TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Poll shows drop in support for Sinn Féin, rise for Fianna Fáil

Support for Fine Gael has dropped slightly while support for Labour remains steady in the latest Red C poll for Paddy Power released today.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin (File photo)
Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive/Press Association Images

A NEW POLL has found that support for Sinn Féin has dropped while Fianna Fáil continues to increase its share of support among voters.

The Red C opinion poll for Paddy Power has found that support for Fine Gael has dropped considerably since the general election in 2011 and has dropped from 32 per cent to 29 per cent since May of last year.

Support for Labour has stabilised at 13 per cent. Fianna Fáil’s rise continues, up from 18 per cent last May to 21 per cent this month while Sinn Féin support has dropped from 20 per cent to 16 per cent.

Support for independents, the Green Party and others is up four percentage points to 21 per cent since last May.

Fianna Fáil’s rise is bolstered by Micheál Martin, the party’s leader, managing to increase his satisfaction level and decrease dissatisfaction level while there are falls for all the other leaders:

paddy power party leader poll

If you’re having trouble viewing this image, click here

The poll also finds that 46 per cent of people think that Belfast City Council was wrong to restrict the flying of the Union flag over City Hall while 36 per cent believe the council was right. Eighteen per cent said they did not know.

Among party voters, 54 per cent of those who vote Labour said the decision was wrong while 48 per cent of of Sinn Féin voters said the decision was right, 44 per cent of those who vote for Sinn Féin expressed the view that Belfast City Council was wrong.

paddy power union flag

If you’re having trouble viewing this image, click here

More: Poll finds 64 per cent support at least legislating for X Case

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (292 Comments)

• When wil we ever learn

• ff support at 21% ???? Irish people must have a very short memory.

• Think of the most hideous expletive, pluralize it, put neo in front of it and you have an apt description of our parties.

• Eamonn, if there’s no viable alternative and the current government are pants what are people to do?

• JayK 10/01/13 #

Neo-Fianna Fáils.

• FF aren’t an alternative because they appear to have same policies as Fine Gael. A real opposition party is radically different and more people friendly. The christian right were always doomed to fail in the polls. The only question is whether people want centrists who cannot make proper decisions without bluff.

• Sadly there are a lot of dishonest selfish people in this country and FF know that, indeed they thrive on it. They know that they can get that block to themselves and that whatever they do they’ll keep backing them and joining the party. 23-24% of the electorate here couldn’t care less about the good of the country, the good of their neighbours and friends.

One small hope is that the rot seems to be most evident in those that are 65+ FF support is small in the under 40′s so there is hope for the country yet.

The onus is on the honest, hard working majority to fight FF tooth and nail.

• Young people would never vote FF because FF made it almost impossible to get a drivers license for work. We now have higher unemployment among young people.

• 21% is hardly comeback territory. That’s not to say those who said they would vote Fianna Fáil shouldn’t be made wear bells to clearly identify themselves in public places lest they hurt themselves using forks without corks and the like…

• No….as much as we have an incompetent government we have an incompetent electorate. I sigh in total disbelief……my only hope is that these polls are skewed as many are…. God bless and help old Ireland…..

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Young people like myself would never again vote for the rot that is FF but we have all left these shores ! SF only decent party left that will stop the elite snobbery in this country, people are so easily fooled, anyone who is back supporting FF WHAT IS WRONG WITH YE AT ALL ! Have ye lost it do ye want to see yer great gran kids paying back the mess FF put us in and have the same bunch dictating to them !

• Put SF in power and see how thankful your grandkids will be.
      There isn’t one decent party in this country. Picking the best of a bad lot isn’t good enough.
      I don’t have the solution though. We are where we are.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

How do you know this , plenty of support for them up the north they represent their citizens well, do you know this because from the corrupt politicians or the bias Denis o Brien media? Or will you drag up the past ? They have never been given the opportunity. Great bunch of people with morals and good values of equality and honesty !

• “I don’t have the solution though” … Here’s an idea (which doesn’t seem to be going down too well): http://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/yeah-well-politicians-innit/

• Actually I read everything SF put out in the run up to the last election and decided for myself that I don’t think they are currently fit to run the country. That may change in the future. Time will tell.
      I came to this conclusion all by myself using my very own brain. I’ll leave all the childish conspiracy media rubbish to you.

• Interesting article Damocles. But unlike the current crop of politicians I know I wouldn’t be capable if fixing things.
      But their ego (or perhaps greed) knows no such limits.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

I have not always supported SF I educated myself and came to a conclusion all by myself from the roots up SF are a party of decent honest people! As for the media it is a known fact that Denis o Brien owns most of it and I have proof of just how bias an corrupt he is a wrote a comment about it ere and it was deleted! I will say if SF get into power and lie and don’t keep promises believe me I would never vote for then again but I don’t think they would do that !

What are my alternatives vote for 3 parties one that caused the mess and another that is making the mess worse.

Now please stop with the personal shows what kinda person you are and it not making you look too good .

• Haha, read back over your borderline hysterical posts accusing people of things just because they did agree with you.
      Then get back to me with your “personal”
      I’ll be big enough to accept your apology.

• *didn’t agree

• Bobby 10/01/13 #

@man on the street , i am very used to people not agreeng with me i have no problem with that. i have nothing to apologise for as for you calling names i dont expect an apology and really dont want one. what did i accuse someone of ?

• I agree with Julie: SF are the only decent alternative.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

sorry comment was ment to come from me was using my friends laptop ( bobby)

• No need to apologize, Julie. There are a lot of arrogant FG / right-wing posters on here trying to demonize people who vote SF. Don’t let them break you. They resort to insults when they don’t get their way in the polls.

• Not talking to you bobby. Myself and Julie were having a wee barney. I should have labelled my posts. Apologies.

• Haha, busted. Alternate accounts. From here on in anything you say is worthless. Goodbye.

• @mark- only one poll matters. If you want proof, take a quick look at the Government benches in Dáil Éireann. Arrogant enough for you?

