TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Column: ‘I loved living in Priory Hall. I loved this apartment’

Sinéad O’Carroll took a trip out to Donaghmede to see the ill-fated complex for herself – and found the ending to an Irish story of bad planning, weak regulation and greedy lenders.

Sinead O'Carroll

ON THE DAY the Mahon Tribunal reported its final findings, it seemed fitting to be on Dublin’s northside, looking at 189 empty homes which are unsuitable for inhabiting because of bad planning rules and weak regulation.

Driving to Priory Hall from Dublin city centre, I passed a giant Tesco just off the main road at Clare Hall. The monster supermarket is an indicator of the up-and-coming area this was supposed to be, what it was advertised – and sold – as. Amenities were promised at every empty space but none (other than the Tesco) have ever materialised.

Before hitting Priory Hall, I notice Belmayne – another problem development. That housing estate still has the snazzy boarding surrounding it, advertising stylish living quarters and a lavish Celtic Tiger lifestyle. That, obviously, is not the reality.

The area is now a poster child of how the construction industry was run during the boom years.

Priory Hall and Belmayne have more in common than bad planning and fire hazards. They also share this view – a wasteland between two property boom dreams gone bad.

Priory Hall

Priory Hall itself is dreary from the moment it appears. There are two boarded up businesses – a tanning salon that never opened despite its chirpy, purple appearance and a small corner Centra store.

There are also a number of security men – four in total – who ask me my name and business. “I’m just meeting a friend to help her move furniture,” I say, hiding my camera.

That friend is Ursula Graham, a young professional who bought her dream apartment in the complex. She is a member of the hard-working residents’ committee who has not been afraid to speak out to ensure her safety and that of the other 255 people who lived in Priory Hall.

On 17 October 2011, all the residents of the four apartment blocks were evacuated by orders from Dublin City Council. The substandard fire safety work had created an environment so hazardous that the Council could not allow anyone to live there until repair works were carried out.

The work needed is so extensive that the bill will come to at least €7.3 million. However, no one can afford to pay for it – the developer Tom McFeely has been declared bankrupt in England and the council says it can’t take on the responsibility of fixing what obviously needs fixing.

At the moment, to an amateur eye, the place looks closer to demolition than repair.

But, as I observed the uncovered buildings, exposed to the elements, and the uneven brickwork, it wasn’t just the safety issues that came to mind. Even if the development met the required safety standards, the workmanship across the whole development seems more than shabby.

Hallways and lobbies look like the pre-fabricated structures one would find on a building site, complete with builders’ tea stations and odd piles of rubbish.

Some of the metalwork looks like it could have been done more professionally by Transition Year students and the elevator looks as trustworthy as one in the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

Priory Hall

And then there’s the car park. Wires hang from places wires shouldn’t hang from, water collects in areas and never evaporates and cars have not been able to park there since 2007 because of flooding. One morning, residents came down to find their cars floating, yes floating, out of the underground space.

“How were these things looked over at building stage?” I ask Ursula. And it all comes back to an Irish system of weak regulation and, more specifically, self-regulation. The apartments came with all the requisite sign-offs (engineers, fire safety officers and surveyors) and documents. Fire plans are signed off on at planning/drawing stages so nobody actually inspects the building after it is complete – and as unbelievable as that seems, it is legally fine.

The lenders giving out the mortgages are also required to send a surveyor but during those busy boom years, that surveyor was more akin to a valuer. His or her job could be completed by merely driving by the complex in Donaghmede (yes, it exists; yes, it should be priced at market rates).

It’s pretty simple to see how Ursula and the other residents ended up here.

However, it is less easy to explain how Dublin City Council spent millions on 26 of the apartments without scrutinising the development more. It is, afterall, taxpayer’s money it was spending.

A first-time buyer’s nightmare

The fallout for residents is, from what I could see, three-fold. They were unsafe for years in homes that were fire hazards and substandard. They now face paying rent on top of mortgages on homes that are pretty much worthless, which will render most if not all bankrupt or insolvent. Finally, they have all lost homes that they were happy in – that they wanted to purchase. Many, like Ursula, are first-time buyers.

