TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Shatter urged to make statement on Hogan’s Traveller letter

The Justice Minister has been urged to make a speech on what Fianna Fáil has said was a “serious breach of a citizen’s fundamental rights” after Phil Hogan wrote a letter to constituents regarding a Traveller family.

Alan Shatter (L) with Phil Hogan (File photo)
Image: Photocall Ireland

JUSTICE MINISTER ALAN Shatter has been called on to make a statement in relation to Environment Minister Phil Hogan’s alleged interference in the housing allocation process for a Traveller family in Kilkenny.

Fianna Fáil has called on Shatter, who is also equality minister, to make a statement and to have time set aside in the Dáil for what the party’s justice spokesperson, Niall Collins, said was “a serious breach of a citizen’s fundamental rights”.

Hogan became embroiled in controversy yesterday when it emerged that he wrote a letter to constituents in Bonnettstown in Kilkenny informing them that the McCarthys, a Traveller family, would not be allocated a house in the area.

He defended his actions saying that he had been in receipt of information in relation to the matter and had passed this onto the local authority but there have been calls for him to more fully explain himself.

Collins made the call for a statement from Shatter on the matter during the Dáil’s Order of Business yesterday.

In a statement issued later, he said: “This revelation raises serious questions about the conduct of a senior Cabinet Minister, and it is in the public interest that we be given the opportunity to clarify certain matters arising from this case, in particular the apparent abandonment of any principles of equality.

“We now know that a senior Minister sought to conspire against a citizen of the State in a process where one is entitled to expect equality and due process.

“This intervention by Minister Hogan is a very serious breach of an individual’s fundamental right to be treated equally before the law.”

He said that it was a “matter of real public concern” and urged Shatter to “protect the principles of equality” in Ireland by making a statement on the issue as a matter of urgency.

Audio: Hogan hangs up on radio station as he is urged to explain Traveller letter

Read: Hogan ‘pandering to prejudice’ says Travellers advocacy group

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• Is this the same Niall Collins who was on our tv last year giving out that the travellers had to much money to buy houses in rathkeale

• is what he said about the family at the ploughing championships true or not?

• That caption photo is disgusting,bye bye breakfast.

• Usually there’s no need to call on Shatter for a statement as he’s pretty much the expert on releasing statements and doing f all else.

• Clearly someone who has never had to deal with him on a personal or professional level. An off the cuff and stupid statement not backed up in anyway

• It was exactly that , an off the cuff comment , in reference to last week when he issued a statement in relation to apple maps on the latest iOS software , or a ” strongly worded statement ” released in wake of gang killings” , he’s never usually shy about releasing statements…..that’s why I made an off the cuff comment.

• David 28/09/12 #

Any truth that his car reg is 12-KKK-100 (the 100 obviously representing the household charge)

• Between the offices of envoirnment and health the minsters for both seem to be arrogant shits. When’s the next election?? can’t see either if them being elected again.

• Next election is 2016. Every 5 years usually. You should try doing the Math sometime.

• Bit grumpy this morning Michael. Why would I do maths when ur here to tell everyone. Go back to bed.

• 5 years is the maximum term of Government. If you read the stats instead of doin the math you’ll see the full term has only been achieved twice in the history of the state. If a not too unlikely upcoming Labour collapse happens sooner rather than later then a snap election may happen at any time. They’ll probably all sit pretty until after Feb next year when the required 2 year time period for pension eligibility will have passed before magically remembering their selective values and start rumbling on the back benches.

• Thanks lee for a positive answer instead of a grumpy one.

• Shatter and hogan : Dumb and Dumber. These lads would be better off working in a dark basement without any contact with the real world….

• The man knows no bounds when it comes to his ( smarminess )
    Smug self-serving idiotic manner and attitude :(

• the family in question obviously have a seriously bad reputation and possible convictions to go with it, if they didn’t why else would he try and intervene? if this wasn’t a traveler family we would be talking about it?

• When you have an idiot running the show, or two in this case. You’re bound to get a class of Clowns, following them. But they’ll bring in the next budget and hold on till they qualify for pensions and jump ship like the sewer rats they all are!

• The man’s an idiot, plain and simple! We deserve better…

• I am not a fan of the guy but at the end of the day he attempted to help his constituents. I have said it before and I’ll say it again, if they were moved in next door to you you would be the first one on to your TD.

• Barry 28/09/12 #

He’s an idiot because he tried to help people?

Would you be 100% ok if they moved next door to you and you had experience of the family causing trouble?

