TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Lisa McInerney: Should we forgive Chris Brown?

As the pop star heads to Dublin for a gig later this year, should we remain hostile to him over his brutality towards Rihanna or let him get on with it?

Lisa McInerney

CHRIS BROWN IS set to play The O2 this December, and so flares once again the indignant debate from both sides of the great pop culture divide: should we or should we not forgive this purveyor of flash-in-the-pan pop for savagely beating his girlfriend?

Brown has previously been denied a UK visa on the grounds of his being convicted of a serious criminal offence, which (as anyone who hasn’t been living in a cave halfway up Carrantuohill will know) was his sustained and vicious attack on then-girlfriend Rihanna. Some now suggest that Ireland could implement a similar ban, or that pressure could applied to both promoter and venue to pull the gig. A lot of people don’t much like Chris Brown.

Likely you remember why. In February 2009, the couple were driving in LA when Rihanna confronted Brown over text messages he’d received from an ex-lover. Enraged, Brown punched her repeatedly about the head, “causing [her] mouth to fill up with blood and blood to splatter all over her clothing and the interior of the vehicle”. He also bit her ear and fingers, held her in a headlock until she began to lose consciousness, and threw her phone out of the car when she tried to call for help.

Brown later maintained that his actions were more outburst than assault, that he couldn’t remember the details, that the night was all a “blur”. Police reports indicate otherwise. Chris Brown battered the woman he still claims to love. He didn’t lash out and instantly regret it. He didn’t give her a petulant slap. He battered her.

He did apologise. Via text message. Nine days later.

That there’s a debate at all may seem inexplicable, but Brown still has a lot of fans. It has to be said that many don’t condone his actions, but are simply enamoured of his brand of accessible, polished pop. Brown had been the prefect frontman for this glitzy variety of R’n'B; young, handsome, professionally pliable. His attack on his girlfriend threatened to finish his career, but his crisis team’s determination to roll with the controversy has paid dividends. Chris Brown’s more popular now than he was before he decided to paint his temper all over his girlfriend’s face.

“Chris Brown is to contrite what Mitt Romney is to tact”

But how? you may ask. How could a man capable of beating his girlfriend so hard her blood splattered all over his car continue to enjoy fan adulation?

It’s a pretty mind-boggling career trajectory, especially given that Brown is to contrite what Mitt Romney is to tact. Following the leak of the police report, Brown reported feelings of deep shame and remorse and claimed he was going to do a bit of soul-searching and help-seeking and plea-bargaining. Following widespread rejection of his best penitent efforts, Brown regressed to infancy and started tweeting about how cross he was, ripping his shirt off by way of protesting awkward interview questions, and drawing inflammatory pictures on his neck. It’s rather hard to allow the man to move on from a heinous mistake when he keeps proving himself to be heinous in an occupational capacity.

Fans should accept that that’s why a significant section of the pop culture massive cannot let it go. Certainly, we don’t always heap that level of humiliation on other artists who’ve behaved appallingly, and Chris Brown is by no means unique in his heinousness. Peevish fans point out
that artists like John Lennon (who admitted later in life to having hit women), Chuck Berry, James Brown, and Dr Dre have abused women, to little or no detriment of their careers or legacies.

The list goes on. Being rich, famous and well-loved is no impediment to bad behaviour; in fact, evidence suggests that being surrounded by sycophants is likely to make you more of an ass than your mam could ever have thought possible.

“Should the public find you generally amusing… you may well get away with it”

Should the public find you generally amusing, and more of a crackpot than a thug, you may well get away with it – see Nicholas Cage and Charlie Sheen.

If your output has genuine cultural merit, you’re forgiven even more readily – Roman Polanski drugged and raped a thirteen-year-old and went on to win an Oscar.

It’s not difficult to find proof of even history’s most noble individuals committing questionable acts. Even the great Gandhi, who was convinced of the necessity of celibacy and urged even married couples to avoid sex, was fond of sleeping with naked young women (though not touching them). To test his mettle, apparently.

But perhaps the difference for Brown is that he’s a star in the Information Age, and as such we not only hear about his sins, but can see photographic evidence and read police reports? Perhaps that’s why the backlash against him has seemed so much more pronounced than for many other noted brutes; aside from perhaps Mel Gibson, is there a star so widely disdained as Chris Brown?