As we look around Ursula’s own apartment, she tells me: “I loved living here. I loved this apartment.”

There is a beautiful wooden floor in the spacious living room, a newly-installed bathroom and a lonely bottle of champagne left sitting in a box in the middle of the floor.

“When I bought it, I was delighted. It was just around the corner from my family and it had the promise of becoming a great area,” she says.

“But as long as I am safe – that’s the main thing,” she adds, pragmatically.

As we walk along the back patio of her apartment block, I ask about some of the broken tiles. “I presume this has happened since you moved out?” thinking that kids had made their way in and messed the place up a bit more. “No, they were always like that,” she answers.

Even the unbroken tiles don’t feel steady under my feet, and – as if reading my mind – a security man walks by and tells me to mind my footing. “The steps up there are quite slippy,” he warns. I’m pretty sure by now he knows I’m not there to move furniture.

D-day for the residents is 24 April, when the Supreme Court will decide if Dublin City Council will remain responsible for paying for the temporary housing they are currently in. The apartment owners have been broken up and placed in Nama and Belmayne properties (the decent ones) since last Christmas. The council have already paid out about €700,000 in rent and do not want to continue to do so. But the alternative is for residents to pay rent for their temporary accommodation, plus mortgage repayments on a home they cannot live in.

Basically, they’ll be on their own to fend for themselves.

Negotiations with the banks are not that hopeful as interest and capital continues to accrue on the minimum €250,000 loans despite moratoriums on monthly installments.

And what of the developer of this complex? McFeely was sentenced to three months in prison and fined €1 million but has since got this overturned in the Irish courts.

Ursula says the residents will fight on – with the banks, with McFeely and with the Council.

Even if the remedial works are carried out and the building gets the all-clear, many residents do not want to move back and as I walk back to my car, I’m not surprised. Negative equity aside, the buildings are not only personal dreams gone bad, they are an epitome of our national nightmare.

Column: ‘I loved living in Priory Hall. I loved this apartment’
1 / 52
  • Priory Hall

More water damage
  • Priory Hall

The carpark which has not been used since 2007 because of flooding.
  • Priory Hall

The carpark which has not been used since 2007 because of flooding.
  • Priory Hall

The carpark which has not been used since 2007 because of flooding. Flooding would get worse if it rained as rainwater was allowed through the grates.
  • Priory Hall

The elevators were also out of action long before the residents moved out.
  • Priory Hall

The stairway up to Ursula's apartment.
  • Priory Hall

Broken elevators.
  • Priory Hall

Unfinished stairways.
  • Priory Hall

And even more water damage.
  • Priory Hall

Shoddy iron railings indoors.
  • Priory Hall

Ursula's apartment still has traces of the home she decorated - and loved.
  • Priory Hall

Security at the complex has had to be ramped up lately as there was a break-in at Ursula's apartment.
  • Priory Hall

Ursula's newly-installed bathroom.
  • Priory Hall

Broken and uneven pavements.
  • Priory Hall

Exposed brickwork at one of the buildings.
  • Priory Hall

Some of the hard rubbish was never removed by waste collectors, giving the place an appearance of an abandoned site in places.
  • Priory Hall

Some places have insulation, others don't. Lots of those that have insulation have been compromised after being exposed to the elements, as shown here.
  • Priory Hall

Damp walls - many of the residents had problems with flooding and water damage before the fire safety concerns emerged.
  • Priory Hall

An unfinished building site.
  • Priory Hall

The outdoor carpark was never evened out.
  • Priory Hall

Rusted railings beside the front door of one of the buildings.
  • Priory Hall

See TheJournal.ie’s full coverage of the Priory Hall controversy>

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• Houses were being built in a ‘f*ck it it’ll do’ fashion in the boom. The builder of Pruitt Hall needs to be jailed.

• This is nothing short of a national disgrace. So many people to blame yet nobody seems to be responsible.

Where is Homebond? Where were the structural surveyors? Where are the architects?

I think our household charge should go to these families to assist them. Where is the solidarity?

