TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Oscar Pistorius: ‘I tried to save Reeva. She died in my arms’

The court has adjourned the athlete’s bail hearing until 9am (South African time) tomorrow.

Oscar Pistorius in court today.
Image: AP/Press Association Images

OSCAR PISTORIUS HAS told a South African court his version of events from the morning his girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp was shot and killed at his house.

In a submitted affidavit, the 26-year-old athlete said he did not intend to kill the 29-year-old model. His statement, read by lawyer Barry Roux, outlined his fear of intruders, as well as his love for Steenkamp.

ENCA News reporter Karyn Maughan tweeted much of the proceedings:

I fail to understand how I can be charged with premeditated murder, let alone murder. I didn’t mean to kill Reeva.
I have no intention to relocate as I love my country.
I earn R5,6million a year. I’ve never been convicted of crimes.
I deny that I committed murder in the strongest point. Even though I don’t have to, I want to deal with these allegations.
On 13 February, Reeva and I agreed to have quiet dinner at home. She later did yoga exercises.
Reeva had bought me a present for Valentines Day. We were deeply in love. [Oscar sobs]

At this point, the magistrate Desmond Nair interrupted proceedings and called a short recess, stating his compassion as a human being would not allow the statement to continue. He asked the defendant to try and maintain composure. Permission was sought for Pistorius’s brother to sit with him but the Paralympian insisted he was “fine”.

The affidavit continued to be read:

We were deeply in love and couldn’t be happier. I loved her and I know she felt the same way.
I’m acutely aware of violent criminals breaking in. I’ve got death threats.
At some stage, I went outside to get a fan. I heard a noise in the bathroom and felt sense of terror come over me.
I thought Reeva was in bed. I screamed out that the person must get out of house and Reeva must call police.
I didn’t have my prosthetic legs on. I felt vulnerable. I feared real harm to me and Reeva. I fired.
Then I realised Reeva wasn’t there. I went onto balcony and screamed for help. I put my legs on.
Reeva was slumped over in the toilet. She was still alive. I called paramedics. I tried to take her to hospital.
I tried to save Reeva. But she died in my arms. I can’t stand how much hurt I’ve caused.
I believe the forensic evidence will prove what I am saying. I used a cricket bat to break open toilet door.
I will stand my trial. I didn’t attempt to flee after the shooting.

Earlier, the prosecution argued – and the magistrate agreed – that Pistorius should face a pre-meditated murder charge. His defence team will have to outline ‘exceptional circumstances’ for a successful outcome in the bail hearing. Before lunch, the magistrate said the charge may be reduced after this bail hearing, depending on evidence.

An important factor in the arguments appears to be when the South African star put on his prosthetic legs. The State believes he got out of bed, put on his prosthetic legs, walked seven metres to the bathroom door and fired. This version was contested strongly by the defence team.

The bail hearing has been postponed until 9am (7am Irish time) tomorrow. That gives the prosecution time to digest the affidavits submitted by Pistorius’s lawyers.

Attorney Barry Roux read other sworn statements, including one from Steenkamp’s best friend Sam Greyvenstein, who told the court that the model would have married Pistorius if he asked. “She said he was intense but she loved him.”

The Olympian will be held overnight at Brooklyn Police Station in Pretoria, the last night he is due to spend there. Depending on tomorrow’s decision, he will be allowed home or be sent to prison, remanded until his trial.

South Africa Pistorius Shooting

A woman holds a photo of Reeva Steenkamp, as she leaves her funeral in Port Elizabeth, South Africa this morning. (Image: Schalk van Zuydam/AP/Press Association Images)

A private and intimate memorial for Steenkamp was held in Port Eliabeth this morning.

Her uncle, Michael Steenkamp, broke down in tears as he remembered his niece’s wish to be an advocate for women affected by violence and abuse.

Speaking outside Victoria Park Chapel, he spoke about how theirs was a family who liked to “get together”. “We are all here today as a family. There is only one thing missing today, Reeva.”

He said the issue of abuse against women echoed so much in recent months because of her mentions of it. “She wanted to be an activist for that,” he continued. “That has now swung right around. Her statement is more powerful now.”

Her brother, Adam, said the memorial was “sad” but that “at certain points, we were smiling” because of the happy times they had.

“We only have good memories of her and that is what we were all thinking…There’s a space missing inside all of the people she knew that can’t be filled.”

The family confirmed that another memorial, during which her ashes will be spread, will be held at some stage in the future.

-Additional reporting by AFP

Earlier: Oscar Pistorius to face pre-meditated murder charge

Family members break down after funeral of Reeva Steenkamp

Read next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• To everyone about to comment,

Any supposed ‘jokes’, ‘puns’ or insensitive remarks about either the victim or the defendant in this case – many of which have been said enough times over the past week in the comments section – will be deleted. So, I would respectfully suggest you not post them if that was your intention.

