TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Poll: Have you been turned off attending outdoor concerts?

Problems at a gig in the Phoenix Park in July were highlighted in a Garda report yesterday. Would they put you off attending large, outdoor events?

Image: Suzan/Suzan/EMPICS Entertainment

A GARDA REPORT, published yesterday, highlighted a number of reasons for the problems incurred during a recent outdoor concert at the Phoenix Park in Dublin.

The Garda Commissioner described the venue as unsuitable for large-scale dance gigs. An investigation was launched into the event’s security after nine people were stabbed during the Swedish House Mafia concert on 7 July.

With the ensuing controversy and talk about the suitability of music genres and venues, we here at TheJournal.ie were wondering if attendances will be impacted.

So, in today’s poll, we ask: Following the release of the critical Garda Commissioner report, have you been turned off attending large outdoor concerts?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• It’s time to break the stranglehold of MCD on public events.

• It’s hard to when they are pretty much the best in business in this neck of the woods. The real let down was the lack of Garda policing. But we shouldn’t be surprised because they don’t police the streets anymore for anti social behaviour.

Take T in the Patk which is twinned with Oxegen and run by the promoter. They have an integrated police plan for the event. In Ireland, we just get the clueless Garda Siochana who are just there for the extra money and the “refreshments”.

• What police force have the people responsible for the stabbings in Court Brian?

• Sadly MCD run a monopoly , I attended the stone roses gig and found it hard to believe that according to MCD that had 500 security guards on that night . They
    Are and have been getting away with murder staging these gigs for years because all the big artist are tied into MCD and live nation . Rip off ticket prices rip off food and beer prices . Lucky nobody was killed At the Phoenix park gigs if it had been the case maybe Desmond would take his grubby hands out of the till for a change and take responsibility for his mess .

• Quick question, if MCD want to hold a concert in Phoenix Park who signs off on the license? If the Garda commissioner is saying the site was unsuitable, why was it signed off on. I presume that the Gardai would have the final say on whether a place is suitable or not for a concert.

• The Venue and Genre of music are a major factor in my opinion.
    Never a cross word at Electric Picnic!

• And E.P doesn’t play host to dance music and hip hop? You must read the herald a lot mate haha

• I’m hoping the picnic won’t be impacted by the cancellation of oxegen this year! Always A LOT of trouble at oxegen and there were 5 stabbing there last year which were never in the news. I think a lot has been made of SHM gig, 9 incidents out of 45000 people…

• Damien 03/08/12 #

Paul, EP doesn’t play host to the kind of people that stab others and cause trouble,
      Dance and HipHop are smaller parts of the overall EP.

I form my own opinions based on my own experiences, i don’t need newspapers or magazines to influence me.

• Con 03/08/12 #

The problem lies in the kind of people that are attracted to acts like SHM. I’m not saying that everyone who goes to a dance music concert falls into this category of people. But take for example the Fat Boy Slim concert that was in Marley Park a few years back, I was at that and saw at least two people that had been stabbed. Two years ago at Oxegen, during the David Guetta concert a friend of mine had the back of his leg slashed as he walked into the dance tent, and he certainly wasn’t the only one that night.
    It perplexes me how MCD hasn’t learned that this genre of music for whatever reason seems to attract trouble like this, there have certainly been enough examples of this in the past for them to at least have some notion of the problem at hand. They really have to up their game in terms of security for high-risk events like this. They need more stringent searching of concert goers, it will of course be a logistical and expensive nightmare, but it’s not like these concerts don’t sell. It may be stereotyping a specific genre of music, but it’s a necessary evil in my experience.

• Marley Park was insane that day. Absolutely bonkers!
      Also, electronic music is a whole world of music, not just one genre. Saying they need better security at electronic music gigs is like saying they need better security at guitar music gigs. It’s too broad a definition.

• Con 03/08/12 #

Paul, I meant in terms of a large scale, pop dance music concert such as this. The sort of gig that would attract a certain group of people. These types of gigs are easily identifiable and MCD, the Gardaí etc., should know the type of trouble they’re going to have at these events and be prepared for them.

