TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Mary McAleese: ‘I’d love to say I saw the bust coming… but I didn’t’

In an interview to be broadcast this evening, the former President also discusses gay marriage and discusses her attitude to church governance.

Former president Mary McAleese makes one of her first broadcast appearances since leaving office with Gay Byrne on 'The Meaning of Life' tonight.
Image: RTÉ

FORMER PRESIDENT Mary McAleese has spoken about her anguish at not having been able to foresee Ireland’s economic crash, and encourage the government to be ready to respond to it.

In an interview to be broadcast on RTÉ tonight, McAleese said she had regularly discussed the direction of the country with Bertie Ahern during his tenure as Taoiseach – and she had regularly sought to ensure that Ireland wasn’t a Celtic Tiger “wasn’t a selfish place”.

“I would love to be able to say that I had some gift of prophecy that I saw the bust coming,” McAleese told RTÉ’s Gay Byrne. “But I didn’t.

“In the Celtic Tiger we paid acres of money for acres of land… I did have concerns about the racing prices, and from time to time I discussed that and raised that.”

In the interview – being broadcast on ‘The Meaning of Life’ on RTÉ One this evening – McAleese also reveals that she had been occasionally tempted to join in the violent clashes that marred Belfast at the outset of the Troubles.

There was a big confrontation going on across the Crumlin Road, where we were living – and it was hot and heavy. Between Catholics and Protestants. This was just shortly before the Army moved in.

I came racing up to our house […] to grab the milk bottles and bring them down, either to throw them or to give them to the guys …

Oh, my father. When he saw what I was doing, there was war. I remember what he said to me – he said, ‘I did not rear a rabble. You will stay in the house and you’ll say your prayers.’ So that’s what we did.

That’s where you get good guidance and you’re helped and guided to make good choices.

McAleese – whose Catholic family were forced to move out of their home when the Troubles took hold in the 1970s – said she had never once heard her parents use any sectarian language.

“The values of the family, and the Christian values, stayed the same. You did not kill. You did not get involved in paramilitarism. If you had a problem you discussed it. You prayed about it.”

This, she joked, even meant praying for Ian Paisley – a effort the Unionist leader later told her he greatly appreciated.

Clashes with the church

In the interview McAleese also discusses at an event in Boston in 1998, only months after she had been elected President, when she felt great embarrassment and distress after then-Cardinal Bernard Law described her as “a very poor Catholic president”.

The attack – which McAleese said had been delivered in front of government ministers, government ambassadors and officials from the Department of Foreign Affairs – prompted her to respond:

I’m the President of Ireland, the president of people who are Protestant, Catholic, Jewish, agnostic, Muslim, Orthodox… […] I really don’t think it’s any of your business to tell me when I’m either a good catholic or a good president.

McAleese said Law had raised “issue of my attitude to women in the church” – McAleese has spoken in favour of female ordination and the end of clerical celibacy – “and I said I’d never expressed an opinion while I was president, and it was in appropriate to raise matters that pre-dated my role as president.

“I won it hands down. Absolutely hands down, as those who were witnesses to it will tell you.”

McAleese said an invitation to Law to visit Ireland, which had been issued prior to McAleese’s travel to the United States, had been promptly withdrawn. Law resigned in 2002 after it emerged he had helped to cover up clerical sexual abuse in the Archdiocese of Boston.

She added that she believed the then-Archbishop of Dublin Desmond Connell, with whom she had clashed after accepting communion in a Protestant church in December 1997, regretted his criticisms of her actions.

“I stayed very friendly with him after that,” she said. “It shows us the fault lines that existed. All the elephants that were in the room, that we still had to deal with, in terms of ecumenical endeavour.”

Canon lawyer

McAleese moved to Rome to study canon law after leaving the Presidency, and has this week published a book which discusses the Second Vatican Council and its agreement to move to a form of ‘collegiality’ where the Church would be governed by the College of Bishops in partnership with the Pope.

In the book, ‘Quo Vadis?‘, she argues that this principle has been abandoned, because the College of Bishops – who were intended to then consult with their dioceses and parishes in the running of Church affairs – has never met since.

She also argues in favour of gay marriage, arguing in the interview that gay people “as entitled to live their lives on their terms as I, as a heterosexual, am entitled to live my life on my terms”.

People talk about it like once we have gay marriage, it’ll be compulsory, and we’ll never ever have heterosexual marriage. Don’t get me wrong – I’m a big supporter of marriage, I’m a big supporter of family – but I have a very strong view that for centuries now, gay people have lived in a really bleak, dark, secretive world and many of them have lived lives of interminable loneliness and dreadful complexity. [...]

I just think that people have this obsession somehow around homosexuality with the idea of sex, forgetting what it is that family and partnership is about – it’s about love and being there for another human being. That’s where I’m at in this debate.

