TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Column: They promised an end to stroke politics – has it worked out that way?

Gary Murphy looks at Ireland’s history of ‘stroke politics’ and asks: should we simply accept that this is the way things will always work?

Gary Murphy

BACK IN 1987, the UCC sociologist, JP O’Carroll published a piece in Irish Political Studies with the iconoclastic title Strokes, Cute Hoors and Sneaking Regarders: The Influence of Local Culture on Irish Political Style. In this article O’Carroll posited the view that the notion of community in Ireland was best seen as a set of locally shared attitudes to place, territory, property, time and language.

He went on to argue that Irish politics was more an exercise in expressiveness than an expression of choice and that such expressiveness was manifested in the assertion of inherited loyalties and partisanship where Ireland was full of politicians, or cute hoors, able to pull strokes on behalf of a grateful public full of sneaking regarders. By its tendency to limit choice, political culture Irish style contravened the first two characteristics of modern democracy, the possibility of open discussion and the exercise of individual will and consent. Ireland wasn’t really a democracy at all. It was a country in which you were for Fianna Fáil or you weren’t.

Fianna Fáil

The great genius of Eamon de Valera lay in his recognition of what was needed by the body politic at the time of independence: identity-building, and in the use of the most appropriate tool, the rhetoric of community, to achieve it. De Valera’s rhetoric not only created a national political community by using an image of Ireland as a parish at large, he also built a most effective political machine for the creation and expansion of political power. This political machine, once the most successful in Western Europe, now lies in ruins but is not dead yet and in fact is threatening a comeback. Historically Fianna Fáil saw itself as more of a political monument than a political party and through this monument had created a strong moral sense of community for itself. Coalition was an anathema. ‘Moral Community’, the term coined by John Healy in 1983, highlighted the exceptionally strong pull of Fianna Fáil for its members – with Healy even suggesting that it substituted for sex in the case of many of Fianna Fáil’s celibate supporters. Those who defected from Fianna Fáil in the 1980s were apostates as outside the party there was no salvation.

The trouble was that the chief of this tribe, Charles J Haughey, did not seem to view the national monument in much the same way as the members of his tribe. Single-party government was jettisoned on the altar of maintaining Fianna Fáil government. That Fianna Fáil’s first experiment with coalition government should be in partnership with the apostates from the PDs suggests that for the elected members of the national monument, political survival meant much more than membership of a moral, pure community; a community that was now infected from outside by those who had once been part of the said same community. Fianna Fáil had been able to penetrate very deep into the Irish bureaucracy precisely because it had practically a near monopoly on public office for close to 70 years and had by its own success, to use Tom Garvin’s words, ‘generated social categories in its own image’.

This then allowed them to pull strokes on behalf of the sneaking regarders who subsequently and continually rewarded them at the ballot box. Going into coalition fundamentally changed the nature of Irish politics but Fianna Fáil as the largest party in coalitions with first the PDs, then Labour, back to the PDs, and lastly the Greens was as the dominant party still able to claim the allegiance of the 40 per cent who always voted for it. Moreover Fianna Fáil’s embrace of coalition politics also promised for them the possibility of permanent government. After all they had received the most votes in every election they had ever fought.

The crash

Then came the economic crash. There has long been a view held by practically all sections of Irish society that Fianna Fáil had an especially close relationship with property developers and the construction industry. This was particularly important in relation to planning decisions where county councillors charged with deciding on land rezoning were continuously and vigorously lobbied by property developers. The political consequence of the economic mayhem in Ireland caused by the reckless lending of the banks to property developers was the collapse of Fianna Fáil’s popularity. The sneaking regarders took a heavy revenge at the ballot box, reducing Fianna Fáil to 20 seats and 17 per cent of the vote. The electorate was promised a new style of politics. Political reform became a dominant theme of the 2011 general election. The era of stroke politics was over.

