TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Aaron McKenna: Enda is the darling of Time – but there’s trouble in Fine Gael

A proxy war is under way against the Taoiseach from within his own party, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

OUR TAOISEACH ENDA Kenny has made it onto the cover of Time Magazine in a PR coup that will help our image abroad and, in one of those fuzzy but important ways, assist our recovery. The Taoiseach ought to be pleased as punch, but ongoing events in domestic politics will also be weighing on his mind.

James Reilly and, to a lesser extent, Phil Hogan continue to reign supreme in the news this week. Details are drip-drip-dripping out about the health centres proposed for Reilly’s constituency, and you’d almost think that somebody was feeding the information out to keep the good doctor in the news and under pressure.

The best and brightest in Fine Gael tried to offload Enda Kenny in 2010 after years of lacklustre performance against a government that had, by that point, bankrupted the country. It was a fast move against him that had brewed for a while and been set off by a poor showing in the polls, putting Fine Gael below Labour. The heave failed, but many of its leaders were brought into Kenny’s embrace by the time the party finally fell over the line into power.

Many of the acolytes of would-be leader Richard Bruton are now ministers alongside Brutus himself in Jobs and Innovation: Simon Coveney in Agriculture, Leo Varadkar in Transport and Brian Hayes the junior in Finance, among others.

Buckets of confidence

These men and women stood up after eight years of Kenny’s leadership and professed a lack of confidence in the man and his capability to lead the party, let alone the country. Afterwards, as are the rules, they professed a 180 degree turnaround in their thinking after Kenny emerged victorious from a confidence motion.

One can’t help but wonder if that is an entirely intellectually honest position to hold: No confidence as party leader yesterday, but buckets of it for him as Taoiseach today. Be that as it may, Enda Kenny got Fine Gael in over the line after a long period of rebuilding. He may have gone to Fianna Fáil-levels of gombeen promises he couldn’t keep about A&E departments and other things to try and secure a majority, but when you become Taoiseach you get a free pass from your party colleagues for a time.

It’s now a year and a half later, and that honeymoon is over. There is a slow motion heave against Enda Kenny underway. His opponents have watched him literally falling over things to avoid hard questions as Taoiseach and many fears about him being a lightweight have not been allayed by his time in the office. Time Magazine cover or no – and The Celtic Comeback is a faraway dream for many in this country – the performance of Enda Kenny has not been awe-inspiring.

Slow-motion heave

The Liberators of Fine Gael have learned their lesson: A fast move against Kenny will not work. Nor can the Taoiseach rip his cabinet apart the way he broke up his opposition front bench after the last heave. Instead there is a slow motion heave in process, building a head of steam in the pressure cooker of government.

Two of the main architects of Kenny’s win in the 2010 heave were James Reilly and Phil Hogan. The left and right pillars of his rule are being chipped away at slowly but surely. They have both created the conditions for their downfalls, but it was Leo Varadkar who popularised the expression “stroke politics” in relation to Reilly’s constituency health center controversy.

James Reilly is the deputy leader of Fine Gael, and Leo Varadkar was right in the middle of the 2010 heave. Back during his first term as a TD, when he completed the medical training he had delayed through his election, the ambitious go-getter from the class of 2007 gave an interview to the Evening Herald stating his desire to one day be Taoiseach.

There is no accident when one senior minister drops another one into trouble. Politicians find it simple to come out and maintain a steady line in favour of someone or something, no matter the pressure of evidence. When a halfhearted statement or a strange suggestion emerges from their lips, it might as well be a knife driven straight into the front.

Proxy war

Should Reilly have to go because there is a continuing drip of information against him – all of which does not apparate itself from thin air in a manner conducive to providing new fodder on a daily basis – then the deputy leadership battle will be another proxy war for the soul of Fine Gael, and identifying the next leader.

The plan for Hogan always seemed to be destined to end in a comfortable job as Ireland’s EU commissioner, kept out of the country that he will be so unpopular in. Now Big Phil will be lucky to get to continue to roll out some of this governments most unpopular new taxes in the property, water and septic tank charges if stories continue to emerge that show him even appearing to use ministerial office inappropriately.

For such an experienced constituency operator, there is the possibility that his representations against a family of Travellers might be the norm rather than an unfortunate but isolated error of judgement.

