Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Noonan’s emigration comments branded ‘a disgrace’ by opposition

Michael Noonan at a press conference today.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Updated, 15.53

MICHAEL NOONAN HAS been heavily criticised for his comments related to the amount of young people emigrating from Ireland earlier today with Sinn Féin saying his comments were “a disgrace”.

At a press conference reacting the Troika’s fifth review of the bailout programme, Noonan commented that emigration of young people “is a free choice of lifestyle” and said “there are always young people coming and going from Ireland.”

Noonan played down the belief that Ireland’s unemployment of over 14 per cent was contributing to young people leaving the country but his comments have been criticised by opposition parties.

Sinn Féin’s finance spokesperson Pearse Doherty said that Noonan’s comments were “deeply insulting” in light of figures which showed the majority of people leaving Ireland are now Irish, directly as a result of the economic situation.

“Michael Noonan’s comments are a disgrace. Six thousand people are leaving Ireland every month, the overwhelming majority seeking work in America, Australia, and elsewhere,” Doherty said.

“The overwhelming majority have been forced to leave because of the lack of employment and the belief they have no future in this country.”

Fianna Fáil’s spokesperson on finance, Michael McGrath told TheJournal.ie he disagreed with Noonan’s comments noting that economic data compared with emigration data showed that the number of people leaving Ireland was related to the economic downturn.

“In great majority of cases young people emigrate because they don’t see an opportunity at home. In the last two or three years it’s forced emigration,” he said.

“Anyone who witnessed scenes at airports around country at the end of Christmas would realise very quickly that this wasn’t a lifestyle choice. These people want to get on with their lives and pursue opportunities and they can’t do it in Ireland.”

Youth Work Ireland also criticised the comments, saying Noonan was “fundamentally missing the point” about emigration.

“The spectre of emigration is a major social tragedy and seems to be accepted as almost an Irish solution to an Irish problem, and this must be challenged,” YWI’s Michael McLoughlin said.

It is not the first time a senior government minister has come in for criticism for comments about emigration.

In February 2010, then Tánaiste Mary Coughlan told BBC television that some emigration was “not a bad thing” as young people were leaving to “gain experience”.

YouTube: E1REANN

At the time she was accused of “losing the plot” by Fine Gael TD Damien English. English did not return a request for comment on Noonan’s remarks at the time of publication.

Noonan: Young emigrants ‘not driven away by unemployment’

Read Next:

Comments (130 Comments)

• Paul Lanigan 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Close your eyes. What animal do you hear when Noonan speaks. Think jungle book…

• JustDieter 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

A weasel, snake, rat, pond algae?

• limofax 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

A cock?

• 3christian3 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Noonan has no regard for those forced to emigrate. He facilitated the ruination of the Quinn Group with 1200 jobs losses to date with thousands more to go. He then misled the Irish people by telling them that the bondholders had taken a big hit-in the region of 50% in the Anglo deal on QUinn. THis is totally untrue as they took no hit whatsoever.

Noonan has far more empathy for foreign bondtraders, but then he himself is a German bondholder.

• green badger 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

No fear of Mr. Noonan emigrating with the wages he’s on!!!!!!

• Dom Morgan 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Surely that I have had to leave for Saudi Arabia and leave wife and two small kids behind because this government and the previous government took so much off my income that I could not sustain a household is a lifestyle choice. Fucking wanker, Noonan and the lot.

• JustDieter 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I am angry, very, very angry. I am not even Irish and I see these parasites for what they are. Traitors.

• Doreen Savage 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Think it’s time that Mr. Noonan emigrated and he can use whatever excuse he likes too don’t think anyone will be too worried!

• Roy Owens 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

You can be sure he wouldn’t make that kind of statement before the election.

• Simon 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The man should resign. Simple as that. He’s not only a liar in relation to his election promises, but when he is faced with an issue like this, he then denies the truth.

• Donnacha Culloo 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The episode of father Ted where Ted is teaching dougal the difference between reality and his imagination springs to mind here!!

• Howard Cooley 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

These people live in a different world to the rest of us, a protected and cosseted world available to only a select group. The pity and shame of it is that we the electorate allow them to continue conning and crapping on us.