But it hasn’t worked out that way. Political reform is but a chimera. The farce that has become the Constitutional Convention is but a singular example of this. A third of the convention are to be elected politicians, and of the remaining 66 we now found that these citizens can remain anonymous so as not to be influenced by lobbying groups. Moreover their itinerary is disappointingly small. And over and above all this stroke politics has re-entered the lexicon of Irish politics once more, as Minister for Health Dr James Reilly cannot adequately explain how he came to add extra towns including two in his own constituency to the list of areas being considered for a new primary care centre.

So has Fine Gael simply replaced Fianna Fáil in the Strokes, Cute Hoors and Sneaking Regarders stakes? Has anything really changed in Ireland over the course of our country’s independence? Have we as a country simply accepted that this is the way politics always has worked and always will work? Notwithstanding the kicking given to Fianna Fáil in 2011, is Irish politics doomed to repeat its mistakes as the electorate seeks to reward those who give it favours? We were promised that this wouldn’t be the case during the general election – but the evidence of the Reilly case suggests otherwise.

Gary Murphy is Associate Professor of Politics and Head of the School of Law and Government at Dublin City University.

Read: Swords and Balbriggan added to primary care list night before announcement>
Read:FF leader calls for James Reilly’s resignation because of a ‘pack of lies’>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• Can we stop calling it “stroke” politics, it’s corruption plain and simple. Giving favours to constituency groups or individuals which they wouldn’t have gotten otherwise is corruption. They only reason these “strokes” are pulled is to be re-elected and the holder of the office gets a pecuniary advantage. I build you a sports hall, you elect me, I vote for a larger wage for me and the citizen gets shafted. TD’s have every right to lobby for the people who elected them, ministers don’t because their responsibility is to every citizen not just the ones that could vote for them in 3 years.

• The litmus test of change in this country is North Tipp electing Micheal Lowry. While that continues, the electorate has not changed – and the stroke politics has not changed. O Reilly should be gone too.

• Yesterday, Eammon Gilmore spoke of his 27 years in politics. The first step on the road to reform is remove the old guard.

• Most positive comment yet and i totaly agree some of them blaggers have been around way to long

• Sure look at that gombeen Enda. Inherited Daddy’s seat at 24. He’s institutionalised at this stage

• Enda “the father of the Dail” says it all really.

• You honestly can’t really blame Enda for running for his father’s seat. In the “Game of Thrones” as it is, the blame lies with the people who promoted his propaganda. Those who’s palms had been greased by his father toiled to get him elected so that the back scratching might continue. What we need is more Stephen Donnelly’s and Richard Boyd Barrett’s. Confident, well spoken, idolistic, young reformers. Give them the podium but on lend, not for keeps and in a few years lend it to the next young pretender to the Throne.

• When a Td makes a pre election promise he should be made to sign an oath, so that if he trys to change it he will have to resign without a pension

• Lol. Look at FG manifesto. I read it the other night and inside my head a little voice kept saying : “Lies, lies, lies, lies, lies, lies..”

• A TD resigning because they misled the public when running for election? Will never happen with the current political structure we have.

• john fox 07/12/12 #

yes but not our life time.

• It’s not just our political structure that needs rewriting, it’s the ingrained (and in most cases) misplaced loyalty of Party supporters who by choice choose to ignore the glaring truth of it all. Of course – they know deep inside that it’s not right – but choose to stey in denial and keep their blinkers on. FF may be slinging $hit at the government now at every oportunity (and rightly so – they’re paid to do that) but you can be 110% certain that were the tables turned tomorrow they’d be doing the exact same thing. Remember also that FG/Lab sounded exactly like FF do now when in opposition; and FF were acting just like FG/Lab are now when they were in government. It’s all just a game of musical chairs to all of them. The sooner the electorate realise that the better. The sooner we realise that until we stop this lunacy, we might as well be trying to eat soup with a fork.