‘The Meaning of Life with Gay Byrne’ airs this evening at 10:15pm on RTÉ One.

Read: Former President and husband win Tipperary International Peace Award

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• I don’t think we really knew what we were getting when we elected her but christ we we landed on our feet with that lady! Took her a while to settle into the job but when she did she was fantastic.

• David 09/10/12 #

Fantastic at convincing the the majority of our population that we were loaded when we weren’t. Also preached about our huge wealth around the world. Herself and bertie fitted well together. At least the media liked her.

• John 09/10/12 #

Barry, its simple minded sheep like you who has destroyed Ireland….why did Ireland land on its feet with that lady? Is that what the media told you? What did she do for Ireland exacty???? Arrrggghhhhh how can this country ever change with people like Barry!!!!!!

• Mjhint 09/10/12 #

John do know anything about this lady or her husband & the work that both of them did including putting both their lives at risk. Do you know anything about it at all? Is it only monetary values you understand?

• John 09/10/12 #

“Putting both their lives at risk” ????lol lol lol Where? In the hairdressers? In their mansion of 5 servants and a butler, 5 Gardai and a driver who used to collect pizza in town for the kids? Millionaires travelling around the world every week, shaking hands, staying in 5 star hotels doing F….all for the country….at risk??? thats the best I ever heard lol Go talk to the president of Afghanistan. America or Iraq and talk about risk….are you winding me up?

• Cardinal Bernard can STFU.

• I saw the Bust coming, who’d have listened? Everyone was partying and the Hangover will be the longest in record!

• Even if she had had a crystal ball and spoken out, she’d have been told to “commit suicide” by Bertie and derided by the media. Remember the Irish Independent saying in 2008 that “now is a good time to buy” or the Irish Times snapping up a property website for €60m not that long before the crash?

On a side note, I’m nicely surprised her religion hasn’t been slammed here.

• Unfortunately quite a few serious commentators did (not least our ‘friends’ in Europe) but were silenced by Bertie, Charlie Mac et al, who didn’t want any ‘party poopers’ to call time on the binge.
    I still have plenty of respect for Mary Mac, even though this all happened on her watch…

• It might have happened on her watch but i wouldnt say she is really to blame.There are plenty more culpable than good old Mary Mac. She was a positive figurehead for Ireland who was a proper statesman (or woman) in every sense of the word. Imagine if Sean Gallagher had got in this time… now that would have been a joke. As you said correctly, plenty economists warned us about it, and the government about it as far back as 2001 by all accounts, before the real boom. The majority chose not to take a blind bit of notice.Bertie had fools made out of nearly everyone (hold my hand up – myself included). Personally I’d like to see him being toured around the country to all the towns and put on display in the stocks so that all the locals could vent their anger at him (and throw the odd gone off vegetable at him if they wanted to).

• I don’t expect this to be popular, but here goes…

In fairness to Charlie McCreevy, he did want to reign in spending and “cool” the economy after the 2002 election. However he was dispatched to Brussels in 2004 for his troubles, and replaced by Brian “Yes Bertie” Cowen. And he did set up the National Pension Reserve Fund and tried his best to make it untouchable until 2025, even if it didn’t quite happen like that.

• mattoid 09/10/12 #

Possibly, but he was also the man who aggressively pursued a policy of financial deregulation which led to Ireland gaining a reputation as the wild west of international finance where highly questionable practices were tolerated when they were outlawed in every other jurisdiction.
      He’s also the man who stuck two fingers up at Europe when they warned him of the problems being created down the line by overheating the economy, and told them he would make hay while the sun shines.

• The only thing she saw coming was bertie

• The hair dresser saw her coming!!

• Like it would have made a blind bit of difference what this figurehead saw or didn’t see!

• John 09/10/12 #

The only thing she saw coming was her huge salary which was more than the president of Americas, digraceful expenses, 5 star hotels, massive pension and a very foolish Irish society that celebrated her for doing….nothing except shake hands and speak about bridges beside her pood;e husband who could give up his job als for eight years t travel the world. Onlt in Ireland.

• John 09/10/12 #

….beside her poodle husband who could give up his job also for eight years to travel the world. Only in Ireland!!!!

• Actually John it’s not only in Ireland. Make informed comments.

• John 09/10/12 #

Can you name another country on earth, with a population of just 4.5 million who pays its irellevant pointless token president more than the preisident of America?

• quantifying wages is rubbish and surely , surely you understand that you need to consider expenses, perks etc that other presidents get.

Look at the figure head in Britain – she gets no wage so she is working for nothing…. Oh wait

Did you seriously vote for the election without considering these facts? And more?

