TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Greece to receive full EU-IMF bailout funds by Wednesday after long delay

Greece will receive €16 billion to recapitalise its banks as part of the deal.

Image: AP Photo/Petros Giannakouris

GREECE WILL RECEIVE all of a long-awaited €34.3 billion  loan tranche from the EU and the IMF by Wednesday, a Greek official has said, hours after an initial payment was carried out.

“The full amount should arrive by Wednesday,” the official told AFP on condition of anonymity.

“A payment of €7 billion was made on Monday. There will be another €11.3 billion for debt buyback plus €16 billion to recapitalise Greek banks,” he added.

Following a decision by European leaders last week, another €14.8 billion from Greece’s ongoing EU-IMF assistance package is to be disbursed in the first quarter of next year.

Greece had been denied bailout funds since June owing to reform delays and a protracted electoral campaign that created uncertainty about the future of its promised fiscal overhaul.

The recession-hit country urgently needs the money to settle a €31.9 billion debt buyback carried out last week.

It must also recapitalise Greek banks that took a massive hit to their books in the spring from a write-down, a previous attempt to bring Greece’s huge sovereign debt under control.

- © AFP, 2012

Read: IMF approves latest €890 million loan – and warns against mini-Budget >

Read: Greek buy-back deal would wipe €20 million off national debt >

Read next:

Comments (23 Comments)

• Paul MC 18/12/12 #

We are in the same boat, years we taxpayers bailed out ICI/AIB. the following year and every year thereafter AIB paid dividends to shareholders, this is a repeat just on a much bigger scale. The fat cats get fatter while us peasants have to suffer.

• They just print the money and feed them enough for life support while they asset-strip and milk the interest. The winter should cull the homeless, and leave the resorts clutter-free for further development. Billions have been siphoned out since the collapse. A lot done …more to do.

Happy Bertie everyone. They come in Greece as well as grease.

• Greece is an absolute disaster. They should have defaulted. It’s disgusting that the average person has to suffer. Especially in the case of Ireland. The banks gambled, and the average citizen deals with the consequences.

• Next year we will be discussing their next default or debt right down as EU politicians prefer to call it. There debt is unsustainable. Just like ours.

• Kerry
      A run can be created on a Bank if enough people publicly queue and volubly demand their money NOW and in CASH.
      The more an economy is talked down the greater the likelihood that an economy will fail for similar reasons .
      Why do you persist in playing the amateur know it all in economics when it can cause so much damage. If you didn’t know and we’re merely ignorant , you no longer have an excuse.

• Michael J Collins. I might be no expert but I’d agree with the experts in this field who say that the Greek debt is unsustainable just like ours. My opinion you have yours I have mine.

But to be honest if you think the CEO’s of investment firms and banks are logging on to thejournal to check the status of any particular country and my comments are making them quiver behind their desks it’s not ignorant I’d be calling you.

• Oh dear Kerry.
      My mother always told me to never argue with a fool because onlookers might be unable to tell the difference.

• She was right Michael I agree there is no point in trying to have a debate with someone who’s mantra is “say nothing and have no opinion unless it’s the party line”.

• @ creamy – People here believe we will be grand in 3 or so years. Not the case its a decade at the very least, if we need a 2nd loan from the IMF then its a lifetime of this.

• Oh boy 18/12/12 #

My God they are sooo screwed for years to come.

Greece as we know it is ancient history, again.

• Must be awful to be in a recession. Our politicians keep showing us how great everything is by example. The Greeks must learn to be passive like the Irish and accept their sins and punishment like we do. I trust that this current government of ours cares deeply about the people. Especially the less fortunate :)

• God they really are like a third world country… Oh wait!!

• padraig 18/12/12 #

Germany wants Greece in the Euro so they give lighter bailout terms for Greek banks. People are nothing in this disaster.

• Greece,Ireland,Portugal,Spain are part of the Eu political and business Extended artificially created financial ponzi scheme that’s been operated by the political elites across Europe to asset strip national resources to benefit the few wealthy banks and golden circle colleagues.Greece entry to EURO was rigged with dodgy accounts and EU support plus Irish public were forced into the euro by a political business cabal and we see what has happened.

• The reason why we are not getting the same deal as greece is because we have a timid culchie school teacher and the 212 noonan bloke negotiating on our behalf.

• Thanks be the feck for that . I’m due to collect this social over there on Friday.

Add New Comment