• It has always been about political survival seldom about democracy and never about the greater good of our country. New politics are needed ,

• Nothing has changed! It’s still a matter of ‘Jobs for the Boys’ with little or no regard for the tax paying electorate. FG just like FF will use their time in government to ensure sickeningly fat pensions and benefits for themselves and their buddies at huge cost to you and to me – not just now, but for long after they have left power. My bile rises every time I look at them. This is not what I voted for.
    ‘The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.’

• So what shall we do about it? It seems that Ireland isn’t a democracy after all. I mean, if the majority of the people are against the blatant corruption our politicians are dabbling in every day, the majority of people would put a stop to it. Just a thought!

• David 07/12/12 #

We need a tipping point to ignite major political change in this kleptocracy. Successive Governments now have entered the milking parlour that is the Dail and plundered to breaking point. There have been good politicians around the world assassinated for a lot less than what we have had to endure from ours. I wouldn’t mourn for any of ours.

• Stroke politics = James O’Reilly.

• Its the only job in the world where u would get away with having such a large wage and then hire up to 5 advisors to help you do that job and use tax payers money to pay them high wages, knowing nobody can stop you doing it,how more carrupt can it get. jobs for friends and family, Its a great little country

• Calling greed and corruption ‘sroke politics’ is like calling violent assault on the fire brigade ‘anti social behavior’!

• In the ancient Rome under the imperium, senators were not paid a salary but were expected to “feed themselves from public business”. Officially sanctioned corruption was rife and clientelism was the only conduit to power and wealth. In modern Ireland much of our political establishment seem very keen on this classical conduct of res publica, apart from the lack of public funded remuneration. No, our politicians must me handsomely paid for the quality of their efforts and their great sacrifice in service to the nation.

• Simon, they are handsomely paid! Our Taoiseach, in a tiny country, population four million plus, has a larger salary than the President of the United States! Per capita, they’re possibly among the highest paid politicians anywhere (democratically elected politicians, that is).

• Mary, if we were to pay these ineffectual clowns what they were worth they wouldn’t get minimum wage. They say they need the money to reflect their civic contribution and the sacrifice they make for the public good. Apparently the going rate for such contribution and sacrifice is about 150K PA. ….

• excellent

• Great column here Gary, agree 100% with what you are saying. I feel that proportional representation is a large factor in our crap standard of politics as well. It means that politicians must try and appeal to all the voters in the hope of picking up No 2 and No 3′s. This waters down the platforms of potential TD’s and hampers politicians who are genuinely trying to shake things up for the better. We have seen time and time again politicians with low No. 1 votes get elected over candidates that received much more No. 1 votes. The election of Bertie’s running mates is a classic example of this over the years. Moving to a system of ‘first past the post’ would really give the Irish political system the shake up it needs.

• Will the Irish people be so easily fooled in the next election or will we be completely run into the ground at that stage? I do believe there are some quality TDs in the Dail but unfortunately they are not in power eg Stephen Donnelly, Shane Ross and a number of others. What we need is a viable alternative if we want to get away from the culture that this article talks about. And a regime change. http://www.facebook.com/RevolutionIreland

• A new civic focused political movement is long overdue, but unfortunately the Irish character seems essentially apolitical. We tend to just suffer stoically, not rocking the boat nor really addressing issues with any pragmatism. Evidence suggests we are a deeply self interested and unengaged people who really only start to care politically when our own pocket book is hit.

• Or http://www.DirectDemocracyIreland.ie.

They promise to reinstate articles 47 & 48 into the constitution and end 5 year rolling dictatorships. We would never again be powerless

• While I agree with your comments sentiment Simon, I definitely see a shift in the trend that once was apolitical zombieness.

• Perhaps it comes from people throwing off the shackles of the church?
      Up until relatively recently the church had their reigns over the people and their cozy relationship with the politicians is evidenced by their being permitted to avoid paying their share of compensation in light of their own actions.

