TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Column: Why Ireland should look to Europe as well as America

Mary Harney famously claimed that Ireland was “closer to Boston than Berlin” – but it’s now time to reassess, writes Kate Katharina Ferguson.

Kate Katharina Ferguson

IT WAS THE summer of 2000 and things were going swimmingly. Ireland was the fastest growing economy in the developed world and the unemployment rate had dropped from 10 per cent to five per cent in three years. Mary Harney, second in command, had been invited to address the annual meeting of the American Bar Association at Blackhall Place in Dublin.

Her short speech sparked a debate which has since become known as “Boston or Berlin.” Harney drew attention to Ireland’s unique position wedged between Europe and America and summarised the characteristics commonly associated with each continent. Europe stood for social inclusion and governmental regulation while America championed the freedom of the individual and minimal government involvement. She acknowledged that they were simplified descriptions but concluded that “spiritually we are probably a lot closer to Boston than Berlin.”

Twelve years later, Ireland’s unemployment rate is 14.9 per cent, emigration is at its highest rate since the 1980s and the continents on both sides of our shores are in crisis.

Without the background roar of the Celtic Tiger and the allure of shiny cars and kitchen extensions, now might be the time to revisit the debate from a more sober perspective. What did Harney mean when she said we were “spiritually” closer to Boston than Berlin? Was she referring to our economic model, which had been defined by tax cuts and incentives for foreign investors? Or was she talking about our common language, our history and culture; our national psyche?

Hovering between

Whether or not economic policy can be divorced from the ideology or “spirit” of a place is debatable. Nevertheless, even in fiscal terms, Ireland hovered between “Boston and Berlin” by matching corporate incentives with a generous welfare system.

Our identity crisis is totally understandable. We are a tiny, teddy-bear shaped island on the outskirts of Europe and on the passageway to America. We’ve only been independent since 1922. And we stayed out of the Second World War.

This second fact is absolutely central to any lack of affinity we have with Europe. The European Union we know today is the product of a collective abhorrence of the horrors suffered and inflicted during the war and a resolve – at all costs – to prevent evil from recurring. The focus has always been on unity. The foundation of the United States, on the other hand, arose from a very different impulse: a determination for independence and resistance to the coloniser.

We can relate more to the latter than to the former. We too rose up against what we conceived as an oppressor. And though we can read and learn about it, we cannot really fathom the horrors of World War II. Here in Berlin, they are etched into bronze plaques on buildings, in concrete slabs on train platforms and in the minds of thousands whose lives were brutally dismantled.

Ireland is in a lucky place: we are liked by our neighbours on both sides. Americans find us charming and endearing and mainland Europeans find us wholesome, mysterious and other-worldly.

And while we happily consume and model American culture, we are less familiar with that of our closer neighbours in Europe.

Getting away with it

German, with over 90 million native speakers, is the most spoken language in Europe but only 18 per cent of Irish school pupils learn the language. That compares with the 94 per cent of German and 99 per cent of French pupils learning English. Of course, English has become the biggest international language of trade and technology and we can easily “get away” with not knowing another foreign language, but we also lose out on the opportunities to work, travel and immerse ourselves in a new culture elsewhere in the European Union, safe in the knowledge that our basic living needs will be met by our membership.

To live and work in Boston you must prove that no American would be fit to take your job whereas to live and work in Berlin, you just need to turn up and register yourself with the authorities.

America is a place where a large portion of people do not believe that it is the government’s responsibility to protect its most vulnerable citizens and where a channel with as big a following as Fox News can claim without irony that the Muppets movie promotes a Communist agenda. It might be united by a common language and culture but its artificial two-party system results in less understanding and consensus than the 23 languages of the European Union do.

Back in Blackhall Place in the summer of 2000, Mary Harney, referring to Ireland’s economic model said, “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”

Now that it’s very much broken, we might do well to look at Berlin as well as Boston.

Kate Katharina Ferguson is an Irish journalist working in Berlin. She writes at katekatharina.com and you can follow her on Twitter at @KateKatharina.

Read previous columns from Kate Katharina Ferguson on TheJournal.ie here>

Read next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• If Mary’s pension was closer to Berlin it would half!

