TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

New Road Traffic Bill includes specific ban on texting while driving

The bill also introduces a Novice Driver category for people in their first two years after qualification.

Image: George Fairbairn via Shutterstock

NEW ROAD SAFETY measures are among a range of provisions in the Road Traffic Bill which was signed off on by Cabinet today. The bill includes new and higher penalty points on key offences and a specific ban on texting while driving.

Ireland is currently ranked sixth in the EU for road safety and Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport said he wants us to become the safest country in Europe.

“Ireland has made huge strides in reducing road deaths, under successive governments,” he said today. “However, we can never become complacent about road safety.”

The new bill will introduce a ‘Graduated Driver Licensing System’ which includes a new catagory of Novice Driver for people in their first two years after qualification. This will be denotaed by ‘N’ plates on vehicles.

Novice and learner drivers will be subject to a new, lower threshold of six penalty points for automatic disqualification, rather than the normal 12. The lower alcohol limits of 20mg (‘virtual zero’) already applies to L and N plate drivers, as well as professional drivers.

Penalty points

The Penalty Points system is also being adjusted in light of a review conducted earlier this year. Changes include:

• Learner drivers who are driving without a qualified driver will face penalty points for the first time with 2 penalty points applying (4 on conviction);
  • Not displaying L or N plates will face penalty points for the first time, with 2 penalty points applying (4 on conviction);
  • Penalty points for mobile phone use, including the new provision related to texting, will rise from 2 to 3 points (5 on conviction);
  • Points for speeding will rise from 2 to 3 points (5 on conviction) –contingent on the conclusion of the current review of speed limits;
  • The penalty for not wearing a seatbelt will rise from 2 to 3 points (5 on conviction).

Tests

The bill will also allow for a blood sample to be taken from an unconscious driver following a serious road traffic collision, and tested when they give their consent.

Non-technological tests for impaired driving – such as walking a straight line, pupil dilation etc – will in future be usable as evidence in court. This test can be used to detect drug driving.

It will also be possible for the first time to prohibit the driving of a vehicle which has been deemed unroadworthy by the NCT.

Under the new bill there will also be enabling legislation to allow local authorities to provide parking and charging bayes for electric vehicles and for car clubs.

Legal drafting of the bill will now take place and it is expected it will be brought before the Oireachtas in early 2013.

Read: Shatter: Allegations on penalty points concern only ‘small minority’ of cases>

Read: Drivers advised on how to share the road with emergency service vehicles>

Read next:

Comments (85 Comments)

• What about applying make-up while drinking coffee. See it most mornings on the M7 by people driving at in excess of 60km an hour.

• i got a lift in a lorry years ago, when loads of people used to hitch, he was playing a guitar and steering with his knee

• All this road safety. It’s nearly impossible to keep a clean license. I agree with most but points are excessive in some cases. One point on road safety is petrol stations charging for air. I only had my card and 3 stations in s row needed cash to have my tyres at a safe pressure. Shame on the stations and on the RSA for not investigating this. Do we not spend enough in these petrol stations. Rant over. Apologies.

• There should be points for people who don’t use their indicators.

• Using a phone at all while driving already is a offence isn’t it?

• Isn’t the current offence holding a mobile phone while driving? Surely that catches texting!

• It’s about time to clamp down on stupid drivers. Leave the bloody phones alone and do your texting at the side of the road. I see such terrible driving in Galway everyday. I reckon that galway has to have the worst standard of driving around. One question. Why do you need to drive and text? Most people can’t do it whilst walking without banging into people and objects. I am guilty of the walking offense.

• 3 penalty points for texting while driving is a joke. I seriously think that the RSA don’t know the dangers of texting while driving. If they do they should tell the public that it’s more dangerous than drink driving.

• tom 11/12/12 #

NCT test centres are going to fill up fast if it becomes illegal to drive once failed the test.