“A persecution complex”

Is that, too, why he still has such support? Is the level of hostility pitched his way contributing to a persecution complex shared across his entire fanbase, which is mostly made up of kids? If you’re a 17-year-old girl who harbours a crush on Brown and likes his easy, cheesy hip-pop, it’s possible that the antipathy he attracts could make you feel just as victimised. An attack on an idol can feel like an attack on one’s own values.

So are people right to call for the Brown’s O2 show to be cancelled? No. Brown is no John Lennon, but there are people (no, really) who’d rather listen to him than to the Beatles. Why should it be ok to admire one violent musician, and not the other? We’ve been able to separate artist from art up to this point, and if there are fans out there who enjoy his musical output, let them go listen to his crooning.

But are the rest of us obliged to let the man get on with his life, to leave him room to atone for his mistakes? We most certainly are not. Should Chris Brown want to continue to make music, he is entitled to. Should people want to bop along to his tunes, they are entitled to, too. But that undercurrent of ill will flows for a reason, and neither Brown nor his fans can demand that goes away any time soon. Chris Brown battered his girlfriend. Are his fans really so surprised that that wasn’t okay?

Read previous columns on TheJournal.ie by Lisa McInerney >

Read next:

Comments (86 Comments)

• That man shouldnt be let into the country if he has a criminal record .A friend of mine was refused a visa to the USA because he had a criminal record for fighing without a licence when he was 18.and he never beat up a woman.

• Personally I thought what he did was disgusting, you just don’t beat another human being like that. His crisis management team as you called them have worked well on getting rid of some of the adverse reaction to him even Rihanna seems to have forgiven him to some degree which all helps his brand. As for me, I will vote with my purse by keeping it firmly closed. That means no concert tickets,albums,downloads or merchandise for any of my family. I’m only one person but I don’t like him or what he did and that’s my way of saying so.

• this guy is a chump and a coward, the disappointing thing is he’ll be watched by adoring female fans in Dublin. personally if he’s willing to go 5 rounds with Katie Taylor I’ll be less harsh on the punk.

• I dispise Brown C And J, Berry and Dre, becsuse of their attitude to women. I am proud of my dislike of them, they are thugs. We cannot excuse behaviour likevthis simply because of talent. As for Lennon, first I knew of it, but I’m dissapointed to hear and will probably not hear his records the same way ever again. As a society we have to be careful who we idolise. Increasingly it is the bland, or worse, The talentless. Lets do better.

• So let me get this straight Lisa McInerney. You deleted my comment (twice) because it demonstrates that women can be just as bad as men. I suspect you do this because it is not in keeping with your agenda!

Are we all only allowed comment when we agree with you?

• Hi Blathín,
      Lisa didn’t delete comments – I did. I deleted that comment because one of the people you listed as a woman who ‘battered’ others does not have a conviction for such, and I checked and double-checked and could not find any such reference in relation to that person. As such, it was deleted for legal reasons. Please be careful and also note that we operate a ‘three-strikes-and-you’re-out’ policy.
      Thanks, Susan, Editor, TheJournal.ie

• Thanks Susan for that clarification. It is not or was not my intention to liable anyone. I thought it was common knowledge. So I accept your redaction.

Would not be better if “comment removed” appeared when editors take such action and an offer made to the commenter of rewording their comment. If they persisted then you could ban them with some justification.

Gandhi as far as I am aware (I too searched) does not have convictions for battery of women. Nor does Dr Dre and John Lennon. If the criteria for a mention in an article or comment is a conviction then this article panders to the nod and a wink style of journalism. Would this be an indication of double standards at the journal.ie?

• Lennon did assault a teacher while in school..

• Martin sheen films also? any programs he was in, lets compile a list of all the crap people who we know to avoid.

in all fairness though its his lack of obvious contrition that annoys me.

• Susuan what’s the three sticker policy?

• Shouldn’t be let anywhere near Ireland. Shame on anybody that goes and sees him. Turn your back to this maggot.

• If they can’t ban him we sure as hell can boycott him! #boycottchrisbrown

• I bet when he is in Dublin he will have big muscle minders protecting him in case some one beats on him,the cowardly piece of crap.

