TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Poll: Should the free travel scheme be means-tested?

The government is reportedly looking into means-testing as a way of cutting losses at transport companies. What do you think?

Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive

IT’S REPORTED this morning that the era of free public transport for all older people could soon come to an end – as the government has set up a working group to examine the future of the scheme.

The Irish Times reports that an interdepartmental working group has been set up to examine the viability of the scheme – which grants automatic free travel to anyone aged over 66, as well as those who receive carer’s allowance or have a disability.

Among the points being considered, Carl O’Brien writes, is that public transport services still incur heavy losses which could be softened by charging fares to those who can afford to pay for them.

Quite simply, today we’re asking for your thoughts: Should the free travel scheme be means-tested?

Poll Results:

Read: Weekly income for elderly people drops 6 per cent – CSO

Read next:

Comments (135 Comments)

• Simple issue really. How much does it cost to give it to everyone compared with how much it costs to means test everyone.

• Why all the focus on the Plain People instead of the waste and dishonesty in public bodies?
    Eg
    WIT hiring a plane to fly someone from Dublin to Waterford?
    Wexford town council allowing someone living in Australia to remain as a councillor (Brendan Howlin’s constituency!)
    Those with their snouts in the trough are to remain unpunished while you and I will have to dig ever deeper in our pockets!

• DubDon 05/09/12 #

Bus pass worth f**k all unless you live in a city with commuter bus/rail service. The vast majority of elderly people outside these areas rarely get to use it as there are no services for them in there areas. But to save money Govt should look at the wasters who don’t work and have these passes. I see them in Dublin everyday on the busses strung out travelling around the city without a care in the world. The Govt should not only means test it for these but also take a look at the necessity for these younger people to have it. Why do they need full free travel? Surely most of these people aren’t that unable to walk to the shops etc and living in a city they don’t have that far to travel to a shop Dr etc anyway!!!

• Waters who don’t work and have these passes , do u mean people Past retirement age who are entitled to them or is there some pass I’m not aware of that wasters get…

• On certain low income they get free transport plus anyone who was and is a carer until Jan of 2012 also got free travel ( plus the person they care red for ) this be separated to the older of our society that needs a companion to travel with them.

STORY IN THE DAYS YOU COULD GET A TICKET ON BOARD A TRAIN>

While travelling on a train I heard a incident as I was standing at the bar where I saw a woman board the train with 3 kids and wanted to sit in first class,she had her free travel pass card and showed it to the employee. I moved up to see who was doing all the shouting ( she really loud for whom ever to hear )the train employee told her several times she couldn’t sit in First class on free travel card and she said that she was been discriminated etc and etc .
      when she was asked to go to the correct seating area she wanted the employee name as her husband a solicitor and wanted to sue him ( the employee) His rely was classic
      AS Calm as could be He told her, he took her card number and would be report the number to the social as they could investigate the matter as if her hubby was whom she said, then he could answer why his wife did not have the finance to pay for the travel .
      she shut up fast , snatched back her card and shouted at the kids in her own language they sat a few carriages down.

• ITS NOT JUST ABOUT GOING TO THE SHOPS I GIVES FREEDOM TO OLD PEOPLE
      NEAR THE END OF THERE LIVES / ONE DAY U WILL BE OLD . DAVE AKA COUNT TORNADO

• I am really not sure on this one….Both my parent have this service and use it a lot but in truth they could easily afforf to pay….Where my beef is that both of them paid tax at the higher end of things for their whole life and they both continue to spend in the domestic economy….
    What’s the future vision of Ireland??? Is it a place where a portion of Irish people who basically contribute nothing their whole lives live off those that work hard… I really dont like that vision….
    So on this i am torn because the people who have contributed the most will be the ones to get the least while the ones who contribute nothing will get everything…

• Find myself agreeing with you,which i’m not comfortable with.But that is the price you pay when you give universal benefits.Everyone gets it no matter what.Chances are if it is means tested your parents will loose as will mine.

