TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Let us know: What do you think of the Budget so far?

One Budget day down, one to go – and we’re looking for your thoughts about the proceedings so far…

A man watches Brendan Howlin make his Budget announcement in a shop window today
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

WE’VE HAD THE first round of Budget 2012 revelations – but we may not be out of the woods yet.

Tomorrow will see the rest of the Budget proper fall into place, with Minister for Finance Michael Noonan detailing the tax increases that will earn the State an additional €1.6billion in revenues.

But in this first ever two-day Budget, we’ve learnt so far that child benefit will be cut; that students will face higher fees; and that there will be further cuts in the public sector. We’ve got a round-up of the day in numbers here.

So what do you think of the Budget so far? Was it as bad as – or worse than – you feared? Was there anything in particular that stood out for you? And are we over the hump, or will tomorrow bring even bleaker news?

Let us know in the comments…

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (96 Comments)

• Shit. We’re all fucked… well the low and middle incomers are…

• If they want to cut back on children’s allowance why don’t they only pay it to family’s living in the state

• There’s an EU law that entitles people living here to child benefit regardless of where the children reside.

At the very least it should be paid at the rate of the state the child resides in maybe?

• The bottom line of the budget so far appears to be blanket cuts across the board that are not targeted at higher earners. The children’s allowance should have been cut more for those who least need it and not cut for those who do, similarly for the back to school clothing allowance, this will hugely affect low earning families come next September when they are trying to buy school books and uniforms, but the ones who can already afford them comfortably will continue to afford them comfortably.

Changing social welfare payments from 6 days to 5 days is a disincentive for those who can get a day or two of work here and there to bother with part time work at all.

With all the talk by the government of encouraging people to take up courses and return to education in order to get back on to the workforce, the cuts to the student grant and raising of third level fees proves that the original policy is just bullshit.

Increasing the payment by €12 for couples weekly rent is unfair as couples do not get double the amount of social welfare, the 2nd claimant or qualified adult gets less, so this cut is unfair on couples and families, and amounts to €52 per month, which is a lot if you don’t have it. Particularly when the household charge comes in for landlords and this is eventually passed on to tenants.

I found the whole thing a bit hard to swallow when you factor in Enda Kenny’s pay rise for his crony friend, which I have not heard any defence for as if yet.

Across the board, people have less money, will spend less money and coupled with tax hikes and VAT increases yet to come, will kill what’s left of the economy, retail will be hit particularly badly and the dole queues will get longer.

The general lack of forward thinking has almost become as expected.

• Isn’t the back to school allowance only cut for 2 and 3 year olds? What 2 year old is going to school?

I think the child allowance adjustment is about time. it boggled my mind why a third child would get a higher allowance than a second. Everything is cheaper on the third, all the secondhand baby equipment is still there, no need to buy new. No need for new clothes, toys or shoes, food is cheaper in bulk quantities. Creches give discounts for children from the same family. You don’t even need a different car for three kids, most cars can fit five people.

• All fine and dandy Pwurple. But as one of the Brians said “we are where we are”. People on low incomes are where they are. When they are hit with further cuts, it hurts…

• Back to school was cut entirely for 2-3 year olds, (and rightly so in my opinion) but it was also cut by €50 for 4-11 year olds, and more I think for 12′s and over (not sure exact figure here cos my kids in the 4-11 bracket).

• P Wurple 05/12/11 #

@Michael. I don’t think childrens allowance for a third or fourth child was ever intended to be considered as an extra wage for low income familes. There are other mechanisms for that.

• So what do you suggest they do when they go food shopping and the rent’s due and the kid needs shoes and a pipe bursts, etc etc

• The issue of the rent supplement is a huge problem and this cut does not help the unemployed. To make this work rents need to be renegotiated which is not a bad thing. What the state is paying in rent supplement is completely distorting the market. Put quite simply there is an oversupply of housing stock in the country. A lot of it vacant. (And a lot under the control of NAMA) If you apply the simple supply and demand theory rent should be a lot lower. If the government reduce this supplement rents landlords will have to accept a reduced rate. This in turn should have a knock on effect of reducing rent across the board and freeing up funds to spend in shops around the country which obviously bumps up the tax take and creates jobs. So who gets hurt if this happens….the landlords. A lot of whom bought investment properties long before the boom and have been milking them since. For reluctant ‘landlords’ who bought within the boom a renegotiation of mortgage terms would be needed to ease the reduced rent. Perhaps stretching the term to 100 years. (Sounds odd but the economy runs in cycles and the value of the property would go up in that time).
      As a whole the budget sucks as I knew it would. In no way shape or form is it fair and balanced. The worry is we have another 3-4 austerity budgets to come so it is only going to get worse. We need new thinking.

