TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Guess who has the longest working week in EU…

Ireland doesn’t even make the top 20 of longest average working hours from April to June this year – but neither does Germany in a list that blows Merkel’s ‘lazy Greeks’ stereotype out of the water.

Image: normalityrelief via Flickr.com

REMEMBER THE UPROAR last month when German Chancellor Angela Merkel suggested the Greeks, Spanish and Portugese don’t work as hard or as long as Germany?

Ms Merkel might want to take a look at figures released by the UK Office for National Statistics yesterday. The ‘Hours worked in the labour market – 2011’ publication lists the average hours worked by all employees in full and part-time employment. And guess what? When the two groups are averaged together, Greece has the longest working week of all the EU states. Germany, by comparison, comes 24th in the list.

Ireland comes second last in the list, at No. 25, with one of the shortest average weeks (35 hours) when both full and part-time workers are taken into account. The average EU state working week for the combined part- and full-time employee figures is 37.4 hours.

The average working week for full-time employees only in the EU is 41.6 hours. Ireland’s full-time workers have an average week of 39.7 working hours. Germany’s full-time employees do work harder than the EU average, with a 42-hour working week. But Greece’s average full-time working weeks is 43.7 hours – again, the highest average in the 27 EU states.

Average usual hours worked by all in employment, and full-time workers, April to June 2011, in the EU states:

Greece – All in employment: 42.2 Full-time employment only: 43.7

Czech Republic – All in employment: 41.2 Full-time employment only: 42.3

Bulgaria – All in employment: 40.9 Full-time employment only: 41.3

Poland – All in employment: 40.6 Full-time employment only: 42.2

Slovakia – All in employment: 40.5 Full-time employment only: 41.5

Romania – All in employment: 40.5 Full-time employment only: 41.0

Cyprus – All in employment: 40 Full-time employment only: 42.1

Slovenia – All in employment:39.6 Full-time employment only: 41.8

Hungary – All in employment: 39.4 Full-time employment only: 40.6

Latvia – All in employment: 39.2 Full-time employment only: 40.8

Portugal – All in employment: 39.1 Full-time employment only: 42.3

Malta – All in employment: 38.8 Full-time employment only: 41.4

Estonia – All in employment: 38.6 Full-time employment only: 40.8

Spain – All in employment: 38.4 Full-time employment only: 41.6

Lithuania – All in employment: 38.3 Full-time employment only: 39.7

France – All in employment: 38 Full-time employment only: 41.1

Austria – All in employment: 37.8 Full-time employment only: 43.7

Italy – All in employment: 37.6 Full-time employment only: 40.5

Finland – All in employment: 37.4 Full-time employment only: 40.3

Luxembourg – All in employment: 37 Full-time employment only: 40.5

Belgium – All in employment: 36.9 Full-time employment only: 41.7

Sweden – All in employment: 36.5 Full-time employment only: 40.9

UK – All in employment: 36.3 Full-time employment only: 42.7

Germany – All in employment: 35.6 Full-time employment only: 42.0

Ireland – All in employment: 35.0 Full-time employment only: 39.7

Denmark – All in employment: 33.8 Full-time employment only: 39.1

Netherlands – All in employment: 30.5 Full-time employment only: 40.9

Poll: Are the Irish a hard-working people? Vote here>

Read: Ireland might not have longest working hours but it’s the EU’s fifth most productive country>

Read next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• I worked in the BMW plant in Munich and believe it or not they had beer vending machines and sold beer in the canteen. Feck all work was done on Friday afternoons….. I shoulda stayed….

• Dave 09/12/11 #

Same experience here! Not in BMW or Germany, but in 3 other countries. I was shocked how “laid back” working in the continent was. They certainly don’t believe in killing themselves, but they do seem to find the most efficient ( read: easiest) way of doing everything!

