TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Taoiseach defends ministerial tax breaks for second Dublin homes

The Taoiseach tells Pearse Doherty that cabinet ministers only receive about a tenth of the accommodation allowances that TDs do.

THE TAOISEACH has defended a tax system which allows ministers to seek an income tax deduction to cover the cost of taking a second residence in Dublin – but has said the government is “considering” the matter ahead of the Budget.

Enda Kenny told Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty that government ministers from outside Dublin receive an allowance of €6,000, which is taxed at 41 per cent, and therefore leaves them with just over €3,500 to cover the cost of maintaining a second home in the capital.

This is not the case, however: ministers from outside Dublin are actually entitled to have their income tax liability lowered by €6,500, in respect of their mortgage and the costs of maintaining a second home in the city.

Doherty, standing in for Gerry Adams in this morning’s Leaders’ Questions, had demanded to know if Kenny himself was availing of this system, or a similar one which allows a €3,500 tax rebate for hotel and related costs, such as laundry.

“Are you one of the 13 ministers who are availing of this tax break? Which of your ministerial colleagues are availing of this tax break?” Doherty asked.

“How can you justify [this] to the people at home, who are fearing the introduction of the household tax on their family home… [when 13 ministers] are writing off their income tax for a home in Dublin?”

Kenny said most ministers were required to be in Dublin for four or five days each week, but said the annual amount that non-ministerial TDs can receive under their parliamentary expenses system – which ministers are not entitled to – is “a multiple” of what ministers receive.

“These matters that you mention are all part of what [the] Government are considering, in respect of the Budget,” Kenny said.

Doherty said the allowance was one that Kenny had promised to abolish while he was himself in opposition, “when this gang” – pointing at the nearby Fianna Fáil contingent – “was availing of it”.

Read: Ministers to keep €3,500 laundry allowance, Government confirms

Read next:

Comments (97 Comments)

• In a democracy you get what you vote for! The Irish public moulded and shaped their politicians, only they can change it. Here in Toronto the Mayor was removed from office yesterday, the offence? for using official stationery while canvassing for donations for a football team, imagine the Irish public imposing a culture of such accountability? It’ll never happen I’m afraid.

• This government was never going to deliver on their election promises sure they have 2 scapegoats to use 1 Dianna Fail and 2 The Bailout Agreement.
    I wonder what a German parliamentarians think of Irish parliamentarians wages and expenses?

It suits Fine Gael and Labour and indeed the opposition to keep the EU focused on Social Welfare and health costs because if they moved off those the next question will be Why is a country with 4.5 million people and bankrupt paying its “Leaders” more than the German Chancellor?

• Kenny I’m required to be in Dublin 5 times a week working shifts for a company which runs 24/7 otherwise I don’t eat, drove home to Kildare at 3am last night in -2 temperature on my motorbike because I can’t afford to run a car the 140km round trip every day! Where’s my tax brake you spineless so and so?

• Buddy buddy politics at it’s best.
    You couldn’t make this up.
    Just another prime example of leadership from a person that has’t got the balls to face up to europe…. Good man kenny were proud of you…. Not !

• so for anyone thats fortunate enough to have a job to travel to will they recieve this tax break ????? thought not !!!!…………..shower of thieves bell enda and co

• Kenny and Co just don’t get it do they. They are one of Europe’s best paid civil servants, huge wages, expenses, pension pots we could only dream up.

They still defend this kind if perk with a typical Enda response ” we are considering….

• Should the headline not read “Kenny defends another pre election broken promise”?

• Your having a fkn laugh!!!!!!!!
    So lets see, the election promises which made me vote for them were (and I know 1 was local politics!)

Burn bondholders – NOPE
    Negotiate our interest rate – NOPE
    Cut the Seanad – NOPE
    Cut the number of politicians – NOPE
    Stop unvouched expenses – NOPE
    Bring jobs to my locality – NOPE
    Improve the main road to Dublin – NOPE

So not going well now is it Enda. Ah but ye bunch of *%(£(£ are sound on your big salaries and pensions.

