TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Poll: Should Ireland legislate on the X Case ruling?

It has been 20 years since the Supreme Court ruled on the X Case but no legislation has been brought forward. Is now the time?

Pro-life and pro-choice protests of 1992
Image: Photocall Ireland!

DEMONSTRATIONS WERE HELD across Ireland – as well as one in the UK – yesterday in memory of Savita Halappanavar, the 31-year-old woman who died at University Hospital Galway from blood poisoning last month following a miscarriage.

Those in attendance called on the Government to legislate on the X Case ruling on abortion.

The 1992 Supreme Court judgement gives women a constitutional right to access abortion when their lives are in danger, including from the risk of suicide. However, the European Court of Human Rights has said there is a notable gap in the theory and practical implementation of the right to a lawful abortion in Ireland because of the lack of corresponding legislation.

As part of its defence in the 2010 ABC case, the Irish government argued that restrictions on abortion in Ireland were based on “profound moral values deeply embedded in the fabric of society”.

Pro Life groups claim that it is because of Ireland’s current stance on abortion that it is one of the safest places in the world to have a baby.

What do you think? Should Ireland legislate on the X Case ruling?

Poll Results:

Read: Ireland and abortion: the facts >

Read next:

Comments (193 Comments)

• We need to do much more. Once its established that the foetus has no chance of survival, everything should be done IMMEDIATELY to ensure the mother is not placed at greater risk e.g. refusing to act because theres still a faint heartbeat from the foetus, as in Savitas case.

• Well said Werejammin. I think situations where the baby isn’t viable/incompatible with life should be treated as a completely separate issue to standard abortion on demand and legislated as such. In such cases, the mothers health and life should be prioritized above the terminally ill feotus. I hope our political class (or at least enough of them) will now have the balls to finally legislate for this at the very least.

• All prolife people agree with that. But, we don’t need legislation for that. Simply clarity from the Medical Council.

• its my human right as a women of child bearing age not to be left to die in pain and carry on with a pregancy that will kill me its simple . this lady begged for life and it fell on deaf ears the people of ireland voted in 1992 and 6 goverments later our voice means nothing . i am a women and this makes me anger to the core that one day this may happen to me my family or friends and nothing can be done becase our goverment choose no to listen to its people .

• If you’re against abortion – don’t get one. How difficult is this? Where is this obsession with controlling others coming from?

• Some loons think we live in a theocracy, and not a Republic. That’s the problem.

• Daniel – Most sensible comment i have read yet on the subject

• Daniel, I am completely pro choice. But that is a completely ridiculous and patently ill thought out argument.

The argument is not to control others lives, but to protect what they think is the child (which you or I would regard as a foetus). I actually get annoyed at people who think it is a child/full human and then are pro choice. We have to defend the weakest, if the foetus is of moral value equal to an adult we must defend it.

I just don’t agree that the foetus, at early stages, is anything remotely close to the moral value of an adult.

But ya, your point is nonsense.

• Well said Daniel!!

• I think you’re missing the point that abortion is murder.

• Maybe not a great analogy, but your point reminds me off piece on here a long time ago about pet ownership, and some people were of the opinion that you OWN the dog, therefor if you want to kick or mistreat your dog, your neighbor cannot interfere, as its your dog. I disagreed.

Now a majority of people were of the opinion that they were entitled to interfere, and not have to mind their own business, as the dog couldn’t protect itself, or protest etc….

As I said maybe not a great analogy, but you see what I mean

• Murder? Sorry John, the only people with blood on their hands this morning are people like you who have helped delay legislation which might have saved a young womans life.

• “John” You say “Abortion is Murder?”! “Well Then You Tell Us What Is Allowing The Mother To Die Called???!”

• John Hayes……..Abortion is murder???? What about that poor woman who was allowed to die because of a faint heartbeat??? At 17 weeks a foetus cannot live outside of its mothers body nor can it live if the mother is dead! Also as you have no womb your opinion is worthless.

• I’m glad to see so many likes on that…. It shows that maybe public opinion and the bullshit that goes on in the Dail are two *very* different worlds. And that maybe we can evolve the place yet.

• Clare; I think it’s unfair to state that a person doesn’t have a right to an opinion on abortion just because they don’t have a uterus. Remember, it takes more than a uterus to conceive a child in the first place; a mans opinion on this topic is just as relevant as a women’s.

• I don’t agree with Clare’s “worthless” or Darren’s “as relevant as”…. I think “worthless” is an understandable, angry abreaction to the fact that men in positions of church and state power have been controlling this issue since God knows when.

I, as a man, find the idea of a cabinet full of mostly male TDs ‘discussing’ or worse still, voting on an issue like this fundamentally wrong in some important way.

Hard to know where the boundary is, and it seems like it is somewhere in between those, but bottom line for me is that if you disagree with abortion, you’re not just protecting your idea of a ‘life’, you are also forcing a woman to go through something that’s on a spectrum of being a burden to a major trauma (and deciding to terminate might have in itself already been a trauma). I don’t see it as the ‘right to abortion’, I see it as ‘how do you justify state control of someone’s body?’

• Logical – if you’re against paedophilia don’t do it. Where does this obsession to control people come from eh??

• A woman who doesn’t want to go through with a pregnancy is the same as someone who rapes children?

Facetious much?

….not even going to list the reasons I thought of why that is such a bad analogy.

• if you’re against children getting bombed to bits in wars then don’t bomb kids to bits in wars, simple???? why control anyone?? Let everyone kill everyone as long as it’s not ourselves doing it.

• Illogical Leon – Do you wish peadophilia to be legislated for as well?

Now you can you understand Pro-Lifers objections?

The ‘if-you-don’t-want-an-abortion-don’t-have-one’ argument is really bad logic. It doesn’t work for actions that affect others. Sure if you don’t want to steal, rape or murder, you still won’t whether it’s legalised or not, but what about the members of society affected by those that do desire to undertake these actions? Who protects them?

I’m just saying it’s not that simple ‘is all.

• It’s not simple Rab, you’re right. My view of law is like yours – I think that you don’t need a lot of it, just the fundamentals to protect people from infringement by others. And infringement is *only* justified in the case of said protection.