• @Eamonn. Ah c’mon, sure FF are a whole new different party. Just look at their party leader Micky Martin. Bring back Bev Flynn I say and appoint Lowry.
      I want to slap anyone who supports FF, seriously.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Man on the street with your fake name and fake picture I am Julie was on my friends laptop a lovely women was on phone switched to her laptop and posted as her sorry to disappoint you with your fake account who are you ? I am a real person picture and name

• Read the whole conversation Mark. You’ll see what I think of FF/FG/Lab.
      Just because I don’t think SF are capable if running the country doesn’t make me right wing.
      I’m usually accused of being a leftie on this site.
      I’m not sure how I’d label myself. More a realist I suppose.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Also I use my phone to go on twitter and journal sold laptop to get money to et out of here only way I could have two accounts would be to delete the app and install it again under a new account as far as I know! I have no problem putting my face to my comments

• Eh…you do realise we can all click on “bobbys” account and see that’s its a fake account set up three days ago with the sole purpose of commenting on the journal, right? You do know this, yeah?

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Eh u do realise my friend set up a twitter account 3 days ago and commented on the journal because she heard me talking about it she went on once and didn’t like it too many nasty comments , look at my twitter page alway comment as myself and have no problem doing so unlike yourself !

• “Sean”
      Now, I have shared just as much info about myself as you have, bobby

• Young people in rural areas will always vote for the party mammy and daddy vote for full stop !

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Irish youth are becoming more and more educated, a lot of mammys and daddy’s screwed it up!

• Damocles, if a dog bites my right hand,I wouldn’t give it my left hand to bite too.
      I’m not too sure what the alternative would be to tell you the truth. A political party that truly represents us, the people.

• I’m 45 yrs old, I’ve never been polled, I know no-one who has and i’ve never seen, heard or come across anyone been polled.

Was it an office poll?

• Out of the frying pan, into the fire……then back in to the frying pan again!

• I began to write a response to all the complaints here about the lack of choice. It ended up being too long to put in a comment:
    Message to Disaffected Voters:
    http://thereillywriter.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/message-to-disaffected-voters/

• At last a non-trollish, rational response.

• Thanks Balthasar!

• “Sinn Féin’s economic illiteracy and dodgy past have been flaunted for the world to see”

Not quite as illiterate as your Fianna Fail Party’s policy, Fiachra. Since you previously voiced support for Fianna Fail, I would take what you say with a pinch of salt. You are merely trying to play upon the vulnerable disaffected voters to buy their votes like in 2007. For the record, few people have issue with SF’s past (except maybe the Sindo and a couple of Blueshirts).

• Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh.

It is clear you have a Fianna Fail undertone. I read your message and you basically want people to vote FIANNA FAIL!!

Nice try ;D

• Fool me once shame on you

Fool me twice shame on me

The country will get the king it deserves

• I’m a member of Fianna Fáil, that’s no secret, but explain to me where I advocated an FF vote. I even accepted that the party were asleep at the wheel when the economy crashed. What I really want above all, and certainly put this above my party’s electoral fortunes, is citizens to become more engaged.

Cheers for dragging party politics into a non-partisan issue.

• Fiachra, You are too immersed in your own partisan rhetoric to see the disadvantages of voting Fianna Fail after 14 years of complete gutless politics and ineptness.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Asleep at the wheel is kinda playing it down don’t you think? Don’t forget brown envelops and Galway tents they knew exactly what was going on and were involved, They have no morals and don’t deserve a second chance!

• Julie, that’s your view and I’m not going to dispute it. My aim wasn’t to be an apologist for Fianna Fáil, but to ask people to become more politically engaged by joining parties or setting up new ones. If I wanted to write a blog post about why people should join Fianna Fáil, I would, however I think the people at fiannafail.ie and ogra.ie have that pretty well covered anyway.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

But u support that party being voted back in ? Because of them I am being forced to emigrate and because of people supporting them again there is a chance I won’t be able to return any time soon. Nothing has changed ff same as FG majority of policies of FG were all policies that FF were in favour of before they got cast out and are still in favour of! They need to be kept out!

• Fiachra: FF are Not engaging with the electorate. If they did, they would’ve proposed a wealth tax and abolition of property tax for the middle class.

• Also, we need tighter citizenship laws. At present anyone can apply for an Irish Passport after just 5 years residence. I propose it be 10 years residence before eligibility.

• This kind of partisan language is enough to put anyone off politics.

Goodnight.

• Well done Fiachra. Two nails hit on the head – SF’s inability to capitalise on this country’s worst crisis cause they are simply unbelievable. Oh and Pat Kennys salary. Sick of under achievers whinging about it…

• Phil 10/01/13 #

Why are people giving Julie thumbs down. Wait, let me guess, it’s all you Fianna Fáil idiots thumbing her down is it. If you had any balls you would have changed your name, you shameless, vile, incompetent goons.

• Phil 10/01/13 #

Fiachra, your comment really sums up the future of Fianna Fáil. “This kind of partisan…..” Who do you think you are? You self righteous kid.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

I was wondering the same thing! FF did ruin the country with corruption didn’t they, everyone entitled to their opinion I guess I have made my decision on reading facts and looking around me at misery and suffering, People can support who they want but I just don’t understand the support for FF FG labour baffling! Oh well when it all sinks a least I can say I wasn’t apart of destroying the country

• “Well done Fiachra. Two nails hit on the head”

lol. Nothing but bla bla black sheep in there!

• Who do I think I am? An individual, who happens to be a member of a political party. However I think that I’m entitled to express my own opinions as an individual, without having to defend Fianna Fáil’s record.

Some conspiracy nuts/trolls thought that a blog post I’d written (on why disaffected voters should join political parties or set up their own ones) had a whiff of FF propaganda about it. I proved them wrong, but Mark and Julie thought that this was an invitation to complain to me about Fianna Fáil’s economic record, even though I explained that I had no interest in defending it, and it was irrelevant to the topic at hand.

