TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

IWEA claims 30,000 jobs could be created in wind energy sector by 2020

The Irish Wind Energy Association today launched a new policy paper, which describes renewable energy exporting was “a significant national opportunity”.

Image: Paul Faith/PA Archive/Press Association Images

THE NATIONAL BODY representing the wind energy sector in Ireland has called upon the Government to put a framework in place for wind energy – claiming the sector has the potential to create 30,000 jobs by 2020.

The Irish Wind Energy Association today launched a new policy paper, which suggests specific ways for the Irish economy to benefit from renewable energy opportunities.

Speaking at the opening of IWEA’s conference, Ireland’s Renewables – Answers for Ireland, Answers for Europe, CEO of IWEA Kenneth Matthews said that renewable energy exporting was “a significant national opportunity that needs to be seized”, saying it was important for Ireland to create new export-led growth.

Matthews added:

Ireland has the potential and resources to not only meet our own renewables targets but to assist other EU countries in meeting theirs. This could lead to significant job creation, R&D opportunities and greater investment. However, Ireland must be ready to seize the opportunity and IWEA’s recommendations aim to help Government ensure the framework is correct to realise this potential.

In its policy paper, the IWEA recommends several approaches for embracing growth in the renewable energy sector, including the introduction of a Government policy to facilitate the achievement of 6GW of energy for export – claiming that 4GW of wind energy produced for the domestic market and 6GW for export could deliver up to 18,400 jobs by 2020.

It also recommends that renewable energy divisions be created in IDA, Enterprise Ireland and Forfás in order to “fully unlock the jobs potential”, saying that if State agencies were to work in tandem with industry they could “attract turbine manufacturers to Ireland, as well as supplying turbines to projects here”. Following from, the IWEA says, an Irish base could then be used as a ‘launch-pad’ into the European onshore and UK offshore market – creating an additional 9,000-12,000 jobs, and bringing the potential jobs total up to 30,400 by 2020.

It also recommends the development of a joint Irish-UK government policy, as the UK will reportedly require 18GW of wind energy before 2020. A policy to facilitate the achievement of a least 6GW of wind energy for export from Ireland could mean that the Irish economy could attract and manage an investment of more than €18 billion, it claimed.

Added to these recommendations, the IWEA also said the Government should aim to set 2030 EU targets for wind and marine energy.

The Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Jimmy Deenihan TD described the policy paper as “valuable” and added that Ireland was continuing to work to realise its renewable energy potential.

“Creating an energy export-led country adds another layer of opportunity and this policy paper provides both industry and Government with a roadmap to achieving this. We cannot underestimate the benefits that wind energy could bring to local economies around Ireland,” he said.

Read: ‘Leave the immersion on’: Your tips for saving energy… and money>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (51 Comments)

• Ahh lads, we spend €6 billion annually on energy, we import 89% of the stuff….wake up to feck will ye, we are at the end of the power grid and we currently have no influence on the price because we import all the stuff, we are sitting on a gold mine here. we need proactive attitude on the issue nt….by the way off shore wind is the best option, less planning constrains….bigger the tower bigger the power!! vestas one of the worlds biggest turbine manufactures would set up a factory in Ireland tomorrow morning if the infrastructure was able to take the wind, sadly its not

• What happens when the wind doesn’t blow? We can solve our energy problems the same way France has done – Nuclear Power.

Did you read the link from Jay above? Here’s one quote “Denmark (population 5.3 million) has over 6,000 turbines that produced electricity equal to 19% of what the country used in 2002. Yet no conventional power plant has been shut down.”