My view is that disallowing abortion is an infringement on women. But yeah, I can see that even under my view, you can make a case for protecting an unborn child too.

I don’t mind people being anti-abortion (refuse to call them ‘pro-life’), as long as they are willing to acknowledge the grey areas like that. I write off those who have such a sentimental view of ‘life’ that they can’t acknowledge women’s boundaries and choices as well as their desire to protect the unborn. My guess is people that hard-line simply inherited their views from religion, and don’t care much for those living who are post-birth.

• I agree with Conor, your argument is nonsense. I’m strongly pro-choice, but just because a person is pro-choice doesn’t mean that every argument they give for it makes sense.

‘If you don’t agree with rape, don’t rape someone!’, ‘if you don’t agree with torture, don’t torture someone!’. How does this make any sense? Morality is not just private thing which you keep to yourself. If I saw someone being raped, I’d intervene to help them. I’d also want the state to vindicate that person’s right not to be raped.

So while ultimately we are on the ‘same side’, your reasoning is specious and lousy.

• It’s also worth pointing out that not only have successive Governments ignored the X case ruling they have also ignored the will of the people as expressed in the rejection of the 2002 Referendum that tried to annul the X Case ruling.

• Ultimately the ties between Politics and that Roman Catholic organisation is still to blame for Ireland’s backward stance on abortion. The same bastards that turned a blind eye, and actually covered up for their fellow members, when they systematically destroyed thousands of children’s lives. That evil cult should have been deemed an illegal organisation years ago. I just hope that the parents who still drag their kids to Roman places of gathering every Sunday, don’t live to regret it.

• Brian 15/11/12 #

Enda Kenny needs to be like Lyndon Johnson with this and push through legislation that will be deeply unpopular with some in his party and the electorate. It’s for the good of the country. He may well lose the Catholic right vote for a generation but it will be worth it to bring us out of the dark ages.

• It’s a no brainer . If your for or against there needs to be definitive legislation in place so the medical profession knows where they stand and there is not another tragic and needless death . They need to get moving on this now.

• What the hell? Who are the 43% that think we shouldn’t legislate?! I mean it was a supreme court ruling that in some cases abortions are permitted, the EU are saying we must legislate, no matter what your stance personally or ethically as a matter of the rule of law and democracy we should legislate one way or the other, otherwise we might as well drink drive because we don’t ‘believe’ in the law, what neanderthals think you can pick and chose how a country is governed on a whim?

• Having a poll on whether Ireland should legislate for the X case is redundant. Ireland is required to legislate following a supreme Court judgment, two referendums and the ECHR 2003 Act which binds us to implement ECHR rulings like A,B,C, regardless of self-selected opinion polls.

• To all those pro lifers that happily accept the death of an otherwise healthy 31 year old: Legislating on the X case does NOT equal a blanket legalization of abortion in Ireland. It would give doctors & the women who are in the awful position to have to make what is surely a traumatic decision that I as a man simply have no right to make any judgment on the legal framework so that when they have made this decision there will be no backlash against them in terms of a criminal investigation – which may or not be the reason Savita was so tragically denied the procedure that could have saved her.

• There is no question. We cannot sit on the UN Human Rights Council while ignoring a ruling of the European Court of Human Rights. Cowardice has been the reason why the legislation hasn’t happened, we are a joke if our governments ignore the convention of human rights that we signed up to.

• really?? “Because of Ireland stance on abortion it’s one of the safest places to have a baby”!!! I think it should read “in spite of” rather than “because of”!!!

• I cannot even express how disgusted I am right now with my own government. Those lazy, overpaid shower of ghouls have sat in Dáil Éireann nearly 20 years scratching their nads about this issue – and the brass neck it has required to openly ignore multiple polls and studies TELLING you, directly, that the vast majority of your electorate want you to get off the pot and legislate, whichever side of the fence they’re on, has been almost impressive. They know precisely what the people want, so why the hell is there still a QUESTION of whether or not legislators need to get off their arses? They should have done that two decades ago, at this rate it’s more of a question of whether or not we should plant air horns under all the seats in Leinster House to ensure they’re startled enough to actually do something.

• @johndonovan Your last 2 comments on here have just proved how ignorant and idiotic you really are!!!

• Well said Sean. The guy is either a troll ( and a poor one at that) or is deluded.

• Wow!!!

More exclamation points, more emphasis!!!!!

• John.
      By any slim chance are you perhaps on the hook for a child that you did not want to have? Or someone that you know?
      Your passion suggests a personal connection to the scenario, as would mine regards abortion (it would be a very dangerous experience for me). I do wonder if the level of anger that appears to be present in your posts hints at negative experience in your life.

(For the record, one of my brothers was kept out of his childs life, and required to pay child support – so I can appreciate your frustration on the uneven nature of how parents are treated in this state. But you should probably realise that this is related to the constitutional view of women as baby making and rearing factories and little else).

• Compared to the UK and other European states Ireland’s abortion laws are incredibly backward

• of course they should, this state shouldn’t be dictating a woman’s choice to abortion x case or no x case.

• It’s amazing how much influence the Catholic Church has here… Given their track record in abuse why are sensible people still listening to their nonsense???
    I’ve been reading the points above with interest.
    I was raised in the UK and know of not one single young girl or woman that would use abortion as a form of birth control, what a horrific procedure to go through.
    I am pro choice, up to a certain point, I believe 16 weeks is plenty of time to decided wether to go ahead or not, and absolutely at any point to save the mothers life.
    To the points about fathers choosing, Its not your body!!! if you don’t want to be a father put a bag on the end of it, if you can’t for religious reasons.. doesn’t that same religion also preach no sex before marriage so don’t bother with that argument!
    I don’t want some old boys club citing religious nonsense at me or allowing me to die because of their “morals”

• Quote:”Pro Life groups claim that it is because of Ireland’s current stance on abortion that it is one of the safest places in the world to have a baby.”

The pro-lifers always fail point out the the UN report they cite for this states that Greece is the safest place in the world for pregnant women – a country with abortion on demand.

Pro-life groups trot out this line in every press release and interview. It shouldn’t be mindlessly regurgitated in every article, journalists should call them out on it.

There are several factors for the maternal mortality rate, to reduce it to a single casual factor like abortion is ridiculous.

