TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Hogan ‘pandering to prejudice’ says Travellers advocacy group

Pavee Point has criticised the Environment Minister after he wrote a letter to constituents telling them that a Traveller family would not be moving into their area.

Phil Hogan holding a hurley at the Ploughing Championships in Wexford today.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

ENVIRONMENT MINISTER PHIL Hogan has been accused of “pandering to prejudice” by Pavee Point, a group which advocates on behalf of Travellers, which said it was “dismayed” at comments in a letter he wrote to constituents.

It was responding to news today that Hogan wrote to constituents in Bonnettstown in Co Kilkenny last May informing them that the McCarthys, a Traveller family, would not be moving into the local area.

Hogan has said that he intervened in the matter after he was told that housing the McCarthys – who had been waiting for over four years for housing according to Pavee Point  - in that area could present a potential for conflict.

He said he passed this information to local authorities “in good faith” and “without any direction”.

The McCarthys were later allocated a house in the same area and Pavee Point said that the letter to residents there “will not assist their integration into their new home, it would not be tolerated for any other family in similar circumstances.

It called on the Minister to show his support for his Traveller constituents by sending a letter to the local community “withdrawing his remarks and supporting the housing of the McCarthy family”.

The group also urged Hogan to express his support for the development of the proposed Traveller group housing scheme in Kilkenny.

The Department of Environment said earlier that Hogan had no plans to issue a statement in relation to this matter.

Earlier he hung up during an interview with a local radio station saying he had commitments at the Ploughing Championships in Wexford which he attended today.

Audio: Hogan hangs up on radio station as he is urged to explain Traveller letter

Videos: Phil Hogan and 3 other people who hung up while being interviewed

Read next:

Comments (85 Comments)

• I try to be fair and treat everybody equally but it’s hard when it comes to travellers. I can honestly say I’ve never had good experiences with them in the past.
    I know they are not all bad. But they never turn on each other. Never talk to the guards. The good ones never report the bad ones. If the good ones expect to be treated like everyone else then they need to abide by the same rules as everyone else.

• PP out again, but silent on other issues, domestic abuse, burglaries etc-make me sick this lot. Would any if ye like this lot next door to you?”It’s in our culture”â„¢

• I wouldn’t mind at all.

• Talk is cheap. Call people racist all you want, I’ve had a lot of first hand dealings with them and they use this racism card all the time. Wanting them to abide by the same laws as everyone else dosent make me racist. Not wanting to pick up shitty nappies off my lawn dosent make me racist. Reading with contempt the names and addresses of people caught burgling etc etc …

• siobeli 26/09/12 #

@joost bos….give your name and address to your local council that you are more than willing!!
      See how you feel after a few months… While you are working your ass off to pay rent/mortgage/bills/tax etc….they are hanging around all day, arguing all night so you can’t sleep, polluting the area with rubbish, having about 10 brand new vans around so you can’t park, intimidating you and friends who visit…

are

• Oh really now Henry? I’m fairly sure labelling an entire ethnic group as criminals and degenerates counts as racist.

• mike 26/09/12 #

If a traveler takes a council house then how can they claim to still be travelers anyway. Being that they have opted to no longer live the nomadic life style.

• It’d be nice if Pavee point also criticised behaviour common amongst large numbers of travellers, particularly Tresspass onto private & public property, drink driving, racing horses along public roads, welfare fraud, animal abuse as can be seen passing many halting sites. If you want RIGHTS, you also have RESPONSIBILITIES to obey the laws of society.

• Barry 26/09/12 #

They have commented on how they don’t like the whole horse racing on public roads, but yet its extremely widespread so their views don’t represent those of the community they claim to represent.

Atleast once a week I see underage kids with horses on public roads, very dangerous public roads for that matter.

I don’t think I have ever heard of them giving out about the breaking into private property side of things, or the massive amount of littering and illegal outdoor rubbish burning that many travelers do.