• Don’t work harder, work smarter. :-)

• @david thanks for clarifying that! I hate the generalization of the public sector. I’m currently night 5 of 7 in the emergency dept (I will get3 days off after my nights then back on days for 7days) but just in my 7 nights I see a change over of 3 different set of nurses as they are only allowed to work a certain amount of time in that period, which I agree with. And as is common knowledge certain hospitals dont pay us over time so when ur shift finishes you drop all and go (doesnt happen!) but you stay on to Finish Whatever youre doing. But I agree with the first poster it’s about the quality of work the Irish do!!! and I know people in the private sector who are definetly working longer than the hours stated by either bringing work home or generally and genuinely trying to help their employers! I think us Irish are great workers!!!! :-)

• Its not the hours spent in office or work place that matter but rather the outcome, productivity. Germans claim to be disciplined and productive

• Have to agree their are lots of hard working public sector employee’s!!! Please stop generalising!!!! I can vouch for stories like the one above too…it’s called caring and commitment!!! No matter what sector u work in the are people that do as little as they can get away with!!! If you really want a public sector job with all the so called perks….do what we did…get one! There are still some to be had if u look in the right places and have the correct skills. Some of us have studied for years to get our jobs!

• David-I suspect your issue is with civil servants. I’m not a guard but I know a lot of guards at a basic level-they do not get well paid for what they do. Many of them do not claim OT in the way u suggest as it’s just not sanctioned any more. I don’t think is unfair to expect to be paid a reasonable wage for a hard days work no matter what u do…nurse, doctor, guard, fire fighter etc.These people should be paid at a rate that they can pay the bills and get by. It’s unfortunate that many people don’t have jobs but these people shouldn’t be made feel guilty for having a job and shouldn’t have to justify their modest (in most cases) wages. They should just appreciate the fact they have a job!

• The focus of this debate has fallen onto the workers. Huge amounts of the public sector pay bill is simply wasted by bad management (PPARS PULSE) and bad government policies. TDs that prioritise their constituencies to the detriment of the country. Decentralisation was a disaster which was more about slicing up a ‘cake’ among TDs constituencies than any sort of valid national strategy. Anyway, I dont understand why nobody mentions the unions. They have had too much power and abused it. Thanks to them the average ESB wage is huge. Cheaper electricity would benefit all of us from householders to companies, but they get pay increases and electricity goes up!
      In 2006 civil servant unions tried to increase the 31 days holidays that senior civil servants get, on the grounds that a couple of counterparts in some cocos such as Sligo got up to 38 plus 2 privilege days.
      In all fairness, paid days off to go to the races and go Xmas shopping and for some to cash cheques that they don’t even get anymore!

• my sister is a primary teacher and she always brings work home and works untill 6or7 each evening…iam a retail supervisor and clock off at 6on the dot..but at this moment in time im writing notes for a meeting tomorrow….my point is its not about the sector wr work in..its about each individual effort we put in!!!

• We might not work the longest hours ever, but we are far more productive at work, and that’s what really counts!

• Exactly what I was going to say. I’ve lived in a couple of countries and bar Germany you are dead right. Germany are as productive as us in the workplace .

• Ok I didn’t go onto blaming the banking system, political system etc. Because of the article I’m commenting on that really is not relevant. As I said, I’m sorry for generalising, I was just stating a point of value for money in the public service. We are getting tremendous value out of some services, and it’s really wrong, as Lorraine said, nchd’s are being way over worked, and that’s because the imo is not the best union in the world for 1 and I suppose ethics is the other. It’s also because the government are being pretty clever with who they target for cuts. There are a lot of people in the public sector falling under this harding working category, I’m not targeting them. Maybe there colleagues in middle management positions within the HSE that couldn’t organise a piss up in a brewery. I thought it would be obvious the type of public sector workers I’m speaking of. I’m sure people who work hard in the public sector give out about the same people for the same reason. I really wasn’t trying to start a public vs. Private sector debate, my initial comment was just pointing out the fact (and I think it’s fair to say) that a majority of the people in the public sector have decent contracts that allow them to have decent hours. Sorry if I’m mis informed.

• FFS stop apologizing. They will never like you now.

• Thanks for clarifying that, David. However, I disagree that there are a “majority” in the public sector who are on decent pay & decent hours. I presume you are referring to management etc and not frontline staff who are most certainly not on either decent pay or hours?