• Still no dole or payments for ex self employed . Maybe tmoro we will see happens .hope diesel and petrol get fixed price at 1.35 per litre as its now not right that they garages charge what they like.

• Aine 05/12/11 #

Because I’m employed nearly nothing of today has effected me par the drug payment scheme. Personally I never could understand child allowance why would you pay for having had children? now before people get angry I am a firm believer in protecting/supporting the most vulnerable in society but always a tad bit confused as to why it was never means tested! Surely that is a saving in itself?

• Have to agree Aine, free money to have kids born into a society that can’t even provide jobs for them! I know parents live in hope that someday there will be a brighter future, but in recessionary times no means testing doesn’t make economic sense.

• It’s a bit like Christmas isn’t it. Wonderful warm feeling of intense joy.
    If only I could feel like this again. O I can . Tomorrow of course and then for the next ten years . How marvellous

• Dail bar packed to the rafters according to six one news.
    TD’S one big club screwing all us fools.

• At least everyone got to have a good laugh watching it today when the Fianna Fail speaker was trying to slag the government about looking after their friends.

• Was watching TV3 news and your one Colette Fitzpatrick says that people that receive the children’s allowance don’t actually need it and that most people that get it will spend it on luxury items. Since when did buying your child food and getting them shoes become a luxury item. Who the hell does she think she is. She doesn’t have to worry with her executive salary

• Wasn’t watching TV3 Ger so didn’t see her piece. Unfortunately I’ve seen pubs on Childrens Allowance day and it would seem all that SOME kids get out of it is a coke and crisps while the parent(s) knock the rest back. I know the voucher system is archaic and widely frowned upon but there needs to be some way to guarantee that the allowance is spend on food, shoes etc.

• @ Gar well said!!!! Applause to you!

• Question for michelle etc. .. Where are the dads of these kids of lone parents !! I work my butt off as does my husband. We pay for everything we get and probably contribute towards at least 1 lone parents yearly social welfare. Why should our kids lose out on stuff because we are taxed to hilt to pay for other people’s kids who contribute nothing. Sick of the entitled commenting on their rights when they contribute nothing !!

• David 05/12/11 #

I think this budget reaffirms my decision to emigrate next year.

• Why don’t they lead by example and take a big cut in salary themselves? Why don’t they live on the same average rate as a low income family? This isn’t a monarchy, if it’s good enough for the people of Ireland it should be good enough for the leaders of Ireland

• What’s with having a budget over 2 days?? Does it take that long to translate it from German?

• What a load of liathróidí

• Child benefit should be means tested, I know of one couple with 2 kids that have a combined income over 150k pa that just put the child benefit straight into the holiday spending money fund!!! FFS I had to use last months to tax my car so I can get the kids to school safely and get out and find work, god forbid i did as jesusnoballs suggests we unemployed do and that’s sit on my arse complaining! Oh and as for emailing cv’s it’s a digital age Jesus, lots of companies request you email cv’s

• However it was not all cuts as FF spokesman Sean Flemming stated in the Dail. He told everyone….

On December 1st, FG/Labour allowed a 17% increase in their travel expenses, a 23% increase in their office expenditure (others only got 15% increase). …With a lot more increases to TD’s in power.

Say “Thank you Enda!”

• not wanting to tar them all with the same brush but it does happen unfortunately.

• We’ll tighten our belts Enda, you and your mates loosen them, again!!! Pri@ks!!

• jimbo 05/12/11 #

we are all taking it again and wait til tomorow,the more we sit down and do nothing the more these guys in power will give it to us good and hard.

• Some of the dads are also claiming dole as a seperate claim so they can get more or working and paying the mothers in cash as a kind of arrangement so she can keep her lone parents. Some are arseholes that can’t be bothered and the mothers are genuinely stuck.

• Aine 05/12/11 #

so what your actually saying is there defrauding the state by not declaring that they are actually getting financial assistance from the father of the child great example to show their child

• There are families who must be in real shock tonight. Imagine: you’re a young widow, or you’ve been deserted. Your income is primarily from social welfare, with perhaps one person in the household in low paid part-time work. You have a young adult (under 24) in the household, maybe with cystic fibrosis or autism, whose disability allowance is being cut by €88 per week! That’s a lot of money even for people on good income. The younger ones’ child benefit is cut. Next September the back to school allowance is cut. VAT up. Fuel allowance period cut by 6 weeks. Carbon tax increases to be announced tomorrow. And PRSI contributions to qualify for the widows’ pension trebled…

• Thieves

• And what are we going to do about it, zip. Bend over and ask for more.