• Long overdue to start seperating the state from the catholic church and start removing catholic mantras from our state constitution!
    We are SUPPOSED to be a modern secular state !?

• Are we?

84% of the country said it was Catholic. Almost 70% of the country said they wanted religious instruction, not education, to remain a part of every day schooling and 30% said they wanted their children to attend/remain in Catholic education.

Modern and secular my f**king arse.

• As a friend posted elsewhere.

Enda Kenny: “A child has been lost, a mother has died, a husband bereaved.” In that order. An unviable 17 week foetus before a woman.

A 17 week foetus isn’t a “child”; a woman who hasn’t given birth isn’t a “mother”. The only thing the Taoiseach got right is the bereaved husband.

• @ Mike, so well said! The man never thinks before he comes with his rote soundbites. Such a sad end to a new and half lived life. All losers here…heart is saddened by this whole event, one which could have been totally unavoidable.

• Just had a response from my TD with regard to the email I sent him asking for the Government to act on the 20 year old legislation. His letter gave the Enda Kenny line of “A child has been lost…..I guess they have all been given the same standard form letter to trot out here.

• How some people can say no after what happened is beyond me and belief.

• I’m Shocked and dismayed to hear the tragic story about Savita. I send my deepest sympathy to her family.
    It’s long overdue to separate the Church and state and for politicians to be always looking over their shoulders to see what the Bishops say. The Catholic church, the Bishops and clergy have alot to answer for when all the disgusting child abuse was covered up for decades.
    At times I think we’re still living in a theocratic state. Something needs to be done immediately to stop any other
    tragedies like Savita happening again. Ireland is a country of many different cultures.

• I’m sorry but what kind of person is saying we shouldn’t legislate?! That is beyond belief. That or the trolls have been having a field day since this news came to light. This is a simple case of doing the right thing. Savitas dying child poisoned her to death. How many other women have to die before something gets done about this?She had a heartbeat too! It beggars belief that these so called Pro lifers seem to stop caring about life once the umbilical cord is cut! Disgusted at some people. Stop pushing your long outdated beliefs on us!

• Should have been done years ago.

• It is not that I agree or disagree with abortion, my problem is that women should be given the choice. Who has the right to tell a woman what she can or cannot do.

• A woman’s body, a woman’s choice. No legislation should be allowed to tell her what she can and cannot do with her body. Especially in cases where her own life is in danger.
    If you don’t support abortion, don’t have one. But don’t think you have the moral highground just because you deem something wrong.
    The thing about most pro-lifers in that they’re not pro-life. They’re pro birth. So long as the child is born, no matter what the circumstances that’s the imperative. If they were truly pro-life, they would be out protesting against austerity that is starving people, removing them from their homes, campaigning against homelessness, foreign warfare and other human rights atrocities.

• I voted no.
    I don’t think the X case goes far enough. I believe all women should have the right to choose regardless of the health of the foetus or the mother. We are educated enough as a society to make these decisions. Who cares what the priests or bishops say? We as a country have largely rejected Catholicism but seem to hold onto some of its archaic values for some unknown reason.

• Against abortion? Don’t have one!

• How the state still have control over an individuals body is beyond me, especially in cases when the mothers life is in danger. Pro lifers are too self righteous and think they know what these people are going through.
    and if you think abortion only has negative effects on womans health and well being, read the following article http://io9.com/5958187/what-happens-to-women-denied-abortions-this-is-the-first-scientific-study-to-find-out

• The X case is 20 years now. But see how your TD voted on it in April 2012. http://oireachtasdebates.oireachtas.ie/debates%20authoring/debateswebpack.nsf/takes/dail2012041900006?opendocument

• There is no point in voting. The fairy tale believers, and those backward dumbos living on this island will do anything the church tells them to, will vote NO. The government should just go ahead and legislate it into the constitution. Oh , silly me, the government is full of people who put religious beliefs before citizens rights. Until religious beliefs are separated from governmental duties it will never happen. So I suppose another seven years will pass and more unfortunate women will die because of a book of fairy tales and those that believe in them. It really hard to believe that the year is 2012.

• I’m sick to the back teeth of the words ‘X Case’. Ireland ought to be mature and decatholicized enough to grow up and talk about abortion itself. Not the plainly fascist idea that travel can be restricted.

• The term ‘x case’ is used because the woman involved in the case where the supreme court made the ruling (that abortion should be allowed where the mothers life is endangered) cannot be named for legal reasons – hence ‘X’. The ruling that was made still has not been legislated for ( hence the reasons for savita’s death). Changing this legislation would not require a referendum because of the supreme court ruling. Yet government have not legislated for the ruling that came out of ‘X- case’.

• But you are right gearoid that pussy footing around x case and or abortion needs to stop.

• I thought the X Case was the one where they were debating whether a teenage girl who was raped (I hope those details are right because it sounds flippant) ought to have the right to go to England… I knew the reason for the ‘X’ though. My bad.

The pussy footing is unlikely to stop with the amount of men in gov, and how they vote almost across the board according to their party whip… And I dunno what the whip’s vested interest is (for each party), but it’s not about to make any radical, thoughtful decisions any time soon.

• John Donovan, your either a troll or a tool. Are you trying to get a rise out of people from such a tragedy. This woman was miscarrying, she should have been saved straight away. This is what women want, the right to save their own life. Bring in this legislation now!!

• Sadly I don’t think he is a troll. I think he just likes the sound of his own voice.

• I’ve no interest in furthering women’s rights regarding children while men are continually stripped of theirs.

• Well how about using your voice to fight for fathers rights rather then causing anger and pain through thoughtless comments on a very sad story.

• Believe me, Ciara, I’ve an awful, awful lot of sympathy for the Savita and especially for her widower who has to continue on in life without her.

I have, however, never been more disgusted with the Irish people, their Church and their hypocrisy than ever. To see this being used by the feminist movement to demand abortion on demand, and for politicians to gain popularity, is almost vomit worthy.