• Harney was wrong, we are closer to Bristol than either Boston or Berlin.

• The PD were the only party that said we should avoid a dangerous spending Bubble by not including the property stamp duty cash in current spending as it was a temporary tax take. Of course the anti PD of the time slapped them down.

• The PDs were mostly responsible for the financial meltdown. (sorry to burst your bubble tommynewnewman). The biggest single causal factor was ‘deregulation’. The philosophy closest to the hearts, minds and policies of the PDs.

• In monetary history, 38000 known fiat currencies have come and gone. The average life span of a fiat currency is 38-40 years.
      Frequently, fiat currency systems collapse with the bursting of a credit bubble-induced by the loose monetary policies concieved by politicans/central bankers. As with China’s flying money, US continental and Weirmar’s Reiches Mark.
      The current crisis was not caused by deregulation, but was an inevitable and predictable consequence of the abandonment of the Bretton Woods monetary system in 1971.

• Sean, the bretton woods conference was in 1944. It was at the mount Washington hotel in new Hampshire.

• Declan, I was referring to the monetary system rather than conference. I’ve attached an article for your convenience.
      http://economics.about.com/od/foreigntrade/a/bretton_woods.htm

• Balderdash Sean O’Keeffe. What currencies did the PDs collapse?

No mention of derivatives, sub prime lending, or any of the issues listed below. When the financial powerhouse that is America deregulates its financial institutions and it appears to work, other countries will follow suit. Which was what Mary Harney was alluding to in her Boston/Berlin comment and the type of policies advocated by the PDs.

In 2004, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission relaxed the net capital rule, which enabled investment banks to substantially increase the level of debt they were taking on, fueling the growth in mortgage-backed securities supporting subprime mortgages. The SEC has conceded that self-regulation of investment banks contributed to the crisis.

Depository Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Control Act of 1980 (DIDMCA) phased out a number of restrictions on banks’ financial practices, broadened their lending powers, and raised the deposit insurance limit from $40,000 to $100,000 (raising the problem of moral hazard). Banks rushed into real estate lending, speculative lending, and other ventures just as the economy soared.

Alan Greenspan fought to keep the derivatives market unregulated. With the advice of the President’s Working Group on Financial Markets,the U.S. Congress and President allowed the self-regulation of the over-the-counter derivatives market when they enacted the Commodity Futures Modernization Act of 2000.

• @Charles.

“What is fraud except creating “value” from nothing and passing it off as something? Frauds interlink and grow upon each other. Our debt-based money system serves as the fraud foundation. In our debt-based money system, debt must grow in order to create money. Therefore, there is no way to pay off aggregate debt with available money. More money must be lent into the system to make the payments for old debts. This causes overall debt to expand as new money for actual people (vs. banks) always arrives at interest and compounds exponentially. This process is called financialization.”
      Business Insider 12/03/12

The fiat currency system created in 1971 is a debt based money system. To prevent government profligacy, the system is designed so all new currency is issued as collaterallised debt. Either fractional reserve banks or central banks create new money (as debt).
      The inherent flaw in the system is that, to service existing debt (or issuance of new currency) increasingly greater quantities of collaterallised currency/debt needs to be issued. This is exactly what has happened since 1971 and the currency/debt expansion has been increasing at an exponential rate.
      It took the US 200 years to issue $1 trillion in currency. Forty years after Bretton Woods was abandoned it had issued another $14 trillion.
      http://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://www.brillig.com/debt_clock/history.gif&imgrefurl=http://www.brillig.com/debt_clock/faq.html&h=471&w=474&sz=6&tbnid=TkQVNmRtf3BBbM:&tbnh=90&tbnw=91&prev=/search%3Fq%3DUS%2Bnational%2Bdebt%2Bclock%2B1940%2Bto%2Bpresent%26tbm%3Disch%26tbo%3Du&zoom=1&q=US+national+debt+clock+1940+to+present&usg=__C5YEKut2NUfCCzMLbWij-AuihcU=&docid=p33EN20xmuOVmM&hl=en&sa=X&ei=nPpMULaoEJOChQf-84GICg&ved=0CDcQ9QEwAzgK&dur=1555