• The sickening fact is the head of Homebond has just been appointed by the dept of environment to The Building Regulations Advisory Board. Homebond have failed miserably to enforce buulding regulations, who have been at the centre of the pyrite scandal, who have treated homeowners with disdain, have been given a pat on the back by our wonderful goverment and given a state appointment. Jobs for the boys is alive and well. Mahon taught us nothing.

• Sinmac 02/04/12 #

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2012-03-28.1000.0&s=Building+regulations#g1002.0.r

Hogan appoints Conor Taafe of Homebond to Building Regulation Advisory Board by Department of Environment without the position being advertised….

• Homebond are not a regulatory body, they are an insurance company.
      To blame Homebond is akin to blaming Eaglestar after a car crash.
      Self certification is to blame and a non existent inspection system by the state.
      There is/was also a very poor standard of architectural and engineering oversight in the industry down to often young inexperienced and Non Irish staff who had zero knowledge of building and design regulations.
      It goes without saying that the standard accepted at snagging stage on this development is of a very low standard.

• homebond are not an insurance company they are a bond company. In order to sell properties with the homebond garauntee the builders/architect would have to comply with homebond standards set out in the manual, homebond were supposed to ensure that their regulations were complied with by inspections during construction. Homebond was effectively a seal of approval that the building has been constructed to these high standards. Homebond took their eye off the ball. When so many poorly built houses and apartment have this so called homebond garauntee it effectively has made a mockery of itself and the entire certification system. The system has failed, homebond has failed.

• It is a NATIONAL DISGRACE nothing short of it and SHAME ON PHILL HOGAN AND THE ENTIRE GOVERNMENT for sitting back and ignoring these People

• censored 03/04/12 #

In the US, they’re discussing mortgage writedowns in return for the government not investigating some of the shoddy mortgages that were issued.

The banks have to accept some culpability. They lent money to the developers and also to the buyers. There is a clear conflict of interest. It’s time to introduce non-recourse mortgages in Ireland so that the banks are forced to lend more responsibly.

• gvnfnly 02/04/12 #

This is an utter disgrace. The builders, surveyors, architects must be held accountable here. These properties are worthless and so the residents with mortgages should tell the banks to f$%@ off and move on with their lives.

• I am sure the Priory Hall residents would love to tell the banks to fuck off but unfortunately it would effect their credit ratings and they would be unable to take out a loan again never mind another mortgage.

The residents of Priory Hall have been badly let down by the ineptitude of the previous Government and the inaction of the current regime. Fine Gael and Labour need to stop the blame game, I am sick of watching them smirk while they blame the previous gobshites. Yes it might have been their fault, but you where elected on the promise of fixing their mess.

This is a national disgrace, I feel so sorry for them and ashamed to be Irish. How this developer can go to the UK and declare bankruptcy is beyond me, this loophole needs to be looked at and closed as quickly as possible.

• #Gareth. Having a “good credit rating” in the first instance got these poor folk in the pickle they are currently in.

Whats a credit rating worth, when it gets you a home you cannot live in, a home that is utterly valueless, and a mortgage that exceeds the value of the property by over 400%, over the life of the instrument.

Great for the banks, great for the government, great for the builder….the consumer? Well, the consumer, he lined pockets with that “good” credit rating, and apparently, he can fuck right off, because nobody that can do anything about this gives a good shit about them.

Thats what the lowest common denominators in society do. They move along in life cursed with the notion that such turns of phrase as ” a good credit rating” will see them through to sunshine and lollipop land.

• I don’t think a good credit rating got them into this situation.

• That is truly depressing- some of that was never going to be finished properly. An bord pleanala needs to be shut!

• Unfortunatly this was always going to happen the Priory Hall residents are just the tip of the iceberg ,shoddy workmanship, no control by the council and no saftey net for the tennants, there are and and soon to be discovered out there many more of these type of developments, shame

• That balcony railing weld job is truly shocking. A child leaning against that could snap the joint. WHY are the residents continuing to pay mortgages? This building should be levelled and the owners free is debt to start over. Ireland eh….

• Liam, what have An Bord Pleanala got to do with it?
      ABP are the national appeals body for planning and development.
      What you should question is why is there virtually zero inspection and enforcement by building control at local authority level.