• @ ciara and john donovan. Possibly both ciara. Re John donovan’s comments on the one hand john has come out with statements above where he disagrees with abortion. On the other hand e.g. In his posts/ comments in the journals article yesterday “Bacik says ‘legislation is clearly necessary’ amid outcry over savita’s death” ( http://www.thejournal.ie/savita-death-abortion-x-case-ireland-673744-Nov2012/) he goes to great pains giving out about the Catholics in this country and lecture about how he is going to ‘ get off this rock’ etc. Indeed he went so far as to say that everyone who put themselves down as catholic in 2011 census is complicit in this woman’s (savita’s) death. Me thinks dear John should make his mind up!!!!!!!!
      Quite conflicted it seems.  John donovans ethos ( re abortion) is pretty much as catholic as it gets, yet at the same time he is quite happy to give out about the ‘hypocrisy’ of the Catholics in this country. 
      In yesterday’s article he made a snide comment against someone for not knowing what is meant by the term hypocrite. Interesting that. Of course perhaps it was a completely different John Donovan posting in yesterday’s article. Doubt it though. He gives similar moronic arguments for the agenda he was pushing in that post.
      Of course, as you suggested ciara, it is possible that John is a troll ie someone who  just like’s to stir because he has nothing better to do. Sad. Readers beware!
      If your going to troll John just to be controversial try being a bit more clever about it :) 

• Irene,

I saw my name mentioned but I’m not going to sort through a paragraph-less rant. Sort it out dear.

• In the case of John Donovan it’s not either a tool or a troll, it’s both.

• @John, you wrote “abortion on demand”, nobody here has asked for that, self serving twit!

• Everyone should be allowed to make their own decisions in life – being “good” or “bad”.

• @ John Hayes- leaving a woman to die of blood poisoning and not performing a termination when its clear the foetus won’t survive is MURDER

Women are not just incubators for your seed, you do not get to say what I ( or any woman) can or can’t do with my own body and you certainly don’t get to force me to be pregnant against my will especially if my life is in danger because of it. Does society tell you what you can and cant do with your body and reproductive system? No, and you would never tolerate it, the simple truth is that you think females are lesser beings with lesser rights.

I thank the universe that my husband and most other men are not misogynists like you, you are pro birth not pro life, if you were pro life you would care about the lives of pregnant women.

Do you not realise that if a pregnant woman dies the foetus will die too? Do you understand that in Savita’s case the foetus was going to die anyway but she was left to die when she could have been saved by a termination? She was left to die simply for dogmatic foetus worship.

I would feel sorry for any woman related to you if she ended up in a life threatening situation like this, you would want her sacrificed for a partially formed foetus. What about the rights of people who are already born? Apparently, a foetus has more rights than the woman it is growing inside.

I guarantee you that my husband and the majority of husband’s and partners would want their loved wife/partner to live rather than their unborn child, to the others she is just a brood mare and not deserving of full human rights.

Sometimes even wanted babies have to be aborted to save the Mother, she must ALWAYS come first in a civilised society.

The time of the religious, misogynistic right wing ( I include misogynistic women in that) is coming to an end and good riddance. You and your kind do not fool us anymore. The influence of the catholic religion or any religion has no place in State legislature or the constitution, you do not get to force your backward opinion down my throat, I am an Irish citizen and that is not my religion and I have a right to be protected under the law, don’t have an abortion if you don’t want one, you have no right to stop anyone else from doing so.

The decent, compassionate men and women have had enough, we don’t want to see any more women die slowly for the sake of a 17 week, unviable, miscarrying foetus.

We can help women in this country who are right now going through difficult or dangerous pregnancies by pushing forward for legislation which could potentially save their lives.

LEGISLATE FOR X NOW!

RIP SALVITA, WE WILL MAKE SURE THAT YOU HAVE NOT DIED IN VAIN

• These doctors broke the rules governing medical ethics (principlism) if they denied this lady’s request for an abortion. The patient was denied autonomy. The may also have violated non-maleficence.

• I’d consider myself ardently pro-Life &, in principle, opposed to abortion. However, it would seem ludicrous to call oneself pro-Life without being concerned for the *equal* right to life of the mother (Article 40.3.3 of the Constitution already guarantees this).

Irish law, we’re told anyway, already allows for termination of pregnancy in scenarios where there’s a real threat to the mother’s life, but this is obviously not the case… There is an obvious need to clarify the grounds under which Article 40.3.3 (“equal right to life of the mother”) may lead to a termination. Specifically, this probably requires thoughtful legislation on the X-case. Provided concerns many people have about the “risk of suicide” are addressed.

One thing this case demonstrates is that battle lines are drawn along presictable line between extremists on both sides who either want abortion as a form of contraception & those who would ban it even when the mother’s life is in danger. People’s backs are put up & an impasse develops; an unstoppable force meets an immovable object etc… The only problem with this ongoing culture war is, it helps nobody. It certainly didn’t hep Savita.

• I don’t suppose you have any statistics on this “abortion as contraception” concept?
      I am pro choice, but would never want to have an abortion. As pregnancy would be risky for me I use contraception, because it is far easier, cheaper and lets face it – in spite of its drawbacks – far more pleasant than a rather unpleasant procedure (abortion). It is better to prevent, and education about contraception, sex AND relationships needs to be a priority. But there is no form of contraception that is infallible, and there will always be exceptional cases.
      Women do not make the decision to abort lightly, to assert otherwise shows a level of disrespect for a woman’s emotional intelligence that is quite insulting.

• So 33% of people can’t escape their childhood indoctrination, even when lives are at stake.

Bring in mandatory abortion for stupid people and the pro-lifers won’t last another generation.

• should have done it twenty years ago,were such a backward country

• Not convinced by the poll results here. While there’s a clear majority who say Yes, a look at the comments here and on other journal articles suggest a much larger majority of the readers here feel the need to legislate for X.

The groups against this are in a minority but they will go to extremes to make you and our politicians think otherwise. The Facebook page for Ireland’s Youth Defence has 68k likes. However, if you look a little further you’ll see the city where they have most of these followers is Houston, Texas (see link below). Rallying the Bible Belt territories with ads to add to their shallow cause…. I know I had ads for their page popping up on my Facebook for weeks before I blocked them.
    http://www.facebook.com/YouthDefence/likes

• @ John Donovan. There are paragraphs sir. Sort out your eye sight. If its an issue to do with whatever device that you are using then that is not my problem it’s yours!

• Boo to the so-called pro life bigots who allowed so many women to die.