• Aidan Woods 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What do u get from a pig only a grunt

• damien chaney 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It all dates back to when noonans daddy said to him ” your going out into the world now Michael and there is 2 things you need to know, you see that? that’s shit and this is shinola.”
    “shit and shinola daddy”
    “your going to be all right son”

• Kerry Blake 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Come on Hugh give us a poll. Should Noonan resign or be fired for those disgraceful comments.

• ged_star 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

He should be fired for having German Bonds and only looking after his and his German friends interest. This man is nothing but a disgrace to the Irish people just like the rest of his lying comrades, wankers everyone of them.

• Jason Culligan 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m one of the people this clueless fool was talking about, and I damn well haven’t left Ireland on some sightseeing tour like he thinks thousands of people are. This man is an embarrassment.

• Deirdre Forde 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’d love to know who he thinks he’s fooling!!

It really a slap in the face to those of us who have had to leave and whether he’s trying to fool us, or worse, actually believes this rubbish, he’s unfit to be flapping that yap of his!

• Report this comment

What can we living abroad do! How do we make our voices heard in tired if reading the pure shit at home everyday feeling helpless, surely we can all get together and create something some where make our voices be heard! No one at home is standing up for us abroad!

• Bernadette Dunne 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Where did you go to Deirdre I hope you doing ok x x x from the home land but we will try and keep the fight up for yea so your return will be sooner rather than later x x

• Deirdre Forde 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Thanks Bernadette. I consider myself very lucky really. I landed a good job in the UK and get home about 3 times a year. It doesn’t make it easier to read this kind of b****x coming from the people who are supposed to be running the country.
      The truth is, they consider the onus on young people to leave the country because in their eyes, we’re the burden. Not those with enormous salaries, questionable work ethic and an obscenely over inflated sense of self entitlement.

• Deirdre Forde 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I don’t know Eilish. They’ve already gagged us by not allowing us to vote. I’m sure they know it wouldn’t be in their best interest to give us a voice.

• Sheila Murphy 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sorry Eilish; no-one is standing up for those of us at home either !

• Gerard Fogarty 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Joan burton also said welfare was a lifestyle choice

• Helen Broderick 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I’d like to see her try it for a while. Maybe we could get some level headed, fair minded person to do her job while she’s on Welfare. Do we have one decent politician, with the good of the people at heart, in this country? will that ” golden circle” always be there? I fear it will. Communities should get together and try to be as strong as they can, because no doubt, there’s a lot more austerity measures to come. Politicians do not give a flying fig for the ordinary people on the ground, trying to survive in this country. Their priority is, and always has been, themselves and their circle of cronies. Mr. Noonan can stupidly try to kid himself in thinking that our youth are leaving in their thousands for the craic, but when the country’s population will be made up of middle aged and old people, and the only young workforce we’ll have will be employed by the State, he’ll very quickly realise his glib remark is just ridiculous. Cop on, Dail Eireann.

Report this comment

i’d love to see the whole of the Dáil on ONLY the dole/or <23k (annual) for 3 months; no other income; then see how they think we should cope with all these little new taxes.
      God they haven't a clue.
      (i'm not on the dole BTW)

• Johnny Bellew 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The man is a complete embarrassment

• john g mcgrath 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He had the same attitude to the blood scandal.
    Does he have to insult our intelligence as well if we want to listen to this type of condescending tripe we can u tube Brian cowans speeches

• Aydo 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Stick up a poll please.
    Resign or not.
    I think we all know he should go and be stripped of everything.

• andy moore 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Cop on Noonan it is not a lifestyle choice for numerous families struggling under burden of negative equity or the 55’000 Under 25 YO on the dole . Is it any wonder, 2 people a day are taking the ultimate ” lifestyle choice ” & taking a 1 way trip to local cemetry or crematorium while people like yourself still lord over us ”’little people ”

• Helen Broderick 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said. Maybe Mr. Noonan should join the Cert team in his own city and witness first hand the work that these teams do in trying to save people from the river, or look up the Missing Person’s website and see how many people are disappearing every day. Call to Pieta House in Limerick city and ask them about the hard work they do on a daily basis.

• Bernadette Dunne 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

should put up a Confidence Poll for the Entire government

Report this comment

5 people took that choice on New Year’s Day alone; I know it’s a lonely time anytime for some but 5? sweet jesus; 5; may they rest in peace

There will be a huge jump this year. And most of it driven by the policies of this govt.

