TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

‘No apology. No retraction’: Ray D’Arcy on Catholic Church F-bomb

However, D’Arcy did offer an apology to listeners for the language he used.

Ray D'Arcy
Ray D'Arcy
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

RADIO PRESENTER RAY D’Arcy has refused to offer an apology or retraction to the “hierarchy of the Catholic Church” for telling listeners of his TodayFM show last week that the “Catholic Church, in many ways, has fucked up this country”.

However, D’Arcy did offer an apology to listeners for the language he used.

“It was inexcusable, especially at that time of the morning,” he said, adding that he had offered the same apology twice on Friday for the choice of words.

“I got a bit agitated when reading about the comments by Michelle Mulherin,” he explained. “And that got me on to the influence of the Church in this country.”

D’Arcy addressed the matter on his show this morning after Irish bishops demanded a full apology and retraction from the broadcaster for what they called his “insulting” remarks.

Speaking just after 9am, he said that no such apology or retraction would be forthcoming.

However, he added that he meant no offence to the many “devout Catholics, like my mother” up and down the country.

The Kildare man said he was referring to the hierarchy of the Catholic Church and that the damage to this country caused by such men is well-documented.

D’Arcy said that he wanted to address what he called the “hoo-ha” over his remarks, stating that the show had received more emails on the topic than on any other issue in the past 12 years.

Many listeners agreed with the presenter’s refusal to apologise but others expressed their disappointment at his decision not to retract his statement. One person emailed the show, accusing D’Arcy of taking part in a “media wide agenda” against the Catholic Church.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (211 Comments)

• I’d love to see the Church formally accuse Ray of libel. That’d be a court case I’d like to see!

• B7584 23/04/12 #

So at what point do the catholic church apologise? Oh, never is it? Huh! Funny that.

• Well said Ray…I agree with both your comment & your refusal to retract/apologise.

• Good on u ray

• Still amazed that the Church have learnt nothing again. What do they keep expecting , sympathy?. You would think by now they would keep their mouth shut and stop making mountains out of molehills.

• “media wide agenda”—-sorry this usually comes after buggering kids for years and trying to hide it…..what planet are these deluded people living on?? Fair play Ray.

• Good on ya Ray. Retract the F word by all means but not the statement.

• Big deal he used a word most of us use every other day on the national airwaves and confirmed what we already know, maybe he wants to change his mister clean image and be the new howard stern of daytime radio, little Island with little minded people with little to do , awake!!!!

• Using the ‘f’ word on a radio show that a lot of people might have on with their young children about isn’t really on and he’s right to acknowledge that. But the rest of what he said was spot on. I’m not a fan or anything,I don’t like or dislike him,but fair play to him!and fair play for not apologising for it either. Everyone else gets slagging,why the hell should the catholic church be different?

• He should be fired.

• If you say catholics f##ed up the country, then take responsibility for the fact your statement implies that people you know who are catholic are part of the problem … and you may not have meant to say that. Saying ‘you should have known i didn’t include you in that angry statement’ is ike saying ‘i don’t hate catholics, in fact i even have some friends who are catholic’ …

• Scarr 23/04/12 #

@noirin – he said ‘catholic church’ not Catholics.

• What he said was “the Catholic Church” which refers, in most people’s everyday lexicon, to tho organisation rather than it’s membership. If he is to be criticised then do so on what he said and not your interpretation of it.

• Furthermore the damage done was not just by the Church. Without the complicity of those in authority the damage would have been a lot less. Maybe we need a truth and reconciliation commission, how about it?

• practising catholics consider themselves members of the catholic church, and hear statements about ‘the catholic church is ….’ as referring to us all. (Its a bit similar to French and Germans who tell me how the Irish messed up the ecomony of Europe … i know they think they mean the irish government, but sometimes they speak to me like its me who robbed their pension!) To think that members of a church shouldn’t consider themselves to be full members … thats a bit of a ‘right of attilla the hun’ statement! lol.

• And those catholics must acknowledge their responsability in supporting an organisation that has been responsable for so much misery throughout the ages.

• @Noirin, Scarr etc. he said the “hierarchy of the Catholic Church” and he is 100% correct, the Catholic hierarchy are an elite group of unaccountable celebate men, totally out of touch with the reality of life for most Irish people. Ordinary Catholics should refuse to contribute to diocesan collections until such a time as democratic change is introduced to the church in this country – the only way to for ordinary people to influence Popes, Cardinals and Bishops is to cut off their cash flow.

• Noirin, it’s really interesting to hear your perspective because I know a lot of catholics who wish to distance themselves from the church due to its facilitation of child abuse and subsequent shameful lack of remorse. As someone who sounds very much aligned to this organisation, how do you reconcile yourself with its abhorrent history?