• Mjhint 28/11/12 #

No change & we as a people are the problem. Its time to riot. Maybe thats all they understand. Thats a terrible thing to have to say but maybe its all thats left.

• yes, I think most people were holding out for debt write off, but now Enda is only looking to extend the repayments.. = decades of economic/social penance for other peoples sins..

When Europe stabilizes and Ireland is left carrying the baggage like a good little sherper, Interest rates will go up leaving most of us looking for social housing..

• Riot…. and then what?

I feel your pain – but we need viable alternatives if we are going to see this government brought down.

• Mjhint 28/11/12 #

I agree then what. Thats how bad it is but our so called democracy does not work. Politicians ignore their electorate in this country & we,as in, you & I have to do something even if that requires breaking the law. I dont want to & by your comment neither do you. However we may have no choice.

• If you have no plan for a replacement hold your pussy riot horses. That will only allow them instal a securistate lockdown on the few liberties remaining. No sense moving until we are at least organised enough to shut off their water.

Discipline and solidarity need building. Read your 19th century Irish history. Also try Maurice Coakely’s recent ‘Ireland in the World Order’, for the bigger picture.

• Mr Kenny, I have to be in Dublin 5 days a week, can I get ?3500 tax break?

• They knew where the Government buildings were positioned when they applied for the job, leave early and get home late like the rest of us.
    We don’t even get credits for diesel/petrol which is as least 50% tax, which we pay for with our 52% taxed wage!

• It worse than that, duty on fuel is 58.8 cents on petrol and 47.9 cents on diesel. This is of course before you add Vat at 23%, so your 1.70 litre of petrol actually cost about 80 cents, which is cheaper than a litre of Ballygowen.

• Can’t believe I’m paying to have Enda’s smalls washed and ironed. Could he not issue a directive to all ministers to apply some kind of rotation system?

Monday: right way out
    Tuesday: inside out
    Wednesday : right way out, back to front
    Thursday: inside out, wrong way round
    Friday : swap with Noonan

• My heart bleeds for them
    Have to be up in Dublin four or five days a week
    So what ?
    How many people work in Dublin and have to travel long distances everyday to try make a wage to hang on to the one house they already have ?
    Greed pure greed

• Doesn’t he just sound just like Pee Flynn on the Late Late Show?..more in their line to give it to our national schools to make them fit for purpose. These assh**es can always find money for themselves when they want to while happily letting the important things slide.

• I agree completely , main reason I would like to reply is to try to make some sense of amount of red downs. who disagrees ? why would we allow tax right offs for a second house in Dublin , they already get paid extra just for turning up to work , I also work in Dublin but spend hrs driving every week to get there , crazy country we live in .

• Vote for change vote for Fine Gael…. yea right!

• This is an absolute disgrace!!!
    Don’t do as I do, do as I say!!!!

• Breaking: politician defends the indefensible to protect his well feathered nest. And in other news a bear has been spotted defecating in a forested area.

• He is a useless coward. The luckiest person to become Taoiseach. The man is a chancer, a clueless lucky cowardly chancer.

• More broken promises all rats

• I have to be in Dublin 5 days a week, every week.
    My “reward” this year was yet another public transport price increase!

• So let’s all get up off our arses and submit a similar claim to the tax office….ring right now….and if you don’t immediately get it ring your local government TD and complain !

• Red Ed 28/11/12 #

ya lets cover the feckers in milk, so they get use out of their laundry allowance.

• @Rory – But thats all it is.Talk ,Talk and more talk. They will talk and spin for the duration of their term, but not actually do anything.

• Dirty rotten, dyin, diseased, thieving, rat bastards!!