I’m sorry if I was discourteous to Julie, though my comment was more directed at Mark. It’s simply that while I have my own reasons for joining Fianna Fáil, and my own reasons for continuing to support them, I do not feel obliged to expend my energy articulating them to every single who happens to ask.

• Also Phil, I’m not the one making childish personalised attacks to a complete stranger on a news site.

• Hey everyone, lay off Fiachra. I read his blog and his comments here, and he seems like a good well meaning lad. Yeah, he’s a member of Young Fianna Fáil, but we all did silly things when we were young. He could be worse, he could be that KPMG girl.

• So the ship of state is still afloat and the rats are climbing back up the rope.Whats new.?

• https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/180064_10150136888979462_3583883_n.jpg

For Gods Sake lads, what are we? A nation of Goldfish?! Never forget what FF did to this country.

• Woohoo!!!!

• Irish political parties really are a joke, aren’t they.

None of them have the answers, they only have ways to suit themselves.

Will it ever change?

• screw your polls!! if fianna fail think they’re getting back in any time in the next 2 elections you’re all off your heads!! actually, scratch that, we all know you lot are in fact off your heads :p

• A lot of people must suffer with political party stockholm syndrome.

• Why is Paddy Power paying for a political poll? Is there anyone amongst Journal readers who has been polled by Red C for this survey? I would like to know why a gambling chain is assessing political party support. Seems very strange – but then again gambling and politics have a lot in common.

• Oh dear people’s memories are very short. Aren’t they??do they poll any young people?

• yes mr.supafly…..it says it on the polls if you read them.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Ya but who are these young people , the same young people that disgraced us at economic seminar in front of max keiser saying we had a moral obligation to pay the bondholders. I have no moral obligation to pay anyone I never had a loan credit card or any bit of debt in my life. Or the young people you see pat Kenny interviewing ! Come on !

• Its our moral obligation to be a brainwashed someway ignorant population who have alter egos and tend not to live in the reality but keep up the chirade that recession is not affecting them because their all ahead of the game. When Australia has enough it will say no and they will have to comeback to a country that does not want them and the moral obligation to pay will become alot realer it will be too late by then though im afraid even Doddy will be broke.

• If FF support is rising then we deserve what we get in this country. What sort of idiot would change their voting preference to FF now??

• Short memories.

• if this country votes back in ff I’m stopping paying morage , saving this money for plane tickets , selling everything , burning house with keys to the ground and flying out of this country . end of story if we leave these greed vestering money wasters back in . I do wonder if SF can ever pull it off but we need positive change in this country , our lives are ruined in depth but we must have hope for our kids .

• Personally I none of them are worth a vote! All make promises then break them once elected!

• Not all parties are the same. Nobody has given SF a chance yet, have they? People before profit? Socialist Party? ULA?

Ultimately, voting will entail openness to change instead of just simply voting mainstream parties.

• M Bowe 10/01/13 #

Just can’t give this poll much credence seeing as it states 44% Sinn Fein voters believe Belfast council vote was wrong. Just doesn’t add up to me.

• If Fianna Fáil don’t get wiped out at the next general election it’s all the one, right now for the ordinary person, Sinn Fein look like the least corrupt party on the scene I’m afraid to say, it’s either that or throw your lot in with an independent. But under no circumstances Fianna Fáil.

• Sinn Fein. Least corrupt. Did you say that with a straight face?

• Vincent,

You exposed your support for FG multiple times. You could at least clarify that in your current posts.

• I think it’s pretty apparent.

• Well what I mean is Vincent, how can a person believe any labour or Fine Gael member when they promise to do one thing before an election an then turn around and do the exact opposite.

Now even you can’t say the current government have done this on numerous issues. The fact is any of these creatures who are a part of the current government would have sold their mother to get into power, because now they can sort out their own wages and their advisers (friends) and families interests. This is their main goal, Ireland’s recovery is a distant second in my opinion. And Fianna Fáil were another 50% worse by the way!

So although I don’t think Sinn Fein would be good for our country, I think there is more of a chance of them keeping their promises than the other goughers both present and past do you not agree?

• @philip- the Irish electorate gets what it deserves. I’d like to tell you that if a party stood in front of them & told the unvarnished truth, the people would respect their integrity and vote for them. Ask Alan Dukes about that. FG have broadly stuck by their election promises and are by and large delivering. They have left income tax alone and we look close to returning to the markets. If they bring home the bank deal they will have done as much as I expected. As for Sinn Fein ask people in the North about Sinn Fein’s austerity measures up there.

• @vincent
      Election promises.
      “five point plans”,
      “Not a penny more to bond holders”
      “Morally wrong to Tax a person’s home”

Post election facts
      Not a job created since, more austerity, more emigration, more nepotism, breaking pay caps set by themselves.

Am I missing something here Vincent!

• padraig 11/01/13 #

FFail’s treachery and incompetence ended any sliver of independence we still possessed before the bailout. Martin likes to attack the government for cuts which are the fault of a government of which he was part. It is unfunny too, that he pretends to be pro life as well. Anti cuts and pro life – believe that I am sure there are some airborne pigs to be seen.

• padraig 11/01/13 #

Also Belfast City Council just changed to flying the Union Jack on selected flag days like most of the rest of the UK local authorities, something the loyalist boneheads won’t believe. The Sunday Independent won’t tell its readers that basic fact, West Brit bogroll that it is.

• Shows how blinkered the Irish are. You present a series of shit options to us and instead of saying none are suitable and looking for an alternative, instead we are likely choose ones who have only a few years back destroyed the country, We deserve to be in the s**t if we dont have the intelligence to demand an alternative.

• Could you not create one?

• This “alternative” thing keeps being thrown about without much thought. According to the facts, Ireland has a diverse range of political parties that are alternatives. I think what the “no alternative” posters mean is they want a far-right Nazi style party.