• Thanks for all the replies lads. I’m fascinated by how you claim that I am in some way responsible/implicated by association with “the catholic church”, while at the same time you claim that I should know that that term doesn’t include me! This is precisely the muddled language/generalisations I was referring to. @Mark – agree entirely with the idea of a truth & reconciliation commission, totally independent, allowing us to name and deal with the secrets & scars that we still carry as a country.
      To be clear, I think Ray is entitled to say what he wants, however that Irish people might benifit from being clear and responsible about how we use words and how they affect those we speak about.

• The catholic church is an organisation based on a hierarchy from priest up to pope. Catholics are people who follow the teachings of the catholic church. Ray was putting down the organisation for their role in various things, likely the child abuse stuff. But their are plenty more things he could have been referring to. The catholic church has been responsable for many atrocities going back to their inception.

On the other hand there are people like myself who think Catholics are just as responsable. I have no problem with whatever someone wants to believe in but the catholic church doesn’t practice what it preaches yet people still follow it and support it like sheep. And the rest of us have to suffer because of it.

• i am ashamed to say i used to be a catholic, but i will say it was when i was a child and had no concept of ‘sacraments’ that were foisted on me, i believe if jesus was alive today he would want nothing to do with the catholic church

• He is a little bigot. And not the brightest of bigots.

• John Kehoe, I don’t think that’s fair. He specifically differentiated between Catholics themselves and the Church establishment

• His Holiness is currently chastising American nuns for ministering too much to the poor and marginalised in American society and not doing enough to fight contraception and gay marriage! Exactly as Christ teaches? I think not! In fact it couldn’t be more contrary to what the poor carpenter taught us!
    It’s about time people opened their eyes to this hypocritical and evil organisation.
    Well done Mr. D’Arcy! No one need apologise for speaking the truth!

• I’m not exactly a huge fan of Mr. Darcy but I’m right behind him on this one.

No way should he apologise. The Catholic church have been the offenders in this country and others for hundreds of years.

All Ray did was highlight it.

• The Catholic Church were REALLY quick to apologise for decades of abuse weren’t they? What about the Vatican? Still waiting on that one. D’Arcy can seem a bit worthier than thou at times but there’s no doubting his values. Delighted to hear about this outburst and his response to the Church’s indignation.

• Well done Ray… Can’t wait for the response from the Catholic Hierarchy, should be interesting!!

• Could be a while. The Vatican is busy trying to silence some uppity nuns in the US. These nuns are not going to lay down and take it. Should be interesting.

Well done Ray. Tellin’ it like it is. The church would p1ss on you and tell you it’s raining.

• His choice of words may have been unfortunate but his point couldn’t have been more accurate!!

• We live in a society that promotes freedom of speech. He has no obligation to retract his statement, one which I happen to agree with………. Good on ya Ray!!!

• I find it offensive that the Church find it offensive. Can I get an apology from them??

• Fair play to you Ray. Only speaking the truth.

• Brian 23/04/12 #

I love the fact that the god botherers have got their knickers in a twist. They had no trouble poisoning the minds of countless Irish men, women and children over the years but when a public figure points this fact out using a bit of ‘everyday’ language they lash out. Bunch of arseholes.

• well done D’arcy stand your ground the church has had too much influence in Ireland for too long and all they have done is abuse their position.

• I have to admit, his reply to the uproar put the biggest smile on my face, good man Ray for making my Monday morning!

• Good man Ray! Tell it like it is!!!

• Good man Ray stick to your guns

• I’m thrilled that ray won’t apologise . Why should he for telling the truth.

• Has fornicated up this country would have been more appropriate

• I’m proud of you Ray. Too many in this country and the world over have been oppressed by the Catholic Church. Nice to see a public figure in this country telling it like it is. Do not apologise. All we need now is to have the church’s influence in poitics and education completely removed, permanently.

• Ray, DON’T RETRACT. You speak for me and countless others (the majority???) in this country. Particularly when it comes to the abuse scandals.

• They feel insulted by the truth, yet they seemed to be fine with all the lies. They are the exact opposite of what they claim to be. Hat’s off to you, Ray.

• Sure isn’t it the truth!

• Gerard 23/04/12 #

You’re not my favourite dj ray but after this statement you have definitely climbed a few steps of the ladder, good on you, pity more broadcasters didn’t do the same over the years.

• Well done Ray.

• He was right to express his opinion and if the F word slipped out it only shows the expressed anger many people hold for the Church. And at the risk of upsetting the Journal’s middle class semi right wing posters who hang around here all day…. He was right about Enda getting in to power too!