Infinite currency can be issued in theory. The problem is collateralising new debt. Infinite new debt cannot be issued without a collateral drought.
      Wall Street with the connivance of the state and regulators began issuing rubbish as premium quality securities. The unmortgageable were issued mortgages just for showing up at a bank. European banks threw money at clearly overheating periphery nations to secure collateral to deposit with the ECB to access more cheap funds to throw at periphery nations. etc etc
      Governments and regulators did not prevent the financial sector from doing what needed to be done to prevent the collapse of the fiat currency illusion. Governments and regulators not only permitted the issuance of subprime mortgages and securitised derivatives. They were complicate in this and any regulator who tried to halt it would have been sacked before breakfast.
      This had nothing to do with ideology. Deregulation absolved the establishment of responsibilty.

• Sean O’Keeffe, the conclusion of your argument states that “Governments and regulators did not prevent…” so lack of regulation is your primary conclusion. In reality deregulation preceded the no or light touch regulation. The operative word here is ‘regulation’ which was an anathema to PD political philosophy.

As you agree and conclude that regulation or lack of it was the cause, the ‘Bretton Woods’ argument is thus tangentially introduced to create a nebulous sub-topic and detract from the main thrust of the argument!

• @Charles.
      In your initial comment you state that-” The biggest single causal factor was ‘deregulation’.” This is an, often repeated, factually incorrect hypothesis. My comment above may be difficult to grasp. Put simply the greatest contributing factor to this crisis was the adoption of an inherently unstable monetary system. Regulation or deregulation is an irrelevence. The establishment were never going to effectively enforce a regulatory environment that would impede monetary/credit expansion.
      In the absence of a fiat currency monetary system there would have been no credit bubble in Europe’s periphery nations, no issuance of fraudulent securities and no subprime mortgage crisis.
      It is useful for those that can grasp this concept; that have some insight into the functional corruption that has created this crisis and the establishment culture that supports it. Last week the ECB announced a lowering of collateral requirements for the issuance of new funds/debt:

“Change in eligibility for central government assets: The Governing Council of the ECB has decided to suspend the application of the minimum credit rating threshold in the collateral eligibility requirements for the purposes of the Eurosystem’s credit operations in the case of marketable debt instruments issued or guaranteed by the central government, and credit claims granted to or guaranteed by the central government, of countries that are eligible for Outright Monetary Transactions or are under an EU-IMF programme and comply with the attached conditionality as assessed by the Governing Council.”
      Bloomberg 6/09/12

In essence, the ECB are giving up the pretence of accepting fraudulently rated collateral for the issuance of new currency and are moving the goalposts to accept the contents of members waste paper baskets as collateral for new funds. The cultural corruption that created this crisis is thriving. Central banks are actively ensuring the exponential expansion of debt is not impeded, as they have for decades.

• Sean O’Keeffe, it seems to have escaped your attention that my comment was in the context of Irish politics and about how our financial meltdown was caused by the disastrous bank guarantee which was the result of light touch regulation, deregulation and no regulation of the banks by our government parties. It remains the biggest single causal factor in the meltdown in Irish government finances. You erroneously take’ ‘meltdown’ to mean global financial meltdown for which the PDs are not responsible.

Had my comments been about the global monetary system or on capitalism then your interjections may have been valid. However even the great Lord McDowell had no influence over “the abandonment of the Bretton Woods monetary system in 1971″. It is lunacy to suggest that any Irish political party had influence over or caused the global financial meltdown.

• “You have to choose [as a voter] between trusting to the natural stability of gold and the natural stability and intelligence of the members of the government. And with due respect to these gentlemen, I advise you, as long as the capitalist system lasts, to vote for gold.”

George Bernard Shaw

• The collateral drought problem hasn’t gone away. Meanwhile US authorities/legislators attempt to shepherd markets towards another fraudulently rated security-US treasuries.