• “profound moral values deeply embedded in society”….. Are they having a laugh? Moral values in Irish society seem to be diminishing on a daily basis. A generalisation I know but I think it is fair to say that society has changed greatly as have our moral values…. Get with the times.

• Who the hell voted no? A woman is dead because of our out of touch laws!

• Rebecca 15/11/12 #

YES! legislate for the X case now. Ireland also needs to legislate for abortion on demand without prejudice. Abortion happens people and has happened since the day women were able to get pregnant…the only difference is that in 2012 we recognise that and should be providing this in a safe and legal manner for the women of our country instead of shipping 12 of our sisters, mothers, friends, colleagues, off to our neighbouring country EVERY DAY or online via pills from the internet.

• So in conclusion:

In the case of an accidental pregnancy arising from consensual sex, a woman should be able to:

A: Abort the child without any input from the father to be or indeed, completely against his wishes.
      OR
      B: Decide she wants to keep it, against the father’s wishes, and then stick him on the hook for decades of child support.

Where do men’s rights come into this? Why should women have COMPLETE and UTTER control over what happens a man, when it took both of them to get her pregnant? Why should she be the ultimate decider of his faith?

Unless we bring in some sort of right for men to legally and financially detach themselves from a pregnancy I will never support “abortion on demand”.

The fact that this has been made into a woman-only issue disgusts me also, but is typical of the feminist agenda in 2012. “Get all the good for the woman, dump all the bad on the man!” seems to be the mantra these days.

• fate*

• Its more than sad that someone would disagree with legislating for an emotional difficult procedure because they are playing tit for tat

The reason why a woman has complete and utter control is because the sperm has left the man’s body (he had sole control of it while it was there) and entered the woman’s body; its as simple as that. If you want sole control don’t share it.

It takes two people to conceive but only the women can fertilise the fusion of the ovum with the sperm eventually leading to an embryo, feotus and baby.

Reproduction happens in a womans body, its up to the woman to decide if she wants to subject her body and mind to this process, if you don’t like this simple fact you can always keep your sperm under your control.

• “Get all the good for the woman, dump all the bad on the man”
      That’s given me a chuckle..

Lets look at it in terms of the mans duties.
      Scenario 1 – Father embraces his role.
      He comes, she gets pregnant, he supports the woman in his limited capacity to do so through the pregnancy, he attends the birth and THEN starts fatherhood.

Scenario 2 – Father rejects his role.
      He comes, she discovers pregnancy, he leaves. He may get pursued to pay some maintenance – he has the right of appeal.

For the woman.
      Man comes, woman becomes pregnant.
      She suffers morning sickness, her body is stretched, her hormone levels are massively disrupted. Her organs get squashed, depending upon her medical state there may or may not be complications – some minor, some life threatening. She needs maternity wear and has to take maternity leave, and most importantly – she has to go through child birth!
      If the father’s around she has his support, if not she does not.

A fathers role is optional, unless his financial role is enforced by the courts.
      A mothers role is compulsory until birth unless she has an abortion. Giving up the baby for adoption isn’t easy either.

In reality, you oppose women having the same rights to abdicate responsibility as any man can, given that the only responsibility that can be enforced is financial – this makes your priorities clear.

All the good is for the woman, and *men* get the raw deal.. Give me a break..

• @Michael Connick- Its the woman’s choice end of story, a woman can obviously talk to the father and take his opinion into account but he has no right to force her to stay pregnant against her will, that’s tantamount to rape, the final decision is hers because she carries the child, she gives birth to the child and she accepts any risks associated with pregnancy, she is physically challenged and changed, in the case where her life may be in danger due to the pregnancy (which does happen) it is even more certainly her decision to choose her own life, we have to get over this notion that women are supposed to sacrifice themselves for their children, most parents love and protect their children but should not have their lives sacrificed for a foetus. You do not get the right to choose if a woman stays pregnant or not and you certainly do not get the right to choose if a woman lives or dies, you don’t get to choose between her and her foetus, that should never be a choice, her life should always have priority.
    That said I believe both parents should have equal access to their born children unless one of them is abusive etc but when it comes to pregnancy and birth the woman is obviously much more affected, her health needs are her choice and nobody else’s. Women are not property, our wombs should not be a political battleground. My body, my decision.

• @ gearoid. Yes it was about the teenage girl. As far as I understand the supreme court made that ruling re endangerment to mother because she was, understandably, suicidal.

• To all backward thinking neanderthals out there, you backward thinking lunatics, abortion as a form of birth control surely is wrong and to some can be considered murder. But termination of an unviable feotus in order to save a womans life is far from murder. What happened to that poor woman should be classified as murder.

• Thirty percent of the people who voted here need to take their rosary beads off their ovaries.

• Did’nt we have colour photography in 1992? I can actually recall an argument between students and a teacher over the X case. Of course the teacher was against the abortion.

• Michael, my problem with that is while I know plenty of decent guys myself, I also know six single parents. Not one has ever received a penny from their former partners, and only one of those fathers sees his child. I just don’t get it.

If I were a man I would regard it as an obligation to contribute to my child’s life before eating, let alone before getting to go on holiday or buy some beers.

• John Donovan- a man who thinks because he may donate sperm that he can force a woman to stay pregnant, against her will, sure why not force her to have sex in the first place? John Donovan doesn’t care about unborn children he wants to have control over women and their reproductive systems, his pretend care for foetuses ( some of which, John seems to have forgotten, may turn out to be female) is just a cover for his real feelings, that women should be forced by men to stay pregnant whether they want it or not, isn’t that basically another form of rape?
    John, by his own admission hates feminists, the women and men (John seems to think all feminists are women) who believe that women should have the same fundamental rights as men, to have the same opportunities, to be in charge of their own bodies and personhood, to not be forced into sex or motherhood – I think that says it all. Men are not forced into parenthood in the same way, nothing grows inside them, their bodies aren’t affected.
    I’m sure some women hate men but when Matriarchy and institutionalised misandry rule the day then John will have every right to complain.
    I wonder if the female members of John Donovan’s family know how much he hates women and wants to control them.
    Never mind, the days of Ireland being controlled by right wing, control freak women haters are numbered, good riddance to pathetic rubbish.
    By the way, this and every comment I have made are all my opinions even though certain people wish that as a female I would not be allowed to express them and that I would just sit at home, a silent, perpetually pregnant, obedient sex slave who worships at the altar of her lord and master/owner.
    Thankfully the majority of men are more developed and evolved human beings than to think like that and the majority of women won’t just lie down and take all the crap.
    Change is on the way.

