TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Priests attack cardinal’s report on ‘gay-friendly’ college

A group of Irish priests have labelled the investigation “prurient” and “incompetent”, and said it may have been motivated by homophobia.

Report author Cardinal Timothy Dolan addressing reporters in New York earlier this year
Image: Jason DeCrow/AP/Press Association Images

A GROUP OF Irish priests have attacked a cardinal’s report on the Pontifical Irish College for seminarians in Rome, calling it “prurient” and “incompetent”.

The Association of Catholic Priests (ACP), a reformist group within the Irish church, issued an angry statement after details of Cardinal Timothy Dolan’s investigation emerged yesterday. The report found the college had a reputation for being ‘gay-friendly’.

The ACP called for the report – the result of an official Apostolic Visitation – to be repudiated by Ireland’s archbishops, and suggested it was homophobic and could be libellous.

Cardinal Dolan’s team had made “clear efforts” in a “prurient” way to find evidence to support their conceptions of “the college’s ‘gay-friendly’ reputation,” the statement said.

According to the Irish Times, Dolan’s report found that the college has an “unfortunate” reputation for being gay-friendly. It discussed specific allegations against four seminarians, all of whom were named in the report.

The Association of Catholic Priests’ statement continued:

The report’s conclusion that ‘the overwhelming majority of the seminarians are committed to a faithful, chaste lifestyle’ does not justify the detailed, even prurient reporting and naming of individuals [...] Is this just incompetence or perhaps homophobia? A charge of the latter could easily be justified.

It said that the four priests involved had not been given a right of reply, and that their reputations had been “effectively destroyed” by the allegations.

It is unacceptable that a report to the Pope, on a sensitive issue, should be conducted in such an incompetent fashion. No court of law would treat people in such a way.

In a response given to the Irish Times, the four Irish archbishops who are trustees of the college said that an initial report seen by them had contained “serious errors of fact”.

Read: Cardinal Brady expresses ‘deep shame’ over Church abuse>

Read next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• JayK 16/06/12 #

Cows go moo, sheep go baa, the Catholic church is homophobic.

• Gay friendly = bad .Young innocent boy friendly = Good.

• In the true spirit of Christianity, tolerance in the Catholic churches alive and well. Turn the other cheek and all that jazz. Hypocrites.

• This is what we need more of, accountability. The Catholic Church needs to move with the times. Let us not throw the baby with the bath water.
    The church needs to challenge itself.
    I applaud this association for taking a stance. It’s a brave move against a powerful institution.

• There is no point in Catholic bashing. Each to their own. I only wish those who claim to be catholic would continue to be just that. And those who claim they are but don’t believe in anything they do should grow up and leave the organisation. No need for nastiness. Just be true to yourself.

• @sunflower Catholic-bashing is not ok but clerics gay-bashing is? Each to their own? The Catholic Church discriminates, while gay people are just gay. It’s not a question of each to their own. And being critical of beliefs is not ‘nastiness’. It’s common sense to be critical of Nazi-lite institutions which are bigoted. You see this in very black and white terms. A lot of what the Church does is fantastic but it doesn’t mean people have to believe every teaching and be devout. if the Church doesn’t allow for gay marriage, it seems strange that gay people are given the Last Rites and Catholic funerals, which are very important and functional ceremonies for a la carte Catholics.

• It’s already on its way out the door I think. More people were in lasts years Gay Pride Parade than the Eucharistic Congress. That might be my favourite statistic of all time. I think most people here are only culturally catholic. We don’t believe at all, and when the next generation start having kids that’ll be the end of it. So as far as this homosexual is concerned, roar all you want lads, we won

• The catholic church believes that homosexuality is a sin. It’s hardly surprising that they put out such a statement. They have a right to their beliefs. Now if more people who CLAIM to be Catholics yet decry the church’s stance would stop being hypocritical in supporting this institution and would just stop subscribing to it , it would fizzle out . I find it interesting that so called Catholics are outraged by their own organisations position. If you don’t like it , leave. Stop pretending you go to mass every Sunday , stop signing your children up to baptism , communions and confirmation. Leave the church to those who follow all of it’s teachings to the letter. It’s their right. of course if everyone stood up and was really counted , I’d say that less that ten percent are true Catholics , following every rule and law of the church.

• Why are these buffoons still newsworthy? What they say is instantly going to be bigoted and hypocritical, why bother even reporting it any more? Don’t give them the oxygen of publicity.

• This gives a little more detail on the content of the report http://www.catholicnews.com/data/stories/cns/1202544.htm

• The Catholic church is finished. My Ganddad said no priests died in the famine and they helped the British when we was under their rule.

• Your Grandad must be getting on a bit if he can remember as far back as the famine !

• @richard: “In 1847 alone, at least thirty-six priests died in Ireland from Famine related disease, sixteen of them during the month of May.” The Kerry Examiner reported the obituaries of Father Jeremiah Falvey, curate Patrick Tuohy, Reverend Thomas Enright, and Reverend Michael Devine. The Kerry Evening Post reported the death of Reverend John Gallivan from fever. The Tralee Chronicle reported the death of Fr John O’Donoghue, and noted that “at the present moment, in this diocese, there are no less than eight Roman Catholic Clergymen on the bed of fever, contracted during their ministrations. . . . All this great work by the (Presentation) nuns took its toll on their health. Worn out by sheer exhaustion, many caught fever and some died. Amongst those who paid the supreme sacrifice were: Sisters Angela Love, Mary Joseph O’Kane, Philomena Moriarty, Ignatius Martin in Listowel; (and) Sister Catherine Vize, aged 27, Castleisland. ” (The Kerry Archeological and Historical Society: The Famine in Kerry, pp.28 and 57)

• t

Well done to the Irish Times for leading on this story.The Vatican is overcome with zeal for the past.So it is pronouncing verdicts on the most unlikely groups,American nuns,the Girl Guides of America and now upon the priests and students of the Irish college.Irish priests already have said that they came under scrutiny by means of a “visitation” which involved them being treated like idiots.The results are that these people are being labelled as not being “Roman” enough.It goes for nothing that Pope JohnXX111 said he recognised diversity and approved of it(he himself had served many years in Bulgaria and in France where things were not conducted in the Roman fashion)-the Curia is hell bent on uniformity and this is an attitude which hinders good relations with other faiths.The present Holy Father is a kindly old man and a scholar but has no interest in wrestling with the civil servants around him in this renaissance style court.AS a result they are steering the ship onto the rocks giving no heed to the cries of the faithful who have not forgotten the illumination heralded by Pope John.

• Not believing in a deity (whether christian or not) does not mean that you do not believe in anything.
    @ Colm Doyle – Surely you recognise that Ireland is a primarily Cathilic, white society? Surely you recognise that Catholic doctorine permeates Irish culture? If you don’t see that you’re blind. It would be nice if things were different but maybe those who believe in morality without faith in a deity will eventually feel that they have a place in what is in some ways a national clique?

• Shower of hypocrites in Dublin all week! Obvious they have nothing better to do!

• Mary. You can’t make a sweeping statement like that. Many good, decent people went to these events. It mightn’t be your cup of tea but at least respect the rights of others to express their beliefs without expressing a sweeping generalisation like you know them all personally.

• The Catholic church IS homophobic and macho to boot.Full stop.

Add New Comment