“JPMorgan Chase & Co. (JPM) and Bank of America Corp. are helping clients find an extra $2.6 trillion to back derivatives trades amid signs that a shortage of quality collateral will erode efforts to safeguard the financial system.
      Starting next year, new rules designed to prevent another meltdown will force traders to post U.S. Treasury bonds or other top-rated holdings to guarantee more of their bets. The change takes effect as the $10.8 trillion market for Treasuries is already stretched thin by banks rebuilding balance sheets and investors seeking safety, leaving fewer bonds available to backstop the $648 trillion derivatives market.
      The solution: At least seven banks plan to let customers swap lower-rated securities that don’t meet standards in return for a loan of Treasuries or similar holdings that do qualify, a process dubbed “collateral transformation.” That’s raising concerns among investors, bank executives and academics that measures intended to avert risk are hiding it instead.”
      Bloomberg 10/09/12

http://www.businessinsider.com/marc-faber-us-treasuries-biggest-bubble-ever-2012-6

Does the initiator and greatest instigator of financial fraud (the nation state) have the credibility to regulate anything? 

• “If all economists were laid end to end, they would not reach a conclusion.”
      George Bernard Shaw

• I think that this whole “Boston v Berlin” thing has been completely blown up out of all proportion. My guess is that she was just plámasing the American audience that she was talking to at the time.

• Boston? Berlin? What can’t we just be Bray?

• Poor article. Indulges the dumb American/ intellectually superior European stereotype.
    Why do some Irish people need to define themselves as pseudo-Americans or pseudo-Europeans? We have an identity of our own.

• Hi Sean, ” Indulges the dumb American/ intellectually superior European stereotype.” How so?
      It’s very rare-and dangerous-for a person or country to identify themselves in isolation. You can be proud of your identity while acknowledging and discussing what influenced it.

• Hi Kate,

Apologies for not replying sooner.

I’ve copy/pasted excerpts from your article that I’ve referred to in my comment.
      “German, with over 90 million native speakers, is the most spoken language in Europe but only 18 per cent of Irish school pupils learn the language. That compares with the 94 per cent of German and 99 per cent of French pupils learning English.”

“America is a place where a large portion of people do not believe that it is the government’s responsibility to protect its most vulnerable citizens and where a channel with as big a following as Fox News can claim without irony that the Muppets movie promotes a Communist agenda. It might be united by a common language and culture but its artificial two-party system results in less understanding and consensus than the 23 languages of the European Union do.”

“Our identity crisis is totally understandable. We are a tiny, teddy-bear shaped island on the outskirts of Europe and on the passageway to America.”

“we happily consume and model American culture, we are less familiar with that of our closer neighbours in Europe.”

mod·el/ˈmädl/
      Noun:
      A three-dimensional representation of a person or thing or of a proposed structure, typically on a smaller scale than the original.
      Verb:
      Fashion or shape (a three-dimensional figure or object) in a malleable material such as clay or wax.
      Synonyms:
      noun. pattern – sample – example – exemplar – specimen – type
      verb. shape – mold – mould – fashion – pattern

Two cliches you use in your article that, I believe, should be more sparingly utilised.
      Firstly, the dumb, bigoted/backward Americans.
      Secondly, the universal love/fondness for the Irish. In truth, in recent history we have been treated rather shabbily by our European and American cousins.
      While many Europeans have been sympathetic to Irelands plight, equally many are indifferent and believe any grumbling regarding our, mostly, self-inflicted martyrdom should not be entertained.
      Equally with respect to the US. Saint Barach Obama’s Treasury secretary (Timothy Geithner) insisted Irelands taxpayers compensate bank bondholders completely.
      Another cliche, of recent, shows the Irish universally viewed as saps, whose interests took a backseat to those of Boston and Berlin. God helps those who help themselves. Maybe, we should remodel ourselves as a people who stand up for themselves and worry less about how we are viewed in Boston and Berlin.

• Forget Boston or Berlin, Ireland should look towards Beijing

• Xadovan 09/09/12 #

Something like 1 out of 4 people in Massachusetts have Irish ancestry. Also Fox News? Massachusetts is one of the most liberal states in the US and is basically a one-party state with Democrats holding something like 80% of all elected positions. Even the Republicans that manage to get elected there are moderate. They also have welfare programs, close to 100% health care coverage, no death penalty, gay marriage, gun control, etc. They even have political corruption like Ireland but they actually go to prison there.