We’re a third of the way into this Government’s term. Any potential new leaders are thinking that a slow moving heave might get rid of Enda Kenny and his gang by the midway point, allowing them to stamp their authority onto new policies and hopefully improve the lot of the country to allow electoral success come the next local and general elections.

Enda and Co are canny operators, and could well hang on. We can then await Kenny running for the office he seems best suited to hold by his management style as soon as Michael D gives it up.

The stories we are being fed these past few weeks are not about Reilly and Hogan, they are about something that started in 2010.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna.

Read: More columns from Aaron McKenna on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (111 Comments)

• Front of Time eh? I bet Bertie’s like a B-B-Bitch.

• Bertie didn’t play ball with the right people obviously …. Neither deserve to be on the front cover of anything like Time magazine ….. The Beano maybe. No it does not show us Irish in a good light , all it does is perpetrate the lies they are telling.

• What an odd analysis. No sources such as dissident party members or even hear say from the corridors of Leinster House.

• Well said David. He’s talking through his arse but if it gets overseas investment then well done.

• I don’t see it as a sophisticated conspiracy theory to ‘get’ Enda by knocking away the Reilly Hogan props. However, if you were a really conniving conspiracy theorist one could speculate that FG and of course Enda might be more popular without these two ministers and it would be in his interest to get rid of both of them!

In fairness to Enda he has been effective in building up international support and confidence in Ireland after the damage that has been done. It can’t change overnight, you can lose your reputation in a single step, rebuilding it takes many steps and a lot if time.

I agree that the image of a Minister imposing household / water charges and taking time out to write to a housing officer to hinder the allocation of a house to a qualifying family only adds to the picture of an hard and uncaring government.

Minister O’Reilly is in difficulty in his personal business affairs (like many others) yet is charged with running the health service. This does not inspire confidence.

It’s hard not to be cynical when you see the good work that is being done, being completely undermined by what is perceived to be old fashioned stroke politics.

“The problems of the world cannot possible be solved by skeptics or cynics whose horizons are limited by the obvious realities. We need men who can dream of things that never were.”
    - John Keats

• DubDon 06/10/12 #

Very little credit due here. Enda Kenny Fine Gael and Labour poured out the promises to the people of Ireland to gain power in the last general election, only to roll back back on many of them. We now have a govt of brutes who will enforce upon us what they deem is right. Hogan Reilly et al are given a free reign by Kenny he’s scared to tackle them. They’ll bring kenny down if they’re brought down. He has a moral obligation to keep them in positions that they are floundering in simply because they stood by him when he was challenged for leader. This is a Govt wholly consumed with self preservation t

• My opinion of Enda is that he is a very likable and pleasant man, but has no idea what is going on around. This is disastrous when dealing with those that are fooling him into debt enslaving our nation. The same people put him on this cover to reward his non resistance of their statregy. At the same time would anyone else in FG fight the Rothschilds?

• Good point Oliver.

• Well said,he is so far out of his depth one can only be sympathetic…if it is expensive sympathy.

• It seems to me, that after reading the last few comments, people have either forgotten about the wide ranging promises Kenny made, in order to get elected. Or the same people have accepted the lies as being the norm from our so-called politicians. If the latter is true, then this country is in an even worse state than I thought it was. As decent a man Enda probably is, he’s not fit to be leader of a country. By appointing the likes of Phil Hogan to such an important position comprehensively proves my point. His government have shown that they haven’t got the courage to make the real tough decisions, that are required to get the country out of the quagmire it finds itself in. The budget will be their last stance, unless they suddenly change course and decide the better off in society have to shoulder a bigger burden . I’m not holding my breath though!

• The only TDs I can see who have any hint of a grasp of the real situation we are in are Stephen Donnelly (ind), Shane Ross (ind) and Peter Mathews (FG).

• If it enhances investor confidence then its job done. If the rest of Europe see us in a better light than we ourselves do, then that’s a good result too. What is wrong with some god damn positivity once in a while?
    BTW, what’s McKenna’s politics? His profile used to say community activist. Did he run for local council? What party does he represent?

• A load of crap. Why not have the front page fragmented with Sean Fitzpatrick,Bertie, Dole ques and also a picture of the ques of potential Emigrants at the jobs expo??

• Thought for a sec Time Magazine had sold out to the Onion.