Once again, if they ever have commented it certainly does not represent the vast majority of travelers that they claim to present.

In my view Pavee are a very select bunch, they will complain till the cows come home about a TD or anyone else and will say how it gives them a bad name but yet they won’t deal with the underlying massive issues that undermine their own community on a daily basis!.

Waste of space organisation

• Very well said

• This has to be one of the most interesting stories I’ve read on the journal. I grew up in Ireland and I saw the carry on of travellers. “Always the victim”. What a joke.

• Pavee point , many people are fearful of travellers because of evidence not just unfounded prejudice . We saw yet another hour long program of organised savagery on TV3 . It funny how Pavee point does not address the endless list of prejudices held by their own community towards other races , sexuality , religion , gender equality . We are all sick of your shameless ambivalence to discrimination ,

• mike 26/09/12 #

Tomy. a large portion of travellers are not poor. they work in the black economy for cash while claiming every benefit going. at the height of the boom over 90% of able bodied traveler men were claiming the dole. Do you honestly believe they couldn’t find a legal tax paying job at a time when 20000 immigrants were entering Ireland a week to fill the available jobs here.

• myself and my family have hired travellers to do various jobs like cutting trees, cleaning paths etc. you’d think. once bitten, twice shy ya.?? no…..we kept hiring different people, six times, every time we had trouble. equipment disappeared, intimidation, sometimes vicious, trying to get more money for the job agreed in advance and I could go on for ages. NEVER AGAIN. Having said that, I do feel terribly sorry for young traveller kids. they should be in school, learning like the rest of us, mixing with our kids, playing sports. etc. instead they are dragged around with elder brothers, fathers and uncle’s on how to ‘do’. the settled folk. suicide among young travellers is exceptionally high and I get actually get depressed when I think about the cycle they are caught in.

• Always the victims. Never do anything wrong. Always somebody else’s fault.

GET REAL!

• What about all the positive discrimination that travellers get?
    How is it fair that someone who chooses to have 7 children and claims social welfare because and I quote from an interview the man gave in a paper That he could not make money “selling ould yokes” feel that they have the right to be housed where they like?
    The rest of us have to pay mortgages, and work hard to get by!
    I doubt hogans constituents are complaining about what he did!!

• mike 26/09/12 #

I dread to think what this county will be like in 40 years. Hard working responsible family’s are only having 2.5 kids. Lazy irresponsible work shy family’s are having 12 kids that the state is paying to support. There will come a time when the people who live their life with the hand out and contribute nothing to society will outnumber those who do contribute. who will pay for their dole then.

• I wonder could hogan use his super powers the other way? for all those people trapped in huge negative equity trying to move / trade to a bigger home. He could write to interested buyers and discreetly threaten them to buy. He’d never run out if work that’s for sure.

• not hear say travellers can go to dole office in a 2012 avensis no means test no cab.

• mike 26/09/12 #

If travellers want to be treated as equals in Irish society they need to start contributing to it first. Always the hand out shouting I’m Entitled To. Never the hand in the pocket to pay tax like the rest of us.

• Best comment! I recall a traveller telling me that earning money on the black market and not paying tax was part of their culture!!!!
      Or when the free bus for traveller children to take them from their homes to school was cancelled all the parents stopped sending their children to school…dispite that each family owned a vechicle…because they felt they were entitled to free transport!!!!
      I think of all the families who cannot afford cars, and are going without to pay for annual fee for the school bus

• Same with the poor…. if they expect to be treated equally they should be more distinctly average and earn the average industrial wage and pay average taxes and just be more…….um…..average…. yeah, the poor should pay more money to be treated as equals.

• johnny 27/09/12 #

thats a fairly stupid comment Tomy are you trying to say sll travellers are poor or do you just like making stupid ststements

• What I’m saying is simply that most distinct groups for which there is a distrust/hatred for throughout history is pretty much kept “in their place” by that hatred and distrust.