• Between this, Twilight and Fifty Shades, young women are being set a horrific example. So much for feminism

• The answer to your question is – NO!

• @rob/lauren
    one of my closest friends partner beat and humiliated her sustainedly over a number of years. He enjoyed a normal relationship within our circle, portraying himself as the soundest guy on earth, quick with the jokes and wordly advice on one thing or the other.
    When, finally, the abuse got intolerable and my friend managed to break the cycle, free herself and eventually confide in a few of us, he had gone.
    A coward, running from his own spineless, disgusting vindictiveness.
    I can assure you that I, as a friend, never felt such anger as I did when all this was revealed to me.
    As much as I could do to support my friend, the anger and revulsion at her partner for what he did to her has never left me, to this day, along with a pretty clear understanding of the desperate cowardliness and cruelty that is buried inside a man that beats a woman.
    So yes, have your opinion on my statement, but Ill make no apology for it.

• John, I’m very glad your female friend managed to find the strength to break free of such a horrible situation, hope she’s managed to move on from it.
      However, we can’t teach our children that it’s wrong to beat a woman, but it’s ok for your daddy to beat the living shot out of another man. It’s conflicting messages.
      Don’t get me wrong, it’s a totally natural reaction to have when you find out something as repulsive as this, but you have to stop and think.
      I had initially hoped that Brown’s career would be left in tatters and he’d be excluded from society over his actions. Unfortunately it wasn’t to be.

• Rob Hunt 24/09/12 #

John, I too am glad your friend was able to get herself out of that situation and I completely understand your anger, but I’m sure you can see how your original comment came across as posturing without context!

• I find this curious interest in Chris Brown frustrating to say the least. Make no mistake, I’m just as vehement in my opposition as everyone else seems to be. What’s more, I find the public’s acceptance of Lennon, Brown, Dre and Polanski’s activities refreshing considering that all too often they go unaccounted for in the hierarchy of cultural loathing.

However, this frustration stems from the way Brown is brushed aside as just another beater of women and a general disgusting human being of violence and calculated PR. His brand of celebrity is a different beast altogether, evidenced by his fanbase who are not only willing to forgive and forget, but are willing to celebrate his actions. They may be a minority, but they are a stupendously vocal one. Some even tweeting things along the lines of “Not gonna lie…I think I’d let Chis Brown beat me”, and so on.

Something very odd and consistently worrying is happening in and around celebrity culture that leads some to believe that we have gone not just selectively blind to complete context and perspective, but willfully and actively celebratory of serious problems within our cultural “icons”.

Should he be banned form Ireland? It’s not a black and white, but the fact that his fan base are no longer the brooding apologists of Polanski fans or Lennonites would lead you to think that maybe it’s time we consider that he should not be let anywhere near our concert halls. Either that, or a serious boycott aimed at the national media…

• Whats ridiculous Shane, Lots of women all over the world get beat up and abused by cowardly so called men every day.That man should not be allowed into Ireland. Lets hope some womens group objects to him geting a visa.

• Chris Brown is a plonker. The end.

• Ive learned a great lesson from all of this, I cant hit a woman unless i have slick dance moves.

• He will come…there will be a protest…his ticket sales will be boosted and then he will go home…richer than before he came here.He committed no crime in this country and that is the end of the ‘should he be let come to Ireland ‘ argument as far as Irish emigration are concerned.While here I would not entertain the guy for one second….I would boycott any hotel that puts him up…the same for any restaruant …and more importantly I would make a serious note of anyone I know who go to the gig…..says a lot about what they think of your sister/wife/mother/girlfriend……….we cannot stop him coming..does’nt mean we have to make him welcome.

• We should do a day of amnesty for perpetrators of domestic violence, ’twill be great craic all the same.

*I’m being sarcastic

• The guy has a tattoo of a woman beat up on his body somewhere!
    This guy is on his own path,very wealthy but unfortunately money can’t make you a decent person!

• @Denise, Well said I agree.

• I would have to question why the author of this article brushed over the examples of Lennon, J Brown, Dr. Dre, Sheen etc so quickly, yet felt the need to write an article on Chris Brown. Surely what goes for one should go for the others.