• I say far play to him, he has an impossible job to keep very Tom dick and Harry happy here, a bit of positive spin for the yanks to swallow will do us now harm, no leader of any party would be particularly like here

• Scarr 06/10/12 #

It’s the European edition. He’s not on the US edition. The term ‘yanks’ – its a very boggerish term.

• censored 08/10/12 #

Watch the interview. It’s like Kenny thinks he is the Irish messiah and we’re all kneeling before him as he walks through the streets to the Dail.

“When the rest of the world makes it known that they do not like this type of leadership, they tend to resort to something which Prof Claxton calls ‘messianic hubris’.

“They transpose their leadership into a sense of humility, as if they are listening to an inner god or higher power when making decisions.”

This is when self-deception and an inflated sense of self-worth sets in.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-19842100

• The electorate voted for a new political Ireland and not just a anti-FF protest. We wanted a new generation of politicians unsullied by “stroke” politics, by parish-pump politics and we wanted people with some form of imagination to find a way out of this mess and the balls to stand up to the old guard.

What we got was an FF-clone party where senior NATIONAL ministers are still looking after their home town/village pump. Where the ministers with power are too old to have any vision or imagination. Where they have no gumption to stand up to public service unions protecting perks that the rest of us are astounded to hear are being paid with taxpayers money.

I think it is wishful thinking that the new breed in FG elected by the people will any time soon oust to old guard.

In the last election, everything changed and nothing changed.

• Time is a poisoned chalice anyway….they named that gobs**te Cowen as the ‘Irish Fiscal Taskmaster’ and two months later our overlords arrived on our shores. As for improving investment sentiment towards this county?….only figures will do that and with GDP in it’s grave for the next 2to 3 years they’re not going to look too polished for a while either.

• Im truly hoping, the overlords future plans to enslaved this country, backfire on them, big time. We all wish, with the strongest of might, may the selfish future plans of the greedy overlords backfire them!

• Z? 06/10/12 #

And which overlords would that be? The lizard men? The illuminati? The sith? There are no overlords, there’s only a load of nations terrified that they’ll either be bankrupted or lynched by their own electorate when they find their pensions and social welfare reserves have been emptied through overspending and bail-outs. There’s no devil, no overlords, no grand conspiracy. Until you get your head around this nothing you say can be taken any more seriously than Rick ( remember The Young Ones?)

• Mick 06/10/12 #

No Martin…I compared the time of the greatest suffering of the Irish people with when my friend Dec thinks is the greatest suffering of the Irish…now-quite a stupid claim…nothing more or nothing less my friend…facts not bull…always the way to go …

• We can do with all the help we can get. Enda’s mug on the cover of Time & talk of an Irish comeback can only be good. As for the above ‘analysis’, sheer trollery, belongs on Sky News or in The Sun.

• nothing wrong with a bit of positivety when it’s due ,but I see very little to be positive about in the context of a mountain of crippleing debt that we in reality have no way out of if we continue on the current path , a government with no vision to get us out of this hole so instead are digging us in further , austerity policies that are destroying public services and cutting wages and living conditions to the bone ,but of course we should ignore all that and think positively, how silly of me for forgetting that positive thinking has magic properties that can erase all the bad in the world if only we believe hard enough ! apologies for the sarcasm but it’s hard to be positive about the direction this country is going when you know it’s making things worse , I prefer to save my optimism for the hope that the people of this country will snap out of the media induced coma and start to see things how they really appear ,only than will they start to fight against the ridiculous policies that are killing us all

• “His opponents have watched him literally falling over things”…….come on now that’s just lazy. It’s like my friend who loves saying “It was so cold I was literally freezing my balls off”. Really? Is that even possible?

• The article probably misses the point that the Health Minister always tends to be the most disliked member of any Cabinet. It’s an impossible brief in normal circumstances. If any one of the 100,000 or so staff make a mistake, the Minister is automatically to blame. And positive experiences such as those of my father are never reported by the media, which gives the perception to those who don’t use the system the idea that everything is in chaos. Yes there are big problems, yet thousands are cared for every day. And that is without the current fact that Reilly cannot cut pay which accounts for 70% of his budget – meaning services are the only area to be cut.

As for Hogan, whoever was the minister charged with introducing these new taxes would be extremely unpopular.

The author’s conspiracy theory seems to miss these two vital points.

• limofax 06/10/12 #

Of all the posters on this site Ryan. No one swallows blueshirt spin as much as you. If you really haven’t been aware of the slow heave against Enda Kenny since before FG were elected then you should take off your blinkers.

