TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Polish Prime Minister embarrassed by Irish photo blunder

Prime Minister Donald Tusk launched a major initiative to promote Polish families – but used a photograph of Irish people by mistake.

Polish Prime Minister Donald Tusk
Image: AP Photo/Alik Keplicz

POLISH PRIME MINISTER Donald Tusk has created a media storm after an embarrassing blunder at his  2013 – Year of the Polish Family press conference on Thursday.

The main photo backdrop was ironically not of a smiling and happy Polish family, but rather of Irish models and their very unSlavic-looking children.

Former mayor of Warsaw and leader of the Democratic party Pawel Piskorski wrote on Twitter that the mistake was ‘a bit shameful’.

It was an awkward start to the centre-right government’s New Year efforts to curtail the country’s alarming demographic slide, which is due to see Poland’s population fall from 38 million to 32 million by 2060. In contrast, the Irish population is predicted by Eurostat to grow by 48 per cent over the coming 45 years, despite current high levels of emigration.

Responding on TVN24 journalist Monika Olejnik’s popular ‘The Final Word’ programme, government spokesperson Pawel Gras said, “Such things happen, there’s nothing extraordinary about it.”

The photo was sourced from Wavebreak Media, a company based in Cork, founded and set up by Irish businessman Sean Prior in 2006. It employs over 20 full time and part time employees and has expanded rapidly into the international stock image market despite the economic crisis.

Donald Tusk platform

The photograph of the Irish family is centre stage at the platform where Donald Tusk launched his Year of the Family initiative on Thursday. (Image: Screengrab)

Measures to boost the population

Tusk’s ruling Civic Platform party recently raised the retirement age to 67 for both men and women, up from 65 and 60, respectively. It is just one of a series of measures to offset the crippling effects of poor fertility rates, mainly caused by Polish family fears about their future finances and work security, in addition to massive flows of emigration to western Europe, mainly Germany and the UK.

Others include boosting nursery construction with an additional 50 million zloty (€12 million) in funding while prolonging tax exemptions for families of three or more children.

From June 2013, maternity leave will increase from 5 months to one year, while more controversially in the mainly conservative Catholic country, IVF procedures will be compensated by the State, regardless of the marital status of couples.

Around 15,000 couples are expected to benefit over the next three years from the 100 million zloty (€24.3 million) State fund.

This latest so-called ‘photoshambles’ incident comes just days after the Conservative party website in the UK promoted what they deemed a hard-working British family –  although they actually showed either a Danish or Australian family.

Read: Financial crisis means Poland and Portugal quit the Euro(vision) >

Read: Statue of praying Hitler in ex-Warsaw ghetto causes controversy >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (54 Comments)

• The Dad in the photo looks like Dublin GAA player Bryan Cullenovski

• Gavin – ‘Fall of 38 to 32 million over a 47 year period is hardly catastrophic.’ Poles would tend to differ. The retirement age has recently increased to 67.

Poland’s population is ageing. There’ll be at least 63 people aged 65+ per 100 persons aged 19-64. Two years ago the workers:elderly person ratio was 5:1. By 2050, it’ll be 2:1.

Having said that, a HBSC report claims the income per capita will increase from $6,563 to $25,547 so that ain’t half bad.

• How embarrassing for the poor oul divil.

Imagine looking like a yocky Irish person :)

• I imagine he thought by showing random shots of Irish people would balance out that there is a 70% chance that he/she could’ve been Polish.. I’m not racist nor do I have a problem with any nationality in my country, but I don’t believe they invest here from what I understand. It’s earned and sent back to Poland.
      I await the red thumbs but I’m just speaking what seems to be the truth.

• Paul 05/01/13 #

70% chance a random photo from Ireland will be of a Polish person? If I take 100 photos of random people in Ireland, 70 of those people are likely to be Polish? Really?

And is there any reason why they shouldn’t be allowed to spend their own hard earned money how they wish? Who else should need to get approval on how they spend their money? Everyone? Only the Poles? All non-Irish? Do we need to include nurses, teachers, gardaí, the unemployed.. after all it’s our money they get paid.

• Nonsense Boy Russell. I know of several Polish families who have purchased a house here in Ireland with the intention of staying in this country. I know of several more who have invested in local businesses together with Irish partners. Sure, many do send money back to Poland, but just in the same way that many Irish send money home from the US, UK, Australia, etc.

• What they earn us their own money indeed. Your right!
      The guard, the nurse, the doctor, the soldier etc., pays their dues.
      I’m just speaking from what I hear by my Polish colleagues who work ‘hard’ just like me, when they say how they send their wages home to their family and depend on other incomes to see them through.. I then wonder, what are their other incomes??
      Now I’m no bloody Eddie Hobbs (Thankfully) but I think if they spent their safe incomes here, our economy wouldn’t be still picking up the pieces!
      There’s a lot of them that don’t work here too ya know!?