• Cal Mooney 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

FF/FG/Labour …. Howe many times do we have to spell it out … They are all the same … People, remember this at the next bi-election and general election…… The power is in your hand… Simple choice, more of the same, or SF.

Report this comment

If we ever needed any evidence of the disconnect between our dear leaders and us we need look no further.
    This comment is a slur on our people and he deserves every piece of venom directed at him and I do not say that lightly .

• jimbo 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

irelands number one scumbag.
    resign noonan your not wanted.

• Donal Lynch 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Just remember most of you above voted for him and his party.

Report this comment

Yes and what we got was continuity FF

• Dave 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

They did not vote for this! That’s a lame attempt at blame! They voted for the manifesto that was presented to them, not this bloody fudge we’ve got.

• Dave Harris 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Donal,
      the only reason FG got in was because of the protest vote against FF.
      even then they didnt get a majority which should have been a shoo in considering FF’s sins.
      Hell, they should have been a shoo in for the previous election too if they were any good at all.
      I dont know anything about IDP yet Biggins, but here’s hoping this party can offer more than the current choice of dumb and dumber

• Craig Walters 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Yr either a master of choice or a victim of circumstance .. I personally know several victims gone to aus earning 600+ a day ! When the diaspora do return as they did pre Celtic tiger… They will bring a vast amount of experience and innovation back with them !! If you feel forced to emigrate don’t! Emigrate for opportunity not necessity !

• Manfred Meyer 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

They are politicians!!!
    What more can one say.
    They have no moral, they don’t have a conscience, they don’t know the meaning of empathy…they have not got an iota of what to do do or what is going to hit them next.

• Shanti Om 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Funny you should say that.. There’s a book that may interest you (that is, assuming you have not read it already)
      http://www.ponerology.com

If our leaders are in fact devoid of empathy and compassion and completely self serving – it would imply that we live in what the author calls a “Pathocracy”, ie – we are governed by high level functioning psychopaths..

• Réada Quinn 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Shanti. Would there be any chance of them leaving their egos outside or is that the ramblings of a hopeless hopeful?? :-(

• Eileen Gabbett 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

”high level functioning psychopaths” or low level morally inept buffoons.
      I can not express my anger ..

• Derek Rochford 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Cannot believe that anyone is stupid enough to say this about emigration! Does Michael Noonan think we are idiots?

Just shows you how far removed from reality that both he and this Government are, when you get statements like that from a Minister!

Seems that Michael Noonan keeps digging holes for himself, but that would not be anything new for him!

• Matt Crosbie 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

every day I see people complain about this government and that and although I do not disagree with them, I am forced to ask myself the same question that I have asked myself previously, over and over… “Who is voting these incompetent morons in again and again?”

Ireland, you make no sense!

Report this comment

Matt
      Who do you suggest we should have voted for last feb, FG and labour have gone back on their election promises…
      I know I will never vote for them again or FF(not that I ever did)
      SF
      ULA
      IDP
      I will study all of these much closer in the future .
      For now tho what do we do ?
      E-mail your local TDs ,Ministers, councillors, Make your voice heard . Attend public meetings , protest rallys and all the like. Do not be afraid to speak up .
      Noonan is a plank…OUT OUT OUT To quote the woman they want to ”canonise”

Report this comment

Eileen,

everyone should be aware at this stage that political parties with right-wing capitalist policies as their backbone will never support the common voter no matter how much they say they do and will always lie and try to scaremonger you into believing some sort of lie so you will go back and vote them in again and again, along with their silly agendas and one-sided vested interests for themselves and their super-rich mates. There is too much evidence to back it up at this stage. What I propose is backing a ULA based political party or Independent candidate that suits you, your family’s and loved ones interests, at least give them a chance. You could join the revolution (I know it sounds corny) and support IDP (As I find myself leaning more and more towards every day). In the end of the day, If you are not a corporate fat-cat or business, if you are not in the 1%, if you don’t believe in lies and deceit and being constantly targeted with and bombarded by new and crippling taxes and if you believe it’s wrong to target the hard workers, poverty stricken or less fortunate in society, I can’t tell you who to vote for but only who NOT to. Forget FF, FG, Labour. they will never support you unless you are super-rich, in which case you would not be here in the first place, voicing your concern :)

Report this comment

Thanks Matt for your comments . I have been looking at all of the above as you say the fat cat ”political parties with right-wing capitalist policies ” have had their day . We are suffering and the government do not care .
      I have just enrolled my 17 yr old son to the CAO ,he is full of hope for his future, He even said ‘Mam , you must be so happy that I will be going to college ‘
      The truth is I am terrified.
      Of course I am very proud of him and for him,
      and maybe he will not have to emmigrate when he finishes college.!!!!