• Today was the easier part (if thats possible!).

-Tomorrow… WALLOP!!!

• Just go get a job and get off the dole!!! There are feck all jobs, feck all money going around and this budget will make this situation alot worse.

• All the ministers, TDs & advisors & they come up wth this, I’m not effing joking here but I could of done this wth a bloody calculator. How are jobs going to come out of this shite ?

• Considering the fix we’re in, I think they have produced a decent first half. I have one issue though, I do believe a 5% or more cut in Minister, TD and any public and civil servant wages over €65k would have made all other cuts that much more palatable. Saying that though there will be cuts in overtime and changes in sick leave etc so that should start to address some of the wage issues just not as fairly. Life was never fair though.

• I also have to mention I seen way more opposition to some of the budgets during Celtic Tiger years……..is this an indication that the oppositions are reasonably satisfied also?? I don’t know but it seems a bit odd how un-angry they seem.

• dr 05/12/11 #

I don’t think they went far enough in the budget. Firstly why should employers get a rebate for making people redundant ? Why is child benefit so high, surely a flat rate of €100 is enough. Although I do think this should be means tested. Reduce rent supplement by more, thus taking the bottom out of the market.
    Reduce State pension to a max of €50,000 and only pay it to people once they hit 65, this is more than enough to live on. Have a max amount a person can claim from welfare. This is to stop the welfare trap where people on welfare are better off than people who work. This should never be the case. If you don’t have a job then you should be scrapping by, that is the incentive to go out there and work, you should not be looking for handouts.

• P Wurple 05/12/11 #

The employers tax rebate for redundancy was to encourage employment. If you know you will have to pay a redundacy sum if your business runs into difficulty you are less likely to hire someone in the first place. By removing it we may see employers more reluctant to hire permanent staff and some erosion of employee rights (ie people constantly on temp contracts, without the usual rights).

I can see some of the logic, it may keep some people currently employed in that job for a little longer if the company runs into trouble… But it wont do anything for new jobs.

• But some people won’t get redundancy

• Where are the dads of these kids of lone parents !! I work my butt off as does my husband. We pay for everything we get and probably contribute towards at least 1 lone parents yearly social welfare. Why should our kids lose out on stuff because we are taxed to hilt to pay for other people’s kids who contribute nothing. Sick of the entitled commenting on their rights when they contribute nothing !!

• Where their fathers are is none of your business, you focus on your own family and stop looking down on others. The fact of the matter is…this government made promises after seeing the mess in the dept of finance before the election. They brought a mandate to the people and were elected. They have broken the promises they made. Instead of turning on each other in silly blogs we need to turn on our government and Enda ‘hail merkel’ kenny in particular.

• The father of my 3 kids is in dire straights, he is laid off in a week and a half, his has a mortgage to try n pay and another 2 mouths to feed his wife and son and tbh solicitors fees are extremely high and for what I would get very little off him, and not that he has it he has lost out big time,they way I look at it as long as he takes the kids and gives them some of his time that will have to do.

• He also is not getting any redundancy he works with his old man.

• Paul 05/12/11 #

Do as we say don’t do as we do

• We need way more cuts to welfare and the spongebob’s who treat it as a life style choice, People sitting on couches complaining that there is nothing out there, I walked by loads of shops & restaurants who are looking for full or part-time workers but people wouldn’t do these jobs as its alot easier to sit at home and bitch and moan while getting hand outs, Sending off CV’s by email to companies and then convincing yourself there is nothing out there because no-one gets back to you is the perfect excuse not to really get off the dole and get a job. Have a kid and you’ll get a house and loads of free money and medical, have enough kids and you’ll never have to work, Times have changed and I’m delighted, Time to get rid of the lazy and useless who contribute nothing to Irish society. How many times do we have to listen to “Oh but there’s nothing out there” BULLSHIT, There are jobs, (maybe not your ideal job) but people don’t want to do them, (I’m away above that type of work, Its for foreigners etc..) Get out, meet people and be prepared to do that job that you wouldn’t have done a few years ago or else piss off abroad and complain over there. Sick of the moaners!!

• Your right in so many way bigballs…..maybe not all but many.