• What an awful avoidable tragedy. Deepest sympathies to Praveen Halappanavar and rest of family.nnThere is a need to legislate for the X case. Can write to TD via this link belownnhttp://www.nwci.ie/takeaction/legislate-for-x/

• WTF using a pro life photo….. are you biased here @ theRightWingJournal.ie or what

• Please read this very honest article published yesterday on abortion and Irish women on xoJane an American website

http://www.xojane.com/issues/it-happened-to-me-im-thankful-i-had-an-abortion-in-america-and-not-in-ireland#comment-711658970

• a woman’s body is her own business

everybody else should keep their mouth shut

• To Treasa Hynes

Funny but my obstetrician and master of the hospital both told me it was a legal and constitutional issue……

• Doctors acted like a religious fanatics. Sad to see that happened in a western country. Religious fundamentalism is every where in most Asian and African countries, but never expected from Ireland.

• While legislation is needed the problem with this process is that most likely any legislation brought forward will please nobody because nobody will get what they want out of it. Therefore it will just create division and further discontent.

This is exactly what happened in the 2002 abortion referendum which was very narrowly defeated but which actually had both pro-life and pro-choice groups campaigning against it. Pro-choice groups were against it because it attempted to close off the “suicide loophole” which arose out of the X case and so they felt it was too narrow a definition, while pro-life groups were against it because it enshrined a right to abortion into law and therefore was unacceptable.

Polls have shown consistently that a majority of Irish people are in favour of abortion in certain limited circumstances but the problem is trying to find the right balance in law that will command the support of a majority of people. If it was easy to do this we would have already done it.

I also have to say that its disappointing already to read vitriolic and insulting comments thrown from one side to the other on this thread and others. Abortion is a hugely complex and extremely sensitive issue for everybody. Labelling people as murderers or bigots simply because they don’t agree a with a particular viewpoint is unhelpful and probably explains why politicians have shied away from this matter while they could. The tragedy of Savita Halappanavar’s death has clearly stirred emotions on both sides and while that is completely understandable, legislation can’t be enacted based on an emotional response. The last thing we need at the moment is a rushed piece of legislation that may contain flaws and opens up this issue all over again in a few years.

• Yes – but very, very strictly for where the woman’s life is in explicit danger only.

• Would thart work though John? If the foetus cannot survive anyway why wait until the mothers life is in ‘explicit danger’? Is it not better to do everything straight away to lessen the chance of the miscarriage developing into a situation where the mother is in real and imminent danger i.e. allowing it to continue for days with an elevated risk of contracting septicemia?

• If it can be proven that the foetus won’t survive then absolutely, remove it before it becomes an issue.

For the time being, I cannot back full, unquestioned access to abortion though, as they have in the US or similar.

• The majority of Irish people support abortion when a woman’s life is in danger, for fatal foetal abnormalities and in cases of rape and incest. Passing abortion on these grounds SHOULD be relatively uncontroversial.

• Rape and incest would be hard to prove, would it not?

• That’s making a massive assumption that women lie about rape – which is quite rare. Studies by London Met and TCD put Irish false rape accusations at about 9% (the highest in Europe), primarily due to alcohol related factors. Meaning that over 90% of rape accusations are true. The idea that rape and abuse survivors should be forced to carry a pregnancy because otherwise women lie? Frankly, it’s insulting to women to argue that we’re a bunch of liars.

• DNA testing would prove that

• How is almost 1 in 10 rape accusations being false RARE, Nick?

I couldn’t care less if there was alcohol involved, this is a life destroying accusation to make, which for men is almost impossible to disprove meaning the actual stat is probably higher, as it’s relying on women changing their story, and since almost 1 in 10 are making it there is absolutely NO way I support such an accusation as grounds to terminate a healthy pregnancy.

1/10 potentially healthy children dying because the mother is a disgusting liar? No thanks.

• Thar’s what happened in Savita’s case. That’s what this whole debate is about. Once the miscarriage is underway with no chance of stopping it the process should be speeded up, foetal heartbeat or not.
      No point waiting till the mother contracts blood poisoning or some other fatal complication before taking action.
      I speak from personal expeeience, btw.

• * experience – sorry.

• Ah, and here we go. Women are “disgusting liars”, are they, John? But they should be forced to parent anyway? Your views of women here speak for themselves.

And no, it’s not higher. Only 6% of rapes are actually ever convicted. Have you even been reading the news lately? Women are being treated appallingly by judges in the criminal justice system. But your concern is more than a woman saying she was raped could ruin lives and if young girls like those in the X case have to suffer, too bad!

• Nick,

This is hilarious. Forcing to parent, you mean like women do to men who didn’t want children almost every single day? By either getting pregnant and not giving the man the option of leaving, or indeed those who trick people into getting them pregnant?

And yes, it would be higher. If 9% are PROVEN to be false allegations, it means that the women stepped forward and admitted it was a false allegation. That means there’s most likely lots who didn’t and that there’s men serving time for a false accusation.

And no, I did not say women are disgusting liars but great bit of selective quoting there. You knew what I meant, manipulated it and took it well out of context so I’m not going to address you any further.

• This is academic research. By your arguement, the 93% of rapes which aren’t convicted are false allegations. So since only 10% of claims are false and only 6% of rapes are convicted, it’s VERY unlikely men are serving times for false claims. Rather than considering it through the court process, the academics actually analysed rape claims. But sure, what would peer reviewed research know that you don’t?

You clearly have a dislike of women and are absolutely ignoring the fact that MEN also lose options under current restrictive abortions laws. Men often make the decision to terminate with their partners. All people who oppose abortion don’t dislike women, but unfortunately, too often, men who dislike all women do so under the guise of concern for foetuses.