• There was nothing new in Harneys Boston/Berlin speech- all she was doing was repeating the findings of research done by the Dutch cultural psychologist Geert Hofstede from 20 years previous but not giving him the credit in an effort to make herself look smart.

It was him who discovered that culturally Ireland is an anomaly in that we are much closer to American cultural values and beliefs on his cultural dimensions scale than we are to European ones.

Both ourselves and the Americans showed up in his research as the worlds biggest risk takers and individualists in stark contrast to mainland Europe’s aversion to risk and collectivist leanings.

Gunther likes slow steady growth for all of society collectively whereas Paddy and Chad want it all for themselves and they want it now and therefore take much bigger risks in business and law breaking as a society at large.

You can sum up the cultural difference between here and Germany by observing how citizens of each country react to a red man at a pedestrian light- the Irish take a risk, break the law and cross on red whereas the average European doesn’t budge on red even when there is no traffic coming. America s have laws against jay walking which is a pretty good indication that they’d follow the Irish way given the chance.

But the key difference between ourselves and America is that they encourage risk taking except when it threatens the State or society, at which point they punish it severely (Ken Lay, CEO of Enron-127 year prison sentence, Bernie Madoff, 145 years) whereas we don’t – our property developers and bankers are essentially failed businessmen who messed up to the point of threatening the State and losing us economic sovereignty but instead of punishment we rewarded them with bailouts.

• Very interesting

• Thanks for this Derek. It’s interesting you mention that Americans differentiate between risk-taking that threatens the state and society and that which doesn’t. You’d think the principle would be the same. And generally where an individual takes a big risk and fails, society will be affected too. Would like to learn more about Hofstede’s research!

• The findings of one study are not accepted as fact by academia. One study is allowed to activate interest in the subject and only when the results of several studies have been analysed is one entitled to draw estimations. Similarly anecdotal evidence is not accepted and good work demands scientific evidence or evidence gathered using scientific methods.

Ireland was a collectivists society until very recently and it is true that through the influence of films and TV the Irish have been Americanised to a certain extent.

One can no more say that the Irish financial collapse was due to a cultural flaw of risk taking. It is an argument to take advantage of the ignorant. It would be like blaming Dutch culture for going mad on Tulip bulbs or blaming English culture for rabid investing in a South Sea Bubble. The argument put forward by Derek Larney is as illogical as blaming German housewives for causing Germany’s currency collapse.

What is characteristic of certain sections of Irish society is the use of snobbery in overcompensation for one’s lack of status. But then again the evidence is anecdotal!

• Good article. I think we need to find a happy medium between ‘Boston & Berlin’. When times are good, the lacklustre approach to regulation is fine, but when things start going belly-up, people start to point the finger. The Germans seem to have a good model, but we cannot ‘do as the Germans do’. Us Irish have a different mindset. Ie look at our spending habits during the last 10 years. 2 Holidays, new cars etc. The Irish never had that sense of wealth and wanted to take advantage of it. Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but if we are to recover and build from it, we have to learn from the past and swallow some humble pie. There’s no easy fix to this problem, contrary to what some parties make you believe.

• Total nonsense. You bring to bear a raft of stereotypes which are defined as mental shortcuts which we use to avoid having to think. We see here the use of classic stereotypes of “Us Irish” and dem Germans. Nobody (in the history of the universe) has said that the British, Americans, Germans, Dutch ad inf. had “never had that sense of wealth” as the primary reason for their economic bubbles and resultant financial collapses.

• So it wasn’t a case of ‘Sure, it’ll be grand’ approach to regulation that got us here?. We made some horrible mistakes, and the sooner we acknowledge them, rather than spouting the old “Bleedin’ Bondholders” line, the sooner we can move on.

• Yep the same deregulation that caused the financial collapse in America, Britain and the Eurozone! No mention of the Dubliners who spent €300k on a shoebox or €600k on a 3 bed semi and were unable calculate the sustainability of their mortgages. Everyone else it to blame caus dey are all tik.