Report this comment

Eileen, I wish you and yours all the best getting through this recession. I hope it works out and your son does not have to emigrate. We could all benefit in the long run by learning from previous voting errors and noticing the bad track records of all those con-men that either serve previous governments or lead them. It’s plain to see that this lot and the ones before them really don’t give a sh*t about you or I and simply only care about how much money they can squeeze us for while selling our sovereignty down the river to the highest bidders in Europe.

In the simplest terms, Ireland needs a political party that treats everyone how they should be treated… fairly and equally, and taxes them in proportion to what they earn and can afford, while looking after those who are in circumstances they have no control over, be they very young, impoverished or disabled. There are many other ways to save on expenditure and reclaim lost assets beyond what these mongrels are doing. We all know it. We just need to be brave enough and sure enough of ourselves to stand up and say “NO MORE!”

Report this comment

:) :)

Report this comment

Noonan supported Gilmores comment about pulling on green jersey.
    That’s the fucking comment that got us some way into the shite.
    Homer Simpson on nuclear plant safety could not do worse

• Yvonne Callaghan 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Noonan is a moron a gombeen what can one expect out of his mouth. Everything in his bank account is rosy,he wont be leaving

• Thomas Mc Grory 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Just like a pig in shite, has not got a clue what is going on around him.

• Barry Lynch 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If you have a fruit bowl with apples in it, and you take out some of those apples and put oranges in there instead, you are “replacing” those apples with oranges.
    Similarly, when you sign up to a policy of unlimited immigration from the new EU member states and start hiring them instead of Irish workers, and those Irish workers leave to find work elsewhere, you are “replacing” Irish workers with economic migrants.
    Lots of people can’t seem to understand this or admit this.

• Stephen Potter 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Wanted! Guillotine. Must be in good working order and ready for immediate use. Will collect!

• Dez Link 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

All, what we need to do is instead of all the bickering and all that, we need to organise ourselves and come up with a set of ideals and principles and create a political party which can challenge these idiots in charge. We are bound together by democracy and by democracy we can change things. For too long I have put up with inadequate services, mealy mouthed politicians and normal people being trod on over and over again. Wanna do something about it, make a change on how things are run, organise. I’m willing to converse with like minded people to get this moving.

• Neil Williams 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

As a fine gael voter/ supporter I cannot believe that it has only taken 10 months for them to have lost reality and start talking like the last crowd

Report this comment

Damien English refused to comment on noonan comment only a year after ripping into Mary Coughlan over a similar comment.
    What a spoofer and another two faced politician as bad as last lot.
    Come out come out where ever you are?
    I will be sending him e mail for comment so should every family that has had family member go abroad

• Report this comment

@Neil as an FG voter and supporter, you should have know from their past record, that they would be worse than the last crowd. Remember, as mentioned above, this is the man that took a dying woman to court to protect the state from being sued for a mess-up that was probably caused by the last round of austerity. We can expect to see more suffering like that as the government pull more money out of health and education to inject it into multinationals and banks.

Remember in FG is the party who wouldn’t tell us before the election which big businesspeople/crooks had fronted up the €3million to get them elected.

• Philip Bellew 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Most crucially: he has a face like a boiled shite.

• Niamh Byrne 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Hee hee. Brilliant.

• Des Keegan 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

oh thanks for that! I haven’t laughed like that in a good while :-) Noonan must not have any friends at all, the rest of us know at least one friend who is no longer in this Gods forsaken country. I’m gona keep doin the lotta an hope I win, just enough to leave and join my friends elsewhere. I’m not greedy I don’t want a whole pile, cheers

• Hanly Sheelagh 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Always remember that you can’t do anything about how your face looks. Condemn the wrongdoing and don’t be getting personal.