• @ Damocles. For sure. I left during the last hours of the Celtic tiger being utterly disillusioned with a country where I was wealthier than I had ever expected to be but in a totally broken society of selfishness and arrogance and one where I could see my taxes (which I felt I paid too little) had been pi$$ed up against the side of Buswells on a Friday night.

• I’d strongly suggest you change your picture. It’s a tad offensive to someone like me ( old fogey from German Jewish family ) and p, added to your comments, it could be misinterpreted that you’re not against the idea of a neo-Nazi party setting up shop in Ireland. SF supporters who reference Nazis ( national socialists ) are opening a can of worms for themselves. Not a criticism, by the way, but you’ve mentioned you’re a young lad, but I’m not, and what’s distant history for you were childhood experiences for my father…

• Nikolas is pretending he is another nationality. Not very good at covering this up either.

• Brian 10/01/13 #

I think more important than trusting any party is trusting the leaders so thats what its gonna boil down to, who do we trust more, kenny, adams gilmore or martin???

• Kenny doesn’t do q and a the rest do,so if FG hope for a second term in ’16 Kenny will need to be pushed aside.Leo/Simon to me would be the obvious leaders in waiting.But ideally i would like to see a new direction in Irish politics but none of the present “clowns”are capable of delivering i’m afraid.

• @norman- charismatic, he’s not. But Enda Kenny is probably the best possible man to have at the helm right now. He’s an effective Chairman of the board- holding together a disparate coalition cabinet every sinew of which must be itching to splinter. As I’ve said, the proof will be in the pudding. In 2016 the electorate will have to ask itself whether the country is better off than when Enda became Taoiseach. I suspect / hope, the answer will be a resounding yes.

• Vincent you can hope,but as i advised you last night don’t bet on it.FG got in by default,strongarm tactics by Hogan/Reilly kept Enda in position.He will be dumped when it becomes obvious he is not the one to lead an incumbant government into an election.

• Democracy is just a show to keep us believing our freedom is represented! We are all slaves to the money, the only freedom is death!

• The good thing about SF is they don’t make the same mistakes FF & FG made.

• I could be said that, as they’ve never been in power, they haven’t had a chance to make those mistakes. I’ve never lost a million quid in a poker-game, but I’ve never had a million to lose, so that’s no reflection of my moral character.

• @nik- I think the jury has already came back re: the moral character or lack thereof, of Sinn Fein

• I’m not fundamentally against Sinn Fein as such, and I wouldn’t write off the possibility of voting for them in the future if:

1. The old guard voluntarily step down and so sever the connections to the bad old days once and for all.

2. They stop acting like an extremist, hard-line party. They can’t have their cake and eat it, they either fully enter mainstream politics or remain on the edges.

3. They stop selling T-Shirts that celebrate terrorism and killing.

4. They stop spoofing and grandstanding. It only damages their credibility.

5. They rein in their grassroots supporters and show that they won’t tolerate supposed supporters personally insulting and threatening physical violence against those who disagree with them. They need more swing votes, they’re not going to get them by abusing potential voters.

On the last point, I am not saying that the party condones or instigates the behaviour of some of their grass-roots followers, but saying nothing is not enough. They need to vocally condemn this type of behaviour of their followers.

If the above happens, and they have reasonable policies and representatives, then they can have my vote. But not before.

• Lamb 10/01/13 #

Nikolas. If Sinn Finn did all that and lost the attitude I’d vote for them.

• Nickolas Sinn Fein grassroots never voted for Bertie Enda so the last thing SF grassroots should do is change their ways to appease people who did .Missing the point there big time stay through to your beliefs or else your just the same as the rest.I think you will find most of the trolls are Pro Gov.

• If SF want to consolidate their position and increase their voting support, appeasing their electorate is the only way to do it. That’s how democracy works. Or do you want SF to remain a minority party that is distrusted by the majority of the electorate? Unless they reform how they present themselves to the nation they will never progress. As a SF supporter, surely you want your chosen party to become more influential, and so bring about the nation that you want to live in? Alienating people won’t help in any way.

• SF have a mandate and will stick to their mandate because if they change the public will see that they break their word and promises just like FF FG L GP PD.. SF will stick to what the party is all about and if democracy is a game of twists turns broken promises and deceit pandering for power just to rule then democracy is what intelligent people think it is DEAD.

• Nikolas, that’s basically saying Sinn Fein should abandon their roots and beliefs and move to the centre, to be more populist so as to attract more voters.. Isn’t that part of the problem with Irish politics? Too many parties sitting on the fence and playing us for fools..

• Democracy is dead? That’s the party line? Why are SF taking part in the democratic process then. Surely you can see that you’re shooting yourself in the foot with this type of argument. It’s exactly what I meant about the impossibility of having your cake and eating it. I take from what you’re saying ( maybe I’m wrong ) that you want SF to remain a hard-line fundamentalist party. I’m sure many supporters do. But even more potential supporters don’t. And it’s those more mainstream voters that pushed SF’s popularity up to 20% last year. It is those people who voted in an unprecedented amount if SF TDs at the last election. You need those people for the party to move forward, and you need those people to feel that they are respected. If they feel like they’ve been conned, SF support will drop and many of those TDs will not be able to retain their seats. It’s either /or for SF, mainstream or hard line and, to be honest, the middle management and the up and coming leaders have been doing their best to publicly brush the extremist past under the carpet. Sooner or later, one side will win out, or there’ll be a pro-democratic / anti-democratic split in the party not completely unlike that in the seventies, although this time it won’t be between nationalist and socialist, it’ll be between hard line exclusive and more centrist inclusive.

• Like Jamie said Nikolas .Democracy is dead if we are to uphold the modern version of it.if you dont stand for something you stand for nothing and respect comes with wisdom and the majority of Irish electorate need to start wising up.

• OH Nickolas i say democracy is dead because right wing parties killed it you get your vote you vote for the same two partys with the same policies and they lie to get the vote and the break their promises so your vote is worthless hence democracy is dead until people bring it back to life be wising up and holding politicians accountable lies deceit and deflection is not democracy.

