TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Indian government expresses ‘concern’ over Savita’s death

A spokesman in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs says the Indian embassy in Dublin is “following the matter closely”.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

INDIA’S MINISTRY of External Affairs has said the death of an Indian woman in a hospital in Galway, after being refused a termination while suffering a miscarriage, is a “matter for concern”.

A spokesman for the ministry said the country’s embassy in Dublin was monitoring coverage of Savita Halappanavar’s death closely.

“We deeply regret the tragic death of Savita Halappanavar,” ministry spokesman Syed Akbaruddin told Indian news agency PTI.

“The death of an India national in such circumstances is a matter of concern.”

The ministry has forwarded its sympathies to Halappanavar’s family, and said it would examine the outcome of the two separate investigations into Savita’s death being undertaken by the HSE and University College Hospital, Galway.

“We understand that the Irish authorities have initiated two inquiries. We are awaiting the results of these inquiries and we will take it from there,” he said.

Read: Savita tragedy continues to attract international attention

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• I really hope some good comes from this awful tragedy and not one more woman ever suffers this same madness. I could be Savita , my children could be Savita , anyone of you could be Savita , it is time for real change and not just talk about it.

• She did not die because of the pregnancy read the real report.
      Medical Abortions are preformed regularly ireland.
      What we are getting from this report is melicious Misinformation .

• If the Goverment had vote for the medical Bill 2012 in April. Savita may have been alive today. But thay voted it down. See how your TD voted. http://oireachtasdebates.oireachtas.ie/debates%20authoring/debateswebpack.nsf/takes/dail2012041900006?opendocument

• Something similar happened to my mum 30years ago. It’s sad to think they still haven’t done anything in this country to help women who are miscarrying.

• We’re great for the old “one law for us and another for everybody else” aren’t we.

When the outcome of the Michaela McAreevy case happened last year there was an outcry from people in Ireland (and many of them posting on Journal) demanding that the Irish government express it concern and get involved with the authorities in Mauritius and there were even calls for a boycott of the country.

Yet when the situation is reversed and an external government queries something that happened to one of their citizens in our country we seem to have no problem telling them to butt out and start throwing dirt at them.

• tom 15/11/12 #

we should wait until the findings are in from the inquiry before jumping to conclusions. India of course will want to see this report and rightly so.

• So does this mean we can’t question if an Irish citizen is murdered in a country that’s perceived as being safer than Ireland? Surely this tragedy being seen internationally is a blatant sign that something needs to be fixed

• The government find it more important to discuss about smoking ban on the grounds of the Dail and same sex marriage referendum rather than debating about things that could save life. Very disappointing and disgusting

• i’m starting to really hate everyone, all beliefs and on all sides of every fence.

• I had completely forgotten that two wrongs make a right. How silly of me.

I mean, how dare someone call into question draconian laws which force agony and a high likelihood of death when they themselves don’t have a spotless record?

Oh right, because its a disgusting disgrace that this woman was treated in such a manner by the Irish legal system.

The only thing that surprises me is the lack of further international condemnation of Ireland over this. We’ve gotten off very lightly.

• If you rob someone’s pint and you find out later he’s done time for armed robbery, it doesn’t alter the fact that you’ve done him wrong and he has a legitimate right to point the finger.
    Of course such philosophical and ethical debates may be the least of your worries at that point.

• Here we go “them is worse then us”…….

• Half a billion people living in slums and dire poverty, they’ve some nerve! Tell me again what’s Ireland’s infant mortality rate compared to India’s?

• Dozens of Indian citizens are falling off scaffoldings from heat throughout the Middle East every summer and I’ve never heard a peep from the Indian government.

• are they doing so in ireland?

• also, do you keep a close eye on local current affairs on the sub-continent?

• The point Dom is making is that the Indian government cannot criticise us. They have appalling standards of health care, road safety etc… There are millions of starving children starving and quite literally hundreds of millions living in slumbs. They should fix there own problems before criticising us.

