still trying to get a deal-A Soverign government of Irlenad did guarantee this debt unfortunately.What would have them do?Bear in mind a default means we have to balance books over night,might work but it is a massive gamble.I could clear my own debt if I took my wages at the end of the month and put it on a long odds in the bookies it might come good but it might not.

With regards to mortgages read this article http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0209/1224311519278.html
      Its not exactly nothing

• Mark,I dont know, the guy died in the 70′s as you have stated,and you dont know either (i’m assuming,and you look to young to have spoken to him )

Also as you have stated he wasn’t shy about his opinions on the IRA,Gerry wont admit what the dogs on the street know,I cant actually understand why he denies this,it would’nt impact his current support base.Maybe he actually does want to be Taoiseach .

Tom Barrys opinion would be nice to hear but I’m more interested in what the people of NI think,only 16% of the North want a united Ireland.http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0620/1224299225080.html

• On the one hand, it’s tedious and irrelevant as we all know already that he was, but really, anyone with those connections should not be in the Dáil. I for one think that the removal of murderers from the Dáil is probably more important than whether or not Shorthall and O’Reilly get along.

• If Gerry went away then the issue of whether the Sinn Féin leader was ever a member of the IRA would also go away . Simples.com

• It would just be something else instead David ie Mary Lou’s weight,any distraction will do.

• If he goes away then the news cycle might be filled with stories about how a multi billion Euro bank was audited in 2008 and the Govt. claims that no one has a notion who did it.

• The government are a joke no real hard decisions made they go after the easy ones and put it out as the biggest decisions ever hopefully labour will end up like the Green Party destroyed and never another chance to be in power the two party’s still playing the same old card Fianna Fáil made us do it

• David Shelton
      That maybe so but it does not change the FACT that Fine Gael and Labour have given away billions and billions to unsecured bond holders and will be giving away €1 billion again tomorrow in a blatant display of disregard of the people of Ireland. Kenny is trying to distract us all from the fact that he is robbing from us to pay off the wealthy.

• When Adams tells the truth there will be no need for Kenny to keep harping on about it….go on Gerry, be a man and fess up!

• mcbab 30/09/12 #

The truth is Adams dug himself into a hole with his denials and now he can’t get out of it. Dolores price is the person who brought this up again with some very shocking information. Now whether Adams likes it or not as a citizen of this country I feel entitled to keep asking the question of a TD who is being paid by my tax euros to answer the allegations that have been made about him. Why so coy Gerry?

• Classic example of someone wanting their own version of the truth. Adams has denied it hundreds of times. He has nothing to “fess up” to.

• If fairness to kenny astute politician getting the public to talk about someone who is not in power while he has lost yet another member of his government. Knows which button to press I guess. Kudos to him. Meanwhile he will pay over euro 1 billion tomorrow to bond holders and no one will say a word. I despair.

• Enda must go he can’t run a country he stumbles his way through a speech unless there is an auto-cue!!!! He is a joke the laughing stock of Europe even the minister for health O’Reilly is laughing at him and still he protects these robbers and thieves at the expense of the Irish!!! Wonder what he has to hide???? Everyone knows what Gerry Adams is but Enda hides behind his mothers skirt and plays the blame game when he is the one who is supposed to be in charge of this country !!! I voted Sinn Fein seeing as the rest f**ked this country up we should see what the Sinn Fein have to
    Offer

• Anything to take the attention off of all the bullshit promises that were made by fg/lab during election period (not one more red cent will go into banks), yet once they got into government they done nothing but ripped this country and its people down bit by bit.

Shame on you Enda!

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• Subtext… (I’m never admitting to that, you might as well stop asking)

• Anyone care to make captions for the pic above? “No Gerry, I don’t think you’re here to do This is My Life with your red book. Are you?”

• Jerry Adams as leader of Sinn Fein has an obligation to come completely clean about his IRA past. he may choose to continue on this path of denial,however ,it raises certain issues. That Jerry Adams is unsuitable for Office in the event that Sinn Fein become a coalition partner in the future,a real possibility, for on.
    I believe that his denials give cause for fears about how he and his colleagues would use their new powers if they made it into Government. For instance,I do not believe the Garda commissioner would be to happy if a Sinn Fein member was to take the justice ministry for one.The ordinary rank and file members of the Garda and those in Special branch and Drug Squad would with out any doubt have to fear for their safety. The number of investigations that are underway and have been ongoing for many years into ex paramilitary activities could be compromised or even utterly debunked by certain people having access to certain information. These ex para’s are Jerry Adams ex comrades and he would have a greater loyalty to them then any oath of office.His refusal to condemn various activities by ex IRA men is on record,and its a big record.He and his colleagues will find it very hard to work in an environment of mistrust and suspicion. His denials feed this scenario and there is not a Garda on the street that would trust a Sinn Fein minister of justice.
    The big picture is a lot bigger than some people realise and Adams plays a very, very cute game.Denial is an imperative for Adams and Sinn Fein.

• Look – every knows well that Adams and McGuinness were running the IRA at that time and were involved in everything including Murder, among some terrible deeds .
    They are pure liars and will continue to try and lie their way out of things .

Time to tell the truth boys !

• It’s actually embarrassing that two leaders of huge parties can get involved like this at a time that our country is on its knees. Don’t get me wrong, I would permanently leave the country if Sinn Fein ever get into power but Enda Kenny is so unprofessional and shameless the way he goes about his job. He has specific tactics that got him elected in the first place….. He didn’t put forward a convincing pitch as to how FG would do a good job, he based his whole campaign on how FF did such a bad job. People have slapped FF on the wrist at the expense of having this waste of space running our country.

Add New Comment