• Didn’t bother reading negative stuff to be honest, I know how to to answer that anyhow, it’s called having a mixed base load, biogas plants, wind power, hydro, wave, tidal and solar, we actually have Similar solar energy figures as Germany, as a whole we have more energy resources than Germany, thing is that they invested, “German efficiency” springs to mind. They have capitalised on it, Europeans energy experts laugh at us because we are idiots for not harnessing out energy resource, if u want to see another good idea some forward thinking Irish people are doing check out http://www.spirtofireland.org …..rant over

• David: here’s some facts about Germany then. The average percent output achieved by wind turbines in Germany for 1998-2003 was only 14.7% of their installed capacity. For normal generators it’s more like 90%. Germany reduced the tax breaks to wind power…. in 2004 but you’re holding them forward as an example for us to INCREASE subsidy? In Germany, utilities are forced to buy renewable energy at sometimes more than 10 times the cost of conventional power. You need to read negative stuff to form an educated opinion.

• Ireland’s wind regime is unequalled part from south New Zealand and the southern most tip Argentina. Germany wind regime would be at most 30% of ours. A lot of those other places in that article are inland and have a poor wind regime, we are totally different because our wind is in a different class. I’m using the Germans because they subsidy wind to make it work…so what if they do, they create of jobs out of it….governments needs to spend money to make money.better to spend a few bob on an Irish energy company than give multinational companies tax breaks I say…

• @David ok you pretty typical of the thoughtless class, wind is ineffective ! you need to build a backup power plant for every wind farm you build ,The increased cost of energy due to wind power in the UK will cost about 2500 deaths among the elderly .In Spain official figures show 2 jobs lost for every one created by there massive investment in renewable’s.Finally if you’re still deluded enough to ignore the FACTS that there is no global warming and the planet is cooling ,then by all means continue to walk around with you’re fingers in you’re ears shouting num num num.

• David
      Educate yourself on this issue rather than making silly comments. Wind Energy needs an equivalent level of fossil fuel derived power to balance the grid when the wind doesn’t blow and when there is an excess we just shed it.
      We will blight our countryside for the few Euro these conmen will make from subsidies and we will be left with another financial mess to clean up. Stop the whole thing now before its too late.

• Jeff. Climate Change is an accepted scientific fact. It is also accepted that there is a very high probability that humans are causing it. Only scientific illiterates think otherwise.

Nuclear Power is cheap, reliable, can output huge amounts of power and releases virtually no CO2.

• @william I didn’t mention climate change only a moron thinks the climate doesn’t change .The present environmental policy is based on GLOBAL WARMING so cut the BS trying to change that to “climate change” FACT CO2 is rising temps are not! you advocate cutting CO2 why? do you just like killing the elderly or are you just like most inviromental racist’s who kill millions of Africans for a failed policy.

• Jeff, perhaps you can send me a link to some scientific site where they have a chart showing that the global average temperature is falling. I can send you lots showing it’s rising.

Global Warming is causing Climate Change. Climate Change is a better name as it doesn’t confuse people who expect nothing but warmer summers.

• @William Present energy policy is based solely on the theory that man made CO2 is going to cause ever increasing global temps as predicted by Mann and his parishioners . Unfortunately since 2000 global temperature has not increased in line with all those predictions ,so in a smart political move you banned the phrase GLOBAL WARMING and told the faithful to use Climate Change ,As far as you’re belief in man made GLOBAL WARMING goes pointing out the flaws is a bit like drawing a cartoon of Allah .But if you want a reasonable view of the debate start here: http://www.worldclimatereport.com/index.php/2008/12/17/recent-temperature-trends-in-context/

• Jeff, like all those that cannot grasp the scientific method you cherry pick data to suit your argument. Why did you pick “from 2000″? It’s not that that particular date range suits your argument by any chance is it? Do you argue that because your particular granny smoked and lived to be 100 that smoking is not dangerous?

Did you get the impression from climate scientists that the temperature would go up EVERY year? It’s a very small (but significant) increase ON AVERAGE over a long time, 100+ years, that we are talking about.

Can you send me a graph over say the last 100 years to support your quack theory? Here’s one, click on the graph on this page and look at the five year average. It’s going UP. Isn’t it? http://tinyurl.com/6ysp687

• Yeah, What happens when we get all those sunny warm days with not even a light breeze that stretch for months at a time!