• fair play ray pity more broardcasters havnt the guts

• Good man Ray. If people are offended by the truth it can be tragic or unfortunate but reality is not always pleasant.

• Can’t you imagine the reaction if he said the same about ISLAM or any other religion,double standards from the left as usual,Ray Darcy should just shut his mouth on these things his hardly an expert.

• It gets very tiring when people trying to defend the Church demand you speak out against all religion equally. I’m no fan of Islam, I believe it’s a violent and misogynistic faith and I don’t like their resistance to seperation of Church and state. But they’re not the one’s who have administrative control of our education system and mental control of our more impressionable, and who are desperately trying to cling on to power in this country. If they do, then hopefully we’ll speak out against them. If they don’t, I’m happy to leave them be.

• @Paul Darby. What ever your taughts are on Islam. Ray in this context was referring to how the Catholic Church affected Ireland. Islam has not affected Ireland with decades of abusing and raping children, controlled the functioning of the State etc. The RCC is just an Evil Empire and finally most people have woken up to that in this country.

• What has Islam got to do with this?

• ….who needs a heart, when a heart can be broooo-kennnn

• Well done Ray.
    Keep telling it as it is!

• Fagan's 23/04/12 #

Spot on. They were obsessed with control, power and money. The Catholic Church lost its way a long time ago.

• Darn’ tootin, D’arcy. F bomb aside, can the Catholic church honestly refute the statement (with a straight face?)

• Well Done Ray. Apologise for the F-word but they have a hell of a lot of apologising to do before they begin to make any demands.

• Good on ya Ray. When have the Catholic Church ever apologised for what they have done. Fu*kin hypocrites !!!!!

• You just gained a long lost listener Mr. D’Arcey.

• Have just found a new appreciation for ray Darcy. Fair play to him. Sure all he did was tell the truth.

• I agree with your comment and DO NOT retract it . The truth is always preferable to platitudes . Good call Ray D’Arcy ,I have to say You have jumped ten fold in my estimation of you . I never really had much time for you ,but after this ,You have gone up,up up :)

• Proper order mr Darcy, but don’t spare the devout Catholics that continue to propogate this deluded shower of anachronistic charlatans and their agenda. They’re the ones voting for the likes of Michelle Mulherin in the first place. The Catholic Church has had no power in Ireland that the Irish people did not give the in the first place, as galling as that is to accept. Never again, or so I hope, will the policies of this country be steered by the church.

• Fair play to him! I’m sure many people agree with him too. Well done ray for not bowing down to pressure!

• Paul 23/04/12 #

Many years ago I attended a Christian Brothers School which coincidently is run by the Church. I was regularly beaten. A classmate was hospitalised as a result of a severe beating. Another classmate was assaulted by a Brother with a piece of timber and the Gardai were called. Nothing happened as a result of any of the above. A friend was sexually assaulted by a Priest. Again no action was taken against that Priest though my friend was chastised for making up stories and now he’s a lonely alcoholic with a failed marriage. Tell me the Church is not responsible for any of this

• Fair play Ray. We need more people in your position to stand up and say it like it is. It’s a shame others stand behind protecting their grossly overinflated wages, in a state run entertainment system.

• Well said Mr D’Arcy, never a truer statement was uttered on a radio station. The catholic church is a boil on the arse of humanity! It has had a malevolent effect on Ireland and the Irish for centuries and now finally we may see the Irish people entering the age of enlightenment albeit 300 years late but hey, better late than never! The catholic communication office is very quick to demand apologies for what Mr D’Arcy said but where were they when the clerical pedophiles and religious thugs and their protector bishops, politicians and police were raping children, brutalising unmarried women and selling children in the Magdalene gulags? Where was that Mulherin woman when the evil priests were “fornicating” with vulnerable children? Fair play to Ray D’Arcy for speaking the truth and telling it like it is!

• While I personally don’t agree with D’Arcy’s comment at all, I don’t think he should retract it or apologise.
    He’s already said sorry for the bad language, early in the morning, but his opinion is his opinion.

For too long now, it’s become du jour now for the “professionally offended” to demand people apologise rather than engage with the point made. (This is true of both the Left & the Right btw)

• He’s only saying what we all know. Catholism is not a religion, it’s an evil cult. Just look at their appalling history, and constant excuses. Or watch Fr. Ted!

• jimbo 23/04/12 #

Good man yourself

• Fair play Ray

• I think ray should apologise when the church’s heirarchy apologise for the people that have died at their hands or as a direct result of their influence over the past 100 years,don’t forget all the stories and recent films about these atrocities. I think it’s fair to say ray will be about 99 years old before it happens

• Bravo Ray!

• I have a new found respect for Mr. D’arcy now. Stick it to’ em!