• kept one shower of crooks in power for yrs to waste/splurge/gamble our hard earned taxes eventually after bankrupting Mother Ireland we replaced them with their equals,get what deserve i dont though i never voted FG/FF/LABOUR/GREENS/PDs my consciense is clear yet still have to suffer along with the rest…

• they should be forced to commute from their main residence like a large number of people do, day in, day out…

• Ffs I travelled to Dublin in the boom dud a good days graft scaffolding and had to travel home too but I didn’t get any perks kenny call it a day lad go back to ur nest hole retire for the good of the Irish people and stop this nonsense

• Is there a depth of shamelessness and greed that this excuse of a man won’t sink to??!!

• I have a solution for the housing led approach for homelessness, it involves the use of the ministers second residence in Dublin.

• So, their accommodation allowance is only a tent….??
    lol.

• Pearse Doherty given power would turn this country around because he has the political will to do so .

• Tax breaks plus expenses? If they own a 2nd home in the capital, can they still claim 150 a night in a hotel plus sustenance? Who audits the expenses?

• I am reading comments regarding SF and how their improving but wouldnt have a clue on economy and economics ask yourselves do this current govt did the previous ?? Remember Prof Morgan Kelly more or less been told to commit suicide by Bertie whn sonding alarm bells ! Look the main thing i like about SF is they dont pretend to know everything and if ever elected would take sound advise from credible economists not buddys with vested interest hired as advisors,only this morning David McWilliams on Pat Kenny trying to give advice to Paschal Donoghue FG nd getting nowhere.Bottom line our country so F..ckd at this state no party economically viable to get us outa mess without upsetting few people but im with the party whol break the trend and stay outside golden circle for advic and lets see who the people SF would upset,Give them a chance

• Why would we expect anything other? I mean it must be real difficult to run 2 houses in 200k

• That is just typical. Those of us who bought in the boom and had to move locations following this, and now are trying to rent our houses, now of course deemed “investment properties” have to pay NPPR yearly, and lose our mortgage interest relief… yet I see no tax break for us. The squeeze continues, as does the Irish Way of Politics. Getting more and more fed up.

• ….According to a report by Tasc, an independent think tank concerned with economic inequality, of the EU-15, Ireland ranked first in terms of earning inequality in 20065. In a survey they conducted as part of their
    research they found that well over two-thirds (70%) of respondents felt that wealth is
    distributed unfairly in Ireland. OECD findings support this analysis of wealth distribution,
    The Solidarity Factor -Public Perceptions of Unequal Ireland. citing Irish wealth distribution as among the most unequal in the developed world. Unfortunately the study of wealth distribution in Ireland has been quite limited so far.

This is the society we live in today….this is why we need to get rid of these bloodsuckers

• Thanks to the economic policies of this government, I was made redundant.
    Thankfully I wasn’t out of work too long (being experienced, and a bloody grafter!) I am totally disgusted , day in , day out when I read this type of article. My GROSS income has been reduced by €1,405 a month , I have to travel back and forward across the M50 every day , for the privilege of earning €18,000 a year. my car tax, esb, gas , and petrol have all gone up, the USC has been imposed on me. I went private with my waste collection, then the local County Council decided it couldn’t collect bins anymore, lo and behold , my private company changed the tariff to double my cost and reduce the level of service, so that it matched the councils.
    The government now wants to introduce meters for water. I honestly cannot take any more of a financial burden, and am petrified of what the budget will bring. To hear of these allowances being defended by Enda, absolutely sickens me , turns my stomach! How easy for our politicians to make these decisions and impose cuts, when they themselves know , that they will never be personally effected by them. I have always worked, always prided myself on paying my way, and am sick of the public/private sector divide. As far as I am concerned, the biggest leeches in our country are not the social welfare recipients, or the lowly civil service workers, the biggest leeches on our economy are the narcissistic gombeens that the people of Ireland elected to Dail Eireann on false promises , the adage ‘be careful what you wish for’ has a very hollow ring to it at the moment

• I am shocked!!! Not

• Well said breda ur bang on there

• If there is a protest it should be from the GPO to Liberty Hall as the unions have more to answer for than the rest of the people on power. These guys created the Croke Park Meal which is killing our country. The lower level frontline staff are not costing too much but the unions want in elements for all in the CPD.