• Kim 05/09/12 #

Very well put Declan I would very much agree with you there.
      I think there will always be an element that believe the country owes them a living unfortunately that element seems to be increasing. While those who have aways pulled their weight and those who are unable to through no fault of there own, will be the ones that will suffer.

• I was on the Luas one Saturday afternoon recently and a young man got on drunk. He started verbally abusing some people and shouting. The guy checking tickets came to him and asked for his ticket. In a rude manner he told the conductor he had no ticket. The conductor said something to him that I didn’t hear and low and behold drunk guy pulls out a pass. He did not look disabled in any way shape or form. As a tax payer and working girl I find it disgraceful that someone like this has a free travel pass. Definitely needs review. But leave the old people alone. Of course they should have it and as fully entitled after working for this country all their lives.

• I hope you’re not labelling all pass holders the same because of this unfortunate incident? I have a pass myself because of a disablity, although you wouldn’t think so to look at me. Are you then going to judge me and others because we don’t “look disabled in any way, shape or form”? Like most pass holders, I worked hard all my life and was heavily taxed during the 1980s to help bail this country out of yet another recession, so I’ve earned it.

I do agree with your comment that old people should be left alone, but would also say disabled people should be left alone as well.

• I agree with Eddie that an isolated incident where the full facts are unknown should taint people with entitlements , if you are under 66 you only qualify for a pass if you receive disability allowance , blind allowance or are a carer , so if there is widespread abuse of the system then surely that can be monitored or fixed without having to effect the vulnerable sections of people who are entitled to travel passes.

• suppose theres no chance they would actually start with maybe the head of CIE who earns a cool 600k a year for running a business thats actually losing money but hes never once taken a meaningful paycut, the fact the state has to help out the public transport service to the tune of over 10million euro a year seems to indicate that theres far too much being made of the usual hitting the ordinary workers of the buses, trains etc and not starting at the top and slashing the obese wage packets of the management of these services!

• Means test all the junkies who get on buses for free. Leave the old people alone but all the people cheating the system means test them for it

• I’d say there’s very little to be made from withdrawing elderly people’s free travel. If you take it away then most will probably cease using it rather than pay.

I’d much rather see something done about the junkie knackers that I constantly see getting on the bus in the city centre flashing their pass to the driver, then getting off one or 2 stops later. It seems that these days you’re rewarded for being a lowlife, while the bill is footed by ordinary decent people.

• What pass do junkie knackers get to use and where can I get one ? Who issues them , what are they for , is the really some pass I’m not ware of that junkie knackers get , I drive so only use buses occasionally but the drivers I meet do ask me to pay so what magic pass are the accepting for junkies

• You know I never thought to ask.

• @ Dave: Re the skangers. It’s a free travel pass from the welfare.. I think its for a disability. It’s really easy to just photocopy it, and sell them for a fiver each. The driver just glances at them, and probably wants to keep his encounters with skangers to a minimum, which is understandable. I pay my way, so I refuse to copy them. Same goes for Motor Tax discs.

• Ok , well imo It sounds like there’s defo more of a need to fix the system , catch scammers , and clamp down on fare dodging rather than target old peoples entitlements

• Junkies shouldnt be given them for a start. I always hate seeing them ride around for free!

• I have the free pass as a blind person. (will I be means tested?) I have no other way of travelling. Even to go to town to get a bus I rely on family or friends for a lift.I think they should start with reducing the fraud first before they start. a simple photo ID pass would solve a lot.

• It should never be means tested for the over 66. They deserve a free transport pass because they have paid so much in taxes over their lifetime.

My grandmother for example, would not leave the house if she couldn’t rely on a free bus every so often to head to mass etc just down the road. If the elderly aren’t active regularly they loose their confidence.

Definitely means test all the junkies etc with free bus passes on “medical” grounds, undeserved and unearned.

• I could not agree more. The travel pass for older people is about more than travel, it’s about staying active, keeping in touch with people, getting out, attending events and so much more.

