TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Martin ‘very annoyed’ by Fianna Fáil councillor’s call to ‘segregate’ Travellers

Donegal County Councillor Seán McEniff said that Travellers should be “segregated” in a “community of their own” in a recent interview.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

MICHÉAL MARTIN HAS said that comments made by a Fianna Fáil councillor in Donegal that Travellers should be “segregated” in a “community of their own” are not acceptable.

The party leader plans to speak with Donegal County Councillor Seán McEniff in the coming days over comments the local representative made about the Travelling community in a number of interviews including on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland on Tuesday.

“I’m very annoyed with that kind of comment. [There is] no room for that in terms of Fianna Fáil policy,” he told TheJournal.ie in an interview this week, adding that it was “wrong”  and “not acceptable”.

McEniff was responding to a fire which destroyed a €230,000 social housing property in Ballyshannon that had been bought for the purposes of housing a Traveller family.

While he condemned the “unacceptable fire” McEniff argued that the house should not have been made available for the purposes of housing the Traveller family.

“I believe they should be housed in a community of their own,” he said. “It’s very unfair to put them into a very settled community for a lot of retired people… to the residents of Parkhill in Ballyshannon.”

He agreed that Traveller families should be “segregated” saying that this would not exclude them from getting “first-class housing”.

He added: “I think maybe if you consulted with the Travellers they might be happy enough to move into a community of their own as well”.

Martin said that McEniff was currently out of the country but he planned to speak to him upon his return.

Read: Council’s €230k social housing property destroyed in fire

Previously: FF councillor criticised for anti-Traveller comments

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• Jeez, councillor mc Eniff is really going for gold now.

• Well maybe not locked compounds but there are sites in England where travellers run their own affairs with agreement from the local council.
      It’s not such a bad thing.

• They would not be so bad if they did not dump rubbish all over the place, paid their taxes, respected the environment, contributed to the greater community, did not hold pitched battles with scythes and slash hooks, did not let horses loose on roads, did not wreck pubs clubs and hotels when out drinking, did not intimate the locals, made sure their children received a decent education (provided free by the state, paid for by us), I could go on….

• censored 14/02/13 #

Mc Eniff is off the reservation now :D

• Travellers have ethnic minority status in the UK but not here. What type of segragation is he talking about? Ghettoes or concentration camps? We are all aware of the negatives of Traveller life. They choose segragation already in general. They have essentially lost their nomadic culture and replaced it with the worst parts of ours. Years ago you would never have seen a traveller woman dressed like the tallaghfornian gang, now its the done thing. The problem is that their culture is extreme ly patriarchal. The men control the women.women dress for men , they must be virgins for marriage, ergo, young marriage etc etc. The key to change is through womens education. If theres anything compulsory, it should be that.

• Do you people even realise what you’re saying and liking? A person calls for travellers to be segregated, that is apartheid! Sickening

• Councillor McEniff only said what majority of people think, what should be asked was why the council paid over the odds for a 5 bedroom house, have this family ever supported themselves, paid taxes to the state?there is more to this story.

• Probably not but Travellers didnt bankrupt the country.That’s the reality.

• I think travellers do have a place in society and should be cherished, they deserve to be housed and provided for because they do not commit crime and they go about their business (said the sarcastic priest)

• Maybe not but they do contribute to a high percentage of crime, many have no fixed abode but drive new top of the range vehicles, very few people can pay cash for a new vehicle, they go on about travellers rights what about our rights not to be robbed

• Well you’l have to ask Bertie about that lads because Bertie gave them everything they wanted and never asked for Anything back only a vote .FF created it now FF complain .HA jokers

• “they go on about travellers rights what about our rights not to be robbed” – so your ideal solution is that all Travellers be denied their rights simply because some in the Travelling community infringe upon your rights? I agree that there is an unacceptably high level of criminality within the Travelling community and that does need to be tackled, but denying all Travellers rights that are guaranteed to those in the settled community, irrespective of their criminality, is not the answer.

• Scarr 14/02/13 #

@jack – we don’t have more money because of them either. #anti-social behaviour #copper theft #piracy

• Scarr 14/02/13 #

@ Brian – what rights are being denied exactly?