This is not us being cranks. It is a serious and tragic matter and we will continue to treat it as such.

Thanks for your co-operation! Sinéad

• Thinking of this incident and Sandy Hook make me appreciate living in Ireland where people don’t have easy access to guns.

If the gun laws had been different than Pistorious would not have had a gun in his home and that poor girl would be alive today.

• Terrible for all involved. Lets wait until the trial before we pass judgement on this man.

• I really don’t know what to believe about this case at the moment so I intend to keep and open mind and hope that the evidence points to the the correct verdict.

• Still not convinced. To shoot someone 4 times and call it an accident..?

• “I fail to understand how I can be charged with premeditated murder, let alone murder. I didn’t mean to kill Reeva”

If we were to believe this type of comment, half the convicted murderers of the world would have been let off the hook. What type of comment is that to make?

“I earn R5,6million a year. I’ve never been convicted of crimes”

What does how much money you make year, have to do with anything. Again not a great comment.

“At some stage, I went outside to get a fan. I heard a noise in the bathroom and felt sense of terror come over me”

Do you always jump to conclusions when you hear a noise?

“I didn’t have my prosthetic legs on. I felt vulnerable. I feared real harm to me and Reeva. I fired”

He didn’t have his legs on, yet he had a gun with him? Also he said he went outside to get a fan. Did he bring his gun outside with him? Does he have his gun on him all the time? He fails to mention some details.

“Then I realised Reeva wasn’t there. I went onto balcony and screamed for help. I put my legs on”

Why did he go onto the balcony to scream for help? Surely he would have called for an ambulance first. After all, he said he told Reeva to call the police, so they must have had a phone.

Overall, I think some of the stuff he’s quoted as saying is a bit dodgy. Whether he’s innocent or not, he’s not doing a good job painting a picture of himself.

• Do you know what ‘premeditated means’?

• He lived in a gated community with guards maybe he was.shouting to them?

• A gated community with guards? I don’t even know where to start with that.

• @adam, if you have been to Pretoria you would understand. Nearly all houses are security guarded, watch dog, fire arm guarded. It really is not safe there at night, and one would be paranoid at night. I used to sleep with a knife under my pillow, and had guards armed with machine guns. It’s hard to believe oscars story from an Irish perspective, but would be very believable in Pretoria

• It’s standard to give details of earnings/assets in bail applications. Its to give an indication of what sum bail should be set at if granted.

• standard yes on paper or via legal counsel he just decided to mansion it as a look at me in perfect.

His story today was written by expensive barrister. Not his own words. Like said above of we believe everything we hear in court we would not need jails

• @Aiden Stevens. If all houses are security gaurded and have watch dogs. How come they weren’t alerted at all during the incident. Why didn’t he shout earlier on for armed guards, or something? He was outside afterall, and said he heard a noise in the bathroom. Not to mention, he didn’t mention the guards or anything. Again he failed to give details. Unless he was so paranoid, that he lost control and panicked, in which case his mental state should come into question.

Let me ask you a question Aiden. You said you slept with a knife under your pillow. Do you think you would have used that knife, and killed someone with it even if you weren’t sure who it was?

• South Africa is far from a safe place. It would be far more strange not to grab your gun if you heard a noise. It’s a million years from Ireland. Life is cheap there. Anyone who has been would know that having a gun is the norm. And if it was intruders the gun would be useless if it was in a safe. Forensics have moved on so far that I’m sure the truth will out. Unfortunately we may never know his true thoughts but if he was woken from sleep, startled he may not either. He may have gone into auto pilot. Fear and adrenalin can completely take over.

• B 19/02/13 #

He had to use bat to break open bathroom door !!!! Why was the door locked ? Do you lock your bathroom door when only you and your partner are at home ?

Hmmmmmm

• Plots thickens ..maybe it was accident ..has me torn after reading that now ..yet last week I taught it was cold blooded murder ..time will tell I suppose

• I went to get a fan without my prosthetic legs on and happened to have my glock 9mm in my other hand.
    Oj Simpson all over again.

• I deny that I committed murder in the strongest point. Even though I don’t have to, I want to deal with these allegations.
    Why did he say, ‘even though i don’t have to’, when clearly he does have to.
    His comments really don’t add up to something even approaching credibility.

• Ah, the armchair sleuths and their ability to spot the flaws in any case from thousands of miles away whilst knowing hardly any of the actual facts/evidence gathered.

• Ill believe that version of events when my shit turns purple and smells like rainbow sherbet! No one fires 4 rounds through a locked door without waiting for a simple reply!

• Not accident. Amazing how a legal team with few days to think can twist it in a PR light.

No afraid not. There is no way you hear a noise go get you gun and not at any point not know its your partner.sorry its just his legal teams PR

• Actually it’s happened hundreds of times in countries like the US and South Africa etc. google before opening your mouth.