• Isn’t it sad that there are people so stupid, that we need this law.
    How dumb must you be to text while driving?

• mike 11/12/12 #

a provisional driver stopped for doing 102 in a 100 zone, in the car on their own without L plates would be banned for driving. Is this good or bad. not sure myself.

• When I was living in the Middle East there was a 40 percent reduction in car crashes when Blackberry was down.
    There are people out there driving while on Facebook, wondering where speed traps are. The height of lunacy!

• Relax, just don a wig and gown and tell them you’re on the way to court and you’ll be fine

• Way to expensive to drive these days

• Good. Cant stand people on the phone texting while driving. The ban should be same while smoking and women putting on make up, still using one hand to drive.. Bloody joke. Risking your own life or someone else’s .

• It’s gonna be hard on the girls, putting on make up while texting at 100 kph takes years to build up the skill set,all that training and self discipline and the only reward is penalty points.

• Sandy 11/12/12 #

Seems fair enough.

• money racket plain and simple they can shove there points up there hole

• texting, or reading of any kind, or for that matter doing anything that causes you to not look where you are driving, should have much higher punishments, instant bans would be more effective

• It should apply to all Garda to while working there always on phones

• @Gwen If you check the law it is not illegal to use your mobile phone if you are contacting an emergancy service ie. 999. Emergancy service personel are exempt because they are the emergancy services and use the phone part of the job. Ambulance Drivers and Fire Fighters are exempt too.

• Make all the laws that ya want lads, without proper policing and education of drivers it will achieve nothing. People are still going to txt, call, do their make up, not indicate and pay no attention. We see it everyday!

• Wouldn’t taking blood off an unconscious person without consent be assault and battery??

• It’s also nice to know that us plebs will be receiving penalty points for our motoring indiscretions whilst our betters and friends of the higher echelons of our law enforcement won’t have to worry about such proletariat concerns. Have the right contacts in this jurisdiction… drive after a full bottle of single malt whilst texting and putting on make up with a shovel and eating a fry up…no worries!!!

• Why is there always someone that blames the whole lot (eg. Gardai) when it was just the actions of a select few cancelling penalty points to look after celebrity friends. An Garda Síochána is made up of several thousand individuals with their own views and thoughts on things. And whatever their thoughts the majority do a fine upstanding job.

• In reply to you Barry. You may notice i used the phrase “the higher echelons of law enforcement”. If you missed that, it means literally “the top brass”. Not the thousands of rank and file who mostly do their best, having to deal with the frustrations of a malfunctioning judicial system on one side, and criminals on the other. i have the height of respect for your average garda. Please read peoples comments before commenting on them. Thanks..

• You’ll be better off giving up driving. Use bicycle instead. No points, no licence, no L and N plates and above all, it’s better for the environment…

• Why cant our Government treat Irish motorists in a similar manner re penalty points for speeding.
    Speed Bonanza
    Between 1st January 2008 and 30th September this year, the two speed traps on the dual carriageway between Ibiza Town and San Antonio took more than 10,000 photographs, resulting in fines of more than €1,600,000 and the loss of 7,800 points on drivers’ licences. Despite the fact that the two radars have been in operation for over two years, are adequately sign-posted and the majority of drivers tend to slow down before reaching the cameras, an average of 16 vehicles a day are caught, with speeds of up to 160 kilometres per hour having been registered.
    It depends on the amount of excess speed as to the fines and loss of points levied; for example on this road, the C731, which has a speed limit of 80 kilometres per hour where the speed traps are sited, vehicles travelling at less than 110 kph will be fined €100, but no points will be deducted from the driver’s licence. Between 111 kph and 130 kph the fine is €300 and two points are lost, between 131 and 140 kph results in a fine of €400 and four points lost, whereas speeds from 141 to 150 kph are sanctioned with €500 and six points. In excess of 151 kph is considered ‘very serious’ and the fine is elevated to €600 and the points to six. Seventy per cent of all drivers caught speeding fell into the first category, i.e. at over 80 but less than 110 kph, and only 100 of the 10,000 drivers were speeding at more than 140 kph. Interestingly it is the weekend, especially Saturdays, when the radar has to work overtime.
    The Consumers Association reported that most drivers did not have a problem with these restrictions, believing them to be necessary, although their positioning has been questioned, as they are in an area of good visibility, with very little risk of accidents and on straight dual-carriageways. They also claim that in a very short distance the permitted speed varies from the 70 kph in the tunnel at San Rafael to 100 kph, and then back to 80 kph just before the area where the radars are situated.
    As reported recently, two further fixed radars are being installed on the island, one near the Santa Gertrudis turn-off on the San Juan road and the other near San Agustín; in both cases the permitted speed is 60 kph. Sofia Hernanz, the Director of Administration, assured drivers that adequate notice would be given before these speed traps come into operation.