• another FG stunt to hide the truth of the reality thats destroying our economy

• Aaron, there’s been division, dissaffection and trouble within FG long before the 2011 general election! – the case of one George Lee and his supporters Mssrs. Bruton and Creighton should surely attest to this. Your article highlights a problem, but one that was already common knowledge before the 2011 GE. I’m afraid your article is neither relevant nor insightful – even the most ill-educated fool could have noted much of what you are alluding to some 36 months previous!

You stand up here every month or so on a rationally-minded, insightful business-related platform, yet espouse the news of yesteryear. Maybe come back to us in a few months time when you have managed to produce an original thought!

• Better Enda’s mug on the cover than B-B-B-Bertie. Good luck to him & the country. Hopefully it brings something good. As for the analysis, another cynical example of hitting out at a leader who has had to make tough choices after FF bankrupted us. Trolls will give me loads of thumbs down….bring it on.

• That’s all Enda wants is Worldwide recognition. Nothing else matters. The fact that the people he represents are suffering like never before doesn’t matter.

• These comments are becoming so jaded,tired, and completely predictable that the journal had become the agony aunt rant rag of the whiny masses, and for quite a while now. Cue any story about the Government or what is happening in international affairs, and be guaranteed 100+ comments, most of which are simply trying to out do each other in their common hatred for all things Government. And it’s the same contributors talking rubbish on every story like broken records. You think you are the voice of the people, when you are really just plain whingers, who would always have a gripe, even if Ireland was as close to a Utopian state as possible. I can understand people’s grievances, but when will we get over the fact that things need to be done to get the economy on track??

• Shane O’Connell, well said. When fresh dung is deposited, it attracts the dung flies!

• Mick 06/10/12 #

Come on Dec…are you seriously telling me Ireland is..”suffering….like never before?” …Look back at ur history son…around mid 1800’s maybe… A time when the poorest people hadn’t the one of the highest dole rates in Europe, free medical cards, rent relief..free education-if they used it…travel…. yeah…ireland is really suffering like never before…and a time when IT jobs are starring people in the face and they won’t go train for them..I mean really Dec???

• @Shane Good man, I support your sentiment completely.And it is the same old negative faces with their warped conspiracy theories and doom and gloom.

• Martin 06/10/12 #

@Mick, you kinda prove the point that the government are not looking after the interests of the irish people, when you have to go all the way back to the apocalypse of our famine to compare a time of similar hardship. All the right winger people here with Fine Gael connections please stand up.

• Good one @Dec. Also may I ad. People have a voice, and a right to use it when they feel something such as this scandal comes to Public attention. Never be afraid to “Speak Out” against wrongdoing

• Mick 06/10/12 #

No Martin…I compared the time of the greatest suffering of the Irish people with when my friend Dec thinks is the greatest suffering of the Irish…now-quite a stupid claim…nothing more or nothing less my friend…facts not bull…always the way to go.

• Dec Rowe 06/10/12 #

It’s easy to make comments like that when you don’t have to worry about how you’re going to feed your family! And there are a lot of families out there in that situation!

• Martin 06/10/12 #

Well Mick if your only dealing with facts, maybe you should read dec’s comment again, he said “the people that ENDA represents are suffering like never before” not Irish people through out history, hardly a good arguement to go all the way beyond the lifetime of those people to try find a worse time.

• Mick 06/10/12 #

Martin, enda as leader represents the Irish people past and present my man… Story closed.

• Enda is not representing the Irish because he was voted in on the lies he and his party told us . He is a sly sleeveen blackguard and I feel embarrassed and cross every ‘TIME’ I look at his arrogant lying face . But this is just my opinion and I will never vote them in again.

• I wish this story would go away. Its such an embarrassing image.

• I prefare the meme that’s doing the rounds, it has a lot more truth attached to it!

• Forest gump

• Shame on you for using the word “honest” in an article about politicians.

• The European editor of Time has rewarded the minion of European elites for doing their bidding. He does not represent us or our welfare. When I say welfare I do not mean Social Security. I mean our future and our ability to be independent both as individuals and as a country both economically and politically.

• Z? 06/10/12 #

Hmmm, your sincerity is somewhat undermined by issuing the name of the writer most responsible for promoting the Illuminati conspiracy, but who was winding up the gullible by doing so.