• Dom Morgan 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Hanly, you effin killjoy.

• Glyn Carragher 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I sick and tired of the term “life style decision” forced unemployment (life style decision: Joan Bruton, forced emigration, (Life Style decision: Michael Noonan) its worse the “moving forward”. Where do we get these people?, what’s wrong with us that we elect these callous, indifferent failures?

• James Dunne 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Of course he was quoted out of context, but don’t let that get in the way of a good story!

• Don Booker 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

There was a minister called Noonan,
    Who it seemed wasn’t very clued in,
    He was prone to a gaf,
    To which nobody laughed,
    About a country he’s currently ruinin’

• superBOC 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Wow a politician out of touch with the ordinary man and woman now there’s a shock!!!

• Ciaro 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Noonan you moron.

• Report this comment

I’m overseas on the other side of the world because there is WORK here! Disrespectful comments like this makes me SICK! I don’t see a light at the end of the tunnel my son due in may won’t be Irish won’t be Australian until his ten. Ten years that’s my worst fear that I’ll still be overseas will my mother and father still be here on earth! How many times in life will my son get to meet them!

• corky2004 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Noonan you pompous git, stop giving the electorate two fingers and start standing up for your country

• Karl Doyle 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

How much did the germans pay him to say that one?

• Martina Tierney 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

a BOLOX

• Vinny Doherty 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’ve lost a huge number of my mates to OZ, and let me tell that twat noonan it was no lifestyle choice. What planet realistically are these people on? Has the average politician lost touch with every man woman and child on the street? That man knows the heartbreak that families are going through watching their son and daughter fly around the world in search of a new life because their own country, after educating them cannot offer them a job. A disgraceful comment, from a man that was a failed politician before and is destined to fail again.

• Karl Doyle 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Anyone hoping a message in a song named Bigger Than Us by Hannah Montana might teach them something? Can’t believe i’ve just had to resort to a bloody kids song to get a message across to our finance minister, actually wait its Ireland, Im not surprised.

• Pat Enright 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Noonan or no other official has the slightest idea as to how many people have left the island, where they went to or as to how they are getting on. pompous gig…. Remember Enda’s Election night speech. “Paddy doesn’t want to hear lies”.

• Report this comment

everyone’s also leaving cus they’re depressed off their heads with no work (and usually) not much else to do but drink! the drinking culture which we live in gets a bit boring after a while if u dont have anything else productive and fun to do.there were more suicides last year than deaths on the road.something to think about maybe?

• Keith Troy 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely! As one who migrated in the 80s this type of crap destroys ones belief that these Morans will ever think past their expense cheques!!!!

• Dave Harris 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Im a bit puzzled about why this gaff was not mentioned on RTE nine o’clock news.

• Knel Deeb 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

It seems that the Journal was the only news site to publish a live transcript of the press conference….but your question still stands, why wasn’t this monumental statement from our Minister for Finance shown (or mentioned or even alluded to) on the national broadcaster ???

• 666 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

head so far up his ass

• Clare Logue 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It is not just young, single people emigrating. Families are being forced to emigrate to pay for the “homes” they built in Ireland because this is where they chose to live. So the idea that they are going because there are great opportunities in Australia or America is a load of c..p. They are going in a few cases I know to keep their families together and to prevent themselves living in debt for the rest of their lives. They are going to continue to be able to pay for the homes they built in Ireland but they can no longer afford to live in.

• Tom Murray 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Well said clare, he’s a complete arse and his comments show he has no notion of reality

• Noeleen Saunders 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I lost a cousin abroad who had no choice but to go abroad to work, his comments are so deeply offensive to all who have had to go through this. Why is the ordinary people suffer this faith and they think they can say and do whatever they want it’s not fair, my cousin was to young, I wish this bast**d nothin but I’ll luck

• Report this comment

I had to leave like everyone else because their was no work… Not because I had a choice.

I miss my family and friends and then you have a pompous idiot like this saying that I had a choice.

Angry!!!!!!

• Noeleen Saunders 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

And by the way lads I hope ye do come up with yere own party and wipe the evil smirks off some evil face . . Power to the people!

