TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

140 dogs saved in biggest canine rescue in State history

More than 140 dogs were rescued from a property in rural Leitrim, where they were living “in deplorable conditions”.

Jin, one of the dogs who was rescued
Image: ISPCA

FOUR ANIMAL ORGANISATIONS worked together to undertake the biggest dog rescue in State history, removing in excess of 140 canines from deplorable conditions in Leitrim.

The ISPCA said this evening that it collaborated with Leitrim Animal Welfare on an operation to arrange the rescue of over 140 dogs from a property in a rural area of mid-Leitrim where they were living “in deplorable conditions”.

The dogs were found to have urine, faeces and sawdust embedded in their matted fur, while one dog had to have its eye removed.

The ISPCA said it is the largest case of dog rescue in the history of the state and required the co-operation of four organisations working together to rescue the canines: the ISPCA, Leitrim Animal Welfare, Dogs Trust and County Veterinary Offices.

‘Heavily matted’

The dogs were mostly Bichon Frise crosses, King Charles Cavaliers and Shih Tzus, said the ISPCA, and ranged from puppies right through to mature dogs.

The majority were heavily matted and they were also suffering from skin, eye and teeth problems.

According to the charity, the owner of the animals is a dog hoarder. This is a person who keeps and breeds dog without rehoming or having the necessary space, funding or ability to care for the animals, and although she had been making efforts to feed them, the situation had spiralled out of control due to the large number of animals on her property.

The ISPCA is hoping that a prosecution may take place over the dog hoarding.

The situation was described by Leitrim County Veterinary Officer, James Madden, as an extreme case of dog hoarding. He said the woman was breeding some of the dogs, but it also appeared that she was also taking in other abandoned animals.

ISPCA Chief inspector Conor Dowling said:

The condition of the animals was appalling, their coats were extremely matted and many had thick dreads of matted hair right down to their skin. Their coats were also matted with a mix of sawdust, dog faeces and mud and their legs were soaked in urine.
Many of the animals were also suffering from eye problems and one had to have an eye removed, while the ISPCA was forced to put another animal to sleep, which is hugely disappointing while being a mercy there wasn’t more than one.

It took five days to collect and rescue the dogs and take them to the different animal welfare centres, where they were groomed and examined. It is believed the dogs have all been rehomed or are in the process of rehabilitation in order to be rehomed.

One rescued dog, Jin, is pictured below during the grooming process, where the matted hair was removed.

Some of these photographs may be distressing for readers, so caution is advised.

140 dogs saved in biggest canine rescue in State history
1 / 6
  • Rescued Jin before being shaved

Pic: ISPCA
  • Jin pre-shave

• Grooming rescued dog Jin

• Jin being groomed

• Jin after being groomed

• Grooming

The matted and dirty fur removed from Jin the rescued dog's coat. Pic: ISPCA

Pics: Taylor the puppy settling into his forever home after cruel ordeal>

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• Jeez hope they will all be rehomed well done to those who worked to get these poor doggies out of that hell hole

• Yep, I hope they’ll be rehomed. Knowing the pounds, though, it won’t be long before a death-sentence is handed down.

• It’s not the pounds fault this kind of problem exists, it’s the Governments, they have refused to legislate against this type of behaviour, there are no laws to protect the breeding of animals in this country.

• The problem is not with the Government, or with the pounds. The problem is with us. We, in this country, have no culture of caring for pets in the same manner as (for example) the English, Scottish, or Welsh. Dogs are traditionally kept out of doors as work animals, are poorly trained – if at all – and are usually housed in whatever corner of a shed it is able to get to sleep in. They wander and breed, and we have no compunctions about putting down pups (drowning by the bag), abandoning them (the side of the road is always popular), or trying to sell them via an ad (in the local garage window). Irish pounds euthanise over 5,500 dogs annually – and those poor creatures didn’t fall from the sky. We don’t castrate them, we don’t train them, and we don’t house them. Then we blame the Government.

While this woman clearly has issues that need resolving by organisations other than the ISCPA et al, she didn’t breed all of those dogs herself. Until Irish people grow the hell up about their relationship with animals (horses, ponies, dogs and cats principally) many of these 140 rescued dogs will probably end up joining the other five thousand plus dogs we will essentially execute this year.

• Hardly ever read a comment so close to my heart. So true every single word.

• Brilliant work by the groups involved, I hope that prosecution is brought against the person/persons involved. The person is a dog hoarder so may have some mental issues but most people have family/neighbours and they should have stepped in to help that person and stopped these animals suffering allot earlier then now. Those people should feel a certain about of guilt too, guilty by inaction.

• This story causes conflicting emotions for me. As my two rescue dogs snore on my sofa, I count the blessings they give me. I’m thankful for the great work work done by so many volunteers in groups like ASH animal rescue. But lets be clear, the condition of these dogs indicate they weren’t for sale. She wasn’t in this for profit and the fact she was trying to rescue dogs seems to indicate she wasn’t intentionally cruel. Yes, the dogs needed to be rescued. But maybe so does she. Instead of burning her at the stake, how about a mental health intervention, training and 1000 hours supervised community work at an animal shelter? I have no time or tolerance for those who set out to hurt animals but was that really what was happening here? So very sad for all involved, be they on two legs or four.