• This is a scam by business to steal our wind and the government is fully supporting another theft of natural resources.Already in the midlands farmers are being asked to sign confidential agreements with Mainstream Renewable Power(owned by former head of Bord na Mona and Airtricity) to cover the bogs with 100′s of turbines..wind turbines have many pros and cons and it seems like ireland has become there target to exploit and profit from our free natural resource.The jobs figures are totally fabricated and only a few hundred would be hired at the very most..why are the companies lying about the number of jobs to be created..surely this is a warning sign that they may have something to hide.
      Wind energy hub could create over 50,000 jobs http://www.offalyindependent.ie/news/roundup/articles/2012/06/27/4011127-wind-energy-hub-could-create-over-50000-jobs/

Wind farm operators make most of there money Carbon Trading..a controversial and discredited scam that lets wealthy pollutters buy clean air to offset there pollution:
      “The second reason, and you should read this and grow very angry indeed, is because of Renewable Obligation Certificates ROCs. Wind Turbines do not simply produce electricity, they produce something far more valuable, they produce ROCs. Three per cent of the energy provided by non-renewable energy producers, that is power stations and the power companies like Scottish Power, must be supplied from a renewable source. To do this they can buy a Wind Farm (hence Scottish Power’s great interest) or they get fined so much per kWh by the government. If they don’t want the fine they can buy ROCs to make up the 3 per cent.”
      http://www.montgomeryshireagainstpylons.org/wind-farms/#.T-e1P5FdnER

• Wind turbines can make people very sick..
      DONEGAL WIND FARM CONTROVERSY: LOCAL GP WARNS OF ‘HEALTH DANGERS’
      http://www.donegaldaily.com/2012/05/28/donegal-wind-farm-controversy-local-gp-warns-of-health-dangers/

Sen Kelly is convinced that, even in the face of fears raised in the British Medical Health Journal, the Irish Wind Energy Association is set against his proposals.
      “In Finland they don’t force them on communities that don’t want them. But here, they are adamant about the benefits and they are giving the line about job creation.
      http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/irishsun/irishsunnews/4505185/Eyesore-or-not-this-will-employ-66000-and-thats-not-just-hot-air.html

• All the top energy and engineering companies and IT’s are in on the act to control our wind…
      “The Atlantic Ocean Energy Alliance (AOEA) is an alliance of like-minded individuals, companies, institutes and representative bodies with an interest in Ocean Energy. Established in early 2011, the AOEA members share the common belief that the West Coast of Ireland possesses one of the best offshore wind and wave resources in the world and is in a position to realise extremely significant economic and social benefits from its exceptional Atlantic location.”

“Ireland possesses a huge natural resource off our western seaboard. We have one of the best readily accessible wind and wave regimes in the world.

We have the potential to exploit this resource to make us European leaders in the renewable energy market. Our Offshore Renewable Energy sector has the potential to exceed the contribution to the Irish economy of the Agriculture sector.

Our Prize: A dynamic Offshore Renewable Energy Industry……located off the Western seaboard…with an export value of €3bn – €3.5bn ..and 25,000- 40,000 potential jobs.
      http://www.aoea.ie/about-us/why-ireland/

• Qoute of the day !!! Bigger the tower bigger the power …love it

• We’re now solving the above mentioned issue of unreliability by using wind energy to pump water in to high inland reservoirs where it can be released at anytime to drive turbines…

• Hydropower, wind blows William and the turbine produces power to pump water up to higher land. To be released on calm days, to power turbines in a Water damn scenario! Unless you would prefer to burn gas/oil or coal to do that, more Turbines mean less coal/oil/gas/turf burnt to produce electricity. Less reliance on oil, means more oil and cheaper fuel costs? But oil companies don’t want that, they want to bleed us dry and pollute the planet for profit!

• Great news, there is great export potential in wind power and more manufacturing jobs are always welcome.

• Great news only if your name is Pollyanna and your head is where the Sun don’t shine.

• Willie, I’d appreciate if you’d keep your childish remarks to yourself.

PS: If you want some actual figures on wind power in this country, check out the eirgrid website.