Very wealthy people, who were never seen on public transport when they had to pay for it, use the pass little – a lot of them wouldn’t be seen dead on a bus. Those who would be cut off the pass were it means tested would largely comprise people who while not poor are concerned about having enough money to pay for their care should they become incapacitated – a very big worry for all old people given how much government support for such care has been cut.

These people would very likely curtail their travel if they didn’t have the pass, with the result that they would become more isolated and less active, which has knock on effects for other services and spending on them. Add in the bureaucracy required to handle the means testing and I’m not sure you’d even save very much, certainly not enough to offset the very real benefits of this scheme.

My widowed father gloried in the travel pass when he got it. He hopped on Tuesday and Wednesday morning (almost empty) trains and buses to places all around the country to reconnect with old friends he often hadn’t seen for decades. It opened up a whole new world for him and really did contribute massively to both his health and his quality of life. Could he have afforded the fares? Probably. Would he have gone anyway? Almost certainly not, because he worried a lot about money and becoming a burden on his children. He worked hard all his life and deserved this ‘perk’ in his retirement. I would hate to see it taken away from other older people.

• This should not be means tested. First of all these elderly people have done their dues and deserve to be left alone from this mess. Second of all, and more importantly, we should be promoting public transport as a means to get unsafe aging drivers away from driving cars.

• sara 05/09/12 #

I would hate to think of my nanny and grandad losing their passes its the one thing they don’t have to worry about especially as most of the family live in different parts of the country, but even just for the day to day things its a big help

• Means testing travel…?
    I imagine most pensioners travel during off peak times. How can you save money restricting access to a bus seat that’s probably empty anyway. Also surely the place to start is children’s allowance or is that too obvious.

• Enuff Said. The answer to you question is that you get income instead of nothing.

• Rita 05/09/12 #

I agree with “Enuff said”" somethings are just too obvious for our leaders and planners not forgetting the legion of advisors. meanstesting must start across the board. Mobile phone allowances ,cars. Underwear all kinds of ridiculous allowances simply must go and stop hitting in soft targets as a first option always.hard working tax paying public are being crucified because of greedy fraudsters who dont like paying bills or income tax. It makes my blood boil

• The place to start is the croke park agreement and the the managers getting over the 150000 mark in earnings in the public sector and to stop the nurses coming out protesting because every time they do they protect the bigger wage earners up the ladder

• Completely agree. Seems a bit stupid to impede older/disabled people going somewhere especially when the bus is running that route, and is probably more than half empty most of the time.

• I don’t believe that the elderly should be means tested. They should get free travel. But the numbers i see that use the free pass who are not elderly is extortionate and I believe they should look closely at who has a pass. I feel there’s too many.

• My mum says the free travel pass is great .She is 72 years old and gets around the country to see all the relatives and friends.The staff on Irish rail and Bus Eireann are very friendly as well she says.

• My fear is that if you withdraw free travel from an older person instead of paying for it, they just won’t travel. And that’s in nobody’s interest. Free travel should be restricted to off-peak hours, however.

• Resel 05/09/12 #

If revenue and social communicated then everything could be (and should be) means tested.

• The elderly have paid their taxes for the past 40 odd years so the least they deserve a bus pass.

• What are there so many idiotic comments like ” why should I have to pay if they don’t” , we have to pay for transport , and it seems to me two different issues , 1 do we want people over 66 to receive free public transport and 2 Can we better manage the system for scammers and people abusing the statement. Something misguided in my opinion by not targeting the many inefficiencies in the public transport system but saying that there’s more fares to be made targeting old people , there has been old people here a long time and I see Lucas manage to operate public transport system efficiently by factoring in the numbers…Dublin bus in particular has historically has been heavily unionised with a lot if legacy issues that are outdated and cost a fortune and could do with root and branch reform before needing To target the old.

• Means test or not I bet the junkies still get it

• So charge the pensioner on low benefits €4 return to get to a supermarket where in hope she can buy cheaper products than those in her local Centra and Spars. This would lead to them to being unable to get the bus to the doctors to community social groups and shopping plus other examples leaving them more isolated in old age or disability.