We have a very young population, perhaps where the churches opposition to contraception for so long backfired. In the wake of the Internet, people are becoming more informed, seeing different viewpoints, widening their scope. They’re waking up. And the churches are seeing less and less “followers” coming through the doors.

They are of course entitled to express their opinions, but the days where it steered the publics opinion at large are gone.

• With another three budgets to go, Labour will be pulled apart & manners will be put on Fine Gowl. The rump of Fianna Failures, & Sinn Fein too better thread careful, all it will take is one spark one day…

• Good article, for politics read ” stroke politics” there is no other type of politics. We get the politicians we deserve, if they told us the truth at election time we would not vote for them. “dicey” is a good example of the species, Jesus you would not use him as a bookend. I love politics and watching them do what they do best, which is lying. I love the ” West Wing” there is a scene in it where the Chief of Staff tells his Deputy the following ” Josh, we campaign in poetry we rule in prose”. It explains everything

• “Let no man dare, when I am dead. to charge me with dishonor; let no man attaint my memory by believing that I could have engaged in any cause but that of my country’s liberty and independence, or that I could have become the pliant minion of power in the oppression or the miseries of my countrymen.”
    Robert Emmet, 1803
    You’ll never be able to say that Enda Kenny. Traitor

• There’s a fundamental flaw in Irish analysis of politics is that the cause of the problems is all the fault of politicians & political parties.

The laissez fair approach of the electorate in pursuing policy means that a dedicated interest group can gain advantage in policy creation of political parties and eventually government policy. An apt example would be the hold the ‘pro life’ lobby seem to have over FG TDs.

The second problem lies in the sectoral interests that are embeded in the Irish Public. The concept of the common good is just not apparent in public discourse. Whether your a bank executive or a person recieving social welfare supplements the attitude its always about how decisions effect me and people like me – rather than thinking how decisions effect the country as a whole and is it positive or negative to the common good.

The third issue is that there is a clear democratic deficit in our governance. There is no sense of public backing or approval of government plans. Also the lack of accountability for decisioms made by politicians is a huge flaw. If you can enter government and make bad decisions – then leave with no democratic or legal consequences where appropriate, leads to disillusionment of the electorate with their democracy.

Caveat: I am not saying politicians play no role in the chaos our system has become. However, it is the electorate who put the same type of politicians into office. Its the electorate who do not demand accountability, a high standard of their public representatives or the change they wish to see.

• the next and only option for the next general election is a coalation of ULA and DDI I think we need a coalation other wise the corruption would be similar to what we have at the moment a single govt would really use heavy hand tatics if no one else was involved to haul them back in. this dail needs a full cycle wash dumping out the old rags and allow the young blood with fresh ideas to restore our constition to its original wording and stop ass holes using it to make their mark at the expense of irish citizens.
    some of our ploiticians have been there so long. I dont think half of them ever go home hence no understanding of human contact just look at this most recent budget which cements my opinion.
    And we need to put a halt to Nepotism if we are to have any honesty in irish politics.

• We’ve had coalitions for years and look where that got us. We need Direct Democracy with no party whip system. Each TD votes according to the wishes of the constituents he serves

• Define that “the wishes of the constituents he serves”. Its impossible for one person to represent the entire viewpoint of his constituents because they aren’t a monollithic block. Chances are the on any single issue there will people telling him to vote yes, no and abstain. Who does he represent?

• M Bowe 07/12/12 #

The electorate in this country need to wise up to political dynasties. Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. Know some families believe there constituency is a little fiefdom.

• Imagine ,how silly we were to expect anything different ,it was just stroke politics on a roundabout ,
    Where do we go from here .Mr Noonan has sickness ever visited your home ,had you a problem paying for care think about it

• But does that say more about ourselves as an electorate than about the politicians?

Is it the case that we actually want the localism and that’s what we vote for?

Look at the supposedly more ideological parties in the Dail – Labour (whatever you think of their current position in government), Sinn Fein, PBP.