• Why should anyone apologise for speaking the truth? OK, the swearing was inappropriate and unprofessional of him, but he has apologised for that already. If the church, or any of its’ followers are offended by the truth….TOUGH!!! The Catholic church actively covered for child abusers. This is a proven fact which the church admit to. However, they have done NOTHING to correct things…… and they still think that people should hold them up on a pedestal??? Do the decent thing, Catholics……. take the power away from these infinitely corrupt and evil people. If you believe in god, then that’s fine. But ask yourself…. What kind of god would allow such atrocities to be committed in his name? If you reach the only logical answer, then boycott the church. If everyone boycotts them, they’ll eventually be unable to survive in this country and will be forced out….. which should’ve been done a LONG time ago!

• I found that a lot of people that have never “come out” have done so because of the prejudice perpetuated by the Catholic Church.

• When Michelle mulherin made those comments about fornication, am I right to say that its meaning is sex outside of marriage? Because if it is her claim that sex outside of marriage causes unwanted pregnancies, she herself is living proof that her own statement is incorrect. She lived with a non-national in a common law relationship for a number of years before he was deported. Yet she never fell pregnant. Perhaps she meant to say unprotected fornication causes unwanted pregnancies. Well known fact about her around mayo where she is from.

• Seems like the days when the belt of the bishops crozier would frighten everyone into submission ( especially the politicians) are long gone but delusional church do not seem to recognize it.

Away with your authoritarian doctrine – the people have become educated to your evil ways. Keep the children safe!!

• Dont you hate small mindedness? The man is perfectly entitled to his opinion and is perfectly entitled to express it. Ok, he said ‘F**k’ but he did apologize. Beside, can anyone actually disagree with him? Is what he said not a perfectly valid point? I say fair play to him for standing up and saying it. The did F**k up the country, no denying it!

• You said it Ray! You spoke for many ,enough said ! End of story

• Well said Ray. Should have included all religions. Any where in the world today, war is religion based.

• If you look closely you’ll find that the vast majority of wars are not caused by religion, rather they are caused by one country/community wanting something that belongs to another and taking it by force, e.g. land, property, oil, food, water etc. It’s too simplistic to blame all war on religion.

• Good point, Frank. The anti-religion mob would have us believe that religion is the root of all evil. People used to give out about priests castigating people from the pulpits. Now, we have those on social network pulpits banging and shaking their fist at any mention of religion. It’s pretty ironic really.

• He just said what everyone was thinking. People are very quick to blame bankers for the state of the country, and quite too, but how much money is the church sitting on? Why don’t they follow the example if Jesus and live in poverty, using their collections to feed the poor and cure the sick.

Does God, if there is one, get pissed because the cross in the church is made of wood rather than gold? Does Jesus get insulted when the representation of his blood is drank from a pewter mug?

• TOTALLY AGREE WIT RAYS COMMENTS AND HE HAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO APOLOGISE FOR IN MY EYE S :) CATHOLIC CHURCH ON THE OTHER HAND OWES A LOT OF APOLOGIES !!!!!!!!

• All the above posts cover the main reasons the catholic church truly did destroy the soul of this country, so I won’t add anything.

Fair play to you Ray!

• Did you get that from the same book of fact that Michelle Mulherin pulls her statistics on fornication and abortion because it sounds like a sad mass of crap to me.

• The only reason he cursed was because he felt strongly about the issue.
    I agree with him.
    No religion should have had that amount of influence on a country.
    Can you imagine the way this country would have turned out if it had been run by Muslims under Sharia law?
    If you can’t, keep your eyes open because those days are coming. Sooner than you think.
    And it’s all thanks to the truly generous, and truly ignorant majority of people in this country.

• Are you out of your F**king mind?!

• Good man Ray, a pint a beer awaits you!

• Catholic church don’t like it when people tell it like it is. They should be ashamed of the things they have allowed happen in this country. We’d be far better off without them.

• B7584 23/04/12 #

What an absurd statement to make.

go and say 4o hail marys.

• He’s only said aloud what most of us have been thinking!He’s a man of integrity not retracting what he said when the going got tough.Well done Ray!

• Well done Ray for not backing down on this. Too long has the Catholic Church been corrupt with power and often offering limited and reluctant apologies.

• Go on Ray! Legend!

• Good man Ray D’Arcy… I now have a new found respect for this man :)

• Very enlightened stuff altogether.