• But then the party ultimately end up outside looking in, without any political power with which to bring about change. Which was the reason why SF took such an active part in the peace process and changed it’s stance on not recognising the validity of the Irish democratic system. If you reject democracy, you’ll remain true to your mandate ( which is no longer the official SF mandate ), you’ll remain a purist, but you’ll have absolutely no influence or power. Like I say, shooting yourself in the foot.

• Look i know what you mean but if you want to be a party that stands for your principals then you must stat true to them principals if them principals are relevant then people will find their own way to S.F it has to be a natural thing because for a Political party to remain credible it has to stand for its beliefs and people vote for you or not ut you must not lie to get the vote in time people will see that S.F will offer an alternative the enter twined Partys that have ran us into the ground if you care for your people you must not mislead them and people must know what the are getting that is democracy in my view i a 34 and i want change .change for good.Good evening to you.. shalom.

• Nikolas Koehler,

Lol. You exposed yourself as being aligned with the Rightwingers. Apparently, you brag about someone’s avatar while supporting a policy akin to the Adolf Hitler. I read a collection of your previous commentary over the past year and it is clear to me you are purporting to be another nationality! You’re just using that to your advantage when it is obvious you are Irish and a FG supporter! Take me advice: BE YOURSELF!

• To run a country is a vocation not a vacation your first principal as Leader and Gov must be the immediate well being of your people to assume responsibility of the framework to the vision that you have promised pre election if you become leader you must carry out that vision whole heartedly because it is the peoples vision that is why you recieved their vote in the first place .This mentality has been lost on Irish politicians and if we are to succeed in getting our country back we need people with these values and i believe S.F have them .

• @ Mark don’t be an ar*e please. It’s well-known on this site that I’m a socialist of the old “taxation is good as it moves wealth out of the hands of private citizens” stripe. I’ve said this often enough last year, and have been criticized for it both by pro-Government posters and by the news breed of wannabe socialists who are in fact anything but. I’ve also clearly said my age, 64, my former political party membership ( Worker’s Party and the early days if democratic left ), and I’ve bemoaned many times this new thread of willful ignorance and anti-intellectualism I’m modern wannabe socialism. Lastly, I’ve said before and I’ll say again my family background; I’m Irish born and bred, but my father and his patents came to Ireland in the thirties because they were German Jews and my grandfather a socialist to boot, who chose Ireland primarily because of James Connolly and the naive notion that the Irish, have been oppressed, would be sympathetic towards another oppressed people.

Now all that’s said, if you want to have a serious political discussion, then I welcome it. If you want to continue your slack-jawed shouty shouty activist without a clue persona, then I would kindly ask you to b****r off and bother someone else who likes that kind of thing, because I don’t find it impressive and I’m not coming out to play.

• Jack- most Sinn Fein grassroots people don’t have a vote in the Republic so they couldn’t vote for Bertie or Taoiseach Kenny.

• Jamie- this country is centrist. That’s why centre parties dominate. And terrorists are confined to the peripheries.

• bit harsh vincent…. let’s not mention what the blueshirts did at knocknagoshel

• Nikolas Koehler,

My comments got more positive recommendations whilst yours got none. The fact you lambast my points suggests you are a mouthpiece for the Kenny administration.

• There was a good article last week on the journal regarding new regarding new political parties. The problem with Ireland is that our political landscape is blighted by civil war politics. Fianna Fail and Fine Gael have held the power in this country since its inseption. Politics in this country to some people is a birthright rather than a vocation. Both parties are right of centre but within these parties we have left and right leaning politicians so we have never had a left wing government in power. The author of the piece made a radical suggestion that the best way to form a new party would be to take the left leaning politicians from both parties and form a new left wing party.
    Any thoughts?

• I don’t see this as support for FF. this is “anybody but FG”. Once new parties like Direct Democracy Ireland and others get more press, we’ll see a slide away from civil war politics altogether

• Mjhint 10/01/13 #

I disagree. I think we may see ff getting stronger & maybe the new parties also getting support from fg lb & sf voters & the new small parties supporting ff in a coalition. Its happened so many times before its not beyond possibility. I would like to see new parties on all divides but this is the most likely outcome.

• @ SCP1,

It’ll never happen. The PR system has the traditional parties comfortably lodged. New parties don’t have the networks and the landscape is littered with the remains of any that tried or it may be that FF is the kiss of death, PD’s Greens. Only chance is significant breakaways from traditional parties coalessing

• I seriously doubt it. The mindset of Irish voters has and remains consistently centre right, in the majority. Thus we flip flop between two parties that most concur with that stance. New parties with left leanings will not impact on that mindset. There is something fundamentally embedded in the Irish psyche against change!

• @stephen. I never mentioned left leaning. I want a little to the right of centre right

5 years ago if someone said there’d be more independents than FF TDs and that FF would have no seat in Dublin they have been funny farmed.

FG promised new politics and people voted for that in their tens of thousands. And we got same old stroke politics.

I for one will in future vote new party, independent, far right, far left. Id even give SF a low down transfer. But never again FF/FG/Lab

• @ Stephen,

I agree with you. Leftist parties do moderately well as a result of a shock . a bit like we’ve had in last few years. What is interesting is that left leaning parties recognise that long term, to achieve any sort of base ,must move to the centre, This is partly to blame for the incestous bickering within the Labour party at the moment and may ultimately lead to a split

• Was that not the progressive democrats? (More right leaning)

• Indeed I would almost say labour are currently right of centre, thanks to their democratic left members. Without that leaning though they would probably never get a look in.

• PDs had two major problems (a) they were made up of mostly existing politicians (b) their timing was bad

There has never been a better time for new political organizations to start and I suspect there will be 3 or 4 new parties with seats in the next dail. Who knows though. We cud well end up voting FG back in. I think if the election was tomorrow that’s what would happen anyway due to lack of any alternative

• Oh Scrap. Splendid innocence. FG at 29% in midterm in the immediate aftermath of the Savita Case and the budget. That’s actually a good figure. Flash forward 2 years, a bank deal & the troika sent packing and FG will command 35% at the next election. Sorry to burst your bubble.