Vote getters like Willie Penrose always looked after their constituencies.

Sinn Fein have had to embrace a greater localism and less ideological Republicanism to be successful.

Even Rich Boy Barrett made his name on the issue of the Dun Laoghaire baths.

Perhaps we shouldn’t blame the politicians so much and need to cast a cold eye at ourselves as a people and as an electorate.

• All you have to do is look at tipperary north for the answer to your question

• Kind of tired of these articles because we’ve had a lot of them saying the same thing now about how terrible our politics and politicians are. But all of them fail to point the finger of blame where it should be pointed. Why? Because its not a popular thing to say but ultimately the fault lies with us, the Irish people.

We keep putting these politicians there and we are all too happy to have them there when they get stuff done for us. Irish people for years have rewarded politicians for acting locally instead of nationally. In good times most of us are quite happy to live with the “strokes” and the “cute hoors”. Its only when things are bad that we then go into outrage mode and demand change. And you can be sure that when the good times come back as they will some day most of us will get placated by a bit of extra money in our pockets and a bit of extra spending here and there.

Politicians are a reflection of the society that produces them. But we in Ireland don’t like to think that we are the root cause of the problem because that would require us to grow up and elect politicians who would act in the country’s interest and not in the interest of our street, town, county. I won’t hold my breath on this one.

• No offence, but some attempt at providing a solution would have been welcome here. It’s not enough to ask such a question and just leave it at that. No analysis here.
    On your marks, get set, rant!

• This piece is more of a ramble than a column.

• How do we put an end to this, its a step to far now but if we put someone else in how can we make sure it changes

• That you even ask the question beggars belief. I mean – seriously?!?

• “The action ” should read “that actions”
    Sorry about the typo!

• We need to take the money out of politics.
    Let them have a comfortable, liveable wage, but not these insane salaries. You would quickly sort the ones who were doing it for the good of their country rather than the perks (same goes for senior civil servants).

With regards elections, allow each party an allotted time for promotion on radio / TV each, and a certain campaign budget – same amount for each. Allow them use social media etc to make use of the platform to engage with constituents.

Just take the lobbies, the monetary gain out of it. It means there’s no interest groups / industries who consider you to be in their debt when you get elected. It gives you more time to focus on the people who are paying your wage, the country you wanted to help make better.

At present it’s a foregone conclusion that either FF or FG will make up the majority of any government, because they have the most cash and backing to have the biggest campaigns.. Their policies aren’t really all that different, their actions are almost identical.

It’s time we sorted those who are motivated by self interest from those with a wider civic conscience.

• Bad and all as it is, the constitutional convention has the potential to drive fundamental reform, so as to reduce stroke politics (which is really a necessary response to our excessively communalist political culture.
    Five reforms are necessary.
    A bill of right to recognise the action between consenting citizens are necessarily lawfully; that they may be regulated, but not prohibited.
    The adoption of the principle of subsidiarity in local government.
    Complete separation between the legislature and executive.
    Electoral reform so that all constituencies have the same number of seats, whether 1-2-3-4 or 5.
    The introduction of the right of citizens to have popular initiatives without the prior approval of the legislature.
    These are the issues the convention needs to consider and not the current “twee” issues.

• Read your piece Gary and i find it biased and slanted. I won’t be reading anything you produce again.
    Declan

• I’m sure Gary will be devastated Declan :-)

‘There are none so blind as those who will not see. The most deluded people are those who choose to ignore what they already know’

• Kerry, how many times has the same person said the same thing, promising, or suggesting that because of his perception of Journal.ie editorials, stories, readers etc, that he couldn’t stand it anymore and that he wouldn’t read the comments/stories etc, and yet he is still here.
      I would not address this point to him directly, as he has asked me never to direct a comment at him directly because he got upset at me using facts to discredit some of his spurious claims in the past.
      So, i wont aim this comment at him, but i will aim it at you.

Add New Comment