• Im all for the x case ruling but I dont think this willie nilly every time a someone gets pregnant be accident that the get an abortion I think the fear of not being able to have one incase leads to more carefull regard using condoms ect

• I don’t support this myself – It would abhor me to see a situation whereby a woman could decide to abort a healthy pregnancy without any input from the father simply because she didn’t want the child, while if the man doesn’t want the child but she does, he is on the hook legally and is responsible for payments for years to the child he never wanted.

No thank you.

Abortion in the case where the woman’s life is in danger or the baby won’t make it – absolutely. Otherwise, no thank you for the time being.

• “willie nilly every time a someone gets pregnant be accident that the get an abortion” – am, have you spoken to many women who have had abortions? It’s not a decision they make lightly… There is no such thing as 100% effective birth control either, plenty of couples out there have taken all precautions and still ended up with unplanned kids.

• “I don’t support this myself – It would abhor me to see a situation whereby a woman could decide to abort a healthy pregnancy without any input from the father simply because she didn’t want the child”

If the mother was made pregnant through rape, should the father still have input?

• Or a violent partner – pregnancy can often be a trigger for domestic violence and abuse to begin. Many women with an abusive partner feel they’d be doing a worse thing to bring a child into that situation.

• Er, no, clearly not.

• Violent partner?

No, sorry, that’s not an excuse for an abortion.

• First of all, father’s are not “on the hook legally” because the mother decides whether or not to include them on the birth cert and they have very few rights in this country where their children are concerned unless the mother gives him those rights – but that’s a separate issue.

The situation at hand was one of what used to be called a DNC, this is VERY different from an abortion of a healthy fetus. I have family and friends in the US who have had to go through this procedure, it is heartbreaking and traumatic. The insensitivity and lack of compassion for mothers-to-be who find themselves in this difficult situation in this country is appalling.

• I really, really hope you would have more compassion for a female loved one who was pregnant and in a violent relationship. “Sorry, tough luck” is an easy thing to say when you’ll never have to fear violence within the home.

• Yes accidents happen and your right there no 100% safe contraception but having sex is taking a risk that a pregnancy will result and if that happens you should face up to that not take a get out of jail relitively card and yes I do acknowlage that its a hard decision and for many people they dont go into it lightly if the was a referendum on this I would vote for abortion because a think there should be a choice im just saying that abortion isnt a solution I would agree will personaly

• Michael and John – if you are that bothered, get a vasectomy ( a quick, painless and reversible operation), use condoms just in case, and ask your partner to use the pill on top of that. Or refrain from sex.

• John, a pregnancy can often be *part* of an abusive relationship. A documented tactic of abusers is to (forcibly or otherwise) impregnate their partner in order to exert more control over them.

• I voted No, as while I believe that abortion should be available in very limited and strictly controlled and specific circumstances, I think the remit of the X-case judgement is far too wide and applies no time limit.

I think if the 2002 referendum had been passed, it would have clarified a lot of the issues but unfortunately it was defeated by a narrow margin. And it was cynical opposition by Fine Gael and Pro-life fundamentalists which caused that.

• People, women in particular, are trying to yet again push for privilege here which is why you’re seeing red thumbs.

Abortion on medical grounds is necessary and something that should be brought in. What the women here want is complete and unquestioned access to abortion which, while men have ever diminishing rights to children here, I absolutely cannot support.

A scenario whereby a woman who gets pregnant accidentally can just decide to terminate it without question, or without any input from the father to be OR decide not to terminate it and then string the guy along for child support is one which I cannot support. Increase men’s rights to both their access to children and provide the right to detach themselves legally and financially from a pregnancy and then I will support open, unquestioned abortion.

Until then I will vote against anything put before me with regards to abortion, unless it is very limited, very strictly controlled and isn’t open to people threatening to kill themselves in order to obtain an abortion.

• Any other constitutional rights you want us to ignore? Two referendums decided that suicidal women should be able to access abortions. What else don’t you like? Freedom of speech, freedom of assembly? I didn’t realise you had individual veto power over the Bunreacht na hEireann!

• Two constitutional referenda did NOT decide that Nick. And I pointed out that above. Both the 1990 and 2002 referenda were opposed by hardline/fundamentalist pro-lifers such as Dana and Youth Defence. Therefore it is completely disingenuous to suggest that in the defeat of those referenda, everyone who voted against them was in favour of “suicidal women being able to access abortions.”

• Oh wow, an American living in England is sitting here telling us about our constitution.

How about you mind your own business? The US and indeed the UK has enough problems of its own. What are you even doing here?

• Fantastic argumentation John, because someone lives outside the country their points on the constitution become invalid. I’m not American or live in America, but I think I have enough sense to know that to legally allow human / horse sex as legalised in 23 states of America is pretty stupid and still deny gay marriage.

• Very childish response there John. Not surprising considering your babbling ranting posts.

• I have no idea why they voted the way they did. Maybe the thought pro life meant women’s lives (heh. Comical, I know.) But if the referendums had passed, they would have eliminated grounds of suicide as a means of accessing abortion. They did not. So we must legislate according to the way the Irish people have voted.

Because my children will be Irish, John. I will be having children in Ireland. But hey, Savita wasn’t Irish either, so why should she have had a say in this, right?

• @ John Donovan; the American is perfectly entitled to an opinion, this story has been thrust onto the worlds stage!!! You don’t have to have been born and bred in Ireland to comment on Irish legislation.

• And actually, I would argue as I’m far more likely to suffer having children in Ireland (like Savita, a non Irish national), I have far more on the line than someone who will never be bleeding out slowly.

• I also have a degree in law from an Irish university, so yes, I’d put my knowlege of constitutional law against any other law student. Do you have a law degree, John?

• @johnDonovan “People, women in particular, are trying to yet again to push for privilege”. A privilege really? Your ignorance on this subject is embarrassing.. What privilege is that exactly? The right to do what they want with their bodies? The right to proper medical care? The right to live, survive? And that American you told to mind her own business, is a lot better informed than you my friend…

• Oh she’s entitled to comment, her opinion is worthless though.

• I miscarried last year, John. But thanks. I have no idea how anyone reading this would think you hate women.

• John you are disgusting. End of.

• I don’t hate women, Nick, I hate feminists and misandry.

• “Increase men’s rights to both their access to children and provide the right to detach themselves legally and financially from a pregnancy”

And you think WOMEN are pushing for ‘privilege’!