• Sean; Pollyanna by Wiki “The Pollyanna principle (also called Pollyannaism or positive bias) is the tendency for people to agree with positive statements describing them. .. Research indicates that, at the unconscious level, the mind has a tendency to focus on the optimistic while, at the conscious level, it has a tendency to focus on the negative. This unconscious bias towards the positive is often described as the Pollyanna principle.”

The second comment referred to your obvious lack of knowledge about the facts of wind power because your head is probably where an Ostrich keeps his.

Eirgrid’s graph for today’s energy generated by wind shows it at 250Kw at midnight when no one wanted it and then falling to 125Kw towards breakfast when we need it, then rising in the late afternoon to 600Kw when factories are shutting and then falling again. 100% unreliable as I’ve said. Is this the data you wanted me to see? 125Kw at one stage. It regularly drops to less than 0% to 2.5% of that is needed. It’s hardly worth the effort is it?

Go back through September and you can see the varying amount of power produced by wind reminds me of the undergarments of a lady of the night. :)

• Sean…Taking information from Eirgrid’s website as fact is not dissimilar to taking the central bank estimates as fact…they have their own agenda…and it’s not for your good or mine…They’ve already been found out lying to dept of energy sub-commitees re: costing of the north south interconnector…a german independant expert group blasted them for their blatant misleading of the dept of energy in the pricing of undergrounding /overgrounding of 400kva lines…

• Wind power is not “free”. You need to build those turbines, you need to maintain them, and most expensively of all, you still need backup power stations for when the wind doesn’t blow.

Saying energy from wind power is free is like saying energy from peat-fired stations is free because the peat is just lying there in the bog.

In the UK, the average output is only 25% of capacity from their wind farms. So in Germany’s case when you installed capacity of wind power in Germany was 30,000 MW, please devide by 5 (as their average output is even lower than the UK)…

• William, seeing as how you seem to know so much about energy. What % of the coal or gas that leaves the ground and is used in a power station actually leaves the power plant as electricity? … How efficient is that! The only threat to nuclear is renewable energy, that spend a lot of time undermining it. Better if they used those brains to provide environmentally sustainable solutions to help the world.

• Thomas… and what percent reaches the consumer? Gas is 40%-60%. But we have to accept that because you can’t run the TV on gas. All operations are less than 100% efficiency. That’s the way the universe works. Wind Turbines are at best about 20% of installed capacity. NP is environmentally sustainable. Wind isn’t anything except a waste of money.

• Wrong again William. You are completely mixed up in your arguments. A wind turbine generates electricity far more efficiently than a fossil or nuclear plant. The logic of your efficiency argument means that we should all get rid of our cars… Well they are only working for a fraction of their rated output, a couple of hours a day at only a fraction of its power output… A wind turbine is almost 100% energy efficient. I totally agree with energy saving as the first step in managing scarce resources.

Nuclear has a more limited fuel supply than gas,thats admitted by all the nuclear players. Germany is phasing it out, Japan is cutting back on it. Unless of course you are proposing fast breeder reactors using waste an weapons grade radioactive material. Now who would you trust to run that? Especially the day after the report that found all nuclear plants have safety issues. An inconvenient truth isnt it? we don’t have a viable alternative to renewables. Oil is running out fast. The economic and environmental costs of extraction is getting higher. Gas from fracking as the solution to future energy demands is no answer in a world where a quality water supply is a critical issue. Your subsidy argument is complete nonsense regarding onshore wind energy in Ireland. Nuclear and fossil energy are massively subsidised. In fact the nuclear industry could not exist without subsidy. Wind on the other hand saves money. Check out the Redpoint study on the IWEA website

• I find it amazing the amount of people who criticise wind energy saying:’ There are days when the wind doesnt blow so they are useless’. I dont think any advocate of wind would deny that the weather is not the same every day of the year!Look at the glass half full and at the days (of which there have been many this year) that wind has produced 30-40% of electricity in the country. That is huge by international standards,isnt it great that all that coal doesnt have to be burned !!!Of course its not THE solution,but it will go a long way to help when fossil fuel stocks diminish to nothing in the next hundred years. btw i work with a turbine manufacturer and they are keen to build a factory in ireland but have been met with nothing but indifference from the relevant governmant bodies.typical!