• Everybody to pay the household is the FG mantra even though that people already paid household tax called stamp duty when purchasing a home.well it appears the TD’s both inside and outside Dublin can claim these 2nd home costs against their tax so end up getting to pay little or nothing in tax.ENDA telling everybody we must all pay except extra because of the stare of the nations coffers which these parasitic country TD’s like himself have caused.

• A lad,s has no one got a good word for the hard working politician,s

• Do as I say!! not as I Do!!

• You can be guaranteed if Sinn Feinn get into power after the next G.E. that Pearse and all his cohorts will be availing of this tax break scheme

• Ya do yuo think so seriously .Well he must be really stupid then to be highlighting it knowing damn well that he would be called out by the FF/FG vultures .Seriously dont think they will avail of a tax break that they protested against in opposition that sir is a FF/FG trick of the trade hence country spiraling downwards due of lack of conviction.Bogus statement by you Pearse Doherty is a intelligent man not like the other guy who could not answer his question.

• Jack, have a look at this link if its allowed to post it ?
      http://www.politics.ie/forum/fine-gael/179866-fine-gael-burning-election-promises-instead-bondholders.html

You see where FG promised to burn bondholders and all the other promises. Chances are that while Pearse said its scandalous etc, he will soon fall into line like all the others when they realise they don’t rock the boat.
      So many have said they will do X, Y, Z yet they all piped down when their pockets were lined.

I don’t know much about Pearce, so maybe he is different, but so many have gone down this road.

• That is the difference there is no difference between FF/FG they are the same party this how they monopilize the vote and the voters.SF will lead by example if they obtain power from the people because if they dont the know FFG will be on them in a flash and who would want to see them vultures back in government again certainly not SF.They are striving for real change .Your clued in Aidan just be open to something different things cant stay like this and they will with FFG it already has.

• M Bowe 29/11/12 #

Only one way to find out. Give Pearce and his party ur vote at next election. In sure u will find a lot of changes on the gravy train politics of past. And e def can’t so any worse than this or previous showers.

• One thing though, if we’re against TDs getting a tax break to get a Dublin residence, then what alternative do we purpose?

A TD barracks?

Transport for them to/from their constituency homes?

What?

• Colm, what do the rest of us do when we have to travel away from our homes to work? I spent 2 yrs leaving my home and my wife and son to get work, I didn’t get any tax breaks.

So they apply for the job of TD, part of this is that they need to work in Dublin. Its part of it, why do they need tax breaks. They get paid a small fortune in the first place.

Not attacking your post or anything, but tough titty for them!

• Colm, I know a number of families where one of the parents has to rent away from their home during the week so that they can work. If ministers can claim such an allowance should not also the general public be able to claim it as well?

• Don’t they get expenses already for travel ?

Anyway they are all big boys and girls why can’t they travel to work like everyone does

Most of them own big cars if they don’t sure isn’t there public transport ?

• Actually that is not as bad an idea as you try and make it sound. A set of small one bedroom apartments owned by the state. The rent of which could deducted from Ministers/TD’s salaries. Even the PM in Britain lives in a small apartment at the top of 10 Downing st.

• Aaron 28/11/12 #

Mick – If only we had a surplus of housing and apartments in the country under the control of some sort of a State Management Agency…

Colm – Why should they get a tax break on a Dublin residence? They knew what the job involved when they put themselves forward for election. I have a 200km round trip each day to Dublin for work, should I also be able to avail of a tax break on this?

• there on enough f##king money to do without another tax break along with there unvouched expenses and allowances , if they cant afford to be td let someone else do it .400,000 availible appllicants.

• M Bowe 29/11/12 #

They drive themselves to work like rest of country lucky enuf to be in work.

Add New Comment