• Your comments are aimed at a fraction of the population. Some people really can’t get jobs. Some people need the few quid they get from the state to do more than just sit on the couch, things like feed their kids, pay their mortgage etc. it’s grand for people like you to make comments sitting so high up on that horse. Maybe you should try getting off it and visit people who survive on couple hundred euro a week in one of the most over priced countries I’ve been too.

• That new or old testament?

• Should that be “high up on that cross”?…

• Ciaro 05/12/11 #

I hope you never hit hard times.

• @ Nigel Briganti – Some people need the few quid they get from the state to pay their mortgage etc.???
      am’I reading that right?? People who have a job should pay high tax to pay for other people’s mortgages???
      Therein lies the problem with this country, A complete sense of entitlement to everything.
      @ Michael Cuthbert – It’s new testament but unfamiliar to alot,
      @ Ciaro I was unemployed for over a year and know very well what its like but I also know what it takes to get a job in this current climate and you won’t get one sitting at home sending off CV’s by email.

• So you are serious then? Where’d you get your copy of the new testament? Like to see that. Anyway, I was unemployed for 9 months. Got a job “sending off CV’s by email” – that’s over 3 months quicker than you. ‘S a good job as well. Only one moaning here seems to be you…

• I agree with alot you say Jeasus. The people who make claiming welfare a lifestyle choice need to wake-up. There isn’t a bottomless pit of cash for them to keep drawing from. There isn’t much that can be done for whats gone in the past and it isn’t fair to just pull the plug on people who need really it. But there is a opportunity for the Gov to say in the future that they’re not going to keep handing out. They should have brought in tougher cuts from October 1st 2012 which gives the vast majority of people the opportunity to make a choice if they want to go down the parenting road in full knowledge that the financial responsibility lies with them.

• @Jesus

I was unemployed for almost two years. I traveled to Cork, Galway and Dublin looking for work. I finally got a very decent job while sending emails sitting on my arse. I know plenty of people who have mortgages and are now living off the state after losing their jobs.

• You guys really believe the state’s finances can be put right by kicking the poorest?

• This whole messed up country needs to go back to basics, back to the source of the “overpriced” problem. Why are prices so high? Because it costs a lot to hire people. why does it cost a lot to hire people? Because we have a minimum wage. Why is dole so high relative to other countries? Because prices are so high. Why can’t we cut the minimum wage? Because it has to be higher than dole.

Say I want to set up a business selling say spuds for a low price, helping the country bring prices down so that people can these afford reductions in social welfare. Problem is I can’t afford to pay almost €9 an hour and still sell my spuds cheap. I could afford to hire 20 people off the dole and give them a rise in their incomes by paying say €7 an hour, not to mention sell them cheap spuds, but for some reason the government feels people need to be protected from being “offered” work for less than €9 an hour.

To create real jobs, reduce government spending and bring prices to more manageable levels, we really just need the government to stop interfering with the irresistable forces of supply and demand. Scrap the minimum wage.

• Sooo,Hot Toddy, how do Lidl and Aldi sell so cheap? Are they not subject to the minimum wage?

• The two part time workers I know are hit hard – one of them is only on two hours a day over four days and taking in 87 euros a week and facing the prospect of loosing a day of social welfare – the other is a bit better off as she has three full days. They have punished the people who are out trying to get on and left the other social welfare claimants alone to keep their basic rates. They would both gladly do more days and hours if only they could get them.

• I have only skimmed the budget so far and some of the info I have is hearsay. If it’s true that disability is cut by 88 Euro – that is shocking. Back to school allowance and child allowance cuts will be felt very severely by those on low incomes and s. welfare. Those on high salaries seem to be getting off lightly, so far….

Also surprised, in light of Enda’s intentions re creating jobs, he is not incentivising those on jobseekers to take up part time work, which might have given hope to unemployed people . Very bad move there. People will probably not bother to try and get part time work, which apart from the financial benefit it might have made would also have been good for the health (mental) of those out of work. The worst part of this budget is it hit the most vulnerable – those on disability and of course the sick. But having said all of that – tomorrow is another day and hopefully those on social welfare and low incomes will not be further out of pocket with tomorrow’s part of the budget.

• What do you expect when the public sector is immune from pay cuts and social welfare is also immune? At least the cuts are spread out. What would you cut instead that would lead to same savings without cutting public sector pay or social welfare? Giving out Unless you have a better solution is pointless. Everybody interviewed says the cuts are unbearable. Jack o Connor is quiet. Hint! Hint!