• @Treasa:

Really? Let’s hear more about your research? How many people? How have you “found” this information? Have you published it? Has it been subjected to scrutiny of others? Looking forward to your detailed response…

• If Ray’s not careful, they’ll move him to another parish

• bob 23/04/12 #

if u find that the catholic church is a fine upstanding establishment then u are deluded.let’s say I help lots of people with charity,but then I bugger children,let’s say I teach the word of god but then use single mothers as slaves,let’s say I baptise babies but bury the single mothers babies in mass graves or sell the living ones for adoption,shall I go on,cause there is sooo much more,centuries of it!!! let’s say if you cannot see the absolute carnage the catholic church has caused then you are one blinded sick puppy.the sooner we kick the Vatican out the better,it may take time,a generation,but we will heal and happy and confident not pandering to some confidence trickster in fancy dress.canon law me arse!!! rant over,that felt good!

• Fair play Ray!!!

• Ray for president!!!

• He wasn’t lying

• Fair play to you Ray D’Arcy.Apologise for the F-bomb by all means but don’t apologise for speaking the truth.

I have no sympathy for so called Irish Catholics,you continue to support the Roman Catholic church,you are just as despicable as the church it’s self.All the holier than thou,pontificating about the Catholic church sickens me.You people are followers of Christ and couldn’t be any further away from his teachings if you tried.And if you don’t like what I have to say then FORGIVE ME!!!

• I’d say Ray should apologise for using a curse word right after every single Catholic Church administrator that either conducted, knew of or carried out an act against basic human rights apologises to the world. I can’t imagine that day will come however.

• Fbomb fbomb he said the fbomb
    The church needed to hear it for so very very long
    Fbomb fbomb Darcy’s fbomb
    It probably just turned them on, oh ya, It probably just turned them

• Well Ray ,, Well Ray,, Look what you started ,,,

• Well done Ray

Seems like the days when the belt of the bishops crozier would frighten everyone into submission ( especially the politicians) are long gone but delusional church do not seem to recognize it.

Away with your authoritarian doctrine – the people have become educated to your evil ways. Keep the children safe!!

• Let us pray, for Rays immortal soul

• Is it too late for a Protestant Reformation in Ireland? We might have saved ourselves a lot of trouble back in the 1500s if we’d all gone Presbyterian…

• Jay 23/04/12 #

Ray might be speaking the truth but he can be too glib and spontaneous with his remarks Remember his saying he would leave the outcry if Enda Kenny were elected Taoiseach! Radio presenters should present and facilitate discussion. He is a good character but maybe he is losing the run of himself a little bit

• Wow.

• As a believer in God, I felt I wanted to draw a line between the reality of what the bible says and the fantasy of what the Catholic church preaches – purgatory is one of the many non-biblical, therefore man-made notions which the Catholic church has indoctrinated it’s followers with. There’s lots of them…confessing to a priest for forgiveness of your signs, the “sacraments”, praying to saints…

And as for begging for a place in Heaven – the only way to salvation is through Jesus Christ. Believing in Him and accepting Him into your life is the only way.

I urge everyone to get back to basics, to actually read Gods word in the Bible – and not to let the downright evilness contained in the Catholic church and its teachings to muddy your chances of getting to know the real God.

He is amazing, and is nothing like the God that the Catholic church portrays Him to be!

• I honestly feel sorry for you.Yes im sure you mean well,but try and think for yourself please.

“.And as for begging for a place in Heaven – the only way to salvation is through Jesus Christ. Believing in Him and accepting Him into your life is the only way”
      Less of the delusional talk please.You make it sound like God was just perfoming live at the weekend..and he did an encore.

• There is not one shred of evidence to support the existence of a god or gods and the bible is a book of myths and superstitions.

• SpiritualBabies, I honestly worry for your sanity.

• @Crimson21 :) thanks for your comment but i really do not need you to feel sorry for me. It is the very act of thinking for my self that lead me to the truth in the Bible. Yay!
      It might interest you to know that G-d IS performing live this weekend (and every day) and Jesus TOTALLY did an encore.

@Joe There is plenty of evidence out side of the Bible (Josephus, archeological etc) supporting the events historically reported in the Bible. I can only assume you have never read it, cover to cover, as such why comment on the content? The Bible is the living word of G-d. The very presence of G-d in my life is all the evidence i need. :)

• SpiritualBabies, you have no proof to back up your statements. The Bible was written by MEN, a long time after the fact. Jesus did not exist, he is a metaphor. As are all the people and stories within. I assume you are an adult, isn’t it time you started practicing logic and thinking for yourself? Seriously.

• @Sovereign Being

Kind in awe of your loving kindness. You worry for my sanity? Thank you, such a kindness (i assume void of irony or sarcasm) must be commended!

Regarding the Jesus did not exist statement.. i can only assume you are trolling, only a fool would testify that a man recorded in so many ways outside of the letters of the new testament (eg.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Josephus_on_Jesus) did not live.