• Boston or Berlin..Europe or US…either or..

How bout a little heretical, spherical-earth, 21st century thinking…before we finish the 6th great extinction and join the other dinosaurs, who at least had the excuse that it wasn’t self-inflicted??

The article is full of simplistic, historicaly ignorant, trite shite.
    But sure, as long as they pay me…how many pages do you want?How much per word?

• Hi Damien,

Why don’t you write a response piece full of heretical, spherical-earth, 21st century thinking? I’d be interested in reading it.

If the article is simplistic and historically ignorant maybe you could explain how specifically. “Trite shite” just doesn’t go far enough.

And for the record, I don’t get paid for writing here.

• Sound, Kate..and no offence..but as someone who was washed out by the Murfia tide(more than once), and returned with considerable damage several times, I found that ‘generous welfare’ a little provocative…given the slush-finds slushing around the coffers of the insiders to our whole Eurocentric/US, flat-earth consumptive economic lockstep. I had to borrow the fare out..to Berlin as it happens, in the late ’80s. I’ve been in and out of this sick little island since the ’60s.

Your ‘foundation’ of America also simplifies the horrors of the imperial destruction of viable civilisations for religious/sectarian, slaver and gold-hunting, predatory destruction of ‘savages’(which is being continued in the resource-wars of the M.E. at the moment)into some land-without-people for a refugee-people-without-land paradigm we are witnessing again in the 21st century continuation of the same game. The Pilgrim Fathers, who were fed and instructed by the native peoples in their ignorance of local agriculture, rewarded their benefactors with traditional European forked-tongued betrayal and slaughter.
      No; ‘trite shite’ was an unfair summation, but I grow tired of writing extended refutations of the slurry of professional disinformation to ‘reputable media’ only to have it ignored and binned..for the same remuneration.

If you really are interested in further reading..google the 6th extinction…both Boston and Berlin are driving it. Its ‘good-cop/bad-cop’ pincer moves.

• Kate is factually incorrect. The Irish not only know a foreign language but speak it with near fluency, it is called English.

Unlike the Dutch the Irish are less fluent in their native language. Maybe we should be closer to Eindhoven than Boston or Berlin and we might get on with the Germans like the Dutch do.

• How is English foreign? It is spoken by 99% of all Irish people. Yes, for some a long time ago, it replaced Gaelic but it too is a ‘foreign’ import. All this Boston Berlin rubbish. Have we not got the self confidence to be ourselves and accept who we are?

• Cén fáth go bfhuil tú ag scríobh i mBéarla mar sin, Charles?

• Eric De Red, seriously do we have to give you a geography lesson or point out that England is a foreign import into Britain! We have the audacity to think we have an educated population when when people like Eric demonstrate that ignorance not only abounds but reigns supreme.

• Kate a stór, mar bíonn an abhar seo scríobhta sa Bearla is gá go bíonn na tuairimí scríobhta tré Bearla freisin. Ná bí dúr.

• Kate, ina theannta sin, cén fáth nach raibh do phíosa scríofa tríd an teanga Ghearmáinise?

• And what we term as English is itself an import to England, just look at old English, it is a completely different language.

All languages and cultures have evolved over time, Irish culture now incorporates 2 languages and to fail to accept both is naive of modern Irish society

• @ Charles Windsor

Where have I been factually incorrect? Educate me!

• Eric De Red, is Ireland England? Because if it is England is Germany. Perhaps England is France as 70% of its words are French in origin!

So English language is 70 % French and about 95% of its words are foreign when German, French and Latin words are taken into account.

By any definition the English language is of a foreign origin in Ireland. It is a foreign language. If you want say the Irish language is foreign then why is it called Irish? Why is it called English and not Irish? Why is English called English and not Anglo French?

Deaf ears, Eric De Red are not easily educated but empty vessels still make the most noise.

• Vocal Outrage, exactly my point. We have two languages in Ireland (with official recognition). One domestic and one foreign. Just like France, Germany, The Netherlands etc. but unlike the United Kingdom which has no requirement to learn a foreign language. How come they are so content in the knowledge that they “easily “get away” with not knowing another foreign language”.