• Revolting Peasant, they are obviously not doing so in Ireland, but the point is if the Indian ministry of foreign affairs is to be consistent, they would have to make the same point about the Indian citizens elsewhere.

• ‘The point Dom is making is that the Indian government cannot criticise us’

Why not? Our laws have effectively killed one of their citizens.

• The law didn’t kill her, doctors mistake killed her.

• im just wondering how you know that the indian government doesnt ‘express concern’ every time one of their citizens is killed abroad, just because you dont hear about it doesnt mean they dont, or maybe you are always in the middle east when an indian labourer falls off a scaffold? your position is ridiculous, it compares with ireland having no right to voice concern when that girl got murdered in mauritius (Michaela McAreavey) just because loads more people get murdered here

• I currently live in the Middle East and have been doing business here since 2001 so I can safely say I am following the affairs closely. It’s not a ridiculous position, it is one that is querrying the hypocritical position of Indian government which is expressing concern over a single citizen while keeping their eyes closed over what happens with Indian construction workers here.

• From a nation who classifies millions of their children as “untouchables” and condemns them to permanent poverty.

Yeah, thanks for the input India but sort your own massive mess out first.

• Abortion has been legal in India since 1971 John. One of their citizens has died in a foreign country under dubious circumstances so they are entitled to have an opinion.

What does it say about us, john, when when a country with a human rights record as bad as India may have been a safer place for this poor woman to seek medical help during a miscarriage?

• Oh sorry yes, India is better than Ireland now in the eyes of the armchair warriors on TheJournal.ie

Morons.

• werejammin,

You can’t judge an entire countries medical history on one case. Ireland is a safer place for women to have children than India – or even the UK. That is the factual reality. One tragic case doesn’t change it.

• says yer man thats in here ranting every single day…

• John, untwist your little knickers. I was quite plainly being specific to Savitas case. If it is proven that a procedure being refused to her, but would have been carried out in India, played a significant part in her death, then I think its quite fair to say that she would have been safer there. That does not condemn the entire Irish medical system or somehow boost Indias.

And before you call other people morons, I suggets you remove the chip you have on your shoulder for the catholic church that has powered your moronic rants for the past couple of days, using this womans tragic death for your personal soapbox.

• As a poster said on here rather evocatively, referencing her own experience: Ireland is a great place to give birth, it’s a bad place to miscarry. We owe a better duty of care to women whose foetuses are unviable.

• there are times i suspect that john donovan, seany breen and vincent dolan are all the same person, the similarities are uncanny if it isnt

• @ werejammin- waste of time arguing with/ trying to get reason out of John Donovan. I wouldn’t waste my time.nn@ revolting peasant. Spot on. John Donovan is a troll- just likes to stir for the sake of it ( see his comments to other articles relating to savita’s death).

• should we call in the troll-hunters?

• Once again the Indian government and the Indian people(except for some TAMIL people in TAMILNADU) proved to the world that they are SELFISH,INHUMANE,IRRESPONSIBLE AND THOUGHTLESS as they are when questioning deaths of those who are of Indian origin except when thousands of innocent TAMILS were slaughtered by the sinhala army in 2009,they prefered to play an important part in the slaughter of TAMILS.They supplied weapons and logistics to the murderous sinhala army and turned a blind eye when TAMIL CHILDREN,WOMEN,BABIES WERE SLAUGHTERED. The indian government has proved that they are least bothered if those killed wereTAMILS.They also have proved time and again that they will raise questions ONLY if Non Tamils are killed, murdered or even injured as in UK and Australia where the affected victims were from northern india.
    As for Savita’s case the Indian government has no right to interfere but should leave it to the Irish police to conduct an investigation.

• Where were you when thousands of ”savitas” were slaughtered by the muderous sinhala army?
    Where were you when hundreds of “savitas” were raped by the sinhala army?
    where were you when thousands of “savita’s” brothers/fathers/uncles/daughters/aunties/uncles…..were slaughtered by the sinhala army?
    Where were you when INNOCENT TAMIL BABIES WERE CRYING FOR HELP?
    Where was the world when all the above happened?
    Where was UN,USA,UK and the rest of the world when INNOCENT TAMILS were slaughtered?