I pray G-d blesses you for your kind comments regarding my sanity.. if only everyone was so caring.

• Spiritual Babies, I’d strongly recommend that you read the following book – http://www.amazon.com/Jesus-Interrupted-Revealing-Hidden-Contradictions/dp/0061173932 Y

You’ll quickly learn that the Bible isn’t the book (or word of God) that you think it is.

• Wow, typical Christian. I am not uncaring. Quite the opposite. It is not unkind to point out the massive holes in your cult’s beliefs, in fact it is a kindness. Something you need to hear for your own sake.

As for Jesus existing – even if there was a dude with that name at the documented time, he certainly didn’t have any powers and was not the son of god. I wonder do you know the true beginnings of your bible stories? Does Sumeria mean anything to you? How about psychedelic mushrooms, know anything about those? Because that’s where religion started, a hell of a long time before the scribblings of your cult were dreamed up.

But I know that facts don’t matter to christians. They are content to live life with blinkers firmly attached. It is possible to care and to be kind without being a christian. Challenging people who spread lies and disinfo (even when they don’t realise they are doing so) is absolutely necessary.

And please, take your condescending promises of prayers to god for me somewhere else.

• already prayed for.

have a wonderful week :)

In the love of the King Yeshua our Messiah!

• Brick wall…

• I have to say, that’s something that grinds my gears.. People saying “I’ll pray for you” and doing it even when specifically asked or told not to..

Does Christianity not offer any respect for other peoples free will? Does it insist on forcing itself upon others against their wishes like some sort of spiritual rapist?

Also “I’ll say a prayer for you” is quite vague, you could be praying for their health, you could be praying that they get brainwashed into “seeing the light” as Christians like to put it.. These are very different intentions, and while one is positive, the other seeks to push ones beliefs upon another. Which to my mind is highly disrespectful.

Believe what you like, you have that right, but don’t try to claim that it’s the absolute truth because you cannot know that.

• Yea,Brainwashing is quite tragic really.The imaginary friend syndrome!

• Surely.. If the faith is a lie and prayer is too?

Then saying ‘ill pray for you’ should not bother you any more than saying..’my easter bunny is doing a dump on your griffins ring of mordor”?

If interesting how people take such offense to something they hold no belief in.
      Sinners go to Hell.
      If you do not believe in Hell, or at least the Bibles version of Hell then this statement should not cause any one any issues :)

• @SpiritualBabies,

“the only way to salvation is through Jesus Christ”

Don’t you find it ironic that your loving and compassionate god has no problem damning all peace-loving muslims, jews, hindus, bhuddists, athiests etc. to hell?
      Not very christian of him is it?

Eskimo: “Father would I be committing a sin if I didn’t know what sin is?”
      Priest: “No, not if you did not know”
      Eskimo: “Then why did you tell me?”

• Noddy :)

nice story..

‘not very Christian of him?’

Well, a Christian follows G-d…

Also.. G-d is not at the beck and call of my/this ages/ social conscious’ moral code..

He is G-d..

Boy ‘ wow, if I had a universe i would make it MUCH better than G-ds’
      Man ‘but YOU dont have a universe, God does’

Either you believe or you do not.

If you believe then G-d is G-d. If you do not.. then you should not be concerned by my ‘brain washed’ ramblings :)

• SpiritualBabies,
      I’ll re post my main question in the hope of an answer.

Don’t you find it ironic that your loving and compassionate god has no problem damning all peace-loving muslims, jews, hindus, bhuddists, athiests etc. to hell?

• Noddy, it’s very hard to get these religious maniacs to answer direct questions, especially those that deal in logic! She/he didn’t answer my questions about Sumeria or mushrooms either. These deluded bleaters hide behind “Have a nice day, I’ll pray for you… look at me appearing to take the moral high ground in an effort to avoid having to think or give answers, while attempting to make the filthy heathens look oh-so uncouth and mean”…

• I don’t care what they are praying to. What I care about is their intention. Different belief systems have different ways of doing things, some other belief systems see “saying a prayer for someone” as a form of spell craft. And to cast spells on others without their consent is considered evil..

It’s merely about having respect for other belief systems.. Surely you are capable of that?

• What have the Catholics ever done for US?

• Blaming the Roman Church for being a bunch of venal nonces is all very well but their position of privilege in this state has been bolstered for generations by successive gombeen governments and the police. The media’s complicity might not be as overt as that of the peelers and gombeens but make no mistake, the failure of the fourth estate to speak truth to power is one of the main reasons that the Church was able to behave the way it did. It’ll take a lot more than the indiscretions of a fatuous twit like D’Arcy to make up for the established media’s rank shortcomings.

