Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Irish Times responds to criticism from parents of Kate Fitzgerald

The clock on the former Irish Times offices on D'Olier Street in Dublin (File photo)
Image: Graham Hughes/Photocall Ireland

THE EDITOR OF the Irish Times has said the newspaper “deeply regrets” any hurt caused to the family and friends of Kate Fitzgerald by the actions of the paper.

Kevin O’Sullivan’s comments came as Kate Fitzgerald’s parents criticised the paper for how it handled an article written by the 25-year-old before she took her own life in August.

In an article published on its website tonight, O’Sullivan said that the newspaper’s “sole aim” had been “to focus on an important issue for people with mental illness”.

The article says that the Irish Times’s subsequent decision to edit Kate Fitzgerald’s article and then publish an apology “was necessary in the context of fairness”.

The article says that O’Sullivan made his comments yesterday – before the Fitzgeralds made public their unhappiness with the paper’s actions.

Kate Fitzgerald’s parents met with senior Irish Times staff earlier this week, including the editor and deputy editor.

The couple said today that they were “deeply hurt” by the insensitivity of the paper.

In a piece published on Broadsheet website, Tom and Sally Fitzgerald said that the paper had “butchered” their daughter’s article.

“We are deeply hurt by the insensitivity of the Irish Times and its inability to grasp how its position has compounded our grief, and attempted to stilt the national debate on depression and suicide,” the couple said in the article.

The parents of the 25-year-old writer and PR consultant said that they “stand behind” Kate’s article.

They said that the Irish Times editor told them the article had been cut for legal reasons, and criticised the paper for its actions:

When the Irish Times found itself between a rock and a hard place, it chose to go against us and our dead daughter

Kate Fitzgerald wrote an anonymous opinion piece for the newspaper about her depression, detailing her experience of workplace reaction to mental health issues.

She had taken her own life before the article was published on 9 September.

The newspaper published a major article about Kate’s life on 26 November, written by senior editor Peter Murtagh.

The online version of Kate Fitzgerald’s article was subsequently edited. Seven days after it had been published, the newspaper published a apology on 3 December saying that “significant assertions within the original piece were not factual”.

Read Next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• Christine Bohan 16/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Hello folks, just a small bit of housekeeping.

Please do bear in mind our Comments Policy before leaving a comment on this article, in particular this part:

“Any content which is libellous, prejudicial to an ongoing court case, or could otherwise land us in legal trouble, will be removed on notification or otherwise. You will not necessarily be notified if we have removed a comment.”

Cheers,
    Christine

• Ryan Allen 16/12/11 #
    Report this comment

RIP Kate Fitzgerald.

• Jamie Walsh 16/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Very poor judgement on the part of The Irish Times. It’s very disappointing to see the Irish ‘Paper of record’ behave in such a shameful manner.

• Adam Magari 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I read the article online. I was surprised that the Irish Times carried it. May be I am out of step with fashion, but I felt the circumstances and background merited something more muted. In 1989 a relative of mine disappeared into the sea in the south coast. He left behind a neat fold of clothes and to be absolutely honest hardly a month goes by without some memory or other surfacing.

• Mark O' Cular 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

it is a pity that the media here and even the ‘new media’ are so often silenced by apparent legal threats.. especially when there is a history of this threat being empty.. well there is plenty of commentary elsewhere… (broadsheet of course and irish times facebook page….) so…., no comment.

one observation though… how much ‘news’ never becomes news because publications are afraid or just unwilling to go to court? (not worth the while, sure, news, here today gone tomorrow) ok, there’s much to be said for the legal system here too, but it is really sad when you realise how much glad-handing goes on in this country.

• BJ 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Are you for real? It was only a few weeks ago RTE, the national broadcaster, was FORCED to issued an apology for falsely alleging that a Parish Priest had fathered a child in Africa! The media have an enormous sway over the opinions of the public and the consequences of their work is profound! It can affect the life of an individual long after the article/piece is published!

All that is required is the truth. And I hope that standard remains so.

• Mark O' Cular 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Oh yes BJ. I’m very much for real. Can you say the same doll?
      I am speaking from experience, this is an area of interest to me.. i.e. I’ve been keeping an eye on this.
      Seen as you changed the subject, I will follow your lead… you twisted my arm!
      So the church can FORCE an apology out of RTÉ? Shock horror!!! Who would ever have thought the church had undue influence in this country? I won’t even go there.
      Remember #Cowengate? The Brain Cowen on the toilet guerrilla art? Remember RTÉ apologising for reporting on it’s existence? Yes they did.
      More recently… how about the ‘apologies’ by the Sunday Independent and RTÉ about misleading the public about the Gardai rape tape (ref: Corrib Gas)?
      http://www.independent.ie/national-news/sullivan-and-the-sunday-independent-2914373.html
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ABjmpax_yo
      Both of these fall short of actually being apologies and read like they were even reluctant to go this far. This was all they were legally obliged to do. In the case of RTÉ.. this apology was issued before the Angelus and later before the 9 o’ clock news on the same day, ensuring it would get few eyeballs (it was not on the Player). Why not just ‘apologise’ (if that’s what it was supposed to be) during the news? In both of these cases, the public is none the wiser about that piece of news and it could be argued that the original false claims made by the media are still ‘truth’ according to public perception. You can find some commentary on this if you care to search for it.
      For my last example here, I will cite how the majority of the media here (with the exception of this publication and a couple of other online sources) decided not to publish or report anything about the link between the Census here and a war contractor for the US military. This is certainly something of interest to the general public but I know first hand after bringing information in person “to the paper of record” and other respected news organisations that this news was buried. This was even debated in the Dáil.. (derided more like), but even so.. no news reports.
      You are on the ball with one thing..
      “The media have an enormous sway over the opinions of the public and the consequences of their work is profound”
      Indeed they do. It all depends on ‘how’ it is reported and they have as much sway by what they don’t report as by what they do.

