TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Greek pensioner kills himself in main Athens square

The retired pharmacist left a note linking his suicide with the country’s financial crisis.

People lay flowers at the site where the elderly man shot himself today
Image: AP Photo/Thanassis Stavrakis

A GREEK RETIREE shot himself dead in the busiest public square in Athens during morning rush hour this morning, leaving a note police said linked his suicide with the country’s acute financial woes.

The incident sparked debate in parliament and an anti-austerity group called for a peaceful protest later today, accusing Greek politicians of driving people to despair with harsh cutbacks implemented to secure vital international bailouts.

The 77-year-old drew a handgun and shot himself in the head near a subway exit on central Syntagma Square, which was crowded with commuters during the morning rush hour, police said. The square, opposite Greece’s Parliament, is a focal point for public protests.

Police said a handwritten note was found on the retired pharmacist’s body in which he attributed his decision to the debt crisis. Greece has seen an increase in suicides over the past two years of economic hardship, during which the country repeatedly teetered on the brink of bankruptcy.

Athens News reports the note left by the man said:

The Tsolakoglou government has annihilated all traces for my survival, which was based on a very dignified pension that I alone paid for 35 years with no help from the state. And since my advanced age does not allow me a way of dynamically reacting (although if a fellow Greek were to grab a Kalashnikov, I would be right behind him), I see no other solution than this dignified end to my life, so I don’t find myself fishing through garbage cans for my sustenance.
I believe that young people with no future, will one day take up arms and hang the traitors of this country at Syntagma square, just like the Italians did to Mussolini in 1945

Police did not release his name and offered few other details.

Soon after the suicide, about a dozen written messages had been pinned to the tree under which the man shot himself, some reading “It was a murder, not a suicide,” and “Austerity kills.”

Government spokesman Pantelis Kapsis described the incident as “a human tragedy,” but said it should not become part of political debate.

“I don’t know the exact circumstances that led that man to his act,” Kapsis said at a daily press briefing. “I believe we must all remain calm and show respect for the true events, which we do not yet fully know.”

Anti-austerity activists who had held daily protests for months last year at Syntagma Square blamed the suicide on the cutbacks and called for a new protest in the evening.

Greece has relied on international rescue loans since May 2010. To secure them, Athens implemented harsh austerity measures, slashing pensions and salaries while repeatedly raising taxes.

But the belt-tightening worsened the recession, and led to thousands of job losses with one in five Greeks currently unemployed.

- Additional reporting by Christine Bohan

Eurozone unemployment hits 10.8 per cent >

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• That is so sad. Poor man.

• It’s sad that anybody, anywhere in the world feels such a pressure upon their lives that they seek a tragic way out.

This man worked his life only for the government to take away from his hard earned money. It’s a story many people worldwide can feel a connection too. This man, to take such a drastic action must have felt he’d done everything else. It’s a sad state of affairs when the democratically elected government makes its citizens lives worse than look after them, from the cradle to the grave.

I sympathize with this man and his family but also for all the others who have taken this route because of debt. There are many untold stories out there – It probably happens more than we think.

The sad thing about this situation is that the people of Greece feel it, but the government don’t care. They never will. For a life lost to be remembered as symbolic of a country, for the tragedy of why he took his own life, the reason so many Greeks protest against something they never had control in…His death won’t bring around any change.

• We should all worry about getting old and fending for ourselves in this country…. By the looks of things we’ll be scrounging in bins when we are pensioners too, at least if the government get their way… Cos they don’t give a flying feck about us do they…Poor man. RIP

• Many, many Irish people have done the same silently! Capitalism at its worst when system failure penalises the people it needs for its success!

We will have to find a better way or history will repeat over and over again.

• This could easily relate to Ireland as much as Greece. But no dignified life is worth sacrificing because of corrupt scum, fixated on money & power. RIP to a broken man. Unfortunately he’s not the first & won’t be the last. Seems the wrong kind of people are being snuffed out in this economic storm.

• Sad. When a person gets to that age and feels suicide only way out. Of course folks across Europe are being strangled by the decisions of the EU. The bullying going on by governments is a disgrace. Look at the recent clamour and PR bullying about the Household tax. Hang your heads in shame.

• The tragedy and unbridled sorrow that is the end of this poor man’s life,is an indictment to the indifference that bears down upon the citizen of our lands, lands beholden to a system that shows utter disdain to the plight of the individual and indeed to the people in general. The EU is a monster that draws in the blind and bleeds the freedoms from those countries who paid so much to acquire it in the first place. I was not surprised by this poor man’s act, and I am greatly aware that many throughout the peripheral nations of the EU are burdened beyond their means,but their politicians are bereft of the stoic nature required to act as true leaders and give solace to their citizens.

• I’m not surprised that people are killing themselves because of the monstrous and unjust austerity that is being imposed on them. As someone who had lived through a previous regime of collaborators I’m not surprised that he did it in a more public manner clearly hoping to stir a reaction in his fellow citizens. I hope his death won’t be in vain and there is more chance of the people rising up there than here where so many sheep meekly give in to government bullyboys. I’m not normally in favour of the death penalty, but I hope his wish that the traitors who sold out Greece are strung up like Mussolini comes true, they deserve nothing less for their treachery.

• Still think austerity is working lads?