• You need to clarify that you are talking about civil servants David. I have friends that have it way too easy in there for the salary they earn for the level of work they do… they don’t know what a deadline is and have their flexitime etc… paid overtime if they work any over their 32 so-called full time hours!! Fair play to them, but the whole culture of their work environment breeds complacency… never out of their comfort zone or under pressure to perform

• Ok David fairy nuff, we’re all on the same side here but it can be so bloody frustrating to constantly have people who, usually, know very little about the Public Service or the Health Service to run it down and blame it for everything from the recession to the weather and create Public vs Private divide. We should be uniting against the banks and the causes of this mess. There’s no doubt that there are quite a few managers in the Public Service who’re overpaid and as you said… useless. When their staff do a good job, the managers get their pictures taken and claim the credit but if something goes wrong, its sthe staff’s fault. The vast majority of Public Service are on low wages, far below the average industrial wage. Our hours are the same as anyone else’s, most full time staff work a 39 hour week and the European working time directive is observed – in theory. Under this directive the maximum anyone can work in each week is 48 hours but as we have seen many may work unpaid hours and junior doctors still work well over this in some hospitals, often working lenghty hours in single shifts despite being told to stop this practice by Europe earlier this year.

• I’d imagine that the public sector is the cause of bringing the average down. Also, and maybe I’m wrong in saying this, but I think a lot of people in the private sector are down on paper as a 39 hour week, get paid for a 39 hour week but actually do a lot of unpaid/ unscheduled overtime? And prob get the ‘if you don’t like it there are plenty of people out there who would be happy to replace you’. Although prob not enough of a reason to take the average down significantly..

• As someone in the public sector who puts in an average of 70 hours a week with no overtime I’d say that there are many people putting in way over the odds and working incredibly hard without any recognition at all…

• @David With all due respect would you ever… Where do you get off saying its the Public Sector bringing the average down? Do you have any experience of working in the Public Sector, do you know how many nurses work hours over their shift, one just told me today how she missed a family outing last week because she stayed behind to look after a patient during a ward crisis. Her family were upset with her but to the family of the patient she was an angel, the usual phrase. She won’t see a cent for that. Most in the Public Service do a 39 hour week, any overtime is unpaid or done with the promise of getting the time back, something you rarely get. Are you seriously naive enough to think that its only the private sector who ever make any sacrifice, no healthcare workers do unpaid overtime, or gardai, or firefighters or teachers? We all do, but we don’t fall into the private vs public sector trap.

• Man, you’re screwed. Don’t touch the public sector, there’s 300000 of them Indian sacred cows and 25 feckin Unions making sure no one says a bad word about them. Just wait now to hear all the winging about nurses and teachers and blah blah.

• Here, I klicked thumbs down for my entry above to open the hunting season.

• I wondered how long it would take before the public sector bashing started. Everything in this country can’t be blamed on the public sector! I think you’ve fallen into the usual trap of not being intelligent enough to know the difference between the public sector and the CIVIL SERVICE!!!

• Plenty of useless & lazy people coasting along in the private sector too.

• Maybe this bashing business had something to do with all the taxes and borrowing necessary to keep the wheels of the public sector well greased. I wonder how Ireland ever managed its affairs few years back when paltry E7b was spent on public sector pay.

• What would you like us to do, Dom, work for free?

• Can you explain how Ireland got from spending E7b in 2000 to spending E20b in 2006 on public pay?

• I’d say you get a nice few bob for that Lorraine. Let’s be honest, you do it because you have a job with a lot of responsibility that you enjoy with good prospects to move upwards. You’re not a martyr emptying bedpans 70 hours a week. Enjoy your weekly bag of lucre but less of the ‘woe is me!’ shtick.

• Dom, you do realise that public pay encompasses politicians, their advisors etc? It is not the pay if frontline public sector workers that has inflated the figures to that extent. I’m sure you read about a former advisor of the Taoiseach receiving a €35k pay rise? Do you not think it’s people like that who are milking public money?

• Bertie & his benchmarking and also that fecking croke park agreement. There’s the reason the public sector bashing occurs. Fantasy land shite. Bertie just said yes to everyone so that he looked good. Suck it up y’all.

