TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Gilmore accused of hypocrisy over ‘green jersey’ remarks

Eamon Gilmore’s call for support from opposition parties drew the ire of the Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin yesterday.

Eamon Gilmore
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

TÁNAISTE EAMON GILMORE has been accused of “hypocrisy” and “amnesia” following his comments to the opposition parties that they should “put on the green jersey” and support the government in its negotiations with the Troika.

Gilmore was responding to criticism of the government’s dealings with the EU, ECB and IMF partners who yesterday completed their fifth review of Ireland’s bailout programme.

Speaking in the Dáil yesterday, Gilmore urged Sinn Féin Deputy Leader Mary Lou McDonald to “put on the green jersey”.

“Deputy McDonald and other colleagues in the House spoke to the troika during its visit here,” he said. “It would be helpful if on this occasion she put on the green jersey and assisted the Government in dealing with the negotiations we must have with the troika.”

His comments drew criticism from Fianna Fáil’s foreign affairs spokesperson Seán Ó Fearghaíl who pointed to Gilmore’s Labour Party colleagues and their remarks while in opposition.

He cited current Social Protection Minister Joan Burton saying the country was “banjaxed” and current Communications Minister Pat Rabbitte remarking that Ireland was “an economic corpse”.

“The hypocrisy and apparent amnesia was breathtaking,” Ó Fearghaíl said of Gilmore’s comments.

Fianna Fáil have consistently put the national interest ahead of any political considerations and were responsible for the very difficult series of corrective budgets that Minister Gilmore opposed but now claims credit for.

“Minister Gilmore’s Labour Party, when in opposition 12 short months ago, could be accused of many things, but pulling on a green jersey in the interests of the country is not one of them.

“Lest we forget, this is the same Labour Party that told the country and the world that Ireland was ‘banjaxed’, that Ireland was ‘an economic corpse’ and that Ireland was ‘in the pawn shop’,” referring to previous remarks from Gilmore.

Responding to the Tánaiste’s remarks in the Dáil, McDonald said that it was “utterly perverse” for Gilmore to ask people to pull on “the green jersey” amid cuts in health and education.

“That is not the stuff of the green jersey, it is the stuff of seeking a gold star on a copybook from the Tánaiste’s friends in the troika,” she said.

The phrase ‘green jersey’ has other negative connotations with it infamously used by executives of Anglo Irish Bank during their attempts to cover up huge losses before the bank was eventually bailed out by the State.

Noonan’s emigration comments branded ‘a disgrace’ by opposition

IMF and ECB divided on whether Ireland should burn bondholders

Read next:

Comments (58 Comments)

• EG used to be articulate, if nothing else. He has lost his way by using a debased phrase. Being in government seems to be a real source of corruption. Labour is loosing out big time.

• Any one know how we stop these bastards paying over 1 billion euro next wed while people can’t afford to eat in this country ? Cause I don’t want them to use my tax to do this HELP

• I wish he had worn the green jersey when we were being forced into Lisbon 2.

• He’ll need to take off his German Jersey first.

• Can he himself put on the green jersey and hand back 470,000 euros he got extra for his field. Its worth 30,000 now.

Didnt think so.
    I wish i was a millionaire with no worries for me and my family.

• Return of the “invisible man”.He forgot his time and comments when in opposition.

• He has come a long way from where he started out in politics in the workers party which came out of sinn fein the workers party.Indeed howlin gave opinion yesterday completely at odd to what the eu said about the proceeds of sale of state assets.
      Make no mistake the german/French band wagon will roll on and our mob will just roll over and play dead.

• Had hopes for Gilmore. Now they are that he will just go away.

• Apparently – putting on the green jersey is an analogy for patriotism and representing the best interests of the Irish nation and it’s citizens…..Mr Gilmore here seems to be more interested in putting on the blue jersey with the yellow stars with Deutsche bank emblazoned across the chest.

• mike 20/01/12 #

Bloody Cheek from a guy who told lie after lie to get into power. Maybe he should call on government in public to take cuts in their basic wage. With him , Noonan and Co we are in deep deep trouble.

• Labours way or Berlins way. Wonder if he remembers saying that? Clown just another useless politician.

• labours way or “frankfurts” way Kerry, sorry to be correcting you but your sentiment is correct, Gilmore and his band of clowns played on the growing concerns of German influence in our financial affairs and used it to his advantage.
      He is another useless politician, another spineless, yellow politician with an overly inflated bank account.

• And after they get those green jerseys dirty from all the crap that comes out of their mouths, they can pop down to the laundry and get them washed for free.

• Have people only just figured this out? He’s always been a smug bastard of a hypocrite. Can’t stand the sight of him.

• It time these pricks put on the green jersey f….g sick of them

• Not worth the short-term gains, the evidence is very clear!