• What a load of rubbish

• nothing wrong with a bit of positivety when it’s due ,but I see very little to be positive about in the context of a mountain of crippleing debt that we in reality have no way out of if we continue on the current path , a government with no vision to get us out of this hole so instead are digging us in further , austerity policies that are destroying public services and cutting wages and living conditions to the bone ,but of course we should ignore all that and think positively, how silly of me for forgetting that positive thinking has magic properties that can erase all the bad in the world if only we believe hard enough ! apologies for the sarcasm but it’s hard to be positive about the direction this country is going when you know it’s making things worse , I prefer to save my optimism for the hope that the people of this country will snap out of the media induced coma and start to see things how they really appear ,only than will they start to fight against the ridiculous policies that are killing us all

• Enda Kenny isn’t much good at leadership. He isn’t much good at management and administration. What he is good at is spin and selling a story. The problem is that he’s spent too much trying to sell us, his employers, a story, and not enough time selling our customers, other countries, a story. For once he’s shown he’s good at something, and has targeted the correct audience. I hope this continues, but I’ve a feeling he’ll go back to trying to sell us something when we’re the sellers, not the buyers.

• Good article and spot on about Reilly and Hogan, they kept Enda in power after the heave and to get to him you have to get rid of these 2 which won’t be easy. Although saying that I don’t really see any one in FG that would make the make a great leader.

• Good to see credit given where credit is due. Irish media copy please.

• If the Heave is coming, then neither Hogan nor Reilly wont stop it! I wonder was this done to keep the Heave under control, anyway they won’t last long and I hope Time can explain that when it happens?

• I will never read Time again
    To think they could be bluffed by Enda

• I don’t think it’s a case of one side bluffing the other. Neither side were born yesterday, they’re both too long in the tooth to be naive. It’s a case of the article serving the agendas of both Kenny and Times equally.

• Aaron’s analysis is wrong on so many levels. Firstly if any party leader is up a heave soon it’s Gilmore. Labour is having a civil war compared to tensions within Fine Gael.

His claims of rival factions within Fine Gael may be true but he can’t prove it and has used only one example of Leo Varadkar speaking out against Reilly’s stroke politics. Maybe Leo actually believes it was stroke politics and had the balls to call it out for what it was? But you see Aaron can’t accept the possibility of a Fine Gael TD having standards, everything must be about some deeper and more sinister motive of power…..

Describing FG as a gombeen party shows Aaron’s true colours. He’s not here to analyse the situation but merely to give hope to TheJournal regulars that somehow Enda’s term of office is coming to an end.

Now he’s right that Reilly and Hogan are close to the Taoiseach, but if Bruton, Coveney, Varadkar, Creighton etc all want Enda gone, why haven’t they called on both of them to resign?

The facts are that all the members of the last heave have expressed their confidence in both ministers over the past few weeks despite their mistakes.

The last heave was caused by low poll ratings for the party, in particular a massive distrust of Enda Kenny to become the next Taoiseach. Enda’s approval ratings as Taoiseach are as high as ever and Fine Gael as a party is still above 30%.

Until these numbers drop radically, there is no motive for a heave against Enda and even if a confidence motion were to be called, the new makeup of the Fine Gael parliamentary party since the last election would more likely support Enda.

So this is more wishful thinking by Aaron than anything else. I’m surprised TheJournal printed this so called “analysis”

• Well said. I think Enda is quite a good leader – he plays well on the world stage and he’s more like a good team manager than a dictator on the home front. His main weakness as I see it is just that – he’s not ruthless enough. Both Reilly and Hogan have performed dreadfully and the allowances shambles was truly shocking. Heads should have rolled but I don’t see Enda weilding the axe.

• iBob101
      I’m assuming you can’t see the contradiction in your post.
      A good team manager? a good team manager doesn’t tolerate prima donas or underachievers. Any examples of this playing well on the world stage you speak of?
      The man doesn’t even engage honestly with the electorate ffs!

• “A Fine Gael TD having standards” ???

Leo was one of the instigators in the “heave” against Inda.He’s still in Fine Gael.No courage in his convictions,no standards,just out for himself.Whatever else you want to say about this article but this sums Fine Gael perfectly :

“One can’t help but wonder if that is an entirely intellectually honest position to hold: No confidence as party leader yesterday, but buckets of it for him as Taoiseach today.”