• What about the effects of property tax, increased emigration, complete failure in the domestic economy and two further austerity budgets to come. I think you are the one displaying innocence or maybe naivety. This bank deal your pinning your hopes on is a fanciful idea, with no substance. It’s a long way from an election but there is not much hope of FG halting this trend unless they radically change direction, also they will need a strong leader, they will not get to hide Enda next time, which should cost them at least another 3%

• Julie 10/01/13 #

SF supporters will always support SF because unlike ff FG and labour they have given their supporters no reason to not support them they have not let them down like the corrupt lot past and present! I think it is a injustice to people of Ireland that SF have not been given the opportunity to represent this country, ira was a past issue we have a new one and they the only ones making sense we must rem majority of the party were babies during the troubles and have no connections! Brilliant media and spineless politicians who are afraid of there wages being cut will continue to use this as a tactic to fool the Irish public and deny them good honest representation !!

• Stephen. It’s not even a deal. Even if they lowered interest rates to zero. It’s not our debt. It was forced on us to save the euro.

Vincent. I’m delighted for you that you can hold up the Savita case and an inhuman regressive budget to show how well FG support is holding up. Maybe ur right actually. Time will tell

• Scarr 10/01/13 #

Sadly vincent is right, I feel. FG, so long as something resembling a decent bank deal is done and we’re in recovery / growth, will walk the next election ( I still contend with ff as junior partner ) as all they have to do is play the ‘don’t rock the economic boat’card.

• SF were given an opportunity 2 years ago in the last election. They will be given the same opportunity in the next election.
      So really what you are saying is “it’s not fair that people won’t pick the party I like”, which is the rational of a child.

• @scrap- FG’s first significant jolt in the polls was within 10 days of the Savita debacle. That is an irrefutable fact.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

I made no personal attack on you so why would you make a personal attack on me , very childish of you I must say. Oh but that is how ff, FG operate attack someone personal if they say something you don’t like. Grow up a small bit ! Rotten media and rotten politicians ! I have had enough in out of Ireland if ye want to sink it work away sick of trying to talk to people. What about Sinn Féin politics do you not like the equality part leave the sick disabled and poor alone ?

• @julie- You’re a Sinn Fein supporter. You embarrass yourself when you condemn others for the manner in which they attack you. Because unless the attack involves tar, feathers, bullets, baseball bats or Semtex, members of the party which you hold up as the epitome of integrity have done a whole lot worse. You know. Murders. Kidnappings. Robberies. That sort of thing.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Ah Vincent now seriously I’m 23 troubles are in the past , has nothing to do with me and a party that is made up of a majority of people who had no IRA connections seems kinda childish using that! Please stop calling me childish it is insulting I in no way think I am childish! In the present it is really you who should be embarrassed that you support a party that have destroyed and are destroying lives and our country! If you want a discussion please refrain from personal attacks as you seem to feel it is okay to attack me because I support SF. I didn’t always support them I just look and I listen to what the likes of Mary Lou and Pearse say a lot better than listening to Gilmore Kenny talking about cuts to welfare disability and prop tax water charges etc etc ! Cap wages 100,000 wealth tax etc better alternatives to destroying the most vulnerable in society !

• @Julie- Dessie Ellis- implicated in 50 murders. Gerry Adams (of West Belfast, not Louth) and Martin McGuinness- lobbied for the early release of the murderers of Garda Jerry McCabe. Dessie, Gerry and Martin- I believe they remain in your party, yes? I know Sinn Fein want people to forget what they did. But the reality is: they haven’t gone away, you know.

• “What is interesting is that left leaning parties recognize that long term, to achieve any sort of base ,must move to the center”

Haha that’s why Labor are suffering a Massive decline in their support.

In France, people embraced a socialist government and did the world collapse? No. Life still goes on…

• Julie 10/01/13 #

@vincient , please that is 3 people, as far as i have heard dessie was not found guilty of any of them murders. look IRA doesnt come into it for me, i look at present why would i judge them on a past that is a past, hasnt their been a thing called the peace process. these troubles were up the north. how come they are one of the biggest parties up the north, these are people who were directly affected by the troubles if they can move on surely we can too. now lets get back to politics and leave the past where it is.

• That’s Sinn Fein’s leadership!

• Julie you’ll find that while Vincent is an educated intelligent able debater who is *usually* courteous if a little arrogant, that he is a dyed in the wool FG man and is not for turning. You on the other hand have switched allegiances based on your observations – an encouraging sign from one so young. Take a look at Direct Democracy Ireland. We might convert u again! :-)

Just one thing. When u say cap pay at 100k I assume u mean Public Service. Private sector can earn whatever the market will pay

• It’s interesting how Vincent places his faith in BRITISH government documents…!! Also, he apparently gets his info from the Sindo – a paper which is no stranger to inaccurate stories like the Polish story which the Polish embassy had to correct them upon.

• The British Government, the Garda oh and let’s not forget the dogs in the street. Lets ignore the fact he got off on a technicality though as that’s very unhelpful. By your logic no newspaper is believable, as they have all got things wrong. Sure we shouldn’t believe that Sinn Fein/IRA are responsible for the deaths of 3,500 people on this island, many of which were women and children, not to mention catholic.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

I am not alone in my switch from my observations , young people have had enough! I have heard of that party and think it is good to see new parties emerging I just fear that it is always going to be a repetitive cycle of FG and FF I just don’t understand how people still support them. I think no matter what they do the sheep will follow. I think start by capping TDs salaries and abolishing stupid allowances my view is the guys inflicting the cuts should take the cuts first! I will look more into that party and will be in touch.