Paddys seldom use logic when writing articles for publication.

• @ Charles Windsor

Gaelic is not peculiar to Ireland. It has no more claim to be uniquely Irish than English. it is only defined as such by people with a lack of self belief who need to appeal to a sense of racist jingoism to justify independent statehood.

By your definition, Gaelic itself is German given its origins and as such is as foreign as any other language spoken in this island today.

As it is, the language of Ireland is English. English is not foreign in Ireland.

• Gaelic (as you call it) was brought to Scotland by the Irish. The very name of the country translates as the land of the Irish. So that is why you erroneously think that Irish in not ‘peculiar’ to Ireland. The name England is a misspelling deriving from the land of the Angles, a Germanic tribe that invaded Britain and brought their language with them. So English is a foreign language in Britain as but does anyone regard it as a foreign language? Which begs the question why do some daft Paddys regard Irish as a foreign language? All languages are foreign to all countries by such faulty logic.

To claim that the Irish people who affirm that the Irish language is Irish is an act of jingoism or racism is plainly an absurd claim, indicative of a mind not versed in thinking. Its lethargy manifest in prejudices that save one lots of time in having to think. “Prejudices, it is well known, are most difficult to eradicate from the heart whose soil has never been loosened or fertilised by education: they grow there, firm as weeds among stones.” – Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

• Full of sound and fury indicating nothing

• Ireland’s actually in a very interesting position in terms of its global connections.
    On the one hand we have deep links through our diaspora and a common language to the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand and direct historical links to the UK. The connections with these countries are so deep that we share an almost common legal system and business environment which is a massive advantage when it comes to doing business and interacting.

We have deep links to other European countries through proximity and the European Union. However, we also have huge connections to France, Spain, Italy, Belgium and Italy through historical contacts between educational institutions, Catholic organisations etc.

I thinks sometimes we also underestimate the cultural connections we have with France, many of which are quite recent. French people are very aware of Oscar Wilde and Beckett as well as the connections to names like Hennessy (Cognac) in the Southwest of France.

During the boom times in Ireland, we also developed deep links to parts of Eastern Europe, particularly Poland which will stand to us in the future. Because Ireland and Britain are English-speaking and because we opened our doors to people from Eastern Europe ahead of the rest of Europe, thousands came to Ireland and experienced life here and have created personal and business contacts that we could not have even imagined before.

It has given Ireland (and the UK) connections into Eastern Europe and an understanding of Eastern European culture that is almost unequaled anywhere else in the EU.

Then we also have a rather unique set of contacts through the old British Empire. We had a terrible relationship with imperial Britain and we were in direct conflict with it. Our country is pretty much defined by an independence struggle against it. That struggle is mirrored in hundreds of former British colonies all over the world.
    I think it’s something we also really need to make more use of. We have all the same connections the UK has, without all the imperial baggage.

Then, if you want to take it to our cultural influence. For an island that has a population of around 6.4 million (4.2 in the Republic) we have HUGE cultural exports (even if we went through a dry spell in the boom years and mostly churned out boy bands) :
    U2, Enya, Riverdance, the Cranberries, Van Morrison … the list goes on and on and on…

Then you’ve things like Irish Pubs appearing everywhere, much more so than any other type of ‘pub’. While a lot of them may not be authentic, they still get the national brand out there and how many countries national holiday is celebrated with parades in cities all over the world ?!

I think we need to realise that we can be simultaneously close to Boston, New York, Toronto, Montreal, Berlin, Paris, Bordeaux, London, Glasgow, Manchester, Edinburgh, Madrid, Sydney, Melbourne, Warsaw, Łódź, Rome, New Delhi, Auckland, Brussels, Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore… the list is endless.

For a small wet island, we did a hell of a lot of networking and seem to know how to use it.

• The Ireland of nowadays is in my opinion closer to Berlin than to Boston :(

• I think that this whole “Boston v Berlin” thing has been completely blown up out of all proportion. My guess is that she was just plámas the American audience that she was talking to at the time.

Add New Comment