• padraig 17/11/12 #

Half the world’s poorest live in India. Infanticide of female babies is prevalent. Killing unborn females is a typical object of Indian terminations. The infant mortality rate and the rate in hospitals is off the chart there. The husband and family are entitled to be angry. India is not.

• India, where pregnancies are terminated because the foetus is female, honour killings are carried out, women have acid thrown in their faces and there is a caste system and their government are concerned about us?

Seriously?!

• India having a go…funniest thing I have seen all day. some people have forgotten there history already.

• Agh India, a beacon of light in showing the world how to perfect social inclusion and equality.. millions live in slums, millions considered untouchable, women still routinely assaulted and suffer domestic violence at the hands of their arranged husband and beast of a mother in law in the name of honour.. A country that is spending billions in an arms race with Pakistan (another shower who are just as bad if not worse)… yes I am really worried what the Indian government etc think of us. The death of that woman should not have happened and it’s shocking to think that it did in 2012 make it more so . We need abortion for medical reasons and if rape victims require it ( difficult to implement, I know) but high street abortion clinics… no. I am for limited abortion and no I am not religious, I just believe that we do not have the right to decide if another human being can live or not.

• Do you have the right to tell a woman that she must carry a pregnancy to term if she doesn’t want to?

And as for India’s track record, most of us are indeed well aware of this, but there’s also parts of India that are far more westernised. All they are doing is expressing concern over the situation as many people here are, which they are right to do. We would do the exact same if some ridiculous lack of long overdue legislation in another country had led to the death of one of ours.

• There are several ways to measure yourself. Of a standard, of yourself and of others. We should.be measuring of ourselves..::)
      lings

• I read on here that the incident in question, whilst obviously very tragic, is covered under current legislation? So this shouldn’t be used as a weapon to push for legalisation of abortion. Made available to any circumstance, abortion would become reckless, irresponsible and as common as a hobby. This tregedy is a result of professional malpractice, and nothing to do with abortion laws, no?

• You obviously have no idea of what an abortion is and how difficult it is for a mother who finds herself in the position where she feels she has no other option. No where has it become “as common as a hobby” and to say that is trite and stupid! Safe abortions have to be available where there is no chance of the foetus coming to term and where the health of the mother is at risk. It is only sheer luck that more mothers haven’t died because this much needed clarity needs to be provided by legislation.

• “Abortion as a hobby”!! Really Andrew? The sheer ignorance of some people on this topic is quite staggering…

• By ‘i saw on here’, you mean you looked for an arguement on here which fit your beliefs, ignoring, for example, the doctors who note they’re not sure about when exactly when they can perform an abortion.

Can you actually explain how legislative clarity could be bad?

• Sorry Andy, woman should have the right to choose, and the rest of us should do all we can to help, whatever the decision, abortion already exits for those that can afford to travel, the paternalistic attitude to those without the money is unhealthy in my view

• Andrew
      “A Hobby”??? What planet are you from i know from personnal experiance that women DO NOT think abortion is a hobby or another form of birth control. They make a decision they have to live with for the rest of thier life. It is a womans body, and a womans decision and they should have a right to decide to have an abortion or not.

Who are you to tell a woman what she can and cannot do with her body? As far as i am concerened a woman should be allowed to have an abortion upto the point in which life can be sutained outside of the womb currently thats around 24 weeks i think. Once life can be sustained outside of the womb i feel that it is then that that foetus has the right to life.