• Successive governments are voted for by successive generations of people. A government in the 60s or 70s that acted against the Catholic Church wouldn’t have been voted for for long. You can put it down to the small mindedness of previous generations that didn’t have the sense to shake off the shackles, or you can blame them. You can’t blame their representatives.

• What’s Religion? Vatican Bank weren’t happy with cost of stamps so came up with a new spell to prevent http://www.countmeout.ie/suspension/

• I can’t stand the little anti-Catholic atheist troll, promoting gay marriage, pornography and abortion (he’s just had a child) virtually every day on his ghastly little show, this countries moral compass is facing south and each and everyone of you should be ashamed of yourself for defending this talentless RTE reject.

• Ray would be better off questioning how his boss, a Mr. O Brien,is actually corrupting the political establishment in this country rather than throwing out speculative/ diatribes at an already weakened Church.

• The Ray Darcy show is like listening to a group of cackling school girls down the back of a bus. Ray’s interviewing skills are the worst I’ve ever heard and I cannot stand the way he constantly feeds his own ego with listeners comments.

• Another self-proclaimed “expert” who throws out a populist comment and gets the usual cliched response. Hardly a brave man to use his platform to make a sweeping generalisation about one religion. Barely worthy of a response except for the sad fact that broadcasting to the nation puts one in a position of power that can all too easily be abused. And people accuse the Church of abusing its position!

• He told the truth, its a despicable organization.

• They have abused their position.Has Ray D’arcy committed crimes like the Catholic Church have?
      What is worse is you standing behind an organisation with so much to answer for.
      Perhaps you need to take a read of the Mahon Report..might be sobering.It might cause you to question your support for this morally bankrupt organisation or else continue to blindly follow.

• Thats right..even Bertie doesnt escape hahaha

• When did he consider himself an “expert?”

Maybe it is a populist comment but it was brave enough to refuse to contract his statement, quite possibly when you’ll have a decent amount of devout Catholics demanding his resignation.

“And people accuse the Church of abusing its position!”

Are you honestly comparing the hundreds of years of Catholic pillaging of our country, the countless examples of abuse, many of which continued into the last few years and some which are even ongoing today, to Ray’s actions? Which essentially amount to calling them on it? If you think that speaking against Church actions is worse than the actions themselves you have an incredible amount to answer for.

• I’d say he knows very little about the ongoing amazing work carried out by Catholics the world over, but what does it matter if there’s any sort of balance. After years of RTE, we’re kind of used to a lack of balance in the media. In fact, I’d say it’s fair to say that the majority of public opinion over the years has been based on poorly researched, rehashed rubbish that people just spout out as if it was fact based and totally verified.

• Claiming a lack of balance when an anti-Church story comes out is a bit old at this stage, there is a bias because the Catholic Church is doing way more harm than good, not because of the media.

“In fact, I’d say it’s fair to say that the majority of public opinion over the years has been based on poorly researched, rehashed rubbish that people just spout out as if it was fact based and totally verified”

Considering I’ve never met a Catholic that owns a Bible, never mind has read any of it, and they get all of their stories about God and Jesus filtered through the Church and the priests, to the point where they are lied to about Jesus’ view on divorce and homosexuality, given invented views on contracpetion etc, is it not a bit ironic for someone defending Catholicism to say that we are the ones getting poorly researched, rehashed rubbish?

• Heh. Have you read any Journal comments lately? Opinions don’t have to be based on facts. That said, what would be your idea of a counterbalance? Ray D’Arcy says he thinks that Catholic Church has screwed Ireland over, someone else says Ray D’Arcy doesn’t think that?

Adults should be able to let other people airing their opinions in a democracy without being worried it will “brainwash people”. It’s his opinion, you agree with him or not, I’m baffled by your world view that he is “abusing his position” to persecute Catholics.

• Another unremarkable statement from a lightweight broadcaster.

There are decent people in the Church but as an institution it has been proven to be incapable of being moral itself so why should we listen to it for moral guidance. We do not need a Catholic Church. Just pray directly to God at home and don’t support Rome rule.

People make up their own mind in Ireland anyway. Hardly anybody agrees with their view on contraception, sex before marriage, limbo (or have Church abolished this).

• Ray D’arcy is an unrepentant Fianna Fail supporter.

Fianna Fail,more than any other party have facilitated the church’s undue influence over our country.

Ray D’arcy (and his ilk),in many ways,have f**ked up this country.

• Dunno why people put any value on Ray’s comments – sure he said he’d leave the country if Enda got Taoiseach so unless he is broadcasting from the Isle of Man he didn’t keep his word

• Looks like you’ve deleted my comment. How very open of you.