• Wind power generators are to get about 7 c per unit of electricity in REFIT2 Domestic consumers pay roughly double that figure.

Where’s the subsidy? There is none in Ireland, the higher the wind penetration the lower the price per unit to the consumer, this is a fact.

Conventional generators are very inefficient, less than a third of the energy consumed is actually produced as electricity emitting GHG and waste heat and the loss of energy involved in extracting transporting and sometimes the environmental disasters from fuel spills etc. are not always recognised.

A wind generator is more efficient than a fossil generator as it uses free fuel. The only cost is capital and operating cost, it’s a hedge against fossil fuel price rises and a means for Ireland to get a competitive edge.

Naturally the nuclear and gas/coal/oil industry are very concerned that the market share is under pressure and they use every opportunity to undermine renewables.

However, the consumer is very aware that at every sign of economic recovery oil prices shoot upwards, if were an island with very high levels of renewable energy, we will be able to develop and grow our economy in an economically and environmentally sustainable manner.

• HA! Methinks this lot are blowing hot air up your a***e’s folks. Wind ‘energy’ is not only ineffective but it is expensive and unreliable. It needs massive investment and for little in return, the UK govt. and other governments in the EU and worldwide have started pulling back from this sector because of the costs that would have to be added to peoples already burgeoning energy bills, as for all these jobs! complete and utter wishful thinking especially where Ireland is concerned, most of the components for these wind farms are built abroad to start with, most of the people who build them are engineers from abroad and most of the ownership of them is foreign so this notion that 30,000 jobs will be created is pure fantasy! Ireland may have plenty of wind around it’s coasts but the simple facts are that wind energy is still too expensive and too unreliable, the country would still need a back up and that can only come from more trusted sources of energy production. Why not build a couple of Nuclear power plants instead! (that should get me plenty of red thumbs from the eco warriors!)

• Because nuclear is a fossille fuel to which will run out to eventually because Ireland has zero experience in nuclear and it would take years for us to be up to speed because we wouldn’t have a clue what to do with left overs because after a stress test of all the European nuclear plant well NONE is up. To safety standards what more do you want ?? Their also investment and jobs will profit foreign countries like France or England

• William, Uranium isn’t a fossil fuel. The word fossil in the phrase “fossil fuel” means previously living organisms that have decomposed over millions of years. Uranium was made in the destruction of a star. Don’t worry about it running out. There’s plenty of it.

We can easily work with France to build nuclear power plants. The vast majority of staff working in Ireland could be Irish. Universities & Institutes of technology here could quickly organise relevant courses. Most of the workers building the power stations can be local building workers. France has one of the the lowest costs for electricity and is 80% nuclear, Denmark is the most expensive and has the highest amount of wind power.

• I’m heartened by the realist comments of Ed, William,Adrian etc..Too many people think ” wind turbines = environmentally friendly cheap green energy”. Some poster above seems to be a big flag waver for it after studying renewable energy, what does that say about education here on the subject?? The frightening thing is we’re wide open to exploitation here. Eirgrid is already gearing up to build a huge overground network to transport wind generated power from the west coast to the east through a massive substation in the midlands. So, once again, we’re going to go headlong into an unnecessary ill informed escapade, where we invest in something that’s going to cost a fortune, make a commodity more expensive for the irish people, create very jobs, and leave a horrible mess of visual disasters in pylons, substations and turbines…

• A wind turbine doesn’t pollute the planet, like oil/gas/coal do? so would you rather kill the planet to save pounds, that you’ll end up pissing down the toilet at the local brewery. Where are your priorities people, waste less and save more. A house, leaves lights on, playstations, big flatscreens and all un-necessary electrics consuming or wasting electricity. We are the problem, conserve your energy and stop wasting it!