• Sara, I am perfectly aware that the public sector pay bill includes the creme de la creme. But it also includes some mid-level county managers on 60-80k, a lot of useless pencil pushers etc. All of them are milking the system. And as far as nurses are concerned, Ireland has one of the highest, if not the highest, nurse densities in the world so there’s scope for savings there too. Politicians and their advisors did not take the extra E13b in pay on their own. Entire public sector was on it.

• For those who think the public sector are underpaid or at least not paid more than the private sector, look at this report from Davy in 2009 – and remember that Croke Park has protected the public sector in ways that the private sector employees have not had protection :
      http://trueeconomics.blogspot.com/2009/07/economics-11072009-public-servants-earn.html

• @ Alan Lawlor, just read that blog………. and I thought we were only held to ransom by foreign bondholders….. who on earth do we think we are? These stats are as a cancer to the patient that is Ireland inc.,…. and not only do we not perform emergency surgery we actually nurture and protect the disease……..? A shortsighted lunacy that is quite simply unsustainable! It appears cronyism is not just the preserve of an elite but is also emdodied by the protectionism offered in this Croke Park deal!

• Ok people, the facts as they stand.
    Irish peolple have less holiday entiltlements and public holidays than our european neighbours.
    The result is we work on average the equivalent of 5 weeks more than an equivalent worker in France.
    See the results in the following survey.
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/EUinireland/storyexaminer.aspx?id=97498

• Also, the figures are skewed for some countries. In France private companies work longer hours but only book 36 per week. When I visited the Paris HQ of the company I work for, I was surprised that very few people left office before 7pm. I had certain preconceptions of France that had proven to be wrong.

• Thanks David. I agree with much of what u say…I just really get cheese off with the constant public service bashing…it’s draining for those that actually do try to be effective and efficient!

• Sorry Lorraine lesson as I did generalise there. I know there are people that work hard, and do the hours in the public sector, doctors etc. However I think a high percentage of public sector workers do not put in the hard work/ hours and are not worth the money they are getting. These are the people who are giving you the bad name, blame them. These are the people who should be axed straight away to keep the countries spending down, unfortunately it’s a win- win for them, if they keep their job they have it easy until their late sixties and then get an above the average pension, and the redundancy that is being offered is much better compared to anyone in the private sector. Unfortunately I don’t have the solutions. Although I think instead of being on the defence, and slating people who give out about the public sector you should realise that there are massive problems and that most of the time we have valid points. In saying that we are glad of you( the exceptions) and hope someday that most of the people working in the public sector are more like you and not the other way around, as it is now.

• David there are imperfect people in every walk of life, not just the Public Service, which you seem to want to blame for the current state of our country. I’m sorry but you really need to get some perspective, is your ideal Public Service one where all staff are aged between 25 – 45, fit and healthy, slim, maybe blonde haired and blue eyed too?
      Of course there are some less than perfect staff, as there are in every sector, there are also people of various ages, some of these are better suited to different things and there are also staff of various fitness levels, some may develop illnesses as they get older and of course pile on the weight.
      I’d like to know, at what age should we ditch those who get older and how do we get around it legally or do we just make up a reason to ditch ‘em? About those who aren’t fit anymore, how do we judge who is and isn’t fit enough and exactly what is the limit, I could bring my dog in a let him loose? Same problem here, how do we get rid of them and those who are ill are usually easy to spot but the do gooders will have a fit if we try to get rid of them, any ideas? As for those who’ve piled on the weight I was thinking of a company marathon, weekly. This may also get rid of those who have an underlying medical condition but if you have any ideas about this I’m open to suggestions.

• What a ridiculous response. How about, instead of encouraging Lorraine to accept the constant abuse aimed at the public sector, you aim your spite at the people who are actually responsible for the problems in this country? ie politicians, bankers, high earning civil servants…

• @David. Read lorraine’s post again. She did not say that the public sector was without problems. The problem with slating everyone I’n the public sector is that you taint everyone with the same brush- including staff who work long and hard I’n frontline services. I could generalise about the private sector too eg i could generalise and say the private sector screwed this country (based on the actions of some developers/bankers and businessmen I’n the private sector). Quite frankly the public versus private sector debate is idiotic and futile. Yes of course reform is badly needed I’n the public sector. But at least be specific who you are targeting ie get your facts straight. Generalising can be very demoralising. Before you start again on pensions (yawn)…. I work I’n the voluntary sector (public funding) but I do not get a government pension.