• If I was a TD, I’d move them away from my place and over to your place.
      That’d be ok, right?

• JayK 28/09/12 #

Call me an idiot but I don’t get this story at all. Some constituents were concerned about a family being moved next door and we wrote to them to say they weren’t? Is that it? Was there something offensive written in the letter? Did he divulge personal information about the family involved? Did he personally interfere with the housing process?

Travellers in general have a valid reputation for anti-social behaviour so regardless of who exactly this family is, the constituents had reason to be concerned. Moving the family seemed to be the responsibility of government, and the government has a responsibility to its constituents. Seems cut and dry to me.

• While everyone is harping on about the rights of the family in question, what about the rights of the people in the community to whom Hogan wrote the letter? If there are 50 families in a neighbourhood who don’t want the family in question to be placed in their community, then is it not a bigger travesty to infringe on their rights just because the family happen to be travellers? You can’t have one set of rules for a certain group and a different set for everyone else. Simple. Hogan, even though he’s a total gombeen, served his constituents well. That’s how a democracy works. What the majority want, they get. Fair play to him for doing his job for once. Let’s hope he cops on and does it on a larger scale.

That said, before anybody starts saying I’m some FG/FF/Lab/Green fan ad nauseam, I’m all for the total removal of corrupt government and have no love for the denizens of Leinster house, no matter what flag they fly.

• He is a minister, what part of that don’t people get? He is supposed to represent everyone, even travellers aswell and not just his own constituency. It was a local matter, contact your local councillor or deal with it locally! Would he have done the same, in another part of the Country? No, he wouldnt and you can’t do that! Wake up people!

• Michael. It seems to me the McCarthy do have a case for defamation of character unless Hogan can prove that some of the family have engaged in or were convicted of anti-social behaviour within the past few years. If a government minister sees fit to make this sort of sweeping statement about any citizen he should either put up or pay the price of his loose tongue/pen.

• DubDon 28/09/12 #

The family involved should be seeking legal advice on the matter. Hogan his Dept and who ever sent the letter should be made accountable for this. If there is an issue of anti social behaviour then that’s a matter for the Gardaí not a dumb ass bully like hogan

• The family got the house, no? Why the legal advice?

• Because a Minister wrote to a constituent saying they wouldn’t. If I was in that position I’d be seeking legal advice. Did the Minister make representations about this? Who did he speak to, what did he say?

• The minister wrote a letter. He did not speak to the deciding council, the deciding officers, or anyone else – Kilkenny council confirmed this yesterday.

• It pleases that you seem to know me so well from a couple of short comments. It looks you take the same lazy approach to the topic in question. I know plenty of Travellers who are model citizens, despite attitudes like
      yours.

• Also, if someone new moved next door, no matter who they were, I’d be a little nervous. But I don’t have any right to stop them from living there, unless I’m the landlord of their house. I’ve actually been in this situation, and lived near Travellers growing up. There’s always a few idiots no matter what their social background, Traveller, settled, black, white. Now, if you were moving in, I might make an exception….

• Donnacha you are acting blind in an effort to be offended. If this family really was feuding with another family in the estate they should not have been moved in under any circumstances. I wonder has anyone spoken to the other traveller family in the estate who seem to have no problems and who they were supposedly feuding with. They could have been one of the residents who asked for the other family not to be moved in. Wouldn’t be the first time that has happened.

• If it were a family, from a settled background with anti-social behaviour problems worse than any troublesome traveller family? Would he have intervened, could he have and would it be an abuse of his ministerial power?

• Yes, it would have been a misuse if his position. That it was a traveller family is irrelevant. He acted like a feudal lord, and those days should be long gone. But that’s not news to yourself, I’d imagine.

• Once again the Journal showing they don’t know the difference between “a Traveller family” and a family who happen to be travellers. Reminds me of Ali G and his “Is this coz i is black”? The media and FF/SF have done a great job of stirring up racial tensions on this matter. Well done.

• I for one would like to see evidence he has of the anti social behaviour he has on this family , if it exists !!!

• He was attempting to keep seven kids out of a home what anti social behaviour were they involved in so much for a new start for children in the state

• Like once was the case with the American Indian, the Ainu of Japan and the Australian Aboriginal in their homelands, it is shockingly backward how the Indigenous Traveller Community in Ireland is regarded with such contempt. Their culture should be cherished as part of our heritage.

• Chris Vincent Browne states Tuesday night that neither of the parents who were abused by the racist in charge of housing in Ireland were ever found guilty of any crime or bad behaviour

Add New Comment