I think the derisory comment regarding the quality of Chris Brown’s music versus Lennon is somewhat telling. There is sometimes a double standard, whereby some people are given a pass for these sort of things (like the George Best example quoted above), whether because of their ability, personality etc, whereas others like Brown are vilified.

I’m not defending Chris Brown, but he is far from the first artist to have committed domestic abuse, or assault for that matter. Yet the chorus of condemnation is loudest for him it seems. To my knowledge no bans have been called or boycotts organised for 21/2 Men in this shores. Outside of domestic violence, plenty of other artists have committed assault or other violent acts but are not followed by it for the rest of their career.

Mark Wahlberg committed violent racially assaults as a youth (charged with attempted murder) which is equally as reprehensible as Chris Brown’s actions. Yet this fact is largely ignored by the media and pubic, and I saw no calls to boycott Ted.

• There are many around like this mendacious piece of shit. Knew a fellow once who followed the same pattern; hail fellow well met but was wont to give his wife a hiding on regular occasions. Each time he uttered the same whimpering, pathetic excuses, acting as the victim himself because people would have nothing to do with him. The poor girl eventually got out of the marriage and he disappeared off the radar no doubt to find other victims.
    Rumour has it two of his ex-wife’s male cousins eventually had a word in his ear………. hope so!

• What he did to Rihanna is despicable…….but what he has done to music is UNFORGIVABLE.

• Jill :D 24/09/12 #

I’ll never forgive him.for his music. For beating Rhianna I couldn’t forgive him either. Why the hell should a person who took pleasure by causing physical pain to another be aloud enter our country?

• Once u hit a woman u will always have the ability. Coming from personal experience. Chris brown should be kept in a small dark room.

• I don’t listen to his music so not really interested in Chris Brown at all. However, I am not sure it is my ‘right’ to forgive him, what he did to another woman really has nothing to do with me.

• Let him in and send him down here to me, ill give him an audience he’ll be unlikely to forget.

• Eh no. Next question.

• It’s an assault and no person (female or male should be assaulted) and as to the question of forgiveness, is this within our gift?

• This is an absolute ridiculous article. Should we forgive Chris Brown? My God!

• As far as I am concerned, If someone has a criminal record, they shouldn’t be allowed into this country. I thought that was standard practice across the world?

• agreed – my only qualification on all of this is that i dont think Chris Brown should be treated any different to any other fella who slaps his girlfriend around. so whatever the rules are – apply them!

• Chris who?
    wtf.

If this Octobers 1 billion euro AIB giveaway to an unnamed unguaranteed bondholder got half this attention the country might be doing ok.

Chris who? who gives a shit.

• So why was that comment deleted? I used the qualifier ‘allegedly’ where appropriate

• I don’t quite live in a cave halfway up Carrantuohill but I did not know any of this – and will continue not to be so familiar since I stopped reading before the conclusion of the second paragraph. I clicked on the link wondering was Chris Brown a British MP.

Interesting assumption everyone is wrapped up in celebrity culture though. There are a few independent thinkers still out there y’know…

• I’m sure Chris Brown is sitting in his mansion, checking this article fervently every 5 minutes to see if the readership of the journal, a bunch of people he did nothing to, forgive him.

• As mush as I despise Chris Brown I don’t think he should be banned from playing a gig in the country. One of my favourite bands (Marilyn Manson) has only managed to play here once in the last 14 years. The reason: the Catholic Church have lobbied against them any time they made any plans to have a gig.

• Joseph you cannot possibly compare these two music artists. If MM was to announce a concert in Dublin next year he’d get that date no bother because Ireland’s attitude towards church control is changing. Our attitude towards someone beating their partner, however, is the same – we all know that’s wrong. Chris Brown beat up his girlfriend and, as I understand it from following the story, he’s still got that nasty streak in him with a fine temper. This leopard doesn’t appear to have changed his spots so he shouldn’t be put up on that stage to be adored.

• I’d love to see some evidence that the church stopped MM from playing here. It’s a long while since they’ve had that level of censorious power here, as far as I’m aware. The last thing I can recall was their getting the Adelphi to stop showing The Last Temptation of Christ by camping on its doorstep and ruining business.