• Haven’t gone far enough for text driving. Should be at least a three month ban if caught.

• Speed Bonanza
    Between 1st January 2008 and 30th September this year, the two speed traps on the dual carriageway between Ibiza Town and San Antonio took more than 10,000 photographs, resulting in fines of more than €1,600,000 and the loss of 7,800 points on drivers’ licences. Despite the fact that the two radars have been in operation for over two years, are adequately sign-posted and the majority of drivers tend to slow down before reaching the cameras, an average of 16 vehicles a day are caught, with speeds of up to 160 kilometres per hour having been registered.
    It depends on the amount of excess speed as to the fines and loss of points levied; for example on this road, the C731, which has a speed limit of 80 kilometres per hour where the speed traps are sited, vehicles travelling at less than 110 kph will be fined €100, but no points will be deducted from the driver’s licence. Between 111 kph and 130 kph the fine is €300 and two points are lost, between 131 and 140 kph results in a fine of €400 and four points lost, whereas speeds from 141 to 150 kph are sanctioned with €500 and six points. In excess of 151 kph is considered ‘very serious’ and the fine is elevated to €600 and the points to six. Seventy per cent of all drivers caught speeding fell into the first category, i.e. at over 80 but less than 110 kph, and only 100 of the 10,000 drivers were speeding at more than 140 kph. Interestingly it is the weekend, especially Saturdays, when the radar has to work overtime.
    The Consumers Association reported that most drivers did not have a problem with these restrictions, believing them to be necessary, although their positioning has been questioned, as they are in an area of good visibility, with very little risk of accidents and on straight dual-carriageways. They also claim that in a very short distance the permitted speed varies from the 70 kph in the tunnel at San Rafael to 100 kph, and then back to 80 kph just before the area where the radars are situated.
    As reported recently, two further fixed radars are being installed on the island, one near the Santa Gertrudis turn-off on the San Juan road and the other near San Agustín; in both cases the permitted speed is 60 kph. Sofia Hernanz, the Director of Administration, assured drivers that adequate notice would be given before these speed traps come into operation.

Why can’t our Government treat Irish motorists in a similar manner re penalty points for speeding

• what about those android car radios, can we still text on them? :p

• Typical of this government to pander to the troika and the banks and the bond holders in this way.

• Jill :D 12/12/12 #

People who who use their phone or apply makeup while driving are stupid stupid self absorbed people assuming nothing will go wrong when they’re endangering everyone around them. The only reason I haven’t begun learning how to drive yet is because other road users scare me.

As a pedestrian the amount of times I see cars speeding, without use of indicators and using their phones.
    the next time i see a drier using their phone im taking the reg down and reporting it.

• Not a whole lot of good having new laws and points if the guards don’t enforce them or start writing them off.

• When are drivers going to get a break. There are enough safety measures. Road deaths have halved in the last few years and are now among the lowest in Europe. There is risk in driving , that’s just life. If we all drove at 20kph nobody would get killed but we would never get anywhere.

Add New Comment