• I meant the planning authority, Gerard. Would edit it if I could ;-(

• Liam, unfortunately in this country the planning dept has zilch got to do with building regulations!
      Sure, they might want to see certain detail to ensure compliance with storm water and sewage, but that’s about it.
      The detail supplied on planning drawings in this country is farcical. There is none.
      In other countries you have to provide you have to provide full construction level drawings and specifications at planning stage to get full planning – Bulgaria being one example.
      The end result is buildings often being designed by architects – who are often very very unaware of the full extent of the building regulations. Problems then crop up at detail drawing stage for construction, and on site.

• If homebond, the architects or the builders are not responsible gerard, who is?

• Shocking. To see the pictures makes it a lot more real. Huge sympathy for these people, I hope the weight of justice starts falling on their side soon.

• This its just the tip of the iceberg.There are poorly builtdevelopments all over Ireland.

• What annoys me more often nowadays about such situations is the ‘human cost’. People see no end in sight and stress levels rise, children upset, mam and or dad might fear for their jobs and depression might become a factor. It’s like closing schools or losing teachers. It’s not now the problem might arise but in 10-15 years when we are not so well educated. Nobody looks at the bigger picture. Shame on the people who did this to these families. I have only contempt and anger for these fools who have these people in this situation.

• It’s just so so sad

• ‘priory’

• What about the sales act… goods sold not fit for purpose and all the likes?

• Never should of been built, absolute crap of a place

• Thank you for posting this, it really highlights what a disgraceful example of greed and negligance Priory HELL is. If Dublin City Council are let off with paying the accomodation charges on the 24th, I am leaving this god awful country as any ounce of faith I have left in it will be wiped away!

• I feel that the residence should refuse to pay their mortgages until this situation is sorted. As soon as the banks start to lose money you will see something done about this .

• I think they should carry-on as they are; be good people; pay-up on their mortgages and all the new extra charges attached to their income. Don’t do anything to rock the boat or cause inconvenience to their betters. After all they are not Greeks or Spanish. Perish the thought.

• I would not continue to pay the mortgage , put it away, and maintain it as savings , but I would not pay it . But then , what do I know ! Good luck with your struggle , I think of you all the time .

• I left Ireland 20+ years ago and any of my friends who moved home to new houses had problems. I would only buy a house in Ireland if I could personally be there during building. This has been going on for years, cutting corners has been the norm.

• Some of these pictures could have been taken in the D8 apartment complex I live in. The build quality around here is just truly shocking. And our garage flooded last October- and while the garage has been cleared up and the facilities manager is doing an admirable job trying to keep the place in a condition as good as possible, nothing was fixed to a standard ensuring it won’t happen again.
    That said – I rent, so I can always move if things go from ‘bad’ to ‘worst case’.
    I simply can not understand how DCC and NAMA can not make a deal in which the owners of Priory Hall apartments are offered 1:1 new residences that they can just transfer the remainder of their mortgage to. Surely there must be enough empty, NAMA-owned property that would allow for something like that?

• One day these guys are going to fuck someone over who is not predisposed to the pursuit of legal action to address such an inequity. Not saying I agree with such an approach, however it would not surprise me in the least if such an approach came to fruition.

• Did anyone of them get their own engineer to check their property before buying? If they did I be taking serious issue with that engineer (the engineer is also insured…..)

• Ardo Ci 02/04/12 #

Priory Hall is emblematic of the Republic of Ireland. As with both, the ordinary people suffer and the system continues on unperturbed because the Clowns are allowed to be the ringmasters.
    Turn in your grave DeValera. Turn in your grave. You and your Party cronies and their main opposition Party down through the century have destroyed your own country – this once great country – now known by me as ‘Priory Hall’.

• Yes he was but he changed his ways and went into the the cleaning business or maybe
    the laundering business.He took a lot of people to the cleaners,I feel very sorry for them
    I hope justice will be seen to be done.

• Dublin city council should be forced to clear the owners mortgages and level this place.

• They should but this type of thing is going to start popping up all over the place and the government don’t want the flood gates to open.