• Zvczv Derthyds 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Our government and TDs salaries are too high and attract that sort of people people to politics.
    Obviously it should be just middle vage salary as simple as that. Then only people committed to the nation public interests will come to replace this bunch of bustards.

• Paul O'Keeffe 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This buffoon should be on the chopping block. How dare he make such an ignorant statement and then try to wriggle out of it by pleading the ‘out of context’ defence. He is so completely out of touch with the struggles ordinary people are facing in this country. Just saw one of his tard party members (Liam Twomey) try to defend him on Vincent Brown by getting very irate and hot under the collar claiming this ‘honourable man has done great things for the country’. Like what? Sell it down the river, take full advantage of his elite position to squeeze as much out of it in expenses as he can and then turn around and tell us we are having a great time abroad. Blood boiling stuff.

• Report this comment

Yep we all wanted to leave as a “choice of lifestyle”, thats fucking rich! I was gone for a long time and attempted to move home with my American wife in 08. We lasted a little over 2 years before re emigrating to Chicago. While back home we were very happy and both working, me in construction on the motorways and my wife in healthcare. We had planned to raise our children in Ireland etc. Then the crash hit and the shit hit the fan. After working and paying taxes for over two years I was laid off. The Soc wouldn’t give me a penny cause they were convinced we had MILLIONS in bank accounts in the States. Right, cause anybody who was used to working would ever want to draw the dole?!?! Yet the dole moles that never worked a day in their life can claim forever and not a word is spoken about them. Our little Island is fucked for the foreseeable future folks, that is FACT. But it’s pretty galling that these arseholes with their pensions and expenses not to mention state salaries would even comment on emigration with such arrogant statements as this. Mr. Noonan get a fucking clue mate.

• PerkyBeans 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Myself and partner have left, we where forced out Noonan.
    We where both employed. Me, salaried at 45 hrs a week, but working 60 due to cutbacks, no extra pay just work. (retail)
    Partner a nurse, no full time contracts due to hiring freeze in HSE. Unable to get a mortgage due to being on temporary contracts. Our basic wage getting smaller and smaller each week with new taxes, charges, and everything else going up. After some years of this we had enough. How could we justify staying here, it’s just take take take, more more more, it is no place to start a family. Why should we pay someone else’s tab, then eek out a miserable existence counting pennies in fear we will have less next month.

• David Green 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

We vote out the sesame street gang and bring in the muppet show who’s mouths are in gear before their brain’s have a chance to kick in. I’m sorry what brain’s. It’s time to get this muppet show out and get someone else to run the country. I’m sorry again, someone else is running the country I think they might be German.

• Niall Fitzpatrick 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Note to political class: the recent emigrants are mostly educated, they won’t cry in their beers for the auld sod or let endure the misty notion of Ireland as a victim of this world. They know the policy failures is home grown. Be warned, those that bite the hand that feeds them usually lick the boots that kicks them.

• CMD 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Noonan and his cohorts are so out of touch it is frightening. A certain Cavan TD was driving around houses in Cavan last week in a 2012 merc distributing leaflets telling people about their social welfare entitlements. Rubbing your nose in it or what!!

• Declan Whelan 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

wouldnt it be great if the people that emigrated could vote in the next election….

• Veronica Maguire 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What a bloody idiot, he is totally inconsiderate and no clue what he is talking about. The reason thousands of people leave here everyday is because there are no jobs here or else people are about to loose their jobs and they cannot afford to stay here. It is not a choice of lifestyle it’s a decision one has to make. My friend and her husband both lost their jobs at same time so they had no choice but to move away as there isno work for them.it enrages me when people like that biig fat idiot can carry on running the country after a statement like that. It’s disgraceful what he said and he should really make a public apology for his ignorance.

• Bernadette Dunne 23/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Do you know I am tired…. Tired of Politicians lying through their back teeth and spueing out crap to the Irish people. I am tired of Levies Taxes Increases Home Taxes Water Charges increase in transport charges in crease in petrol increase in insurances increase in moor tax tired of increase in supermarkets tired of all the lies lies and more lies BUT i will Not pay with what i have not got they have taken enough and it is time we took back control…… CONTROL of Our Votes and Control of our OWN COUNTRY Our forefathers did it before us for us it is time we did it now for the generations to come

Add New Comment