Has anyone in that building got a clue? There seems to be a lack of creativity or forward thinking, which is nothing new for our governments, but was hoped for this particularly bad time.

If a man needs an advisor to do his job, then he shouldn’t have the job.

• the elderly have built this country during the shit times and deserve there things like free travel, heres an idea why don’t ya means test free travel for ministers, TD’s and any of these advisers who go on junkets on behalf of the government in which the taxpayer foots the bill. Then when that happens and we cut out wastes of money on travel like sending minister donkeys abroad for no reason other than to pretend there doing something worthwhile and we start saving there can we look at other aspects in society!

• Trying to take something else away from the elderly instead of facing the bigger problems with our bloated system, cf the admin staff numbers in the HSE. – yep, just the government’s business as usual and it’s disgusting. Free transport is the very least we can do for the elderly citizens who have already given so much to this country.

• Pick on the vulnerable yet again. If it’s means tested you’ll quite probably find that those who don’t qualify don’t ever use public transport anyway if they can afford to run cars still? More administration, more fear for elderly people who treasure their travel as a means of retaining a little independence and enabling them to visit family/friends. These fools really need to cut where it matters – their salaries, their benefits, top earners and only once they’ve cut back on the excess should they attempt to attack any other group. I haven’t as yet made it to any protests but I damn well hope that if they proceed with this that every person with a free travel pass turns up en masse to change their minds – and that their families turn up too.

Means tests should be considered for lots of things – as a self-employed business owner believe me it makes me very mad to see the lifestyle some people have been accustomed to and they don’t need to work to get the bills paid.

Every single day these fools prove exactly why the “anybody but FF” vote in the last election wasn’t the right solution, sooner they’re gone the better!

• Free travel should only be available to Old People (who worked all their lives) and Disabled one (who would work but can’t). The social welfare fraudsters and their ilk should not travel for free. They have no jobs to travel to. They can buy fags and booze locally. No need to travel to city centre to meet their ‘friends’ or travel to court.
    Often I see young ones or youngish with free pass – why do they have it?
    Very unfair system.

• What if these “young ones” have a disability that you can’t see?
      Like a mental health problem that makes holding down a job impossible? Or a condition like lupus, ME, MS etc?

Just because you do not see it doesn’t mean it is not there.. We have a nasty tendency to assume that because we cannot see physical signs of the condition that it doesn’t exist.. It’s like someone telling you that your migraine isn’t real because they can’t see it.

• Taking from the elderly again cause of a minority…When will it end? Seriously, it’s never ending …. :-(

• Absolutely, once it doesn’t cost any more to administrate. Everything should be means tested.

• But… means testing everyone for a specific benefit requires and office, staff, an IT system, advertising, publishing, communications…. when the benefit is of a small monetary value it’s often cheaper to give it to everyone. Those who need it get the use and those who don’t feel they’re getting something back out of their taxes which is vital if you don’t want to create a total disconnect between those who pay into the system and those who benefit from it.

• I may be wrong but aren’t those on long term or assistance already means tested ?

• ‘doesn’t cost anymore to administrate ‘ we talking about civil servants not the private sector , Nothing for nothing

• Do you know a better way to cut losses at the state owned transport services? Make sure the services run on time and show up when they’re supposed to. That would increase the frankly shocking level of reliability of the service and make it a viable alternative to owning a private vehicle. It stands to reason that more customers would follow.