• By Dublin City Council – you mean taxpayers. it’s not the taxpayers fault this happened so why should we pay?
      The architects and surveyors who ‘inspected’ and passed these are the people responsible. They should pay.

• censored 03/04/12 #

The Irish taxpayer accepted this crap during the “boom”, and is behaving in the usual sheeplike fashion right now: not insisting on change. Nothing has changed since the crisis began, and we see eejits trying to start a new “property boom” (sindo)

If the taxpayer is forced to pay for the failures of the democratic government that we elected …. then just maybe things will change. Or maybe we just continue being passive, and patriotically paying the household charge, the golden pensions, the expenses ….

• I remember nail bomb Tom (Tom McFeely) he employed me back in 1991 when i first moved to Dublin

• Those photos make me worry about the apartment complex I live in – because it’s small we ahve been able to deal with many similar problems but the are ongoing and other complexes in the area (Dublin 8) have similar problems – poor regulation and poor building standards are to blame – I reckon the current government have been slow to act as it will open a can of worms – cowards that they are

• Truly shocking pictures,more reminisent of Beruit than Dublin. Any society that tolerates this level of building abuse,and non compliance should be ashamed of themselves. The people that lived there bought apartments in good faith and just look at the photos. The banks should not be paid a penny for morgages and Dublin City Council should have to appear in court for paying tax payers monies for death traps. Sure it easy to spend our money and not care about the consequences,and DCC have a planning department that could not oversee its own purchase with our money of apartments not fit for dogs. How many more Priory Halls are there in Dublin. Answer: lots and lots,go figure out where they are?

• Why has Phil Hogan not done anything to help the residents, He is a hypocrite.

• Legally fine means there is a chink in the armour surely.

• louise 02/04/12 #

Typical of the Irish not my problem!!

• THis is more than tragic , more than sad , more than unfair , more than awful…… This is a downright disgrace , the people deserve and are entitled to more than platitudes. This government is a nightmare.

• @ Susie. what has a private housing matter got to do with the government. do you want the tax payer to pay? the residents should be chasing down the person who signed the certificate of compliance for the building (a private company) and look can legal proceedings be brought. the properties would have also been surveyed for a mortgage. the properties are apartments so probably freehold. can the fteehold be sold to a bank and this money used to fix the apartments. the tax payer cannot pay for everything and people should stop saying the government should pay to fix it as the it will be tax payers money again.

• Ha ha , you are having a laugh Eugene O Rourke . The only thing is , you are not funny ! Please stop trying to justify this unfair practise of our Puublic Representatives ignoring the needs of their constituents .

• @Susie. Did it ever occur to you that if a Minister or Government TD got involved in this that it could prejudice legal proceeding’s against the developer, architect etc. Maybe the reason they are staying away is to protect the owners in the long term so a court case does not collapse as a Government representive prejudiced the case? As usual you are not coming up with no solutions only opinion of negative, negative, negatiive. People are responsibe for this mess and the residents deserve to be compensated by the building’s being fixed to what the planning regulations are and costs where applicable. Solution’s are needed for the resident’s of Priory Hall so give some options that you think could help them.

• Eugene
      I am offering opinions , not solutions ! If I had any of course I would ,but I don’t have any. How about yourself , or do you just like putting barriers in the way of people offering their opinions ? Oh and I am not negative !

• @Susie. Thats fair enough, I agree yes its a mess, yes the residents need to be looked after etc. The main thing is do we just give out about it (and all the other stuff that is going on) or do we try and change it by absolutely tormenting TD’s etc with emails / letters on things that is going on that we would like to see changed. Everyone is entitled to an opinion but when its just hot air thats all is is. Seriously (1) it is worth looking into the Cert of Compliance whoever signed that off confirmed that the building was built to regulatons and its obvious now it wasn’t. The person who signed the cert would have Professional Indemnity insurance and the residents could/maybe claim against that policy to fix the building if negligence etc was proven in court or maybe not court. They would need to get legal advice. (2) As its an apartment complex the the Freehold is probably owned by the residents via the Management Company and as an apartment owner technically you do not own the apartment you have a 500 to 999 year lease on the building usually. With an overall agreement the residents could look into selling the Freehold to a bank (maybe one of the main mortgage companies who lent on Priory Hall) as an investment and in ten plus year the bank could sell the Freehold to recoup the money they paid for the Freehold plus a profit. This would give the residents money today to fix the apartment’s to building regulations and they could return to there homes.