I’m not saying that all travelers are innocent, I am saying that the kind of comments I see here are generalisations which are dangerous.

• Get off your high horse Pavee! You know better than most how some of your community behave….these appear to have had some reputation!

• No, they didn’t have a bad reputation actually.

Hogan should resign.

• Resign? No way! He has balls to say no

fair play to him for standing up to them

• And I’m sure you know yourself that inappropriate behaviour is not just confined to one section of the community.
      This whole debacle seems to me another divide the people tactic, while we’re fighting amongst ourselves they line their pockets and cede even more power to Europe.

Don’t forget that there are people everywhere from every background that engage in antisocial behaviour, who are quicker to cite their rights over their responsibilities.

The fact of the matter is, regardless of what you think of the traveller community, Hogan was poking his nose where it didn’t belong which resulted in a family losing a house they waited years for and what’s worse is they have a section of the public against them because they can’t look beyond their own prejudices to see the family as they are.

• Hogan should have more sense but then again thinks he can get away with anything.

• We’re going to have to kick Big Phil out i think – he’s definitiely not leaving on his own

• Petr, good man with 250 red thumbs!

• Hi Minister, i work hard and pay a lot of tax, can i please have a free house too ??
    I promise to stop working, leech off every tax payer in the country, drink cans, steal stuff and generally cost the state millions over my lifetime… my friends at state funded Pavee says it doesnt matter if i cause havoc, because your all racists and we deserve a free ride

• Sadly, the Travelling community do not help themselves. They seem to be a law unto themselves. On many occasions, situations are set, with cries of “Traveller Discrimination” resulting in publicans and other businesses having t o pay out compensation amounts. No doubt Vincent Browne will again act tonight as if all travellers were saints. Judging from comments here this evening, Minister Hogan, has very broad support throughout the country. Who funds Pavee Point? Presume it’s not from the huge sums of “Discrimination” awards paid out over the years.

• I’m sorry but my friend had to hand the keys of his own house back to the bank after a traveller family moved in next door. Hammers etc were been thrown over his back garden wall while his kids were playing. I know not all travellers are bad but what about taxpayers rights?. We don’t seem to have any in this Country anymore.

• What I would like to know is Who invited that plonker Hogan to the ploughing!

• I heard a story once that a couple of guys were doing some work on a house,and this traveller pulled up with a couple of polish lads,left them there to clean the gutters and arrived back later to inspect the work,was happy with the graft done and handed the two polish cheques for the days work and sped off in his hiace,needless to say the lads who were on site wet themselves laughing at the poles who had no idea what a traveller was,you gotta give it to that traveller,he scammed em classic style.I’d say the cheques are still bouncing

• Big Phil is clearly not interested in changing the status quo. What a leader.

• The next person that trots out the old ‘rights versus responsibilities’ argument better explain to me how they are personally accountable and collectively responsible for all the crimes, drink driving, animal abuse, domestic abuse etc. of non-travelling people?

• Does it really need to be explained , really , you don’t get it ?. You don’t even understand that it’s not rights “versus ” responsibilities , it’s : implicit in all rights are responsibilities , if you have no job or no income and you depend on the state To survive ” your right” your implicit responsibility is to stop having kids until You can extricate yourself from that situation . You other point is also moot , it’s the disproportionate amount of people within a relatively small community that engage in anti social behaviour that is unique here, these are facts, you may argue they are discriminated against in education and work but how can you offer a standard education to some who lived a nomadic lifestyle , maybe we should pay for personal tutors to travel with them . Hope this makes sense

• Well said. Irish people were well able to stand up for the civil rights of African Americans in the 60′s, and for Coloured rights in South Africa during apartheid. Yet it seems perfectly acceptable to discriminate against travellers here, the “sure they’re all the same” argument. Lazy generalisation of a diverse ethic group.