• John 09/10/12 #

I am quite aware of the expenses, perks and salaries that other heads of state receive, most of whom trot far behind our former ‘plastic’ president. She presided over a country of just 4.5 million people (equal to the size of Liverpool or Edinburgh) a figurehead with no real power as such, her expenses alone amounted to over 3 million over her tenure, her pension is over 160,000 and at the time was one of the highest paid presidents on earth, far above what her US and UK equivalents were on….all this for what? Shaking hands, jetting throughout the world with her poodle and waffling scripted nonsense about building bridges….an absolute disgrace, only in Ireland!!!!….voted for who in what election? Mary was not elected by democratic vote, surely you knew that?

• I’m talking about this election. Did you vote ?

What is the pension for the US president? What is his expenses? Cheers

• John 09/10/12 #

I wasn’t residing in Ireland at the time of the presidential election, so no. Vote for what exactly, why on earth would I vote for a president with no true constitutional power? How many people does the president of America preside over? What stress and decision making does his position involved? Does he preside over a continent or a small country with the same population as Edinburgh? ….

Why did Mary Mc’Aleese Queen of Ireland deserve:

A higher salary
      A higher pension
      Greater expenses during her time of tenure than…

The Prime Minister of England
      The President of Japan,
      The President of Russia and even our friend Angela Merkel?…Cheers.

Only in Ireland would someone dare compare the ‘president’ of Ireland to the President Of The United States Of America

• Troll

• John 09/10/12 #

I’m a ‘troll’ because I replied to you with an opinion? Hmm or am I a ‘troll’ because I embarrassed you and made you look ridiculous? Or perhaps I am a ‘troll’ because you have neither the imagination, knowledge or intellect to contribute any further to this ‘conversation’? Have you no better retort than ‘Troll’?

• Completely irrelevant I know but Gay Byrne never ages. He looks the same as when I watched him as a child.

• She didn’t see it coming? pull the other one! Like FF, there is no way she or they were that far removed from reality. What they did know is that they would not be personally affected either way by what was obviously coming down the line.

• what happened to her hair :(?? looks like someone sat on her head. she used to look lovely with the ‘good’ hair on her :D

• Reg 09/10/12 #

It was Bertie and Biffo that did it but given her education it is difficult to understand why she didn’t see any warning signs. I suppose when you spend most of your working life in the cosy environment of academia and then politics it is to be expected.

• G 09/10/12 #

I find it amazing the amount of work Gaybo has got since he retired, I see he is the one pictured and interviewing Mary. When I first heard he was short a few bob for his retirement and was doing part time work to supplement his incomeI felt sorry for him as I thought he must be working down the local stat oil garage or something. Not a bit of it! His only work search involved a phone call to RTE where he was obliged with all sorts of made to measure TV gigs, some of them look back programmes on the work he did before he retired. Good ole Gaybo didn’t even have to relocate his greedy snout from the well dipped into public sector trough that is RTE. Nice work if you can get it!!!

• she, like the ministers of the time were too busy swaning around the globe in the luxury more acustomed to that of Saudi princes, giving lectures to anyone that would listen to them on ” How we have become such a successful economy”, by selling each other grossly overvalued property.did she not spend 14 years as one of the highest paid “figureheads ” of any nation in the world without one word of complaint about her almost 300k euro salary. and now she’s in Rome studying a defunct code of law for a for a religion that ignored the laws of this state and allowed the wide scale abuse of Irish children to thrive and go unpunished because of a code of loyalty to some ancient and prehistoric set of laws only governing them….

• David 09/10/12 #

Of course she didn’t see the bust coming. She was living in luxury at the taxpayers expense and she was completely full of her own importance.

• David 09/10/12 #

Her signature is all over what went wrong with this country. Morally she failed us. She should have refused to sign those Bills into Law at the time and offered to resign her position. She’s not fit to lace the drink of her Icelandic counterpart at that time.

• Personally i could never stand the woman…She liked the sound of her own voice to much……. So her father refers to the people who were opposing the RUC/BRITISH ARMY as rabble……Hmmm…..
    Castle Catholics if you ask me.

• didn’t see it comming !!!
    it was her watch and was looking the other way.
    just got my. TV licence renewal and gay is still presenting…. that be a ass licking interview. oh wait I can’t see that comming. who are we kidding

• She should have been watching Eddy Hobbs ‘show me the money’ back in 2006. He more or less predicted the whole thing coming. And We all laughed at him.