• @ Eugene. To be fair I would think these residences have gone down this route. You assume that everything in this state works as it should. I suggest to you that we live in a corrupt state where the people reponsible could maybe slip away on loopholes or it would cost so much to take an action because of our corrupt legal system. Also I myself hold the government/taxpayer reponsible because of the corruption proven in the Dublin planning system. In short this problem needs to be sorted for these poor souls & I as a taxpayer will gladly pay the bill by tightening up on the corrupt systems spending.

• @ Michael. the planning authorities give the planning guidelines and the engineer or architect confirms the property is built to those guidelines so that person is liable if lied. I’m unsure if the residents have looked into this and to the best of my knowledge no court cases are pending.

• Eugene
      Hi. I reckon all of these avenues have been explored and gone through . I know myself how difficult it is to get even an acknowledgement that a td has received your correspondence , they just will not get involved . I understand the flood gate scenario , and that if a politician is seen to be involved or taking sides it could jeopardise the outcome of a court case . It is not fair . And just because some one is fond not to be legally obliged there is a moral code we should all live by.It is crazy to think that these good people are living the way they are and what help are they getting ? Sad really .

• @Susie. There is a moral code we should live buy but like everything else it disapeared in the so called boom and you right its not fair what is happening to the residents of Priory Hall. The whole country is full of things that are not right. People took there eye of the ball for the last few weeks over €100 household charge when far larger things were happening like the Promisery Note arrangement. People didn’t care as it was not in there backyard again and when the news came out it was all shouting left, right and centre that it happened. I am unsure if the residents have looked into this as far as I know there is no court cases pending in relation to these matters or they have gone publicly about selling the Freehold.

The other problem with Priory Hall is that some of the residents may be looking at this is great. I know this sounds bad but think about it. They bought in the boom, in negative equity now, property not fit for purpose (young couple now have children) so the moral hazard is there to default on there mortgage or try to get out of Priory Hall and get a new property as there was talk about lobbying for NAMA properties. So they get a house instead of the apartment which suits there needs now. Again some may be looking at this and maybe none are but it does open the flood gates if there is more properties like this and that means a lower return for the tax payer if these properties are given away from NAMA (remember the Government is there to protect the state so tax payer usually comes first). This also would not be fare on all the other peoples/couples who bought in the boom and trapped in apartments etc who want to get on with there lives. The best way the residents can sort this out is by going to court again and again. People have said the cost of going to court but yet is there a bank account where people can donate to support the residents or a fund raising event and there it is again people really deep down don’t care as long as it does not affect them.

• censored 03/04/12 #

I am sure the people living in Priory Hall are taxpayers. How were they protected? How am I (as a taxpayer) protected from the consequences of this kind of shoddy construction – the costs inevitably falling upon the State since the companies involved have disappeared?

How am I as a taxpayer being protected from the consequences of the banking system collapse which is entirely linked to this?

This is not the Wild West, every man for himself, Devil take the hindmost – we’re supposed to be a civilized society, and I expect some standards of civility.

• @Censored, Yes the people in Priory Hall may be tax payers but does the tax payer have to pay for everything? It sends out a dangerous message to the developers who do not build correctly etc that they don’t have to build properties correctly as the tax payer will pick up the tab. The best thing to do is to get the people responsible and if dodgy practices are found jail them it’s that simple. We need to send out a message to the people who commit dodgy practices that Ireland has grown up and will not take anymore. If you commit these practices there is dire personal consequences for you. Maybe the State could buy the freehold instead of a bank as suggested previously. A little NAMA investment to fix the properties. Remember there was atleast two assessments of the properties (and all properties) one to issue the cert of compliance for the building confirming it was built to the building regulations set out in the planning permission and (2) the purchaser would have got one done for the mortgage.

• Two words: Fianna Fail.