• Pensioners & the disabled should not be means tested in any way shape or form for the travel pass. The junkies & degenerates who have them should have them taken off them & have to reapply & asses every aspect of their entitlements reassessed. As a bus driver I am sick & tired of these wasters barging people out of the way only to disappear upstairs to drink & smoke in peace. Our famed RPU never seem to appear in certain parts of our city or suburbs but will pounce on people who make genuine mistakes!
    Elderly people as already stated built this country when most of us were in nappies or weren’t even a twinkle in the eye.
    Again our govt take the soft option instead of doing the job they promised to do & were elected to do. This same govt as we all know have shamefully attempted to attack the most vulnerable in our society ie the disabled.
    Drivers are actively discouraged by management from inspecting passes but have the right to do so. However some including myself do. Should the CIE group wish to maximise revenue then it’s simple as I have said before, check tickets, purge the dirtbags who pay for nothing but consume everything & most importantly LOWER the fares to pre 2007 levels at least for 6 months to allow time to accurately assess passenger numbers to determine future demand.
    Restricting the hours that pensioners can travel would be a step in the wrong direction & if it were to be reintroduced I for one will ignore it. As for who issues the passes might I direct your attention to the department of social protection, CIE have no role in the issuing of said passes.
    I am led to believe the current pass format is to be withdrawn & replaced with a card format with photo & hologram type strip. If this is true this is the perfect opportunity to make every junkie knacker justify why they should have such a pass. Society must stop rewarding the lowest common denominator.

• lets cut out all this nonsense bring back the concentration camps and incinerate them then the children the unemployed the disabled and sick anyone who disagrees with the government journalists ect this will solve all our ills then the politicians can continue to live in the style they so richly deserve

• Pensioners have contributed to taxation over their entire working lifetime. The majority of them, in my estimation, would not be wealthy, certainly not the ones I know in rural areas. Therefore, the cost of means testing would be counterproductive and pointless. And to not extend travel concessions to our elderly citizens would be mean and churlish. Of course, if this government WANTS\to be seena s mean and churlish . . . . . . .

• louise 05/09/12 #

The government are scrapping the barrel

• G 05/09/12 #

Would this actually make much of a saving, a lot people wouldn’t travel unless it is free so we wouldn’t collect fares from those currently using it. The cost of means testing would probably be higher than the revnue taken in.
    Allowing a pensioner sit on an otherwise empty bus seat hardly breaks the bank. There is far more wastage in the public service and social welfare budgets that should be tackled first.

• As a carer for my daughter, I received the free travel pass and have used it once for a train trip home from Dublin. Had I just been asked if I needed it during the application process, I would have said ‘No’. Perhaps that is where the department needs to start, a simple yes/no tick box on the application form.

• Cmon, have a real survey and ask Should the existing government be thrown out, Yes or NO.

• If this is true, then once again the Government are breaking their pr-election pledges and targeting the poor and vulnerable sections of our country, simply to appease their EU/IMF masters. Most people who have free travel have earned it because they worked hard for it. Especially during other recessions when they were taxed to within an inch of their lives, to pay for the lavish lifestyles of certain politicians and their fat cat buddies. A lot of free travel pass holders are also those with physical disabilities and mental issues, so how Enda Kenny can praise our Paralympians for their achievements and even consider this measure against their peers at the same time is beyond words.

• How about means testing TD’s and Senators for their travel expenses. A.K.A free travel.

• @Denise, Well done to your mum for using the travel pass Im sure she worked hard all her life.The customers in the pub where I work say they will protest if their travel pass is stopped. Ps Good few in this morning sure its a great country.

• Ireland Incorporated has finally lost the plot. Should we just shoot anyone over 30 and be done with it in case they get I’ll? Has it skipped the bean counter’s attention that most public transport is completely empty for the restricted times that are valid for OAPs etc? Why be so anal about it, if they have money presumably they earned it by a lifetime of working whilst paying taxes (often punitive for this generation of pensioners 68%) . Let’s not become a nation of begrudgers for the sake of the cost of our banks’ christmas party!

• I would like to know how much the Government pays CIE and Irish Rail per annum for each senior/ disabled?. My husband and I use the local bus on average once a fortnight and in 4 years have never used the train. We know many like us and there is photo ID required for the main person not the partner/carer.
    There are many senior citizens in rural areas who need to come to Dublin for hospital appointments or to visit the centres of excellence created by Mary Harney.Many elderly people cannot afford cars or are unable to drive.Incidentally in many rural areas there are no bus routes to avail of. They certainly couldn’t afford the cost of trains Just some of my thoughts. so to get back to my original question how much does the Government contribute for each person’s free travel?Perhaps that would help them make a more rational decision OH working Group!