• Considering less then 10% of the people of this country have anything to do with the Church since the 80s .
    I don’t really get where he is coming from blaming the woes of this country on the church all he did on his show this morning was back peddle and read out emails in support of his statement
    Now if he had any Balls or belief in his statement he would not bring someone on to argue against him but them Balls is not one of the things that comes to mind when Listening to Ray .

• I might respond to this post if it had been expressed in English…

• The vast majority of the country have been forced through Catholic primary schools and wasted time on doctinal religious instruction at the cost of our scientific and mathematical learning in comparison to our EU counterparts. Many have in turn had their children baptised purely in order to ensure a school place, often against their religious belief.

Add that to the thousands of people that are survivors of symphysiotomy, child abuse, Magdalene asylums, and spouses that suffered pre-1986 because their inability to leave their partner, or the pre-1981 victims of marital rape. And I’ll stick on our backwards abortion legislation (which the UN criticised us for).

Is that enough?

• Gerry
      Am I misreading your first sentence?
      84% of people claimed to be Roman Catholic in the last census!
      The agitation and outrage of radio presenters seems to have little effect upon the thinking of people when aligning themselves with this corrupt institution, or indeed voting for their local corrupt politician.
      The Hidden Ireland, the Valley of the Squinting Windows is still very much in charge it seems.

• “Considering less then 10% of the people of this country have anything to do with the Church since the 80s”

I think you’ll find that a much greater proportioin than 10% still get baptised, confirmed, married and buried in a catholic church. And are still educated in catholic run schools. Though thankfully the numbers continue to decline.

“…all he did on his show this morning was back peddle”

You must have been listening to a different show to the one I heard. He vehemently maintained is position from the previous Friday. Where do you get back peddling out of that?

“…and read out emails in support of his statement”

Again, what show were you listening to? Along with those supporting his view, he read out several emails opposing his view. I would guess the proportion was indicative of the total emails the show received.

• Jerry. Come on now. The reason so few people have anything to do with the church is because of the evils they’ve committed that resulted in many of the country’s woes. If you had any balls yourself, you’d stand up against that clearly corrupt organisation instead of defending them like a sheep.

• D’Arcy is still an F-ing idiot…………

• Sorreee! Today FM does not get state funding. My mistake. Apologies to all commentators (113) who were incensed with my oversight. However any half decent broadcaster does not have to use the F word to express an opinion, if they have a reasonable command on English and clearly Mr. Darcy doesn’t.

• Maybe he’s not getting enough publicity? When’s the last time he cursed the real cause of this country being on its knees?

• purgatory doesn’t exist anymore,we no longer have the chance to beg for a place in heaven,it’s just straight to heaven or straight to hell!

• John 23/04/12 #

Ray who?

• I have no problem with Mr. Darcy having a view on the Catholic church but I do have an issue with him using the national radio station, funded in part by my licence fee, to air his views.

• A few years ago I met a man who described graphically what he would do to any priest, if he ever found out that he had abused his daughter. His blood was boiling. He was practically foaming at the mouth. His anger and rage was so abnormal, that I said to myself “I wouldn’t like to be his daughter”.

There’s a lot of that going on in Ireland.

The article above was to do with Ray D’Arcy rage at the RCC. However, a reasonable person would look into the said politician’s speech in the Dáil that day and soon realise that in fact Deputy Mulherin’s ‘theology’ is not Catholic theology at all. Abortion is not the same sin as greed as she said. It is far graver. She has been heavily influenced by born again Christianity, which can be quite fundamentalist, so her comments do not reflect the RCC teachings. Also, she said on the Saturday Night Show that she doesn’t go to Mass every Sunday. Just when she feels like it, it seems. She also is promoting contraception. So, in fact, Michelle Mulherin is not really a Catholic at all. She’s a nominal Catholic.

So in my opinion Ray D’Arcy was totally out of line in blaming the Catholic Church for Michelle Mulherin’s Born Again religious beliefs.

______________________________________________________________________________

Better to build bridges than blow them up.

• He only did it to create a furore…and guess what it worked!! I don’t believe for one second that the F-word just slipped out! Not a chance the guy has been a broadcaster far too long for that to happen! Wake up and smell the communion wine people he’s just trying to be controversial…
    Don’t listen to him – never will.

• He only did it to create a furore…and guess what it worked!! I don’t believe for one second that the F-word just slipped out! Not a chance the guy has been a broadcaster far too long for that to happen! Wake up and smell the communion wine people he’s just trying to be controversial…
    Don’t listen to him – never will.

• Why Ray D’Arcy should apologise to the Catholic Church. http://donum-vitae-blog.blogspot.com/2012/04/why-ray-darcy-should-apologise-to.html

Add New Comment