• mike 02/04/12 #

Do people at Priory Hall development have to pay Household charge??? #JustWondering

• Those photos make me worry about the apartment complex I live in – because it’s small we have been able to deal with many similar problems but the are ongoing and other complexes in the area (Dublin 8) have similar problems – poor regulation and poor building standards are to blame – I reckon the current government have been slow to act as it will open a can of worms – cowards that they are

• Jd 07/04/12 #

To clarify for all who would like to know what went wrong & who is to blame in PH.

Here’s my thoughts:

An engineer/architect fills out a form like below and sends it to the local authority (DCC or SDCC or otherwise)
    Like this one for KerryCoCo:
    http://www.kerrycoco.ie/media/media,1167,en.pdf

Said engineer certifies, In his/her opinion the building is safe and complies with the law. The local authority accept that certificate of compliance & files it away and all is well.

Two terms are very, very important on the form:

1. “Substantial Compliance” with the building fire regs.

Definition:

“Substantial Compliance” means that in my opinion the design of the Relevant Building or Works, and such construction as is evident by ***visual inspection***, are in accordance with Part B (Fire) of the Building Regulations, saving and
    expecting such deviations as would not in my opinion warrant the issue of enforcement proceedings as provided for in the Building Control Act.

“Substantial compliance” is a very grey term.
    Is >50% “substantial”?? or is 90% “substantial”???

Surely “100% complete compliance” (with council inspections) would have prevented the likes of priory hall.

If I nct my car is it ok for the brakes to only work 50% of the time??

Also, would you allow your mechanic to look or “visually inspect” your car’s wheels and certify the brakes work without taking off the wheels/ looking at the brake pads/ test driving the car?

Well in Irish building control you can pretend you can see through walls and know what is behind those walls and write as many Certs as you like.

See also this definition:

2. “Visual Inspection”

“Visual Inspection” means:
    (a) periodic inspections carried out by the Architect/Engineer during the construction stage,
    being part of the services described at 2 above.

**fair enough, sounds good, but the next bit is the problem***

Or

(b) the inspection of the Relevant Building or Works as existed on the inspection date herein. For the purposes of this inspection

***** this bit is farcical*****
    no opening up was carried out, the inspection was therefore superficial only and took no account of works covered up, inaccessible or otherwise obscured from view.”

If you can’t see it what’s behind plasterboard how do you know works meet the building regs…the place could be built from straw, snow, or cotton wool..

These Building Certs where a rubber stamp exercise by an engineer/architect.

Great earners for all concerned.
    Engineers asked no awkward questions or they wouldn’t get the next job.

Form may as well have said:

“Dear council,
    I certify the apartment block is nearly ok but I only saw the finished “show apartment”, I was too busy to bother looking at the staged construction. Tom the Builder just needed a form stamped, so here you go. Looks great, nice curtains”.

The law is a complete farce and was wide open to abuse and the likes of priory hall is the result.

The council could have walked onto any construction site and inspected the building & made sure these Certs were in fact correct. They assumed & trusted all was well.

They didn’t bother putting resources into building control, hence we have this mess.

The fact the council bought units themselves is the proof, too much trust & faith was put in engineers and dodgy builders.The council had no idea.

The government is going to have to pay for this one, probably via Nama rehousing.

They are just afraid we will have another Nama/default type scenario if too many priory halls developments come along down the road.

The only way the next priory hall will be discovered now is if there is a fire and someone dies.I hope I’m wrong about this..

Apartment Residents are naturally afraid to speak out because they will end up on the street like the PH residents.

In an ideal world a national building control inspection scheme would be launched.

They can inspect septic tanks, why not apartments where there is likely life threatening fire issues??

Money is of course the reason, it would break the country twice.

No one wants the can opened and worms everywhere..

• a picture is worth a thousand words” is true for many, many situations. This famous quote even applies to home decorating. Many people draw their inspiration for their decorating projects from home decorating pictures Home decorating

• Wondering precisely why I didn’t realize that. Although last but not least I realize pretty much everything at this point. Wonderful post.

Homeline Furniture

• out of curiousity were the residents expected to pay the household charge? havent a clue just wondering

Add New Comment