• Agreed. I doubt her intentions were bad, even if they were misplaced and resulted in unnecessary suffering. Working with animals, preferably not in an official pound, but with a voluntary body, would be the ideal outlet for her obvious concern for the animals and her involvement with other people would help keep her hoarding instincts in check.

FWIW I have two rescue dogs two, and know that two is enough.

• Absolute Bastards who did this.

• The woman obviously has issues and needs help. She was taking in strays and trying to feed them until she was overwhelmed by their numbers over time. Its just a pity it wasnt noticed before now and acted on. I doubt her motive was cruelty. Probably not the full shilling.

• Sheila 12/02/13 #

I agree it does not sound delberate, but it is dreadful to hear of such things happening and going undetected for so long.

• Sheila 12/02/13 #

If the ISPCA is hoping for a prosecution, they must feel there is more than just sad behaviour involved. But there is always the issue with why there are strays needing homes…

• Les did you take time to read this article before commenting !! I think not this woman did not intentionally harm the dogs and did her best to feed them !!! She also rescued lots of strays and it got out of hand !! This poor woman thought she was helping them and may have other issues going on in her life that has lead her to hoard so many dogs !! To call her that isn’t very nice she is nowhere near the sc@m that have puppy farms just for their own greedy financial gain

• I wonder if she had 140 Dog Licences……..unlikely.

• The only help she needs is a fast track to prison where she can rot in hell.

• Ouch 13/02/13 #

Cruella De Vil
      If she doesn’t scare you
      No evil thing will
      To see her is to
      Take a sudden chill
      Cruella, Cruella De Vil

• so so Angry !! hope their banned for life keeping any kind of animal and should be NAMED and SHAMED !!…poor pets …:(

• our dog was rescued from a farm of over a hundred dogs. came from the same area as well. shitzu bison freize. i wonder is it the same woman?

• This is a F***ING disgrace. I am ashamed at the level of animal abuse continuing in Ireland today. PLEASE PEOPLE… STOP BUYING DOGS! Adopt and love them forever….

• Ah Jin should have been called gizmo . Such a cutie

• It’s absolutely disgusting to see this type of thing. It’s good to hear that a lot of them have been re-homed tough

• I have to agree with Mary , these people are sick ..saw documentary from the states, where they have exotic dangerous animal horders ( they have to go one better ;) ) and spend every penny they have trying to keep them ; but who suffers the animals so they should be barred from keeping more than 2 animals after rehab or complete ban for reoffender ..just my 2 cents. ps : the dog looks like a gremlin ..

• Awful, awful pictires. How can people be so cruel? Glad to see they’ve been rescued.

• This is just disgusting. I detest anyone who would treat a dog in this manner. Absolutely horrible

• Ridiculous that the animals had to get to that state before something was done about it.

• Surely the dog hoarder should be helped and assisted to reformed, so something as horrendous as this wont happen again.

• I’ve never heard of a dog hoarder before but imagine trying to care for 140 dogs. It would be crazy to even consider it. They obviously have issues.

• No they should be fined/named and jailed, but we can’t put those who assisted in bankrupting state in jAil, so unless they have secret stores of garlic(no vat) feck all chance of these excuses for human being brought to any type of meaningful justice.

• A dog hoarder is usually someone who has the best of intentions but gets overwhelmed by the very situation they try to assist with . In their minds they are trying to save all the unwanted animals but unfortunately they do not know when to draw the line . They end up in a situation where they cannot afford food , vet care and spaying and neutering procedures for the dogs and the thus the dogs end up in a worse situation than before . For the most part a dog hoarder has no evil or bad intentions but is someone who needs help .
      It’s surprising that a relation of the hoarder did not recognise the problem this person was having and alert the authorities well before this situation got out of hand for these poor dogs . I am so glad they were taken out of this situation and given a second chance in life !
      I am also very surprised that the ISPCA are pushing for a prosecution in this case when the hoarder clearly has mental health issues .

• Well said Mary. There is a bigger picture here and we don’t have all the facts. Some people hoard animals out of a misguided sense of caring, loneliness, neediness etc. I love animals myself and abhor any kind of cruelty but it may be that the dogs are not the only victim here. I could be wrong of course, but in the absence of all the facts I’ll err on the side of compassion.

• There has to be a prosecution to make an example of the case to warn others. Mental case or not! friends and neighbours ignored her plight. For animal abuse offences there is no legal framework and very light punishments.

• Is this not just a dog farm rather than a well intentioned but overwhelmed dog hoarder?
      Sounds like they weren’t kept as pets, just to sell to people who love to buy from breeders and then boast about it.

• That is just so awful. How anyone could do do that to any animal is beyond me. It’s just heartbreaking.

• how many of the people who are outraged by this terrible situation walk past animals that have been abandoned every day? and how many donate to the organizations that help rescue and re- home animals?