• A sanctimonious fianna fail stooge interested only in her career, and not even born in the Republic of Ireland

• Mary showed great, and appropriate, restraint while in office, and was indeed, from my perspective, a great President. The public way in which Cardinal Law addressed her was inappropriate. What he said may have been correct but it should have been said privately.
    Now that Mary has found her voice however, she is been seen as a great example of relativistic thinking. She believes in her own truths and is not a believer in any absolute Truths. I for one was very saddened to see her seek the redefinition of marriage. I agree with her in that marriage is about the love between two individuals; but don’t stop there. It is also about the creation of the environment, of complementary adults, best suited for the rearing of children. That is why the state is involved in marriage. It serves the state that children are protected by promoting the environment that serves them best, their own biological parents in a low conflict environment.
    This is particularly sad when you see the beautiful example Mary gives of the benefit of having a Father from her own life. I have no doubt she could also give examples of her mothers loving neutering. But she then goes on to make comments supporting gay marriage that will create “marriages” with children who will have to be without a father or a mother. When fatherless or motherless families occur naturally, be they single parent or gay partnerships, that is very reasonable and the parents do their best. But for the state to set up and support marriage which is defected in structure from the child’s perspective is wrong.

• Theres always one “will someone think of the children!!!” comment with ringing of hands and an anguish ridden whail.

I am delighted this educated christian woman expresses her own opinions once again bow that she is no longer President. Its the likes of her that should be leading Christianity. Not the backward thinking old men that Pope John 23rd would be ashamed of.

Well done Mary! Wish we could have had you as our President longer. For all naysayers this woman did a fine job representing us and our nation for fourteen years and she deserves her laurels and her pension!

• There was a time when marriage was defined as between a soldier and his female prisoner-of-war.

• @ Conor Buggy
      If you believe children are not a consideration, I wish you well. John XXIII was indeed great, but I don’t think you represent his views on this issue. I agree that Mary deserves her rewards, she did a good job overall.
      @ Ciaran Cumiskey
      Are you saying that there was a time when if you wanted to get married you had to be a soldier and acquire a prisoner of war; or are you saying that tyrants who pillaged and raped justified their actions by calling their captive female a wife?
      I don’t see the relevance of either to the current issue which Mary is now championing, gay marriage.

• @Paddy I have studied the whole Vatican II process and I think John 23rd would be highly disgusted with how all the changes he proposed and attempted to instigate have been walked back almost completely. Mary McAleese is highlighting this in her studies. The Catholic Hierarchy is probably very afraid of her… an articulate, educated opinionated woman who is also a Catholic…. exactly what they dislike.

When it comes to children, the heterosexual population of the planet will not let a population decline just because less than 10% of the entire global population is homsexual and wants to get married.

• @ Conor Buggy
      I’m afraid Conor you are interpreting John XXIII through rosé tented glasses, and matching his views to yours. There was a period, even in the church, when the liberal minded tried to use Johns vision to launch their own, self serving, agendas, but the church in Her usual Wisdom, brought the ship back to the true course.
      Contrary to popular belief the church loves intelligent, well educated, women, and doesn’t suffer from extreme bouts of fear. But many intelligent individuals go astray in their thoughts and beliefs. I’d hope Mary would moderate her opinions and in humility consider the churches view, as she is part of that family. I’m a great believer in free speech, science, and education. But I have grown to trust the guidance of the Holy Spirit in the church.
      In relation to your point on population and gays; I’d like to point out that the take up in gay marriage is 0.4% of the population based on the uptake so far. And we are proposing to change all marriages (no longer child centred) for that 1 in 400 marriage. As for the population I’d suggest you google “the demographic winter”.

• LOL Paddy, I love the way you just said she should moderate her view and opinions to be in line with the Mother Church.

Thank God, God gave us free will. Thank God, God gave us our own minds and Thank God the Catholic Church is self destructing in its treatment of half the population of its members – women.

As for John 23rd, I do not match his views to mine, I applaud him for realising that the Catholic Church had become decadent and disconnected from its people, and I applaud that he tried to change it and make it more open and modern. Most of his views I do not hold with, but I can still admire and respect the man for what he tried to do.

The day my own beliefs on my private considerations on Christs teachings align with that of the Roman Catholic Church will never occur. Faith should be personal and should never be turned into dogma or law and pushed on anyone else.

• @ Conor Buggy
      Free will is indeed a great gift. And Faith is indeed personal, but it is also belonging to a community of shared values. You place great trust in your own discernment of Christs teachings. I myself prefer to stand on the shoulders of giants, all 270 of them back to Christ.

• @Paddy I have respect for your views, you are always very articulate even though I do not agree with them most of the time. My faith is indeed my own, and I trust my mind more than I trust the teachings of a hierarchy. Its personal but thats the way it is. I also think that when I do go to meet my maker we’ll have many arguments but I will be congratulated for thinking for myself. Its what I teach to my students. All opinions, beliefs and faiths are valid and no one should ever be silenced for that. I am a scientist, teacher, christian and I just happen to be gay, none of them I believe are incompatible.

• @ Conor Buggy
      Likewise Conor you make your points well and I believe without animosity. I see no problem with your description as a scientist etc, and I see no incompatibility. I never do see the church teachings as being hierarchical, just Christs teachings, interpreted and kept safe by flawed but inspired men.

Add New Comment