• The banks, they were the poster boys for the private sector weren’t they? Great productivity there. Good man Seanie. Both public and private have their workhorses and donkeys. No offence to donkeys…

• I worked in Germany for over 5 years and have to say that have a great work life balance. They start dead on 9am and are away dead on 5pm but always seem to get the job done, largely because there’s no office banter and they simply don’t waste time with office gossip. Why work 40 hours if you can get things done in 35!

• Really? And what is German productivity per hour worked? The last time I checked there was no difference between Ireland and Germany (in fact Irish productivity was higher) so I am not so sure they get more done than the Irish.

• Aine 09/12/11 #

Please!! that is the actual amount ”documented” I know and many are putting through 50hours a week!!

• Whoever trusts Greek statistics……..

John, productivity is measured in output per hour. How long you work affects GDP/capita. If you’re more productive you produce more per hour but working longer hours does not affect productivity.

Btw, these figures, if true, are catastrophic for the Greeks. They work 10% more than the Irish and have less than 2/3 of the Irish GDP/capita ($26k versus $45k).

• People in the public/civil service in general (yes I’m generalizing) get paid quite a lot better than people in the same roles in other countries in Europe that have much bigger populations, we cannot, as a country, afford this level of wages. And don’t bother going on about the wages of people in the private sector because they don’t come out of public monies.

• increasing government spending increases employment in the private sector, ibec and construction federation etc or are they talking through their. ……..!!

• Absolute nonsense. Government does not create employment through spending. Every Euro of government spending is a Euro taken through tax from somewhere else and employment lost somewhere else. Either that or it is a Euro borrowed from future income and we see where that got us all.

• 20 hour week in Mayo. And it feels like it takes place all on one day.

• Moan moan moan. I think what can be taken from this tripe, is that the Irish, although they may be good workers, are an awful shower of moaning b******ds.

• @Brian, and I know I’m fighting a losing battle here, I’m very sure gardai apply for any over time they do, and whilst they get taxed like hell (like everyone in that tax bracket)they get it eventually. Nurses have a fairly strong union and they are not usually bound to the same over time problems compared to a lot of other jobs as they follow protocol very strictly. Now for teachers, I know they worked hard to get were they are, and if putting an extra hour in after there 9.20 to 4pm day which I think they have 182 of in the year is a big problem I dunno what to do. I know little of how it works with firefighters. I’m not saying these people are not very good at what they do, Gardai are some of the most respected in the world, teachers top class and I’m sure the HSE couldn’t work without nurses. I think you could have picked other jobs within the public sector I would feel more sorry for tho. I know of the massive drop in wages and everyone is feeling the pinch, but the fact is a lot of the public sector, Hse office staff/management, the co.co’s staff, politicians in general, (and these are unproductive as well from what I’ve encountered) and it’s prob fair to say teachers,(although not unproductive) would be taking the average working hours down significantly.

• David. You’re trying to sound like an expert on public service practices but you’re failing miserably. What you said about nurses not having the same “problems with overtime” as others and being regimented us blatantly untrue. Unless you know nurses in every hospital in the country, there is no way you could generalise like this as practices between hospitals can vary enormously.

• Ah David, I’d have to check with some friends who are gardai to get the exact details but just imagine if they’re chasing a joyrider through some narrow backroads, they’re hardly going to say “woa time to clock off there David, off we go”. If they apply for overtime, big if, they’ve earned it. Its a similar situation for firefighters, if they get overtime they earn it. There was an article in the Irish Independent earlier this week discussing paramedics in Kerry who had to work shifts up to 25 hours without a break as there was nobody to relieve them, IF they get paid overtime they damn well earned it. I spoke to a colleague today who went to a parent teachers meeting last week, she said she didn’t get out untill after 10 that evening and was knackered, so were the teachers, but they wouldn’t get a cent for that. As for the nurses, “they are not usually bound to the same over time problems”, are you for real? You’ve just heard how nurses work beyond their shifts for no pay, and this is common. Premium rates are to be cut in the health Service so this means overtime, shift rate and unsociable hours so the next time you take a loved one to A&E at 3 am the nurse you see will probably be getting a flat rate, try telling her how you feel. One other thing david, if you think the Public Service has such an easy time why don’t you join, surely you can’t be afraid of the work, doing the work of 3 or 4 people, and the money, well it’ll be very little I’m afraid, think less than €30, a lot less. If you think we have it easy, join us and you’ll see?