• We’ll see. The height at which bullets entered the door should shed light on the legs theory.

• Well from what I have read he was quite paranoid anyway about break-ins and security. He tweeted himself about it at one stage and slept often with a gun close-by. And remember he is pretty seriously handicapped. Personally I don’t think it was pre-meditated based on evidence I’ve read so far but time will tell.

• Jay engage your brain before opening yours. Its simply not possible.

They had fight in fear she locked herself in bathroom. The good auld boy there then gets hit gun and fires or would you not make out it was your gf? The police seem fairly sure.

Add to that the bloody bat. Uses to put in door now has and one held one? Should even with plastic legs would be more effective. Sooooo with domestic past he hit her with it hence the blood and screaming (as in arguing heard) she locks herself in the arguing continues. He gets gun and kills her.

• Marko what you have read so far is NOT evidence it’s not even hear say. The police have the evidence and shall be released in time.

• Thats was meant to read with shoulder would be more easy to put in door. Autocorrect

• youdontknowme?

Maybe I don’t know you but I know only an ignoramus would claim to know for certain what happened in that house last week.

• youdontknowme..

Take your shoulder there and hit a door.. How much of your momentum was in your generated in your ankles?

• upper body would carry the force once your moving. not accident nowhere near an accident. alot of these crimes of passion the end result is not thought out the intent to kill is there but the ramifications are not thought out. killed her then panicked

• js1711 20/02/13 #

The main questions I have are about the gun..he went out for a fan and the room was too dark to see her in bed. Did he bring the gun to get the fan? Was the room not too dark to find the gun? By the time he’d found the gun in the dark with no prosthetics did he not wonder why she hadn’t answered him?

• js1711 20/02/13 #

Actually to answer 1 of my own questions. The Irish times reports that the gun was under the bed. The bed he didn’t know was empty.

• That was heartbreaking to read. Very sad for all concerned.

• Waaaaay too many soap fans commenting on this one….. It is quite concievable that the girl went to the bathroom and locked the door. You’re a fortunate bunch who have never been woken up startled in the middle of the night not knowing where you are or what you’re doing…. Now we also have the comfort of living in a reasonably safe environment here in lil ole Ireland but if you felt under threat, of course you’d have a weapon beside you or near you at night….
    Now I’m not saying that this is what happened but jaysus, some of you seem to think it would be utterly impossible for it to be anything but cold premeditated murder…
    We may wait and see what emerges over the course of the trial…

• a sportsman murdering his wife and claiming his innocence thats not even original

• @youdontknowme…..seriously would want to re read your comments before posting…half of them don’t make sense or read write…. Whatever happened that night, only him and her will ever know and unfortunately for her, her side has been taken to heaven with her. The court will have to base it on what is presented to them, either way a beautiful young woman has lost her life and his is now pretty much over REGARDLESS of the outcome…

• they stayed in had one too many drinks had a fight she ran off and locked herself in the bathroom …. they kept arguing and maybe he lost it cos she wouldnt come out … mmm … or his story .. im on the fence for now its just madness …

• I wonder will there be any injuries consistent with use of the cricket bat…again trajectory of bullets will reveal a lot…there is a lot more to come out of this and the trial will be the only credible place from where it will come so let’s wait till then.

• Guilty or innocent I really don’t know…but premeditated…I don’t think so!

• Not that I like tasteless comments, but I think people have a right to make them. I just choose to skip over them. Guess there’s no freedom of speech here huh?

• Ok so he went out to get a fan and heard a noise in the bathroom , screamed to Reeva to call people that someone was in the house . Ok so if he did why didnt she call back to say It’s just me in the bathroom . Number 2 . She was shot and lay dying at the toilet , but yet he first had to break the bathroom door which was locked down with a Bat. So its simple really he either shot through the door which would be easy to prove due to bullet holes . Or what he is saying is an absolute load of crap . No point being sorry for a srious lack of judgement . It doesnt make sense.

• Will be interesting to see the Trajectories of the gunshots through the bathroom door,If they were fired upwards from a low position,ie Oscar didnt have his prosthetics legs on or a downward trajectory from a higher position meaning he was standing upright with his prosthetics on.
    Reminds me of that Episode from The Wire :-)

• Why are comments on the BBC article disabled but you can comment on this story? Surely this story is more directly related to the case than the BBC/Hey Joe story?

• You don’t shoot somebody four times by accident.

• A defence statement out of the OJ Simpson handbook..so Oscar earns 6m rand a year..does automatically mean he cannot commit a crime?? & yes you have to elaborate on what happened if you want the jury to believe your (highly unlikely) version of events!

• Don’t believe his version of events , especially in the light of previous domestic incidents in his house !

• FDL_ 19/02/13 #

M are you sure this is the correct affidavit?? Different story of events on the rte report…never mentions that he wet out for a fan just says he work up to hear someone in the bathroom,..

Add New Comment