• @Boy Russell: I live and work in Poland and I send far more money than I would like to back to Ireland to pay off my loan. Like Irish people did for generations, I’m sending money home, albeit for a different reason than people did before.

It’s my money. I earned it. I’ll send it where I like. I’ll flush it down the toilet if I like. Buy an acre of land on the moon from some nutcase on eBay if I like.

Likewise, Polish people in Ireland can do whatever the hell they want with their money. I know plenty of them over there, and the most they would send home is a present at Christmas and birthdays, same as any Irish aunt or uncle did for us when they were living in England or America. Granted I don’t know every Polish person in Ireland, but the days of most of them living 15 to a house to save money to send home are long gone. For most of those that are left, Ireland is home so why would they bother sending anything back to a country they may never live in again.

• Your name must be horrendous for them to make out I bet?
      Look, how about I have my opinion, and you have yours eh?
      Also, just a question? How do you know that they’re not living ten to one in a house, or even perhaps three to one, whatever? That’s not what’s been debated here. What is however, is this/my country been violated… And yes, our own are doing it too. I bloody melt inside sometimes.
      And as a passionate man, I liked your comment As I felt your bite. There was blood in that one.
      Stay safe in Poland.

• Boy Russell. I think by other incomes they might mean the wife’s part time cleaning job or the husbands part time dishwashing job. You say your not being racist, but there is an undercurrent in your comments that just smacks of it. Buying food, petrol, clothes, electronics in Irish stores not to mention paying income tax, rent, and insurance IS investing in Ireland. What little they have left over is theirs to do with as they wish. When the tiger was roaring I seem to recall the sound cash registers in New York and Boston ringing loudly to the tune of Irish euros; Timeshares in Bulgaria or wherever being bought by recently affluent Irish people and God forbid you would would have taken a holiday in your own country, (I dont mean you personally). Would you say the same about a German or a Dutch person I wonder?

• @adrian Quinn – I’d say the same about an Irish person, let alone anyone else.
      There are good Polish people here. Solid hard workers. And indeed citizens of other nationalities too.
      My initial point/comment is been trounced upon, so I’ll pull in the reigns with the fear of been seen as a racist.
      Us the Irish have learned to see the racist card quite quickly because we suffered it long enough.
      We were just thick paddies then to people.. I fear we are been seen as that once more. Green fools in the words of Patrick Kavanagh.
      Yes, we’re green, but lets not act the cabbage anymore.
      This comment ends my opinion in here. If i’m not understood at this stage in places and been branded a racist then lets just carry on with yesterday.
      Sláinte.

• Boy Russell. Everybody has an opinion like you said, but your comments sound like you simply want a reaction? Is that what you want? People can red thumbs me if they choose to but you also sound racist..

• @stephen brown – I actually refuse to take you seriously. Apologies in advance.

• If you can’t apologise for yourself Boy Russell then don’t apologise for me. If your racist you can’t help it. It’s not your fault. It must be your upbringing. So I suppose you should apologise for your parents. I’m friends with quite a few from the polish community and I find they are proud working nation. You might say the same but most can read between the lines in your comments.

• @Stephen brown – Well seeing that you suffer with bouts of classism, we are all a bunch of hypocrites together.. So again, I refuse to take you serious. But I’ll put my manners (thought to me by proud parents) away and Not apologise in advance this time.. Jog on..

• mattoid 06/01/13 #

Why is it that whenever you hear “I’m not racist but…” it is invariably followed by a stream of racist sentiment?

• People who point out that we accepted more immigrants than we could provide long-term employment for are immediately dismissed as being racist but the fact is that immigration was one of the main causes of the country’s economic collapse.

• mattoid 07/01/13 #

Care to elaborate on that Seamus?
      Only I thought it had more to do with reckless bank lending and government spending based mainly on property-related taxes…

• Sure…we were recklessly borrowing money to build new houses for all the immigrants that we invited over. Almost all the new jobs created between 2004-8 were in construction, our economy would have been flatlining if if it wasn’t for all the money we were borrowing, yet we were told that it was growing so fast it would collapse if it wasn’t for immigration.

As late as 2007 Sean Dunne said the property sector would remain bouyant because so many immigrants were coming over. Nobody seemed to ask at the time what all the Polish other Eastern European builders would do when the property bubble burst, but then people who said that it would were told to commit suicide by Bertie Ahern.

I’m not against immigration. Immigrants can benefit society but there simply wasn’t a need for 400,000 new citizens in 2004 and I don’t know why people cling to the delusion that there was.