• Yeah but only because of the Irish weather, not the infrequent violence that’s over hyped in the media!!

• As usual a small few make it seem like the rest of us can’t be responsible, deaths at concerts are rare considering the amount of shows per year worldwide, unless an accident, it comes down to individuals being responsible, yes organisers have a responsibility but they are not there to babysit societies rejects. Everything needs to be done to ensure safety but there’s always the few that sadly ruin it for the many.

• Shem 03/08/12 #

Missing option – Depends on whether MCD have anything to do with it.

• Weather, price, hassle of travelling, the idea of sleeping in a tent, being a long way from the performer, being too near an amp, queues at the bars, losing touch with music, would put me off long before random criminal acts overhyped in the media.

• Depends on the genre?! You’re kidding me? How was it SHM’s fault that pure filth went around the Park and stabbed people? As an avid dance gig goer, who has never partook in anything incriminating, I find this suggestion beyond ridiculous. Look at Global Gathering at the weekend here in England, little trouble and basically the same genre of music.

• Well said, I am sick to my back teeth of this crap, music did not cause this problem, alcohol did not cause this problem, a general breakdown in family life and unwavering pressure being put on some sections of society have led us to this bloody point, everyone is pointing their fingers, but all in the wrong direction

• I don’t think anybody is blaming SHM, but I think the poll is in reference to the crowd that are attracted to them. I don’t want to offend anybody’s music choice, the bad eggs that went to SHM’s gig were in the minority, but if 5% of the people at Oxegen are going to be trouble, and 1% of the people at Electric Picnic, I know where I’d want to go. Maybe it’s not so much the genre of music as the “genre” of people that you know are going to be there.

• I think this has coincided with my friends and I getting to an age where we might be less likely to go to large-scale music events anyway.
    I went to Oxegen when I was 17 and loved it (despite some randomer trying to grab me into his tent), now I could think of nothing worse than a 3 day booze/drug/knacker fest. I went to Florence/Snow Patrol the night after SHM and, while we had a great time, I wouldn’t be rushing back. Thousands of drunk people, rain, mud, misery.

Nope.

• Don’t blame the genre of music, the venue or the weather! Blame the promoters for not doing their job properly. Bringing in a small number of security staff was most likely done on purpose so they could make more profits. I wasn’t there, but from what I’ve read so far, MCD are at fault.

• Finally I see alot of people here and on other sites realise its partly down to the venue the park is the worst venue in Ireland, I voted no in the poll because violence happens everywhere on every busy street in Ireland but I would prob not go to the park again for another gig unless it’s my dream line up

• agree with you Colm, such a bad venue 3 times I’ve been to gigs in phoenix park and there were many faults with ground conditions, ridiculously long walk to concert entrance, no public lighting or signage on the way out, sound problems at all 3 gigs. i know there is usually a long enough walk to most outdoor concerts but phoenix park is exceptionally long with no indication of how close you are and no toilets along the way.

• Its most definitely not the genre of music. It is all about the attitude we have towards drink and drugs.
    This summer I went to SONAR in Barcelona with my GF, an Electronic and multimedia festival over 3 days, which was roughly 50hrs of dance music of one form or another. Each night was sold out, so that was about 40-50k people each night. Over this weekend we saw no trouble at either the day time (Contempory Art museum) or night time (Convention centre outside Barca) venues. Saying that the police looked like the would take no sh!t from anyone at all. There was drinking going on out side the venues but all good natured fun, people would have been consuming drugs but it is the attitude of the people that was different. Everyone was there for the music and the party and not to be running around starting random fights and or trying to bring in hammers or knives!

• It totally depends on the music, there was no trouble at the stone roses at the
    Same venue a couple of days before.
    That said I don’t want to go through all the hardship of outdoor concert anymore, I will drive to O2 park my car in nearby lighted Carpark maybe have a couple of beers at interval and wife drives home, much more civilised

• There was a riot in Slane when Bob Dylan played there in 1984 but I don’t think anyone could’ve blamed him or his music for it! Individual responsibility, or lack of it, are a major factor.