• The right to accommodation is being denied in pretty much every jurisdiction in the country. Many local businesses deny them the right to employment. Many schools deny them the right to an education. What can you expect from a community denied the right to accommodation, employment and education? You hardly expect to have reasoned logical intellectual discourse with someone denied education? Certainly, members of their own community are guilty of preventing others from attaining any sort of educational certification, but why do we in the settled community add to that? Surely it would be preferable to deal with Travellers who are educated, in employment and safe in the knowledge that they have a home to go home to? We in the settled community denied them their right to move prior to the increase in levels of criminality. It was us that created a situation that led many in the Travelling community to turn to drugs, alcohol and crime. It’s the same the world over when a nomadic community is restricted. Take a look at the Native Americans, the Aboriginals in Australia, the Inuit in Canada, the various nomadic tribes of northern Eurasia, the Roma of Central and Eastern Europe. It’s the exact same pattern each and every time. We force them to adopt our cultural mores and then repress them when they can’t. In any conflict situation (be it societal, cultural or otherwise) there has to be some give and take, but we seem to only want to take.

• mattoid 14/02/13 #

Now who’s generalising Brian?

• mattoid 14/02/13 #

You must have struggled to keep a straight face when you were typing that the settled community only want to take from the travelling community, and do not give anything to them!

• Sorry, meant to click on green thumb

• Most studies indicate that while Traveller groups loudly demand the right to education, work, accommodation, etc…..when they get them they actively engage in behaviour that seeks to subvert what is on offer.

• Michael, can you name and provide links to 4 of these “most studies”

• well said, Brian Ó Dálaigh. It’s fairly depressing to see that so many here are quite happy to label and stigmatise a whole community because of the actions of some people within the community. If a traveller applied to me for a job I would assess the application on the basis of his/her experience and capacity to do the job, not on the actions of his/her family. Similarly, I would not deny education, housing or any other right to somebody simply because they came from a certain community. I realise that I am very much in the minority here.

• Youre not really in a minority Brian. The world is full of bullshitters!

• censored 14/02/13 #

I’m sure you wouldn’t Brian. That said, you may still find that any objective standard you choose will still “discriminate” against a certain community. What then? Do you change the standard?

• Travelers are there own worst enemy. .

• Jimmy 14/02/13 #

He is right. Travellers have consistently shown their scant disregard for the settled community. They care about no one but themselves. They need to be tackled head on and fined for their behaviour not rewarded. People are afraid to speak out as they are labelled as being racist. They don’t want to help themselves, constantly with the paw looking for more handouts…. why should we support them.

• I have had a lot of experience with Travellers. Enough to know that I would rather a death sentence than to live beside any.
    They are great for shouting about how their ‘culture’ should be respected but they show absolutely no respect for the culture of the settled community.
    I applaud any Politician that calls a spade a spade even if they are Fianna Fáil

• Look all this talk of stereotypes and racism ( incorrect usage of the word as travellers are Irish, not a separate race) is fine and good amongst people who dont have to live beside Travellers. The reality is different for those who do have to. I have had first hand exoerience… it was a living hell for two years. They are overwhelmingly likely to cause problems in an area… cars, horses, fighting, theft..its sad to tarnish a whole section of society in a negative manner but these people do nothing positive to prove that they can be well behaved members in a community. And do these people ever ever use a rubbish bin??

• With you on this my sister lives across the road from alleged settled travellers, the poor travellers are making a living hell for all their neighbours, they try to sell their houses to get away anyone who comes for a viewing sees the travellers exercising their “culture” and run! 5(um of the earth.

• Scarr 14/02/13 #

My cousin is in a similar situation in north Dublin. Previously nice house in tatters, filthy garden, broken boarded up window, excessive drinking and fighting. One of them banging down my cousins door in the middle of the night covered in blood after a disagreement. Cops called. It’s no way to live. Extremely stressful.

• Travellers in Maynooth, never cause anyone any bother….in my 28 years in the locality I can’t recall hearing of one incident or reading in the local paper about any disturbances related to them. You’re all racists, should be ashamed of yourselves.

• If you give a traveller a house, what is he?

• The councilor has a point. But his mistake is singling out travelers. It should be all anti social people should be segregated from society.