• Those against the very natural phenomenon of foreigners earning money in Ireland (e.g. Poles) and sending it back home ought to query whether they have the same opposition to Irish based in London, Oz, NZ, Canada, Dubai doing the same.

I didn’t think so.

It wouldn’t do ye any harm to read a little history either.

Roisin Healy, History Lecturer in NUIG has shown that200 years ago “the United Irishmen looked to Poland, whose efforts at political reform were cut short by partition and eventual extinction in 1795, as a fellow-victim of the colonial ambitions of the great powers.

The image of Ireland, as a western version of Poland, in one expression “Poland of the Sea”, dominated Irish nationalist discourse in the nineteenth century. Nationalists repeatedly pointed to Polish patriots as an inspiration and also highlighted British sympathies for Poland as incompatible with their suppression of Irish nationalist aspirations. ”

Also, trade between Poland and Ireland is about 1bn Euros per year and many Irish firms operate there, also employing Irish people – mainly in the construction and finance sector. The Polish population is 39mn. Ours is 4.7mn. Do the maths and get back to me when you figure out whether we also benefit from their skills and market.
    http://www.ireland-poland.com/ipba-benefits/

• Rather typical of Polish politics, the origin of the picture is irrelevant yet the opposition try to attach nationalist, racial undertones to it.
    A common theme here in Poland and unfortunately Ireland.

My question to those who worry about Poles sending their money out of the country.
    Do you buy Irish made cars, phones, TVs, computers, clothes, food?

I am not sure what the percentages are but Ireland imports most of it’s consumer goods which equates to sending money outside the country.

• Bang on John S. The fact the media primarily focused on the origin of the photo is symptomatic of their unwillingness to tackle the pros and cons of the pressing issues at hand: low fertility rates, ageing population, extending the retirement age to 67, emigration, extending maternity leave, tax reliefs for bigger families.

The fact this article highlights the Irish connection is merely to give some contextual introduction so as to inform the reader of these latter issues. They may well be of major concern to many Poles who we Irish have come to know or work with over the past decade or so.

For example, I wonder if a Polish woman who is with an Irish or Polish bloke, living in Ireland and having problems having kids, starts IVF treatment in Poland and then moves to Ireland, whether she will be eligible to get compensated by the Polish state for the otherwise very expensive private IVF treatment in Ireland/Poland. I guess once she pays ZUS she’ll get it, whether she is resident or not?

• Our Population is set to increase ? , Better get herself to start peeling a few extra spuds .

• Their response indicates that being Irish is beneath them or inferior. Interesting. Irish and Proud!!!

• It’s HSBC alright. My bad. Thanks for pointing out the error. I was in the midst of a dirty nappy crisis.
    Here’s the report (scroll down a little, it’s on the right – ‘The World in 2050’):
    http://www.hsbc.com/1/2/about/in-the-future

• Re. money sent by Poles from Ireland to Poland – in the 7.5 year period since their accession to the EU in May, 2004 up to the end of 2011 it amounted to €5.5bn. As regards the amount Poles have benefited the Irish economy and society and gene pool:-)) invaluable!

• I hear this a lot…it seems to me that nearly all the new jobs created in our economy between 2004-08 were in construction or in the services associated with construction, all of which was being paid for with borrowed money.

It seems that the main effect of the massive immigration we had in those years is that we have much higher unemployment, massive debts and hundreds of thousands of empty houses.

I don’t blame Polish people for coming over here…if there was somewhere I could get paid four times as much for doing the same work I’d go there as well.

I think we were way too eager to become a net-immigration society because of our history and too eager to believe that our economy was booming when we were really in the same sort of credit bubble as Greece and Portugal.

We’re paying the price for that hubris now and will be for a long time to come.

• I say the Irish women gave it away

• Fall of 38 to 32 million over a 47 year period is hardly catastrophic.

• dev 07/01/13 #

Where’s the photo?

• Hang on to to the poles…once we have the ice melted off them we can extract all their oil.

Seeing as Shell are siphoning our tank, we may as well get in on the gig.

Besides, if it wasn’t for the poles, how would we ever stagger home.

Solidarnost.

• Our population is to increase ? , Better get herself to peel a few extra spuds .

• Up (hic) dipoles.

• Why don’t ya write a book about ‘em as you’re on about it so much.. Do your research first.. Just a suggestion ok.!

• HBSE is a bank right? Nuff said.

• The Polish Prime Minister is giving tax breaks to families who have more children? Has he got it arse over backwards or what?

Their population isn’t declining because people aren’t having enough kids, it’s because people are moving to Western Europe. The only way he can stop this is by leaving the EU, but that’s hardly going to happen as emigrants are the main driver of the country’s economy.

Add New Comment