• same shit diffrent year rich get richer poor get shafted as usual gobshites running country just admit they have made a complete fucking mess of our country i think we still have some say punt PUNT punt just bite the bullet and admit you pack of gobshites made taking the euro on board is the worst decision since charles haughey

• Today was not easy for the lone parents of the country rent allowance contributions increased, age limited reduced massively, fuel allowance cut, the amount your allowed to earn before loosing some of your lone parents reduced to €130 – really makes you want to go out to find that part time job now doesn’t it. Then if you do go out and find a full time job the six month cross over payment is now also gone. So what is one to do, If I go out now and get a job earning €24,000 a year once i pay petrol, childcare, rent etc I would be worse off than i Currently am at the moment. This country getting more frustrating by the day at least if you are unemployed without kids you can leave and get a job abroad.

• Michelle, your benefits are worth over €24k per year?

• no jim but add in childcare and i would be at a loss not to mention travel expenses

• Michelle, I don’t mean to get into a personal debate and appreciate your situation but surely you must accept that the €24k or so you receive each year must come from somewhere?? We can’t afford any sacred cows…..

• Michael where did i say i got 24k a year???? I said i couldn’t afford to take a job paying that due to sky high child care costs in this country and fuel costs. And sacred cows don’t know where that came from we just want equality nothing else was hit as harshly today as lone parents make the same cuts across the board and lets see people take it lying down.

• Michelle, I totally agree childcare costs are crazy high and absolutely restrict women from working. Did you know that public service jobs have dedicated creches in some cities? Some large corporates also provide creches for their employees. Might be a possibility for you. It can make a massive difference. I know it isn’t something you can ask in an interview… But it might be possible to find out through asking other employees or the internet.

• You’re clearly a lot smarter than Jim & Michael, Michelle. It ain’t rocket science guys…

• You are correct Mr. Cuthbert – it’s not rocket science.

- If the country is spending more than they are taking in then there must be cuts to spending.
      - If Social Welfare is one of the greater areas of expense then there will be greater cuts.
      - If you have childrent then you will incur the costs of and responsibility for raising them.

• @Michael Milner. We’re a schizophrenic lot. Was it last month Michael D got elected president? Remember his speech? Now his party is kicking the very people he encourages compassion for. At the risk of repeating myself once too often: Imagine – you’re a young widow, or you’ve been deserted. Your income is primarily from social welfare, with perhaps one person in the household in low paid part-time work. You have a young adult (under 24) in the household, maybe with cystic fibrosis or autism, whose disability allowance is being cut by €88 per week! That’s a lot of money even for people on good income. The younger ones’ child benefit is cut. The child’s qualifying age for single parents’ allowance is cut from 14 to 7. Next September the back to school allowance is cut. VAT up. Fuel allowance period cut by 6 weeks. Carbon tax increases to be announced tomorrow. And PRSI contributions to qualify for the widows’ pension trebled…

• I actually think its more impressive to email your cv – it shows you can use a computer.

• His point wasn’t that it was futile, but that you have to do more than just send cv’s. Follow up with phone calls, knock on doors, do some volunteer work if one can, try start a business, re educate, try other jobs you have never considered before, that just some suggestions, their are many others. Its not easy I know, I’ve been there but each person are their own best chance of getting out of predicament they are in.

• Simple. Disaster.

• These Ministers have us by the Balls ( I dont have any, I was castrated at a tender young age) but I still feel the pain….
    The harder they squeeze the more we squeal but thats all we seem to do.

How about everyone breaking out and not paying?
    Remove your balls from their vice …

• simply we have to say no to the paying out of unsecured bondholders. We as a nation have to stand up and say NO we are not going to punish our selves and our children just too save face. What a load of bullshit. My dad lost his job in the eighty s and it was more important to save face back then then than to face up to reality. His father (my grand day) fought for the independence of this country. We have to stand up and say no we are not going to be good children in Europe and do what we are told. It is time to lead and have a thick neck in Europe and grow a pair. I carried my dads coffin in November after he lost his 2 year battle with battle with cancer. We are all only renting on this planet it is time to cut the crap and think of whats important, life and what we do with it. Let’s make capitalism work and let the people who gambled take the fact there horse did not finish AND THEY HAVE LOST THERE MONEY!

• Its incredibly sad… not just the people who died for independence, what about all the people who fought in the wars in Europe to stop the invasion, Cowen insisted that we signed the Treaty and with it we gave carte blanche for Germany to rule us.
      We’re sooo clever!

• Gill. 06/12/11 #

To David & Luke: Omg that’s so weird Yeah he was the girl with Francie and Luke. Remember me Luke ;D

• Gill. 06/12/11 #

Meant to say *He was the lad with Francie and i was that girl¡

Add New Comment