• Ok Andrew, one or two things..
      Vincent Dolan was going around repeating the lie that there’s already legislation that covers this on the articles yesterday. There is not.
      Gavan (journal writer) came in and explained it to him. There’s a Supreme Court ruling, and there has been since 1992, but there is NO LEGISLATION. That’s exactly the problem, without that legislation the doctors could still very realistically be charged under the Offences against the person act. People want legislation because we are supposed to have it and the government have avoided putting it in place for almost 21 years.
      If you want to, check over yesterday’s stories (I think it was the one about the vigils / protests), you will see the post from Gavan and hopefully you will see your error.

As for people lining up to get abortions “as a hobby” are you for real? Are you actually that poorly informed? An abortion is not a pleasant experience, that’s like saying people enjoy food poisoning! May I suggest you get educated, because this is the problem most of the anti choicers seem to have – the information they’re basing their opinions on tends to be utter bullshit.

• Actually, Shanti, I was bored last weekend. So just for the craic, I was like, “I know! I’ll lie to my family, because I’m worried they’ll judge me, empty out my savings, take a bus over to England and back within 52 hours and have an uncomfortable procedure performed.” Chess just isn’t doing it for me anymore.

• I thought that the law states that abortion could be performed when the life of the mother was very much at risk, which was the case here. So it would have been covered under current law? If anyone could clarify that it would be appreciated. Also, I hope you understand the “hobby” comment was an exaggerated metaphor depicting a situation whereby a woman could have one regardless of her previous circumstances leading to the pregnancy, socioeconomic situation or the predicted neo-natal health of the foetus etc etc. To be able to access that facility so easily would be worrying.

• Andrew from what several of the journals staff have said trying to clear up this misunderstanding on the various threads, while there is a Supreme Court ruling, there is no legislation to give it effect. So no, really the doctors would be taking huge risks and we do not know yet who ultimately made that call. We do know that if there were legislation, the doctors would have known exactly what they were and were not permitted to do and have done it.

With regards abortion on demand.. It’s not a decision one makes lightly, to assume so really shows a lack of respect for women’s emotional intelligence. It’s a decision that most women make after agonising over it for a while (unless there’s other reasons for it, such as medical, rape etc). It’s not a pleasant procedure, the women I know who have had them said that it was horrible. It’s also not cheap.
      If we were to introduce abortion I would hope that we would also be looking at preventing as many unwanted pregnancies as possible too. Contraception is cheaper, easier, and better than abortion, abortion is only ever a very difficult decision, the idea that if it were legal women would suddenly start throwing caution to the wind and just aborting later is not only ludicrous, it’s actually a little insulting.

• Thanks Shanti for clearing up the confusion regarding legislation. There really should already be guidelines in black and white.

• http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/women_s_health/abortion_information_the_law.html

Abortion is illegal in Ireland except where there is a real and substantial risk to the life, (as distinct from the health) of the mother.

I am surprised it is now being discovered that this is not formalised by law. But I remember the case of woman who bled to death after delivery due to negligence of medical staff and lack of attention of doctors. I am amazed at how little care pregnant women get in Ireland. Both my kids were born in the Middle East and my wife was getting an obstetrician appointment every month with scan and then 4D scan twice for abnormalities. The last two months the appointments were forth nightly. This is in stark contrast with Ireland where the pregnant women can at best hope to get the ‘ah you’re grand’ knock on the belly every three months by a midwife. The problem is not in legislation but in the sloppy way the medical services are delivered in Ireland.

• Dom, you are wrong. I had my children in the early eighties here in Ireland and I had monthly obs check-ups and fortnightly in the last two months. I’m not surprised that there is good maternal care in the middle east as it would appear that that is all they value women for – their ability to breed. Women have very few other human rights there.

• If India is so better than here then they should go back to there own country

• Twice 51% of the country have blood on their hands. Lets get the same question asked for a 3rd time, we usually say yes the 2nd time so better chances this time!

• mike 15/11/12 #

The fatality rate of pregnant women in India is substantially higher than here.

• So what! What are you saying, this death is okay because her original country was worse? We shouldn’t try improve because there are worse places to live. Wow, glad some people are proud that everything is okay as long as we aren’t the worst!

Add New Comment