• Wind Turbines do pollute the planet: they cause pollution when the large amount of materials that make them are extracted and refined, when power stations are ticking over in an inefficient way waiting for the wind to drop, from the building of those extra power stations, from the economic activity that is needed to make the money that is then wasted subsiding them, and from the electricity that they consume for lights etc. In fact any grossly inefficient and useless activity creates pollution.

It’s not oil/coal/gas v wind turbines. It could be oil/coal/gas v Nuclear Power.

Wasting energy is wrong but to control that also costs money which generates more pollution etc. Even if we switch off and on appliances more often we will still need energy.

• William, my poor man! You’re a Tit, thumbs up if you agree people!

• Why waist time on taken advantage of a free and natural resource!! We can give the little ram aiming money we have in Ireland to the “OPEC” countries !
    After all we’ve already disposed of any wealth abstained to the IMF!!
    For those of you who think that Wind Energy is a waist of time, please do go ahead and find out what you are talking about before you make silly comments.
    It’s time everybody in our world start to take responsibility for our actions regarding global warming and help to reduce our carbon foot print!
    NOT let somebody else deal with it!

• Stanley, fossil fuels are also natural. Being “natural” doesn’t mean very much.

It took a while for me to understand what your “waist” had to do with this or the “little ram”. Why are we “abstaining from the IMF”? Were these silly comments? :))

Could you read some of the points above re why wind power is a con and if you are correct perhaps you could point out where we are wrong? That’s how debates are supposed to work. Clichés such as, “let someone else deal with it”, contribute little.

• Wind is free and we’re only harnessing a fraction of it.
    Pure daft for a naturally windy country which has enough wind to power the whole country and export it!!

• Not picking a side here, but wind is free but getting electricity from it isn’t. COncrete foundations, steel/concrete masts, generators, energy losses from transmission, maintenance etc.

The biggest drawback to wind for me is the inability to store the energy at 2am when a wind is blowing so that you can brew your tea at 8am when there is no wind. Sources such as gas turbines are ideal here as you can ramp up or down the output quite quickly to cope with the peaks and troughs of daily demand.

• True point but combined with other more consistent renewable energy sources e.g. tidal energy, hydro-power & osmotic energy, fossil fuel use can be minimized.

Obviously there’s an upfront capital investment in renewable energy but it beats pissing money down the ever increasing price of fossil fuels

• Tidal has to be stored too. Did you ever hear of the law of 12th’s re tides? There is no proven tidal technology. The few that were tried failed. Hydro is limited in Ireland to what we already have. Hydro is also dependent on the weather and needs back up. As I’ve said before it’s not fossil fuels v wind, it can be fossil fuels v nuclear power.

• Wind farms are a complete con and will lead to more expensive electric bills for consumers. Just at the start of the year the UK government admitted that each household’s bill would rise by ?150 pa to subsidise the future wind farms being built. They are hugely inefficient and would require thousands of them to be any good. Plus any house close to them would drop in value.
    http://www.aweo.org/problemwithwind.html

• The sort of twisted logic the wind industry uses is exemplified in this quote from a turbine manufacturer:-

“Normally electricity from commercial wind farms is sold to the grid at a price of between 6 and 7.5c per KwHr (unit). However, ESB has agreed a purchase price from domestic producers of 9c per unit …. In addition, there is a further subsidy of 10c per unit for the first 3,000 units per year… Considering that a high percentage of electricity sold to the grid will be during off-peak times (when the house is not using its own electricity) this price mechanism is a strong support mechanism which encourages households to install modest wind turbines.”

So what this says is that the Irish government will subsidise electricity generated from homes and recognises this electricity will normally be sold by the householder in off peak times WHEN NO ONE ELSE WANTS IT EITHER!

You couldn’t make it up. Cloud Cuckoo land!

• David do you work for any wind turbine company ie vestas, Nordex, enercon.

• How many jobs will be lost by taxing people and businesses to subsidise this useless form of energy generation?

• That ‘wind energy sector’ wouldn’t be Doll Airin’ by any chance?

Add New Comment