• Irish politicians be warned…

• @Gods Horse

Sadly, many have gone down that road already. Nobody has a clue how many have taken their own lives here in the past three years because it’s not reported. It’s just so sad when it happens. Some have made new investments for many reasons, maybe because they wanted to better themselves, invest for their future, their children’s schooling, future. Sadly the tide turned. Ordinary people are not at fault, the banks are. The Managers, the staff all of them. If there was no commission for every new loan/morg 2nd, 3rd, morg. some of these difficulties that ordinary people find themselves in could have been avoided.

Some might just call it greed. I don’t think it was. Everyone wants life to be better not just for themselves but mostly for their children. The banks were in competition with each other as to whom would have the bigger % of accounts/customers/loans annually. Wrong, so wrong.

• At least if you are dead set on doing this take a scumbag banking traitor with you.

• Gay Pea,how do you know if did everything by the book. Apart from the suicide note,what is your source for this information?

• To me, this points more to deficiencies in how men are pressured and socialised as feeling they have to be responsible and provide for themselves, then about economics.

• Suicide is never a solution to a problem. It’s never the only option, it is always the wrong option.

His note should be read by young Greeks though, there is a lot to ponder there on what they need to do, if they do not want to become a nation that survives looting through garbage cans.

Either way at this stage, the future of Greece is very bleak.

• Worked for him.

• Can’t believe a government propoganda agent, oh i mean spokesman, said ‘this shouldn’t become part of the political debate…’ governments always trying to control what people think huh

• @ Fagan’s

Sadly, that was the only way out for him. Unfortunately, some go down that dark bloody tunnel so far, that they feel that can’t get out and will not turn back. I wish he had had someone to talk to or vent his anger at properly.

Thankfully, some that aren’t gone down that sh1t dark tunnel can and do get help and are really glad they did. I’ve been there, and it is not a very nice place to be thankfully I walked back out.

• I notice how the same people who like preaching that suicide is never the way often tend to be the same people preaching that people should take responsibility for themselves and not to be expecting help from the government. Finally here we see a man who was clearly not responsible for what happened to him, who worked hard all his life, did everything by the book and still his government shafted him, he had no way out and refused to debase himself. Does this demonstrate to people finally that these financiers, these politicians, don’t care about us, they don’t give a sh*it what happens to ordinary people, as long as the grey-suited moneymen are looked after. And when they’ve finished consuming the low hanging fruit, the most powerless in society, the smallest countries, they’ll work their way up the tree until we’re all destroyed by their stinking financial system.

• Poor man.

At least, the story of his betrayal has been heard.

Unlike in this country.

• Folks, suicide is rampant in Ireland at the moment, young people especially.
    A friend of mine who works in the emergency services tells me that what is going on is unbelievable, unprecedented and unreported.

• louise 05/04/12 #

Sad state of affairs! Gonna be same here soon!! Governments don’t give a sh@t

• Though I completely sympathise with the plight of this man and so many other Greek people, I cannot help but feel that the way in which he took his own life was rather selfish. Asides from causing pain onto those who love and care for him, choosing to commit suicide in front of so many people is bound to have huge mental implications on those who witnessed the act. I understand that this is a public outcry against the atrocities that the Greek government have committed, but to advocate the slaughter of politicians, economists etc., is rather extreme. Indeed they ought to be punished and I am so appalled that the economic crisis has led to so much pain and suffering by ordinary citizens. I hope that this man’s death does serve to spark progress, otherwise it’s merely a wasted death that has caused yet more damage.

• I have an indepth knowledge of Greek society,especially those Greeks who are professionals. They boasted for years about how clever they were in not paying any tax. Tragic as it may be, those actions are coming home to roost.

• I cant and I cant even imagine HOW they can sleep at night while people taking their lives as the circumstances are sooo hard. I have been living in Greece and there is NO supprt at all for the citizens – if u loose your job or if you have problems any kind of problems you’r f***de. U can move in with your mum ….
    HOW HOW can politicians go for holidays in their mansions have a lavish lifestyle if in their country things like that are happening? Well capitalism JUST DONT WORK!!!! Greed will spread more and more…but one day one day they will get their bill THAT IS FOR SURE! I swear they will and then the “small ones” will come up again…Times are changing THANK GOD!!!!! They will – people always underestimate their power!!!

• Social welfare rates have always been low. Due mainly that tax collection has,historically, been low. Hence, the numbers of those on streets selling lotto tickets. Nothing new. Greek governments of all hues pandered to their electorate and this is the result.

• Sad and are Junkies cling on to life can’t understand the human mind.

• True, my mother spoke to the ambulance men that came to take her to hospital when she fell and broke her hip and they said exactly the same thing. They said it was one every other day or so. We are kept in the dark about everything in this country. We are lied to on a daily basis…. So much for the “government of transparency”.

• I’d be interested in knowing what the worst case scenario is in Greece for someone financially?
    Imo this is a mental health issue not a political/economic issue.

• The decisions politicians make can determine often economic circumstances which in turn can influence the mental health of a country. Every person is unique & therefore changing environments will impact on each individual in a variety of ways.

• Fully agree

• Fagan's 05/04/12 #

Man, you have no idea what is going on in Greece. It’s now a third world country. It is quiet a sobering site to see countless people going through restaurant bins for food. I was only there a weekend in Athens with work but it is a common site. Greece is well past the point of no return.

Add New Comment