• A great measure of a society is how it allows its children and animals to be treated. We need much stronger laws against these monsters.

• Does anyone actually get by the headline on the journal these days or do the just jump in and comment?

• poor woman obviously wasn’t well but at least the dogs were saved.. sad story all round

• Again the failing legal system to deal with this sick behaviour is evident. Hopefully Karma does exist and these people get what they deserve. Speechless.

• animal welfare legislation is usually opposed by our politicians eg the Labour hypocrites who supported stag hunting despite their manifesto commitment to ending blood sports.

And Coveney’s so-called Animal Welfare Bill is a farce.

• I agree that the new Animal Welfare Bill is a farce .
      For example remember the case of the puppies found in Dublin before Christmas , taken into by the DSPCA . How many people know that almost all these dogs HAD to be returned to the breeders ? Such is animal wrlfare in Ireland . Animal welfare is a joke in this country !

• Utter absolute b******* who did this.

• Obviously someone with that many dogs isn’t all well in the head, so cruelty probably wasn’t her intent. But if it was may she die roarin!!

• So Vincent were is your pic mr. Handsome and the article is not about ppls looks it’s about animal cruelty, if you really want to be a smart ass take a pic and let us see what you look like mr. Troll !!!!

• yvonne 12/02/13 #

What an absolute disgrace. This type of cruelty makes my bloody boil. Name and shame. Ban them from having animals. Very large fine – proceeds to be given to animal rescue.

• Disgraceful carry on

• Liam 12/02/13 #

The government has to bring in legislation to prevent people from amassing this amount of dogs, they do not have the capability to look after them when the number gets anywhere near what this woman was found with, even half the number is too many, I hope these dogs find good homes and she can never be allowed to keep animals again

• bob 12/02/13 #

my dog noodles is a rescue pup! an amazing pet for the family.there is something to be said for helping out a rescue doggy.but these “dog” factory’s should carry a maximum sentence to make these people think twice! go to official rescue Center to put these people out of business!

• no way was she just a collector ! she had all small breeds for one reason! small and cute = €€€€ making money out of the misery of these poor dogs! I would say back in the good days she made a killing ! nobody now has a couple of hundred quid for a dog! so they kept breeding and were not selling like she hoped ! she chose not to ask for help and let them suffer guilty as charged ! oh I forgot animals don’t have any fu….ing rights in this country ! she will get an €80 fine and banned from keeping dogs for a year fu…ing disgrace ! :(

• It’s like a red mist………

• Horrible horrible ppl who harm animals just nothing in them at all, name and shame these evil low life’s just makes me sick to think of the poor animals, glad that they are being cared for now, hope they have happy lives so deserve it :)

• This makes me so sad. The poor doggies.

• Anyone wanting to own or have a dog, should be certed and licenced. They should be made do a dog handling and care course, certed and then apply for a licence to have one! Then the dog should be chipped and registered like greyhounds are with I.D. tags also! Start there, the rest should fall in place!

• All pedigree dogs,sounds more a a puppy farm,that got out of control when the demand dried up.

• So sad

• She deserves to be left to live in her own shit.

• OMG…. WHY OH WHY … The poor animals .WHY !!!

• Does anyone actually get passed the headline on the journal these days or does everyone just jump in and comment?

• Hopefully seen as the charities have them and not the pound they will be fostered or forever homed instead of put down, charities do amazing work and don’t put down dogs even if tight for space the pound is different.

• very sad situation,i used to care for dogs who were to be re homed,i had 13 at one time,labs jackrussels even a blind lab,some were strays others from a local overcrowded pound,it was difficult to look after them all but i did,an when i couldn’t i didn’t take anymore,this lady must have meant well at the start and got overwhelmed by the amount of dogs,it should have been noticed an reported long before now by neighbors or relatives,surely somebody seen this go on before it got out of hand!

• watched a documentary at Christmas about a dog and cat hoarder. they genuinely feel they are “helping” the animals by hoarding. the cat guy was the worst. the levels of ammonia from the cat urine in the house caused blindness in many of the cats, and kidney failure in his wife who had to leave her home and live elsewhere while he stayed with the cats!! anyway, when they took the dogs away from the crazy dog hoarding woman, she just got more. this will probably happen in this case too! she needs to be prosecuted and banned from owning animals! and it needs to be properly enforced!

• What a disgusting piece of work she is!

• The situation is disgusting, but it is not fair to say she is. It is quite likely she has mental health issues that resulted in this unnecessary cruelty. She is not in the same league as the puppy-farming feckers who in some instances keep dogs in similar conditions, but do so for love of money, not misplaced love of animals.

• But what about all the humans, that must live on in the deplorable conditions in Leitrim

• Them lads were heading for a meat processing plant in castleblaney, just as well they were rescued.

• Sorry Noel but people are too lax with situations these days. Tell that to the 140 poor distressed animals. I agree with them to prosecute and that’s my opinion I’m afraid. We all have one, whether they seem right or wrong!

Add New Comment