• @mark- Do you see the SINDO on the shelf when you’re picking up An Phoblacht On Sunday? I believe the girls in balaclava edition is excellent

• So Julie/bobby, people are sheep because they don’t agree with you? But I thought you didn’t do name calling?
      Tut tut. I’m disappointed.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

Ah come on now , people are sheep not because they don’t agree with me because they keep following parties that are attacking the most vulnerable in society, Julie only thanks do some more trolling I always comment on things from my account, who are you? Why not your real identity ? It’s your choice but seen as you brought it up

• What real account? You give one name. You share no more info than I do. Not that I have a problem with that. But it seems to get to you.
      But at least I only use one account.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

It seems you don’t really fully take in what people are saying and just come back with random. Look at my account I always post as myself and have already explained to you ,do some more trolling before you make accusation. There is no way of knowing you only have one account you could have 10, 20 who knows! My account is a bit more real and I don’t care one way or another if people want to use their own names or not that’s their decision.

• Julie 11/01/13 #

SF don’t want to leave the past where it is they keep asking for both governments to conduct a truth and reconciliation programme but neither will why not ? Strange isn’t is !

• 46% of people think the council was wrong to restrict flying the Union Flag?! That’s very surprising… Irish people must have very bad memories our maybe their history is not up to scratch!

• not surprising at all….maybe you are surprised because you talk to much about history and not the future

• 46% of people have a problem with a democratic vote. There are a lot of damaged people in this country, sad to say.

• no it doesn’t say that. nice way to twist it though you should probably go into politics.

• rmcd66 10/01/13 #

Labour had the chance to be stronger in govt and show leadership and voters would have rewarded them next time round with more seats and a stronger say, but blew it, going to be a lot of one term labour TDs is time and only the self to blame. And I have voted labour last 3 times but never again as long as Gilmore leads. There far from prefect but could have taken on ff and fg

• No sorry Paul, I’m not an armchair republican, far from it… But I do believe it’s unnecessary for a flag to be flown 365 days a year in Belfast, when it’s not flown in other major UK cities. This is to simply suit a unionist community who still feels it has a right to dictate over it’s nationalist neighbours. Those days are over… Also, it was a democratic decision… Remember?!

• And more fine-gaelers than fianna-failers approve of the decision! the mind boggles

• i know it was a democratic decision well done lads we all got that. just because its a democratic decision doesn’t mean we have to agree with it though. hence the poll. people think it was wrong because it was up and there was no trouble and now its down and there is they should have just left it up and no one would have given a shit.

• and also if Fianna Fail get voted into office next can people not disagree with that because after all “it was a democratic decision… Remember?!”

• How are SF going to spin this one, “polls don’t matter” perhaps?

• No real choice in this country. It’s a case of voting for the monkey with the red cap or monkey with the blue cap. The real power is held by Europe and our main parties are only too willing to comply

• Where are these polls carried out, Dublin Zoo? Might explain the monkey with the clipboard :)

• Lamb 10/01/13 #

FG fair budgets were a lie. Job losses are leading to emigration which is accelerating the greying of the population. A lot of the people that should be having children are the ones leaving and our mini baby boom is over. The government are fleecing the tax payer and the economy is grinding to a halt again as a result. Instead of growing the economy its back t

• Labour support seems to have more or less bottomed out (with likes of Keaveney & Shorthall giving their supporters hope perhaps) & now, for the first time, the anti-Govt sentiment seems to be affecting Fine Gael’s support. Quite the worrying trend for Fine Gael.

• “Labour support seems to have more or less bottomed out”
      We’re not half way to the next election yet. A bit premature to claim it’s “bottomed out” when it could fall more. The real picture will come once water charges get introduced – SF seem to oppose water charges, FF support water charges. Same issue with a property tax. If FF supported a wealth tax, they would attract more support.

• @Paul Anthony- wishful thinking my Fianna Fáil member friend. This is undoubtedly the weakest moment of this Government’s life. FG have essentially preserved their core 30% support. And the country’s economic position is improving steadily. At the next election centre right voters will have a choice: more of the same- a Government you don’t love but who have improved things steadily or Fianna Fáil- the party who got us into this mess, with a front bench nobody knows. You think a risk averse electorate is going with the latter? Not so much.

• My experience of Fianna Fail:

- FF set up the RSA in 2006 (took on more government workers to buy the ’07 election)
    - FF mandated 12 driving lessons for new entrants which now costs €420 – a Massive increase
    - I am a young person and I cannot get to work without a car (I have to wait 3 hours to catch the bus home)
    - The waiting time for a driving test is now six months (again because FF didn’t want to upset the unions)

• Check the road death stats… RSA is surely something that can be considered a success

• Enforcement has been a success – not the RSA. The Department of Transport handled it more efficiently and better. Penalizing new drivers with tortuous bureaucracy is perhaps why there is a shortage of Bus drivers. It’s now more easy to get a UK license than Ireland. It’s also cheaper in the UK to get a license unlike Ireland.

Rationale:

The RSA has to justify their existence so they find new ways of “regulation” – too many people are employed in the RSA. It should be closed and re-merged with the Department of Transport (like before).

• Phil 10/01/13 #

Hope people know by now that Fianna Fáil, Green Party and Fine Gael all have a team of ppl working for them on social networks and forums like this and other news channels. They group together to try sway opinions etc. This news articles comments will be littered with Fianna Fáil collaborators. So if u find yourself being backed into a corner you know why.

• Phil 10/01/13 #

Oh great lets vote them back into power. Yes, that makes so much sense. I really have to work on my sarcasm.

• im sure sinn fein will blame the queen somehow on this its probably a conspiracy.

• The Irish electorate are as thick as a ditch luckliy enough for FG FF there alot of voters and alot of ditches in this groundhog day of a country.

• Are you not a member of that same electorate? Insulting potential voters for the party you support mightn’t be an effective way to boost their standing amongst those voters.