• Hands off Enda and Co. Stop hitting the vunerable in society. Hit the money people which includes yourselves but you wont do that These people have served there time and worked hard all their lives. Deal with the issues relating to the money still being squandered in various government dept. It proves the muppets yous are the fact yous need so many advisors and spin doctors to advise on running the country.

• I don’t think the elderly should be means tested, as any I know who are on it certainly do depend on it to travel around. I do however think those who aren’t elderly should be means tested, most don’t have any reason to have a pass! If they can get them, why should the rest of us be paying?

• That’s being very judgemental, how can you know whether they have a valid reason for having a pass? My dad has one as he has a disability and yet to a stranger he might appear to be perfectly fine and have people like you judging & begrudging him his free travel. He has to attend doctors at least twice a week which is in the next town so without the travel pass it would cost a fortune in travel expenses. Ever heard of the saying “Don’t judge a book by it’s cover”?

• I do however think that the pass should have a photo on it, as it stands it’s open to mis-use without this way of identifying that the person holding the pass actually is the one entitled to it.

• I think the vast majority of old people in this country should qualify for it, even with means testing. The average joe who worked all his/her life and is now on state pension would have to come under the threshold and hold on to their free travel pass.
    However, there is a minority of older person whose income would still be considerably higher than average. Perhaps consider means testing them? I would imagine very few of them travel on public transport anyway, so savings wouldn’t be substantial.

• see Lauren what some people won’t say is that some people with the pass had large incomes all their lives and now all we hear is how they contributed and so deserve it. I agree to a point but many wealth old age pensioners should not get a free pass. Its disgraceful. They have wealth accumulated from their high paying Jobs and now they travel free? No sorry that unfair. The people you mention only getting the state pension deserve this as they Also Contributed but as low paying workers they couldn’t afford Private pensions like the wealthy could. Its not just as simple as give to all. Their are wealth pensioners out there who should not be given a state free travel pass end of story. I am all for rewarding those who worked but giving wealthy pensioners a free pass. No thats madness.

• Bus fare is so expensive nowadays. I don’t even want to go to town paying 2.65 for the bus in Dublin >.<

• 05/09/12 #

Typical Irish response will be :

1. Does it affect me directly ?

2. Will I lose money ?

3. Will it affect me watching Eastenders and Coronation Street ?

4. Will it affect my potholes being fixed by a backhander ?

If answer to all of the above is no, then don’t really give a shite.

• I think that TDs and others senior C service should be ‘mean’ tested, most of the old ones don’t or cant use the system anyway because they haven’t a bob to spare….

• Again the same people being targeted. The same vulnerable group in society. What about cutting Rich Consultants pay and leave the sick and poor alone.

• it should b means tested because I go to college and have to spend 50 euro a week to use the bus and there are other people I know on the bus with me getting it for free by cheating the system

• If you know they are cheating the system why not report them?

• The beady eyed monster is trying to break out there Shane. If they are cheating the system, then report them to the Guards.

See you at the next anti-bank bailout protest.

• Your college mates must be fairly old

• you are worried about over 65′s getting free travel? mate, what? can you not see the difference between you and a 70 year old here? frankly im shocked that people want this abolished. my grandparents made great use of their train passes and did a lot of travelling they wouldnt otherwise have done. country’s gone mad.

• I’m more shocked that you made it to third level education with a total lack of punctuation, no correct case and (unless I’m very much mistaken) text-speak. Thank your lucky stars, my man, and don’t go moaning about having to pay for the bus.

• Do old people who have cars really use public transport much? Wonder how much it would cost to means test all people over 65 and all others eligible. Not sure i see the benefit, sounds like another sound bite to distract from real issues. Is it just me or is means testing suddenly the answer to all this countries financial woes? Don’t people realise that the bar will be set too low, as it always is and those who are barely getting by will be the ones who lose out?