• Lannister , your ignorant to compare the two and you are the one that rolls out the lazy emotive racist card . The former was prejudice based on the colour of skin which i deplore but the issue here is around the actions and total lack of social responsibility by
      significant number of a community that is itself racist or could you point to many inter racial traveller marriages? I don’t know but I’m will to bet there isn’t one in the entire country ‘course you wont have a clue probably to busy half studying social issues

A significant

• Lannister , your ignorant to compare the two and you are the one that rolls out the lazy emotive racist card . The former was prejudice based on the colour of skin which i deplore but the issue here is around the actions and total lack of social responsibility by
      significant number of a community that is itself known to have racist and sexist or could you point to many inter racial traveller marriages? I don’t know but I’m willing to bet there isn’t one in the entire country ‘course you wont have a clue ,your probably to busy half studying social issues

A significant

• siobeli 26/09/12 #

@lannister…cannot compare civil rights in the 60s to travellers? These people fought for equality in opportunities in life.
      Travellers have been given plenty of opportunities and positive discrimination and rarely act upon them. Children were encouraged to get educated, to suit their way of life, many halting sites were provided with on site teachers-with parents choosing not to send children.
      The community employment scheme is open to people out of work who are aged over 25…travellers are exempted and can take a ce place at 18 years of age…and guess what…they don’t take it up!!
      Extra grants, scholarships etc have been made available to travellers to take up 3rd level education…not taken up

• @Tensing Norgay

“Hope this makes sense”… no, it doesn’t make sense to me even if you like to think of your opinions as facts.

From where i am standing all humas should be treated equally and the idea of collective punishment or discrimination of any group or community is a despicable act of bigotry.

• Well said, Simon. Change ‘Travellers’ for ‘Jews’ and we’re back in 1930s Germany.

• Mother of god petr

Jews didn’t go around threatening people. I have a Jewish friend, nice guy, he doesn’t go around with bundles of illegally earned untaxed fifties in his pockets either. Nor does he own an abused horse, or a 12 reg uninsured transit with false plates.

• Simon and Petr, you’re a disgrace to compare the two and its amazing journal allows these misinformed doing gooders essentially call me a racist , I judge on actions and if either of you two baffons lived near a halting site you would know . Stop embarrassing yourselves with cheap stupid comments , tell me for example how a bigoted society is that allowed hundreds of travellers engaged in open conflict with deadly weapons last year get away with not one of them doing one day in jail (64 went to court). How many times have seen all manner of rubbish left on the side of the road , no conviction , so clean it up and get on with it . If the law was actually applied as it should ….,,

• @Tensing Norgay

i didn’t call you racist, i said I judge people as individuals equally by their actions and I don’t collectively punish or discriminate against an entire community (or group of people) on the basis of the actions of other individuals in that community or group.

I’m not here to try and convince you to like travellers, you can hate whoever you want.

• Petr, please don’t compare the Jewish experience in nazi Germany and the traveller community in Ireland. You have made a stupid comment! One of many and once again you are generating a huge amount of red thumbs. Your arguments are deeply flawed.

• Niall 27/09/12 #

Petr and Simon ye are both an embarrassment.

• declan – you have a serious problem if you think the number of red thumbs has any bearing on how right or wrong an argument is.

It’s really simple, you either treat/judge people equally or you don’t.

If you don’t treat/judge people equally and collectively discriminate against an entire community you just need to be mature enough to recognise what you are doing.

It is perfectly logical and legitimate to ask if you do discriminate against travellers as a whole community of people what other communities of people do you discriminate against.

• Simon, let’s get something straight here. When I was growing up travellers used to come to our house and my mother would give clothes to the little children and I can remember my mother sitting two of them down on our front porch and feeding them dinner on a number of occasions. Personally I would like a better life for them.