• I cant wait until the next opinion poll figures are released …… Between Noonan, Gilmore and Dame Edna comedy show in the last 2 weeks, i am fairly certain that these guys are going to get a right kicking, and hopefully, they will be brought back down to earth with a bang. SF are going to surge in popularity, and i really hope that this holds out until the next election or by elections……. People dont like SF for what happened during the troubles …. The troubles are over. Right now in this country, we are in deep crap. SF are the only party advocating realistic policies and they have committed to reducing TD salaries to more amenable levels, while capping the Taoiseachs salary at 100k. Can you imaging the look on Harney, Da Bertie, Clowens, Gilmores, Kennys faces when they open their pension pay-slips and see that their pensions are only the average industrial wage ….. They will have to take a good hard lok at themselves, and wask where did it all go wrong … and the answer for FF was corruption, and the answer for FG/Labour was continuing the policies of FF. I really do look forward to the day that this becomes reality. And then lets see these traitors advocate increasing taxes for the least well off in society, when thats all the money they have coming in.

• Adding to that Joe Costello s wife off to Brussels as mep unelected I may add.
      Promises of cronyism and nepotism will be done away with as good as out of date fish.Rotten and it smells.

• Well said cal. It really is time we started to consider SF as a viable alternative. How many FF,FG,Lb members have the integrity to put their freedom (and sometimes their lives) on the line in defense of their core beliefs (whether you share those beliefs or not). How many of them are prepared to forego a substantial portion of their salaries so that their political ideals can be furthered? SF may not have the experience of the established parties, but lets face it, the (so called) experience of the establishment hasn’t done us an ounce of good. A party and leadership with balls is what we need. The only choice is Sinn Fein or more of the same.

• The problem is of course that other than SF and independents what is the alternative? What’s needed is a new party or parties to which no sitting or former TD’s need apply.

• Everyone i think we might have made a mistake- the Green Jersey didnt mean Ireland it was the FF Jersey

• 1) Fianna Fáil have consistently put the national interest ahead of any political considerations and were responsible for the very difficult series of corrective budgets that Minister Gilmore opposed but now claims credit for.
    Ha ha ha ha ha !!!!!! Funny or what ? Just no comment ,,,idiots !
    2) That is not the stuff of the green jersey, it is the stuff of seeking a gold star on a copybook from the Tánaiste’s friends in the troika,”
    I agree with this comment

3) “It would be helpful if on this occasion she put on the green jersey and assisted the Government in dealing with the negotiations we must have with the troika
    Gilmore is like an assistant school principal telling jr.infants that the reputation of the school is in jeoprady if they ,the children, do not wear the uniform with pride. It is not so long ago that Gilmore was asking FFailures to do the same but for different reasons . They wanted FFailures to tell the ECB to go fook themselves. However now that they are in power —sigh— they want to be teachers pet and get ”a gold star” Eamon ! You and your government colleagues are something else………………………

• Agree with you…what is it with this phrase..’pull on the green jersey’? When they start leading by example and start putting their country before their continent then we might listen. FF are the very last people on Gods good green earth to start preaching about national pride…but then nothing that comes from them even registers with me. The sooner that all politicians in this country cop on to the fact that every word they utter will be met with indifference, disbelief and contempt the sooner they can start to work on regaining our trust and support!

• The likes of Gilmore here and his ilk draw massive salaries, they are in the higher echelons of wage earners and them and their families are well insulated from austerity, they are oblivious to the hardship he’s putting ordinary people through.
      He’ll never want for anything, he can willfully splash out on whatever he needs but you can’t buy pats on the back, so donning the green jersey is of no relevance to him, labour or FG, unless of course it’s to distinguish themselves in a room full of suits making it easier for the ECB to seek them out and apply said pats to the back.

• You say it exactly as I feel it . I remember 1982 and I asked a candidate(in my naievety) why can they not leave party politics aside and pull together get in gear and sort out the economic issues …..
      2012 I ask the same question. Not so naieve now tho and It is all based on power retention.
      I agree with you and your comments on Fianna Fail. However FG and Labour are descending to that level now.
      ”Indifferenc, disbelief and contempt ” So true !

• Could it be because civil war politics hasn’t gone away (you know)…

• Yes Michael C
      Civil war politics have not gone away. Another reason I ill never vote FG again. Labour is gone too in my book and I never voted FF ( I never got over my utter dislike of Haughey; )…….

• Sean ‘O Fearghail :”Fianna Fáil have consistently put the national interest ahead of any political considerations”. you mean a party that consistently put its party interests ahead of the national interest’s.
    Never seen the likes a party,trying to gain pointers on austerity budgets and bring our country to its knee’s” were responsible for the very difficult series of corrective budgets that Minister Gilmore opposed but now claims credit for”.I cant stand FF they should of never being allowed back in the Dail for the state they left this country in and how people still voted for them last year still fascinates me,their an absolute disgrace to the Irish people.
    As for Gilmore seems like this man had a personality change, Screaming like a banshee in opposition about Labours way or Frankfurt’s way but in government hes turned into the new Nick Clegg a quiet nobody.
    Their all the same hypocrites in my eye’s.