• Z? 06/10/12 #

But David, you are also very much a “thejournal regular”, so are you including yourself in their number when you generalise about them?

• censored 08/10/12 #

In what sense is FG not a gombeen party? They’ve always come across as the slightly pathetic, bumbling gombeens compared to FF. Still gombeens though.

• “a continuing drip of information against him – all of which does not apparate [appear!] itself from thin air!”

So we work from the assumption that there is no smoke without fire! The usual nod and wink type of analysis. What about the Liam Lawlor story did that apparate (sic) itself from thin air? Or did the Monica Leech story just apparate (sic) itself!

• Apparate
      v. To appear (magically); to teleport to or from a place.

• Jim Brady, you would not happen to be an alias for the author as you appear to be the only two (people) identities who know and use the word “apparate”.

Dictionary.com – No results found for apparate: Did you mean apparent

Oxford on-line Dictionaries – British & World English Did you mean apparat?

Merriam Webster – apparate The word you’ve entered isn’t in the dictionary. Click on a spelling suggestion below or try again using the search bar above.

Cambridge dictionaries on-line – apparate was not found Did you spell it correctly?

• Blathin, ever read the Harry Potter books?

• Or perhaps Blathin you’re the only one who hasn’t seen Harry Potter?

• So McKenna takes inspiration from Harry Potter. Explains the childish analysis…

• Blaithin, you only need to insert (sic) once in a passage if it refers to the same word. Also it’s only appropriate after quotations, not one’s own statements. Apparate is fine.

• Thanks guys. It appears that I do not read children’s books.

It reveals much about columnists on TheJournal.ie and the fairy tale world in which they live!

• Paul Hyland but I got sic twice!

Dictionary.com – sic adverb Latin .so; thus: usually written parenthetically to denote that a word, phrase, passage, etc., that may appear strange or incorrect has been written intentionally or has been quoted verbatim: He signed his name as e. e. cummings (sic).

Oxford On-line- a word written in brackets after a word that you have copied to show that you know it has been spelled or used wrongly

• eoghan 06/10/12 #

The darling of time I can think of a few other words than the darling

• How will he being on Time magazing “ease our recovery” Journal?

• I recall the surprise and anger when Mr Obama got the Nobel Peace Prize, received an honourary doctorate from Catholic Notre Dame but was refused one from a State University in Oklahoma. Seems some cooks served up tje cake before it was fully baked. Is this the same for Mr. Kenny at this “early days “stage for the ROI?

• iI rarely read all the posts especially when there are so many as here. I did that just now, after my own philosophic comment above. First off, every human is flawed, and all our institutions are by extension. What this Government seems to lack is a comprehensive plan. Do what Churchill and other leaders did in the crisis of WW11. Call on everyone to sacrifice and face a common enemy together. The enemy today is a very heavy debt the nation with which we are faced. Leaders lead. Given we have a Coalition Government, the challenge is more difficult. However, given the mess inherited, a strong government would have developed a united front and followed it, “whipping” the dissenters into submission. Leaking and “trial balloon-ing” budget ideas and making retractions later is not leadership. get the whole cabinet the same song-sheet, work out the notes and the melody. practice it after it is hammered out.. TACKLE all the issues; Croke Park was decided before the crash. ministers and dex-ministers’ salaries and bonuses, civil servants, re-hiring retirees to receive pension and salarym paying judges and active civil servants and ministers way higher than their European counterparts, and having the second shortest work week in Europe for Ireland are crying out for reform. Taking a comprehensive look at every expense and every source of savings should now, even at this late stage, be part of that one song and one melody and the same notes. It is insanity of the highest form to pretend we are stuck with expenses based on income we do not have, and then tax our most vulnerable so our unions can keep the Government in a prison which they control. and let the troika decide who gets hurt.. A warning signal the other day was the attack on An Tanaiste and Minister Bruton’s car. The rage and anger are shown publicly in Spain, Italy and Greece. Meantime, efforts to spend the little political and moral capital this Coalition has, by pushing abortion and same gender unions is political suicide, apart from any recognition of the views of most of the citizens, almost all of whom are confused, angry, worried about a Budget in December that is as secret and obscure as it is.

• Not as big a deal as you’d think. He’s only on the cover the European distribution of the magazine. Anybody living in the states will see this on the cover of Time http://www.time.com/time/covers/0,16641,20121015,00.html

Add New Comment