• Ciaran it’s true!! Myself and my sister had tickets to MM a fair few years ago and the gig was cancelled..

Rihanna is no better than Chris Brown in my book. What he did (and continues to do) was beyond disgusting, but what Rihanna is doing by making it okay is almost as bad. She’s a ‘role model’ (let’s use that term loosely shall we) for our kids and by publicly forgiving this a**hole, she’s sending out the message that this is acceptable.
      I say keep him as far away from the O2 as possible, if for no other reason than his music’s muck!!!!

• Hey Olwyn. I’ve no doubt the gig was cancelled but that doesn’t mean the church got it cancelled. I just have difficulty believing that they have that kind of power these days or indeed want to be seen wielding the big shtick in that way.

• It was…. It was a religious group of some sort, can’t remember the exact details as it was years ago (2001 if I’m not mistaken)

• Shanners 24/09/12 #

It was banned because of lobbying by a religous mothers group of some sort. I have the huge promotional poster for it..

• It was the National Parents Council, Ireland’s answer to Maud Flanders, protecting the youth from absolutely nothing for 25 years. They are a pain in the arse about this kind of thing, but not a religious group. The gig was cancelled because it was a DVD shoot and the film production company pulled out at the last minute. The NPC may have claimed victory but it really had nothing to do with them.

• I in no way condone violence against women, or violence against men for that matter but I sometimes think the Chris Brown story should be let lie. He was only a teenager at the time and we all know how stupidly teenagers act at times. The fact that she has forgiven him and that they are very good friends now should be reason enough to let sleeping dogs lie. Everyone deserves a second chance, if he were to ever raise his hand to a woman again then I would feel very differently.

• The problem is this guy and Rhianna are role models (unfortunately). He savagely beat her up and hasn’t really had any consequences to his act. This tells his impressionable fans that it’s ok to act this way as long as you say sorry. Her forgiveness is her own business but once again it shows impressionable young teenagers that this is acceptable behaviour. It isn’t. They need to be aware that they have a serious influence on young people and that they have a responsibility to their young fans as positive role models.

• Andrea. He was only a teenager???? I have seven grandsons all in their teens and not one of them would dream of smacking a girl. Neither would any of my old school friends whom I have known for the past 65 years. People like Brown never change. They have a vicious streak in them which affords enjoyment out of visiting hurt on others. Cowardice comes into it also in that their victims are mostly young women.

• You know what they say about any man who hits you Andrea- if he does it once, he’ll do it again. If my boyfriend hit me even once, I’d be out of there. And bear in mind that this wasn’t “just” a slap, it was a sustained and viscous BEATING, including bite marks. Did you see the photo of Rihanna? She’d been pulvarised.

I think this guy has proved quite a few times that he has a violent nature; not only the above incident, but trashing dressing rooms, bar fights etc. He’s not someone I’d want kids idolising in any way, shape or form.

• Marist, you wouldn’t necessarily know if your grandsons and male friends would never dream of hitting a woman. I worked in Women’s Aid and the fact is, the victims of domestic violence suffer in silence. When they finally do come forward, family and friends are always shocked to discover what was really going on. It’s rarely very obvious. The reason I feel it may have been his youth is because a very close friend of mine is married to her “highschool sweetheart”, together since they were 16. When they were 18, they had a massive row and he beat her up. She ended the relationship, he went for counselling and sorted himself out (unbeknownst to her at the time). They got back together a few years later and are very happily married 9 years now. We were so shocked when he beat her, we all went to school together and thought we knew each other so well. But, you never really know. All I know is, he sorted out his issues and is a different person as an adult than he was as a teenager.

• Sorry, I also meant to say that my teenage daughter and her friends like Rihanna and Chris Brown and were never aware of the beating incident, I suppose they were too young at the time. I agree about children needing decent roll models, I just hope they continue to idolise Katie Taylor and just listen to the music of the other two

• Her point stands. It’s a cop out to teenagers to say “we all did stupid things as teenagers.” I know I did, but I would never have hit another human being. For perpetrators to really get over their offending behaviour, it’s important to take responsibility for their actions (and downgrading it due to youth is kind of counter-productive in that regard.)