• Sean O ‘Fearghail is a liar … FF never did anything in the national interest . O’Fearghail go F**k Yourself.
      I am so so angry . They have this country where it is . Cowen , Aherne, Callely, Lawlor ,Haughey, Burke, Coughlan , And all the rest you know who you are …. May you never have a moments peace .

• They all seem to think we are stupid & by the time the local & General election comes around we will have forgotten all of this. They only got in on a protest vote against FF. I will not vote for any member of either government at nxt elections.. I think the more independents we can get into government the better as the party TD’s seems to lose what ever balls they have or prove they are just in it for the money. Parasites living off other peoples sorrow…

• Agree Eileen.
      FF never had any successful governments only new generations of crooks and crony’s.
      I remember a certain FF TD that used to love walking door to door with his fake laughs and smiles I never voted him.
      I waited last year to grill him on what they done to this country but he was running door to door for his life,he said he had no time to speak but I manged to call FF a shower of robbing bastards to his face I felt great for a few days :).

• @CBA
      “They all seem to think we are stupid & by the time the local & General election comes around we will have forgotten all of this.”
      I love to think people have and will never forget what this party FF has and will continue to feck this country up.This is the Dublin West by election 2011 FF came second
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_West_(D%C3%A1il_%C3%89ireann_constituency).
      How wonder politicians treat us like crap we seem to always forget party’s track records and re-vote them in?

• :) I like your style Eugene . I too would feel great if I had that opportunity … You have cheered me up now ! :) :)

• @Eileen
      Hope you get your opportunity too to blow a bit of steam towards a FF or FG/LAB TD.
      It still makes me smile now and again.

• I have faith Eugene, people are hurting so bad & me personally would not entertain the FF party anytime soon.

• One or the other will get in at next election. Goldfish we are. They’re certain of that…

• Labour will go the way of the greens they are already history maybe thats what he means!!! Labour won’t exist after next election

• I can’t listen to any of them now. FF, full of crap, fg and lab were always only interested in continuing the same policies, and if you didn’t know that when you voted for them, well then im afraid you shouldn’t be allowed vote. I don’t say that lightly. I mean it literally, if you actually didn’t know whatever policies each party held, then why did you vote?

I don’t even feel patriotic anymore.

How can you be when patriotism is supposed to be about caring for the people of your country, the same people that voted for these policies. Whoever it is that voted for these people should take a good look at why they actually voted for them.
    And maybe then they might think about it a little more next election.

• Adrian
      I voted for them and I will never ever vote for them again . As far as I am concerned FF, FG, and Labour will be going the way of the PDs …… They are a disgrace and a let down. I think the worst insult is that they are earning so much in wage and allowances and all the little perks on top of what they are taking from us in money AND services …..
      Don’t register , Don’t pay .
      It is our only way of making them notice us.

• I can’t get to any protests but I certainly do not intend paying any household tax,. Anyone know how we can stop all this very quickly???

• richard Fallon
      If only we could stop it quickly ….
      I think if every one who can attend a protest goes to their local one , but if you can’t get there, then e mail…
      Email the ministers . your local TD’s and councillors etc. It is all a form of protest…

• mcbab 20/01/12 #

I wish Mary Lou would give us all a break and stay off the airwaves. Sick of hearing her talk over everyone.

• Oh dear, looks like we have a massive irony FAIL going on here. It was clear from Gilmore’s comments and demeanor when he made them that he was goading the petty nationalists with their green/Celtic jersey affectations that got us into this craphole in the first place. The fact that he’s managed to goad a series of “stick it up to the Germans’ commentators on this thread as well is just the icing on the cake.

• The German jibes are misguided alright Desmond but it can’t be argued that they were bankrolled by the markets while it suited. Watching them try to control the beast now is hilarious. But why should Labour bow to both. I’ve been a lifelong Labour supporter but never again.

• Give me a break only reason Mary Lou joined SF in the first place was cos was she was rejected by FF, a party that’s meant to be completely different aswell. doesnt sound like she has much principles to me. she’ll just blow with popular opinion for the sake of her own career.

• “Fianna Fáil have consistently put the national interest ahead of any political considerations and were responsible for the very difficult series of corrective budgets” PRICELESS! That quote needs to be carved into a mountainside somewhere so that people can look up at it and laugh their heads off every time the read it, Seán Ó Fearghaíl talks of hypocrisy and amnesia, did he keep a straight face?! Funniest quote i’ve seen this year!

Add New Comment