Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 20 °C Sunday 24 July, 2016

#Rescue

# rescue - Yesterday’s News

SPONSORED

# rescue - Friday 22 July, 2016

Man fined €4,000 for illegally smuggling 88 puppies through Dublin Port

It is the first conviction of its kind under new legislation.

# rescue - Sunday 17 July, 2016

Man taken to hospital after falling from cliff in Howth

The incident occurred yesterday afternoon.

# rescue - Saturday 9 July, 2016

Man hospitalised after collapsing during Dublin half marathon

The man, in his 30s, underwent immediate CPR and was shocked using a defibrillator.

# rescue - Tuesday 5 July, 2016

Two men rescued after fishing vessel sinks off West Cork island

The operation was concluded successfully this evening.

# rescue - Monday 4 July, 2016

Dog owners surrendering pets to pounds to avoid paying for holiday kennels

The number of unwanted animals put down last year fell 10% but animal charities say problems remain.

# rescue - Sunday 3 July, 2016

Boy (13) flown to hospital after falling into sinkhole

The boy is not believed to have suffered any serious injuries.

# rescue - Thursday 23 June, 2016

Body of young man recovered from blowhole in Belmullet

The tragic incident was reported at 12.30pm today.

Two research workers brought to hospital in rare Antarctic rescue mission

It was only the third time that an emergency rescue operation has been launched in the middle of winter.

# rescue - Wednesday 15 June, 2016

The body of the 2-year-old boy dragged underwater by an alligator has been found

The family were on holiday when the incident happened.

# rescue - Sunday 12 June, 2016

From The Daily Edge These friends formed a human chain to save a dog from drowning in a reservoir Never Break The Chain

# rescue - Thursday 9 June, 2016

Two fishermen rescued after their boat sinks off the Cork coast

The rescue happened about 10 miles of Dursey Island.

# rescue - Tuesday 31 May, 2016

Abandoned horse left with maggot infection after headcollar embedded on its head

It took four attempts with a team of volunteers, a vet and the operations manager at Dublin Zoo before the animal could be caught.

# rescue - Tuesday 24 May, 2016

Man rescued off Cork coast after falling overboard from US ship

The US Coast Guard vessel USCGC Eagle was operating in Irish waters this morning.

# rescue - Monday 23 May, 2016

Cork parents praise 'heroic' woman who jumped into river and saved three-year-old boy

Alan and Adriana Watters have set up a fundraising page to thank the mother-of-13 who rescued their son.

# rescue - Saturday 21 May, 2016

Passengers jump from hot air balloon onto boats in dramatic Melbourne rescue Out Of Fuel This post contains videos

Passengers jump from hot air balloon onto boats in dramatic Melbourne rescue

Nine people were rescued in unusual circumstances as their balloon ran out of fuel this morning.

# rescue - Thursday 12 May, 2016

Four swimmers rescued after getting caught in rip current off Dublin coast

A RNLI volunteer entered the water to rescue the casualties over risk of hypothermia.

# rescue - Friday 6 May, 2016

Second car discovered during River Lee search

The alarm was raised shortly before 6am this morning.

# rescue - Sunday 24 April, 2016

49 starving monkeys rescued from South African garden centre

The monkeys had been kept in cages for the entertainment of people coming to buy plants at the centre.

# rescue - Wednesday 20 April, 2016

Watch: Britain's biggest royal fans count down to the Queen's birthday

“I’ll just say a few words as I give her flowers and a card.”

# rescue - Monday 11 April, 2016

Dramatic video shows three fishermen rescued from sinking trawler in Cork

The fishermen had to swim to the RNLI lifeboat where they were pulled to safety.

# rescue - Sunday 10 April, 2016

Men rescued from burning boat after explosion

The incident happened just out from the village of Oranmore shortly after 1pm yesterday.

# rescue - Tuesday 5 April, 2016

Teenager 'slipping in and out of consciousness' rescued from mountain

The student was part of a group hiking in the Mourne mountains.

# rescue - Sunday 3 April, 2016

From The Daily Edge This rescue dog adopted two ducklings and they're now internet darlings Life Of Pikelet

# rescue - Monday 28 March, 2016

Fishermen rescued off Arklow coastline

The distress call came in shortly before 8am this morning.

# rescue - Sunday 20 March, 2016

# rescue - Tuesday 23 February, 2016

Troops rescue 16-year-old Swedish girl from Islamic State

A statement from the regional government said that the girl had been “misled” by an Isis member in Sweden.

# rescue - Sunday 14 February, 2016

Ponies rescued after becoming stranded on Waterford cliff

The ponies have now been moved to a more secure field.

# rescue - Tuesday 9 February, 2016

Gardaí rescue swans confused by Storm Imogen

The wet weather confused the swans making them land on wet roads instead of rivers.

# rescue - Friday 5 February, 2016

Man airlifted from Russian ship off Cork coast after “sustaining burns” in engine room

The rescue happened today at about 5.45pm.

Man dies after boat taken from boat club capsizes on River Shannon

The incident happened yesterday morning.

# rescue - Thursday 4 February, 2016

Helicopter needed for rescue of four men after boat capsizes

This happened at around 4.30am this morning.

# rescue - Saturday 2 January, 2016

Coast Guard made to wait 25 minutes for ambulance, gave up and transported patient to hospital in jeep

The Coast Guard helicopter had rescued a man in his 70s, suffering from “severe hypothermia”, from a beach in north Dublin.

Video: Horse rescued after falling into river and being swept downstream

The horse was being swept downstream into Lough Derg.

Man in hospital following Limerick house fire

He was taken to University Hospital Limerick where his condition is not yet known.

# rescue - Friday 1 January, 2016

Teen saved from River Shannon after heavy flooding

The incident happened on a section of the river below the Parteen Weir hydro dam.

Man suffers severe injuries after falling off a bridge in Dublin

He was rescued by members of the Dublin Fire Brigade.

# rescue - Thursday 31 December, 2015

10 adults and two children rescued from bus caught in severe floodwater in Scotland

Emergency services were called to the scene yesterday afternoon.

# rescue - Tuesday 29 December, 2015

Baby orangutan found in urine soaked box now attending ‘pre-school’

Gito the orangutan looked “almost mummified in his cardboard coffin” when he was found.

# rescue - Sunday 27 December, 2015

Irish ships in the Mediterranean rescued almost 9,000 migrants in 2015

Both Ireland’s maritime Defence Forces and its Coast Guard have had a year to remember.

# rescue - Wednesday 23 December, 2015

Three men (and a dog) rescued from stormy waters by helicopter

Their boat became stuck on a sandbank off Rosslare, as Storm Eva swept in.

1 2 3 4 5