TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 26 May, 2016

#Rescue

# rescue - Tuesday 24 May, 2016

Man rescued off Cork coast after falling overboard from US ship

The US Coast Guard vessel USCGC Eagle was operating in Irish waters this morning.

# rescue - Monday 23 May, 2016

Cork parents praise 'heroic' woman who jumped into river and saved three-year-old boy

Alan and Adriana Watters have set up a fundraising page to thank the mother-of-13 who rescued their son.

# rescue - Saturday 21 May, 2016

Passengers jump from hot air balloon onto boats in dramatic Melbourne rescue Out Of Fuel This post contains videos

Passengers jump from hot air balloon onto boats in dramatic Melbourne rescue

Nine people were rescued in unusual circumstances as their balloon ran out of fuel this morning.

# rescue - Thursday 12 May, 2016

Four swimmers rescued after getting caught in rip current off Dublin coast

A RNLI volunteer entered the water to rescue the casualties over risk of hypothermia.

# rescue - Friday 6 May, 2016

Second car discovered during River Lee search

The alarm was raised shortly before 6am this morning.

# rescue - Sunday 24 April, 2016

49 starving monkeys rescued from South African garden centre

The monkeys had been kept in cages for the entertainment of people coming to buy plants at the centre.

# rescue - Wednesday 20 April, 2016

Watch: Britain's biggest royal fans count down to the Queen's birthday

“I’ll just say a few words as I give her flowers and a card.”

# rescue - Monday 11 April, 2016

Dramatic video shows three fishermen rescued from sinking trawler in Cork

The fishermen had to swim to the RNLI lifeboat where they were pulled to safety.

# rescue - Sunday 10 April, 2016

Men rescued from burning boat after explosion

The incident happened just out from the village of Oranmore shortly after 1pm yesterday.

# rescue - Tuesday 5 April, 2016

Teenager 'slipping in and out of consciousness' rescued from mountain

The student was part of a group hiking in the Mourne mountains.

# rescue - Sunday 3 April, 2016

From The Daily Edge This rescue dog adopted two ducklings and they're now internet darlings Life Of Pikelet

# rescue - Monday 28 March, 2016

Fishermen rescued off Arklow coastline

The distress call came in shortly before 8am this morning.

# rescue - Sunday 20 March, 2016

# rescue - Tuesday 23 February, 2016

Troops rescue 16-year-old Swedish girl from Islamic State

A statement from the regional government said that the girl had been “misled” by an Isis member in Sweden.

# rescue - Sunday 14 February, 2016

Ponies rescued after becoming stranded on Waterford cliff

The ponies have now been moved to a more secure field.

# rescue - Tuesday 9 February, 2016

Gardaí rescue swans confused by Storm Imogen

The wet weather confused the swans making them land on wet roads instead of rivers.

# rescue - Friday 5 February, 2016

Man airlifted from Russian ship off Cork coast after “sustaining burns” in engine room

The rescue happened today at about 5.45pm.

Man dies after boat taken from boat club capsizes on River Shannon

The incident happened yesterday morning.

# rescue - Thursday 4 February, 2016

Helicopter needed for rescue of four men after boat capsizes

This happened at around 4.30am this morning.

# rescue - Saturday 2 January, 2016

Coast Guard made to wait 25 minutes for ambulance, gave up and transported patient to hospital in jeep

The Coast Guard helicopter had rescued a man in his 70s, suffering from “severe hypothermia”, from a beach in north Dublin.

Video: Horse rescued after falling into river and being swept downstream

The horse was being swept downstream into Lough Derg.

Man in hospital following Limerick house fire

He was taken to University Hospital Limerick where his condition is not yet known.

# rescue - Friday 1 January, 2016

Teen saved from River Shannon after heavy flooding

The incident happened on a section of the river below the Parteen Weir hydro dam.

Man suffers severe injuries after falling off a bridge in Dublin

He was rescued by members of the Dublin Fire Brigade.

# rescue - Thursday 31 December, 2015

10 adults and two children rescued from bus caught in severe floodwater in Scotland

Emergency services were called to the scene yesterday afternoon.

# rescue - Tuesday 29 December, 2015

Baby orangutan found in urine soaked box now attending ‘pre-school’

Gito the orangutan looked “almost mummified in his cardboard coffin” when he was found.

# rescue - Sunday 27 December, 2015

Irish ships in the Mediterranean rescued almost 9,000 migrants in 2015

Both Ireland’s maritime Defence Forces and its Coast Guard have had a year to remember.

# rescue - Wednesday 23 December, 2015

Three men (and a dog) rescued from stormy waters by helicopter

Their boat became stuck on a sandbank off Rosslare, as Storm Eva swept in.

# rescue - Tuesday 22 December, 2015

Lifeboat crew rescues boat that lost power in gale force winds

The three people on board the boat had been carrying out work in the area.

# rescue - Thursday 17 December, 2015

ISPCA issues warning not to buy pets as surprise Christmas gift

The warning comes as the charity rescues two Red Setters from dangerous conditions.

# rescue - Wednesday 9 December, 2015

‘Unresponsive’ young boy evacuated from Cape Clear this morning

The Baltimore RNLI lifeboat crew were launched within minutes of the alert.

# rescue - Tuesday 8 December, 2015

Investigation after teenage girl rescued from water at Hook Head was dropped back into the sea

The girl remains in a critical condition in hospital.

# rescue - Sunday 6 December, 2015

Animal charity rescues very grateful donkey from floodwater in Kerry

The charity’s founder had issued a plea for help earlier today so she could reach the stranded animal.

# rescue - Monday 30 November, 2015

The stories behind the people who search for bodies: ‘We started after a young boy died when he slipped into the water’

“People are only out there because they want to be out there, there’s great camaraderie and we keep each other going in a search.”

# rescue - Wednesday 28 October, 2015

17 dogs, including 10 puppies, rescued from cramped cages at Rosslare Harbour

A female German Shepherd who was in pup gave birth hours after being rescued.

Remember these hugging dogs? They finally have a new home

The two pups were saved from being put down in July, but still needed a forever home.

# rescue - Tuesday 20 October, 2015

Coast guard rescues man having a possible stroke

The man was taken to hospital in just four minutes.

# rescue - Monday 19 October, 2015

Person taken to hospital after Dublin house fire

Four units of the fire brigade and an ambulance attended the scene.

# rescue - Saturday 26 September, 2015

Two people rescued from River Liffey

One was taken to hospital, but the other refused to go.

# rescue - Sunday 13 September, 2015

This Irish film inspired by the Josef Fritzl case is getting rave reviews

It was written by Irish author Emma Donoghue.

1 2 3 4 5