• Dunno where you got the impression teachers only work school hours..
      What about lesson plans, correcting, keeping an eye out for student welfare, reports, exam prep and parent teacher meetings (I’m probably missing loads)..

They don’t get all of that done on the premises in the allotted hours. It goes home with them, where their hours are not defined or paid, but certainly used.

• The typical private sector contract is for somewhere between 37.5 hours and 40 hours per week and 20 to 25 days holidays. The typical civil service contract is for 30 to 35 hours per week and over 30 days holidays/privilege days/”mental health” days/snow days and I am not including teachers in that which would bring the average down further. Front-line public service workers (other that teachers) are harder working and I would therefore limit my comments to the civil service.

If you take the baseline minimum hours required to work, the civil service has it much better.

Having said that, in any walk of life, there are those with a strong work ethic and then there are the coasters, slackers and wasters. My belief is that the civil service has a much greater proportion of the latter, because the management structures and the union-stranglehold means that they are protected in a way that would not be possible in the private sector.

• Where are you getting your info on “typical” contracts from, Alan? I suspect that these are your own opinions and nothing more….for instance how can you try to establish a “typical” contract for a group of worker which covers civil servants and politicians, but also gardai, firemen and nurses (who are on 37.5 hour wk-my info is based on facts, by the way. I’m a nurse).

• It’s all about the division of labour within the capitalist system. It’s no coincidence that most of the longest working weeks are in the eastern countries setting out on their affair with capitalism. But if it takes 100 people 40 hours each to do their work, then it take 200 people 20 hours each to do the same work. We should always be looking to reduce the working week while increasing employment. But the profit monster wouldn’t have that would it?

• Hmm I always worked 40 hours or more…..

• And the public sector always complaining. They wouldn’t know what a hard weeks working is.
    People in the private sector working 50-70 hours and no overtime on this side of the fence.
    The grass is sure green on the public sector side!!!!!

• sucked in by f.fails old mantra, leave the public sector and private sector fight it out while the government of the do their utmost to squeeze every spare cent out of everyone.

• You’ll never compete with public sector moaners. Too many of them. They all think they’re worth the wage they’re on too(specifically civil service). That’s the fantasy that annoys me. Croke park agreement,, me bollox. More Bertie legacy of just saying yes to everyone, regardless of reality and consequence

• the public sector are paid well too much, it should be benchmarked against our European neighbours. they have it too good. Conversely, they also happen to be the worst people for the pisition they’re in.

• Can you explain this comment further Mark, what exactly do you think an average nurse gets paid or a hospital porter, maybe you’ll enlighten us and tell us what you’ll pay them in your new world? Why do you compare us to other countries when our cost of living here is nothing like other countries, in Northern Ireland for example a GP visit costs a tiny fraction of what it does down here as does any prescribed medication.
      As for the private sector, when they deal with the HSE I’ve seen prices treble, they have no problem taking a “holier than thou attitude” and preaching to the rest of us while at the same time ripping of the exchequer, that’s all of us.

• our employment requirements are unbelievable. some people are asked to work atrocious hours here, eg registrars in A&E and the nurses. others in the same discipline of health work part time, job shares and seem to be sitting on the job. fractured structures of job sharing and part timers in the HSE, means that community care workers never get on top of their case load nor know their clients or client need. health is an area i understand, but i also believe other sectors are also top heavy, single mothers work very hard and are lonely socially. many young men trying to get a good head start work every hour god gave them. i dont fully understand how it can be sorted but the statistics of having the shortage working week on average here,reflects on neglect of vasts swards of our people. wrong, wrong wrong.

Add New Comment