• Unfortunately Simon, the percentage of this among travellers seems to be greater. I have had experience of a nasty neighbour (not a traveller BTW) so yes some normal people are As bad – but this was in an estate of 500 homes. And this guy was the only one.

If you look at the thumbs up across all the replies above it gives a feel for how the majority of the population feel and what they have experienced.

Can EVERYONE be wrong?

• Mich?el Martin seems to have had a lot say on a wide range of topics this past 24 hours.

• Fianna Fáil should be segregated from Irish society

• Fianna Fáil should be segregated from the society they helped destroy

• John 14/02/13 #

his comment is not the worse thing to come out of FF, just saying

• “I’m very annoyed with that kind of comment. [There is] no room for that in terms of Fianna Fáil policy,”

Of course he’s annoyed,to be truly part of “Fianna Fail policy” you must alienate everybody,not just one section of the community!!!

• Kedgeo 14/02/13 #

Why don’t they house them in rathkeale ,they own the place anyway

• Does anyone know anything about the family that were due to move into the house,were they known locally? had they been in trouble for anti social behaviour in the past? had there been problems with their previous/current neighbours ? or was the issue purely the fact that they come from the travelling community?. Im all for traveller families moving into neighbourhoods with settled families but they should have to abide by the same rules as everybody else and be accountable for their actions and the actions of their dependant children. Same laws for everyone otherwise there will always be a divide.

• Absolutely right …now tell the Travellers!!!

• Julie 14/02/13 #

Ya there was a man on tv last night that knew them well said they have lived there for over 40 years and have never caused any trouble and everyone knows them . That’s all I can remember. I don’t know enough about this I don’t meet travellers, met a few in school they were fine but always seemed defensive because they felt they were being judged. I can see why from the comments. But as I said don’t know much about them. We all know the few in our town that are always getting in trouble but as for the rest in my town they could be lovely citizens I have no clue

• Julie 14/02/13 #

Oh and their old house they kept in great condition so I don’t know why this families house was burnt down

• Caoimhe, I’m all too familiar with the family in question. I work in a shop in the locality and if they are not in stealing from the shop they are stealing from their neighbours. When they get drunk (which is often) the whole neighbourhood knows about it!

• Are the criminal gangs in limerick all travellers?

• Go away, Mehole Martin.

• There are enough islands off the west coast that could be used for this. Let them all off on one so they can ‘travel’ to their hearts content.
    We can put all the criminals on another and offer Iran and North Korea a third for 120 billion euro. I’m sure they’d love an island of the coast of Europe to do anything they want with.
    And if they put in a bid maybe Merkel might offer us 120 billion and one!!
    No travellers, no criminals and debt free. Now, what other problems can I solve?

• I wasn’t going to comment because once I get started, I won’t stop. All I need to say though is that, unless you’ve lived next door to travellers or on the same street as them, you don’t get an opinion!

• How did a nomadic tribe with no wealth become one of the largest demographics per capita to own horses; despite the fact that they own no land?
    Where are the horses now ?
    Where are the birth certificates for the children ?
    Where are the A.D.H.D. children’s allowance cut ; in line with the rest of the country’s children?
    Where are the votes ?
    How can someone who can’t count tell you if they have voted once or twice in an election on the same day in two different towns ?
    How can someone who doesn’t know how to read or write know that they are breaking the law if they vote twice in two different towns ?
    What was Fianna Fail’s favourite term around election time again ? ….oh hang on; my guess is “Mobilise the vote”
    How does a political party mobilise a vote?
    All of the above are questions not accusations : questions ; there is a difference !
    You stay extremely classy Micheal Martin and your resurgence !

• Will he be disciplined (like FG’s Cllr Scully) by the Party? (Or will Michael Martin wait to see if the gardai prosecute the Cllr under Prohibition of Incitement to Hatred Act 1989? Being annoyed and talking to the Cllr is hardly enough of a response.

• I heard Clr mc Eniff on the radio the other day, Jaysus … He starkly epitomizes the gulf of difference between the occasional disrespectful use of the “k” word, and out and out blatant pure Racism with a capital “R”

• Paul cratur the debate is about a FF counciler his moral justifications and his proven record if ye want to generalize that all travellers are bad then its a given that FF and their supporters bankrupted the country.