• Well there you have it.. John hates feminists, the women who have fought for women to have equal rights to men.

It may interest you to know John that the reason for the bias towards mothers in this country comes from the notion that women are there to breed and be mothers. The reason fathers do not have automatic rights to their kids is because of sexist ideals – sexist ideals that feminists have rallied against..

But you hate them. Even though the majority support equal rights for fathers, indeed, many are male – sadly that cannot extend to granting autonomy over the woman’s body to the father..

• A sure abortion is murder anyway

• Abortion is not medicine- it does not treat or cure any pathology. This tragic case demonstrates that a medical condition has risks, the procedure of removing a living foetus would be equally risky to the healthy and life of the mother.

• It would have ended her labour. And at least she would have been given options for her care and her views respected. Why are pregnant women the one patients who are denied aggressive treatment?

• And you are qualified to make such a sweeping and wide ranging statement? Are you also privvy to facts about this case that the rest of us arent??

• Correction: Termination, if carried out by qualified personnel, is an identified medical/surgical procedure, for which the relevant are actually trained to carry out (Even in Ireland). The medical condition to which you refer – pregnancy – does have risks identified with it, one of which is the risk of miscarriage. The leading risk that arises from a prolonged term of miscarriage is that of sepsis, for which the only way to avoid is by carrying out a termination and sealing any wounds that arise, thus protecting the patient against possible infection. Termination of a pregnancy does carry its risks, as does any other surgical procedure, however the doctors and midwives are trained more than adequately to contend with any risks that do arise. Hope this helps your POV.

• ” the procedure of removing a living foetus would be equally risky to the healthy and life of the mother.”

No, It wouldn’t. It would have saved her life. The sad fact is, some pregnancies are non-viable and an abortion can save the life of the mother, and end the suffering of a foetus that was never meant to live.

• I hope your not training as a doctor!

• John donavan is not a troll john just has an opinion different to the pro unrestricted abortion camp. I have to agree with some of johns views where does the father stand with this situation if I get someone pregnant yes it her body but its half my genetic material what if I want to go ahead and raise the child and the woman wants an abortion or in the other case that I want nothing to do with the child but the mother wants to go ahead with the pregnancy and comes after me through the courts for child support where are men rights in this?

• Then Michael what is your opinion re John Donavan’s comments he made yesterday against Catholics for their stance against abortion? See his comments in relation to yesterday’s article and see for yourself. Troll? Hypocrite? Confused? Take your pick. Don’t take my word for it see his comments for yourself http://www.thejournal.ie/savita-death-abortion-x-case-ireland-673744-Nov2012/nnEither which way savita had a right to live and a termination should have been carried out. She wanted it, her husband wanted it. Legislation needs to be clarified/ changed on this issue.n

• Irene im just going by his comments in this thread I myself dont agree with unregulated abortion ie were the mothers life isnt at risk but that is outweighed by my opinion that people have right to choose wheather they have one or not but ill admitt that I am worried about if I want to raise the child but the womab goes and has an abortion anyway

• Because as this story shows all too well, childbirth is risky. Even if they don’t die, plenty of women suffer chronic health issues as a result. You don’t get to decide for a woman to gamble her health.

• Your right is to use contraception. If you can carry the foetus inside you, you can have equal say.

I’m sick of people saying that a man contributing a whole £30 a week towards raising their own offspring is the same as a woman having her body permanently altered and having primary care responsibilities for the rest of the child’s life.

• Why is it that a guy wants to be a father to at unepected potential child the bad guy. Im sorry evolution chose women to carry a baby for nine months it takes two to make a baby why should only one have a say wheather it lives to be born if both are ok then I dont have a problem.

• Because the foetus is currently living off the woman’s womb. Until a man is going to experience possible health complications from the pregnancy, he can’t force a woman to offer up her body against her will.

Any human being forcing another human being to offer up their body against their will is awful close to slavery for my liking.

• I understand youre arguement all im saying is that the guy has to be considered too imagine that you get excite about becoming a dad even if its unplanned only to find out that because the woman out right doesnt want the baby and she terminates it with out considering him its going to be distressing for the guy. Alsi if you turn the tables the she wants the kid but he doesnt she can perssue him for child support regardless how much he contrabutes. Im saying force her do one thing or the other as I said it takes two to make a baby I know guys cant carry the thing but its half there genetic material afterall

Also on the point about health issues if every pregnancy carried a huge risk of complications no one would have children its unfortunette as it is with that poor woman in galway that there can be health issue but most are ok

• While not a lot of women die, a lot end up with health complications. Post partum depression, chronic body pain, gestational diabetes, pre-eclampsia. Pregnancy is an incredibly physically trying process.

But if you think there should be equal rights, Michael, do you feel a man should be able to force a woman to have an abortion?

• my apologies in my reply I ment to say that im not for forcing anyone into anything im just saying that maybe have a be a bit of consideration about the genuine guy that wants to be a father what affect an abortion of his unborn child might have on him I know personaly I would be devestated while as I said I understand your point view your right that its not the guy physicly carrying the baby you dont seem to consider the implications of this on a guy we are not all heartless and run at the first sign of a kid

On the point of the health issue im struggling to grasp why anyone would have a child if we all followed your out look on having kids is so life destroying

• Because most women WANT to risk it because they genuinely want to be mothers. But it is a difficult physical process and for most women, the risks are less than the reward of having a baby. So plenty of women will have children, why should we force those who don’t want to risk it?

I have every sympathy for a man who wishes for a pregnancy to continue. It must be a horrible situation and ideally, a couple would make it together. I simply can’t support giving him legal rights over the woman’s body.

• The current medical guidelines make it abundantly clear that in the extremely rare cases when a mother’s life is threatened, the baby may be taken. It is a clear application of the Natural law of double effect, it is not taking the child’s life intentionally but as side-effect. Adding a threat to health, externally, as in fear of suicide is not a direct threat to the mother’s life and destroying the child is morally and should be legally evil.
    The USA and UK and probably other nations have a lot of botched abortions while Ireland, with no actual law, except common sense as above, has the safest record of mother and child safety in all of Europe. “Do the math.” I”IF it aint broke, don’t fix it” is wise rural humour for all of us in every situation.

Add New Comment