• He may have been a teenager at the time he beat her up but he’s not a teenager now and getting a tatoo of a beaten up (Rihanna) woman on his neck is really just 2 fingers to the stupid girl that has forgiven him for beating her and again, sending out the waaaay wrong message to fans!!! NO excuse for his behaviour either back then OR now. He’s a thug, a cowardly thug!!

• Andrea, i’m shocked to hear you worked in Women’s Aid, and relieved that you don’t work there now. You might need to re-think your attitues towars domestic violence. You stated in your comment that “he was only a teenager”, and when challenged on this you say you “felt it may have been his youth” – very different. I’m really concerned that you worked for a national organization on domestic violence when you clearly don’t relfect the views of any organization that works with the issue. Deserves a second chance? i don’t think so.

• Ireland have bigger problems to worry about rather than talk about chris brown and his actions…He and rihanna have moved on since then but there seems to be people in society who can’t move on and still live in the past

• Every story- every single story- that is about something other than Irish politics or the economy is inevitably met with moaners who whinge that we have better things to be talking about. If you had your way would we be steeped in our own economic misery
      24/7? Articles like this matter because they discuss important issues like our attitudes towards domestic abuse. They let us reflect and ask ourselves are such acts forgivable, and if so, under what circumstances?

• If that had been your daughter he had beaten, you wouldn’t be saying the it.

• I agree with Elizabeth. This is a high profile example of something which happens at all levels of society, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with drawing attention to it because I’m sure many of us know someone who’s been abused by a partner, male or female.

Who are you to decide what’s newsworthy? Big issues relating to the state, health care, budget etc all get wide coverage, but are you saying that it’s a waste of time to report on something like this? Where do you draw the line? Do we have more important things to think about than the irish woman missing in Australia or who won the match yesterday? If this article holds no importance or relevance for you then feel free not to bother posting in the comments.

• Victor: you really should stop reading these articles – don’t you have better things to be worrying about?

• As Daniel tosh said, maybe Chris brown was practicing his dance moves and rhianna got to close. We don’t know, we weren’t there..

He is a chump, i’m amazed he’s done so well after what happened that so many people still support him. He’s done many collaborations it surprises me that more people haven’t refused to work with him.

However, I think he deserves a second chance but if he does it to any woman again he should have the book thrown at him by everyone

• “However, I think he deserves a second chance but if he does it to any woman again he should have the book thrown at him by everyone”

The fact he did it in the first place shows that he deserves what he’s getting, and doesn’t deserve a second chance.

If someone did what he did to you mother, sister or anyone else in your family, would you be so quick to give him a second chance?

• Shanners 24/09/12 #

No I wouldn’t be quick to give him a second chance if he did it to someone in my family. However he didn’t do anything to anybody in my family so my feelings about him don’t carry that biasness. He committed a crime and was infront of a judge over it. Hasn’t violated parole since and I think should be given the benefit of the doubt.

Chris Brown is not somebody i would consider in anyway a role model to anybody. As i said in my previous point he is a chump. Having said that i have no problem with him performing here. I don’t believe him to be an advert for domestic abuse. I don’t think that going to see him or the simple fact that he will perform here will cause any rational person to think that domestic abuse is acceptable. As well documented previously, there are plenty of celebs that have done the same and worse that continue to be celebrated.

• I loved his music ever since he began, and I would pay to go see him for his music! What he did was wrong but he has paid for what he did , he was convicted and his career was pratically ruined! But Im glad his music is back because i enjoy it regardless to the history of the artist!!

• Im definatly going to see his concert , iv always loved his music and he his a great peformer! if rihanna can forgive and forget i think everybody else should, like his 11.4 million fan base has! People make mistakes when there young!! Get over it

• But they are not simply forgiving and forgetting Sandra, they are accepting and assimilating his actions into the whole Chris Brown iconography package. Do you see the difference and the danger or are you simply here to stir the pot?

• Sandra, plenty of people make mistakes when they’re young. Drinking a bit too much. Missing an essay deadline or three. Getting a mullet.

Beating your girlfriend to a bloody pulp is not a “mistake”. It is a vicious and criminal act of violent cowardice, made all the worse for being perpetrated on someone who loves and trusts you. It is truly astonishing that you can’t see the difference.

Add New Comment