• FF/FG/Labour supporters should be segregated, not the travellers! Better the devil you know, then the ones you don’t!

• Here we go again why ac’t a debate be had Bout travellers without ( as this thread is doomed to be) locking out reality comments?

• First time I ever agree with Michael martin these type of stereotype comments are totally unacceptable how are we the settled community to say what’s best for the travelling community we are forcing our beliefs on them how many people on this thread know the background and history and beliefs of the traveller I’m expecting to be cut and questioned about what’s been highlighted in the media so before you do remember that this behaviour by travellers has been condemned by traveller groups instead of forcing our beliefs why not ask how we can accept them into our community and meet an equilibrium on how everyone will be happy

• David, when you want to be accepted by society you must first contribute positively to it.
      Need I say more?

• But if you keep putting someone down for long enough telling them that they are a burden that they don’t fall within what is acceptable they will believe it I’m up for the discussion but I say I’m not going to change your opinion which is fine by me but can I ask you how can one member if society from the settled community who is arrested for drugs crime etc and has a record is accepted into the community as easily as a member of the travelling community Ireland has a diverse ethnic background now we need to accept all cultures

• David while I admire your positive attitude the sad facts remain… travellers in an area means trouble. No one wants them to live beside them…

• Oh and David… acceptance you say… how do travellers view gay people, womens rights (including basic rights like an education), non religious people etc etc….

• Thank for that Tom and ill be honest until I started back in college and was on placement I would have been one of the people here agreeing with what the ff councillor said but sad as it may be I feel this is a topic that has every member of Irish society divided with the likes of me being a minority but at the same people’s opinions need to change as does attitudes of travellers for example I have seen boxing clubs refuse travellers access to their clubs yet in the last Olympics who can forget John joe nevins performance representing this country

• Some travellers have made a success of their lives in an honest and hard working way, sadly they are very much in the minority.

• Scarr 14/02/13 #

David, im curious what you mean by our beliefs? I believe people should work and be rewarded for that work and if you choose to live outside of that system so be it but don’t show up expecting a free house paid for by tax payers as a reward for your lifestyle choices. There are plenty of traveller specific opportunities and schemes available to them which it would seem have yet to bare fruit. It’s also worth keeping in mind that travellers make up 1% of the Irish pop yet are vastly over represented in prisons, negatively in the media and negatively anecdotally with the general public and a great many people in retail. Look at the crime headlines they’ve made. Look at the mess they leave in their wake. They have to realise that there are responsibilities that come with living in a society – not just handouts.

• David, I will give anybody a chance but if a person or group of people or community do not respect me and my way of life they can hardly expect me to embrace theirs.
      I have the same problem with any group or community not just travellers.

• Thy have no respect for the law or each other . So why should we respect them . . .

• 23.06 one red thumb.
      Who gave that?
      Why?
      Give a reason?
      I would love the opportunity to debate with the person who gave it, you are entitled to your opinion but, my comment is not offensive or ignorant, it’s practical and true. You must be some gob5hite to red thumb this.
      You need a good kick up the arse.

• you don’t get to pick and choose your neighbours if we did we would all be in trouble, as anyone can be a bad neighbour in somebody else’s opinion, . If the council decide to provide housing to people that are in need of it, that is something that makes me proud to be a member of a country that has a social welfare system that looks after people. It is easy to have this discussion because the travelling community are in the minority. perhaps some of the people here might consider what conditions are like to live in a refugee camp, or a town ship, or for that matter in a halting site. It is a very entitled view point to think that some people are not worthy to live next to you, if you feel like that become a developer and buy the house beside you and the one beside that and the field beside that again…

• Im sorry but Travellers didnt bankrupt the country .

• I’m horrified by the general tone from commenters on this subject.

1% of Irelands population are travelers?
    My experience is 1% are the ones that have stirred up such comments.
    99% are just normal people

Don’t tar people the same brush lads. Its bad form in this day and age.

• Why even bother Catherine? Thejournal’s readership has a consistent line on travellers, that bigotry against them is ok cause they’re not a separate race. Console yourself with the fact that there are people out there like myself and yourself who aren’t bigots, who don’t generalise, who don’t stereotype and who aren’t ignorant.

Add New Comment