• Jessica Connor 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Glad to see you finally covering this story.

There are many parts missing such as relevant connections between different stake holders, such as the Communications Clinic and personal relationships.

For other readers interested in further detail, it can all be found elsewhere online.

• Conor Farrell 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Indeed. I was hoping that The Journal would cover this sooner or later.

I can somewhat understand why this article hasn’t touched on everything that has happened over the last while. But even in college she made an impact on me, even though I rarely got to chat to her, and that impact she had on others that didn’t even really know her is still happening now: I would hope that the media in Ireland can help spread that message about depression without getting caught up in this nonsense.

Most importantly, I think Kate would just like for the rest of us to open up about mental health and depression. So please, if your head’s wrecked, have a chat with a mate and see if you can figure out a few steps to work past it :)

• michael cuthbert 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Well put Conor…

• Steven McCarthy 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Well I’ve written and I’ll be cancelling my delivery unless they publish a retraction and apology to the Fitzgeralds. This hastily written article is neither. The editor himself needs to grow a pair and admit he made a balls of this.

• Adam Magari 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Very true Steven. The Irish Times showed itself no less eager to grab sensationalism than media it would routinely sneer st.

• Neville Shekleton 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

As trust with IT readers is broken, much greater action is needed to rebuild. There is a huge awareness opportunity. Well done PM, God bless Kate’s family and friends.

• Seamus Ryan 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

No acknowledgement that the Irish Times themselves caused this problem by drawing the dots on where she was working by naming her.

I’m not at all impressed with the original article having been edited without a note at the bottom acknowledging that until broadsheet made a point of highlighting that. At that point, the note re the editing was subsequently added. When the Guardian edits an online article, even to correct a typo, there’s always a note of it at the bottom of the article. That encourages openness and eliminates post hoc secretive revisions and revisionism. The Irish Times, as the generally-regarded closest thing this country has to a paper of record, should have included that note at the time of the original edit. That’s ignoring whether or not it was a good idea to edit it in the first place, bearing in mind that they caused the issue themselves.

They could still do better by directly admitting that they cocked up. Anything less than that is below the standard to which they should aspire.

• Shane Gleeson 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The Broadsheet article nailed it. The established media are far too cosy with certain PR companies. They know who they are and they should hang their heads in shame.

• Seamus Ryan 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Oh, having been less than clear in my opening line, “No acknowledgement that the Irish Times themselves caused this problem by drawing the dots on where she was working by naming her.” should really be “No acknowledgement by the *Irish Times* that the Irish Times themselves caused this problem by drawing the dots on where she was working by naming her”.

• Evan O'Q 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Surprised it took so long for the journal to write about this, but i guess better late than never. Disappointed in the Irish Times, which I thought was the only Irish paper that wasn’t absolute shite..

• Jenny Darby 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I notice how everyone is so terrified of libelling Kate’s former employer, which I won’t name for fear that my comment be censored! However, little is said of the Irish times blatant slandering of a deceased girls good name claiming that some of Kate’s comments in her original article were “not factual”. Here the IT avoid directly calling Kate a liar but the implication is there. The IT are so scared of the might of PR giants that they are willing to cause untold distress to Kate’s family and friends, alienate much of their readership and essentially imply that people with mental health issues can’t be trusted. Disgraceful and cowardly.

• Report this comment

Why did it take so long for The Journal to pick this story up?

• Jenny Darby 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

No, if you read the article posted by Kate’s parents below on broadsheet it clearly states that it was Kate’s initial article that was edited and that caused all the legal issues. Peter Murtagh was careful to make no reference to her employer. I think the journal might have made a boo boo here in saying that it was the Peter Murtagh article that was edited.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/12/16/let-kate-have-the-final-word/

• Susan Lanigan 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

What is legally correct is morally repulsive here. Ruat caelum, fiat iustitia.

• Report this comment

The legal argument is, frankly, a crock. Even the IT in their crazen apology to the communications clinc acknowledge no legal representation has been made. This is because there is NONE to make. This is not a case of libel or slander, precisely why TCC have no legal leg to stand on and has chosen to exert pressure.

I’m quite happy to name them – Kate didn’t name anyone, specifically she did not assign blame , but the Irish Times were happy to apologise to the previously unnamed communications clinic and in doing so made it public record. Media new and old should have more journalistic fortitutude and cease pussy footing about the issue it would seem to me.

In any case, I have written about this before, and I include Kate’s final article before the butchering – I have had a lot of traffic on this for almost 2 weeks and I have yet to receive any legal threats. Why ? Because they have no grounds for complaint, otherwise it would be gone.

http://goo.gl/QgF42

I advise everyone to continue the pressure of the Times, who have many, many questions to answer now. Youi can express you discontent in writing or email to the editor (kosullivan@irishtimes.com) and on their facebook page; facebook.com/irishtimes.

• Report this comment

Incidentally, the communications clinic CAN be named. They expressly had themselves identified. They are a private company, not Lord Voldemort so perhaps people can cease treating them in hushed tones they do not deserve.

Add New Comment