Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 23 August, 2017

#Rescue

# rescue - Monday 7 August, 2017

Local garda swims out and rescues man who'd jumped from a bridge in Sligo

The incident happened in the town yesterday afternoon.

# rescue - Wednesday 2 August, 2017

Teen army cadets caught up in bad weather rescued off the Mourne Mountains

Emergency services were alerted shortly before 12pm today.

# rescue - Monday 10 July, 2017

RNLI volunteers in Cork have helped eight people in four incidents since yesterday

It’s been a busy couple of days for the Crosshaven RNLI.

Two men who died off Donegal coast named locally

Both men are believed to be Lithuanian nationals.

# rescue - Sunday 2 July, 2017

Six people rescued from boat in 'dangerous' conditions off Cork coast

“The rescue was carried out with great skill and precision on a dangerous coastline in today’s winds,” the RNLI said.

# rescue - Saturday 24 June, 2017

Boy (14) airlifted to hospital after yachting incident off Cork coast

In a separate incident, a man in his 50s required the help of the coast guard after a serious kitesurfing incident.

# rescue - Sunday 4 June, 2017

Three rescued after yacht sinks off Wexford coast

No-one was injured in the incident.

# rescue - Monday 29 May, 2017

RNLI rescues two people without life jackets from submerged jet ski

The Dún Laoghaire Harbour Police alerted the Irish Coast Guard to the sinking jet ski in the harbour.

# rescue - Saturday 27 May, 2017

So many people have drowned in this Pakistani city that swimming has been banned

It has been banned for six months.

# rescue - Friday 26 May, 2017

Search for fisherman missing off Skerries stood down

One man has been rescued and one man remains missing.

# rescue - Tuesday 23 May, 2017

Seven dogs had to be put down after being found in 'deplorable' conditions

The animals’ former owner was barred from owning any dogs.

# rescue - Thursday 4 May, 2017

'I was thinking I was going to die' - Surfer rescued by Belfast Coast Guard after 32 hours at sea

Belfast Coastguard coordinated the search for Matthew Bryce from Airdrie in Scotland.

# rescue - Tuesday 18 April, 2017

Three people 'extremely lucky to survive' boat overturning on River Boyne

The Coast Guard rescued the group after a member of the public raised the alarm.

# rescue - Monday 10 April, 2017

Volunteers involved in search for Rescue 116 crewmen 'disgusted' to be charged toll

Carrick River Rescue claimed they were stopped and charged on the M7 toll after taking part in Rescue 116 search.

# rescue - Friday 7 April, 2017

Three people rescued from River Liffey last night

They are all in hospital.

# rescue - Tuesday 4 April, 2017

'We'll do it as long as it takes': Massive community effort to feed Rescue 116 search teams

Groups from all over the country are sending food to the local co-op near Blacksod.

# rescue - Wednesday 29 March, 2017

Funeral of Rescue 116 Captain Mark Duffy to take place tomorrow RIP

Funeral of Rescue 116 Captain Mark Duffy to take place tomorrow

The body of Mark Duffy was recovered on Sunday.

# rescue - Sunday 19 March, 2017

Coast Guard and RNLI rescue eight people from overturned boat off Sligo

Two people have been hospitalised following the incident.

# rescue - Wednesday 15 March, 2017

'It's unspeakable, what's going on': Shane Ross meets families of Coast Guard crew

Searches are ongoing to locate chief pilot Mark Duffy and winchmen Paul Ormsby and Ciarán Smith.

'You hang on to a thread of hope but are fearful' - The search for Rescue 116

Three crew members are yet to be recovered.

# rescue - Thursday 9 March, 2017

'The rescue effort was enormous': Irishman rescued after yacht capsized off Australian coast

It took over 13 hours for rescuers to reach them after the emergency vessel was launched.

# rescue - Monday 6 March, 2017

No bull: RNLI tasked to rescue cattle which had fallen from a cliff

No bull: RNLI tasked to rescue cattle which had fallen from a cliff

The animals got into difficulty late last month.

# rescue - Sunday 5 March, 2017

Man dies after getting into difficulty while kayaking

He was taken to hospital in a critical condition but was pronounced dead yesterday evening.

# rescue - Thursday 2 March, 2017

At least five injured after South African hospital roof collapses

“We have the canine search and rescue team there, we are not sure if there are any people trapped.”

# rescue - Monday 27 February, 2017

From The42 Footballer saves the life of opponent who swallowed his tongue Rescue This post contains videos

Footballer saves the life of opponent who swallowed his tongue

Czech goalkeeper Martin Berkovec had collapsed after colliding with a team-mate.

# rescue - Wednesday 22 February, 2017

Coast Guard operation underway after man falls ill on fishing boat

The rescue services are heading to the scene.

# rescue - Sunday 19 February, 2017

Four units attend as Dublin Fire Brigade battles blaze in north inner city

Dublin Fire Brigade also managed to save two family members as it fought a blaze in Donaghmede early this morning.

# rescue - Thursday 9 February, 2017

Man rescued from sinking yacht off Co Cork coast

The alarm was raised this afternoon at 4.20pm.

# rescue - Monday 23 January, 2017

Three white sheepdog puppies found in Italian avalanche boost hope for survivors

More than two days have passed since anyone has been pulled out alive from the hotel.

# rescue - Tuesday 17 January, 2017

Australian family rescued from Japanese mountain after sending social media SOS

The group reportedly dug a hole in the snow to keep warm.

# rescue - Tuesday 27 December, 2016

Man rescued after falling down cliff at golf club

The man was airlifted to hospital.

# rescue - Saturday 17 December, 2016

# rescue - Friday 9 December, 2016

Man found alive two weeks after helicopter crash in remote jungle

Yohanes Syahputra hadn’t eaten in days and had wounds on his hands, waist and legs when he was found.

# rescue - Monday 5 December, 2016

Irish navy recovers three bodies during Mediterranean rescue operation

Around 269 migrants were rescued from two rubber vessels around 30 miles north of Libyan capital, Tripoli.

# rescue - Saturday 3 December, 2016

Photos show Irish forces saving 140 lives in the Mediterranean

LÉ Samuel Beckett is currently awaiting furthers tasks in the area of operations.

# rescue - Thursday 3 November, 2016

"Hero" gardaí rescue child from sixth floor apartment as witness Senator calls for their pay to be hiked

The ladder rescue happened on the Dock Road, Limerick, this morning.

# rescue - Tuesday 1 November, 2016

'She was more than my wife, she was my best friend': Husband pays tribute to volunteer wife

Bernard Lucas paid tribute to coastguard wife, Caitríona, who died during an operation off the coast of Clare.

These five real-life rescue stories will make you believe in miracles

Spoiler alert – they’re all OK in the end.

# rescue - Monday 24 October, 2016

Jet skier rescued after riding out to island and getting stuck

Their craft sank during the incident yesterday.

# rescue - Thursday 13 October, 2016

8-week-old puppies seized being exported to Scotland

The dogs were not microchipped and didn’t have pet passports, which are required to travel to the UK.

1 2 3 4 5

Trending Tags