• If you are a fool you are a fool and it wont be me that will boost my partys voter base it will be the individual itself so if you want things to stay the same work away but if you dont and still vote for the same partys that made you want that change in the first pace.Then you are a fool because that is how fool think with a complete neglect for a underestimated thinking process called common sense sadly lacking on these fair shores.

• Then why not leave if you despise and are so disgusted with your nationality? A nation and a national identity is simply the sum of the people of that nationality after all. Me, I’m Irish, I’m proud to be Irish and I genuinely like and respect the majority of the people I meet in this country.

• Why would i leave this country maybe its time the people who are destroying it leave Corrupt politicians Corrupt Bankers an the fools who keep voting them in if they all left maybe we would have a chance.Why vote in a government that has destroyed your country why persist with a government that has every intention of making it worse.Why should i leave i was never taken in by such blatant propaganda Bertie Brian Enda only a fool would believe them and its the same fools that are ruining my country by endorsing them.The electorate should wise up or f-off .

• The whole of the electorate should f- off if they don’t agree with your, a single person’s view? There’s a word for that kind of thinking, and it’s not “democracy”. You could of course go and set up the Anti-People Political Party. Don’t know how well the meetings would go down though; “f- off!” “No, you f- off! Etc. etc. etc. Not a lot of votes to be won there.

• Who wants a vote of a fool only political partys who aim to fool SF are looking for people who are not pre occupied with the enhancement of their own personal lives but the whole countries because if you enhance your countries your enhancing your own .Now your like media man jumping all over oneword said and missing the point i was making which is if people are in dire straits and there only plan out is to bring back the ones who put the them their then they are not only ruining the country even more but also for the people who want to change it but cannot because the common dominator are asleep and afraid.A true Irish man Michael Collins said the Irish people are too dam careful and cautious hinting at the fact it took them an age to actually do something so he just went away and took on the establishment himself.Either wake up and change or suffer but SF supporters never fell foe establishment lies and always resisted it just like now so to anyone that is unhappy and fed up and sees only future monotony of misery ahead vote SF or Join SF and give people who warned the population against what was going to happen and has happened a chance to turn it around .SF will fight for the Irish because it is the only way out.

• But people won’t vote for SF if SF insults those same people by calling them fools. It’s a vicious circle. try a little love and understanding, instead of offering abuse and fighting.

• Ive being called a fool many times in my life and if the person was right then they were right .Like all lessons learned in life you ask yourself why you have been foolish and dont make the same mistake again hence wising up and enhancing your mindset to protect you your family your country your wealth your education your well being. Such is life.

• Julie 10/01/13 #

I respect the people not the politicians that have forced me out have to leave to get job ( vote for Lisbon vote for jobs more lies) our reputation has been destroyed because of a small few corrupt self serving politicians making bad decisions because they have no clue and shouldn’t be in the positions that they are in , IRISH is slowly disappearing and becoming European. We are losing our national identity anyway !

• Julie 10/01/13 #

I think people are missing the point, Ireland is a place now with massive divides and massive corruption, people starving suicides emigration homelessness, people need to wake up there are children going hungry tonight because their parents had to choose coal for the fire or food for the table in two years we will be given an option, vote in the party that caused the mess and walked away with their pockets full, or we can take a chance on a party that are doing very well up the north not lying not breaking promises not protecting the elite, they have a good track record. I know what I am going to choose! Sick of seeing people who played no hand in this suffering the most. It’s time now for real change.

For all them trolls that are going to say oh ira etc etc bullets I am a young women not around for troubles there was a peace process, SF biggest party in the pat of Ireland were the war was they have moved on surely we can! Majority of party have NO ira connections!

• The stupidity of the electorate is always being underestimated.

• Phil 10/01/13 #

So who is actually going to set up a real party for the people? We need real soldiers for the cause. End capitalism.

• All things considered that’s a good poll for Fine Gael. As for the clowns who think Belfast City Council were wrong, for once I’m speechless….

• hahaha love the last bit,
      what scares me is the anti government protest vote seems to have gone to fianna fail and what even scares me more is the labour party has remained stable

• Don’t be scared, Frank. Slowly, steadily, effectively Fine Gael will reverse us out of the ditch Fianna Fáil drove us into. You’ll be ok.

• Ryan'O 10/01/13 #

*blinkers* Vincent just be great full that your party got a shot. Won’t happen next time. If there is a chance that FF and FG would go into bed together and either form a FFG party or coalition I would definitely vote SF. Your party is hemorrhaging voters to beat the band. And I can see lab doing a greens and pulling out at the last min to save the little they have left. BUT as I’v said before the only poll that matters is voting day…….then we shal see Mr.D, then we shal see :)

• hahaha vinvent
      that was just as funny as your last comment.
      highest disparity of wealth this country has ever seen
      i think not my friend!

• sorry *Vincent

• @ryan- the next two years will see this country’s prospects improve and economy grow. Labour won’t walk because the only road to redemption for them is ultimately sell the accomplishments of this Government. Fine Gael and Labour will comfortably retain power. If after the last 4 months FG have retained a commanding lead in the poll the future holds little fear. Devastated not to have your vote, of course but they’ll battle on regardless.

• Bullshit

• Ryan'O 10/01/13 #

More fortune telling. Can we stick to the present please where FG are slipping in the polls due to the continuing hardship put on the average Irish working family. This expense is for bondholder gain! Yes FG are GREAAAAT

• Sure thing. At present Fine Gael are the biggest party in the Dail and in the polls and in both instances they are the biggest by a country mile. Better?

• I’m not surprised that FF are making a come back. They always had a strong grass roots support system to rebuild from. The problem is that lots of people liked the 15 years of FF rule that we had and would be like to be back in the day when Bertie was in charge,handing out the tax breaks and benefits. Brings a tear to my eye.

I’m surprised that Labour are holding up. I suspect that they will be the “Greens” of the next election.

• The only good thing that can be said in FF’s favour is that they are not SF.

• No matter who gets in history shows that thy are in it for the money . . We Joe soap get screwed