• http://darrylhattenhauer.com/h8/19/pages/Cartoon%20John%20Bull%20England%20and%20Uncle%20Sam%20debate%20problem%20of%20Irishman_jpg.htm
    “No blacks, no Irish”. Do you think given how typical the view was of us Irish people as shown in this racist 19th Century cartoon this means that because so many felt that Irish people were stupid, lazy and drunk it must have been true then? Perhaps some Irish people lived up to the expectations of their ‘superiors’, perhaps others did not actually fit the stereotype. I do think it demonstrates how when a group of people gets to be looked down on by society, not respected for who they are, and not given a chance then perhaps some will appear to live up to it.
    Would you as an Irish person at the time in the UK or the USA (perhaps even here in our own country) have respected a majority society that looked on you that way?

• sid 26/09/12 #

As much as I understand the absolute fear of a traveller family moving in next door , discrimination or not we all know the reasons.
    There is something Parish pumpy about a national minister writing to a council his ministry is connected to asking them not to house a certain family .
    Are this family “known to the gardai” if not it’s another stupid move by that big ape , then he hangs up on a journalist to prove his point

• No Blacks, no Irish, no dogs, that’s what I always say….

Also, no marginalised, especially the disabled. They don’t contribute at all.

Lastly, no people – particularly that crowd on the dole, DEIS schooling, gays, nor the Belgians.

• Wow ! Just puts things in perspective, how can less than 1% of the population generate so much venom ? Even their representative body Pavee Point funded by us manages to get decent people’s blood boiling by it’s selective statements ! The mere mention of Travellers fills the Journal regularly and no one has the balls to address the issue at a political level. Open your mouth and you are a Racist.

• siobeli 26/09/12 #

@tomy…have yet to meet a “poor” traveller!!
      Those you mentioned are marginalised…they have to pay for all the electricity and gas bills, pay for rent, household charges etc out of their payments
      While travellers pay none of the above and receive welfare payments on top of their earnings out of black market

• How ironic that you should list so many groups that the travelling community despise, oh sorry you’re playing the sarcasm game. Yes travellers are big supporters of equal rights for women , they are never embarrassed to have disabled children (makes the look weak apparently) they embrace homosexuals infact im
      Expecting a hiace float in next years pride festival ,masculinity is defined by ability to provide for your family and contribute to your community or is that the ability to bare knuckle batter your cousin in honour of you surname. Education is a key part of culture to improve the lives of their children. But you right those disabled guys and their illegal dumping and mass brawls always robbing metal for their wheelchairs . Let me be clear for you cause I see you don’t take things in very well, people are sick of the ACTION of far to many people amongst this community . Society is a two way thing for the rest of us .

Holden

• Tensing, I’m simply pointing out that many groups of people have prejudices held against them. The tone of the comments here is to lump all in together and make generalisations.

I absolutely believe that far too much illegal activity is put down to being a part of Traveler culture and that any member of any community within the borders of our country should be subject to the laws of our country.

The comments here are pretty much all generalisations – my post hoped to prompt something of a response that would recognise that and at least see if there are some who may actually realise that not all travelers deserve to be regarded in the pretty much uniformly negative way that they have been here.

What very much confuses me is how many posts here seem to basically say that it’s okay to hold prejudice against those who are prejudiced.

• Those that complain about the traveller men who “refuse” to work, which of you would be willing to employ a traveller?

• Why are all the comments about Travellers?
    – this twit of a minister thought he’d drum up a few votes by pretending to some residents that he could influence the local authority decision – very stupid, not going to happen and how would you feel if it was your family that some neighbours had a dislike of for whatever reason and a government minister got involved?

• Hey people we are all citizens equality and all that I would suggest that traveller people are no more likely to mistreat animals than any other section of society. Or indeed be more likely trespass break laws etc,

• Of all our troubles up & down our great country and some small minded people (yes YOU) keep going on about the dreaded… ‘Travellers’! Oohh! They make up what percentage of the population? Some of the comments here border on fascism… what do you want, a ‘Final Solution’?

• “Home of the despot and the slave” my arse.
    And theres me thinking most Irish people wasn’t racist. Hah. Good luck with convincing me back to that thought.

• Wannabe I would call you

Add New Comment