• Leah 05/09/12 #

If you’re using Dublin Bus a 30 day student bus ticket is €86. Might save you more than a few quid…

• I agree with means testing but soon will there be anyone who wants to or can afford to live in Ireland and pay for absolutely everything through the nose?

• Means testing is unfair. Just look at how it was used when the payouts of the SSIA was done. An individual that would have been on benefits and scrimped and saved to save the money over the five years would have then lost benefits at the end of the five years as they had means. An individual who was on the same benefits, and decided to drink or smoke their money for the five years and save nothing gets to keep theirs.

Why should someone that has tried to make their future more secure be denied something where someone that had the same job but didn’t make provision will be looked after?

• The same pensioners who were allowed to keep their medical cards should be allowed to keep their travel passes. Anyone on big pensions doesn’t need a travel pass

• Why do people with cars get a free pass, how come some people get two careers allowances for minding the one person and two home helpers . restbite , new car over 6o,grand every three years supposedly payed for by the revenue , and can work for upto thirteen hours a week , and get every other thing free that they can , how dose that work out , there are people out there that are fighting every day for help and can’t get any ,

Every house hold in this country should means tested owned or not. it would be the fair thing to do , never mind the cost , the banks has cost more to this country , the government can do it and they can damn well afford it , it would pay big time in the future , the future is what were talking about here , , do you we want a better future or just live in the naffing dirty past that has been in this country for years , its time to clear the crap , and we will always have pain of some kind or other do we want an honest state or not , then its up to every man woman and child for a better future ,i know what is going on and so do most of us so what are we going to do
    about it ?

• siobeli 05/09/12 #

In the case of over 66 it should be a reduction in travel ie 50% off normal prices. Still reasonable enough and fairer than means testing. I don’t think partners who are under 66 should get free travel.
    In the case of a disability it should be free.

• Yes, bus passes for elderly people should be means tested. But the means test should be based on one’s cashflow, not the size of their pensions. E.g. You could have two pensioners on big pensions, one with signifigcant nursing home or medical expenses and another without such expenses. The pensioner with little outlay should not be the one entitled to a travel pass.

• The wife of a deceased Garda has free travel and medical card as do most civil servants whose partners passed away. Is that to be means tested?

• Everybody should pay public transport fares without exception.

• scrap the free travel and just have an new fare for over 66, 20% of the standard fare or something like that.

• Tommy 05/09/12 #

Shouldn’t they pay SOMETHING towards the cost? I mean diesel is extremely expensive, every little helps.

• … and what about the very people who got us into this mess in the first place, namely bent politicians, corrupt bankers and greedy fat cats? Since this latest recession started in 2008 nobody in Government has gone after THEM to pay for their crimes, much less jail them. Why should the workers, poor and vulnerable have to keep paying for them?

• Dont know bout means.testing may cost too much with all paperwork etc but maybe increase the age of people eligible by say 2 or 3 years??

• why not increase the age to 90 would that be ok with you.
      as my Grandmother used to say at least we in this country look after our older people and to agree with some of the other people who posted comments on this its about keeping our older people active and healthy by getting out&about,also what about our friends living in rural areas?????
      enough has been done to destroy they access to towns&villages around the country with cut-backs to transport services where the distance they have to travel is often far greater than city dwelling people.
      if as reported by some people that the use off bogus,forged or even stolen passesare being used on a regular basis well look no futher than c.i.e ask them just where are their R.P.U revenue protection unit to us mear mortals i have,nt seen a bus inspector in Dublin city check a bus for 5yrs now and guess what c.i.e still has an r.p.u with PAID staff on its books .
      so instead of looking at ways to punish old folk (of which you will be 1 day) go after the fare dodgers(TD,s on trains remember)

• Should be half fare for senior citizens, same as under 16s.

• Those who could afford to pay, don’t use public transport anyway. Carrying out a means test would be a further waste of public money.

Add New Comment