• Was it just the one guy who went and stabbed 9 people? If that’s the case surely it could happen anywhere, you can’t really blame the organisers or the venue for one crazy guys actions.

• One guy stabbed 7 and there were 2 other separate unconnected issues

• Thanks, I’ve been wondering about that, still that sounds like something that could happen anywhere, not sure how they can blame the organisers, venue or type of music. People would be going mad if they had to stand for hours in airport style security lines before going in to a concert.

• Well.. To be fair.. You do get the airport style security because of the trouble all of the stewards have to go though in getting people who can barley stand.

The music is connected to the people that go though the connection with excessive use of drugs. The people that are more likely to go the the concert fit this profile to yes in a round about way the music is partly to blame..

Finally, MCD are known among the staff and contractors they use as skimping on just about everything..

• Also on the venue front, the major problem there is the sheer size of the venue and the security problems that can bring.. It’s borderline impossible to secure that are unless you have a security force of the size they are using for the Olympics which is around 16-20k people..

• And as far as I know all are before the courts. Going by today’s paper on lad got bail yesterday or today

• Saw Madonna in the Aviva last week, she put on a fantastic show, danced and sang for 2 hours in the rain, but defo think the bad weather that night ruined it for a lot of people, next time I’m only gonna go to indoor arena shows cause you can’t trust the weather here.

• No, but then I didn’t do them anyway … hey .. maybe there should be another option?

• Not at all. Bring them on! Let’s hope we don’t see an end to gigs in the Phoenix Park either. But we’ll always have problems if the Gardai don’t get their act together and start acting professionally.

• I go to gigs pretty regularly around the country (indoor and outdoor) and in my opinion the Phoenix Park is just not suitable as a large outdoor venue. Before a gig had even taken place the place was a mudfest. I have been to Marley Park for gigs over the last few summers and it was managed much better than the Phoenix Park was. Possibly gigs could be held in a smaller venue in the park as I think was done a few years ago when they set up a marquee with a capacity of about 5,000. Easier to manage them numbers and a smaller area to control

• But who cares about the mud? That goes with the territory for outdoor concerts and events in Ireland. Dress appropriately and there’s no problem with muddy ground. The “big tent” gigs in the Park a few years back were 10,000, the Williams and RHCP gigs 135,000 plus the O2 in the Park gigs were all 20,000 plus. The Pope had a million across the road in 1979. No problem with access either you have paved roads right up the site,

• Ban dance music…….

• Why are people blaming the venue/performers/promoters?
    They weren’t the ones fighting and stabbing.
    Shouldn’t the availability of alcohol/drugs and the minority of our society which has lost the run of itself be the real concerns?

• Abby 03/08/12 #

No, because there should’ve been adequate security at the concert to prevent people bringing in knives.

Also, I’m not sure how you would tackle the availability of alcohol and illegal drugs to young people. A lot of the trouble-makers at the SHM gig were over 18 and we all know that the drugs trade in this country is here to stay no matter how much is spent on Garda resources.

• You shouldn’t be allowed into any venue when you are intoxicated. You shouldn’t be allowed to bring alcohol into the venue. There should be adequate security to ensure that alcohol or weapons are kept out of the venue. If you give a dance, you have to pay the fiddler, and the security as well.
      This is the responsibility of the promoter–ensure a safe environment for the people in attendance. If it was inside, they can’t chain up the fire exits. They have to have adequate egress and lighting. Fire alarms. Security staff. Outdoors is no difference. When you buy a ticket, you are entitled to a safe venue. That is the contract.

• Lost the run of themselves or lost the stability of a strong family unit with morals and sense of worth? It is very easy to cast judgement from a distance, the true issue here is breakdown of society on many different levels, I always ask myself in these situations, what is the root cause of all of this?

• Nobody ever got stabbed at a Classic Rock any artist show.Today’s popular music genres-such as rap hip hop trance techno etc….can trigger violence.

• Depends of genre of music
    .I would never go to listen to the crap they played in Phoenix Park the night the stabbings happened.I would rather go to a Macca live show.

Add New Comment